Of course they've also muddied the waters re offside with the daft ruling that if a defender touches the ball when not sure if a player is offside it plays him onside. The defender is supposed to let the ball past him and trust he's got it right.
Printable View
Of course they've also muddied the waters re offside with the daft ruling that if a defender touches the ball when not sure if a player is offside it plays him onside. The defender is supposed to let the ball past him and trust he's got it right.
Motherwell, jeez they’re really in the ****.
I've not read comments yesterday on this thread and am just watching Sportscene now, so sure this has been said but if so it deserves to be said many times - Livi v Killie????? Amateur hour. BBC just dialing in their Scottish fitba coverage.
And who is McGaedie?
Like the boy who did the comms for the Livi game though.
‘Great to see Lewis beat Pat Stanton’s record’
Neil McCann
It was Arthur Duncan’s record of most League appearances for the club
They are not really interested in Hibs are they?
No due diligence or even a wee bit research
No respect
I suppose he did beat Pat Stanton as well
And Michael Stewart yesterday. 'Hearts have been in the last three SC finals but did not win it.' He must have known that St J and Hibs contested the final in that time frame and StJ won it.
Maybe is's a wind-up with a deliberate mistake and I've fallen for it.
I was thinking the same the other day - Motherwell's record of Premier League survival has been impressive over my years on this Earth too. I started watching football in the late 70s and in all that time I'm pretty sure Motherwell have been the only team to have remained in the top flight outwith Aberdeen and Celtic - quite an achievement then! They have probably been in Europe almost as often as us over that time FFS - despite being a smaller club. I'm sure that period has included at least one bankrupcy event though - and if I'm not mistaken they were saved by reconstruction once(?). So Yes - a genuine bunch of flukey *******s and woud be greatly amused to see them go down :cb
Don’t think it’s as easy as that now since the creation of the SPFL which merged the SPL & SFL so I’m pretty sure the lower leagues get a vote on it as well.
I’m also sure that it was tried before but the Owner of Hamilton managed to “bully” some of the smaller clubs into supporting plastic pitches.
That’s a pretty vague recollection mind so could be wrong.
Disagree entirely. Plastic pitches change games, bounce off the ball and are a bigger injury risk for players.
Teams with plastic pitches can learn their pitch and train on it regularly to give them an unfair advantage.
And they’re terrible for the environment.
But if a team is training on a plastic pitch regularly, would that not then disadvantage them on a non-plastic pitch when playing away from home? Also, what is to prevent other clubs from adopting some plastic pitch training into their program?
I'm personally not a fan of plastic pitches either. But a professional club should be able to deal with them when necessary in my opinion. We may not like the rules that allow these pitches, but they are the rules.
Sorry. Went over this again on iplayer. He was accurate after all -
To be fair to him, he presented favourable stats about Hibs and recent LC and SC semi and finals on last year's programme (unlike one of his co-pundits who got it all wrong).
'Hearts have been in 3 of the last 4 SC finals' is what he said on Sunday night's show.
I know this isn’t a Sportscene production but it’s BBC Jambo fawning over Doctor Budge again.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64554917
Do you know she spent £2.5 million of her own money buy HoMFC out of administration and then signed her shares over to Foundation of Hearts ?
No mention that FoH repaid the £2.5 million plus 6% or something interest on top.
The Budge love in continues , never mind the new stand shambles, relegation, suing the Scottish League etc.
Not really because they can play on grass and on astro, but the astro they play on is their own and its not very often they come across another astro pitch they're not used to. For example, Livingston play Kilmarnock 4 times, twice on their own and twice on Kilmarnocks. 2 games on a pitch they aren't "used" to. We play both teams 8 times, 4 times on pitches we aren't "used" to. So 4 games a season we have to play at a disadvantage, whereas Livi and Kilmarnock play ALL their home games on pitches they are "used" to, that other teams are not.
I think with grass there are fewer variables and there's less opportunities for home clubs to "learn" their pitch because they can't train on as it will wear it down quicker. Most pitches will be worn in the winter and in far better nick at the start and towards the end of the season and that's a pattern that repeats across top flight stadiums. Top flight is relevant because generally the stadiums are a lot bigger and the pitches get less light.
Sportsound before the kick off. Do you see any shock results today? Pundits -No I don’t think so.