Frivolous overspending whilst underperforming last season.
Printable View
The one thing Hearts have excelled at over the years is wasting money. If anyone wants to know where all their money (or other people's money) goes, the answer is usually down the drain.
I love it that this thread is being followed on keek back and that a few home truths are being pointed out.
**** the hertz
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin
They still don’t have a training facility that they own and the rental cost have increased materially.
They have next to zero youngsters coming through the development team (remember all the building blocks Levein was putting in place?)
Player sales have been shambolic. They rarely include sell on fees for talented players and the most recent exception was Hickey when he went to Brentford for £14m. Instead of getting c£3m for say 20% sell on, they got £100k based on a fixed sell on fee (absolute bonkers).
They make poor commercial decisions. The new away strip is a good example. It will not sell anything like the expect, rightly or wrongly kids and teenage boys don’t want to wear pink football tops. And grown men look ridiculous!
I have said this before but Budge continues to spend as much money as she likes, it is in her eyes her club and always will be. She has made clear she wants a stronger Women’s team and she wants to build a hotel in the main stand. With already banked (assumed) c£5m for finishing 3rd (but blowing it), it’s not difficult to see that they have been squeezed financially.
Hearts’ new stand is set to cost them almost DOUBLE the original price.
Jambos owner Ann Budge put a £12million figure on redeveloping Tynecastle’s old main stand when the plan was unveiled in 2016.
But now it has been revealed the price has soared to £21m – with a further £1.5m due to be spent on the final-phase second floor of the stand, which is due to go ahead later this year.
That would take the total spending on the Tynecastle Redevelopment Fund project to a staggering £22.5m – close to double the initial budget for the ambitious project.
However, Budge won’t give the go ahead for the final phase until all the money is in place for the nine-month process .
Once completed, it will provide the Premiership outfit with the potential to explore new revenue streams through hospitality and commercial ventures.
Fans’ group Foundation of Hearts and unnamed benefactors have been key in providing capital for the construction in the face of soaring costs.
Is it a waste of money though if you win trophies? With all that money flying around there must be cabinets full of silverware.
But wait. Only the 3 trophies in 60+ years. All paid for by Vlad and the stolen pension money. I know Vlad wasn’t around in 1998 but that trophy win wasn’t actually paid off until the club was sold to Vlad so technically the Lithuanian pensioners paid for that too.
And the current incarnation of Hearts? Zero trophies. Possibly £50m of donated money spent for zero trophies. You’d have though there might be some soul searching to work out why so much donated money had been spent for zero trophies but they seem to be more pre-occupied with slapping themselves high fives at how much they’ve donated rather than initiating a critical examination on the root cause of the dusty empty trophy cabinet.
To add to the above, from an old hibs.net thread, our entire rebuild cost approx the same as their single tiered disaster of an office fronted no view of the castle stand 🤣
greenlad
06-01-2011, 08:50 PM
Off the top of my head:
Famous Five and South Stands 1995 - about £7m all in for the two
West Stand 2001 about £7m
East Stand 2010 £6m
So £20m in total
Not sure they have any sellable assets either. Shankland about to turn 28. Would they get much for him? No players with sell-ons now Hickey has had his big move. We're miles ahead of them in that regard. This boy Savage was supposed to be revolutionary was he not?
Only from memory, bud. Bridge Hibs seems to have a link further back the thread. Am pals with two different contractors who worked briefly on the fitting out of the internals. Said the site was a farce and there was two or three dramas a week. Arguments and flouncings off. So a bit gossip on the price too as source.
The other reason I think they could waste that kind of money is something I know, and said so before they demolished their old rubbish stand to put up their new rubbish stand - They are, as a club, naturally entitled and naturally cack-handed. A toxic brew. With Budge in charge the build was always going to be over-fussed. No clerk of works, no architect, as they don't need those things as they are the "famous". They money down the drain in every dept.
It came in double, not unusual if the jobs a guddle.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
https://images.app.goo.gl/7nyFoTgQfUBqV3LVA
https://images.app.goo.gl/ps6vrNJxGeDGgfuV6
Imagine having a stand frontage that looks like a department store.
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
I see Hearts are cutting OF allocations to 650 tickets 😂 superb to see the seethe from OF fans.
We are the only club getting the whole away stand as part of an agreement between the 2 clubs for derbies.
You've no idea, but give it large about sticking it to the 'OF', by limiting them to small numbers? Why should anyone give your idea the time of day?
Personally, I enjoy the big atmosphere games. Why would you both, limit the atmosphere, and deny our club the huge income?
I have no idea if hearts don’t fill all of their seats but I have no interest in that. Maybe because the atmosphere at OF is vile and has been for years. If st Mirren can also do then we certainly can too. Some things are bigger than a bit more income especially when it comes to those 2 clubs.
Superb take from you though. Gave me a good laugh.
I don't listen to the songs that opposition fans sing. I only care about Hibernian FC. If we banned every set of supporters because of the songs they sing, football would die a death. I don't care that the jambos sing 'all the hibees are happy', do you? I wouldn't ban them all for it.
Hing oan the noo ... rewind a bit .... what, he's a board member?
I know little about the nuts and bolts of UEFA FFP regulations, but as a board member does that not make the donations he gives the club subject to those rules. If a fan gives free money to a club with no involvement in it other than owning a season ticket or a hospitality box or something that's one thing. But if it's someone directly involved in running the club and decision making at board level surely any money they give the club has to be infringing on the rules about income and turnover based on the club's commercial activities. IE ... if the club uses that money to enable it to buy players over and above it's ability to generate income as a business, is that not breaking FFP rules?
It’s been asked before and established that there aren’t any FFP rules in Scotland. For Europe the FFP limits are so high that HMFC, even with their mega millions wasted, are nowhere near the limits. Anderson did say it was difficult gifting the money to Hearts hinting that it was something to do with being a board director and gifting cash to the club. I think he just meant it was difficult giving that cash away knowing it would be wasted for no reward.
Who knows why he wanted to be a board director. Probably thought he could make sure he had some influence over where his cash is being spent and wasted. Like the financier of the circus asking for front row seats to the expensive clown show.
Ah well. Even if he didn’t get to see any silverware at least he got a classical music concert and a comped meal at the castle view restaurant for his £20m+.
It will be really interesting to see if Anderson remains comfortable pissing away all the money he donates to the tynie clown show.
All the good feeling has evaporated from that club. They have a spineless CEO who takes orders from Budge. A former owner who thinks the club is still hers and her vanity project now. A sporting director who is now being questioned for last two windows and hasn’t been seen or heard from for weeks and a first team coaching set up of the three amigos none of whom have experience at this level or any record in transfer market.
Why would you continue to through millions at this project?
I don’t know, I reckon homophobia is pretty ****in shan like. Ken what else is shan? Having 4k knuckle dragging gimps singing about killing me and my family, abusing our managers etc etc that’s really ****in *****. So yes, Rangers fans should be banned from ER and Celtic fans should be treated no different. They feed off each other like dirty parasites and their clubs make a fortune as they spread their bile across the nation.
Ignore the troll lads.
Is it just a coincidence that Hearts haven't signed anyone yet? Are players looking at the managerial set up and thinking thanks but no thanks? Are they struggling to pay players what they ask for? Ginelley left because Hearts couldn't afford his wage demands. All seems very strange. As usual they will probably come up smelling of *****...i mean roses.
There's absolutely no denying that. Been discussed on here on many a thread that for a club of our size in Scottish terms we should have won far more than we have. But in our case I think that makes us humble enough not to run about pretending other clubs are beneath us, in fact it's not beyond yer average Hibs fan to have a joke at our own expense.
But the way Hearts fans go on you would think they had far more than a measly 3 trophies in 60 odd years and just as many relegations ... as Scotland's alleged 3rd biggest club their failure to make a significant dent in that time gives them even less right to play Billy big baws than we have, but you wouldn't think so when you listen to fans of 'the famous'
They live off their derby record .... that might matter in Edinburgh and the rest of the two clubs catchment area ... but the rest of the world couldn't give a rats arse ... without looking it up I couldn't tell you what Dundee's historic record against Dundee Utd is, or Morton's v St Mirren, or Newcastle's v Sunderland .... I can tell you that Dundee United have won more than Hearts in the last 60 years, including the league, and made a European final, I can tell you that St Mirren have won the Scottish cup and league cup in that time, I can tell you that Newcastle have done the square root of sod all apart from the Fairs cup in the mid 60s ... I couldn't give a toss how many times they have beaten Sunderland.
It's winning stuff that earns you kudos and in the last 60 years their 'haul' of 3 trophies doesn't even match under achieving Hibs ... and even one of them is tainted by financial cheating. You seriously have to wonder where the hubris and unearned air of superiority comes from
:lolyam:
A favourite detail of mine, on the rare occasions I look into the hearts fans forum, is this:
One of the things they seem to dislike most about Hibs fans is that we are capable of using email.
They say "emailing Hibees" like it's going to be devastating for the likes of you and me.
I mean, if use of email is a Hibs trait, what's the cardigan-wearing equivalent? CB radio from a Rover to a Saab?
Goes back to a few Hibs fans getting involved in their meltdown under Mad Vlad when all the chickens came home to roost. They were all very upset at a perceived attempt by Hibs fans ( en masse if you listen to them ) to spike their attempts to dodge getting what they deserved. These are the same folk who have turned one of the most shameful episodes in world football history ..... not an exaggeration IMO .... into 'aye but Mercer saved Hibs'
They are very lucky in one regard. The fact that they aren't 'famous' apart from in their own minds has saved the name Heart of Midlothian from becoming a byword with the worlds football fans for the most Abhorrent behaviour a football club can engage in. If that had been Man United trying to kill off Man City or Real Madrid trying to kill off Atletico Madrid, or River Plate trying to kill off Boca Juniors through the stock market their very name would have become reviled throughout the football world to this day.
[QUOTE=BonnieFitbaTeam;7390843]
One??
Take my word for it mate, I was being kind.
[QUOTE=NAE NOOKIE;7390850]Confused here, why would anyone be kind to the hertz? poppy thieves and snakes who would steal pensions from old folks, do they deserve any kindness, do the hell.
**** the hertz
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index...omment=9820385
The Natives are worried
Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk
**** the Hertz
I don't know what they are worried about. In Robbie Neilson they have the greatest Scottish football manager since Sir Alex Ferguson and they will split the OF this coming season and win the league by 2025. Or sumfin' like that. No?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Many years is it now since they won the League cup ? Do they still call it the Mickey mouse cup ? Rangers & Celtic need it for the treble so cannae be that bad .
Poppy stealers F.C
IF they win a cup . Which one of the three collects a medal ?
Talking of banter. How stupid is a club that had the room and the money to expand their stadium to over 22,000 who are now losing money hand over fist because they are having to give away support seats to their own fans. Don't get me wrong, it's good news for any club if the demand from their own support gives them the ability to reduce the away allocation. But the fact is Hearts could have had the best of both worlds and their shortsightedness is going to cost them a fortune :greengrin
I recall the cynicism when RP extended the capacity of Easter Road to over 20,000 from 17,500 when the east was replaced. How much money have Hibs made from that near on 3000 extra seats since the stand was built? It probably isn't far off a million quid, maybe more.
I think what is most pleasing is that most of them don't have any concerns that they fired an experienced manager (albeit a distinctly average one ) and have replaced him with someone that isn't qualified and has almost zero experience. Scraped a draw in a game against us where the yam fuds in the wheatfield and ball boys both had more possession than their team in the 2nd half and he's on a par with Mourinho :greengrin
Very good email.
Just one correction I would make.
Under the pieman their debt started to rocket in the mid 90's. Won the Scottish Cup in 1998 when this debt was already at unmanageable levels (probably £20m). They wouldn't have won this without this massive debt from the players bought.
Tiny was about to become Tesco when their corrupt Lithuanian comes along. No one else wanted to touch them. Then another 2 Scottish Cups are won under a £40 - £50m debt (they did a few of these dodgy debt for shares arrangements so the real debt was more than this). Then their embarrassing admin takes place.
Their only 3 major trophies in the last 60 years won under a massive debt. Even the most maroon Yam would admit they would not have won this without players they could not afford to buy.
Debt written off when they went into Admin. Anderson appears (where was he when this was all going on) and a new stand pops up in a couple of years.
Staggering.
I liked this piece of wisdom
"Gees! What is there not to understand with the management team!? Naismith is effectively the manager but for uefa purposes, we've got to say it's McAvoy because Naismith doesn't have the correct pro licence. I can't see why so many people are finding that hard to get their head around.
We're hardly a basket case because the OP doesn't understand the above"
Maybe I should upset the jambos by forwarding it, in an email (an EMAIL!) to Uefa...
They are an absolute basket-case of a club. Their two Scottish Cup wins from 2000 onward have been thanks purely to stolen taxpayer money which resulted in them essentially going bust. Following their bail-out and £50m+ worth of cash injections in recent years (basically charity donations), they only have 2 relegations, some embarrasing European losses (Birkirkara...yes....who?), no training centre and a ground which is too tiny to develop out further following their main stand redevelopment (which itself was a shambles and is not fit for purpose for a building to today's standards). It is simply embarrasing for them that after all of that money, all of that cash, they have the same amount of 2000's major honours as we do (oh, and one more relegation :faf:). Wee team, big delusion.
They've always been tinpot. With delusional fans.
Brilliant post. Totally agree. I could ask the majority of people at work here in Dundee who was the last team to win the Edinburgh derby and they wouldn't have a clue. They'd all remember the last Edinburgh team to win a trophy though. The wee 5-1 hand signs they do for a trophy they last one won over a decade ago has most people scratching their head. One administration, two relegations and a Hibs cup win since and they think it's still relevant.
It's 22173 days since they won the league cup.
They obviously have the derby record which has been a disgrace for Hibs since the 80s.
But even if you look at their trophies - they have 16 to our 10 - five of their 16 trophies came before 1901. Bawhair between us since then, and of course Hibs have the trophy upper hand over a period of nearly 6 decades.
When you compare European records Hibs also do much better than Hearts.
Hearts:
Played - 82
Won - 30
Drew - 18
Lost - 34
GF - 107
GA - 118
GD - minus 12
Win % - 36.5%
Hibs:
Played - 100
Won - 44
Drew - 20
Lost - 36
GF - 169
GA - 152
GD - + 17
Win %- 44%
:cb
You would honestly think that they have appointed Guardiola or another top manager the way everything is all hush-hush lets give Naismith a technical directors role and having different coaches speak to the media with their cover-up. So if and when results go wrong who gets sacked? Lol
Can someone post the thread about Barclay to the Yams. I can't access it but I could do with some good fiction tonight
You see the thing is that on Jambos sickbag there's a thread about this thread. As everybody would expect its chock full of the usual derby record, 5 - 1, wee team predictable nonsense you always get from them. Bigger crowds, better stadium, the same old tiresome pish they think up in the middle of polishing the Rover and rush into the house to post to get it right up the peg selling hobo spoon burners.
But then you get the one who says ... 'Hibs have no history' ... Ken, like formed in the worst possible social circumstances, fighting for years to be accepted, the first British club to play in European competition, the first British club to beat Real Madrid, the first British club to knock Barcelona out of a European competition, the club George Best played for, the club who pioneered shirt advertising, so prevalent now that it's embarrassing if your club doesn't have one. And you can chuck in a club anthem widely admired as one of the best in football by fans everywhere, even rivalling YNWA in polls of fans UK wide. The club referenced time after time in popular culture.
Meanwhile the 'famous' are famous for one thing, and it has absolutely nothing to do with football .... yet we have no history ... get a grip ya cardigan wearing golf club bores.
:yw:
Edit ... Actually it should be two things ... Also the only club in world football history to try and destroy a rival off the pitch. If they should be known worldwide it's for that, as shameful an episode as you will find in the 'history' of any club anywhere.
:sick:
Alludes to the perception that Heart of Midlowthian are the establishment club, with a higher proportion of their fans liable to live in Edinburgh's better off upper middle class areas .... not rich enough to own a Jag or a Bentley, but just well off enough to own something that's not as good, but still tell's you they are socially mobile. They almost certainly own faux leather driving gloves and keep golf clubs in the boot :greengrin