Thats awful nice and generous of them.
No doubt the SPL club chairman will bite their hands off with that offer. :rolleyes:
Printable View
Journos are reporting the Inverness chairman as saying that they have received assurances from sponsors and will stick by their no to newco position. This is after their much heralded "emergency" board meeting.
Sevco aren't getting in.
https://twitter.com/TyroneSTV
https://twitter.com/BBCBMcLauchlin
My main concern is not the SKY deal or sponsors, it it actually the bank of who these clubs own money 2, you have have SFA head Regan saying armageddon, Huncaster saying meltdown all the papers saying 5-6 clubs going to the wall in weeks......if i was the bank i'd be like well wait just now U no doing a Rangers on us n demand their cash
Lets not forgot why all SPL slubs are in as much debt as they are in because the SFA demanded a 10,000 seater stadium that half empty every week at the cost of 10's millions of pounds..most clubs are probably still trying to pay this off and will be for years to come
Because you haven't given me much to go on other than a smiley, i have no idea why you disagree with me.
If you are swallowing this is all coming from Regan, with no input whatsoever from the rest of the SFA board members, then fair enough, keep posting smileys.
Killie owe about £11m and they would appear to be in the worst position. Celtic owe £14m which is not really a problem. Hearts don't really count. Aberdeen owe about £13m but as long as wiggy is there, and wants to be there, this will not be an issue. We probably owe about £6m-£7m and, as the Dons substitute Wiggy for STF. United will owe around about £5m and, probably are the most vulnerable after Killie. motherwell owe probably less that 500k and ICT and St.M operate on an even keel with little (under £100k) or no debt at all. St. Johnstone operate profitably, or at least they did before this season.
I dont buy the Armageddon scenarios. Rangers have gone, and they were most likely to but others, Kilmarnock apart, are stable enough. Hearts could go either way and are technically insolvent, have been for years, but Vlad appears to be continuing to fund them.
I'm sorry. I don't regard petrie as a "****ing disgrace" & I think he is far from bring a a cretin. Sometimes views are expressed, such as yours, where it is impossible to post anything other than a disbelieving smiley. Rest assured, however, that my head is far from being buried in the sand and I believe I have a fairly accurate view of both Regan and doncaster.
To be fair, if the SPL did go cap in hand to newco like that, if I was them I'd be making such demands. That says 'we need you or we are all doomed' so why not push their luck.
It's not going to happen of course, but it's by no means the most ridiculous thing they've come out with!
They can't use the name as a company name till the oldco is finally liquidated. See Fiorentina, they didn't take their old name back till a good few years later. At the moment Rangers oldco are still a company, and two companies can't have the same, or overtly similar names...
D&P have scheduled a company meeting for 31 July for the sole purpose of passing a resolution to change the name of RFC plc (IA). Thus freeing the name up for Sevco Scotland to use instead.
http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.co...ball-club-ltd/
More on the Inverness "sticking to their guns" story.
http://www.google.com/hostednews/ukp...1342385138739A
Quote:
Inverness still opposed to newco in SPL
(UKPA) – 35 minutes ago
Inverness have reaffirmed their opposition to the Rangers newco joining the Clydesdale Bank Premier League.
The Inverness board held an emergency meeting on Sunday to discuss the Scottish Football League decision to admit the Ibrox club to the Third Division and reject a plan to out them in the First.
Reports had claimed SPL clubs could be on the verge of a U-turn despite being expected to name Dundee or Dunfermline as the replacement for Rangers on Monday at their annual general meeting. But Inverness joined Dundee United and Hearts in this weekend stating they would not change their initial opposition to the SPL application.
And they dismissed claims their club will be placed in immediate danger from any reduction in income that comes with the SFL decision.
Chairman Kenny Cameron said in a statement: "We are one of the few clubs with no bank debt whatsoever, so our position is very far from immediately threatening, as has been alleged.
"We look forward to the new season on the back of renewed commitment over the weekend from our major shareholders and sponsors, for which we are very grateful.
"They fully appreciate that in May we, like other clubs, set our budget for 2012-13 and now there will be real change to the commercial curve because of events outwith our control.
"It is important that our supporters keep making their contribution via season ticket sales.
"We took their views on board and continue to hold the position that not allowing 'newco' Rangers into the SPL is the correct decision."
They will always be Sevco F C as far as I am concerned. Rangers Football Club died of shame and corruption. :agree:
AND the fact that if you read what's said and any of the actual quotes.... Taking out the rags own spin..... You find that their meltdown stories are based on Sky walking away this season.
As Sky and ESPN have already (all be it low key) said they'd continue to the end of the existing contracts, and appear to have confirmed same to ICT this is yet another Weegiemedia story aimed at putting pressure on the fans and chairmen of all us "diddy" clubs :-)
Not to mention the Hootsmon
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...mise-1-2412834
utter, utter garbage. Where do they get these figures from??
On the other hand, the Observer had this the same day
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/b...ngers-optimism
Take your pick.
Please quote me on where I said "all" papers. Because I don't recall saying that. :confused:
"Some" tabloids take risks and print off stories before they have their facts straight, so they can be the first in there.
Take the Daily Records story on Leigh Griffiths headbutt for example. They were forced to retract their statement and issue an apology to the club after they were informed that it never happened and couldn't provide any evidence that it did happen.
brian mclauchlin@BBCBMcLauchlinCharles Green and Ally McCoist arrive at Hampden for SPL agm
Craig Ewing@CraigyBhoy88Why is Green and McCoist at the SPL meeting, they are an SFL club so have no right to be there
:worried:
Charles Green at Hampden as SPL allow Rangers representation at AGM
Rangers are being represented at Monday’s annual general meeting of the Scottish Premier League.
STV understands Charles Green is at Hampden with Ally McCoist, as the SPL has so far failed to request Duff and Phelps to relinquish the company’s member share. The member clubs of the league voted against the newco Rangers assuming the old company’s share at a ballot on July 4.
Under the SPL’s rules, the old company should have ceased to be entitled to hold a share on that date, as they had already ceased to be the owner and operator of a club.
Nobody at the SPL was available for comment at the time of publication.
http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/r...tation-at-agm/
BBC Sport @BBCSport
SPL chairmen tell BBC Scotland there is no chance of a reprieve for the new Rangers at their annual meeting http://bbc.in/NsLg8i
Retweeted by Chris McLaughlin
This is unbelievable :grr:
Grant Russell@STVGrantOldco had vote on share transfer. Presumably they'll have voting rights today as well and decide which club, if any, replaces them.
Surely today's meeting should be used to remove the Oldco SPL membership. How long do these things take???
It makes a total mockery of Scottish Football that the owner and manager of a 3rd division team are at the SPL meeting.
You cannot be serious!
Name a club who are in financial difficulty because the authorities forced them to build 10,000 seater stadiums?
Is that why Hibs have a 20,000 seater stadium? How about Killie, who built an 18,000 seater stadium long before the SPL were even thought of? Similarly did they put a gun to the head of Hearts to build a 17,000 seater ground?
It cannot be Inverness or St Mirren because they have much smaller stadia. It obviously is not the reason for Rangers' economic difficulties because the development was carried out many years ago. Nor for that matter Celtic because the 60,000 seater stadium was build 15 years beack before Fergus McCann handed over a debt free club to the new owners.
The only sizable development at Motherwell took place in the mid 1990s. St Johnstone's stadium was built in the 1980s. Dundee United's development largely took place in the 1990s. Finally Aberdeen have had no development since the early 1990s.
The fact that SPL clubs are in financial trouble is nothing to do with stadia. It is all to do with paying too much money for players. So clubs cannot blame the SPL or the SFL for current finacial problems.
Yes but everything that's come out of the MSM since Feb 14th has been 'badly worded'. Taken together, the hunners and hunners of badly worded reports have amounted to a tissue of lies. And it's still going on. DodoHun is ******d, and this is at last being acknowledged. What still needs to be acknowledged more widely imo is that Scottish 'journalism' is ******d.
Is there ANY chance a line can finally be drawn in the sand today and then we can all get on with it? An announcement from the SPL/SFA/SFL saying all the decisions are now final, announce whether it's Dunfermline or Dundee in the SPL, confirm SevCo will have to earn promotion from SFL3 and let's all just look forward to the new season?
Anyhting less would be a joke.
They should also be making clear just when the clubs will talk about changes in the voting structure and money distibution and it should also be made quite clear where ongoing plans to merge the governing bodies and make some of those other changes comes into it.
As it stands it has all been mixed up and mixed in to various different decisions and proposals. Someone needs to take this by the baws now and make pretty clear what is happening, when and why.
Scottish Sun reporting today that D3 clubs will need to stump up £50,000 to cover the costs of cops of to "baby sit" the Rangers fans on each visit.
Simple answer is then dont invite them, they wont be losing out much anyway.
And does this mean we will save £100K by not playing them, not to mention the savings in domestos and air freshner?
Bet you Regan and Doncaster didnt have this in their Armageddon Powerpoint presentation.
How is it that when lower league teams drew Rangers in the cup it was a nice money spinner for them despite only getting half the gate, yet when they get them twice at home in the league and get all the takings we get stories about them being crippled by policing costs.
More media bull****.
BREAKING NEWS ... latest scenes from SPL AGM at Hampden!
https://www.facebook.com/twitter/pho...2&pid=10280487
Can someone tell me why Charles Green Ally McCoist are at Hampden??????
thought this meeting was for SPL clubs? :greengrin
The Chinese whispers outside Hampden are suggesting it will be Dundee who are named Club 12. But these are nothing more than rumours at the moment.
-bbc
The policing expenses are taken from the gate receipts before the remainder is split between the clubs. Having said that, I'm sure they will still make a decent profit from two home games against SevCo. Best advice would be to charge them £15 each with no concessions until they can behave themselves.
The £50,000 quoted would be on a SevCo following of probably 6,000+ which isn't going to happen for all but the Clyde and Queen's Park games. And even then I think the £50,000 is seriously over-exaggerated as it's not as if there will be loads of home fans looking for a pagger?
dundee it is official
A press release from the SPL has just landed on our desks...
bbc
Dundee are in the SPL.
Sevco are in Div 3.
All done and dusted. Let's move on.
Just announced it will be Dundee in SPL this coming season.
Good, Can we now concentrate on our up and coming campaign?
Think it should have been Dunfermline, but am looking forward to an SPL campaign with no Buns and Dundee and Ross County in it. Will have a freshness about it.
Glad that's sorted. I saw Dundee play at Lancaster in a friendly last week and there were about 300 Dee fans there which seemed a decent following. Team didn't look up to much though and will need to do a lot of work in a short space of time.
Also idea of SPL2 looks to be over :thumbsup:
also
Raman Bhardwaj@STVRamanKilmarnock chairman Michael Johnston elected on to SPL board.
Raman Bhardwaj@STVRamanSteve Brown (St Johnstone FC) and Derek Weir (Motherwell FC) stepped down as SPL Directors.
Full SPL Press Release
http://lockerz.com/s/225530125
Don't particularly agree with Dundee* but I'm happy that they've made a decision and hopefully now we can move on and focus on the football.
*However, the return of the Dundee derby and 2 further Hibs games in Dundee is an undeniably good thing!
so, that's the dundee billy boys replacing the govan billy boys :rolleyes: swell
Well chuffed with this. A victory for the "diddies", and most importantly the fans :thumbsup:
Happy days, looking forward to playing and Dundee and watching the derby. Now let's get on with supporting the Cabbage. And laughing at the huns.
Yeah definitely need to focus on Hibs but there will be much more entertainment to come from the hapless zombie Huns
It is great that a line can be drawn under this for now at least
BUT...
How can that weasel Doncaster who talked our league minus Sevco into the ground now be allowed to continue in his role with no recriminations? What are Sky going to say to him next time there's a tv rights discussion?
"So Neil, we have you on record saying that the SPL is nothing without Rangers, so here's 50 quid for the TV rights - take it or leave it".
The league has no credibility while he us in charge, he MUST now resign. I can't see Regan surviving much longer, but Doncaster must not be allowed to emerge from this shambles which he has presided over unscathed.
Rangers first game announced as Brechin away a week on Saturday in the Ramsdens Challenge cup.
Have they ever won this trophy. :greengrin
Will they have enough players for a team?
Right, so who were all those who were going to buy season tickets now?
Is this the end of it now, has this finished for good or can we expect any more shenanigans, are there any more meetings organised? :confused:
I take it the SLF have invited Annan & Airdrie Utd to move up or have they to wait until Dundee accept?
Still think Dunfermline will lodge an appeal against todays announcment that might drag this on further