Yeap, totally agree with that.
Printable View
Agree with that as well. Could've used the Motherwell match on Sunday as one of the matches.
The thing is, I've not missed a match on TV all season so should be rewarded by getting the wife out shopping and getting priority of the best seat in the living room... I'll even do a one man card display when the teams run out...
IF (a big if) we reach the final, I'm sure Hibs will be knocking out membership cards for priority. Current members and season ticket holders equate to roughly what, 10k? So potentially another 10k memberships could be sold, nice wee earner for the club.
It has been asked further up, but nobody has answered yet. So i'd like to ask it again, as i dont personally know of anyone who's missed out on any tickets for a semi or a final.
Has anyone who wanted a ticket, who's a regular at easter road missed out on a ticket for Hampden at any time?
Know some who missed out on the (non ticket) 91 final when the gates were shut at the Hibs end, but never heard of anyone not getting a ticket for any all ticket game.
Unfortunately, yes.
The last time we played Celtc in the final, I'd been to roughly half of home games (makes it fairly regular). I duly attended the semi against Livi, kept my ticket stub, as it was announced that it guaranteed a final ticket, and applied. We got something like 1,000 less tickets for the final and a number of our tickets were also held back by the club to sell as expensive packages. I was gutted to be one of the few that missed out in the "ticket lottery", especially when I saw there were at least 1,000 Tims in the Hibs end jumping up when they scored.
I remember this scenario. I was fortunate to have the funds and available free time (no children - ah, them were the days!) to own a season ticket back then. I can't remember how mony tickets ST holders were allowed back then but I do remember collecting quite a few, along with mates who were also ST holders, for friends and family to attend. The ex-Mrs Frogg and dad (Jambo) even got tickets.
That's why more than 1 per season ticket isn't any fairer than semi final stubs.
For that game itself, there had to be quite a few, as there were 1,500 tickets less for ordinary punters for the final than we took to the semi. I remember hearing stories of people who got to the final that had little to no connection with Hibs and being, to put it mildy, rather annoyed.
In saying that, I'm almost certain that history won't repeat itself this season.
It definitely won't with me because I'm now classed as a part-time, nae-user, glory-hunting barsteward that only comes over for the big games :wink:
---
EDIT: I just remembered that not only did I miss out in the ballot for a ticket, but the Ticket Office sent my "nae luck, ye didnae get a ticket" letter to the wrong address. The only reason it ever reached me was because the nice gentleman in Clackmannan that received it (his and mine were in the same envelope) brought it to my house in Alloa personally.
In the same boat as you PB, not a STH or on membership scheme, but haven't missed a home game this season been to every cup game and attended a few away games too, and of course have my tickets for the semi-final, but i am not certain to get a ticket if we make it to the final, the club should have stated anyone who went to the semi would have first dibs of a ticket to the final if we make it.
Sorry wasn't at the Cowdenbeath game.
1993 League cup final. I was away on my honeymoon when Hibs (unannounced) gave out cup final vouchers at a random league game. We got something like 15000 tickets at Parkhead for the final, all went to ST holders and vouchers. I was a regularish walk up at the time, went to the semi (at Tynie) but missed out.
Yeah, i was just having a laugh, although I genuinely would love it to be full. I have 4 pals up from Wales for the game and i've been to Wembley with Cardiff with them when it's been full but those were finals...
Hopefully they'll get to see it more full with Hibbies come final day :)
Just went and get out 2 tickets :aok: ticket office showed us only 60 left. If that's off an initial allocation that we recieved could anyone roughly work out how many that is?
2-1 Hibs 129th Header by Garry
The membership was a no brainer if you attend a few games a season. Top deal and I'm surprised not everyone took this up.
I got one and I only attend a few, well worth it as I know if they get to final I should be there. That's worth 20 quid on its own never mind the free game, money off hearts game, club shop voucher and no admin fees.
Even though I missed out once before, I don't agree with all this Uberfan nonsense that some people spout about people going to finals that hardly ever attend.
There are different levels of devotion to Hibs, from the 'go to every game' to the 'look up the scores in the newspaper' level. Most Hibbies I know have moved back and forth between those levels in their lifetime but it p*sses me off when some people think that they're currently a better Hibs fan.
If the club could come out with some system that guarantees a cup final ticket for those currently in the upper echelons of Uber-fandom, that would be great but it wouldn't matter what they tried as I'm sure it wouldn't please everybody.
I think that the information leaked out that the vouchers would be given out. One was for a midweek League match against Raith Rovers which attracted a crowd of around 9,000 (50% higher than expected).
I collected 4 vouchers from the two matches. That was sufficient to get four terrace tickets or two seats in the stand. I was queuing from 9:00 in the morning for the ticket office on Leith Walk next to the railway bridge. I was still queuing coming up to 6:00 pm when the staff were due to knock off. Douglas Crombe and other directors then took over in the box office. I finally emerged with two stand tickets for myself and my son at around 7:30pm.
That's not strictly true, it gave you a chance of getting a ticket after season ticket holders had taken up theirs, there was no guarantee. I got my final tickets through that route. (I actually thought i had missed out until I checked my bank account the day before the game and found I had been charged for tickets. They were still in the ticket office, full marks to Hibs who arranged for them to be sent up by courier to Aberdeen so I got them in time.)
Just off the phone to Ticketmaster/Ticket office and both have confirmed that the north stand has sold out - gutted as i wanted tickets there :greengrin
I'm now in East F7, binoculars will be getting looked out....
i demand that my 2 laddies get tickets for any final we get to,do you think that approach will work as they are hibs kids(sadly i'm no)
The capacity of Hampden kept getting cut through the 70s and 80s as they knocked down the old north stand, reduced the size of the terracing at the east end and generally cut numbers to stop overcrowding. I think it was down to about 50000 by 1991. Dunfermline had the whole terracing with the roof ("Huns end") but only a few thousand in it. Luckily it didn't rain. :wink:
I remember going to a Scotland game when it was pishing down and the whole 30 odd thousand crowd under that roof.
Tickets now being sold in section G. With the north stand sold out (5,000 tickets?), south stand sold out (4-5,000 tickets?) and section F (7,000 tickets?) well on the way then we are looking at a Hibs crowd of 16-17,000. Not too shabby at all lads and lassies!
We won't have sold anywhere near 4-5k in the South?
4500 in North, around 6500 in the East and 2000 in the South.
Anything near 15,000 would be outstanding. Probably be closer to 14k though
14k/15k Hibs fans is a great effort. A lot more than I thought would turn up. Still two days to go. Seems we will have a very healthy support. Heres hoping the team turn up
Hibs will not have received South Stand tickets for the centre blocks of Section J as they will be reserved for press, hangers-on and bigwigs. I am not sure how many tickets that covers. I recall them mostly being empty for the Dunfermline match especially for the replay.
The only tickets available online at the moment are in east G1 - suggests the north and south are sold out or close to it, unless there's been a hold up in getting extra tickets online as there was last week. It's looking encouraging :thumbsup:
I reckon we'll both bring about the same amount of fans.
Not that I'm bothered - a good atmosphere is an added bonus, seeing Hibs lift the Scottish Cup is top priority - no matter how many people turn up.
I got locked out at the 1991 final but luckily I managed to sneak in with the pipeband 15 mins into the game.
Updated from Club:-
Sorry been a bit crazy here today so later than I wanted on update on North and East
In each block we’ve taken out the first couple of rows to try and give people better sightlines (with the agreement of the SFA)
North – from the tickets we have with the exception of these seats at the front (which we will sell if people are adamant they want them) and the odd single seats its pretty well sold-out in all 5 blocks.
East – likewise from the tickets we have been sent we’ve taken some out at the very front and have gone through F1 to F7. Sales now moved into G1 this afternoon.
For your calculations purposes on the card each block averages out at about 875 – 900.
I have asked how many rows from each section have been removed to establish where we should start the card display.
Does this mean we have sold around 10,000 in the North and East with 5,000 in the south or am I way out of line?
Basing it on an average of 850 per block (after single seats and rows taking away) we have sold 10,200 between East & North with sales still going very well and Section G now being open.
This excludes the South where we have sold tickets to.
15k looks very likely, if not more.
Good effort by everyone. Looks like both Hibs and Aberdeen will have 15k plus each. Going to be a great day out and a real positive in a season of lows!
GGTTH!!
:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa
It seems the big team from across the city are having issues shifting their tickets.
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/2...241384_2731243
Only 10,000 sold 3 days before the game, the other 390,000 are leaving it late :greengrin
My guess is there will be c 10-11k Hibs fans, and 14-15k Dons fans at the match. Dons fans will out-sing the Hibbies (as they tend to at the bigger matches).
Why do Hibs never release this info? I don't get what the club gains from not updating the amount of tickets sold for games. Its hardly rocket science. FFS they don't even tell us how many ST get sold. Its this secret service mentality which alienates the club from the fans.
Would be good if hibs and Aberdeen fans could do something before the game or at half time to show we're no happy at the prospect of these new proposals to keep the new Huns in the SPL.
12 sections in the NORTH and EAST - remember we still have SOUTH sales but I was not given these.
We have sold at least 10k and that DOES NOT INCLUDE SOUTH SALES.
When I started reading this page of the thread and people were talking about 15,000 looking to be sold, for a minute, I thought they were talking about ST sales.
I was wondering what everybody must have been smoking! :cb
I was down this afternoon and they had "no idea" how many had been sold but the numbers being calculated here makes sense.
They were still selling F7 at about 3.30pm, Row GG.
Well instead of trusting posters making guesses I will believe what Garry O'Hagan has told me considering he realises the importance of the this due to us knowing where the card display is going.
I'd be quite surprised if there's less than 30K at this game, given the rather reasonable price for family section tickets.
Heading to get tickets today ?
Lewis Stevenson, George Francomb, Paul Hanlon and Matt Doherty will be in the club shop - 1.45pm - 2.45pm. :aok:
Did anyone go down and meet Fenlon yesterday at the club shop ?
What time is the club shop open tomorrow ? Coming up to Scotland and if it's still open I'll get a ticket.
Was in this morning picking up a scarf for the other half and there was a pretty healthy queue at the ticket desk in the store.
As a lot of people are working on Friday, it would maybe have made more sense to keep the ticket office/club shop open later, just for the day.
If anyone's leaving it till the last minute, closing at 17:00 does make it a bit harder to get there on time.
Does anyone know if there will be tickets on sale at Hampden on the day? :dunno:
Was in the club store around 11am this morning and overheard a conversation which went like this;
fan buying tickets: how many do you think we have sold? around 15k?
girl behind ticket counter: definitely more than 15k
I'm another one who despite previously being a ST holder and having my stub from the semi who missed out the last time. Unlike the others though I didn't even get a letter to say I'd missed out and only found out after phoning the ticket office to be told I wasn't getting one. I've never been so P'd off. I agree that ST holders should always be given priority but the talk of 3 or 4 tickets is crazy. Why should I miss out so they can take a mate or family member who's never been to a game? If it happens again and I miss out, I won't be back.
If you want a ticket for the final there's a simple way. Go and get a season ticket for next season.
I'm sure celtic and aberdeen will be doing some good deals.
For one so young, you are wise beyond your years Pedro and Rodders will love the following suggestion.
2011/12 season ticket holders are entitled to 1 ticket.
2012/13 season ticket holders are entitled to 1 ticket.
Season ticket holder for both (uberfan) are therefore entitled to 2 tickets making sure the second goes to a good cause.....or highest bidder
Club Memberships also get 1 ticket with all categories on sale at the same time to allow as many fans as possible to sit together.
Presumably this wont add up to more than the 20k we'd likely get in the unlikely event of beating Awberdeen.
There can then be 2 or 3000 left for the plebs to queue thru the night for.
Settled.
Get yourself to the SF and you will be guaranteed a ticket for the Final.
Settled.
You said you bought a ticket after Saturdays match? The match was on Sunday :agree:
You said our requested allocation was 10,000. The clubs initial allocation was 15,000 :agree:
By my calculations that makes you one of the following:
- (a) Stupid
- (b) At the wind-up
- (c) All of the above
sorry, sunday. I actually left on 88 minutes to beat the rush.
Only telling you what the guy selling the tickets told me.
As for being :crazy: or a :stirrer:?, it has been known, but not on this occasion.
Being a yam!!!!!!! :yw::jamboak::grr::wtf: away and fling :******:at yerself!
Save yer energy for the game you guys.
It disnae matter a stuff how many we've sold
What matters is whether we supporters are up for it
If it helps North Sections have 900 seats, East have an extra 6 rows (120?). South 600-800. As of this morning we had sold 5 North, 7.5 East and 2 or 3 South
Do the math
Would love to, but at this moment of time I am an out of work father of 2 who doesn't live in Edinburgh. Even if I could afford it the stupid kick off times would mean I'd still miss out on a lot of games.
Point still stands though, as an ex ST holder who's been on the data base for years and has 3 tickets for the semi final, why should I miss out so a season ticket holder can take their granny.
Hearts have only sold 10k for their semi apparently. Grunts.
Hibs have been selling tickets from Block G1 since yesterday. That must be part of the second allocation. That implies that the initial allocation of 15,000 had been sold or substantially sold. That appears to tally with your figures.
I am not sure how that compares with sales for previous semi-finals against Aberdeen, Livingston, Dundee United and Dunfermline. But it is no bad considering the kick off time and being televised by the BBC.
I was at the Club shop on Monday and the girl on the ticket desk said they had an allocation of 20k and there weren't that many left. High teens was what I suggested as the ticket sales thus far and she agreed.....