Printable View
Just been down to ER to renew. The club has done the right thing, and enough Scottish football clubs have done the right thing, to convince me that the game is at least salvageable.
I'm absolutely delighted that an East Coast/Highland voting block has emerged, and take the lead and finally assert its authority in our game. This needs to happen more often, we need a progressive force standing up to the West Coast, entrenched, sectarian-led, succulent lamb status quo. Interesting to note the deafening silence from Celtic, (though not the fans, who have been admirable on this issue), giving credence to the notion that both clubs function as one in a sectarian franchise.
Celtic and Rangers will always be prominent in Scottish football. No need to worry about them. Our greatest moments in the post-war domestic game have occurred when we've had a strong Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen and Dundee United. For that to happen, those clubs have to be as united and ruthless in pursuing their joint interests as the OF.
This is a great start, and I hope those clubs sense their power in the game. And yes, he's a nutter, but I salute Vladimir Romanov who being the first to raise his head above the parapet and to set the ball rolling, giving Scottish the message the fans -even Rangers ones- need to hear.
You could have just said 'Morbo pleased' :aok:
But I agree, it is time that we stick together and vote together on key issues for the greater benefit of the Scottish game. We now have a realistic chance of voting to change the voting system and redistribute wealth accordingly to favour a democratic Scottish league. This is almost a new beginning, one where all clubs need to defend their honour and their fans, we shouldn't be pandering to any club now.
Also it is time for this to be said: Doncaster out!
Rewind back to the Pars game before the end of the season and the crowd at ER that evening.
Would be amazing if Hibs could get more people into ER for each match day and create a buzz that will benefit the players and improve our abysmal home record recently. :agree:
Now is the time for all football fans to support their team. It is clear that all teams are going to take a hit for stopping the Newco entry into the SPL. To fill the gap, we as football fans have to stand up again and support our team.
The "I'm not going back until.............." is not going to work. For many clubs, there may not be a future if we don't replace the money lost through Newco not being allowed entry into the SPL.
So I would ask all fans of every SPL club, whether you are an infrequent supporter or a past-frequent supporter to get back to your club and buy a season ticket. Let's prove to all that Scottish Football can survive without the Newco.
http://www.blackhillbounders.com/wp-...ou-203x300.jpg
For that to happen we would need to spend a lot of money we don't have, unless there are 1000's of fans who will simply buy a season ticket because we vote them out, for me it needs be the signing of a lot of new players who are actually football players not the calibire of the impostures we have for the last few season.
Simple for the board, spend what we don't have and more fans will come, don't spend and they won't.......
Does Anyone Know if Hibs - might throw open the payment plan option again for punters !!
its Probably the only way i could afford to go back now.. :boo hoo:
A good point, raise it directly with the club.
Explain your situation as you have done here.
Hibs have asked us fans to back them, you are prepared to so in my eyes something has to be done to accomodate you and others in the same boat.
This has been a clouded close season with the old cream bun situation so Hibs might have to relent on a one season basis.
For my sins I have got involved in the working groups, if you have no joy I will raise it as an issue at the next meeting.
Hibs / we need every single person to get behind the club.
I agree. I will always support Hibs by going to my usual 75% of games in a season home and away but if the new huns go into Div 1 then whats the point? They will come back stronger, debt free and we will back to square one. It has to be Div 3 at the very least.
Absolutely. Same goes to the fans of the other SPL clubs, the fans need to get down and support their clubs, our clubs have never needed us more. We need to stick together and rally as much support as possible so that the financial hit is not as bad. Hibs have done the right thing by standing up and voting NO to the newco, therefore they have my full backing.
If you are able to buy a season ticket then I strongly urge you to do so. I understand some folk cant afford it or work/family commitments etc. can limit the amount of games you are able to attend but this season it is vital that we get as many numbers as possible so if it is possible to do so, then please get yourself to as many games as possible. "I can't be bothered" or "I'd rather watch on the telly" etc is not good enough this season i'm afraid.
We managed to take 25K to hampden, with thousands of people missing out on tickets, where are these people now? Or do they only come out for the big occassion after all?
And if they start in Division 3 they will come back stronger, debt free and we will be back to square one. An extra two years of relatively low wages coupled with the large income their fans will continue to give them will see them even stronger than if it had only been gone for one year. The whole Division 1 / Division 3 thing is a complete red herring. What will make a real difference to the long term good of the game is revolutionary overhaul of our league structure. Whether Rangers suffer one year or three years out of the top flight will make very little difference in real terms. Our club have done the right thing. It doesn't just deserve our support, it will be vital over the next few uncertain seasons. Rangers are gone, we have a chance to achieve great things. We all want the severest punishment possible given to Sevco but we shouldn't be letting that detract from the vast amount of positives we could draw from this whole sorry saga. Ding, dong the Huns are dead. They'll be back but if the supporters of all the remaining SPL clubs get right behind their team from this day forward they will return to a landscape they find totally unrecognisable. The future really is in our own hands.
:aok: Cheers.. I have emailed the Board.. But im guessing they are busy scratching each others erses at the moment..
I reckon - their will be quite a lot of people who havent done the early payment plan option.. and i suppose hibs need everyones pounds..
Quite sure Hibs could muster up some kind of payment plan system and it doesnt matter what time of the year you join in..
Why Turn Customers Away if They Want to Pay for games on a Monthly basis..
I've said it before and it's worth repeating - I have no problem with them entering the Scottish Football League in Division One providing they are ineligible for promotion for the first two seasons, thus keeping them from the SPL for the same three year period that would happen if they started in Division Three.
Having nothing to play for might also hurt their attendences and finances in those two seasons, which would ease the problem marinello59 has raised.
From St. Johnstone's website:
It is important that a clear and unambiguous message goes out from the custodians of Scottish Football that this sort of scenario should never be allowed to happen again.
As a result, St Johnstone Football Club will not support an application by newco Rangers to join the SPL.
We would urge all St Johnstone fans to get behind the Club and offer their support in the challenging season which lies ahead.
Like I said above, all SPL football clubs really do need their support to get behind them and support them financially this coming season. If they don't, they may not have a football club.
Today is a good day to be a Hibby.
I agree with this.
There are fans on here who said at the end of last season they wouldn't renew because the team wasn't worth watching. Some of those fans have now jumped on the "Huns in Div 3" bandwagon and said they won't renew until this happens to Rangers. As someone posted earlier, it seems at times as though some fans look for reasons not to renew and latch onto them.
I hate the hun with a passion and if it were up to me they'd just be wound up and join Third Lanark, Clydebank etc but I'm a Hibs fan more than a hun hater and that's why I'll be going to support my team.
For me the dealbreaker was that Rangers should not be in the SPL next season. This now appears to be assured.
I am not over concerned if the SFL are bribed by Sky to bend their rules to let Rangers into Division One. I think it is far more likely that they will end up in Division Three or not play at all in 2012-13.
I agree it is time to get behind Hibs and also to get behind the likes of St Johnstone, Dundee United, and Aberdeen by travelling to away matches in numbers.
Hopefully there will be an increase in attendances next season.
Fan power forced certain clubs to over-rule the bean counters. Fan power now needs to mobilize those who pick their matches to come more often.
Next season and the next few seasons will be the most important period in Scottish football for a long time. The media and all who think Scottish football cannot survive without Rangers would love to point to SPL clubs struggling and in crisis. Now is the time to show that we dont need them and that the game can be stronger with a more level playing field. The SPL, SFL, SFA, club boards all have a part to play, but so do all fans to show support and to continue making our feelings known
If clubs do go to the wall or even if the whole of Scottish football itself goes down the drain, it will ALL be Rangers' fault.
They caused this not the other SPL clubs.
Well done hibs! With that announcement me and another friend are going to get ourselves a season ticket for the east stand next season, delighted with that announcement! I said i wouldn't come back after that final for a long time but hibs have stood up to the old firm from the very beginning and it really is now more than ever that our club needs us! Together we can make hibs stronger than ever before so lets do it and who knows maybe without the h*ns we can give it a go!
:hibees
Well GG I don't know about you but there is and has been only Three True Loves in my life, sadly two didn't work out as I hoped they would, but the Third has always been, deep down the one that I will never lose my love for, guess who that Old Lady is, correct Hibernian FC. Yes they have let me down many a time in my 47 years of this love affair. At the end of the day the old saying go's you can divorce as many wives as you like but you only ever love ONE football club. As for your statement that we are being asked to forget the Horror Show from last season, where in Rods statement does he say this or are you putting words into his mouth. If you feel you are being shafted then by all means stay away from the club, and yes I am one of the ones who has renewed my brief for next season, and no I didn't have to bend over and wait for any shafting as you so eloquently phrase it. Also you say, Rod's statement along with all the other chairmen of clubs who have voted to punt the Gers into whatever league doesn't change a damn thing, after the 4th July it is out of the hands of the SPL chairmen, it will be up to the chairman of the SFL to vote on wether the Gers start in the 3rd or as it seems may be the case the SFL1. Please give Pat Fenlon a chance to see what he can or even can't bring to the table and we will take it from there. This is a time when your club needs your wholehearted support, if you feel you cannot give it to them then as I have said previously stay away.:pfgwa :hibees
After Decades of the Weegies Running things.... !!!!
Hibs Have Stood Up To Be Counted Against Them..
. Now They Need Our Help.. More Than Ever.. :flag:
I'll be back at ER this season after being away from it last year. I sincerely hope that we can all get behind the club, now more than ever. Whilst the green half of Glasgow may well run away with the title next year, our club needs to be one of the main voices in having things changed with regards to the league. First things first - get rid of Donkey Doncaster - the man desperately tried to keep the Huns and knows nothing about the game, a man with knowledge and passion for the Scottish game needs to be put in charge of our top league. A change in the voting structure also needs to be put forward as one of the most important issues.
In a few years time we may well have a truly competitive league.
Ach ... yer right sarcasm is the lowest form of wit ... I take it back.
What I meant to say was summed up perfectly by Marinello59 in his post.
There will be some folk who fall into the all or nothing camp on this one. I just hope that the vast majority of supporters round Scotland fall into the 'lets look to the future camp'
I have nae wish tae stop going tae the fitba, I was even talking tae my mate yesterday tae see what seats were available near him for season ticket purchase as I still hope the right thing will be done by all following on from what the SPL clubs have done and I will be at the fitba. I winnae however stand for any subverting of the rules or any attempts tae treat this club differently from any other, that's just how I feel and that's no going tae change.
It's not about Rangers for me
It's not about how much money we spend.
All I would like to see us do is get back on the right path again.
We as a football club have lost our way the last few seasons.
I go to Easter Road to enjoy myself, I'm hoping the players will try and entertain me and the thousands of others who work hard all week and need something to take their minds off all the doom and gloom that's happening in the world right now.
Eleven guys trying to play the right way would do for me.
Will I buy a ST?
I'm not convinced ER will be a happy place again next season with or without Rangers.
I'll probably go to some games, my decision to go again soon after is usually based on how much I enjoyed the last game.
I'll never give up going, I just want to be entertained.
Is that too much to ask?
Whats stopping them moving the league games to Falkirk?
While I wont be happy if Rangers dont get put down to Division 3 that isnt in Hibs gift to control that decision. What does need to happen though is for the SPL teams to radically change the shape and voting structure of the league while Rangers are not in it. I am sure you will get the usual posturing from the other cheek but it is vital that a fairer playing field is now delivered.
The second part is for as many Hibs fans (and fans of the other teams) to support the club as possible as you can be sure that the compromised journos like Traynor et al would like noting more than the non-OF teams struggling. This is massive in Scottish football however it is up to the fans to come in more numbers and also provide an entertaining and competitive brand of football.
Get along and buy season tickets if you can, get along to as many games as possible and buy more stuff out of the club shop.
I ink it's time to start trying to think a bit more positively about the current opportunities.
We've been rubbish, no getting away from it but we now have a bit of leeway to get the right players in to the club.
IF we can do that, and we all start at zero again now, we have a great opportunity to fight for second place and to compete in both cups.
Scottish football must surely now change in terms of the voting and money distribution so we should be seeing this as the possible start of a good period.
Let's face it, some of the other clubs are going to struggle with their own budget and stadium issues and so we are well place to be a major player.
That said we have to take this opportunity to sort out what happens on the pitch. What's done is done and we need to stop dwelling on our poor form and let this new team and new management begin with our positive support.
I hope those that were posturing about supporting Hibs more if Rangers were dealt with follow through with it.
[QUOTE=JimBHibees;3275166]Whats stopping them moving the league games to Falkirk?
QUOTE]
Think the Shire could be used as an analogy for all the lower division teams. Very few of them have the means to segregate.
I agree they have the choice either a very small all ticket crowd or if logistically an issue move their home games v Rangers to a larger ground such as Falkirk in East Stirling's case. I would have thought that Rangers being in Div 3 would have been a massive bonus for these teams and surprised that may not appear to be the case. The main issue of course is that they will have less chance of promotion because of Gers in league.
I appreciate that post, thank you. I am going to have a wee think about what you wrote before replying properly, but let me just say that no, I am not in a good place with Hibs right now, and I am not pretending otherwise. I Just had my heart broken too badly in the cup final, after 30 years of supporting the club through thick and thin with everything I had, but this was one let-down too far for me. I travelled 12000 miles and spent a months wages (that I will be paying off for the next 6 months) and I did my part as a supporter, but what happened on May 19 just "broke" something inside of me. I gave everything I had, as I have done so many times before, and that was what was offered in return. Not even making a game of it. At every turn, it always seems to be that when something goes wrong, it is always the fans who are asked to fix it, by reaching into their pockets yet again. My "shafting" comment was maybe a bit ott, but that's how it seems to me. 9 managers plus 2 caretakers in 11 years and a team that has eroded away to almost nothing. A few weeks ago, it was about the team and whether or not it would be rebuilt properly. Now, it's about supporting the team because Hibs said no to the Newhuns. That wasn't a brave decision, it was the RIGHT decision, the ONLY decision to make. There shouldn't have been any doubt about it, but now it is being used as the reason (note, I didn't say "excuse") to yet again reach into our pockets and prove our worth for the umpteenth time. Well, tell me this- when are the club going to give us a team worthy of the support we give it? As much as this may sound like a rant, it's not intended as such - it's just how I feel, and, as I have posted elsewhere since the final, it's a horrible thing to feel and I wish so much it wasn't like this. So, maybe you are right, you know? About staying away. I have always tried to be positive and 100% in my support of Hibs. When I come back, I book my match tickets ages in advance and plan my trip around the games. Now, it's just different. I just haven't gotten over May 19th, and it has made me bitter and angry. I thought I might be over it by now, but I am not. That's just the way it is for me and I'm feeling very sorry and frustrated because of it. I am just writing from the heart here. I'll think on what you wrote and again I thank you for taking the time to think and reply. GG
I didn't say they would be unable to host them I said they would probably be unable to segregate. I ahve not a clue which clubs are like this. I am a Hibs supporter. How many 3rd division grounds do you think I could have been at since they brought in segregation? Bear in mind segregation never used to occur at all. Maybe that is the way it would be. To be perfectly honest, I don't really give a flying one whether they segregate for the hun or not. I was merely pointing out that I think very few of them, not just teh Shire, have the ability to do so. Cups would not be forfeired they aould move to a bigger ground if they wanted to. Cannot be ersed looking at the 3rd division table but maybe you could tell us where each of these teams could play their home games so as to entertain the hun in the manner they would like to aspire to? Then same for 2nd and 1st. :greengrin
I completely agree with the clubs decision but I think some posts are giving the club a bit too much credit. They made the only decision they could and I'd as far as saying there was such overwhelming agreement amongst the fans that the decision was made for them. Voting yes would have been completely impossible.
As has rightly been said above, kicking the Huns down to division 3 is only the start and sorting out the distribution of finances and the league voting structure is essential to stopping the downward spiral of the SPL.
But, as has also been said, now the fans have been heard it's important for people (obviously if circstances permit) to come out and support the club. This is a real opportunity to get the SPL back on track and we should do everything we can to make it work.
Every season a small club, maybe from the 3rd division are drawn at home to one of the bigots. We then hear how great it is for that team, and how it will keep them going for another season or 2.
How do these club manage to stage these games without segregation, and why are they so grateful for the draw?
I cant remember any of these games being switched to a different ground, although i'm happy to be corrected?
Another scare story to add to the others that are just not true.
Annan Athletic
Berwick Rangers
Clyde
East Stirlingshire
Elgin City
Montrose
Peterhead
Queen's Park
Stirling Albion
Stranraer
These are the Division 3 teams, many of which have hosted the OF in the past so think it is a nonsense argument to be made for Rangers not being put in bottom division. They even get a chance to go to Hampden. :greengrin
I think rod is up to his usual tricks. He's obviously seen we're set for a big loss from the free OF tickets to season ticket holders so he's voted them out to make a big saving.
Poor show in my opinion
Those cup ties are almost always televised, which means about £100K from Sky. They wash their face on the gate less security costs, the TV money is the profit. If Rangers were in SFL3 there would be no bonanza for the other clubs, because the games wouldn't be on live television.
Jim - I find this odd.
Most of us don't want Sevco 5088 in the SPL...what makes people suddenly think that having them in Div 3 would be positive for that league?
The nice family atmosphere their fans will create / the increased policing costs / the smell of *ish from every one of clubs small town doorways / the chance to be fall guys in a version of football similar to WWF / safety changes and costs that may only be needed for one season...I could go on...
No doubt the clubs would need to have a peg on their nose while playing them however I would have thought that they would make a reasonable profit on these games especially if there is a tv deal attached. Some of these clubs only get 2 or 300 at games so to get Rangers twice at their ground in a season could see them right for a few years I would have thought.
My apologies. I thought the jist of your post was that if they couldn't segregate they couldn't host.
Okay.
Unsure about Annan, Elgin and Peterhead. The rest can segregate.
The obvious choices would seem to be Inverness or Aberdeen for Elgin or Peterhead, although their stadiums look like they could be segregated by housing home fans in the stands. Annan might be a bit harder, but they are close to the motorway and Motherwell/Hamilton might be possible, although Carlisle is the closest.
Think people are missing the point of my post. I was merely pointing out that if the Chairman of the Shire had a problem with segregation then so would others. As I said previously I could not give a flying one about the 3rd 2nd or even 1st division and how they segregate or otherwise their grounds.
Quote:
Originally Posted by marinello59
Not sure what you mean Kev.
Rangers debt was effectively wiped the day that they went into Administration, so they were always going to be stronger, regardless of which division they are playing in (if any) this season. Not much anyone could have said or done about that, it was taken out of everyones hands while the Administrators slowly dismantled the horrendous mess.
If and when they return to the SPL they may well come back stronger than they were before Administration, but I'm not convinced it will be by much. I don't think that there are many that are thinking they are out, now back to business as usual. There will be rule changes, there will be a better distribution of money and fans have been pushing for league construction for a while now, so that's not going to suddenly stop.
Sevco into Division 3 - for those who want to and can afford it now is the time to put the the last season and Rangers situation behind us and support the club we all love, Hibernian.
This...
Nah sure some will find anothee excuse not to renew
Was made redundant three weeks ago. Soon as I'm back in work I'll be down at ER to join the party :flag:
If this decision is not contested and an attempt made to put NewCo into SPL / SPL2, I'm going to buy my Dad and Niece STs for the coming season.
He said he wouldn't be back if they got off lightly.
Get your ST's and give Nutsy the funds he needs.
GGTTH.
Correct my excuse is I've not renewed for the first time in 15 years because i'm still not over the cup final and will wait to see what Hibs are doing this summer after years of garbage on the pitch. Hibs owe the fans big style.
The situation at the Huns was never going to affect whether I get a season ticket or not.
I'm not going back until both Doncaster and Regan are removed from office.
My boycott started off with "No Newco in SPL".
Then quickly moved onto "No Newco in Div 1".
Running out of ideas for the next excuse not to attend.........
Players that you want to see at ER cannot be brought in without people committing to Season Tickets. People who are waiting for the season to start are doing no good to the club when they finally do renew as the ST money was intended solely for transfers. It's time for so called "supporters" who can afford it to support their club regardless of situation and help Hibs to bring in the quality of players that Hibs need and deserve.
Won't be buying a season ticket for pure cost reasons, but I'm delighted that I'm able to continue attending games.
Motherwell, Dundee Utd, St Johnstone, Kilmarnock, Inverness & St Mirren all finished above us and none were humiliated by their rivals; And if you believe the Hibs board all on budgets inferior to ours...Get off your high horse - the club have a lot of making up to do, not the fans.
I can fully understand both arguements here and neither are wrong IMO.
My own position is and always, I will be a PATG supporter simply because I will be missing at least 3 home games and a season ticket is not value for money based on that. I know the club desperately need our cash but unfortunately I am not a charity financer, I am desperately needing my cash too.
As for the SEVCO decision, whilst pleased that they will be in div 3 as it stands, I doubt we have heard the last of this escapade.
Well peeps we got what we wanted lets buy our ST and get behind the team the board and Pray to god its better than last year
Buy your Season Ticket Now..............but don't try it onlne as they're no longer available there.......and don't try phoning in to the Ticket Office cos there's no one answering calls today!
Let's all get behind the club!
* Disclaimer: But only if you live within easy travelling distance of the stadium :na na:
Hopefully people who stated ''I'm not buying one unless Rangers are demoted to Division . If they are, then i'll be first in the que'' will not act as hypocrites now, and will stand by their words and support HIBERNIAN! :agree:
This is a very good and historic day for Scottish Football, Hibs need our support now more than EVER! Time to put money where mouths are and give Pat a few more pennies to bring in new players. :agree:
It doesn't take long for a positive rallying call to be taken over by whining 'the club owes me' types does it? We'll support you evermore. Maybe you should get off your high horse and get behind the team from day one of the new season. They are going to need us more than ever now.
I will be buying one. First time in four years! :aok:
I am on the one hand pleased that both the SPL & SFL have not been blackmailed into any other desicions than that they have made.
However the financial consequenses that are now brought about by the actions of one club will now be felt in even greater measure by all 41 clubs as central revenue drops by 50% or possibly more.
We really need fans of all clubs to back their clubs and each other in view of this. I truly hope fans of every club who have made this their 'line in the sand' will renew ST's / commit as 'walk ups' / buy merchandise etc.
With the probablity of more saturday 3pm games we will also see if the fans do respond to the traditional KO time as many have said they would.
I will be purchasing two tickets in the next week or so.
Got mine already but I want to buy two kicks for kids tickets but nothing on the website?
:agree: :top marks - and this goes for EVERY club in Scotland - not just Hibs.
The clubs have rightly acted in accordance with the wishes of their supporters - despite the apocalyptic prophecies of various high profile harbingers of doom. IMO it is now the responsibility nay DUTY of fans up and down the country to prove the doom-mongers wrong by turning up at the gates in large numbers to offset any drop in revenue resulting from the demise of the Huns.
The clubs have now done their bit due to pressure from the fans and it would be nothing short of a betrayal IMO for anyone who has agitated for justice to be done regarding newco Huns to withdraw their support now that their demands have been met. Fan power has made a massive difference in bringing this debacle to a just conclusion - but it will all come to nought if we don't back it up with the power of the pounds in our pockets.
The fat lady hasn't sung yet. I nearly renewed after they announced they wouldn't be voting for Newco getting back into the SPL then they topped it by coming up with the Div 1 pish.
Until it's confirmed by the SFA/SPL that they are starting in Div 3 my money is staying in my bank account. I wouldn't put anything past the incompetent tits who are in charge of our game and would trust them as far as I could throw them
As soon as that confirmation comes, I'll renew:agree:
6 Season tickets for my family will be bought IF Der Hun are really in Division 3.
PATG for me, i should get to 8 or so Hibs games this year at ER (if there any good). Up for first two home games, if we get beat by Hearts on 11th that is likely to put me off booking loads off extra flights up. If that happens i'll put my money into the Hibernians scheme...might aswell try and help the new crop grow. I'm Still scared but May 19th Hibs need to sign two strikers 4 decent midfielders and another defender to have a decent season. sorry started moaning on what is a great day for Scottish Football. Hail Hail
I realise it's a personal decision but it would be great if as many fans of the remaining clubs made the effort to get to as many games as possible, even to buy Season Tickets.
I realise that Hibs have been terrible for years now and that some fans are putting off buying STs until they see some decent signings. What I would say to them is that it's totally understandable but we're now in a new situation where the club really needs you.
It's no longer about the quality of the football but whether you want Scottish Football, and Hibs in particular, to be here in the long run and, hopefully, successful.
Perhaps more realistically we should be targeting a home fixture and trying to fill 3 sides of the stadium. This would go a long way to cancelling out the lost income from visit(s) of oldco supporters. First home game of the season as per the Dons would be sensible :agree:. Show 'them' that we are still here supporting our club.