In the rare cases where they die on holiday and their families cannot afford repatriation.
It costs several thousands, I believe. Insurance is about £15 per week.
Printable View
Two from me and they are linked.
Firstly people who don't adhere to rules at an events, organisers who don't enforce the rules and why we leave the rules in place if they aren't enforceable or there's no desire to do so. I was running at the weekend and the rules clearly stated only bone conduction headphones were allowed, breach of this rule was a disqualification. At the start there was the inevitable site of hundreds of runners putting all manner of headphones into their ears and setting of. Do I want to see people disqualified for this considering a lot of people train with music? Probably not but it's annoying. Firstly on tighter stretches of track or road if I want to overtake someone I often can't because they can't hear me coming and carry on blocking people behind them oblivious to anything else going on. Secondly if the rule isn't going to be enforced just get rid of it; state on the entry form that if you can't hear traffic, other runners or marshals then any injury or accident is your responsibility and be done with it.
The second peeve is littering. I ****ing despise littering. It's so pointless and it's just unadulterated laziness. At the same running event a lady in front of me went into her pocket, took out an energy gel, used it then threw the empty wrapper on the ground. Why? If you can carry it full then why can't you carry it empty? I picked it up and handed it to her and said 'I think you dropped this.' She seemed a bit puzzled for some reason. Again it was stated in the rules litter should be disposed of properly, I often find this is a particularly common way of acting amongst active people who really should know better. The number of hillwalkers I see tossing banana peels and the like onto the ground on mountains is scary. When you challenge them you get a 'it will degrade mate'. Maybe at 20 degrees over a few months but at -1 near the summit of a mountain it's going to lie there for years. These lazy barstewards rely on other people cleaning up after them though and they know someone else will pick it up.
Amen to all that, though I don't think active people should be singled out for special scorn. The huge amount of litter on roads leading into and out of Edinburgh is almost all thrown there by people sitting on their ***** in cars. More trouble to lower the window than to take your crap home with you, but there you go. They've paid their road tax - who are we to tell them how to behave?
People in tenement buildings that are quite happy for others to put out their bins, without a word of thanks. My old man has stopped doing it at last. The oldest folk in the stair put theirs out, seems to be below the younger folk in the stair.
It must have been covered already, impatient folk at baggage carousels.
Just back from a (wet) week away on the Costa Blanca and both going there, and on the return we encountered the same idiots at the baggage reclaim carousel,,,, most people were standing back a bit so you could see the bags coming along but this family barged in and blocked off about 4 metres with themselves and trolleys then proceeded to poke at nearly every bag that passed (is this ours, is this ours, is this ours?).
An exasperating experience!
Folk who say eXpresso rather than eSpresso.
It doesn't really matter obviously but it really grates on me.
Modern day Coffee snobs. :greengrin
Queuing, I'm at Disneyland Paris and wondering why the **** I've done this to myself....AGAIN
Trying to distinguish which of MWC’s posts are satire and which are serious.
Facebook. I hate Facebook. However, I need it for info on the kids activities (my own, not other peoples).
Dog-gate caught my eye, next thing you lose half and hour reading comments of strangers with poor spelling going radge at strangers with equally bad spelling.
**** you zuckerberg!!!
After scoring a goal, football players all seem to point a finger on each hand towards the sky and look up at it whilst mumbling something.
Messi started it, I think, but everyone's getting in on the act.
Does my head in.
The loss of a sense of humour in society in general these days.
Folk are desperate to take offence - and I'm not talking PC brigade stuff here, I consider myself to be PC and have a good idea (I think) of where the lines are that shouldn't be crossed.
I know the calendar thread (for those of an age) want everyone's cup of tea, or the 'blame Petrie' thread, but they had some genuinely funny posts in them that simply wouldn't fly these days without people taking the hump and the thread ending up being locked down or whatever as nobody can take a joke.
The fact that people have to spell out that they're not being serious sometimes is criminal, imho.
Totally agree, a good idea to keep in touch with friends and family maybe all over the world turned into an invasive monster. Full of fake ****, people sharing fake **** and crap you're not interested in. I've just unfriended the vast majority of my friends (who I see all the time anyway) and once I get alternative contact details from the others, whatsapp etc. it's getting binned.
Andy Murray does it. Possible/probable Dunblane connection? For an old atheist like me it's utterly pointless, but if the player concerned genuinely feels emotional and in his head wants to dedicate a win or a goal to absent friends or family then I see no problem.
This poppy stuff on social media.
“Keep the poppy going”
“This is not racist blah blah”
**** off. I’ve never heard anyone say it’s racist.
Eye catching Hibs result headline that turns out to be about womens' football.
Scottish folk on Twitter trying to be witty and typing in their accent for retweets and likes. Usually attention seeking slappers from the west. Boils my piss.
When you phone almost any big company, often not freephone, only to hear a recording saying you can go online. Well I've been online to find your phone number (does anyone use the phone book these days?) and I want to speak to a human being. That's why I'm phoning!
Dogs in parks etc without a lead. Yes they do jump on me with muddy paws and dribbly jaws. As often as not the owners or handlers or whatever you call selfish people who allow this just call the animal's name! Control your pest!!
Very annoying. I had 3 run up and do just that to me when I was on a run earlier this year too - my attempt to escape seen me run into nettles (wearing shorts). Owners were shouting but clearly couldn't control their dogs. Thankfully I was just myself so mostly just waited it out - if I was with my girlfriend who is scared of dogs then her panic could have set them off more.
Also, dogs that honk. We were sat in the pub the other week and this huge big thing came in with the owners who proceeded to feed it some dog chew things. Within about 10 minutes the pub was honking like a manky dog basket. We had to move it was that bad.
Are owners oblivious of the smell or they just not care?
That guy on "come dine with me"
Speak properly you twat
I'm pretty sure you don't have to, the law only says that the dog has to be under control,,,, many are not!
I'll put my hands up and admit a dog under my care jumped on to a pushchair and muddied up a young boy. I was dog sitting a Ridgeback (so not the smallest) when I took it a walk at 7 in the morning, it's recall was normally quite good so I was happy for it to have a run off the lead at the local park. As we turned a corner at David Lloyds, the dug spies someone new to play with and bolts over. I'd as well have been mute for all the good my shouting was doing, by the time I'd caught up he had his muddy paws on the infant. Although he's the friendliest of beasts, strangers wouldn't know this. Thankfully the "mum" was very understanding but I was so annoyed at myself, I'd looked after this dog every now and then since he was a pup,,,,, he doesn't get off the leash at all now!
Any product name that replaces S with Z, like City Roomz, seriously winds me up more than it should
You think?
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.lad...81102.amp.html
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
This thread is turning a bit weird....the dog is dead.
Something that bugs me is the number of people that refer to the ground as the floor, particularly when you see police tv programmes telling suspects to get on the floor when their out in the street.
to me a floor is indoors and the ground is outside. :confused:
Folk getting "UEFA" wrong.
Looking for Holiday flights and the departure and return airport are different . WTF?
Non-iron shirts. Just a lie.
I wear shirts every work day and travel a lot. Never tried them but was curious as to whether they were effective. Are they really that bad?
(Top travel tip - if you do have to pack shirts, iron them first, then when you unpack, hang them in your hotel bathroom and turn the shower on full heat for twenty minutes - all the creases come out due to the steam).
Cheers, I'll give them a swerve.
As for hotels, their irons are usually horrendous and spill brown staining water. Best avoided. The other thing to do is a cheap investment in a couple of foldable travel hangers - lots of hotels have those ones that clip into a lock on the rail so you can't take them into the bathroom.
Not sure what point you are making, but if you are criticising steaming shirts while in the shower or even when not in the shower, then okay. I should maybe just plug in an iron and use electricity that way?
From what you've posted, you earn your income in the aviation industry though, which obviously contributes to positive climate change :wink:
Think you are in a glass house throwing stones and I bet my occasional shower with a shirt in the bathroom doesn't add up to 0.0001% cent of what you do on a daily basis.
Either way, air travel isn't environmentally friendly, and me using electricity to steam shirts isn't either. I try to limit it by hacks like hanging my clothes up while I shower.
To end on a positive note, maybe you could share what passengers could or should do on flights to be more eco-friendly? Most sensibly-minded folk would be receptive IMO.
I think there's good and bad environmental aspects of air travel. The bad mainly being that it causes large areas of natural land to be croncreted over to build airports. On the plus it's far more environmentally friendly to transport 400 people per aircraft than by other tradtional fossel fuelled methods.
P.S. You didn't say you were in the shower at the time so I had visions of you at the bar whilst your shirt was er......... ironing :doh:
They're not bad. For them to be non iron, I find I need to remove them from the washing machine straight away and dry them on a hanger. If I do that then generally you get away without ironing them.
They are definitely easier to iron than a lot of normal shirts so still an improvement.
Vaping. I got a whiff of strawberry recently behind a vaper.
Surely, you'd want your vape to taste like tobacco?
It's a free world I suppose.
Work colleagues. Not anyone specifically, just in general. I'm convinced workplaces are made up of about 5% of people who actually do the job they are paid to, 4% who do their job and then go 'over and above' to pick up the slack, 1% who have the authority to delegate to the above groups and then 90% of people are essentially just being paid appearance money and maybe send the odd email or shuffle some paper on a Monday morning.
I've sat opposite the same woman since I started. She has been at our company about double the time I have and anytime anything a bit out the ordinary comes up there's a sigh and always, ****ing always, a 'I don't even know where to start with this'. So I show her something she has seen 50 times before and we move on then it's 'can I just check....' then I check and inevitably say 'no that's wrong you need to...' and I get a 'I'm just not getting it' so I end up just taking the whole thing as it saves time for everyone. She sits with a little smirk and goes back to reading the Daily Mail online or whatever she is paid to do. I just want to grab her and tell her this is your ****ing job you lazy, workshy, coniving freeloader. This is repeated across the board. Someone calls for accounts and you try to hand it over: 'take a message' so you take a message, pass it on and 3 days later get a phone call from an irate person who hasn't had a call back. Try to pass that on? 'Just take a message'. Someone requests a call back about a product and their account handler will 'get round to it'; as sure as night follows day you'll get a call back the next day asking why no one has been in touch. 'Oh I forgot, you couldn't just sort that for me mate?' Aye no bother I'll push back stuff for my customers so I can bump up your sales figures.
I'm going to set up a business as a dog walker or something. Talking to dogs all day has to be preferable to dealing with the shower of cretins I share a carpet with all week. And they wonder why I don't go on work nights out.
You have hit the nail on the head, Pretty Boy.
It used to astonish me that these type of slackers survive, but they do. It's called playing the game. Do as little as possible but just enough
to not arouse managerial concerns. They rely on someone with a conscience to unwittingly cover for them. They truly don't give a hoot.
The only thing they get is their just deserts - they will always be sitting across the desk with no hope or ambition whereas you will move higher.
Just remember to move up asap. Good luck!
What I find strange is that, for me at least, the working day seems to pass a lot quicker if you, erm, work.
I'm lucky in that I enjoy my job, but last week I had a situation where I was at an impasse on each of the 3-4 projects I'm working on (waiting for information, client decisions, etc.). It was brutal as I couldn't find anything worthwhile to get my teeth into.
I'm well capable of stopping for a blether or having a squint at the Internet, but I definitely find working far more fulfilling than kidding on.
Food that has a bit of wrapper that sticks to it when you open it.
The phrasing "I identify as...".
Not always wise to cover detectors as some systems can show this up as a fault and can say which room or section is faulty
Folk who get on the train carriage at the opposite end to where their seats are with big bags/suitcases and haul them the full length. It’s not difficult to look at the seating numbers at the door before you board.
The low cut waistecoats that seem to be in fashion these days. They look awful IMO. I like a waistcoat with a suit but these new types are an abomination!
I’ve probably mentioned it before, but people who press the button and immediately walk across the road at pedestrian crossings. If the road is clear just cross without pressing the button. It’s not at pedestrian crossings that it’s a problem, it’s at normal junctions. The idiot presses the button and crosses and a couple of minutes later the traffic is left at a standstill while no one is crossing the road. I see it every day and it does my nut in.
I've started lowering the window and shouting abuse at people who do this, now. There should be a rule that if you press the button then you must wait for the green man, and if you break that rule you should be horsewhipped, or better. There's hardly any pedestrian crossings in Edinburgh that able-bodied adults really need to press buttons at, except during rush hours. It's just a lazy, sloppy, selfish habit which adds hugely to cyclists' and motorists' journey times, pollution, lung diseases, etc etc etc.
There should be a cancel button at crossings.
If there's traffic when I get to a crossing, I'll push the button. If there's an adequate break in the traffic before I get a green Man, I'll walk.
I find it very rarely happens though. It's either a busy junction that means I can't walk, or it's a crossing that goes to red quite quickly for the cars. But that's because I'm usually walking at peak times I guess.
The problem is that most of the time you can anticipate there'll be a break in traffic in a few moments, so why not just wait for that break so that the traffic can continue to flow? 10 cars stopping and starting when there was no need just pumps more crap into the atmosphere and people's lungs.
Way I look at it is, every time you unnecessarily press the button, you unnecessarily shorten someone's life. Whereas every time you look right, look left, look right again, then cross if it's safe to do so, you lengthen someone's life.
I never used to press the button to cross the road, im generally pretty good at getting across myself but in recent times drivers have became such dicks to pedestrians, especially the ones who shout out their windows, i now press the button just before i cross, because I can :greengrin
Why the hell im expected to thank someone for stopping at a zebra crossing is quite beyond me. They do get a bit upset when i dont though.