On parking spaces, folk who can't find a space so they block you in. When they return they are perplexed at your frustration as they've only been ten minutes.
Printable View
People who insist on reversing into parking spaces on George Street! You can drive straight out the other side, there's no need to hold everyone up while you take an eternity to reverse your car in there.
When did the West Indies start being formally called the Windies?
Taxi drivers in Edinburgh, ****wits of the highest order.
All vehicles really. And their drivers.
Let's face it they're all crap.
Guys that stare at other guys wife's or daughters when the husband or father is with them.
People who don't realise how much better red wine can taste slightly chilled. On the same vein as those who go through the whole wine tasting pose from a screw top bottle.
When socks come off inside your wellies :-)
The wee ****s that are terrorising west pilton, drylaw and muirhouse. Nearly kill a wee laddie then back out on the bikes. Little pricks deserve to be lynched. Thats my current pet peeve!!!
When I worked as a barman and waiter I used to always smile to myself when someone made a big show of commenting on the taste of wine when checking it. A simple nod of the head or 'fine thanks' is all a waiter needs. The whole process is to check you have the right wine and it isn't corked or spoiled in another way. One guy demanded to see a manager because one of the waiters had 'shown bad form' by placing a cork on the table. It was explained to him that placing a cork in front of the person who ordered for inspection is standard etiquette. He made a proper scene until one of his very embarrassed companions assured him we were spot on.
Bar staff who listen to my selection for a premium gin and then attempt to put tonic in it from the gun! FFS if I'm buying a premium gin I want a premium tonic to compliment it. Have sent two gins back recently when the barman filled them with gun tonic before I realised.
Lorry drivers who take it upon themselves to block the inside lane of a dual carriageway by straddling both lanes when approaching roadworks coz he doesn't want cars getting past him.
I like when they do that to stop folk blatantly taking the pish with cutting in.
I know that folk are meant to merge in turn but you get some folk who take the pish with it, and the lorry drivers don't usually do the old blocking the lane routine until they're close to the lane merge.
Like I said, I know what's meant to happen but at the same time in practice you see most people recognising that there's a queue and every try to get in lane early, and then you get folk who see that happening and cut in at the last minute.
I don't have a huge issue with it, if there are two lines merging in turn then it's all good, but I'm not going to lie - there something satisfying about a lorry driver deciding that they'll get the folk who have already queued and let people in get to where they are going a bit quicker.
White folk with dreadlocks. Really, aye???
Look how it worked out for Drexl.
I'm guilty of that and can see how it might be annoying but seemingly it formally happened in June this year!!
http://indianexpress.com/article/spo...ndies-4685387/
Sorry Matty don't agree especially in this instance. It was the M90 roadworks at the weekend, southbound. He was straddling the carriageways at least a mile before the merge in turn signs. He was at it and lets be honest he's causing an obstruction on a motorway. Mores the pity for him coz he was driving a Fife council lorry so very easy for someone to report him...... :greengrin
The new road layout at the top of Easter Road. What a joke.
****ING Caravans ****ING ****ING caravans should be banned from driving between the hours of 00.01-23.59. Swedes love them everywhere in the summer all driving along pulling out in juctions round abouts etc forgetting that they have about 12m of ****ty fibre glass following after them!!!!
Websites where a capital letter automatically starts your password, when it's case sensitive. I always drop to lower case whether I need to or not but it's bloody infuriating.
Caravaner pulled out in front of me today at a roundabout. Didn't give a toss that I had to brake to miss his portable living room. What annoys me most is they are on holiday and have all the time in the world, so it's two fingers to poor old Joe who is trying to get to work on time.
The different pronunciations of the name Dalziel.
1. Dalzeeel
2. Dee El
Which one is correct?
And Menzies.
Is it Menzeeees or Mingis?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Menzies
Taken from that link re the name Menzies ....
This Scottish name is traditionally pronounced, as it still is in Scotland, /ˈmɪŋᵻz/ (About this sound listen) MING-iz, since the English letter <z> was used as a substitute for the now obsolete letter <ȝ> (yogh) in the Scots language (Menȝies). However, many now do not know this, and today it is often pronounced as if it were an English word and hence it is often pronounced /ˈmɛnziːz/ MENZ-eez. A Scottish limerick plays on the traditional pronunciation:
There wis a young lassie named Menzies,
That askit her aunt whit this thenzies.
Said her aunt wi a gasp,
"Ma dear, it's a wasp,
An you're haudin the end whaur the stenzies!"
People cutting through queues.
Makes me rage so it does .
People that sit next to you on the bus when there are free seats further up the bus. Just weird.
Use of the word "starlet" to describe young untried footballers.
This word should be banned from all football discussions.
Actors eating when they're meant to be acting. I can see there's food there - I just don't need to hear you chomping it when you're attempting to deliver your lines.
The word "bae" WTF even is that?
Words like Mansplaining and Manspreading - would this kind of stuff be tolerated if the shoe was on the other foot? some folk are fannies regardless of gender ffs.
Not a peeve but related to what you say and I found it funny on facebook there was a caption of 3 female officers with a tag along the lines of not just a pretty face. I think the message was about equality in the police force or something, and the tweet was actually written by female PC's. Que the comments about sexisim etc etc etc
a few posts down I seen another picture thing with a cat stuck up a tree and a rubbish caption about why woman have cats and calling the firebrigade........que all the comments form the woman fawning over the thought of ripped firemen coming to their rescue. Gotta love the double standards
Is that you Manuel? ;-)
Neil Oliver.
Watching a repeat of Coast, which should be must watch TV for me, but he's such an insufferable bellend it becomes almost unwatchable.
Neil Oliver has cropped up on this thread before and will again. A monstrous twat. That thick, affected and totally exaggerated "Scooooootish" accent grates my very soul.
I'd like to say something nice about Neil Oliver.
Neil Oliver is in Australia.
Gala days.
I absolutely hate them. Can't think of a worse thing to do on a Saturday.
I've been dragged along.
The Edinburgh Festival and the gridlock it brings. Not to mention the pissheads who step out in from of your car at 5am on lothian road when driving home from work.
What ticks me off are kids who are in their twenties talking about the sixties on TV progs. You weren't even born ffs.
Paddy Power ads, what a lot of *****!
Ceramic frying pans.
Never, ever buy one.
Biggest pile of crap ever in a kitchen
Likewise the Reading Festival. It's been pretty much impossible to drive anywhere in Reading for the last week and the disruption will continue until about Thursday with the stages and stuff being dismantled and taken away.
Not just that, I live close enough to the venue to hear the music, but far enough away that it's not clear so I don't even get a decent free concert out of it.
Probably doesn't bother you guys too much though.
Baby talk between adults or to pets makes me puke.
People signing cards and including the pets names too! My sister sent me a birthday card once and actually added the rabbit,hamster and dogs name WTF is that all about.
Dogs (of the four legged variety) that are allowed to run about unrestrained in boozers, particularly if its been raining.
When you buy an electric toothbrush or razor and the charging cable has a two pronged plug, has anyone ever actually had one of those sockets in their house ever, just give me a proper plug
The new craze for parents on Facebook. Posting pictures of their babies with cards saying they are 3 weeks old, 1 month old or 7 weeks old etc. GTF as nobody is interested. My absolute favourite. A card saying "my first pee on daddy today". Seriously!! :grr:
People in queues who get distracted by chatting, using their mobile or looking at the floor. I was in a massive queue at Gatwick train station yesterday and there was at least 3 ticket machines not being used at any one time because people had their heads up their *****.
Day trippers heading for the Queensferry Crossing.
The new bridge will close again tomorrow for the official opening and open for real next week. I think the old bridge is closed at the moment and will re-open when the new bridge closes. Longer term only buses pedestrians and emergency vehicles can use the old bridge.
2 fat ladies, mid 20's and sitting 4 tables away talking about their recent holiday sexual conquests. Why do they have to shout? My fish pie is going back to the kitchen.
Edinburgh Airport again, just dropped maw and paw off at the airport, well within the 5 minutes before the price jumps up and what happens? An effing private hire taxi driver makes a complete shop front of it at the barriers, I have no idea what he was trying to do. It looked like he was trying to feed a bank note into the card reader or something!!! Anyway by the time he pissed about and got out the machine said I owe them £3. Two things wrong with that:
1. I was finished long before the 5 minutes had lapsed and had been stuck the queue due to Mr Fud of a taxi driver.
2. I only had £2 on me as I didn't take my wallet as I didn't think I'd need it, plus they were not getting a penny more.
I had to press the buzzer and tell the boy I only had £2 on me and that I'd been stuck in the bloody queue behind that daft taxi driver. He hummed and hawed then said his system was playing up. Eventually after about 3 minutes of being on hold the barrier finally opened and I got away. I'm betting everyone behind me was in the same boat as they'd been stuck as well.
A terrible system at Edinburgh Airport and its nothing but a cash cow that pickup/drop off area. I wonder how much a year that place alone rakes in. :grr:
Cyclists who cycle down the cycle lane on North St Andrews Street without stopping or even slowing down as they cross over the lane. I almost had one of them cycle into me last night, he had the cheek to give me a dirty look as well.
Pedestrians who think every road is a pedestrianised area.
Glasgow airport already charges £2 for drop off - won't be long until Edinburgh catches up I'm sure.
As an additional peeve: the price to get into the 'pick up' point at Edi airport is £3.90(for 15 mins, before it jumps to £6.90 for the next 15).
Suddenly the pound drop off seems ok....
The cretin of a cyclist who decided to ignore a red light at temporary traffic lights today and found himself heading straight for me and the 2 cars behind. I managed to swerve out the way (and into a couple of cones) but the guy behind clipped him. He then had the cheek to accuse us of 'having no respect for cyclists' before cycling off.
Of course because he has no requirement for any identification similar to a number plate or any insurance obligations the damage to the guys car is going to hit him in the pocket despite the cyclist being 100% at fault.
There are a few particularly annoying ads on tv just now. The purple bricks ones are awful and the PPI one with arnie's head on cat tracks is perhaps the worst there's ever been.