http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/fr...soupwithg_7922
Printable View
Stores that only sell eggs in boxes of six. Why would I want six when I only have one boiled egg for breakfast.
In the pub, when people decline the offer of a bag of crisps when you buy a round, then proceed to help themselves to yours. :grr:
When you get a craving for a chicken and onion omlette and dont know why.
Away from eggs and onions. Although I think this has been mentioned.
People who stand up too early on public transport. Train today hadn't even left haymarket and people were queuing to get off at waverely! Ffs, get a grip you pricks. No standing until you are through the second tunnel at earliest.
Way too many to quote, but a big :tee hee: to everything since the onion post :thumbsup:
When you go to Greggs and ask for a sausage roll, then they give you one, and it's cold. Gies a hot one! Are we really expected to ask for a sausage roll to be hot? I don't ask Burger King to make sure my fries are hot. I don't have to remind Taste Good that I don't want cold shredded beef with chilli.
And dinnae even get me started on the lack of sausage in their sausage and bean bake.
Im sure there is a reason for this, I think it started arpund the time of the pasrty tax thing. I dont think they can keep them warm on a hot loght or whatever it was that uswd to keep them warm, unless you get there when its just out the oven cold pies and sausage.rolls are what you'll get. :-(
On a similar theme, when you're behind someone in the queue in Greggs who asks "are the sausage rolls hot?" and, if they are told they are not, asks "are the steakbakes hot?". This then continued until they've listed every baked item in the shop and sometimes doesn't even stop when they are told that something they've asked about is hot.
On more than one occasion I've heard a staff member reply by listing what is hot, but that still doesn't stop these folk who seem incapable or retaining information more than 3 words in length.
Funniest thing I saw was at waverly few years back, a woman with a pram got up early (as is acceptable imo) to stand at the door before getting off, then the usual crowd got up. A guy started to push through the crowd saying he only haf 10 min to catch a connecting train, he had plenty time
He managwd to get to.the woman with the pram who literally had no where to move and said she couldn't move, he tried to barge by her but she stod her ground and some words were exchanged. As the doors open je jumped forward and actually stepped over this womans pram (it was one of tjose big ones with a proper baby, not a toddler) she shouted something like what you doing, and reached out to grab him.and caught is trailing leg causing it to Clip his other leg. He went proper flying and his manbag spread loads oof.paper on the platform. I was last of the train as I let every one off and he was still picking up the paper, I really hope he missed his train hah
Sandwich queues!
Where I get my lunchtime sandwiches, there are 3 blackboards that list the full range as well as glass displays full of sandwiches with a wee card in front of each pile to say what they are.
But there's always someone (normally a woman) who'll wait until they're served to ask "what sandwiches do you have?"
Then they might ask for something but with no butter or mayonnaise therefore the wifie behind the counter has to go and make it up specially. That's fair enough, but then they yake a big chocolate cake and a can of coke to go along with their sandwich. WHO ARE YOU TRYING TO KID???:grr:
Cold sausage rolls > hot sausage rolls.
Anyone who disagrees is wrong.
One of my pet peeves is paying a fortune to taking the kids/grandkids to some sort of animal farm/zoo and find that half the stalls are empty due to renovations or the like.
No discount offered.
If I went into a pub and the barman poured me half a pint I'd be raging if he charged me for a full one.
Random folk who see you smoking and ask for a fag, eh naw bolt.
Group of asian folk who despite there being a half drunk pint, an open newspaper and a rucksack at my seat in the Doric thought it would be acceptable to take over my table while I was at the bar! Their response when I returned and told them to get to ****.......there are no other tables free!!!! Then the barman approached as I was about to lose it and told them sorry no kids allowed so they promptly left.
We were in KFC a couple of weeks ago and a guy came in asking everyone if they had any spare change. After doing his rounds he left only to come back 10 minutes later and ask everyone for a bit of their KFC. Guy ended up up with a pocket full of cash and a free load of chicken.
Waiting staff who wait on your shoulder and "pounce" to take your plate away a second after you have finished eating.
It being festival time in Edinburgh, the usual tourist-related peeves are always on my mind. However, the thing I always find strange, year after year, is that groups from East/South-East Asia (Japan, Korea, China etc.) always seems to have both the worst and best manners and attitudes.
I'm not sure whether there's a distinct cultural difference between certain nationalities or cultural groups, but you could not get more extremes of behaviour in relation to respect for others.
It's much much better than it used to be. I think it's less cultural and more of an attitude thing. When life's basics were in short supply, you really had to push in ahead of the rest just to survive. But old habits die hard. You'll find this attitude on the road as well. The idea of giving way just doesn't exist. It's always 'I'm gonna be first, you'll have to wait'. My biggest gripe: inconsiderate drivers!
The number of people, particularly on this message board, who express disgust at certain newspapers and media, then advocate boycotts, swear to never buy the rag or give hits to their websites but whenever the need or desire arises, ask somebody for information or to paste the information. Principles are principles. :rolleyes:
Automated, voice activated systems when you call a large organisation or office place.
"Please say the name of the person or department you are looking for"
Me - "John Smith"
"Connecting you to Joe Bloggs, unless you say cancel"
Me - "Cancel"
Ring Ring
That reminds me of my mate in a hotel room in Los Angeles who wanted to phone home.
As soon as he picked up the phone the automated system kicked in - "For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"
He said "operator"
"For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"
"operator"
"For room service say 'room service', for an alarm call say 'alarm call'..... for an outside line say 'operator'"
So he put on his bestest cheesy American accent "Uperaidrrr" - it worked!
Just had a work meeting, in attendance was someone wearing a brown suit, black shoes belt and shirt and an incredible hulk tie! Felt quite nauseous.
The fact that the DVLA can ban ARS as part of a number plate yet allows ERS in Scotland.
And who seriously buys a car with FUD ( saw one today)in the plate.Would tell the salesman to bolt.
People who just won't listen when you are trying to help them.
Phone rings at 10 to5 last night at work. New woman in the office answers and I overhear a few snippets of the conversation, realise it's a big customer so make a point of asking if she needs any help when she hangs up (she's only been with us 4 weeks and has a bad habit of going of on her own wee tangents or trying to do things her way which causes all kinds of logistical problems for my job).
She explains that was a customer, and as I said one of our biggest, who is looking for quite a few items by a week on Tuesday. The conversation that followed destroyed a part of my soul:
'They are looking for this, this, this and this by next Tuesday'
'Just pass that straight over to their account manager, it's specialist equipment and the specs and stuff will need to be checked'
'I'll just send them a link to the website'
'Those items won't be on our website, they're specialist'
'I'll send them a link to the supplier website then, she can have a look over the weekend then I'll speak to xxxxx on Monday about it'
'Hand it over to her now, it needs to be dealt with asap. It's specialist stuff, it needs priced and then handed over to me to be ordered and transported'
'She doesn't need it until next Tuesday, that's loads of time'
'It's not really, I'll need to check stock with suppliers then get it brought over from Germany. Just hand it to the xxxxx now, she'll deal with over the weekend then pass it to me on Monday,
'I'll just send her a link to the supplier website and hand it over on Monday'
'I really wouldn't recommend doing that, you're just going to cause more trouble for yourself on Monday. Xxxxx likes anything like this passed to her right away, it's not your job to deal with it, just hand it over'
'I think I'll just wait until Monday, there's nothing can be done over the weekend anyway'
At this point I just put my jacket on and left.
Nightmare that eh? happens to us all. :-)
"Changed it up".
Urquhart Castle
About ten years ago I was disappointed and scunnered to see that the toilets at the main car park were inside the pay gate forcing 'desperate' tourists to fork out big bucks just to relieve themselves.
Their latest devious scheme appears to be allowing continual growth of bushes & trees to block all views of the castle or loch from the car park.
Shylockism or am I being cynical?
Draught beers served in the wrong branded pint glasses.
Only thing worse is when you get a pint served in a glass not long out the glass washer that hasn't been dried properly.
Head on the beer just dies and you get bar staff standing looking confused when you complain about it, it's not difficult to work out what's happened.
******* lorry drivers who fill their tanks so full that they leave a diesel slick on every roundabout. Total nightmare for bikers. Rode through Glenrothes this morning on the way to work and every roundabout was covered
If you do a google the question has been posed loads of times but I can't find the answer.
https://www.question.com/why-my-clea...wet-95373.html
https://answers.yahoo.com/question/i...1045605AAihfdU
Getting to the end of an online booking and clicking submit then the system crashing or timing out!
To follow up the post above.
We went to Edinburgh zoo today. What a disappointment.
So many animals missing since I was young. Camels, giraffes, polar bears, seals, sea lions, elephants, etc. Are they all extinct? On the bright side we were treated to a host of mechanical dinosaurs who no doubt are cheaper to feed.
Alas, the wee train that took you to the top of the hill is deceased.
To crown it all they include a 'volentary' donation to the quoted entry fee in the hope that you will be too embarrassed to say that you don't want to pay it.
Certainly my last visit to this sadly depleted menagerie.
I don't drink alcohol anymore and it really irritates when I'm out and I'm told "Oh, you're no fun" when I don't drink. I have a laugh with everyone else, I have as good a night as I ever did when I did drink, I can give people a lift home, I don't get a hangover and I don't feel miserable the next day from the boozy blues. I have a really good Saturday night and my Sunday isn't ruined, everyone else in the group has a few pints and has a really good night, where's the hassle?
You shouldn't ever pour beer into a dry glass. The issue you're referring to is usually caused because the glass hasn't been cleaned properly or, as you say, it's just out the glass washer but is still warm (rather than still wet).
I think the washing and drying process is usually responsible for the "wet dog" smell also. In my experience, it's usually most obvious when someone has left glasses in the washer for a period of time and they've been sitting in an unclean steam fog, or when the glass is taken straight from the washer after the cycle finishes. The best washers rinse glasses with cold water after the washing cycle finishes and allow the tray to be removed completely from the machine to air somewhere appropriate.
Of course, solving these issues requires a pub with lots of space, the right washer, experienced bar staff and enough of each type of glass to cope when the pub gets extremely busy. There's not too many of those around.
What is it with grown women on Facebook telling each other how "gawjus" they are?? WTF?? Is Ali G writing dictionaries these days??? :confused:
Forever Living.
The use of the word "dystopian".
It seems that it is the new word to use to show that you're intelligent. Every other review in the Festival used the word. Even the review of Lanark (which was brilliant, by the way) used it twice in the same freaking paragraph.
I'd also mention the word "narrative", but Limmy has that covered.... :greengrin
Sorry, thought it was becoming widely known. :greengrin
It's an American company which is taking off over here. They use Sales Reps to both sell products and recruit others to do the same. You get a cut of whatever you sell and of whatever is sold by someone you've recruited. The result is essentially a gigantic pyramid scam with folk selling to their friends and relatives, some of whom feel obliged to buy to support the person in their new venture.
That alone doesn't necessarily bother me, but the products are massively overpriced IMO and the whole sales rhetoric is based around selling to people you know, which I think puts those people in an awkward situation - especially when multiple friends are doing it.
I know this type of thing has been around for a while in different forms and usually dies off quite quickly, but I think the combination of targeting people you know, mixed with the pervasiveness of Facebook, has meant this is easier for people to front whilst putting in very little actual effort.
There may be some people who genuinely like the products, can't buy similar elsewhere for cheaper and believe they are, therefore, worth the price. However, I think this will be a tiny minority and it basically boils down to people asking their friends and family for money, of which numerous other people are actually getting a cut.
I'm not on FB etc but, I just cannae get my head round the numerous begging websites out there (gofundme etc), I doubt I could start asking strangers for dough, whatever it was for. Wouldnae sit well with me at all.
Jamie Oliver. Just **** off.
Cash Machines. :grr:
If the first menu gives me the option of checking my balance or getting a receipt with my cash, and I select cash only, why the hell does it then ask me again if I want to check my balance and if I want a receipt before giving me my money? If I wanted either of those things I would have said yes the first time. :brickwall
Irritating perhaps, but people who do ANYTHING other than just take out cash at cash machine, in a prompt fashion, want shot.
Checking your balance? Do it online. Topping up your phone? Do it online. Have 3 cards? Do your financial management at home.
45 seconds max at a cash machine. Any longer and you're either a dithering pensioner or taking the piss.
Given the ridiculous list of ailments they claim their products help with, I think they'll probably claim to cure that too. :greengrin
The one at Scotmid on Easter Road by any chance? The only person I know that asks more questions than that cash machine is my girlfriend...and at least I can feel free to ignore her most of the time.
People who think the parking space outside their house on a public highway belongs to them.
About 5 years ago I was working up at Liberton and I used to drive up every day and park my car next to where I was picking up the taxi. The street was absolutely deserted but one day when I was finished and getting back into my car an old woman who must have been in her 90s came out and told me not to park outside her house as her son came every day with a big 7 seater. I looked up and down at the empty street and turned to her to point out how ridiculous she was being, but I saw an old woman who was clearly exasperated by the whole situation so I just said ok I'll park somewhere else. When I told the old guy who I was driving for at the time he said she didn't even have a son.
Thats funny! :-)
I must admit I was in a pub in Peebles last night watching the Scotland game and some female stole my seat from in front of the big screen when there were no other seats available, to my eternal shame I told her I was going blind and couldnae see the screen from further back! :)
It was actually the German game but, still a wee bit out of order. :-)
A guy at the top of my street has 4 traffic cones that he always has out on the road along his front wall. Cheeky git! He's got a garage too, just doesn't want anyone else parking outside his house. Can't believe the police have never been round to ask for them back.
People who don't seem to understand the concept of value in the bookies. Guy today had a horse that finished miles unplaced but didn't mind because it was 14/1 so he 'got a bit value'. How did you get value? You put a fiver on each way, it lost so you lost a tenner.
People don't seem to get that big odds don't always represent value and a bet at evens or even odds on can represent value.
Also when people talk about bets and say 'Chelsea lost me £500'. Did you bet £500 on Chelsea to win? 'No it was part of a £5 accumulator'. Ah so you lost a fiver? 'No I lost £500.' No you missed out on winning £500, you only lost a fiver of your own money.
Folk standing queuing at a gate half an hour before it opens, pointless.
Seems the Danish agree with you - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-34153628
I agree with the points outside on a public road doesnt mean its your space....but... im in the process of moving house so doing a bit decorating etc the passed few weeks iv been living in the house on and off and the guy across the street (who has a driveway) parks his massive bright orange dinorod van directly in front of my window so close that when the sun shines my freshly decorated front room has a very bright orange shine to it, ive tried ignoring it but between that and the mrs banging on im nearing my wits end, the fact the boy came out and moved his van up a few yards the other day when i nipped to the shops nearly made me snap.....hes got a drive put the hidious thing in there and park the car in front of my house no problem caused.....probably doesnt want a glow in his front room tho
People who stand right at the school gates blocking it off for everyone else when they've got a huge playground to stand in! :grr:
Mum's in big fancy cars that "park" at schools and block the road for everyday users and don't realise they're doing nothing wrong. Even if pointed out to them they think they're ok "cos there's no yellow lines on the road".
Common sense and courtesy doesn't come into it.
Walk ya lazy bitch or put your kids into a school that's closer to your house.
Folk that live their life round the kids school, even moving house to get a place.
All schools cook the books to make their stats better - if the headmaster wants a promotion it's in his interest to do so. Some schools are just better than others at getting the data "correct".