😂 I drive for Uber on occasion.
He may also have not been an Uber driver plenty other options available but black cabs are just the same we are all chasing the pound notes
Printable View
Blitz ice. Drove into a shower of very fine spray rain this morning. As soon as it hit the cold (-8) dry ground it turned to sheet ice. I was lucky because the stretch of Autobahn I was travelling on was closed for a few hours due to several accidents just after I passed through.
I can't reverse into a parking bay straight, every time I do it now the motor nearly always ends up parked squint. I then get out check it, get back in and straighten it.
This has only started happening recently, could do it no problem before.
Councils being given the power to act as the police and dish out fines for offences such as "bad turns"
I've had a look but can only see Edinburgh Live type reporting. Tell me they're at the wind up?
People who look at you and think 'oh, he's less than 100 yards away in a 60. I can pull out safely and not have to accelerate hard'.
Thankfully nothing was coming the other way as I just couldn't slow in time as it was also downhill in the wet.
Please tell me it's legal to find them and burn their car so they can't do it to any else.
Drivers who seem to be blind to anything in front of them, you know the ones that don't see a car turning right and get stuck behind it, or not seeing a bus pull into a stop and then last minute indicate to come out, or the best one is when they don't see roadwork signs until 5 yards from them.
Have all the drivers out there appraised themselves of the newly updated rules on road hierarchy that have recently went live?
I'm surprised cyclists are higher up the hierarchy than horse riders as I always pulled over/gave way to horsey types on the roads around Colinton/Currie way, dunno if there'll be any noticeable change there.
And will the majority of motorists give way to pedestrians at junctions?
It's gonna be a big step-change for me, being allowed to cross a road and expect drivers to see me and give way, the same as a driver, approaching a junction, giving way to Peds and expecting the vehicles behind me to read the situation and not rear-end me.
these the same folk who don’t realise that the slip road for joining a motorway is an acceleration lane, trundle down it doing 30, often causing a buildup behind them, then there’s multiple vehicles in a dangerous situation trying to join a road moving significantly faster than them
And not exclusively motorways, I reckon the evening peak congestion you get between Hermiston Gait and Dreghorn on the bypass heading East is exacerbated by folk joining at Baberton and not gunning that slip-road, causing the naturally slower vehicles like trucks that are already labouring up that incline to slow down further or change lanes causing everyone else to slow.
Roundabouts with massive statues, sculptures or man made rainforests in the middle. Cannae ****ing see. That’s a problem.
Not on a roundabout, but Andy Scott (artist, famous for the Falkirk Kelpies amongst other works) has an installation just of the M80.
Her name is Arria and she is stunning. How there haven't been any major incidents there I don't know as whenever I pass I always end up drifting across lanes 😘
To the boy in the Toyota Yaris that followed so closely behind me he was practically sitting beside in my front passenger seat. All the way from the approach road at the old brewery site to St Marys street, even swerving out into oncoming traffic on the grass market to try and overtake at the zebra crossing. You sir are an erse. No idea how you go your license.
Cyclists who don’t seem to bother with any lights at night anymore, even the ones delivering food don’t seem to bother.
Those packs of bulbs that you’re forced to buy from certain petrol stations that contain bulbs that you will never use. My tail light/ brake light bulb went just before I set off for Motherwell on Wednesday, I drove to the nearest petrol station and had to buy another one of these things.
People who beep their horn to let people know that they're there to pick them up, particularly late at night.
We all have phones nowadays.
In the last week I have been behind 3 separate drivers with no lights on. Two noticed when I washed my lights at them, the other just kept going seemingly ignoring or not seeing me flashing my lights at them. I don't know how you can not notice you have no lights on in the dark unless you're pished or on drugs.
I've posted the same before, I think the problem is twofold. One, a lot of modern cars have automatic lights that come on as it gets dark, and if your car has been serviced the garage may have switched them off, and two, most cars have dashboard lights that are on all the time giving the impression that your lights are on. Having said all that, one of the drivers I managed to stop and they got out to look at the lights when I told them, the got back in and were having a good look around the dashboard as if they didn't even know how to switch them on!
Probably just because they are checking the lights are working or not during the service.
Audi drivers. Nice decent space to join the moving traffic and sprinted to ensure I didn't get in front.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
Folk who overtake on the A9 dual-cariageway, and slam on the brakes when they see the Police speed camera van up ahead.
I was doing 66mph (on cruise control) when this young woman in a BMW overtook me, pulled in and slammed on the anchors when she saw the van so she was down to 60mph, so I overtook her as we approached the camera. after the van was well away in the rear view mirror she was past me like an exocet rocket!!
Folk who still don’t understand bus lanes and folk who potter along at 20mph in 40mph roads, was behind a taxi who was in the outside lane on Glasgow road and decided to turn left at the latest possible point while a car was driving in the bus lane, so annoying.
I can now finally join this thread. At the ripe old age of 39 I passed my driving test yesterday at the third attempt with only one minor. It won’t be long until I’m populating this thread with a litany of complaints 😂
Came head to head with a driver due to roadworks on Caroline Terrace, the obstruction was on their side of the road which technically meant I had right of way. They only had to reverse about 20 foot to let me get through but wouldn’t budge, my reverse was a about 80 foot around the bend so got out and explained that and asked them to reverse, it was an elderly guy who got quite abusive and said he wasn’t moving as he didn’t like reversing!
He shouldn't be driving then.
Reminds me of a guy I used to work with who would go mental detours to avoid making a right turn at traffic lights that didn't have a filter. He would turn right at a T junction (with or without lights) and at a traffic light with a right filter on it but not any other type of junction.
I often wondered how he passed his test.
Seen the most spectacularly selfish thing I've seen in years on the roads this morning; on the way into St. Andrews there was some temporary traffic lights set up just before St. Michaels. A woman coming the other way who was the last in her queue stopped a few metres in front of where she'd cleared the lights and rolled own her window to have a conversation with a friend she'd spotted in the queue the other way! Very much the Hyacinth Bucket type, Peugeot SUV, general smug and smarmy look.
I was going to say something but overheard the mouthful of abuse from the woman in the car in front of me (quite a lot of four letter words used) kind of said everything I think the rest of us in the queue wanted to say and quite a bit more :greengrin
My wife's auntie once spoke her way through 3 sets of lights at roadworks in Ayr. When the guy behind lost patience and hit the horn briefly he got the fingers from her and we got the comment that he shouldn't be impatient.
That was the last time I ever let her drive me.
Folk who just don’t understand how to indicate correctly when leaving a roundabout, it mystifies me how people get it so wrong, especially using the wrong indicator!
Folk that don’t indicate at the 300 yard marker that they are coming off the motorway. I seem to be the only bugger on the road that does it. Most seem to do it at the 100 yard marker or just as they are performing the manoeuvre.
This comment made me pause and think. If I'm in a filter lane that's e.g. turning right, and the lane is clearly identified as solely a filter lane, then I don't bother indicating right. Why should I? I'm in the lane for turning right.
So doesn't the same thing apply to roundabouts with lane markings?
Re the filter lane, the ones I'm thinking of it doesn't matter what the opposing traffic thinks because their movement is managed by traffic lights. I'm thinking e.g. Western Approach right turn towards Haymarket.
Similarly on lanes at roundabouts I'm thinking e.g. Sheriffhall.
At other times where the lane has dual purpose I'd probably indicate.
I have to hold my hand up and say that I’m guilty of leaving it late to indicate to leave a dual carriageway or motorway, I usually start to indicate half way between the 100 and 200 metre markers, can’t give a reason for it just a bad habit I guess but I will try harder in the future.
I used to drive a lot of long distance journeys and always felt I used my indicators more than most especially for lane changes.
However, there is one particular roundabout which is the one on Calder Road at Wester Hailes Road, especially at busy times, if you are heading into town on Calder Road wanting to turn right into Wester Hailes Road when I use my indicators then inavariably someone heading out of town on Calder Road will try and nip across the front of me. When I don’t indicate the drivers waiting to get across the roundabout generally wait to see where I’m going. Not saying it’s good practice and probably makes me out to be a very inconsiderate driver, I hope not, I’d rather have a derisory comment aimed at me than me T-boning an impatient driver.
Just read an article about oil prices meaning fuel jumped by 3p per litre yesterday, the highest rise recorded by the RAC.
It then said underneath that as prices stabilise and fall it will take time for these to filter through to the forecourt?
Why? The ***** are eager enough to stick the prices up as soon as the chance comes around, but they take eons to drop them again. It should track the price of oil, if it goes up, the price goes up straight away, if it goes down the price comes down straight away.
Honestly, **** fuel companies.
People who coast when reducing their speed rather than braking. I travel a road to work that multiple changes of speed limit and it's ****ing infuriating to not get the advance warning of a brake light.
Totally agree about the slow price reduction, but I think there’s also a question to be asked about how quick they go. For example, fuel prices have jumped 3p due to rising cost of oil, why?
The fuel in the garage/tanker has already been bought, shipped, processed, and shipped/on its way to the garage, so why should the price go up when they have had no additional cost in that short period of a few hours?
Total greed - same when the costs were kept high over Christmas/new year when the oil cost dropped. An article I read (bbc possibly) stated something like 8 million pounds was spent in the uk on fuel in a 4 week period that was over and above what the fuel price was compared to the previous time oil was at that price (a couple of months before).
I've said it before and I'll say it again, pricks who indicate right at a set of lights just as the lights change, happened this morning at Montrose Terrace heading into town, prick.
Idiots who think that when a bus has stopped blocking their lane, they have the absolute right to pull onto the other side of the road regardless of the oncoming traffic meeting them head on.
rear fog lights wrongfully used.
11pm last night heading home from the Blue Rose Code gig and there is a Nissan Micra ahead on a single carriageway section of the A9 around Birnam and Dunkeld. I'm on cruise control at 58mph and I gain on this car. when I get to about 50m behind it they stick their fog light on! No, I have dipped beams on. I'm not blinding you!!
Taking your car in for a service and all your settings have been changed.
People who beep the horn when they drop someone off.
People who evidently don't understand how average speed cameras work.
Was driving the A9 early yesterday morning. Sitting bang on 60 and guy tailgated me for a mile or so, he then pulled out to overtake and flew away up the road until he hit the next car a mile ahead. Then we reached a dual section and he was off, easily hitting 85+ (I was at 70 and he was flying away from me). Then he spies the average speed camera just after the return of single carriageway and slams his brakes on.
That's not how it works mate. Enjoy your 3 points.
Cyclist on saturday who thought it was a good idea to cycle between the tram lines on Princes St holding up all the buses trying to get past him, just because there's tram lines doesn't stop it from being a traffic lane when no trams are on it, arrogant arse.
Could it be with the new HC guidance the cyclist felt safer in their right lane rather than cycling in the left where buses continually stop and risk being squeezed by traffic passing on their right?
Depending on the time of day, I'd reckon a cyclist would make better progress than a bus along Princes Street anyways.
The new rules only allow them to use the middle inside lane incase of potholes, not the middle of the outside one, just taking the piss. Just cause you have a bike doesn't mean you can do as you please wherever. Cyclists are meant to stay in the left hand lane as close to the kerb as possible, not whatever lane they fancy, unless they're turning right, he had a queue of about 6 bus and taxis behind him tooting and flashing their lights, so was obviously holding them up, he didn't seem to be in any rush.
That's just plain wrong. I'd struggle to think where that information could be found!
All road users should use the leftmost suitable lane when traveling. If the left hand lane isn't suitable then you're entitled to take the next lane.
Remember, it was only a few years ago a foreign student was killed because her bike got caught between the fence/tram-line in a single lane at the West End of Princes St and a minibus with a mic'd up driver that was too close to stop drive over her.
Let's just give each other space and respect those that have to take the space.
I've tried to explain this in a non-patronising way to others before but it is difficult without coming over as a d!ck, if we all just tried to stop killing each other on the roads, then we wouldn't need any rules or guidance, would we?!?
There's not enough info here to decide if the cyclist was indeed a throbber, how fast was he going, was he weaving in and out etc. But if the inside lane was clear/empty, is there a reason the queuing vehicles didn't just batter along there instead?Quote:
he had a queue of about 6 bus and taxis behind him tooting and flashing their lights, so was obviously holding them up, he didn't seem to be in any rush.
As a follow-up to giving each other space, I've said before that I drive a vehicle with a spy-in-the-cab so I have no choice but to obey posted limits for my class of vehicle (small van).
It has never really bothered me in the past but recently it has been getting ridiculous with the amount of vehicles that have been driving that close that I've had to do a double take in the rear view mirror after I thought "I must be towing this guy!".
Perhaps it's a disproportionate effect of traffic slowly returning to pre-pandemic levels.
Be it the temp 40 section at the top end of the A1, or the bypass where I can only do 60, I've had numerous folk drive within feet of my bumper. I don't react to it, I don't do anything daft like dab the brakes or put my hazards on, and I always pull back to the left when safe to do so, but I just wonder if the other drivers understand that if I have to stop or slow down considerably, then they will most likely end up in the load space of my van.
Easter Road this morning... a few cyclists had ended up grouped together, most were in line but one guy overtook the rear few bikes then appeared to slow down and match the speed of the rest and cycled up the middle of the lane totally blocking the increasingly longer queue of vehicles following behind... some of the worst cycling I've seen in ages.
He was travelling around 10mph, wasn't exactly trying to go fast to get out the way, it looked to me he was trying to be a nuisance deliberately. There were buses at stops which the others were going past but once he went past them he just stayed in between the tram lines. Probably taking advantage of trams not going along Princes St but both lanes are used between Charlotte and Fredrick, there was plenty room on the inside lane, he just decided he wasn't moving.
I had a cyclist today overtake slow moving traffic on St John's Rd heading into town on the wrong side of the road, he had to dart in sharpish when a car missed him by about 2ft, this wasn't a young guy but a bloke in his 50's.
I have no problems with cyclists who are courteous road users, we all have to use the roads but erseholes whether on a bike, car, bus,taxi etc will be called out.
The person who decided to beep at my fiancée whilst she was doing her driving test as she showed 1 sign of hesitation at a busy roundabout (fort kinnaird). She then tailgaited her up a slip road and tried to get on to the dual carriageway before her which would have blocked her in.
Not sure what possesses some people to get so enraged at things. Obviously she couldn't know it was an actual test, but there are still a load of "L" signs on the vehicle.
As it turns out, that 1 bit of hesitation was her only (minor) fault during the exam.
Not a driving peeve as such but a family member informs me that an dependant petrol station near where they stay in Fife rammed prices up to £1.99.9 a litre, this was met with a boycott and prices dropped to £1.85.9. Scandalous. The Tesco near me is £1.62.9 for E10 petrol.
We ned to HGVs to go on a massive protest like they do in France.
People need to have more patience when behind a learner, it can be annoying sometimes but we all had to learn.
A white van man crashed into the back of my instructors car during one of my lessons because I didn’t move as soon as the traffic lights turned to amber. There’s no need to be in that much of a rush!
While tailgating is dangerous ersehole behaviour in any situation, it's particularly baffling when someone does it behind a driving instructor car. Some percentage of regular drivers will be bullied into speeding up, so there's some potential payoff for the ersehole tailgater, but what do they think's going to happen when it's a driving lesson? The instructor's going to go "this fanny behind us is in a hurry, so you'd better speed up to 35"?
Price of diesel is so high now that the self-serve pay at the pump hit the maximum £99 before my fuel tank was filled last night. Absolutely ridiculous.
£130 to fill my van up 🤕
The van driver right up to my back bumper last night who flashed his lights the second every single traffic light moved from red.
I’d happily kick him in the barse until I passed out from exhaustion.
Has fuel went up massively since 2 weeks ago?
I filled my motor up for £67 from empty, a MB GLC250.
I’d be surprised if it didn’t hold similar to qashqai but I’ve no idea :dunno:not looking forward to filling up next time.
Like Jones28, I’m trying to avoid driving it as it’s ludicrous. I’d usually use a tank and a bit per month but I’ve only used about a quarter in 2 weeks.
Having just had a look online I’ve apparently got a 66l tank so I’ve no idea how I filled it for £67 :dunno: