It may not have a fiscal impact on Sevco. But it's now official. Their club history is one of cheated titles. That they can never run from. Odious club indeed.
Printable View
It may not have a fiscal impact on Sevco. But it's now official. Their club history is one of cheated titles. That they can never run from. Odious club indeed.
Won't mean anything to The Rangers, but it does provide evidence that OldCo did in fact cheat.
Also clears the way for HMRC to pursue other football clubs who have used the same/similar practises in the past. Think there will be a few clubs with squeeky bums this morning...
It is not pointless for H.M.R.C. as they will set a precedent to pursue clubs Daan Sauff.
Yes, without doubt will it happen no chance.
Indeed but maybe Mark Daly would give it a go - failing that Alex Tommo will
It only says they have won the Appeal to actually take it back to court, not actually won the verdict
Wasn't there already a precedent set with Arsenal?
http://www.theguardian.com/football/...wsstory.sport9
This was conveniently ignored when it came to Rangers, up until today.
They cheated, they knew back then they were cheating, we knew they were cheating, the SFA knew there were cheating due to Campbell Ogilvie's direct employment with both at the same time...this just merely confirms it
Will the players have to pay anything back, or was the liability against the company?
Remind me how much tax they avoided?
@glasgowsgreenw 2m2 minutes ago
Scottish Cup Winners 2008/09
Rangers 0 - 3 Falkirk
Do you think there is the appetite for that?
This is a precedent, nothing more. Bar dipping their beaks into the Oldco Creditors Pot, HMRC are now finished with Rangers.
This legal ruling will be used to bash much bigger fish over the head with backdated tax demands though as always HMRC will run shy of taking on the real monsters like Vodafone who seem to sort their tax avoidance out by taking the Chancellor of the Exchequer for lunch.
Similar scenario.
http://www.theguardian.com/football/...x-demands-hmrc
Question!
Two possible answers!
How many times have we beaten rangers 3-0
since 2001:greengrin
I think HMRC have bigger issues to deal with having just been handed an absolute kicking by the Public Accounts Committee.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-34717035
Did they not pay up for that before they went under, and so kept themselves in business a wee bit longer? Though my head is wasted with several years of football finance, and initials upon initials - I might have confused that with some other initial they gave in to HMRC on.:greengrin
You are correct but Arsenal's resources are so much greater than that of Rangers, as was, it is easier, quicker and cheaper to establish the precedent against Rangers.
And as they will be established as loans will the recipients be pursued for repayment.
Isn't it amazing how many Sevconians have suddenly remembered that they are a new club?:greengrin
See their loss of 7.5 million, does that take in the debt of 5 million to Mash? I am assuming the answer is no but just wanted clarification. If Charles Green wins his court case that could really push them over the edge.
@alextomo: @CQN yes - this surely places a questionmark over Nimmo Smith's judgement
STV reporting that HMRC have won their Tax appeal against Rangers
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/r...s-or-earnings/
So, if this is the indeed the case, now they have to decide
Are they Rangers or are they a brand new company with no connection to the old defunct lot?
Interesting :greengrin
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/r...mith-ebt-fine/
A great opportunity to pay the £60m owed to the tax man and pretend they're oldco with an admission of officially cheating their way to honours.
As it says on the tin. Now we officially know they've been cheating for various honours, they need to have them stripped from their (now stopped) history. Even if not given to another club, Rangers didn't earn them.
I can hear the stampede of backtracking right now from there horrible fans, Glasgow media and the welts on Sportsound!! :faf:
They are indeed a NEW team,dont let the cavemen from the west tell you any differently, i think it's their low intelligence level which makes them believe they are the same team.
its like your beloved pet labrador, sadly died so you get a new one, you may call it the same name however, it is infact NEW, it isn't the same dog :greengrin
dirty smelly huns
So HMRC win the big tax case. Old Co RFC are no more so no money can be recovered. But.... were Old Co directors guilty of fraud as they knowingly used an illegal scheme to avoid paying Income Tax. Can said Directors be charged with Tax Evasion ? DM could end up in the Big L with his pals Whyte, Green & King. Now that would funny
So will they now be forced in to issuing an apology to the clubs who printed in their programmes that the old rangers had died and this was a new club (or something to that affect). I remember last season The Rangers threatening legal action over any club or paper that suggested they were a new club.
1. OldCo aren't "no more". They are still in liquidation. The judgement means that HMRC will get more of the pot than they would have if the case had gone the other way. Conversely, the smaller creditors will get less.
2. the fraud case is a possibility. :agree:
so this has no financial impact on Rangers because they were liquidated, fair enough so if that is the case then surely they can no longer claim to be Rangers anymore? Also funny to note the 2.5m needed to finish the season, 25 point deduction coming up!
It does have a financial implication.
Through the 5 way agreement and as a result of their uses of EBTs as decreed in the Lord Nimmo Smith verdict they have to stump up 400k to the SPFL.
They don't seem to have that money just now and given their other problems it might explain my a Jambo pal of mine lumped on Hibs to win the Championship last night.
He doesn't hang about. Good man
http://blogs.channel4.com/alex-thomsons-view/
That's still to be decided. Rangers appealled, remember.
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/r...mith-ebt-fine/
So have I got this right? EBTs were a tax avoidance loophole back then but the way it was implemented - regular payments to effectively top up wages - was illegal?
What are the chances DM was innocent and did not know this? More chance of TRFC winning this season's League Cup 😀
Remember he said he was "duped" by Whyte? Yeah' right! Hopefully the upcoming court case washes that dirty linen in public, CG and CW know where those 'bodies are buried'.
One would have to prove that SDM, and others, set out with the intention of defrauding HMRC. Given that, as EBT's were an accepted way of tax avoidance at that time, that would be difficult. RFC would say, rightly IMO, that they relied on professional advice.
What they have done is neglectful, which is an HMRC "offence". However, it's a big leap from there to it being criminal.
So they need 2.5m to see the season out? I am quite sure they will pull that in via gate receipts.
Say 12 league games to go, 10,000 walk ups at £20 a pop gives you 200k per game. Will be tight however I reckon they will manage it. Unfortunately.
Is it time to create three different threads to help us keep up with all the Rangers/ Sevco stories:
1. Rangers liquidation & Big tax case.
2. Sevco v Mash
3. Imminent Administration of Sevco
We might need a fourth for all the other madcap stories from the Big Hoose.
By my reckoning they won the league by cheating in
2002/03 ahead of Celtic
2004/05 ahead of Celtic
2008/09 ahead of Celtic
The Scottish Cup in
2001/02 beating Celtic
2002/03 beating Dundee
2007/08 beating Queen of the South
2008/09 beating Falkirk
The League Cup in
2001/02 beating Ayr Utd
2002/03 beating Celtic
2004/05 beating Motherwell
2007/08 beating Dundee Utd
That's over and above receipts.
"The forecast identifies that the group will require up to £2.5m by way of debt or equity funding by the end of season
2015/2016 in order to meet its liabilities as they fall due".
Also:-
"The forecast indicates that an initial tranche of funds will be required in December 2015."
Going back to the BBC (?) documentary a couple of years ago, the scheme was devised by an ex-porn star, who seemed to take full responsibility for it.
However, yours is a fair point. The Courts would have to prove it, though.
In one corner, a porn star. In the other, a Hun. :greengrin
Tom English getting it tight on twitter for calling them cheats.
It's a hoot!
I think that the 2.5m is in addition to the income they're expecting during the remainder of the season i.e. after the future walk ups have handed over the cash.
I wouldn't be surprised if there's a scheme set up akin to FOH which would lead to the supporters coughing up a lot of the deficit in exchange for a promise of shares at some future date. Once that's taken into account, I think one or more of the directors (not likely to be King) will make up the deficit even though I think the total required will be more than 2.5m.
Like you I think they'll scrape through to the end of the season. Finding funds for the warchest the fans will be expecting next season and doing up the neglected building maintenance will be a new challenge.
It's on a knife edge so I may change my expectation if some new nasty emerges in the next few months. Ashley insisting on his loan being repaid could scupper the whole shebang.
As far as the law of the land is concerned that might be up to the courts to decide.
However the under the SFA rules the side contracts/letters, upping the wages of the employee, are not allowed. All remuneration must declared to them. SDM, agents, lawyers, players avoided declaring the side letters to the SFA.
If they thought they were legal, why not declare them to the SFA?
Ok, taking the league out of the equation.
The Scottish Cup in
2001/02 beating Berwick Rangers, Hibernian, Forfar, Partick Thistle and Celtic
2002/03 beating Arbroath, Ayr Utd, Dunfrmline, Motherwell and Dundee
2007/08 beating East Stirling, Hibernian, Partick Thistle, St Johnstone and Queen of the South
2008/09 beating St Johnstone, Forfar, Hamilton, St Mirren and Falkirk
The League Cup in
2001/02 beating Airdrie, Ross County, Celtic and Ayr Utd
2002/03 beating Hibernian, Dunfermline, Hearts and Celtic
2004/05 beating Aberdeen, Celtic, Dundee Utd and Motherwell
2007/08 beating East Fife, Moterwell, Hearts and Dundee Utd
I'd forgotten about that CWG, what a tag team that would be :greengrin. Presumably could only be proven with documentary evidence? I do wonder if it exists, no point before the BTC was settled, maybe not worth it anyway now. Depending how the CW/CG/Uncle Tom Cobley and all case develops, DM's (I simply refuse to use SDM!) integrity and standing in society may plummet even further and this could be added to it - here's hoping :agree:.
@Oldfirmfacts1: As the fallout from the HMRC verdict continues, Rangers fans insist they're a new club and Celtic fans insist it's the same club.
Old Co can appeal to a higher court can they not ? But, as my auld granny used to say "whey pays for that bawheid". But if CW can get legal aid.......
Jim Traynors last column where he has a go at the RangersTaxCase blog.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/f...spaper-1470050
Mark Daly's take on things
https://t.co/i8j3bJUnn5