:greengrin:na na: Love it.....
Printable View
So have they been paid, the announcements have all been a bit muted and low key compared to previous triumphal pay days?
I say we stop concentrating on the yams finances, I don't care what happens to them, whether they survive or not, doesn't matter to me. I say we focus more on our own shocking finances where we have recently lost £1 million in the last year taking our total to £6 million. This needs to be addressed and sorted ASAP
Sorry, not for me. There needs to be a price paid for that horrible day in may.
Right now, they have a great story to tell about how they beat their greatest rivals 5-1 in a cup final. That story changes totally if that expensively assembled team (£8m a year in wages) becomes the reason they went bust.
The story changes from triumph to the tale of Icarus.
So forgive me if I appear petty and vindictive, its because I am.
Lets hope they die soon.
Good post. I worry about this small long-term debt as well. Self funding a £4 million training complex and also a 20k all seated capacity UEFA compliant football stadium has been risky but suppose it sits with the Hibs tradition of being innovative, planning for the future and of being the first to do things on behalf of Scotland.
You might know more about this than me Johnny Jambo but I was thinking that if all the speculation was correct and that Edinburgh City Council were potentially contemplating building a state-of-the art £60 million stadium, beside a brand new Tram stop on the West of Edinburgh, to help alleviate some small cash-flow problems that their current owner is having, perhaps in the interests of equity and sporting fairness, Hibernian Football Club could lobby the City Council at the same time for say a mere half of this sum in order to pay off our stadium debt ?
What do you think ? Compromise, Hearts would get the use of a brand new football / rugby Stadium and both Clubs would be debt free. Only difference of course would be Hibs would own their ground/ training complex and have a small amount of cash in the bank.
There, issue addressed.
Lets carry on watching the Yam soap opera, the comedy has just started, their bake tins and bank accounts are running dry.
A week is a long time in the world of Hearts International finance.
Don't worry about that, the majority of the debt is in the form of mortgages on the stands.
It's not as if the bank can just come along and say "pay up the debt in full before the agreed due date", now is it?
The rest of the debt will be helped along by a nice wee run in the Scottish Cup though, eh?
Another point to bear in mind is that almost £ 450,000 of the losses recorded last year comprised the depreciation of fixed assets. The stands, company cars etc are worth less every year and this reduction has to be shown in the accounts. It is not exactly spending money you hav'nt got and running up a huge overdraft.
The losses recorded will come in useful if the Academy starts producing a Messi or Ronaldo every other year. :greengrin
The reality is that Hibs generally run at an operating loss of £1M a year EVERY year (which is very far from shocking in the context of the SPL) - and it probably would have been c £2M last year without the SC Final. Most years that shortfall has been made up or turned into profit by player sales but unsurprisingly noone wanted to buy any of our relegation strugglers last season.
So, the only way to improve Hibs' finances is by getting yer ass along to ER regularly and persuading yer mates to do the same - it's that simple! An extra 2K or so average on the gates would wipe out that operating loss and everything in our garden would then be rosy with all cash from player sales going straight back into the manager's kity (no asbestos pink bus shelters to replace this end of town)
Quite apart from that, I see nothing at all wrong with extracting the urine from our city neighbours about their GENUINELY perilous finances. They have been consistently racking up VAST debts year in year out for short term gain and have never tired of rubbing it in when their profligacy has resulted in their getting the upper hand in derbys. The end result is they are now getting the begging bowl out on a regular basis, and like some washed up jakey who has pished his life up the wall through his own wanton excess, they deserve little in the way of sympathy.
Hibs' finances by contrast are stable and well managed and it is my not unrealistic hope that this will soon result in a massive turnaround in Edinburgh Derby fortunes and that the recent SC victory for Hibs at ER will be the start of a long period of dominance for the Hibs over the jakey-begging-bowl-yams (assuming they last long enough for that to happen;o).
I 'm trying to find a word which upstages 'miraculous', the term used by Slobbo to describe the less than 50% per cent take up of the Jambo share offer. What word would he have used to describe a successful campaign? Spin's a funny old thing.
To echo what others have said, you shouldn't worry too much about Hibs' accounts. Our debt figure is falling year on year (down £600k in 2012) and we have a million in the bank. Our board have stated that the club runs a breakeven policy and the losses over the last two years have just mopped up some of the profits made over the previous seven years - in which time we've also made massive improvements to our infrastructure that will carry us forward for many years to come. We do need to halt the loss-making trend, but the future of Hibernian Football Club is secure for the foreseeable future.
That's the direct opposite of HoMFC, which is why we find their problems so interesting and amusing.
But have they been paid yet?
See there under 20s got pumped 6-1 off eberdeen so our dream of a team of mchatties may not be a distant fantasy after all!
I must admit I do admire how they have managed to raise £800,000 in the last few weeks through a mixture of blackmail, stealing dinner money from children at schools, depriving their inbred sisters/mothers/fathers/daughters/sons out of Christmas presents, getting their photo taken with the corrupt cup, face painting, cake stands, raffling cardigans, non selling out of games and the likes. They are a desperate bunch aren't they.
Wonder what they will do in the new year when Vlad decides it wasn't enough and shuts the place down as he can't do an Oliver and ask for more.
Hope they die soon, I really do.
I was having a wee look at the Hearts website to see if there was any update on the wages front, and thought I'd have a wee click through on the UBIG banner to see what they were saying.
Now, I appreciate this clearly hasn't been updated for a couple of years (which is funny/tragic in itself -they don't even mention this years cup final which suggest show unimportant it really was to UBIG), but I was staggered by the sheer amount of lies in this article. And it is definitive proof of their claim to have 400,000 fans. This being so, a 0.8% take up on their share offer isn't that great really. Also, I wonder why the RREvolution website linked to doesn't exist anymore...
Quote:
In 2005, UBIG became a shareholder in the Scottish football club Heart of Midlothian (generally called Hearts) and has been actively participating in its management since that time.
Established in 1874, Hearts is one of the oldest Scottish football clubs. Since then Hearts has won the Scottish League four times and has been runner-up on 14 other occasions. The club has won the Scottish Cup seven times—the last time in 2006. Hearts has also won the Scottish League Cup four times and is a regular participant in European tournaments. With more than 400,000 supporters, Hearts is among the twenty biggest clubs in the United Kingdom. In Scotland, Hearts is one of the clubs most supported by local fans.
Since 1886, Hearts has been playing its home football matches at Tynecastle Stadium, which is located in the central part of Edinburgh. In recent years, tickets for Hearts home matches in this stadium, which accommodates approximately 17,500 football fans, have been sold out early in advance of the season. For this reason, the reconstruction of Tynecastle Stadium, seeking to increase its capacity, rearrange its accesses, and increase the stadium infrastructure to satisfy the various needs of the spectators, is one of the main real estate projects currently being implemented by UBIG.
Hearts is one of only three Scottish clubs with its own football academy, where the most promising young talent is nurtured and later used to fortify the main composition of the team. Hearts also has its own trainings complex, which is one of the newest and most modern in the United Kingdom.
The success and rapid development of Hearts led to the following well-known international companies becoming supporters of the club: Ūkio bankas, Umbro, Coca Cola, Microsoft, MBNA, Marriott, and Nestle. RRevolution, a producer of elite sport clothing, dedicated its first collection of sport clothes to the Hearts club and its symbolism. www.rrevolution.co.uk
400,000 fans, geez they really are a big team. I mean it's not like they ever tell lies or have delusions of grandeur.
It doesn't say that they own it - only that they "have" it.
Riccarton was meant to be a joint project with Heriot Watt (it still is in a way). As part of the funding a grant was required from the Sports Council (Sportscotland) however, even then, Hearts finances were so dodgy that they weren't eligible for this - they weren't viewed as being stable enough to receive public funding. Heriot Watt went ahead and financed and built the whole thing themselves (with the help of the Sportscotland grant) and then set up a 25 year lease with the Merricks.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPtjyqgZAUk
*** Warning - the above clip contains profanity - from 18 rated movie ****
This report seems familiar for some reason
http://www.lithuaniabasketball.com/n...-zalgiris.html
every Zalgiris fan could invest at least 100 litas :faf::faf:
Does their share issue finish tomorrow? Suprised we have not had any last minute begging.
I imagine that come thursday morning they are going to have to make a statement regarding how they are going to complete the season.
Seems they have noticed only about 2 months since it was mentioned on here (or the PM board anyway):greengrin
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index....ncial-trouble/
This is massive news if the basketball side is ****ed too.
Hearts are in deeper **** than I thought and it seems Romanov cannae bail them out and moreover he will need cash as soon as possible.
How long until the bank call in the debt? Can't be long surely?
I know nowt about finances but it really is looking like there isn't some grand plan from Vlad, its maybe not even a scam like I thought it was, he's just being honest at last, they've got no money and if the fans don't raise that 1 million shortfall they'll be ****ed.
Unless there has been a last minute rush on the shares i cant see them making It past mid Jan.
Mon the consequences!
A couple of weeks ago, we started a project called “Mes su Žalgiriu" [editor - "We are with Žalgiris"], which is open to everyone wanting to help the famous club. All they need to do is to transfer the money to the club’s account in Ūkio Bankas.
Aye right then !!!!!!!! :faf:
You all seem to be missing the big question ..............
............. can the Liths bake ?
Don't know, but they're rather creative.:wink:
They're getting this lassie into the shed under the Gorgie stand at a fiver a pop.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=518XP8prwZo
What store says "every little helps" ........ :greengrin
http://www.nasdaqomxbaltic.com/marke...012&period=day
Agreed although I think they might get 200k for Macgowan.
It always surprises me the number of people - including in the media - expecting them to cash in in January. Who are the teams that are going to pay money for any of the others????
Nobody in Scotland thats for sure and that pretty much leaves championship level who won't be queuing up to sign players from the 9th placed club in the SPHell.
These players will also struggle to get the OTT wages elsewhere that the Saviles are currently paying them so will be in no hurry to leave either.
Stick that in your oven and smoke it.
Maybe Rod should go on Holiday for a month or two after forgetting to sign the cheque for the Jan 3rd derby ticket money.:greengrin
Thing is. I don't see them getting any cash in January AND Vlad's stubbornness will mean he won't let anyone go.
I still see them with the same players, getting paid (or not) wages they can't afford and they will head into another major survival crisis mid Jan. At the same time there will be a 15 page thread on kickback about rumours that Skacel is coming back.
Romanov asking fans to save Zalgiris
4 hours and 41 minutes ago
http://www.basketnews.lt/paveikslelis-49022-bg.jpgDespite a great start of the season, serious financial troubles could see the end of Zalgiris’ great start of the season. The club’s owner Vladimir Romanov addressed the club’s fans and asked for their financial support to pay the money owed to the players.Here is a translated version of the full text of Romanov’s public letter, published in Kauno Diena, a newspaper, owned by the Russian-born businessman, who has been in charge of Zalgiris since 2009, when he saved the club from bankruptcy.
It is very pleasing that Žalgiris finished first in Group C of Euroleague and has a genuine chance of winning the title. However, that will require having funds to pay the salaries and bonuses of the players.
Everyone is openly declaring love for Žalgiris with promises of sponsoring the team, but no one is actually helping. Hence, there is only way to tackle the financial problems – every Zalgiris fan could invest at least 100 litas [editor - 29 euros]. Otherwise, we will have to resort to selling players and pulling out of the race for the highest places.A couple of weeks ago, we started a project called “Mes su Žalgiriu" [editor - "We are with Žalgiris"], which is open to everyone wanting to help the famous club. All they need to do is to transfer the money to the club’s account in Ūkio Bankas.Omintel mobile network clients can also support Žalgiris by calling or texting the number 1402 (5 litas).Žalgiris is part of the Lithuanian culture and everyone in Lithuania should help to save this treasure. It would be great to see the team fighting for victories at the top level at the biggest festivities of the year.
oh dear.
oh dear.
oh dear.
Big Vlad, What a guy
Good point.
Maybe the local yam bams can turn their hand to some of these to help their lith brethern?
I am sure that this is completely different, nothing to see, its all made up by media and medalling fools with bad hobonomics.
**** me when is the penny going to drop with they buffoons!!!!
Half of them still attack anyone who dares to speak out against the mad one.
Interesting article this morning about Ukio.... Troubled and in need of a merger to save it apparently...
Lithuania Bank Merger Talk Sparks Interest in Ukio Bankas Shares
2012-12-19 11:14:41.640 GMT
By Bryan Bradley
Dec. 19 (Bloomberg) -- AB Ukio Bankas shares were the most
active since February after a news portal said the Lithuanian
central bank wants to merge it with AB Siauliu Bankas with aid
from the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development.
Volume of 1.5 million shares by 11:45 a.m. in Vilnius was
higher than any day since Feb. 2, according to data compiled by
Bloomberg. The shares were unchanged at a nine-year low of 0.11
euros, valuing the company at 38 million euros ($50 million). No
trading of Siauliu Bankas shares took place on the exchange.
The Bank of Lithuania wants the EBRD, Siauliu Bankas’s
biggest shareholder, to help it merge the two lenders to avert a
deterioration of the unprofitable Ukio Bankas, Eversus.lt
reported today, without saying where it got the information. It
would create the Baltic nation’s third-biggest lender by
deposits after the units of SEB AB and Swedbank AB.
The EBRD, which said today it won’t comment specifically on
the transaction, listed actions “to support strengthening and
consolidation of local banks” as a priority in the Strategy for
Lithuania published on its website last month.
The Bank of Lithuania won’t comment on the situation,
spokesman Giedrius Simonavicius said by phone in Vilnius today.
Shareholder Losses
Kaunas-based Ukio Bankas shares have declined 28 percent
since Oct. 29, when it reported a group net loss of 44 million
litai ($16.9 million) for the first nine months of this year.
Following the collapse of Russian-owned AB Bankas Snoras a
year ago, Ukio Bankas, whose majority owner Vladimir Romanov is
also Russian-born, has had to offer higher interest rates to
attract depositors and offset a lack of demand for its bonds.
A merger with Siauliu Bankas could only work if the EBRD
agreed, Baltic investment bank Finasta analyst Tadas Povilauskas
said today in a note to clients.
“Such a merger would not be positive news for the minor
shareholders of Ukio Bankas, the value of which would probably
be depressed,” Povilauskas said.
The EBRD owns 43 percent of Siauliu Bankas, which is based
in the northern Lithuanian town of Siauliai.
EBRD Position
“We continue our work with Siauliu Bankas, a long-standing
partner of the EBRD in Lithuania,” the bank’s Head of Media
Relations Anthony Williams said by phone today from London. “As
always, the EBRD will review opportunities as they arise.”
In its Lithuania strategy document, the EBRD said the
failure of Snoras in November 2011 showed a need “to enhance
the governance and the financial strength of local banks,
possibly through assistance in consolidation.”
“The bank will consider, primarily through the EBRD’s
existing shareholding in Siauliu Bankas, opportunities to play
an active role in the process,” it said in the policy document.
Is that good or bad?......... :wink:
Trading is up for the day!!
http://www.nasdaqomxbaltic.com/marke...s&tab=realtime
Oh dear...sounds like a massive dilution of Vlad's shareholding.
This note basically states that UKIO is bust and needs another banks balance sheet to stop it folding altogether. Vlad's empire really has went t*ts up and Hearts are but an after thought for him now.
Hearts are left with a stadium needing multi million pound investment, substantial debts, ongoing losses and no working capital....about as bad as it could possibly be. They have already fleeced their fans for what extra cash they can and essentially the cupboard is now bare.
Bad times for the Yams and it would appear there situation is one of terminal decline.
The question surely is that which other club would pay the players the wages they are currently sometimes :greengrin getting at Hearts. It may suit the players better to sit and leave when their contracts run out in the summer. No club will be offering big transfer fees that is for sure.
Due Diligence will take about 5 years and cost more than the Bank is worth ! :agree:
On the Jambo football front, the Scott Robinson issue has been dealt with. The naughty boy has been censured by McGlynn and the details of the punishment will be kept within the club. I can hear McGlynn talking to Robinson. "See yon wages you never get? Well we're no giving you them for the next two weeks. In fact, you give us two weeks wages and we'll call it quits". :-)
just got a reply from my mate an accountant (and a YAM :D ) ..... in his proffesional opinion there's a 20% chance the Yams will get through this unscathed.... he did say one of the partners (a sheep) thinks it's near 5% chance.
might be another false dawn.... sorry... sunset..... but you never know! :cb