In SPL terms they're decent-ish, but in relation to a club of Hibernian's standard, they're poor. I also said 'pretty awful', and not simply awful.
Printable View
Williams - good goalie
Strong in comparison to Stack who was simply awful - I got lambasted for saying that too.
Sparky - Good footballer, did make mistakes last year he's said he's working on
Attitude problem and is inconsistent. Has talent but doesn't score enough goals. Massively overrated by our support.
McPake - Our best player by a country mile last year made permanent
Looked strong a lot of the time but was prone to the odd error. Definitely wasn't the messiah most claimed him to be, but I'm happy with him as part of the team.
Cairney - Time will tell as he's only played one game
Gamble
Clancy - Good signing
Potentially a good signing
Deegan - A club who are in the **** financially are glad to cut their wage bill a bit, plus we haven't seen him play yet.
They were happy to get him off the wage bill based on his prowess as a football player.
PETRIE :grr:
What? Hibernian's standards are not, or SHOULD NOT be 11th place. Just because we finished there one season doesn't mean that's where we should be. Based on the size of the club, the wages we pay and the facilities we offer, we should be aiming for no lower than 4th place with Rangers out of the scene. If you want to be facetious, that's fine, but I don't think anyone can argue with that.
There is no devine right though. Hibs have been in a state for 3-4 years now.
We are thus unnattractive to most players and Pat has a whole mentality and attitude problem to solve throughout the club, as well as improve things on the park.
I'm as depressed as the next guy about our current state and agree Hibs should be 'aiming' for top 5 finishes every year, but in sport you don't achieve anything unless you earn it. We have to let Pat get on with his job in hand and support him.
If anyone doesn't think Lee Griffiths is a good footballer, they need thier heid looked at. And Leigh's attitude problem was nothing to do with a lack of application - it's his tendancy for the red mist to come down, which isn't always a negative attribute when you gain a bit of maturity.
I do support him, and if you look at my previous posts you'll see that I'm more 'happy clapper' than anything - my alias is incorrect, maybe? That doesn't mean I can't give opinions on, what are, highly uninspiring signings. I do think it's time we return to our policy of letting youth play a bigger part, and maybe supplement a less experienced squad with one or two bigger names. Guess that's not an option now, though.
All of those players you mention were brought in in the January period when a) it is quite difficult to get players and b) there is a lot less time to properly assess said players. I also think Doherty was a good player despite being an idiot, and I actually like Doyle. The likes of Claros and Kujabi havent been up to it, but not every signing is going to be spot on. Also, a mid-table SPL club is a alot better than where we currently are, so yes, it would imo be a step forward.
We arent going to go straight from relegation candidates to top 4 though. Its all about taking the right steps to achieve that however, by building and developing a proper team. I fear for Fenlons job because too many people want instant success, which is almost impossible given the squad we have. Someone like Cairney, who knows Scottish football, was playing regularly and well for his club, is exactly the sort of signing that should improve us. The gap between SFL1 and the SPL is not big, and Ive no doubts he will be able to step up.
Noone is saying we have quality. Far from it. But if you look at the majority of those top 6 teams, there was a solid core of good, established SPL players, or they signed players with those qualities. Obviously if you have a solid grounding, then you can sign someone like Ojamaa at Motherwell, who was arguably a bit more of a risk. We havent brought in those players for quite a while, although the signings so far this window have taken us closer to that, its just we are so short overall.
Surely the last paragraph is in relation to the fact that if we do sign players they should be exciting, as the more workmanlike player we should be able to produce through our youth policy?
I agree with the theory that we should sign less players and focus on the youth squad. Might be tough at first but I think we have signed too many players in the past.
As much as i love the club please tell me how big a club you actually think we are? We last won something in 2007 and before that i was a laddie so not exactly world beaters, we are signing players that should be good enough on paper to compete in an utter garbage league
Rumour doing the rounds that we are trying to attract Goodwillie [ex-Dundee Unt] to Easter Road on a season - long loan deal. Seemingly he is talking to both us and our neighbours. Anyone any inf on this ? Is it Tom Kite ? Surely some of you that are "in the know" club can shed some light on this rumour.
No, what I meant by that is if someone who knew nothing else of Fenlon or his time at Hibs were to look at him, and were clever enough, they would see Paddy as a good manager because of the players he has brought in. If you have other reasons to believe differently then do so.
He has tried to bring in good professionals as well as good players, with a very tight budget. The players that have arrived so far are encouraging ones.
So any rumours then or should we start a new rumours thread?
The Goodwillie to Hearts rumour has been.doing the rounds on kickback for weeks. Not heard anything about him to Hibs.
Strikes me as strange on a few accounts. Not sure what benefit Blackburn get from sending him up here, they know he can score goals in Scotland, surely League one or bottom half of the Championship makes more sense. Secondly if he was to come to Scotland I'd have thought Dundee Utd would be more appealing to him than Hibs or Hearts.
Alan Maybury like so many of our players is a bottom 6 spl player at best. Cheap option.
Don't think he is a world beater but if he allows Hanlon or Clancy to move to centre back he could be a major signing. Add his experience and reported professionalism to the dressingroom and he could be a big part of the rebuilding process. Sort of Gary Smith player at the right time.
If he is cheap that would free up money for other players. Stop being so negative and see the positives!
Positives! aye ok then. It's a sad day for us when a 34 year old that nobody else wants is part of the rebuilding process or a major signing. If you knew me you would know that i'm one of the least negative people you could meet. I am more of a realist and the reality of this signing is it's CRAP! Kujabi/Stevenson/Hanlon or Booth could do just as good a job at left back if the defence wasnt so exposed all the time by the lack of any kind of midfield. I dont really rate any of those i have just mentioned either however the left back position shouldnt be our priority right now IMO our midfield should.
Why do we always have to go for someone who is cheap also? If they are cheap should that not set the alarm bells ringing? Look at all the cheap options we have had over the last 4 or 5 years!
Thats the beauty of this forum though it's all just my opinion.
Maybe he isnt being brought in to play at LB, and rather Clancy will be playing alongside McPake? We are hardly blessed in numbers at RB.
I think Maybury is another sensible signing tbh. Hes experienced in the SPL, can play numerous positions and had played a fair number of games last season (not someone who had been rotting in the reserves). Hes not going to be an attacking full back who will fly up the wings, but thats not necessarily what we need. Some stability would be nice for a change, and if we can get in someone decent to play on the same wing, we wouldnt really need him to be up and down the pitch all game.
If its such a cheap, bad signing, who do you suggest?
Why is this line trotted out constantly, do you honestly think the poster is a scout and knows players who are available or out of contract?
The manager is paid to look at options, its his job to scout and bring players in. This is a message board that folk will discuss positively and negatively on players we are interested in.
Doesnt matter who we sign or play at the back if the midfield in front arent there then they will concede lots of goals. Every time we sign a cheap option to plug a gap we may lose out on a decent midfielder because there are not the funds attract him. We dont have a midfield. Everytime i look at the team page on the official website i panic!
Will have to disagree with you on this one. If Maybury comes in and does a job then that'll do for me. If he plays and defends , by this I mean does the simple things and defends.Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnHughes
It's the SPL remember.
FWIW. I would play Maybury at LB and move Hanlon back into the middle. If not maybe play him in front of back 4. Making us harder to break down etc
BH. Agree. Defend from the front and all that. Another CF or 2 along with a CH and MF required however u am hoping Deegan will do the business but he will need help.Quote:
Originally Posted by blackpoolhibs
Hopefully a better performance on Sunday.
As this is a transfer rumours thread, I heard today from a Pars Fan that Joe Cardle was on Hibs radar. I've always thought he was a decent winger and would probably be a reasonable option under our current financial restraints.
QUOTE=JohnHughes;3319015]I didnt say he was a cheap option i was replying to PatHeads claim that he might be a cheap option.[/QUOTE]
When I replied to your claim that he was the cheap option! See below
"Alan Maybury like so many of our players is a bottom 6 spl player at best. Cheap option." 3536
what about Deeko he would make a good combination with Griffiths
No thanks. Deeks had his time at the club and we cannot afford anymore passengers at the moment.Quote:
Originally Posted by shetlandhibee
The guy has undoubted talent but his lack of application and work ethics is his downfall.
Instead if being in his prime he is struggling big time to find a club.
Where are the strikers we need?
We must have more than just Maybury signed for this game.
It makes you wonder just how skint we are and how big a loss we're going to be posting this year.
Agree and disagree.
We need more for the rest of the season, and the one after that and so on and so I'd rather get the right players eventually than worry about what we have for this one game.
I don't think it's only about being skint, I think it is also about Fenlon being absolutely picky about who he brings in. Which I think is a good thing given recent years where it looks like we've just gone for players regardless of whaether they are mentally up to it and without thinking how the team is going be led.
Agree and disagree Andy.
I don't buy the Fenlon rhetoric. 'Got to be the right players' was both the Mixu and Calderwood party line. In both cases we've ended up going for bargain basement when we couldn't get/afford/interest the 'right' players.
I think we're right back here again. Fenlon is on record that we've lost out on players to teams on a par to us. Sevco aren't paying anything like the figures quoted but are still able to sign 'the right players'. Arabs are able to sign, the right players. There's only us that can't and are then forced to fill the squad as the deadline approaches.
There's something else afoot. Whether Scott and Pat can't sell, or we're skint, or no one wants to come to work for Rod or whether players think they're better off elsewhere unless they have a 'special' connection to the club or whether last season and recent seasons have put them off I don't know.
We're struggling and I don't buy the public reason why.
Ok - I walked right into the smart erse comments :greengrin
It will be horrific reading IMHO. The Ozzy fee will mask things a bit though. The loss will be a huge % of turnover!
:agree: See my earlier point re loss:turnover % .. I think STF has said enough is enough and the Board are reigning in the finances to stop the losses/cash haemoraging. Despite the fact we NEED players - and I thought we'd see them - I am starting to think (fear) we won't.
So can we round up who we are lookin at and who is still on trial at ER. Is maybury and kerr still there or are they waiting to see if they get a better option elsewhere....
Anyone else linked with hibs all seems a bit quiet....
More is relative based on requirement. Some teams have been managed a lot better than us.
With more ST holders than all except the Yams and Bhoys and with 16 out of the door..yes, we should have had far more by now and would've done if we'd not been told to bolt by several.
3 of your 6 asked their agents to get them to Hibs. Hardly scouting out those made of the right stuff. At least three are completely unproven as to whether they are the 'right' players or not.
You think Griffiths fits in to the right type?
The fact that we look unlikely to bring in anyone else before Sunday now (that would be eligible to play at least) says to me, that the board have no idea just how important it is to the supporters to win this game after what happened in May.
That is unforgivable.
It's more important to me to be in a position to win these games and others over the coming year, just speaking for myself obviously but I don't want players brought in with just Sunday in mind.
We had the same sort of chat in Janaury about just needing a centre half for an upcoming game or series of games. Hibs were patient and the end result was McPake who was influential for us long after those games had gone.
i have a friend that works within hibs and 2 weeks ago he told me that the club was so tight for cash they struggled to pay the wages at the end of july. this was before the Deegan signing and he said fenlon only had money for 1 maybe 2. this was also before the TV deal had been finalised