https://x.com/skynews/status/1749860...dxJXScFNwz8V4A
Wonder if this means we are considering ground forces?
Printable View
https://x.com/skynews/status/1749860...dxJXScFNwz8V4A
Wonder if this means we are considering ground forces?
https://www.iwm.org.uk/history/a-sho...20with%20India.
Nice wee history of British involvement in the Yemen area here. Wonder why they don’t like us?
https://x.com/skynews/status/1750432...dxJXScFNwz8V4A
Even the Tories realise they are supporting a genocide. Starmer will likely fall into line now hopefully.
https://x.com/patrickmcnamar3/status...dxJXScFNwz8V4A
Starmer going full Arsene Wenger.
Absolutely brutal murder of innocent civilians in Gaza with literal white flags, evil *******s. Its not new though its been happening for decades
https://x.com/ozkaterji/status/17508...dxJXScFNwz8V4A
The ICJ comment on South Africa’s case against Israel
https://www.aljazeera.com/news/liveb...case-against-i
So ICJ say they should stop the genocide but can continue the fighting in Gaza
UN hasn't been fit for purpose in years, we see it when Russia gets to head the security council whilst invading Ukraine
The US needs to import more oil and gas. It can only import from a friendly state.
Israel needs exports.
Gaza has oil and gas.
Israel is taking over land in Gaza
I don't think I've commented on this thread since the atrocities committed back in October, I've just read and watched the news in pretty much silence, but this recent attack by the IDF needs to be addressed. Israel wants to be part of the "west" but this isn't how we operate is it (with the exception of maybe the US raid Osama Bin Ladens compound)?
This was a targeted assassination and execution of militants suspected of planning a further attack, and one that was lying in bed paralysed (alleged).
Israel isn't even trying to cover up or hide these attacks which must be as illegal as those on October 7th attacks?!?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-68137050
it's not how we like to be seen to operate, but the UK has a proud history of state terrorism that goes back centuries, continued throughout the last century in Ireland, not to mention sponsoring a cornucopia of nutters all over the world when it suits us.
the whole notion of the 'civilised west' is absolute self aggrandizing colonial nonsense. i'd much rather live in a western country, but as much as anything else that's because we've made the rest of the world so unstable.
Yeah, not disagreeing with what you've said. I'm well aware the UK has been involved in plenty of unsavoury political and military endeavours, some even "illegal". But, I can't recall a time our "special forces" have invaded a foreign land, dressed as medical staff and patients to execute targets knowing full well they'd be seen on camera.
It's a two finger salute to the rest of the world.
I'm not arguing that a state shouldn't protect itself from aggressors but I doubt it this was the right way to do it and I get the impression Israel doesn't care about the optics anymore.
This or the Bin Laden raid isn't in anyway comparable to October 7th . These three were terrorist soldiers and a general who helped murder innocent civilians.
Israel are saying they were undercover police in a war zone. I don't believe them I think it's probably a war crime against a squad who commit war crimes by using hospitals so freely. If the had army uniform on and killed then in the hospital I wouldn't have a problem with it. I think it's disgusting to compare it to October the 7th, they may have been Jews who have a terrorist government but they were innocent civilians not soldiers
There have been hundreds of war crimes in the genocide Israel is perpetrating, this is low down the list compared to shooting journalists with sniper rifles
I deliberately refrain from posting on these threads as posters can sometimes take away views/opinions that were not intended.
I apologise if my clumsy language made it look like I was comparing the October Hamas attack as being equal to the killing of the three Palestinian fighters, that's absurd and not what I meant. I was looking at it from the "legality" side.
Just my unsolicited opinion, if Israeli soldiers/special forces can walk in to a hospital outwith the State of Israel, and kill unarmed men without reproach from other countries, then where is this all going to end?
I'm well aware this conflict has went on for an age and won't end anytime soon, but it never will as long as these acts are not only carried out, but also never called out.
Edited to add, I only mentioned Bin Laden as that was a state sponsored execution. It still doesn't sit right with me that there was apparently little consideration to detain/arrest once his location was made known. Apparently, if captured alive it may have sparked further terrorist events. I understand that, but we'll now never know.
check out 'Gangs and Counter Gangs' by Major Frank Kitson - it's basically a manual for armed forces on how to pretend to be civilians whilst really being extremely effective terrorists, causing maximal chaos and destruction in the process. Forged in Ireland, still being used in Palestine, amongst many other places.
I'm not excusing it I think it's abhorrent but I was just saying it wasn't comparable to October 7th. He's said it wasn't his intention and I probably misunderstood. It's bizarre around it looked like a scene from a movie not a special forces op.
I don't believe anything Israel say and I don't believe they were just plain clothes police officers making it legal. I do think it's low down on their crimes though, nothing compared to shooting kids with rocks in their hands, pouring concrete into Palestinian drinking water reserves or building homes or private Palestinian property ect
There is zero comparison in category or value. It's like saying shoplifting and murder can be grouped as they are both crimes. It's poor and it downplays the evil of October the 7th whataboutery. Killing 3 terrorist isn't terrorism they were right to kill them, dressing as civilians in to kill terrorists in a war zone is a war crime though. As for Bin Laden Pakistan wasn't giving him up so they US did what it had to my hard doesn't bleed for monsters who slaughter thousands of civilians. My heart wouldn't bleed if Putin or Netanyahu got the same
It's a part of Israel to the Israelis but the international court of justice see Israel as the occupying power. Under the deal with the PA Israel forces are allowed to enter the West Bank. They are wanting a similar deal in Gaza post war meaning they can enter with forces for security reasons. Its terrible they can enter and a two state solution and sovereign territory is a must. Some including me say it hasn't stopped being a war zone and Israel are the occupying force
The debate about the hospital now seems to be whether it was IDF or ISA (the police) that formed the raid. The IDF soldiers aren't allowed to hide who they are, whereas police can go undercover. Israel at first said it was a joint operation but are now saying no IDF were on the ground. They usually don't justify their war crimes
Houthi’s naval blockade on Red Sea continues despite them not having a navy. Strikes have had zero impact.
https://news.sky.com/story/uk-and-us...snt-sf-twitter
The queers for Palestine group that were singing for the Houthi’s to turn the ships round might have other things to say to the the Houthi’s. Evil barbaric ****bags
https://today.lorientlejour.com/arti...en-source.html
13 sentenced to death for homosexuality in Yemen
absolutely rubbish take. i know it's annoying when 'right on' groups get a hold of the wrong end of a stick then start waving it about, and of course, it is absolutely horrific and inexcusable that people should be executed for who they love - but if you or i had been born in Yemen, there's every chance we would be of the same opinion as these extremists. The place has been being destroyed by the Saudis for over a decade, in an already highly unstable part of the world.
Whilst I absolutely agree that there will be evil barbaric ****bags amongst the Houthis, to tar them all with that brush absolutely reeks of colonial hubris. the fact is, we're sitting comfortably behind our computers/on our phones at home or on a bus or whatever, whilst they are reacting to having the **** bombed out of them for decades in a region that we seem absolutely hell bend on keeping totally destabilised. We (i.e. the west) have played a significant, most likely decisive part in creating the environment in which extremism, fundamentalism and barbarism thrive.
White guilt explaining away **** who are about to murder homosexuals. We would want gay people murdered too if we were born there, what a load of mince. Ukrainians have been bombed and had genocide committed on them for a decade but I wouldn't use that as any justification if they decided to commit human rights violations to this scale. Rwandans, Cambodians, Vietnamese, Moari all could all say we were treated like dirtand dehumanised so we'll murder homosexuals
When does a government or army ever become accountable for their actions or do the just hit its our colonisers fault. Houthis aren't the Yemeni people obviously, the same way Hamas isn't Palestinians or Netanyahu the Israelis or Jews. Houthis have been committing genocide on the Yemenis for decades. Both sides the Saudis and the Houthis are abhorrent with no respect for human rights
Not that Israel cares but another probable breach of International Law.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-68249962
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-68261286
Another one for Netanyahu and his murderous regime to be proud of.
All that's left if to flatten Rafah and that's what they intend to do next. Never mind the fact that up to 1.5m people are crammed in or around there as it is (was) a safe zone.
Never mind though. The US and co have said they are 'concerned' if this happens. That'll worry the nazi wannabes in Israel.
How anyone can hear stories like this and continue to back Israel I will never understand.
They are quite literally getting away with murder. Not only getting away, being aided and abetted by our wonderful leaders, who are apparently happy to excuse genocide when it's being committed by an ally.
The older I get the more I understand why people don't want to vote any more - Biden, Starmer etc all have blood on their hands.
They were not “defending” themselves. They were an oppressive force who were attacked by those they oppressed. In such a way that it was then easy to accede the moral high ground to the Israelis. They then retaliated in the most horrendous manner. And continue on their genocidal mission. With very little comeback from anyone.
The attacks on civilians, by both sides, deserve to be condemned, as they are, as you quite rightly point out, abhorrent. However, people who tried to justify the initial Israeli action as them defending themselves doesn’t wash with me. Hamas’ original attack and the response are just the 2 latest episodes in a conflict that been going on for decade.
The Israelis successfully rescued two hostages in Gaza... and managed to kill over 60 Palestinians, the majority of whom were innocent civilians, while doing so.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...2fc2c7797e.jpg
Australia now calling for a ceasefire. Starmer and Sunak still happy to carry on.
All very laudable objectives but they might as well be pissing in the wind. Israel do not want a 2 state solution, who is going to make them negotiate one? A land offensive in Rafa would catastrophic? What the hell has it been up to now?
The Palestinians need action, not mealy mouthed platitudes, however laudable they may be
Someone needs to stop Israeli attacks.
https://www-aljazeera-com.cdn.amppro...uthern-lebanon
Absolutely ridiculous behaviour!!!
It's all good. Our soon to king and overlord has said it should all stop. It's a major intervention apparently...
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-68343334
https://x.com/owenthompson/status/17...dxJXScFNwz8V4A
Who’s telling the truth?
All 4 parties involved are completely using the genocide as point scoring, they are all pathetic. The votes going to fail due to the Tories so can each party not just put out an official statement of what their exact opinion is. Stop the trying to trip each other up and arguing about words. Just let the public know your position and don't worry about the other parties conscience
Snp cheif whip says no contact with him. Lib dems and Labour say they both asked for two state solution to be added. What a load of guff. If a company was run like the bairns at Westminster it would go bust
OwenThompson
Please tell me who you reached out to? As SNP Chief Whip no request was made to me
@wendychambLD
We did reach out last year, and the answer was “no”. We reached out this time, had a meeting, but no change. Both times we asked for a two state solution to be included as the best means for a lasting peace
Probably as the public are now more in favour of a ceasefire so he would do the populist thing, he'd do it ridiculously slowly as he's more worried about the antisemitism label they have.
I think the large gains in three polls yesterday show the general public don't have it high on their priorities unfortunately, so he should have just fully backed ceasefire (if hostages released) earlier
I disagree. If this vote was not happening where would the pressure for him to change position come from? Labour would not have brought this vote. He has moved position because the vote is happening and his mp’s are telling him they will vote with the snp if he does not change.
I do agree that public opinion is of no consequence here. Foreign policy does not move votes at a GE.
Your right in that he probably would have hoped it would slip away without him having to talk about it. He'll wish tomorrow wasn't happening he seems a leader who doesn't want confrontation or to make a decision. He's lucky the tories are awful as I think many past tory leaders would have destroyed him.
Israel is going to take Rafah Starmer will hope its over by summer. The public forget easily, look at crimea, Kabul and Aleppo. He'll have to be more statesman like when leader though as he looks pathetic and only interested in the public view
https://x.com/tomfrench85/status/176...376913999?s=12
Game playing SNP will vote for Labour’s amendment.
US confirms it will drop aid into Gaza.
Just shows how little influence they have over Israel despite backing them to the hilt, that this is the only way they can get a tiny bit of help to those that need it.
All while supporting the Israeli genocide campaign.
Israel shooting civilians again, more words from various talking heads but no action.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-68454348
What does it take for countries to just denounce and stop supporting the murderous regime.
Police shoot dead a 12 year old kid for lighting a firework. One of 6 Palestinians killed that day.
And the west continues to back this murderous state.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-68557147
I'm personally raging with the facts as known that have been presented.
I'm white Scottish of no denomination, if I was Palestinian or similar, I could see this leading me to take arms.
I know it's not the first time, and it won't be the last but the abuse of the settlers powers is just so blatant it would be comical (even though there's nothing funny about it!).
Totally agree.
The more I think about it, the more I feel that it's the Israeli state and the events organisers of the Nova festival that are actually mostly responsible for the hostages being taken.
It's equivalent to Britain splitting Northern Ireland and putting every single Catholic in essentially an open air prison...then holding a psy-trance festival just outside the gates.
On top of this, you've got the fact that the Palestinian cause had been slowly fading from public consciousness, just turning into 'one of those things' that are awful but that nothing can or will be done about - so from that, you have a massive motive for Hamas to do something horrendous that will incur a brutal Israeli response.
To be clear - I do not blame the hostages themselves at all, as they are all products of their environment, and I've seen a fair few videos online of people who attended the festival completely denouncing Israel's response.
I also don't doubt for a minute that the leaders of Hamas are horrible pr!cks, living very comfortably, while they sacrifice their own people. The really terrible thing is that Hamas and the ultra-Zionists basically need each other to stay relevant, so it's hard to see how this can stop. Bibi might get punted, but he and his party are by no means the only ones who want to get the Palestinians out of Palestine.
https://x.com/gozukarafurkan/status/...dxJXScFNwz8V4A
IDF attacking unarmed men.
Russia and China veto the US resolution at the UN for an immediate ceasefire.
Of course they did. Just as the US vetoed or abstained from previous resolutions because of who proposed them.
It's all so pitiful and predictable.
40 dead and 100s injured at a concert in Moscow, heavily armed men stormed the arena shooting on site then blew the building up, biggest terrorist attack in Moscow, ISIS have claimed responsibility for the attack and the USA warned American citizens not to gather in big crowds in Moscow as there was a threat of a terrorist attack.
Big question, Russian citizens will be pretty feared tonight and what does Putin do.
Haven't seen this widely reported, absolutely horrific
https://www.washingtonpost.com/world...blinken-visit/
Israel announces largest West Bank land seizure since 1993 during Blinken visit
Stick an SS hat on her head rather than a scarf and job done.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-68650815
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-68679482
Not quite accusing Israel of war crimes but not far off. They really should just condemn this appalling Israeli govt loudly and clearly.
https://www.theguardian.com/world/20...e_iOSApp_Other
Shhhh!