Something really exciting?
How do you get that from "1400 - It's a good news kind of day"?
Printable View
I rarely even go the Club’s website, never mind anywhere else.There’s just nothing about it to grab my attention.
I come here for everything Hibs related online. There will be links to anything interesting elsewhere.
I’d imagine the club would love to have as much interaction as they see on here. The fact that we’re discussing it online and that Hibs.net is so popular shows that there is demand for Hibs online.
Keeps coming back to the point that it has to be done properly.
Agree with this. I don't bother with Twitter so hadn't seen any of this but right now a lot of fans are hurting and, whilst some of that may be OTT, that is the nature of football. Its an emotional game and football clubs make huge sums from fans that often can't afford it spending money on tickets, merchandise etc.
It's absolutely not a massive issue, and no one deserves abuse over it, but like you they read the room wrong. As a one off its not a huge issue but people are thinking about buying season tickets and the club need to connect with fans and make it clear they understand their hurt after the final.
i clicked on a link in an e-mail from the club that took me to the page for season tickets, wasn't interested so i clicked on the "back to main site" alas it just kept returning to the season ticket page....how hard is it to check links work, seriously ?
used to be so informative with results going back a few seasons now lucky if i look at the club main site every several months
I agree. What a total overreaction by some fans to a total non story. It seems that since the cup final Hibs can’t do or say anything right for some folks, nothing is good enough. The same punters who were complaining bitterly last year that the club was a disgrace for failing to secure a major sponsor are now greeting like bairns that the big reveal isn’t big enough or good enough. Some folks are never happy.
Because I wouldn’t expect them to tweet something like that unless it was something worth generating excitement for.
That tweet was designed to create anticipation. I don’t see why you would do that for a relatively boring story considering the current atmosphere around Hibs just now.
I get why people who don’t get excited about that kind of thing don’t see the big deal, I also get why people were expecting something more exciting and knowing what people are like I also fully expected the reaction it got.
Thing is though it's not a boring story to secure a good jersey sponsorship deal in these trying times.
That extra money could help fund a new signing or a contract extension.
The people who abuse the club after almost every tweet were doing it long before the Cup Final.
These are probably the people who would have been trying to assault other Hibbies had we all been at Hampden.
I think the people who abuse the club are fannies and they’re not worth bothering about. I think there’s a middle ground though that can see the club aren’t getting social media right without abusing them.
When you saw that tweet today, you knew it needed to be something good at 2pm or the Twitter person would get dogs abuse didn’t you?
I think the Twitter person had to see that as well when posting the first tweet, the fact they never shows a lack of awareness IMO.
I’m not sure if emotional intelligence applies to social media but if it does, the club doesn’t have it.
I think it was obvious the first tweet was designed to great anticipation or excitement and I think it’s obvious the second tweet wasn’t going to satisfy that excitement.
Why do you think they bothered with the first tweet? Do you not agree, whatever the purpose of it was, hasn’t worked?
Regardless of the rights and wrongs of people being idiots or brats or whatever, if that first tweet never went out, it would have been a good news story, instead the story being discussed is the Hibs Twitter person getting it wrong.
I thought new kit or shirt sponsor right away. New signing teasers are always followed up pretty quickly.
This is such a close-season thread.
The first tweet was to say that there would be some good news announced at 2.00pm.
I don't understand why you say it didn't work. There was a fair bit of good humoured banter on 2-3 different threads on here about what the announcement might be.
It worked.
The fact that a bunch of no marks can't behave themselves doesn't change that.
Aye, but I’m no talking about them, keep up man 😂
Every Hibs fan I know across 2 group chats were underwhelmed when the announcement at 2pm came. To my knowledge not one of them abused anyone at the club but the perception was one of disappointment as they thought something better was coming.
Doing a tweet to create anticipation for that announcement hasn’t worked, if you think it has you’re off yer heid IMO.
Who knew the Hibs support was rammed full of e-communication strategy experts who simultaneously have enough time on their hands to follow Hibs twitter feed minute by minute.
It's good news, of which there has been precious little on the commercial side of late.
First part of that is a daft post.
You don’t need to be an expert to know they got it wrong. That’s the point, it’s the public they are trying to engage with, not e-communication strategy experts, the public are clearly saying they got it wrong, hence all the debate around it.
FWIW you maybe missed it but if you look up on this thread a bit you will see there actually is a professional in this field saying they got it wrong. Sorry, can’t remember the name of the poster.
Your last sentence is spot on, that’s why it’s annoying the social media person misjudged the earlier tweet.
Not sure why the shirt reveal wasn’t done on the same day. Could’ve done a more exciting reveal of the sponsor as well. Can only hope a signing is in the pipeline so they can model the kit.
Imagine the scenes if the reveal on the kit was without a player wearing it and it was just revealed piece by piece from socks, to shorts to shirt. Big news at 12…big news at 2…huge news at 4. Add to that Aberdeen revealing Griffiths in their new kit (which is better than ours) and it will be utter pandemonium.
What are you basing ' the public clearly saying they got it wrong' on? The whinging halfwits on twitter and a few posters on here?
My guess is that most rational adults would have seen a tweet saying good news at 2pm.....and funnily enough there was good news.
If folk were expecting earth shattering transfer news or something then more fool them.
Mountains and molehills spring to mind.
If you’re genuinely annoyed / disappointed that the club put out *one* tweet saying there’d be good news at 2pm, then announced a new sponsor, then honestly, I don’t know what to tell you.
You are missing the point entirely. It isn’t about expecting a player to be modelling it. It’s expecting the kit reveal to be a big thing now because sponsor and kit announcements have been staggered. That’s the obvious intention of these teases so outside of the abuse on Twitter I see no issue with fans raising expectations.
Also, fyi based on the size of our fan base almost every action or comment ever made by an individual can be filed in the “expected every time it seems” category. The expectation of a player revealing the kit has been, as expected, shot down by you. It seems you would do this each time it happens.