Strictly speaking it should be, but I suspect it won't be.
Printable View
Very disappointed. Wormed their way out again.
That's all they need - time to get a bit of cash flow from their up coming home games and the cup game with us. They will sell who they can in January and then cut things to the bone next summer. They will then be safe - at least in a financial sense. However, they will have to compete with the reosurces they really have so good chance of relegation :greengrin
Bear in mind they've used money from ticket sales for their next 3(?) games to pay for this, plus a wad of donations and share uptake (raising £200k)... If that ticket money has been used up now, their income is going to be hampered later on.
Could be a good Christmas!
When do they get their day in court regarding the £1.7m due to the tax man?
The guy who offered to buy the club (Mackie) said that the hearing will start this week. Don't expect anything from that anytime soon though. Rangers tax case was heard in January and still hasn't reported, although that is unusually slow due to its complexity and size.
But is it all they need though?
If it is then it's quite right that HMRC haven't forced a company to liquidate that could be saved.
I'm not sure though. They'll have another PAYE and VAT bill to pay next month I would presume. The players and staff will have to be paid at some point. That's not taking into account the £1.79m tax bill which might go against them.
I don't think they're going to be able to sell enough soup, family silver and face painting in the meantime to keep them going.
Well done to the boy singing 'we only won 5-1' while Luke Shanley was doing his update. The auld yins are the best....yawn.
What's clear is Vlad still pulls the strings and whilst not really getting involved, he's sitting back and watching the performance from on high. I'm convinced that there is something in place regards the stadium and I'm equally convinced they'll make January - where McGowan, Zaliukas, Webster and Others will be sold.
What I'd like to see is a bit more investigative journalism and have it explained why Hearts are getting away with other bills that other clubs are having to pay - level playing field and all that.
#Hearts say HMRC deal possible due to some players agreeing to defer wage payments. #BBCSport@BBCchrismclaug
Am I being thick here? - if players are deferring their wages due on friday, then why do they also need an extension to paying HMRC the full amount on thursday?
Or should it be read as they need more time to sell some more fairy cakes as they completely skint?
I presume they are counting on shifting their 3,900 tickets for the Scottish cup = £97,500 inc vat, plus share of the gate
How lucky that this game came along for them. Hibs have saved them.
Wonder if Rod has agreed to pay them their share on 2nd December to help them, we're that type of club
That is the best summary of events at the pbs ive read anywhere.Most hertz fans wont admit but they do realise they are headed for administration at best although they still feel winning the trophies was more important.The big team nonsense just actually shows how insecure they all are and why they wont be missed if/when they drop down a league or two.yes we will miss the derbies but as a few guys have pointed out we seemed to have treated the derbies as just another game so them not being their wont make any difference. Btw i hope the taxman is as benevolent to the pars who after all have a debt a third of hertz.
Does anyone know how much soup they've sold and how many crispy cakes have been baked?
I'm baffled by all the references to them selling players in January. Roll up, Roll up, come check out the firesale at a bottom six SPL club.
Who is going to pay money for Webster? Hearts got him on a free by once again offering more wages than us but I dont recall many other teams being in for him.....that would pay a fee. His previous spell/s in England will likely ensure no offers from there. Macgowan will raise around 200k with him being out of contract in the summer. Zaliukas I believe is rated by some clubs but FFS, surely they would have cashed in on this dumpling if any offers had come in previously.
I hope they put on another cake and candy stall as they'd make more from the scouts on that than they would on players.
HoMFC - DEFERRING THE INEVITABLE
This is the crux of it: they don't have the money for either.
It's all well and good to show the taxman that revenue is coming, but that future revenue would normally cover future expenditures. Where is the money for December's wages going to come from, assuming the November ones are ever paid?
So we pump them on the 2nd and they go bust on the 3rd. That would be an epic couple of days
IF some sort of deal with the SPL has been struck to allow them to defer players wages, I'll be raging. The whole point of these sanctions was to punish clubs who signed players on big wages that they couldn't afford i.e. cheating. If they allow this to happen the SPL should get a list of all the players who are not receiving there wages and ban them from playing until they have been paid. Otherwise they are getting away with cheating again and the rest of the teams who have to play against these players may suffer because of it.
Cheating barstewards:grr:
With all the clowns they have across the dark side o toon, them trying to get money from here, there and everywhere and deferred payments etc, I hope they have a good juggler!! it's one big circus there right enough!! :-D
They are just living on borrowed time! I think they will need to get rid off at least 4 high earners in January just to get to the end of the season :agree:
They will be able to make the payments in this scenario. The SC gate money will cover them there, looks like Hibs agreeing to get the tickets on sale just now has given them enough leverage to deal with the taxman. It looks hand to mouth for them. I cant see it being this £450k sinking them - maybe next time.
Well the dogs have been called off - for now at least
Now the problem is ' The world isn't going to stop to let them get off '
The club still has to be run , bills will still have to be paid , VAT will still be required to be paid , Nat Ins and Taxes will still have to be paid , wages paid , the debt has to be serviced etc etc .
It is going to take a massive refinancing to put HMFC on a normal working basis .
Looks awful like there will be major 'surgery' among the staff and their numbers come May 2013
What I meant is they will try and recoup as much as they can for players that they themselves think will get most money - McGowan is off in January regardless I am hearing. Webster, with the CV he has, will find a club and attract a modest fee - Zaliukas likewise, a modest fee.
Hearts won't command a great deal in transfers but it will get six figures in and reduce the wage bill. I do however think they'll face 'Obua like' scenarios where certain players may decide to plant their feet and take a chance in seeing out contracts.
Hearts have got a couple of really decent young lads in their ranks and I hope Hibs are keeping an eye on that too - some of these lads might face the axe and there are two or three that I think have real promise.
wonder if the first minister had a word with the taxman,he did hint last week
How long are the big earners contracted for?
Forget the cayman islands........Scottish football the new tax haven :agree:
The 5-1 and wee team text messages have started again.
They just won't learn will they?
And yet none of them ask why Vlad hasn't paid any of the bill or even bothered to turn up!
I think the majority of their current first team squad is only contracted till the end of the season. So they will get no transfer fees for them and will be lucky to offload them in January because most teams will just wait until summer to get them for free.
Surprise surprise. Itll never happen. They always squirm out of it.
Hearts aren't exactly in the best bargaining position *** January - any club interested in their top players hold all the aces - most are out of contract soon, they are desperate for money, not many clubs in January are flush and unless there is a burning desire to get a player they'll hold off or get a pre-contract signed.
They'll survive though.
Meanwhile, Edinburgh South MP Ian Murray is thought to have made headway in behind-the-scenes talks with Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs (HMRC), which is pursuing Hearts for the £450,000 unpaid tax bill, in a bid to give new momentum to discussions.
He said: “I have been speaking to the Treasury and senior officials at HMRC to try to get a constructive dialogue going between the club and tax authority.
“I’m confident now that those discussions are open and the club is in a better position today than it was last week.”
On Saturday, the News reported how club director Sergejus Fedotovas warned that Hearts fans would have to generate around £10,000 of revenue every day this season to survive its funding crisis :fenlon
Apologies if this has been posted before, but isn't this '3,2,Wonga' thing and its 'cash dash' just a bit cringeworthy given their current status?
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/2...241384_2978590
:cb
They'll be totally uncompetitive and carrying a huge debt that they will have to start paying meaningful interest on in July 2013.
Hearts are in no position to demand transfers of any size for any of their high earners. They need shot of them as soon as the Transfer window opens.
It might not be worth worrying about, but the bookies see the bloodyturds as a better bet to win the scottish than we do. If the bookies are right, we're at SIGNIFICANT risk of going out to the cheating bloodyturds. Is it more important to Hibs to play this match than to challenge the bloodyturds' right to even PLAY in it, given they're insolvent?
http://www.oddschecker.com/football/...cottish-fa-cup
Some questions...
Bearing in mind your are a representative of the people Mr Murray, have you been even-handed in your attempts to maximise the public purse's position?
Have you received re-assurances from HMFC that all taxes, PAYE, NIC, VAT etc due to fund hospitals and schools etc are paid in full?
Who have you spoken with at HMFC?
What promises have they made to you?
If you have NOT spoken to HMFC, why not?
If you have not spoken with a Director level individual at HMFC, why are you taking it upon yourself to negotiate with the collector of taxes?
Answer on a postage stamp please....
When we beat them on the 2nd he'll probably not pay out on the 3rd. Think he's just hanging on for this game.
It would be lovely if Vlad would show up for this one
I wouldn't get over excited about this. All this means is Yams will see 2012 out. The share issue is a one off that not even gullible Yams will fall for next time. Similarly with jumble sales, cake bakes etc. They've used up all this income plus sales of future tickets just to clear this debt. Now they have to start all over again just to meet normal running costs & still have the £2mm tax spectre hanging over them. Gate money from us & transfer dish from sevco will spin it out a bit longer but it's death by a thousand cuts. They will not be in SPL next season & I doubt for a number of years.
Joke of an organisation run by blithering imbeciles without the baws tae do the right thing. That last pointless transfer embargo for failure tae pay wages on time should have been a points deduction, the failure tae pay taxes on time should have been another points deduction and still they get away with it, pathetic.
well, if he didnae, his faither would if he's lurkin' in the background. dont f/ck wi' the Niddrie boys:greengrin
:agree:fully agree with you on this, as in a previous post. I get the feeling though that some up and coming Journo bbc type gadge will be compiling a reveal all tv invetigative prog. as we speak. saw it happening to der hun, and , der mini-hun is not untouchable for the sake of fair minded folk:wink:
Ian Murray MP is(or was) a hearts season ticket holder.
Ewan Murray is also a jambo.
Hardly surprising that they are being supportive, but not exactly how either dealt with the Sevco situation.
they shall drop 3 divisions, if it's the same as der Hun.spl,1st,2nd 3rd remember.looks like the taxman has given them a stay of exucution, imho.more to follow, but they have been a shower o' lucky barstewards for a long number of years. our day will surely come. they are ,as the saying goes..............dead man walking
So they get an extension, big deal.
One thing that tells me is Vlad was never going to bail them out by paying himself as he clearly either has no cash or couldn't be ersed.
They are also deferring wages, basically robbing from Peter to pay Paul. The wages will still need paid at some point.
I also think this decision will slow down any momentum built up by the supporters when it comes to the fundraising.
Out of interest what exactly are the SFA or SPL doing about this? Clearly not paying tax and now not paying wages on time for 3rd month in a row shall lead to more sanctions?
can you just check, and confirm that the member of parliment that had a private word with hector....is in fact of the labour persuation. not saying for a moment that he is a jambo barsteward, just to point oot that salmond was not directly involved in any under the *****er deals, if ye ken what ah mean:wink:
How will the SPL view Hearts "deferring" players' wages to pay the tax bill. Even though they say that the players have agreed, in reality they didn't have much choice - "either take your wages late or we get closed down and you'll get no wages at all".
Surely this must count as another late payment.
Completely true. As someone else has said, I'm looking forward to seeing how he negotiates the other creditors (eg Newtongrange Star) that are due cash. Seem to remember that the local newsagent in the SevcoWest creditor list was due a few quid for newspapers etc supplied to Rangers. There are no doubt a number of HMFC creditors (including some small/medium sized businesses) that are asking questions like "when" and "if" and perhaps more correctly "will I supply them with anymore (insert appropriate good or service here)..?"
I dont quite know what will happen with their wages, to be honest . but, as far as I've noticed it's some players that have agreed to differ,not all? . however, the rules were changed and the players themselves no longer have to notify the spl about a late payment. the club itself must notify(in writing I think) the governing body (spl) about late payments within 2/3 days? . what action is taken thereafter, is up in the air as far as I can see. I do however,sense a total climbdown by the spl on this matter. shower o' gutless blazers, along with the sfa, when honest, hard pressed lesser clubs to a certain degree like livi, dundee etc were hammered. not obviously by the spl, but the footballing authoroties in general. there may be some young players amongst that gorgie mob, that feel obliged to deffer their wages for a week or two, and their Ma n' Da could say....naw son we'll let you stay here rent free for a month, but yer no allowed in the kitchen awrite:greengrin that's when Fraser Wishart comes in.
This is obviously what’s happening. Can any of the financial experts on here shed any light on why HMRC would allow the extension when it’s obvious they are only getting in deeper by continuing to honor player contracts which they cannot afford. They are running up more tax liabilities which they cannot pay. They will make almost nothing in Jan player sales as they are all out of contract next summer therefore must rely on match days for income for the rest of the season which is nowhere near enough income. I cannot see how it’s possible for HMRC to allow this to go on any longer? Or am I missing something?
Serious question. Does anybody know how much Hearts need to find by Friday for the wages?
the point raised by Emerald is a good one, and like s.a.m, I agree
I've not really been keeping up with what's going on over there but how is this a problem?
Doesn't Romanov own a bank, thus ensuring that whenever they need to print some banknotes, forgive debt or just ignore an inconvenient story generally he can just make all the bad news go away?
He probably has loads of Gazillion pound notes and I bet he will spend a few on the genuine historical treasures available at the Tynecastle auction right now.
The chance to own the A.Wallace Mercer combined toilet roll holder and cigar cutter or the Graham Rix Jacuzzi (excluding fixtures and fittings, buyer collects) only comes up once in a lifetime after all.
They'll always find a way to worm their way out of trouble. Won't get my hopes up again.