Death nail for any Scottish MP to sign this unnecessary motion.
Printable View
Death nail for any Scottish MP to sign this unnecessary motion.
At last Galloway has done something I approve of. No Scottish MP will sign it of course, they are as cowed by hun fear as the media.
I see Dundee U have sold 200 tickets to Sevco fans, despite Charles nae Green's boycott. Hope they all get their ****** hieds kicked in, plus Green.
Does Galloway think we are as dumb as the Sevco masses who hang on Charles Greens every word as he plays to the gallery? Gorgeous George is playing exactly the same game here. Nothing more than self serving bawbaggery from the man who's only solid political achievement has been to enrich himself.
There is a serious point to be made here about Phoenix companies. It's just a shame that it hasn't been taken up by serious politicians in the past.
It doesnt matter what his 'self serving' intentions are. Hes launched an Early Day Motion on the subject, and for that he should be applauded.
If its the same list I saw last night, it includes lifelong Cellic fan and ST holder Jim McGovern also.
Is this the culmination of years of campaigning against companies who rise from the dead and continue trading then? Obviously this Early day motion will actually achieve something other than promoting Galloway and I stand corrected. Given his odious utterings the last time he raised his head over the parapet I will applaud nothing he does. Do you really think he is raising this motion in order to change things? I have a healthy contempt for any politician who gets involved in football for whatever reason but I reserve an extra dollop of contempt for Galloway.
I hear your contempt loud and clear. I dont like him much either. Would you support the text of the EDM if it was introduced by another politician?
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...g-fa-1-2760303
"If Mr Scudamore and his colleagues have, indeed, been saying "no" consistently for 14 years, then the club has been wronged continuously since, at least, 2000 when the Act came into force."
It will would be fun to see The Rangers win their case only to discover that they have no claim to any advantage that the former Rangers Football Club may have had and they start at the very bottom wherever that may be.
Wow, that's even madder than anything Charles Green has come up with. Rangers should exploit EU competition law which, if successful, would compel the Bundesliga to accept Ajax, Serie A to accept Portsmouth and La Liga to accept Hibs. However, if they do, UEFA can impose appropriate sanctions for using the courts anyway.
Did the guy get paid for writing this guff?
:agree: It seems to me that Mr MacLean is talking through his learned erse. Regardless of anyone's views on whether or not The Rangers are the same club as the old Rangers, it's very clear that in law they are not. That's the same law that enabled them to evade at least £55m of tax and other debts and the law they would be depending on for any action of this nature. For an Advocate to miss or disregard that basic fact is staggering. There are several other holes in his argument as well but that single point kills it stone dead.
If they do go down the legal route then they do have a case and would likely win. However they may have to start at the bottom as they are a new club.
Maybe. I don't much care for Galloway either, but I am glad to see somebody at least publicly standing up to the endless threats, bullying, whining and intimidation from Green and his horrible "institution", whether it will succeed or not. Because nobody else seems prepared to do it, on any issue.
Drew 1-1 wi Montrose at the bigot dome. :greengrin:na na: Green's Euro masterplan on course.
It seems to me, as an ordinary joe whose tax is deducted at source, that the current system is farcical. Liquidation and reincarnation appears to favour the seedy businessman/crook at the expense of those to whom they owe money. The current situation at Ipox underlines the ease with which companies can jettison their obligations and continue to operate....and in the case of Sevco, actually boast of how successful their machinations have been.
I don't care that it's Galloway who's highlighting this issue, though the man emanates a truly bad smell. I just hope it leads to a shake up of the law. Sadly though, too many politicians are up to their necks in business ventures, while they should be concentrating their minds on running the country for the benefit of the people rather than themselves.
Good post. I see marinello's point about wasting Mps time (although I must say I have precious little faith in any of them) but I just want someone, anyone, to flag this up in any way they can rather than just accept it, as so many people who are in a position to do/say something (media) seem to prefer to do.
When does the Nimmo-Smith enquiry take place?