Is it wrong that this is what I'm most excited about?
Printable View
Is it wrong that this is what I'm most excited about?
Naw cannae wait
Slo mo action replays of Big Portos tackles Scotty’s through balls Rocky’s spectacular saves and wall to wall HIBS goals
Hoping they release some images ASAP of what we can expect from the big screen and lighting etc. How sad is that :greengrin
All this talk of screens has me hankering for the days of the coo shed and that wonderfully rubbish scoreboard of yesteryear.....
Hearts’ BBC documentary will look superb on it.
Can a screen show footage from a game whilst it is ongoing? Something at the back of my mind says it can't.
Yes but did that not involve some forward thinking clever marketing - to know for sure the teams at letter A that were 2-2 at half time did you not have to buy a program? I’m all nostalgic about but not hankering for the good old days of waiting for a pink paper van outside the newsagent on a Saturday night to read reports and scores or standing outside the window of the tv shop to see the scores flash across the teleprinter on screen. :greengrin
Where would it go ? Between the east and famous 5 ?
1986 footage in 30 foot high glory please. Jambos leaning on terraces crying, Albert Kidd, lingering close ups of locked Dundee Cludgie with Craig Leveins car parked up outside...
Where would it go ? Between the east and famous 5 ?
Surely what's going on the big screen is more important? My concerns around the plans is - you need to have spaces to put additional advertisements on etc. but without the desire for companies to get involved we could end up with redundant tech. I dont think this will happen especially if we push for it as companies tend to want to get their names everywhere and in front of 13k+ people every couple of weeks is a decent prospect. Television is still what holds us back though, you need your stadium to be reaching more people.
I'm still excited about all these plans but time will tell whether they become reality, and a positive reality at that.
Reckon this means the TV cameras for filming at our games will go back to being in the East stand looking onto the West if that's where the digital ribbons will be for maximum coverage? Assuming theyll just be going between the two tiers which obviously isnt an option in the East
Don't they show replays of home goals at Ibrox?
Its a matter of regret that this 'big screen' is going to render redundant all those fascinating 'Fill In The Corners FFS Petrie!' threads on here. For shame.
Did ron say screen or screens I'm hoping 2 screens at least so all fans can see them
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Would rather go back to the cave, pre seating. Bring back the slope and Turnbull's Tornadoes.
Glad I'm an auld git, don't want to watch inside a giant pinball machine.
Most of the state of the art English stadia, screens, beer, et al, are soulless bunkers with less atmosphere than the moon.
However, I do get that I'll be in a minority and probably rightly so.
I wouldn't have given the away fans those bloody waterproof ponchos either.
Wondering ... beamback?
https://displaysolutions.samsung.com...kl_sports_city
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Reading show the game while it's ongoing but with a few seconds delay. They also show replays of goals and other incidents so it all works rather well
I've mentioned this several times before, but before each match they used to show a montage of iconic moments from their first promotion season (their 2016 moment) together with images of local landmarks accompanied by Clint Mansell's Lux Aeterna. The musical 'surge' was timed to coincide with the ball hitting the net from Bobby Convey's wonder goal that started the season off. I don't consider myself a Reading fan but I can't deny that got my juices flowing for the game ahead.
This is what the screen looks like in a stadium that's a similar size to ER.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CCUjwG0W0AAFs3T.jpg
If it goes in the SE corner will folk sitting in the East see it ok? I'd have thought having it "square on" to the pitch in the South stand would afford a better viewing angle - maybe at the side of the S Stand right next to the SE corner. Loss of "away" seats yes, but how many, and for how many matches is that stand full? (Esp as we'll not be playing Queen Anne's lot next season.)
Total waste of money
Now awaiting announcement from Gorgie of their bigger screen.
Hearts will get a bigger one, and just broadcast pictures of the castle from various angles.
I mind in the old East complaining about a cold pie when the boy says, son it’s either cold pies or the big screen lol. Be nice to have both, that’s progress.
I've given this some thought - they could stick it on the underside of the moving bit on the Gorgie people eating stand.
Attachment 23046
If this will generate future profit for us then great but other than that, not really sure it adds much if anything to match day experience really.
Does anyone really want to be sitting watching a screen during the game? Unless you're 6 and bored playing with an ipad or the likes.
Team line ups displayed on it pre match and what else?
Not against it at all as they've obviously done the sums but I personally dont see how this makes going to a game any better.
Beside their big windows that the hospitality folk can watch from. Then everyone can run out into McLeod Steet to check if it was Daz or a gust of wind that knocked Uche over. Or his scintillating ball skills.
https://youtu.be/wTpG56PlUdY
In all seriousness, they could get a pretty decent sized screen on their roof support structure that runs along the top of that stand. One at each end of the ground would work pretty well and mean that all fans would be able to see one of them. Probably better than they can see the pitch from some of their seats....
I heard it won’t play any video as such and will be static content.
So plenty of pictures of Hibs players but none of them actually scoring a goal.
It’s also going to have one of those levers/stand that push it out from the base and angle it towards certain bit of the ground. Like some people have at home but a bit bigger.
Can I be the first to moan about spending money of the screen when we have a disappointing result please?
Who's got control of the doofer?
Be great for the Happy Hibbie Half Time Draw - live on big screen, digital clarity sound and fancy disco lighting for a bit of fanfare.
Probably still won’t be enough to stop the weekly “anyone catch the numbers?” thread.
If it goes between east and south how long before it gets damaged ?
Revenue generating advertisements
Match highlights
Iconic moments from Hibs history
birthday messages and announcements (offer a package where you can pay a fee and have a couple of players record the message and it’s played in the stadium at half-time)
Interaction with fans, have them tweet or text messages during the game that could be displayed on it.
competitions or entertainment with the fans, kiss-cams or putting the cameras on kids in the stands and offer a prize for the best dancer.
Videos of our mascot doing daft, entertaining stuff or pulling pranks like you see with NBA and NFL mascots.
Team line ups and substitutions with pictures or GIFS of the players involved in which dafties like Boyle will be doing something funny
Song lyrics
Just off the top of my head
If Ron wanted to divert our attention from the important things about his vision for the club, then he's played a blinder.
A big screen?
Jaysus.
If the screen is not showing replays of contentious decisions from the current match or action replays of goals just scored then it is utterly pointless. All other things people have suggested it could show are all available on your handheld smart phone. Advertising you say. If it brings money in that will make it pay for itself then fair enough. Otherwise it offers no real justifiable value.
When I was at Madison Square Garden they had a camera that would pick out prize winners and they'd see themselves on the screen and go mental.
Be good for the kids, my dad would be less pleased!
I’ve been to a lot of baseball games in the States, the big screens can be great, particularly in baseball where there are lots of breaks in play.
However, i’m quite surprised that not so long ago many people got bent out of shape at the thought of spending £1 million on a full size indoor pitch at East Mains, yet this seems to have great support.
I get that it might generate some additional advertising revenues, but even so.....
Happy Birthday messages with pics for the kids @ £30/40 a pop £10k + a season easily and that’s just basic standard ****.
Are some folks forgetting this is a businessman and a US businessman at the that? He’s not come in all gung-ho.
He might even know a thing or two about the power of moving image but if not (!) he’s got US counterparts who are successful in the game.
Who knows the combo of the big screen and smart phones might be a powerful one... man of the match? make it interactive. Hook people on to the screen and give then competition/promo codes vouchers into their Apple wallet to use at partners sites/stores.
How much does Vue at Omni/Ocean terminal (Porta!) charge for force people to sit through their adds? And how many punters do they reach?