Steve Clarke has plenty of experience at assistant level and presumably plenty of money to take a low paid Managers job to get him started?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_Clarke
Printable View
Steve Clarke has plenty of experience at assistant level and presumably plenty of money to take a low paid Managers job to get him started?
Again yes but we will not get him.:boo hoo:
would have him in a heartbeat. Whether or not the SPL could lure him is another matter.
surely a favourite
Currently not working. Has never been the top man at a club. Worked under various managers at the highest level at Chelsea and West Ham. He is Scottish and is rated highly in the coaching world.
I would have given him the Scotland job and if I had been at Celtic would have taken him there.
He knows the game inside out and willl have more contacts than you can eat.
He is the man, no doubt about it. :thumbsup:
I'd be amazed if he'd come to us, as you say very highly rated down south so i can see him going to a championship club
I reckon he's too expensive. Good call though.
And therein lies the problem.
We've sacked another manager, which had to be done, but we will replace him with another cheep option no doubt, and give him little to work with.
I'm delighted Yogi has gone because he proved to be useless, but until the board start showing the same ambition for ON park needs that they show for OFF park, then I can't get too excited about all this.
Decent first manager post for him, I would think. If he has half a brain (and he seems to have considerably more) he won't be in the SPL more than 18 months. He'd come into an under-performing squad with good young players and with them trying to impress, the only way would be up. Strong motivation of established players, good coaching of youngsters, a clear out policy and a couple of Christmas signings and Europe would be more than a possibility.
It would be a decent springboard to the EPL for him and a quick but probably exciting fix for us, and he'd leave something decent in place for a longer-term guy.
Far sweeter a first job prospect for SC than going into some politics-laden, debt-ridden championship club who are desperate to be in the EPL for TV money only.
If Clarke is serious about stepping outside the second-banana comfort zone, I would be very surprised if Hibs aren't on his radar as at least one possibility as to where to start.
Steve Clarke was my choice last time and have voted for him in the .net poll. As said above this would be a good stepping stone to bigger things down south. That is also the downside, if he is any good he'll be away in about 18 months.
At Chelsea and West Ham he earnt a fortune. He's a millionaire.
It doesn't mean that he doesn't want to increase his earnings in the future of course...
But as a starting point as a number one the ER job isn't that bad a number you know...:greengrin
was he not the highest paid assistant in the premiership at one point? I'm sure he was on £20,000 a week. not sure he'd come here for 2 grand a week
Agreed...this would be an exciting appointment.
Similar to the Tony Mowbray one in a number of senses, but I (for one) do not mind at all the stepping stone thing...because if it works all round then ALL parties will have benefitted.
Remember Mogga called it the Upward Spiral. Everyone gets better, House Full signs going up (even on the South Stand for some games) and (best of all) some great football and savvy attractive passing fitba to watch and take the wee man to see.
I'd rather have that (with the boss then jumping ship to a bigger salaried job, netting Hibs a fee AND improving the club's attractiveness to the next again man as a great place for the best managers to hone their career) than have another 18month period that ends in acrimony with a cheaper appointment.
Steve Clarke. Good call, this one, as would be Pardew.
Perfect first job for him, if he is in fact interested in becoming a manager. Would think he would be interested in a club like us.
Whats he doing now, on the dole?
This guy should be top of rodders list.
I have a copy of West Ham's wage bill for last season. Big bucks. Steve Clarke was on £24,200 a week. That's nothing compared to Luis Boa Morte and Kieron Dyer who were both on £70,000 a week despite hardly playing in the first team.
I gather Boa Morte signed a new contract in the summer too. Probably for even more.
No doubt about it, the Hibs job is an attractive one for a man wanting to make his way in management. Good stadium, well run club and excellent training facilities along with a recognised and established youth policy.
May not pay the big bucks but would only have to look what it led to for Mowbray (up until Parkheid) to see that it is a top job for a less established or rookie manager with ambition.
This was who I voted for on the other thread with the poll.
Would love it if we went out of our way to get him. Advice from Jose would come in handy!
I have heard this is on the table.
dont shoot the messenger
:taxi
He wants to manage in the Premier League and does not rate Scottish football:
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/spo...cle7061264.ece
:boo hoo:
:yawn:
As i said, dont shoot the messenger. Just passing on some 'intel' :wink: i had received, although this person has been wrong, and right, in the past.
Didnt say it was a done deal but was told that there was an offer on the table (from which party i dont know)
I've got money on it. :agree:
Heard it's all but a done deal! :thumbsup:
Ex players:-
Jodie Morris - WOULD TAKE
Craig Rocastle - EH NO
Gialuca Vialli - BETTER THAN NISHY!?!
HAHA
No seriously though, he'll be announced early next week, potentially Monday to take in the Scotland v Iceland U21's match :agree:
:hilarious I love this phrase.
Course not - it always seems to take us ages to get the wheels in motion. Although if you sak a manager at international break you must have had someone in mind to be in place prior to the next match. That's the sensible way.
Cant see any chance of this one happening. He has been an assistant for over a decade, dont know why all of a sudden he would chose to go into management, seems like he is happy to perform that role. IF he was to go into management I would think he would quite easily get a decent championship club - Middlesborugh for example, or even a premiership club to be honest.
On the money from as I understand it, he was the highest paid assistant manager in the EPL, which would mean he is way out of our pay scale.
Was just speaking to a guy at work who delivers linen to various hotels in Edinburgh, he was just dropping stuff off at an upmarket hotel in the city centre and the chap on the reception who is apparantley a big Hibs fan told him Steve Clarke is staying there just now. Make of it what you will, wether he is being interviewed for the job or not he is certainly in Edinburgh.
:faf: haha! The boy knows jack **** about football so has no reason whatsoever to make up a story like that. SC is one of the guys in line for the job so why not? I'm not in the habit of making up fantasy stories like alot of folk on here, simply just passing on info to my fellow Hibs fans.
I put a bet on at 12-1 yesterday for Steve Clarke to become Hibs manager...Really do hope it happens!
10/1 on willies
Steve Clarke would be a fantastic signing but if he is as good as he is made out to be how long could we realistically expect him to stay?
He has stated an ambition to manage a Premiership club and doesn't have a high opinion of Scottish football.
Do we really want to be looking for yet another manager 12 months down the line if he makes such a great impact?
There is always a risk in football that any successful and ambitious manager or player is going to move to a higher level as quickly as they can but the risk factor with Clarke seems to be unacceptably high.
I am not saying that I wouldn't want him but there are ominous signs about him already!
Regardless of who we get, if they're great they'll be off.
IMHO, the absolute must in all of this is that we start the succession planning as soon as the new manager's appointed (maybe even let him bring someone onto his backroom team with a view to them replacing him as and when the time comes).
We have to want other teams to want our manager and players, because it will mean we're successful. More power to Clarke if he wants to manage in the Premiership. Hibs are a great starting point for him to prove himself, and if we make it part of his remit to look past his tenure at the club then potentially any good work he does could conceivably be carried on beyond his departure.
It requires a heck of a lot of foresight from the board, though.
Being unemployed must be a killer when you have millions in the bank - real struggle, I would certainly hate to be in that situation!
If it was just about getting a job I would fancy his chances of walking into most clubs in England. If he has not retired I would think he would stay down south, plus agree with a couple of the above comments in terms of how long he would stay - whilst I know people do not like the ex player route, I think that is the best way to get a manager to come in and stay in given how we opperate as a club.
I want the next manager to be a long term play, please please not another 12 month appointment.
No, and if you read my comment I think I make it quite clear I would be delighted to have him but surely the club needs some stability now and I get the impression from the newspaper article that he wouldn't be around for long. I would hope our next manager whoever he is will be successful and stick with us for at least 3 years.
There is no long-term in football nowadays (at least not at the level we operate) - Bosman and reactionary fans have killed that stone dead.
In my opinion we should look to work on two or three year cycles - a long-term manager at Hibs nowadays has to mean medicority - if hes good hes off, if hes bottom six hes off - and if he isnt, his best players certainly will be.
I think there is no point in pining after the stability panacea, for me stability should be the off-field cheif exec type stuff, and in that respect we are great.
On-field, i think stability is impossible when you are as far down the UK football food-chain as we (and every other SPL club) now are.
So we should work within the realities of 21st century football, not the past.
He knows his football alright. The quality of Scottish football is crap.
Would love the tachemeister to get this guy on board. Time to show huge bit of ambition Rodders. He's out of work the noo so might jump at chance to be his own man and take the reins at ER.
SC would do for me :agree:
Rod you know what you need to do ............
Glory Glory
If the next manager is successful he'll be away in 18 - 36 months.
If the next manager is a disaster he'll be away in 18 - 36 months.
If the next manager is mediocre and keeps us around 4th or 5th in the league and regularly gets us to quarter finals of the cups he'll be here for the long term. Do you want that?
I'm not moving on it until the Fish delivery guy gives us the nod :bitchy:
This is an exciting prospect though - I was favouring giving Nevio Scala a ring as I think we need an experienced hand on the tiller right now. But for someone in the up and coming bracket as a manager Clarke's experience is pretty much unparalleled - filling just about every role apart from manager at top English clubs as he has.
So - I'll wait on tenter hooks now for reports of Clarke sightings around ER - what day does the fish get delivered again :confused:
I think that you have both missed my point. Taking Mixu as an example hounded out in 12 months, did not really have time to bring in his own team (he did however bring in players like, Riordan, Murray and Bamba, three of our better players) alas whats the point, you end up with a miss match of different managers views on how a team should be shaped and what it should play and look like. Mixu has lived in Edinburgh for a long time now, family settled kids at school, what would stop him pledging long term to Hibs - the same could be said for Yogi. A six figure salary for managing a club in the city you are from versus the up-root and move away. Mixu going to Killie is perhaps an example of his desire to remain in Scotland.
Perhaps easy for me to say, and of course where there is one example of the above there will probably be 100 of the reverse.
My honest view is, and the above is my opinion, one of two more of Mikeys cycles and the Hibs job will be even less attractive than it is now - not exactly a foundation for the future.
Either the bookies trawl through forums or theyre in the know but paddy power has Clarke at 11/4 now as the next manager. Some change from 20/1 someone else posted earlier.
Kinda defeating your own argument here AH.
You say he is way out of our pay scale.
I reply by saying as he's unemployed Hibs salary is better than nothing.
Your response is to say he has millions in the bank.
Well if he has millions in the bank then surely he could afford to take the Hibs job whether it was well paid or not.
Your point was he has no job so he would take the job i.e. to get an income - my point is that if you have a bundle there is no pressure to take a job - dont you see that?
If you had a load of dosh in the bank and someone offered you a job for £1 to work at a club you know nothing about miles away from home would you take it, when A) you dont need the money and B) you could get £2 working at the bottom of your street?
Its obvious Clarke is minted. I have no idea if he would take the Hibs job, the wages would not be more than £4k a week i'd imagine? Non of us know him, none of us know if he's interested? Its all a waste of time imho wondering either way.:wink:
I would imagine that Steve Clarke will already be financially very well off so money will not be the main driving force if he is interested in the Hibs job.
Very similar to JC's circumstances I'd have thought.
Hibs are hardly a club which Scotsman and ex-SPL-player Steve Clarke knows nothing about - we are a decent sized club - certainly as as big as most championship clubs in prestige and stature if not in turnover - which can clearly open the door to greater things (see Tony Mowbray, Alex McLeish). Hibs also offer the chance to experience european football - something which Steve Clarke would find very difficult to come by as a manager down south - and boast a great youth set up and training facilities only matched by the top sides.
Steve Clarke obviously has no financial pressure on him to find work but he is ambitious - and Hibs would more than likely represent a good oportunity for him to get on the road to achieving those ambitions.
Do you no read the forum?
Steve Clarke now the bookies favourite.
Right down to 6/4 on Paddy Power, was 20/1.
Exciting appointment this could be! Maybe Rodders is by the phone waiting on Jose to phone in with a reference!!
i would be over the moon if we were to appoint Clarke. :agree:
Wouldn't get too excited just yet, there could be nothing in this, just noticed the odds had drastically changed, hearing some bookies have suspended the market too.
There must be something in it though...
If we get Steve Clarke, and a huge IF, i would happily walk down Princes Street butt naked. He would be unreal for hibs. Contacts? Jeez they would be good.
However, my head tells me Nae Danger on this one.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steve_C...nagerial_stats
Before we all get really excited, it might be worth looking at his managerial stats.........:wink:
incredible change in odds within 24 hours!!
William hill have just slashed odds of 5/1 to 11/10 for micheal o'neil in the last hour as well so don't know if it really means anything :dunno:
Bookies also adjust their odds on the amounts staked.
People reading this forum and betting on him because there's chat, without substance it would appear, will drive the price down. I suspect that's what's happened but would be great if he was in with a chance.
Opening book is put together by compilers so clarke was seen as a outsider. but Mikey is right in saying it is only after a market has gone live that bets are taken into account which would be the case in this instance. The inside info reason would only see a marginal decress in odds,because this can be unreliable unless they have a wire in rodders office.
Victor Chandler had Steve Clarke at 12/1 on Monday now 9/4.
He's also 9/4 with McBookie.