https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/...box=1560356587
Helps regain faith in the human race.
Printable View
https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/...box=1560356587
Helps regain faith in the human race.
Well done that young lad
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/video_and...alling-toddler
Just spotted this Mrs S.
It's a programme called Move More. In Perth they also offer the PT sessions.
https://www.macmillan.org.uk/about-u...-scotland.html
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-englan...shire-49971866
She's one lucky young lady!
Brilliant. Imagine going to these lengths. What a generous boy!
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/stories-49884207
Looks like Cuadrilla is packing up its fracking operation in Lancashire after causing a series of earthquakes considerably larger than anything it said would be possible....
Richard Huckle won't even be thinking about abusing children ever again.
Not really good news but a touching story nonetheless:
https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/spor...sture-17106658
Will Bayley on Strictly last night. The word "inspirational" is overused these days but totally appropriate here.
https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-50167812
Not so much a good news story but made me laugh as a clear example of what happens when US universities have a mental research budget :greengrin
Good news for insomniacs.
Only three more sleeps to Christmas!
Just remembered I forgot to post this a couple of weeks ago:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-50128860
Take that, DUP. :na na:
Not sure if this has already been posted:
https://www.facebook.com/ABCNews/vid...4129268426559/
Stop crying.
It is election season. The world is busy and rubbish.
But it is also Christmas.
So take a breather and let me tell you a story about London, trains, love and loss, and how small acts of kindness matter.
I'm going to tell you about the voice at Embankment Tube station.
Just before Christmas 2012, staff at Embankment Tube station were approached by a woman who was very upset.
She kept asking them where the voice had gone. They weren't sure what she meant.
The Voice?
The voice, she said. The man who says 'Mind the Gap'
Don't worry, the staff at Embankment said. The announcement still happens, but they've all been updated. New digital system. New voices. More variety.
The staff asked her if she was okay.
"That voice," she explained, "was my husband."
The woman, a GP called Dr Margaret McCollum, explained that her husband was an actor called Oswald Laurence. Oswald had never become famous, but he HAD been the chap who had recorded all the Northern Line announcements back in the seventies.
And Oswald had died in 2007.
Oswald's death had left a hole in Margaret's heart. But one thing had helped. Every day, on her way to work, she got to hear his voice.
Sometimes, when it hurt too much, she explained, she'd just sit on the platform at Embankment and listen to the announcements for a bit longer.
For five years, this had become her routine. She knew he wasn't really there but his voice - the memory of him - was.
To everyone else, it had just been another announcement. To HER it had been the ghost of the man she still loved.
And now even that had gone.
The staff at Embankment were apologetic, but the whole Underground had this new digital system, it just had to be done. They promised, though, that if the old recordings existed, they'd try and find a copy for her.
Margaret knew this was unlikely, but thanked them anyway.
In the New Year, Margaret McCollum sat on Embankment Station, on her way to work.
And over the speakers she heard a familiar voice. The voice of a man she had loved so much, and never thought she'd hear again.
"Mind the Gap" Said Oswald Laurence.
Because it turned out a LOT of people at Embankment, within London Underground, within @TfL and beyond had lost loved ones and wished they could hear them again.
And they'd all realised that with luck, just this once, for one person, they might be able to make that happen.
Archives were searched, old tapes found and restored. More people had worked to digitize them. Others had waded through the code of the announcement system to alter it while still more had sorted out the paperwork and got exemptions.
And together they made Oswald talk again.
And that is why today, even in 2019, if you go down to Embankment station in London, and sit on the northbound platform on Northern Line, you will here a COMPLETELY different voice say Mind the Gap to ANYWHERE else on the Underground.
It's Oswald.
Merry Christmas everyone.
Thanks for sharing that, Merry Christmas! .... And the 1st 2 words of your post should also be at the end.
'Sake Moulin Yarns - I'm supposed to be going out tonight and it looks like I've been bubbling all day.
This should make you smile (and not cry, too much)
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-50762563
Definitely brought a lump to my throat !
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-50762563
https://www.britishairways.com/en-gb...-world/bamagic
It's a bit schmaltzy and corporate, but some of the stories on here would bring a tear to a glass eye.
https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/enterta...mpression=true
One that the doom and gloom era need to read. Some pretty good links in the story as well.
https://megaphone.upworthy.com/p/bra...quaden-bullied
Social media is an absolute nest of vipers sometimes, but here's when it can do some real good.
Having just moved into a new house last month I’m now moving jobs. All at the ripe old age of .....well fairly Auld. Instead of commuting along the bypass each day the new job is less that 5 miles up the road. Less hours although constant nights. Monday to Friday and the best bit a considerable raise in salary to go with the small fortune I’ll save in transport costs. There’s life in the old dog yet.😎
Good piece in The Times about Lou Macari who is doing good work with the homeless in Stoke. He seems like a genuine person.
Hark! A Christmas Angel
I have a huge admiration for the kind and selfless lady who spends her Christmas each year making sure those less fortunate are fed.
God bless you Mo, you are a beautiful human being.
https://www.nottinghampost.com/news/...eGJ5OGpDVczvX4
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-englan...shire-55670566
Little things mean a lot. ☺
Decent tune, hope it's a great success.
I've always wondered how these online collaborations work, every video software I've ever used has always had a slight delay which must make the rhythm timing difficult. I've recorded 3 albums on multitrack recording equipment in the studio and some tunes are immensely difficult to get the timing right on the different tracks, it must be a nightmare online.
They're all recorded individually, to a click track and probably in this case to a recording of Bruce & Anna (fiddle & guitar) playing the tune. Then it's all lumped together and mixed at the end.
My mate's son has made quite a name for himself doing stuff like this during lockdown.
https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp...YdgKnLKEo76KxM
Some might suggest that this is simply cynical marketing, but the idea is excellent.
https://www.scotsman.com/read-this/h...y-mean-3168901
Quote:
'Happy to Chat' badges have become permanent for Asda delivery drivers - this is what they mean
Asda has announced that its Happy to Chat initiative has been extended into a permanent feature for delivery drivers.
Delivery drivers have the option to wear a badge on their uniform, and it allows customers to know that they’re happy to have a chat with them whilst their shopping is being delivered.
‘Positive response from customers’
Vice President of Online Grocery at Asda, Simon Gregg, said: “As Covid restrictions begin to lift but many still feel the impact of the last year without regular contact with friends and family, it felt right to make our Happy to Chat badgers a permanent fixture to our drivers’ uniforms.
“We’re incredibly proud of all the work they do - and this badge is a symbol of their continued friendly and approachable service which can make such a difference to those who don’t have much contact with others.”
Delivery driver, Geoff Norris, said: “We’ve had such a positive response from customers since we introduced the badges, you can tell that even a five minute chat with someone whilst you’re delivering their shopping can have such a positive impact on their day.”
‘Challenging time for those experiencing loneliness’
The badges were originally launched at the end of November 2020 and, at the time, Anna-Maree Shaw, CCO of Asda, said: “It’s a challenging time for everyone, especially those experiencing loneliness.
“While Asda colleagues have always made an effort to have a quick chat and raise a smile, we want to make sure that whether it’s in our stores, at the doorstep or in the community - we’re here for customers.”
Vice President of Online Grocery at Asda, Simon Gregg, added: “We’ve always been proud to have some of the friendliest drivers here at Asda, and never more so than this year.
“The Happy to Chat badges are a symbol of the great work they do - delivering a little kindness along with their groceries to someone who may be lonely or isolated.”
The initiative had been developed following a study which showed that almost a quarter of people (23 per cent) were only interacting with someone else once a week - many of whom were delivery drivers.
One in four people also said that they looked forward to seeing the drivers just so that they could have someone to talk to.
According to research done by the Royal Voluntary Service last year, 13 per cent of people said they were experiencing loneliness, with over a third (39 per cent) unable to see friends and family, and a quarter (25 per cent) left without support nearby.
The badges were designed for the 42 per cent of people who said that they shy away from starting a conversation because they don’t want to be a burden, and the 25 per cent of people who would be happy to start a conversation if they knew the other person was happy to talk as well.
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...m_source=upday
Forgive the source of the link. 😃
Not a news story but warmed me, the beauty of music
https://mobile.twitter.com/Wat_the_d...61695198236678
This is a powerful one and says so much about Jason Momoa.
https://twitter.com/GeorgeTakei/stat...679590918?s=19
For those who live in Leith, Links Gardens is reopening on Monday 9th August. Only a year late but better than never.
Brilliant story underlining the importance of organ donation.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-englan...shire-58361917
https://www.theguardian.com/science/...rom-extinction
I really want this to happen.
BBC News - Historic go-ahead for malaria vaccine to protect African children
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-58810551
Not a news story but, worth a look.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=bG6omxJJrw4
https://t.co/zU6DGvdZIy
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
https://twitter.com/forthone/status/...XBd703JKg&s=19
Hopefully linked correctly. But today's cash register call is absolutely amazing - delighted for Mary receiving 102k
The listening chair
What a great, simple idea. I like to go and have a wee seat on the benches at St Bernards Well, it's amazing how many people stop to have a wee blether, particularly good during lockdown, almost therapeutic.
What better news than another Hibs victory :wink:. Travelling on the train yesterday was a chore, today will be that bit better knowing the jambos I run into won't have that gloat on their face :greengrin
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-59766719
Good news but still a while to go unfortunately!!