a few experts expected an easy win for Joyce, bookies had him huge odds on to win so i didn't bother having a little flutter, can't remember which ex boxer i was reading the other day but he thought joyce was the 3rd best heavyweight in the world
Printable View
a few experts expected an easy win for Joyce, bookies had him huge odds on to win so i didn't bother having a little flutter, can't remember which ex boxer i was reading the other day but he thought joyce was the 3rd best heavyweight in the world
Joyce lacked the basic skill of self-defence. It's all very well having a big punch, but if you can't avoid them, then you suffer. Parker rocked him in their fight and there seemed to be a general consensus that Joyce needed to improve on the fundamentals. he clearly didn't.
Whoever had Joyce ahead of Fury, Usyk or Wilder needed spec savers, they would all molicate him, as did Zhang.
Big one tonight, Tank Davis v Ryan Garcia. Think I’ll catch the re-run tomorrow morning
Great fight in Cardiff. Cordina Rakhimov. Very tight so far
Split decision win for Cordina. About right I thought
1 official gave it 116-111 to Rakhimov. Wild
Couldn't really have complained if that went either way, hard not to like Cordina and wish him well though
route for Kens funeral tomorrow, hope he gets decent turnout
Ken Buchanan Edinburgh: Boxing legend's Edinburgh memorial procession route, road closures and timings (msn.com)
Liam Smith and Chris Eubank Jr agree to the rematch
i'm still looking for whoever it was in the article i read but after a quick Google the big man himself Tyson Fury rated Joyce the 2nd best Heavyweight in the world,:lips seal article from 7 months ago .. Tyson Fury: Joe Joyce is the second best heavyweight in the world. We’ll have to find out if he can beat me | Boxing News | Sky Sports
Alvarez 1/16
Ryder 9/1
couldn't get a link on my iptv so ended up listening to BBC radio, sounded a great fight then midway through the 10th the bbc link terminates, what a shocking service this BBC really is :bitchy:
Anyone else try to get the KSI fight? We got DAZN on but only had the Katie Taylor fight on (some fight by the way). Missed the KSI fight though by looks of it 😡.
Couple of big fights this weekend. My main focus is on Vegas, Devin Haney v Lomachenko. Hoping the wee Ukrainian can roll back the years to claim the titles
Think loma could be too small, his natural weight is much lighter. I wouldn’t totally count him out as he's obviously unbelievably talented
Arum says if haney wins he'll move up and he wants the winner of Taylors fight. Could be two enormous fights for Taylor
Can't wait for Taylor v Cameron. Haven't looked forward to a fight this much in a while. I'd call it a genuine 50/50 albeit I think Taylor might just nick it with the home advantage.
Sensational by the wee mexican dude there
Cmon Katie. Can't not love her.
Think I've got Cameron by two or possibly three there, good fight though, as much as I like Cameron I'd laugh my heid off if Moore and his whinging bawbags get done again
Enjoyed that whole card from DAZN. Cameron done the business, despite Katie’s best efforts.
Now the one I’ve been looking forward to….
Gutted for Loma, fought a brilliant fight. Very very close but I had him winning by 2 rounds. Hope he drops back to 130 now.
Spence Crawford confirmed 29th July. What a fight 👏
Not sure about anyone else but I'm just not interested I'm that idiot anymore. He ran from Usyk, the single most blatant duck I've ever seen in combat sports and I made a living reporting on it.
The fight for him is Usyk, if its not that I genuinely don't care anymore.
It's not a duck it's greed. I think he is certain he beats Usyk but he wants the Saudi money. I've read they pretty much now have it sorted for December at almost 100 million. Usyk isn't motivated with money in the same way and would have to the fight in March.
Both will have a tune up fight against someone crap. For tyson it won't be AJ, tyson is talking rubbish it's too much of a risk it'll be some mug
Laurence Okolie should be kicked out of the sport - what an absolute disgrace
Okolie made that possibly the worst world title fight in history.
I knew they were good friends but I didn’t realise that they are literally best mates.
One judge scoring it 112-112 how is that possible
Well done Leigh Wood as well, that was a really good performance from him
I'm pretty confident Usyk dog walks fury. Fury has typically struggled with thr smaller guys at HW. Usyk is the more talented boxer and imo is just way too tricky for Fury and he knows it, hence why he's priced himself out. He tried to lowball Usyk hoping he'd decline, Usyk called his bluff and accepted it and Fury ran.
I think it's one of the most blatant ducks I've ever seen.
He's also an absolutely detestable human being. Homophobic loser.
The last part is the part I’ve struggled to shake from him. He’s tried to reinvent himself as this people’s champ but his mask often slips. Talks about men’s mental health but constantly digs out others, and when asked about any of the vile stuff he’s come out with in the past, he refuses to comment or gets nasty with the questioner
Tysons an arse and probably a product of his environment, brought up travelling with that nutter of a dad.
There's no chance he's scared of Usyk though. I love Usyk, such a talented fighter but Tyson should win. Fury is 1/3 on at the bookies for the fight so I'd lump on if I was you, if they don't fight you'll get it back in January
Watched most of the fights. Conlan I don't think can reach that top level, rocked by a thunderbolt to put him out
Catterall too didn't impress against a local level boxer. His jab was good but had to fight dirty and got hit loads. He wants Prograis I think he won't have much chance with his lack of power.
Okolie was terrible holding as usual even when he needed the knockout. He'll get the rematch which might be close as not the best fighters in a poor division
Lara was bizarre. Didn't bother to make weight or turn up for fight really. Fair play to Wood as he boxed really well and did what he needed to
Okolie is terrible to watch. Like Audley Harrison on mogadon.
Fight week for Josh v Teo. Should be a few sparks flying at the presser on Thursday. I’m heading over for the fight on Friday, land at 1130, weigh-in starts at 1pm….could be tight making it!
JT looking much more healthy at the weight this time round
What are the options for seeing it tomorrow?
Casino or your house?
What time will it be on at?
Any radio commentary?
Time and inactivity has caught up with JT, he's a long way from his prime against Prograis unfortunately
He's never making 140 again. When he turned up at his training camp massively out of shape before the Caterall fight it had alarm bells ringing and there have been Ricky Hatton vibes about his last 2 performances. That speed and snap looks faded and killing yourself to make weight will make that happen all the earlier.
A move up to 147 puts him in with some real top tier fighters and I'm not sure he offers enough from a marketing point of view to lure any of them into the ring. He's got some rebuilding to do now. Depending on how things pan out over the next few months maybe a domestic showdown with someone like Conor Benn is his best bet albeit that comes loaded with risk if he loses.
Canelo v Jermell Charlo , Undisputed 168lb v Undisputed 154lb.
Big fight goin down in Vegas Sept 30th.
Joshua v Whyte 2, why bother? :rolleyes:
AJ still has a huge following. There’s clearly needle between the 2 and Whyte is probably a better fighter than he was the first time while AJ isn’t as dynamic.
Hearn has said the Wilder fight is now locked in for December if he beats whyte so lots of pressure on AJ. He can’t afford to lose if he wants to remain in the conversation for top 3-4 in the division.
AJ needs to show something in the Whyte fight he hasn't done since he lost to Ruiz and that's a ruthless streak and aggression, I always thought in their prime that a fight between him and Wilder would be down to whoever landed big first, unless he shows he's still got it in the bag then I fear he will try and outbox Wilder for 12 rounds which isn't hard but leaves you open for a bomb coming in the other direction that ends it all
AJ doesn’t give himself the chance to gas out these days. Regardless, I think he will box holes in Whyte who is well past his best and gets hurt in every fight
Whyte had his moments in the 1st fight when AJ was the golden boy. There's every chance he beats him 2nd time round
Tyson Fury: WBC heavyweight champion to face MMA star Francis Ngannou - BBC Sport
Former UFC heavyweight champion Ngannou, 36, has no professional record in boxing.
Team Fury say the fight is not an exhibition and will "take place under the official rules of professional boxing, with three judges ringside adopting the 10-point must system".
aye it is :agree:
Fury will not be defending his WBC title in the Riyadh bout.
money money money
Fury vs Ngannou booked. Shame Fury won't do a rematch clause in MMA, he's going to win the boxing match, and despite claiming he would win the MMA fight has backed away from that one.
In fairness, for his own health, probably the right decision. He would get seriously hurt in MMA, and Francis whilst not an elite boxer, is a striker with (at one point- might have changed) the hardest recorded punch from a human.
Will look like Fury Wilder imo. Fury will be faster and slicker and will just need to avoid getting clipped, which he should.
Well seeing he's ran away from the MMA fight he wanted with Jones as well, as Jones might actually kill him in there.
Didn't see you posted this before I did! Fury talked a big game about 2 fights, one in MMA and one in Boxing. Somehow I don't think we will see the MMA one ever. He knows what will happen.
Props to Francis though. Another MMA fighter not scared to go Boxing and try their luck, just wish we seen it the other way around more often, although I'd bet not a single boxer alive beats any UFC fighter in the cage. Not a single one.
Easy money for Fury, doesn't matter how hard the guy hits, actually landing clean on Fury is the hard part. He's made guys with 20 or 30 pro fights under their belts look like mugs at times. He'll box his head off, obviously it would be different in a cage but it's not in a cage for that very reason.
A total disappointment. The fact neither Joshua or Usyk got over the line and we have an exhibition instead leaves me cold on Fury. He has what it takes to beat anyone in the division but his bank balance seems more important than his legacy. Fair enough I suppose.
The WBC need to get a mandatory sorted sharpish as that is a nonsense that has gone on too long.
No one is killing fury in a octagon. No way they stand up and use hand against a professional boxer. They would get him down and submit him inside 30 seconds. It would be ridiculous and boring.
It'll be equally boring in the ring to be fair. Fury will dance about and win with one arm behind his back.
Boxing and mma are two completely different sports. It's like saying who would win and Murray or John Higgins if they played each other at each sport.
It's so silly that it's utterly disrespectful to the boxers who have worked their whole lives to become top 10. Mayweather was semi retired when he took on his daft exhibitions. Fury is WBC champ, he should lose the belt.
Sad to see Fury go down the route of exhibition matches, beginning of the end
I don't think Ngannou has a chance, just incase it came off that way, but I'd like him too, albeit it would take a miracle.
I just think it's a bit boring seeing MMA fighters take on top level boxers in boxing all the time, it'll never be a different result as some have said, I don't mind over the hill guys doing it but Fury needed to fight Usyk, and from all reports it seems he's the one that blew up the deal.
I'd only like to see fury vs Francis in MMA because I can't stand Fury and would have loved to see him step in and get smashed. Again, would never happen but would rather see it that way around than boxing.
I think the corporations need some blame too. WBC have just said they will allow it as an exhibition and Fury's belt not affected, ridiculous. That's the problem with 4+ belts they all want champions. At least in UFC no one can duck and the fighters mostly take on the best, yes it has snags like Connor getting big fights at any weight he wants without going up ladder. It's becoming a joke in boxing the big fighters not fighting or fighting when past their best.
If fury ducks Usyk this winter I can see his reputation being damaged. No lose fight for Ngannou and his biggest payday, so you can't blame him
Be as well just watching a replay of Rocky v Thunderlips
I have no idea what goes on in boxing anymore, you get strange discrepancies between the different governing bodies, like Zhang not being in the WBA IBF and WBC top ten, yet he's the Interim champion for the WBO belt held by Usyk.
I sense that Fury has maybe had enough. The fights v Wilder must have been incredibly damaging and maybe he doesn't fancy another war with a serious contender. As a boxing fan, I would have loved to see him and Usyk in the ring, I doubt it will ever happen.
The irony is that for all the top guys, fighting each other carries massive risk. They're all looking for the big payday, which will likely involve fighting Fury. Defeat v a decent fighter would jeopardise that.
It used to be the case that one sanctioning body wouldn't rank the champion of another unless they were also their champion.
Looking at the current rankings I think it's still the case. Fury isn't ranked in the top 15 by the WBA or IBF and Usyk isn't in the WBCs top 15. It's all a bit daft and devalues rather than elevates the respective championships.
I always think that is why The Ring belt is so coveted. Their current heavyweight rankings are:
Champion -Usyk
1 - Fury
2 - Wilder
3 - Joshua
4 - Zhang
5 - Ruiz
6 - Whyte
There are probably some arguments to be had but they at least acknowledge the respective champions and it makes a degree of sense.
In fairness the UFC in recent years is as bad as boxing. The guys who get the shots are who the promoter likes, meaning a lot of the 'real'fights people want don't get made.
Boxing is the opposite as in promoters clashing etc but still same outcome, big fights don't get made for whatever reason.
For a supposed all time great HW, fury has a very, very poor resume. If he doesn't fight Usyk soon it'll be a slight against his own career. Everyone knows it's Usyk, but Fury will do Fury and play the big man demanding unreasonable things and blame Usyk for not accepting, even though Usyk accepted every time Fury changed the terms.
Ngannou Fury competitively is a mismatch, and as an MMA 'purist' of sorts you could call me I'm not for it, bu5 I recognise we will probably never have the linear boxing champion vs the linear UFC champ ever fight again during their prime, so I do see that side of the argument.
The real fight this year imo is Spence vs Crawford.
I’m far from Warrens biggest fan. And his defensiveness here says it all to me. And admits it’s not about pairing with the best boxers, but making the most money
https://twitter.com/talksport/status...S2WtDOFfqS0zFA
Fair play to Ngannou he's reportedly getting $10 million for the fight, double what he's made in his ufc career. I'm sure it'll make good numbers as I'll probably watch it out of curiosity myself