Manged to get on an early London to Edinburgh train thanks to the delay. Then broken points at Morpeth. 1530 came in about the same time the 1700 was due.
Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
Printable View
Since it changed to LNER I’m genuinely surprised when my train is on time. It’s usually only a few minutes delay, but there’s been a couple of 3/4 hour waits chucked in there too. I’ve probably missed at least a third of my connections because of delays in recent times.
Another one for Black Friday. More American pish.
Northern rail strikes every bleedin weekend affecting my trips to Liverpool.
This might take some explaining :greengrin:
Families that go swimming and take a ball with them to throw to each other.
It’s not so bad if there are only 2 of them but when 3 or more are there taking part , they take up half the pool throwing the ball around in a triangle or square.
This is a thing . I’ve witnessed it loads of times over the past few months.
Absolutely drives me insane.
People who go swimming but don’t really swim and just stand in the water at the end of the pool.
GTF out the way.
When you take your underwear out the drawer and think they’re inside out, you turn them to what you think is the right way only to find as you put them on that they were the right way round to begin with.
Which pool?
I take my son swimming a fair bit, usually the commie but he gets bored really easily. I am aware of my surroundings granted but there is not much to do for kids now there. The aqua dash was good but you need to book well in advance.
I found bubbles in livi a better alternative for him now as he can go on the slides but size of the pool is tiny.
They should really either cut off a bit of the pool for balls etc at commie, or have a couple hours for certain ages in the learning pool so as not to annoy people with kids (who I seem to recall have a special slot in the mornings for under 5's only))
I agree with all points, even the poster you are replying too.
I find it infuriating at swimming as people seem to lose all spacial awareness, i will be waiting on my boy jumping in and people will just stand in front of me so there's no room to jump even though it's obvious that's whats happening.
In saying that i turned into one of those people the previous poster was complaining about at the weekend, for years my boy loved swimming however since he learned to actually swim himself he's finding it a bit boring if there's nothing to play with so i bought a wee ball to throw around, I hated it though as i was conscious i was constantly getting in folks way and it is annoying for them, i get that.
I think with all the money spent on the commy pool recently it's shocking they couldn't have put some better stuff in for kids, I've been to a few much smaller places than Edinburgh with much better 'fun' swimming facilities than we have got here. Dunbar and Perth to name a couple of the top of my head.
Not sure if it's of interest but we went to Wester Hailes pool the other week and that was much better than the commonwealth pool, the slide was shut when we went but that seemed to be a temporary measure and they had a good bit for jumping in, there was also much more space for playing with a ball or something. The only problem was the changing rooms that resembled what i expect an Easter European prison to look like but the pool itself was great.
It’s fantastic at WHEC.
They inflate the giant slide on a Saturday afternoon if you are interested.
It can be a pain when there is swimming lessons on and also when 2 lanes reserved for the swimming cap and Google’s brigade .
My youngest just started swimming a few months ago and can now jump off the first diving board and is loving it.
Cafe is great too .
Grammar nazism isn't always a good thing, but civilisation will shirley crumble sooner rather than later if yoofs do not grasp that when they've sent a text to someone they have texted a message, not text it.
Yeah, I grew up in Sighthill as well as Leith as a child and went to the WHEC all the time, the changing rooms have not been updated since I was nipper. I am 31 now haha. Ive taken him there a couple of times but he was too young for the slide then, ill need to give it another bash soon. IIRC its usually between 2 and 4 on a Saturday its on.
I guess keeping with the thread my 'Peeve' is that there is no leisure pool in Edinburgh for kids. Water world was great when I was wee, shame it was closed down/not used.
It's a scandal that in as tourist-friendly a city as this (not to mention one that has what, half a million or so residents?) that there is no leisure pool for kids.
Was Waterworld not sacrificed so the Commonwealth Pool could be upgraded, and we couldn't afford both?
My peeve is probably that as a nation (UK level) we seem to put so much emphasis on winning gold medals rather than encouraging the fun of activity and leisure for all. If we have a track record of winning gold medals at a particular pursuit we don't seem to have any issues finding funds, whereas things we don't do so well at (but might just manage in the future) are hopelessly underfunded.
Brexit.
#justsaying
Meadowbank being left to rot for about a year and still no sign of anything happening.
It was a great, well used facility, the bulldozers should have been in the day after it shut its doors, if they weren’t ready to work on whatever is replacing it then it shouldn’t have shut its doors.
Yellow bananas that taste green :rolleyes:
Getting approached for a job that looks like it'll be great, and the employer is paying way less than you're currently on.
People logging on to Hibs.net to announce they’re logging off of Hibs.net because of all the nonsense and attention seeking.
Irony.
While we're doing hibs.net gripes can i throw in posters with very similar user names please?
Northernhibby, NORTHERNHIBEE, 90+2, SINCE 90+2 etc.......
Shouldn't really make a difference as i like to think i take each post on it's merits rather than who the poster is but i find it really nippy, especially when they're disagreeing with each other and i get really confused :grr:
I get myself mixed up with Cabbageandribs1875. :rolleyes:
When it shows up the quoted box of the Hibs.Net Lite version of the site anyway.
The popular 'revelling in failure' and 'hoping we lose' nonsense you get so often in here.
I was about to post it in Things You Don't Get but I get it perfectly, it's just a desperate attempt from those who aren't capable of forming an argument to try and devalue someone else's.
As if there is a single Hibs fan who doesn't want anything other than Hibs to win every single game they play!?
Sitting in a pub with a pint and something to read when the bar staff go round polishing already clean tables etc.
It is so unfriendly when there are still a few hours to go before last orders.
Poor quality meat in restaurants. Your food arrives and you've been looking forward to a tasty Rogan Josh and the first bite of lamb is all fat, gristle or bone. If I'm paying for meat, I want meat!! Same applies to chicken and beef. If they can hide rubbish meat in a sauce so you can't see it, they will. I've started having pea and paneer instead. Very tasty too.
People who don’t think rules apply to them.
At my boys nativity today there were a couple of clear instructions, no photos and when the official photos are available on the school website don’t post them on social media.
Within minutes of it starting there were parent with their camera out taking photos and we’re now seeing pictures of the boy on social media from other parents. It doesn’t bother me his photo is on social media but It’s the principle, you were told not to so just dont!
And don’t get me started on queue jumpers and the woman who turned up late and instead of just standing at the back like everyone else decided she was to important for that so found a seat and moved it to the front so she could sit beside her pals and see better!
I’ll never understand people
Not likely, I'll be working that day.
I'll leave the nippy mums to fight it out amongst themselves for the best spot.
They can have my ticket... for free!
Nippy mums so believe.
Mums? Whats with all this women bashing going on here just now? Dads can be nippy too!
When the link to an article or the title of a thread doesn't make it clear that the subject is women's sports.
Clickbait at it's finest/worst.
This absolutely. Any kind of event like that involving children involves a large minority of parents standing up throughout the performance, some with phones, often with tablets (tablets FFS!!) held up completely blocking the view for anyone behind them under 6'5". And you just know they'll delete the 'footage' of Imogen or Hugo before the day is out anyway. All experiences are now commodities seemingly.
That women can't accept that men view the world differently from them, that we have a different outlook on life. Just because I didn't notice that my wife and daughters put up the Christmas tree when I was out today doesn't automatically make me an a***hole does it?
The fact that we still get held back despite there only being 1800 Celtic fans at ER, most were away by full time yesterday.
Folk that sit on the very edge of their seat at a football match. The two seats next to me obviously don’t have ST holders in them so it is different folk every week. Without fail they all seem to sit on the very edge of their seats, leaning over the wall (I’m on the front row of the upper tier) blocking my view of the entire goalmouth and a significant part of the North West quarter of the pitch. Most are happy to sit back when asked but some can be real arsey about it.
I say they all seem to sit on the edge of their seats. That’s not quite right. If they aren’t on the edge of their seats, they are standing... in the front bloody row!
When you reply to one text from your mum or dad and they believe it's open season for sending 10 or 29 texts of absolute *****.
I don't reply anymore.
1. All gambling ads on TV.
2. TV adverts where they have actors supposedly playing members of the public singing out of tune karaoke-style to various songs. The TV screen's going to get a boot through it if I hear brutal versions of All I Want for Christmas Is You, Let 'Em In or Can You Feel It one more time.
Folk that use the run up to xmas as an excuse to do even less work than normal. Thats not a valid reason to be even lazier than usual.
Tbh I’m noticing that myself just now.
Not for a second would I suggest I’ve got a gambling problem, far from it however I looked at my bank statement recently and I’m quite shocked at how much I’ve been spending on it. I always convinced it myself it’s ok as I just like a wee fiver on at the weekend for a bit interest. Looking at my bank account though I’ve realised that fiver at the weekend has turned into the 2 lines on the Saturday games, the Sunday games, the champions league games (both nights) and the Europa league plus the odd hibs game.
I’ve decided to close my online accounts and i’m actually finding it easy so I’m certain I’ve not got a problem, I am noticing how many adverts there though encouraging online betting, something should be done about it imo.
I used to to work with a couple of guys on Saturdays, who would genuinely have the shakes if they hadn’t put a few lines on first thing. They’d be hopping around asking when they could get a break so they could run round to the bookies. This was about 15 years ago, goodness knows what they would be like now with the app and online capabilities. One in particular was very fond of crazy 11, 12, 15 match accumulators of 20 quid, usually ones where he’d have burton Albion to win at Stamford bridge, and Alloa to win at parkhead. He’d never take a telling about why the potential winnings were so high.
Children being sick.
I know she can't help it but my bairn just produced some foul smelling ooze that looked exactly like the partially digested lasagne it was. As I was cleaning it she was screaming and shaking so chunks where flying everywhere.
She's bow dozing away quite content whilst I have just finished stripping sheets, wiping the carpet, putting a wash on and rinaing the bath all whilst now feeling a bit sick myself.
His payout would hit the limit. A real peeve of mines ia bookies taking bets off mugs who would reach the limit with a lot less than their stake. The guy who backed 5 winners at Cheltenham a few years ago only had to put less than a 1/3 of his stake to win a million but they still took his £50.
Cher!! How does she think she can sing ABBA songs, really???
Yup, I can clean up ***** all day long if needs be and as minging as it is i can look past it and just get the job done (thankfully not been an issue for quite some time and shouldn't be again). I am utterly pathetic when it comes to sick though, i can't deal with it.
I go and grab the towels, cleaning product and kitchen roll for the wife though so i'm not completely useless.
"Happy Christmas"
Bin bags as thin as tissue paper. :rolleyes:
Yellow 'paving stones' on paths ... What's wrong with just fixing the bump/hole whatever?
The council now a days seem to come along and just nail a fibreglass board over it then leave it for months!!
Being charged almost a fiver for a pint in a famous city centre bar and then the head is too big. Request to top up elicits only surly compliance.
No wonder Wetherspoons are making a fortune. Hopefully all city centre pubs will be run by them in years to come.
Folk on mopeds who weave through queued traffic at traffic lights and then position themselves directly in front of the car at the front.
We then have to crawl along when the lights change as their 2 stroke engine takes an age to get up to speed.
'Mad Friday'.
Passed a guy tonight throwing up in the gutter, bottle of beer in hand and his tie wrapped round his head whilst 2 other buffoons guffawed in the background. They then challenged a young guy on his own to a 'square go mate'.
Cretins.
Suprisingly not.
It's total amateur hour. I hated December when I worked in pubs.
'Pint of Tennents please'
'£3.60'
'Oh and a gin and tonic'
£7.40'
'And a large red'
'Anything else?'
'Oh yes, a pint of Guinness'
Just give me the whole order at once. Then you'd have to watch the farce of them carrying the drinks 2 by 2 across a busy pub.
The other classic was when we used to pour one of the regulars, who sat in the pub at the bar for about 4 hours every night, a Best when he was ready;
'Why's he getting served first'
'He's not, I'm pouring his whilst I serve you'
'Why?'
'Because he'll still be here in January, he doesn't ask stupid questions, he usually buys me a pint before he leaves and he'll keep me in a job when you are back on your couch with a bottle from your Majestic case trying in vain to tenpt your intolerable wife inot missionary sex for 15 seconds'.
Jogging bottoms, bought a comfy Nike pair for bumming about the house without realising they are all skinny fit these days. They fit everywhere except tight around my calfs, I feel like I’ve got calf’s like Roberto Carlos!
Companies sending you Merry Christmas marketing emails on the morning of the 25th.
I’m normally pretty good at unsubscribing anyway but any company that sends me one today is getting that treatment automatically.
Patents letting their kids stand, sit and lie down in shopping trolleys.
Your weans clarty shoes will be touching the surface that the next person who uses that trolley will put their food on.
Selfish ********s.
What about loose fruit that is in these fragile, easily rippable bags you choose? That isn't immediately immune to the dog **** that the kid has transferred to the bottom of the trolley so you could be literally handling that **** and eating it within a matter of minutes.
So naw.
You mean the trolleys that are stored outside and open to the elements and anything that wants to land on them. You should be more worried about the kids picking up bacteria from the trolleys.
You’ll be telling me next you sanitise the checkout belt before you put your shopping on it.
Sanitised regularly my erse, wiped down occasionally with a spray that isn’t even left on long enough contact time to actually sanitise. Following good hygiene practices at home once you actually prepare and before you eat food will serve you far better than worrying about a trolley.