Printable View
Dance instructor?
For a team like Hibs, anything less than a top 4 finish should be classed as dismal failure! Or the 'terrible awful' according to Minnie!
Davey 2 Bad
For a team like Hibs (meaning the team we have right now) a top 4 finish is not realistic. The team people expect Hibs to be, and where they should finish, and the team they are right now are light years apart.
We need to keep in mind where we are at present and, unfortunately, lower our short term expectations.
For me this is a huge part of the problem! As hibs fans, for starters we have never been short term but we have become subserviant to the term above in bold. **** lowering oor expectations! The jumbos from across the city are £40m in debt and do they lower their expectations? Do the ****! That is the winning mentality we need, the seige mentality!
How long do the board expect us to raise our butts in the air and accept a rogering? For me, enough is enough! I'll support the team, ffs, I have done for 40+ years but now is the time for action, from our board, not talk!
I would imagine PF & Hibs had signing targets in mind at the end of last season or early into into the close season. Our preferred targets just did not wont to sign for us and who can blame them. Finishing second bottom is not a good selling point.
If PF can get the right couple of people in over the next few weeks then adding again in January and we see a marked improvement then next season our preferred targets will be saying well, Hibs look a better option. Then we take the next step.
Most people have said that it'll take a couple of seasons to get to a decent place but after game one we're greeting.
Do you think we'll line up like this v. Yams?
Williams
Clancy
McPake
O'Hanlon
Maybury
Cairney
Kerr
Deegan
Forsyth
Griffiths
Sheridan
Its clear we need another centre half to play, and if its nobody new then Hanlon should play there. That means we need someone else at left back, and for me whoever plays there be it Kujabi or Booth, then we have just made that position weaker.
I wonder if Maybury would be a short term answer at left back, but is he any better than what we have?
The rest of the team is weak, you could pick any combination of whats left, and then think straight away you needed to change it.
No, it's Speeders at the wind-up. One of these days we'll collectively realise he likes to chuck in a wee grenade here and there :aok:
I just seen Stephens driving an expensive car through Tranent High Street. He looked me straight in the eye and I think even he came to the realisation that he was staring at a better footballer than him.
I even had a cigarette in my hand.
If Hanlon is the one to be dropped after that game on Sunday then they can have my ST back too.
I was just thinking that Kerr and Maybury are essentially waiting to sign for us, Brucie and Sillyname are rumoured to have been offered terms therefore we have the ability, in theory, to field a much changed side on Sunday.
Fenlon said there would be changes, but who has he got as things stand?
Maybury is a right back, Why would we play him at left back when we have Stevenson, Kujabi, Booth?.
Clancy claims his best position is right back so we need to give him more than one game there to see how good he is.
Therefore if Maybury signs then I would play him at left back. I'd certainly prefer him there than any of the other three (who have all been ripped a new one against them at least once in the past).
Agree too, but one of the most worrying things from Sunday (from the point of view of someone who has had a good amount of faith in Fenlon) was the fact that he could possibly think that the back four played on Sunday was a good idea.
In the context of the disaster that was last season, McPake's leading from the back and his bringing out better performances from Hanlon was one of the very few highlights - for him to change that I would expect to see a back four that had worked together all summer and was well drilled. But we were anything but, and he managed to make a vulnerable area of the team (even at its best last season, we still were) even more vulnerable. Bringing Stephens in was madness, and everyone in the back four suffered from his selection.
What Hearts do and how much debt they are in should be of no concern to Hibernian Football Club and should certainly not be used as some kind of template for success. Your grammar isn’t great and I may well have misunderstood some of your post but you do also seem to suggest that by running their club in this reckless fashion Hearts have somehow bred a "winning mentality”. I’m pretty sure this can be achieved without the £40m debt.
The point is, even if we magically had the perfect management and board in place tomorrow, it would still take more than a season or two before we turn this ship around. As a Hibs fan I agree we should expect better but I’m also well aware of the reality of our position.
We are where we are and, as I said before, things will clearly not improve overnight so we do therefore need to lower our short term expectations.
Totally agree with the bit in bold, personally amazed that was seen as a good idea. McPake and Hanlon while being no world beaters as a partnership at least appeared to have an understanding and personally thought McPake beside him had brought Hanlon on. To bring in Stephens who to me is bang average was an interesting choice and resulted in the moving of both McPake and Hanlon which didnt help either or the team. What will be even more worrying is if the folly is repeated on Sunday. Get McPake and Hanlon back in the middle please.
Can't disagree with that. I've been very surprised to see him playing such a role, from nowhere, pre season and now into the season.
I mean, Fenlon must have seen him at the first game he attended v St Johnstone, then again against St Johnstone later on, and he was not exactly great v Huddersfield either.
We simply can't afford a factor in there that is going to destabilise things and make us easy to score against again.
looks like it. pure rubbish
A team with Stephens, Sproule, Stevenson and Wotherspoon starting in it, I'm afraid are going to.get absolutely nowhere.
I know playing younger players in a poor team can do them more harm than good.. but if they cant at least give us what those mentioned can (which is F.A.) then their talent must be pretty poor.
Playing the younger ones might not improve results but I'm sure the fans could at least accept we are trying to bring quality into the club but whilst we short on them we will play younger players with energy and enthusiasm and mix them with the handful of players that are of sufficient standard.
Its cringeworthy seeing those players in Hibs team.
Would love to see a target man brought in for sunday as speedway team suggested looked strong and looked like a team that could hurt them,
This 451 or 4231 doesn't work and a big man has to be a priority for sunday as webster and zailukas will have a field day against griffiths on his own! Especially if the way we played the ball into him on sunday! Still think as speedway suggested fenlon will pull a couple out the bag,
As a complete novice when it comes to posting and as someone who isnt a regular attender to the games, I am probably going to get shot down here for even daring to raise this point but what the heck, its about taking chances eh...:duck:
This forum has been a constant source of news for folks like myself who arent at all the games, and for geogrpaphical reason arent likely to be at many games in the near future, to such an extent that I believe i have been as well informed as anyone could be - that is until the last few months...............the reason, simply due to the fact that when I click a link that I naively beleived that I would see something at least relating to the thread title.
this one for instance, an optimist would expect to see, no matter how unbeleivable, rumours about signings - alas no......the thread has been hijacked to discuss at length, issues that if they were that important surely deserve their own threads - nor for one minute am I suggesting the issues arent important (I beleive they are) - purely that the threads are of interest for a reason, and its normally the title, so please if only for the folks like me, can we try and keep them relevant and start new threads when folks feel as passionate about an issue
i note my own irony on putting this comment on a rumour thread of course !!!
07 Aug 2012 17:20:37
alan maybury has signed ma source is a family member
from Football Rumours.
Also mention of Gary Twigg again
Any word on sheridan or indeed any other rumours??
Your in the wrong thread.
Hibs.net is like Willy Wonka's Chocolate factory....nothing is what it seems.
From Wikipdedia: -
On 4th August 2012, The Birmingham Mail announced that Tchoyi had begun training with midland neighbours Birmingham City
I honestly don't know if he will sign or not or even if we are after him.
Am getting so disorientated I don't even know who I want to sign anymore.
Maybury, Kerr, Sheridan. Haven't a clue if they are the answer or not, somedays I think maybe aye other days maybe naw.
I am happy with Williams, McPake, Clancy, Cairney, Griffiths and Deegan though.
And here was me thinking you had your finger on the pulse. ;-)
Sadly the board don't have the same level of ambition as the fans.
I'm willing to reserve judgement on who we sign by end of transfer window, by why do we always wait till we are in a crisis??
After mr petries comments and apologies I was expecting real changes, sadly I feel we have been taken for granted again,
Nothing will change and the long suffering hibs fans deserve so much better.
If we lose heavily on Sunday I expect the board to come under severe pressure as year on year relegation battles are not good enough.
Luke Shanley @LukeShanley #Hibernian manager Pat Fenlon tells #SSN he hopes to complete the signing of Alan Maybury 'in the next day or two'.
Luke shanley on twitter has said PF confirms to Sky Sports that he hopes to sign Maybury in next day or two!
Good.
If that means Hanlon moves back into the middle and Stephens drops out then I'm happy.
Given that Fenlon pretty much admitted Maybury was his second choice it's hard to get excited.
Superb news. This should help our attacking options. wingers!!!
Alan Maybury? How can anyone get excited by this signing? A club with aspirations of top 6 finishes should not be buying an SPL has-been. He's past it. In fact, none of the signings we've made so far are worthy of a top 6 team. I've been biting my tongue through this whole transfer period, as I really, REALLY hoped that Pat would be the man to change our fortunes, but the recruits so far have been pretty awful, and hardly inspiring.
Ben Williams - Seems pretty strong so far. It's about time we had a keeper that wasn't complete bomb scare.
Leigh Griffiths - Semi-talented footballer who's plagued with the kind of attitude problems that have been rife at this club in the past few years.
James McPake - Decent, but nothing better than that. The fact that people were treating his signing like it was the second coming speaks volumes about the expectations our support holds these days. He was the best of an extremely bad bunch last season.
Paul Cairney - Remains to be seen, but signing players that are 'good' by first division standards doesn't exactly excite.
Tim Clancy - Did well in a good Motherwell team last season. Probably the best signing of the transfer period thus far.
Gary Deegan - Coventry fans seems to be more than happy that he's been taken off their wage bill, but it's too early for us to make a judgement.
One thing that all the signings have in common though, is that they are boring. So, so, so boring. No real marquee signings to bring some life into the fans and the club. For me, it's about time we started letting the youth players play a significant part in the make-up of our squad again. The club's 'fortunes' seem to have dwindled ever since we started buying players, instead of breeding them.
Im happy with this signing, and it appears that the back 5 is more or less sorted for this season (in whatever combination).
I hope this isnt the only signing before Sunday however, we really need something extra going forward, whether that be a winger or a new striker (or ideally, both!).
I think it is exciting but perhaps for different reasons than some. Firstly, it shows that he had a first choice and at least one backup. That puts to bed the theories that Hibs haven't been looking for players. On the contrary, Hibs have been looking for players but they've missed out for one reason or another. The reason for them turning us down is known only to those involved but that won't stop people making assumptions based on their own agenda. Secondly, if Maybury is better than what we have and allows Fenlon to play the team in the formation that he wants, with the players he wants in each position, then that has to be seen as a positive. Thirdly, it's another new player and one that some people regard as an improvement and what have people been screaming for? More players / improvements. I'm not saying he's the best player out there but he might be as good as we're going to get now. I'm sure it takes time to build the team that you want i.e., you get all your first picks at each position.
$0.02
So what you're saying is:
Williams - good goalie
Sparky - Good footballer, did make mistakes last year he's said he's working on
McPake - Our best player by a country mile last year made permanent
Cairney - Time will tell as he's only played one game
Clancy - Good signing
Deegan - A club who are in the **** financially are glad to cut their wage bill a bit, plus we haven't seen him play yet.
PETRIE :grr:
What a lot of nonsense.
Firstly, Maybury will be coming in at some position within the defence (RB or LB) to try and tighten things up. Whats the problem with that? Are you happy for us to keep conceding goals every single week? Im not saying hes going to be the answer, Ive not seen him in the team, but theyve seen him training over the last few weeks and must rate him enough.
You also suggest Cairney wont be up to it because he came from the first division. Do you watch Scottish football? Plenty of players step up from the lower leagues, some of whom are the best players in the SPL.
As for your last paragraph, you moan that we havent signed any marquee players, but then go on to say we shouldnt be signing those players and instead bringing through youth. Which is it? To be successful requires a reasonably good mix of both youngsters, and players brought in. I also dont think the 'marquee' signing is something we need right now. Weve been there and done that, it doesnt really work. Id much rather have a team that works as a unit, stops conceding stupid goals and actually wins games. It wont happen overnight but Fenlon seems to be trying to take us in that direction (whether he gets the time to do so is another question).
So the recruits have been awful but yet you say
Ben - looks strong
Griffiths - semi-decent
Mcpake - decent
Cairney - remains to be seen
Clancy - did good, looks like the best signing
Deegan - too soon to say
I struggle to see how you come up with "awful" based on your own analysis of the players. They're either decent or it's too soon.
It's truly awful isn't it. Hibs aren't allowed to make good signings, if we pick up a talented player they are too much of a trouble maker than they are worth on the pitch. If we get an experienced professional, we are picking up the scraps left over from other teams. :rolleyes:
Honestly, I think if anyone with a brain were to judge Paddy on his signings alone, they'd find him to be a very good manager.
I really hope he is allowed to bring in 2-3 more of his targets, I then think we will be in good steed for the rest of the season.
Is that really necessary? Why do people feel the need to make disparaging comments like that prior to making a reasonable post?
Yes, they've seen him training and 'rate him enough'. Unfortunately, Kujabi was also 'rated enough', as was Claros (who could turn out to be OK), Doherty, Francombe, Doyle etc. An old player from a mid-table SPL club isn't exactly the signing we should be making to push the club FORWARD. The signing stinks of desperation; the kind of signing a club looking at another relegation battle would makeQuote:
Firstly, Maybury will be coming in at some position within the defence (RB or LB) to try and tighten things up. Whats the problem with that? Are you happy for us to keep conceding goals every single week? Im not saying hes going to be the answer, Ive not seen him in the team, but theyve seen him training over the last few weeks and must rate him enough.
I suggest that he hasn't hardly set the heather alight in the first division which could be an indicator that he isn't up to the standards of top 4 football in the SPL. Yes, the latter is true, but exceptions don't make a rule. I hope it comes to fruition that he is an excellent footballer, but for me it's a big gamble.Quote:
You also suggest Cairney wont be up to it because he came from the first division. Do you watch Scottish football? Plenty of players step up from the lower leagues, some of whom are the best players in the SPL.
I would like both, actually. A couple of marquee signings supplemented with talented youth. Look at the teams from the top 6 last season compared to ours. The quality is not there, and how anyone can argue that it is, is seriously beyond me.Quote:
As for your last paragraph, you moan that we havent signed any marquee players, but then go on to say we shouldnt be signing those players and instead bringing through youth. Which is it? To be successful requires a reasonably good mix of both youngsters, and players brought in. I also dont think the 'marquee' signing is something we need right now. Weve been there and done that, it doesnt really work. Id much rather have a team that works as a unit, stops conceding stupid goals and actually wins games. It wont happen overnight but Fenlon seems to be trying to take us in that direction (whether he gets the time to do so is another question).