Clarke should walk away after this
Printable View
Clarke should walk away after this
So who could potentially be the next Scotland manager?
That is horrible from Gordon.
I'd be delighted if he starts performing like Thai for Hearts but when it's in a Scotland short he can GTF.
Get that useless turd Christie off, please
Amazes me how Gordon escapes criticism - never been questioned by commentators despite nearly scoring on OG and being culpable at 2 of the 3 goals- same against Ukraine when he stood in no man's land for their 2nd goal
christie tackled like a wee girl there, get him off clarke for the love of god man
That's passage of play there tells you everything you need to know about the mentality of the players.
So weak it is unreal. Have our premiership superstars not got a short worked on corner rather than launch all of them at Duffy
poor for sjm needing to get replaced, and what a chance he totally fluffed in this game as well
The clowns are saying Gordon had no chance ….. nonsense, he showed how bad he can be when not playing for his beloved….. :greengrin
Hanley prevents a 4th
VAR checking
Should goal line tech not have called it?
i think that was in
Can't believe that's not given
Guess I won't be watching Sportscene tonight 😅
That was in no idea how VAR and goal line technology have missed that...Gordon again stuck to his line like glue
This is absolutely awful.
Clarke should get his jotters, been living off 2 penalty shootout wins that another manager put in the legwork for.
****ing pathetic, Ireland have scored more in this one game than their previous TWELVE nations league games AND haven’t won competitively at home in 7 years!
worst ever result against the republic, i honestly can't believe this Scotland performance
i really don't think all the blame lies with Clarke here
Do we really have to wait that long? There comes a point when managers’ records and reputations paper over cracks. Clarke out as far as I’m concerned. No knee jerk, feet firmly on the ground. Don’t try to defend the indefensible, unless, of-course, we settle for mundane mediocrity.
Christie and Hendry should never be picked again, ever.
Losing to a abysmal Ireland team, Clarke can go, I've never understood why Christie continues to get picked.
What the hell is going on with this co-commentator? Theres favouring your own team , And then there is this ******** , he is like a fan who has had a skinfull before the game Cockney accent as well , guessing its cascarino..
Surely Clarkes time is now up
I genuinely feel for anyone under the age of probably 35 who supports Scotland. I can remember 78, 82, 86 and was at 90, Euro96 and WC 98. We used to have very good players, some even world class and we had good managers as well to build on that quality. We now look like we are full of, at best, average players at international level and compounded by a ***** manager. Euro 2020 qualifying was lucky in the extreme and well be lucky to qualify even when they increase the teams to 48. ****ing depressing
Scotland, whit're we like eh? Wha's like us? Aw a big laugh like! I blame the Xboxes.
Hourihane on. Need to make sure we don't give any free kicks away within 30yards or it'll be 4.
Forget this tournament.
TV turned off.
Clarke's post game comments should be interesting or will he get the wee gimp Naismith to stand in for him.
This is sair, but no entirely unexpected.
Without making excuses Ireland's recent record is nowhere near as bad as some would make out.
Not a lot of wins but draws with Belgium, Portugal, Serbia, Denmark, Slovakia and Wales in the last couple of years.
There have been a few shockers as well but this was never going to be a procession for a bang average Scotland team.
One of the worst scotland performances ive seen in a long time, changes should have been made after 30 mins
Team of players who all flatter to deceive. Not enough desire throughout and a **** manager who sets the team up poorly. His time should be up and these players should hang their heads.
FT thankfully only the three
lucky 13th for the irish
Where does Scottish football go from here, suggest nowhere as per, team is utter mince, with a roaster for a manager.
On the DART into Dublin City centre. Dreadful performance. No fight. Ireland wanted it more. Great travelling support of around 5K let down. No wonder I drink!
At a gig in Glasgow, quick look to see the score, wtf happened there,new manager and ideas needed.
McPhee and Naismith, there’s 2 of our problems right there
Kenny Cunningham and Gary Breen are a pair of pricks.🤣
dunno why i'm watching the goal replays but at least i now realise that was thee most horrendous deflection for the irish 3rd goal and can't really blame gordon for that, the boy will probably never get a deflection like that in the rest of his career
You can. A deflection that completely changes the direction of the ball is fair enough, but it's hit from a distance that Gordon should be reacting to. Professionals train deflections, there's plenty of brilliant drills to help deal with them and whilst it was a wicked one, it doesn't change the flight path enough to excuse Gordon.
Would appear some of our EPL stars are believing the hype. Mcginn included.
Think they can just turn up and stroll it
Well, after a wee while were there seemed to be a bit of hope for Scotland international fitba we seem to be back at square one.
That qualifies as one of the most inept performances of the last 20 years, FFS even the usually reliable SJM seems to have lost his mojo, missed two really good chances and both of them exactly the same as one he also missed in the last game. The only thing I would say is that the way SJM plays he is the sort of player who at some point has to get a rest or he will be burnt out by the time he's 29 ... at the moment he looks like he could do with that break in all honesty.
I suppose there isn't much hope defensively when at the very heart of it is a guy who was a regular in a Norwich defence that looked like it couldn't defend a set piece against a pub league team, not all his fault obviously, the defending at the first and second goals was woeful by any standard, bugger all anybody could have done for the third, that shot moved all over the place.
Its hard to see where we go from here, the fact is that apart for ( for some reason ) an ability to produce top notch left backs this country hasn't produced a stand out winger, midfield player* or striker ( especially striker ) for practically 30 years and we look no closer to doing that than we were 10 or 20 years ago ... that is surely reflected in the fact that I had barely heard of any of our late subs this afternoon.
If the SFA can't look at this state of affairs and admit that whatever it is they are doing to improve the standard of player produced by this country is falling woefully, ineptly and pathetically short of that aim then it is seriously time to get shot of the bloody lot of them. The very fact that they have never been able to admit that to have two governing bodies sooking money out of the game in a country of this size is ridiculous in the modern era says it all really.
* That isn't to disrespect SJM, he is very good at what he does, the problem is that what he does should make him the workhorse in our midfield, not the bloody standout go to player in practically every game he plays in.
TBH I couldn't believe it when I learned there that we still have another game to go. I'm fed up with football and desperately keen for there to be a spell without a game for me to give 2 hoots about.
It can't be easy to still be having to raise your game at this stage after a full season.
The Ireland players didn't seem to have any trouble doing it right enough.
Even at Hibs he was capable of a dip in form and that's clearly the case just now. As I said in my other post IMO he is approaching burn out and it's showing up in him losing challenges you would normally expect him to win, his passing being below par and his finishing worse. He is beyond needing a rest IMO.
wales 1 belgium 0 4 mins
VAR checking, chalked off for offside
0-0
great attitude from the welsh players early doors
Still nae decent centre forwards or centre halfs. It means we always have to be on absolute top of our game to win games and as soon as we drop off a bit, we struggle.
How’s the England game empty??
Anticipating a few call-offs for the trip to Armenia.