Indeed... only just back in June May/the Tories were crowing about giving the NHS more money as part of the Brexit Dividend!
https://www.bbc.com/news/health-44495598
Indeed... only just back in June May/the Tories were crowing about giving the NHS more money as part of the Brexit Dividend!
https://www.bbc.com/news/health-44495598
Tories plan return to the empire
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/u...mpression=true
Who doesn't like a trier?
https://twitter.com/RossThomson_MP/s...333049344?s=19
It's like a party political broadcast for the SNP
https://www.scotsman.com/news/politi...ment-1-4860755
If this isn't enough to push Scotland over the edge, then absolutely nothing ever will.
It's like they don't want Scotland to have any responsibilities within the UK, its almost like they think the "equal partners" stuff really is just a bluff we'd not notice and that they actually do believe their "we're too wee, too poor" stuff they spouted.
Not so sure about that. No voters are like con victims. People who know they've been conned by an artist, but down right refuse to admit it to themselves or those around them out of sheer embarrassment. So they cling on blindly to the one conning them in the continued delusion that they were always right to trust them and should always trust them no matter what.
It wouldn't surprise me if unionism hardened even further in Scotland to the point where the "silent majority" want to see the Scottish Parliament torched down to the ground under orders from London.
It's getting deeply depressing now.
People get all hot under the collar about the use of the word quislings, but it's the only adequate word for describing Ruth's staunch loyal.
They're not even trying to hide it
https://www.gov.uk/government/news/o...-edinburgh-hub
Are we really surprised these days? :rolleyes:
https://www.thenational.scot/news/17...wQYJhc6cgyGagc
Not really surprised that Hugh Gaffney and Alistair Carmichael were present as well. :rolleyes:
Gathering their foot soldiers, for the battle ahead. I remember the links which were uncovered after indyref1, and we were told, we were trying to link the unionist parties with the orange order, and it wasn't really true.
Labour council in falkirk, giving the OO, funds from the roads budget, and now funds given in Motherwell.
It stinks to high heaven. I'm not surprised at all that wee Hugh is involved.
Isn't Gaffney still a councillor in North Lanarkshire. A Labour/Tory coalition where, whilst cuts to libraries etc are being made, they passed a motion to spend 20 odd grand on a new flagpole for a union flag and gave a cash donation to the orange lodge.
Tory Mp Christopher Chope strikes again.
https://www.independent.co.uk/news/u...-a8770026.html
Horrible ****.
Are the 13 tory MP's, representing Scottish seats getting an easy ride at the moment?
Scottish Young Conservatives:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D5pBUB2XsAAWuxe.jpg
Average age about 50 :faf:
Full size here - https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D5pBUB2XsAAWuxe.jpg
Theresa May heckled at Welsh Tory conference:
https://twitter.com/SkyNewsPolitics/...78893102473216
What she needs is a totally supine gathering that will nod along with any old pish the UK leadership tells them to and to **** with local concerns - so next stop Scottish Tory conference it is then! :rolleyes:
Boris Johnson supposedly tweeted earlier that he'd voted already despite him living in London where no election was taking place. He removed the tweet but not fast enough.
Ruth is back! And reckons she's going to be the next First Minister apparently.
So quick look at how that's going via last week's yougov poll:
Holyrood VI constituency:
SNP 46
Con 22
Lab 16
Lib 7
Brexit 4
Greens 3
Change 1
Holyrood VI regional:
SNP 37
Con 20
Lab 15
Green 10
Lib 7
Brexit 5
Change 2
Suspending my disbelief for a second ... let's say she has the faintest chance of turning these numbers round to a point where she's largest party by 2021 (that's 2 years against a backdrop of Brexit!)
Who the hell does she think is going to vote along with her to get anything through parliament? :crazy:
Jesus. That's ridiculous
https://www.theguardian.com/politics...ory-councillor
some tory dude using the scouts to deliver leaflets lol
https://www.grimsbytelegraph.co.uk/n...uDFkGuKTyqRaWk
A bitter row has broken out after Scouts were used to deliver election leaflets for Conservative candidates.
In return it is claimed they were promised money to rent space in an allotment to grow vegetables for a soup kitchen.
Michael Gove (possible future PM) wants to withhold money from the Scottish Parliament for agriculture and education and have it spent directly by the UK Government, as to control the initiatives that the money is spent on.
Expect a lot of textbooks with union jacks plastered over them in our schools in the coming years. :rolleyes:
https://www.scotsman.com/news/politi...iJZ0b***531jEs
Are you for real?
I'm definitely not a Tory, I wouldn't want to guess what you are, but your post doesn't stand up to a second of scrutiny!
The Scotsman isn't the most reliable source to begin with, but the text makes clear he is talking about additional money outwith the agreed settlement.
Can you substantiate your point that he is wanting to withhold money from Ag and Fish and from Education? (Clue here - he might not legally have those powers :wink:)
'Textbooks with Union Jacks' - really? Is that the level of debate or argument on here?
Could have fooled me..... and everybody else on here. :wink:
The UK government is already illegally withholding cash from the Scottish Government regarding farmer subsidies. Little things like the law have never stood in their way. They have previous for changing laws when taken to court.
Are you suggesting that Gove is talking about additional spending over and above what the Scottish Parliament already recieves. So there would be absolutely no cuts to the Scottish budget in order to facilitate this little UK Government spending spree?
I apologize for the standard of debate not being up to the high standards that you grace us with on here. :not worth
Where to start!
Let's take one point at a time.
I'm not 'suggesting' Gove is talking about additional spending, he says it in the article you quoted. And then you then went on to say he was withholding money.
So, which is it?
We can do each one of your points at a time, keep it nice and easy, and have a proper debate?
Then we can get back to you suggesting I'm a Tory because I would love to get into that, because hey, it would be fun and you never know, you might be right. Or I might be a Nationalist provocateur, constantly challenging Nat posters to keep them sharp.
Or maybe I'm just calling it as I see it and I don't expect my opinion to carry any more weight than yours or anyone else but I will call it out if it smells like bull**** :dunno:
It’s an odd statement from Gove. The Scotsman’s headline makes the claim that he is going to hold back funding but thats not what he actually says. He seems to want to spend extra money to stop the Scottish Government taking credit for doing the things they are responsible for doing. Either he does not understand how devolution works or doesn’t like that it does. I’d dismiss him as an oddball but there is a real danger he could become our next PM. That is a scarey thought.
For me it's more the scouts that are wrong to a degree, I've always understood them to be non political.
It may be they've done similar for other parties previously/elsewhere, and if that's the case then there's no issue at all, the other parties missed a trick as there would have been nothing stopping them doing the same thing.
Mind you, if the above hasn't been the case and the Scout leader is a Tory then the whole argument opens up again.
A wee look at the the final percentages
https://twitter.com/mikegalsworthy/s...864056320?s=19
Not really looked closely at the results since staying up half the night for the coverage.
Salient points for me are:
Bad for the Tories but always going to happen, as they were defending the most seats and they are in such a bad place. The damage was severe but probably within their expectations.
Bad for Labour because they are caught between a rock and a hard place - they aren’t appeasing the Brexit element and they certainly aren’t appeasing the Remain majority of their support. That was made clear.
Good for Lib Dems who might just be shrugging off the taint of the Coalition years. There is a real opportunity for them when Cable steps down to reinvent themselves with a new leader. But they traditionally do well at locals and need to translate that into something more powerful.
Good for the Greens, a lot more people elected, but they need to harness that into not just being a protest vote. There is potential to rope in the Extinction sentiment that people are buying into, if they are canny, and use that to become a more significant political player.
UKIP - they weren’t contesting as many seats as before, I think, so I’m not reading too much into vote share. They have effectively splintered though. Farage creating the Brexit Party means that the remainder UKIP will increasingly become a haven for the far-right.
Independents - massive spike. In some parts of the country there is a natural desire and need for Inds but the volume this time feels like many are a protest vote. Maybe that means that party politics is doomed but I suspect there are rich pickings for the main parties if they can get their message right.
Brexit Party and Change UK - good election for them as the results indicate that they would have enjoyed success had they stood. I guess we will see.
Overall, I think the results point to an irrevocable tear in the electorate. I’m a Remainer for idealistic reasons but also pragmatic ones. I always figured the pragmatic reasons would win over the Brexiteers when it came to the crunch but I think we are sadly beyond that now and we are looking at ever deeper entrenchment.
I can't remember who said it but a tory suggests that we are seeing a tsunami with the local elections being the tory tide going out and in 3 weeks all the tory vote will come flooding back.
Cannae see it masel.
With the Scottish Conservative Party conference now over. I wish them all a safe trip back home. :agree:
https://i.ibb.co/Jqvkzfx/lol.jpg
Ah yes, murdo ****ing fraser. The msp who has managed to bring Scotland into line with England by having an appeal system for private parking charge notices and will try to introduce keeper liability to bring us into line with England. Best thing I can say about him is that he has a face you couldn't tire of slapping 😉
https://twitter.com/RCunninghamSNP/s...50473611509760
Mundell lying here
i do agree, they were getting something back i just thought it was quite cheeky getting wee laddies to do their job for them, it won't be long before political parties start paying the post office to do all their leafleting :greengrin
Age concern, aye RIGHT, they ****s are gonna batter pensioners pockets in the near future, they've been desperate to get shot of the pensioners triple lock for a while now, and nearly 70% of scottish pensioners voted No in 2014, that's going to come back and bite them on their er*es, i wonder how many of them actually now know they are paid one of the lowest pensions in Europe, tories and 'age concern' my e*se. :bitchy:
Not seen that, and yes it is a real shame... these folks have given up their time to help kids after all. What would have been better would be to have offered to do the same for the other parties in the upcoming EU elections (if they happen) then to draw a line under it as a charitable money making exercise that backfired.
Yep, need to teach those kids early that it's all about money over principle. Let's teach them rules, then break those rules whenever money is involved. What better way to set them up in life?
The rules clearly state that they're "non political". They shouldn't be involved with any political parties full stop. They should draw the line under it right now, rather than trying to even things up by now doing it for all of the other parties. Even if they do lose out on charitable donations.
I'm not holding my breath, but my fingers will be crossed that at the very least, political lying will get wider exposure than it currently gets
https://www.theneweuropean.co.uk/top...nson-1-6034496
The story was that the Scout leader had agreed to have Scouts deliver elections leaflets in return for a one-year lease on an allotment. The allotment was to be used by the Scout group to learn about growing their own produce which was, in turn, to be used in the running of a community soup kitchen.
I'm staggered that anyone would characterise that as teaching kids "that it's all about money over principle". I strongly suspect that, had it been representatives of your own preferred party involved in this story, you would have a much more sympathetic view. It's also worth noting that the Tories involved in this story have not broken any rules for their part.
Then your suspicion would be wrong. Scouts should not be ordered to deliver election leaflets for ANY party as i've already stated. They are a non-political organization. What a party offers them in return is completely irrelevant. Of course the irony of helping out this particular party is that their ideology contributes greatly to the increased use of community soup kitchens.
I don't think what is on offer in return is irrelevant in circumstances where you've stated the kids were being taught money is more important than principles, which is the sort of sensationalist hyperbole which will either spread "fake news", or reduce the likelihood of people trusting any statements you make in other posts.
Here's a thought, the local tory party could donate the money to the scouts, and expect nothing in return, that would be a first.
You described a story about a Scout troop delivering election leaflets in exchange for an allotment, which was to be used for educating those Scouts and running a community soup kitchen, as teaching kids "that it's all about money over principle". You've put a spin on the story which is unsupported by the facts, hence "fake news".
Something I haven't heard asked in connection with this scout thingy is... 'Where was this allotment coming from, as the majority of allotment land is owned by local authorities?'
https://www.allotment-garden.org/all...tment-history/
The average yearly rent btw is between £20-40... so, nice bit of cheap labour then eh :wink:
It wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if what they'd have got was a bit of a tip, which would take a year to get suitable for use.
No flies on a tory
I'm not disagreeing with your first sentence. What I'm saying, again, is that you stated the actions of those involved in the relevant story was teaching kids "that it's all about money over principle"; that is quite simply untrue and your posting it on a public forum makes it fake news.
That I suspect you know this basic point is untrue, yet are attempting to obfuscate your actions by refocusing on other aspects of what you posted, seems cowardly to me, but that's another matter to the main point.
Are you suggesting that money wouldn't have been involved here? A political party offers a one-year lease. A lease that would presumably have cost money?
It was a bribe. It doesn't matter how it gets dressed up. They were offering to spend money on a "non political" organization in order to get them to participate in something political.
I would have thought it was obvious that what I was suggesting, given that I explicitly stated that in my last post, but you've lost me again with your 2+2 = 5 approach to the news...do you know more about this story than has been reported?
In any event, you've now escalated to "bribe"...given that all of this was reportable to the Electoral Commission, in what way was it dishonest? I am no fan of the Tories but, in this instance, they were up-front with the Scouts about what the deal was and did not attempt to hide it from anybody.
I'm calling it a bribe. Where did I say they were being "dishonest"? :confused:
An honest bribe is still a bribe. The fact the scout leaders knew what this was and still went through with it makes it even worse, which is why many have now resigned their positions.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-48288433
The most inept Government Minister ever??
It is quite incredible just how many total **** ups he has overseen and yet survived. The perfect minister for the Theresa May era.
https://www.politics.co.uk/blogs/201...on-with-the-ma
Hold the bus, I've found an honest Tory
https://twitter.com/SurreyAmps/statu...33642043596800 :not worth
Privileged powerful and entitled white man in business suit puts a female worker firmly in her place. Winds of change never stop blowing.
I can't recall anyone mentioning "lies"; you don't have to tell lies in order to be dishonest, however, offering a bribe (or accepting one for that matter) is dishonest.
If you genuinely believe I don't know the definition of "bribe", perhaps you could provide one which doesn't involve dishonesty.
Here's an interesting bit of early Michael Gove, notable for 2 things:
- he used to have a bit of a Scots accent (who knew?)
- presumably we're meant to think it's satire but he looks like he believes every word!
https://twitter.com/chrismorrisbits/...18660593537029
They clearly are not the same thing; whilst lying is dishonest, dishonesty does not require a person to lie. For example, stealing is dishonest, but you are not require to lie in order to steal.
I'm all for opinions, but this isn't the only occasion on this board you've stated something which can be shown to be untrue based on the available evidence. You're either intentionally misleading people or you're just reckless. Either way, it's behaviour that needs called out.