Shame on you, sir. you could be doing with reading the "Sun" for a year or two, in order to removes such seditious thoughts from your brain!:top marks
Printable View
Today is the Deadline for Chuckie to get the 'fit and proper person' details to the SFA to try and get their licence to play this coming season. I wonder if they'll make it.
" The Rangers " ( unseeded :greengrin ) are at home to East Fife in League cup draw :na na:
Any news on whether they met the deadline for provision of supporting documents to meet SFA membership?
Cheers, Keith. :thumbsup:
How many divisions are the Huns playing in next season?
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/scottish/
SFL teams getting wise to the possibilities.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18891279
Good on them. :aok:
East of Scotland league side Hawick Royal Albert's planned glamour friendly against newco Rangers tomorrow has been postponed because the new Club's membership details have still to be finalised with the SFA.
Dear oh dear - how the mighty have fallen.
Breaking news on Bbc news Scotland. Rangers have accepted a one year transfer embargo. More to follow
It's time to move on and concentrate on our own club. Scottish football needs to start playing rather than ripping itself apart
While I think this is a bit of a let off for them, I'm not too fussed really. Most important thing now is that they are stripped of any titles they have won while cheating and a giant black mark against their name forever.
By the time they get back to the SPL hopefully the gang of eleven will have changed things to such an extent that the dominance of the old firm will be a thing of the past.
Hmmm so while the ban allows players to be signed this summer, that'll be them till January 2014?
That site is brilliant - every post oozes with hurt, anger and victim-hood. Folk talk about decent hun fans, which I know there are, but their lowest amoebic bigoted paranoid followers gather there and it's a joy to watch their pain and utter, utter helplessness.
Ozyhibby seems to be suggesting that they could sign new players at the tail end of next summer. Albeit after the season has started, but they could effectively shop next summer and have them lined up ready for September the 1st, if what Ozyhibby says is correct.
If so, then they would effectively only miss out on signings this January??
Not that I'm too fussed about it personally, but I'm guessing the main story behind the headline is that Newco have accepted the punishments and footballing debts of Oldco.
Assuming that some of the top-level players who agreed to TUPE thinking they'd be in division 1 can be sold, the transfer fees will be easily enough to pay signing-on amounts for a team capable of being at the top of division 2 in January 2014. Livingston showed that virtually any full-time team can win divisions 2 and 3 against the part-time sides at that level.
Paying wages and maintaining Ibrox might be more of a problem, but I think this is a major success for Rangers. Effectively the SFA have totally backed down on the embargo.
When is an embargo not an embargo? When it involves the SFA it seems. Every time I just about get round to thinking that, just maybe, there is a chance Scottish football can drag itself out of this mess and give the impression it has the tiniest bit of credibility and is not corrupt, along comes another kick in the teeth. If only the shower in charge of our game had shown the slightest sign of having a pair at any stage of this pantomime........well they have just stuck the tin lid on it. What a joke.
Agree completely. The fact that the BBC story is headed "Sevco will accept transfer embargo" and goes on to report"... following a week of negotiations between Green's consortium and the SFA, Scottish football's governing body revealed an agreement..." says it all. New huns but same old corruption.
A part time painter that ran the brush over our fulltime squad time and time again. :wink:
If Black goes there, then they must have stupid cash for a 3rd division side.
If he had to take up part time painting because he wasn't getting his full wages at hahaHearts, then I can't see him signing for a club who would offer him 3rd division wages (unless of course, they have stupid cash coming in from somewhere)
Ole!
lets set it straight for them
http://www.hibs.net/attachment.php?a...5&d=1342445725
Might? It's their fundamental problem. It's been said before on here, but the Cash Flow is just not there IMO.
I don't think this is a "major success". If they had been forced to play kids, on low wages, they would have been able to build up slowly, and get used to cutting their cloth, as all other clubs do. This way puts the temptation there for them to buy success, and I just don't think they have the means to sustain that.
This was a guarantee
Ok Sevco buy yer self a team just now to ensure you get back up then we'll put a ban on........ Couldnae make it up
SFA - corrupt and rotten to the core
Mr Regan - I'm sorry Chas that I broke ma promise about div 1 so I'll let you have a chance to rebuild before we put your ban in place as a wee apology. Now would you like me to rub yer back or shine your shoes next
I think that Green wanted Div 1 with little sanctions...quick sticking plaster job and then share issue to make him big wedge (under fan ownership smokescreen)
Plan B Div 3 with transfer embargo...sorry fans...can't sign anyone..SFA/Other clubs have picked on us...show your support / stick your fingers up by buying ST's etc and we will fight our way back (low over heads / decent income = cash building up/ syphoned off)
The way it has worked out will not suit Green at all as the hordes will expect signings as sign of faith...
While I agree that cashflow is a problem for them, to buy success they don't have to spend much over the two windows in the next four in which they're now allowed to buy players. All they have to do is assemble a team of the quality that Livingston had in the 2010-11 season, and I repeat my suggestion that they can easily do that from transfer fees payable for a couple of Goian, Bocanegra etc. One transfer fee of £250,000 will pay a season's wages for half a team at the level needed to reach division 1 (there might even be enough left to allow the PAYE to be forwarded to HMRC).
While the underlying gap between income and spending will still be there, a winning team will attract more orcs to Ibrox and buy time for Green and the club to regroup. I still have doubts about Rangers' ability to get through the coming system, but I think that today's decision will alleviate their difficulties.
I don't know. I've assumed that the players who're still around have accepted the transfer by receiving pay for June, but that could be either factually or legally inaccurate.
I still think that deferring the transfer ban allows Rangers to assemble a team that will win divisions in the next two seasons with expenditure they can cover from football income. This makes their ultimate recovery more likely. Let's hope that if they return to the SPL they'll find an organisation that has voting and income distribution procedures that are not designed to benefit only the top two clubs.
I have to say, I'm slightly confused by players like Black, Beattie, sandaza that are pimping themselves to a SFL3 club.
I can't see how this club are able to match wages of SFL1 and SPL clubs, and also why these players would want to play at a level much lower than they are capable of. They could play at SPL level for the next few years before moving to sevco. And some of these players may also have a chance at playing for Scotland (especially if they have a Levein connection). Yet they are grovelling to a club that are in the shadows of a club that didn't pay taxes, other clubs, etc. I am baffled!!
I suspect that any of the players who are on big wages will be 'ecouraged' to leave. There will not be the cash flow to sustain this in the Third Division particularly with the pressure on Green to sell to a 'Rangers minded' consortium. Rangers will not be able to afford to throw money to gain promotion as this could extend their three year European ban. I would guess that the exceptions given in the first couple of reporting periods for Financial Fair Play will have expired by then and Rangers will have to break even.
In some respects the transfer ban may be good for Green as it will remove the pressure from the fans to spend big. Rangers should be able to assumble a side capable of winning SFL3 based on the few senior pros including Kirk Broadfoot, Lee McCulloch, etc augmented by some under-18 players. They may be able to post a profit in the first two years allowing scope for spending big to get out of SFL1 and buil a competitive SPL side.
They must be getting wads of cash from somewhere if they are attracting such players.
I honestly don't buy into the idea that they are completely skint. I believe they are getting short term hand outs from sources that have plenty to gain from it in the long run.
A strong Rangers in the SPL is a huge financial benefit to some companies.
Is football all about trophies,not any more it isn’t thats for sure. Players who have plenty money like van persie etc all want trophies other pro players who have cash but not enough for life ,want big money moves rather then trophies. Rangers paying higher wages in div3 is why everyone has mortgages and family's.
Genuinely wouldn't surprise me if there were still several players at Sevco who walk straight into the national set up. Theyv'e got more chance than anyone here anyways :rolleyes:
Don't see why not they'll still have a massive fan base and perhaps only sign a few players on 10.000 a week rest could well be made up off youngsters and older pro who are perhaps in last few years of playing. Thats the root i'd try and perhaps go down if i owed a club.
is there a chance they have had investor's who were not going to feed rfc money for it to go straight to debts and tax man but now seeing as theyre starting a fresh all that money which folk have held back could now go straight ito club for investment without being touched.
Have they not just had some investment from some business fans?
They have no debt near enough now and will probably get 30k in ibrox on home games. That sort of attendance will bring in enough to pay players like black, sandaza etc whilst still allowing them to save.
The biggest challenge for them is getting the players to play at that level for the next three years. If you are black or sandaza (26/27 years old?) and sign a three year deal then by the time they win the 1st (assuming back to back league titles) then these guys are hitting their 30s. Now I know thats not past it but you know that players can sometimes just take a nose dive at a certain age and may not be good enough for the SPL by then.
To me I cant understand wanting to sign for them. Unless you have a desire to play in the ramsdens cup.
IMHO going by the amount of coverage Newco have had on Hibs.net and in the media, RFC are going to be the only story in town for the next 4 or 5 years. The SPL will be little more than a side show. Their signings, their wins, their defeats, their progress, their legal battles etc etc will dominate everything. Celtic winning the SPL will mean nothing.
It will be RFC's recovery, while still playing at Ibrox, and ultimately to their first win over celtic that will dominate.
Rangers will still be able to out pay (legally) anyone other than Celtic. There will also be the gamble of a quicker return through re-organisation.
They're still doing it!
So Sevco get a 12 month player regstration ban, which has been shown in court to be unlawful. The alternative to the ban was probably suspension from the league.
SPL say they'll let Sevco play if they get a share of their media rights. So basically Sevco get to buy a place in the SFL buy paying SPL clubs.
The whole thing stinks.
I hate this attitude that SPL, SFA, whoever can just make up rules as they go along, especially when whoever is doing the negotiating have all sorts of hidden agendas. Doing what's good for the game, etc.
There is no sporting integrity in Scottish football, the game is broken.
Ok then, why would they WANT to be paying ridiculous wages at this point. Surely they bring players that are good enough for the 3rd and 2nd division, then build again in preparation for the first with the money theyve saved over the previous 2 years
I imagine the pride of being RANGERS.
They don't have to pay ridiculous wages, but wages that are as good as SPL wages. Their income will allow this. They have to get players of the quality to guarantee they win every game easily for the next three years and the likes of Shiels, Black and Sandaza are exactly the players they are looking for. It''s just a pity that these good but unambitious players will be lost to the SPL for the foreseeable future.
A 12 month player ban which starts after this seasons transfer window, what is the point :confused:
Think you are nearer the truth than you realise :greengrin
I have been told there is a " White Knight " willing to pay top up wages ( ala Hart and George Best) for three/four players next season .
One thing that is for sure is that there will still be several players at Sevco who walk straight into the national set up
Harry Potter will ensure that happens !!
I personally don't see it as a lack of ambition.
Realistically where are the players mentioned going to move up to?
Black, cup winning captain and on a free with no club.
Beattie - I don't even know where he was before hearts, guessing career is on the way down.
Sandaza - looking for a decent wedge because he's probably not made a great amount in his career.
Rangers could pay for an SPL wage bill of 3-5 million, easily cover it, and take players like the above.
Some will look at it as a way to build up a 'great' club with the potential to be fan heroes for moving to them.
If I were any of the above three, or players like Kyle, I'd be knocking their door down. They're all probably looking to get two year deals as well.
If the True Blues get behind SevCo F C and the show gets on the road I hope they remember they are definitely a new Company as far as HMRC are concerned.
No Corporation Tax losses to be brought forward so if they try to build up funds in the lower leagues as has been suggested by Traynor and other Sports Imbeciles the HMRC will want their cut ( 21% - 29% ). I don't think the Tax Man will be sleeping on the job this time around. :greengrin
Dungcaster and Reekan have obviously never heard the phrase "take these boys away and fit them out with some nice concrete boots" :pray:
Am I the only one pleasently surprised that they're still going after the huns, and non conviently sweeping it under the carpet now they're in Div 3?
Surely if there was a conspiracy to get them into Div1, the same people who failed at that would continue to bend over backwards to ensure the membership was transferred and Sevco 5088 FC were back to full strength asap?
They need to maintain a standard of player that will attract 30,000+ crowds, otherwise they will not be able to sustain a stable business with their fixed costs (rates alone are best part of £2M). Their thinking will also be that SPL2 might come about next summer and they won't be able to sign players then. In any case, you're not talking about **ridiculous** wages for that sort of player, they will only offer a few thousand a week at most. They'll just pay enough to outbid Hearts, Hibs, etc and little more.
I thought the courts have ruled the transfer ban is not an available punishment so they need to look at expulsion or suspension?
It strikes me that there's an awfy lot of goalpost-shifting going on in this thread.
Go back to February and there were folk saying Rangers would be out of administration and debt-free in a few weeks. Then there were many confident predictions that they would still be in the SPL for the coming season, then it was 'relegation' only to Div 1. At any of those points I suspect the vast majority of us would have been happy for them to be treated as a new club in Div 3 - in fact many were saying exactly that. Now that it's happened we're looking for them to be treated as the same old cheating huns and have an immediate signing ban imposed.
The truth is they are a new club, but they're gaining (or seeking to gain) some of the old club's advantages, so they have to take some of the old club's punishment. Although they inherited some of the old club's players they've lost many more and if McCoist, Murray and Green are to be believed (and I realise that's where my argument fails) they don't have enough to make up a squad. It is not the SFA's job to prevent a duly-elected club from competing and an amnesty from the signing ban seems a reasonable way to allow them to build up a squad of sufficient numbers.
Undoubtedly they will have more financial clout than their fellow minnows and are almost certain to romp Div 3, but we were always aware that would happen. In truth I'm surprised the SFA have decided to impose the ban at all in the circumstances, personally I wouldn't have complained about a clean slate in Div 3 approach - the way a new club should be treated as many were saying earlier in the thread. I can't help feeling that we're getting back to the 'punish them for being Rangers' attitude and IMO a signing ban that was imposed immediately would prevent them from competing and would therefore be unfair.
Nice words Cav but if Rangers are 'accepting' the appellate tribunals punishment of a transfer embargo it should be backdated to the original panel's decision date.
Just another backroom agreement with Regan and co to the benefit of Rangers and fortunately for Sevco they don't need other clubs to vote on this decision.
I realise people may start to be getting punishment fatigue but I believe this will just be the start of them 'going easy' on Rangers and fully expect them to be winging their way to a top tier structure debt free very soon and pissing all over the rest of us so don't go soft now Cav.
I suppose that what the judge ruled was that that sanction could not be imposed on them (although he didn't say it was 'unfair', as a number of commentators have said - he simply said that: there were a range of punishments in the rule-book, the embargo wasn't one of them, and the SFA should have selected one of the available options, which included suspension and expulsion...).
The SFA, in turn, have said - I'm guessing - that if they want membership of the SFA then any alternative sanction would be up, rather than down the severity scale, so like it or lump it basically.
If Sevco choose not to contest it, then there isn't an issue.