I blame the addition of camel sperm to their shaving cream.
Printable View
Recruitment consultants on LinkedIn messaging you saying they’ve read your profile and think you would be suitable for a role they are working to fill but it is a way more senior role than anything listed on your profile.
Recruitment consultants.
Sitting at the football and everytime I stand up , my belt gets stuck on the back rest.
The now common practice of shop assistants asking if you want your receipt. They’re obviously trying to save money and I suppose they are easing the carbon footprint but it’s in the interest of both retailer and customer that receipts are kept to help deal with any issues arising from the transaction. I always take receipts. I’ve often found errors on the receipt and usually, when I return to the shop to return or exchange goods, the first thing they ask is ‘do you have your receipt?’.
I’m talking more about a trolley load of goods and not a casual one off item. I regularly see folk in supermarkets making purchases around £100 and declining a receipt. Occasionally when checking a receipt I’ve found irregularities like items being pinged twice and prices not in keeping with the displayed shelf price ( especially Lidl and Aldi ). Anyway I always accept my receipt.
The ****ing weather !! Not this lovely weather of course but the dreich and miserable pissing it down of rain weather that we recently had.
Wanted to give the back lawn its first cut, rain, rain and ****ing more rain. I then became ill and more ill and didnt have the strength to tackle it and low and behold, we had good weather.
Then I got better and planned to get out and cut it the next day, ****ing surprise, a week of pissing it down 🤬
Today, I managed to cut my grass, then ****ed my back 😣
Im hiring a sheep mower !!
We’ve got two patches of grass, both probably about 8sq/m each. I decided, in my wisdom, to dig up one side so we could get decorative chips. Genuinely only about 50/60mm down as well as cutting out a border on the other side and I swear to god I have filled at least 60/70 rubble bags of soil and grass, each weighing upwards of 40kg each.
All this just to save me cutting one side of grass. I did the last trip to the tip today and I am in ****ing bits.
Yeah, don't underestimate the volume of turf sods.
After the wet winter I decided to cut a path through my lawn as we were dragging mud through the house when coming in via the back gate. I cut out about 6 square metres to a depth of about 50/70mm.
I put all the waste in to a builders bulk bag then scratched my head as to how I was getting rid of it. Like you I used smaller rubble sacks and have numerous trips.
Back-breaking stuff!
Official incompetence. Signed up this morning with the Dartford Crossing payment system, run by the UK Government, as I'll be to and fro across the crossing during the summer. The email confirming my account has a typo in the return email address. How has someone not noticed this and corrected it? I saw it straight away.
No. I'd just opened a pay-as-you-go DART account so I don't get caught out and fined (like last time!) for using the Dartford Crossing without realising there was a charge to pay. The email I'm talking about is the official email from DART explaining how the charge works, what it will cost, etc.. It's a lengthy email dealing with all nature of charges, discounts for locals, and in the second paragraph it advises users to make sure that you put their email address into your contacts so emails from them - which might be alerting you about charges or fines - don't get treated as junk and ignored. And they've misspelled their own email address.
The glass in my wing mirror randomly fell out the car and shattered this morning. Utterly bizarre. Happened on the driveway, probably shouldn’t have driven but was taking my daughter to her dance class when it happened. Wonder what happened 🤷
Haar.
Crumbly cheese. I don’t want cheese that won’t slice properly without falling apart. It seems even the more expensive and extra strong cheese can be unstable in texture.
The fact that there’s now another tier to prime. Watching Fallout last night and it had adverts. Another £3.99 (I think) to remove them. That’s poor.
Reading pet peeves and having no idea what they mean.
I came across this in Rome years ago where I was teaching at the time.
As I left the trattoria a man in a suit approached me and my first reaction was to keep going in case it was a scam.
Behind him were two policeman who stiffened to attention in that crisply polite but efficient manner of armed police.
All was ok, as I had my receipt and I noticed the owner watching from his restaurant.
Apparently, it was and still is a crackdown on tax evasion in a country where paying tax is voluntary....
Adverts and on platforms like Netflix, the previews being so much louder than the programmes themselves
Power outage in may, seriously?!
Not really a peeve more anger at a serious issue. Wanton vandalism.
Every other day now I seem to read something on social media about people vandalising community assets. Local football clubs seem to get it particularly badly. Pitches churned up by motorbikes, artificial pitches burnt, changing rooms trashed etc etc. I read the other day about Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway being firebombed. Seriously what can a bunch of guys preserving a heritage line and building a model railway have done to deserve that?
I could almost understand, if not condone, if it was bored and frustrated kids but the guys charged with the latter offence are both 32. That's not that much younger than me and I can't imagine ever getting the urge to go and burn down a railway ticket office or dig up the goalmouth at the local park to spoil the bairns games at the weekend.
Not local to me but some group shared this to my Wife, nails glued to a chute and a swing
****ing absolutely disgusting and doesnt bear thinking about the damage that could do to an unsuspecting kid 🤬
Attachment 27904
Sounds like wee need something like nation service to extrude the enthusiasm out of todays youth!!!
The annoying wee bird that has moved in to the back garden and seems like it’s chirping away 24/7. :rolleyes: :greengrin
Rip off A.T.M at Edinburgh Àirport will cost you £2-50 to withdraw cash.
Folk starting messages/posts/tweets etc with "I mean".
Stop it.
Missing a bit when shaving. Having a feeling not finding anything, then going out just to find a bit. So ****ing annoying!!!!
Burgers with melted cheese inside them. I like a burger made with cheese in the actual burger. I didn’t know my wife had bought a kind with a hollow middle and melted cheese in it. Almost scolded myself when the liquid cheese flowed out. A good idea in theory but the reality isn’t great. A mess to eat.
People who write “have” as “of”.
Folk who don't leave a folded end on sellotape.
My wife putting the used egg shells back in the box. She claims it’s because she uses them to stop the snails/slugs from eating the plants. Which is fine, but we already have a food bag full of crushed egg shells. It always looks looks like we have more eggs than we actually do.
Jason Leitch. He's my current pet peeve.
Jacket potato
It’s a ****in baked tattie.
Nostalgia ****posting on social media.
People sharing idealised pictures of years gone by and giving it 'oh look how wonderful it all looks'. In a fair number of instances what they really mean is 'oh look how white it all looks'. In most of the others it's by people too young to have experienced such times so they are presenting some romanticised view that conveniently omits the grinding poverty, life expectancy of about 60, squalid living conditions and so on.
And don't even get me started on the people sharing pictures of gigs in the 1960s with captions like 'look at this, not a phone in view, back when people just lived in the moment'. Yes, because you didn't ****ing well have phones then. You spend your time now using social media to check in at the supermarket and share lost dog posts from Australia mate, I'm 99% certain if you had a phone at a gig back then you would have had it out.
Links that don’t open in the app. They send you to the App Store where you already have the app installed. When you click open it forgets the link you’re trying to open and just opens the app at the homepage. A general moan as quite common, but on the back of someone sending me a link to Google maps.
Having just come back from London, I'm reminded of one of my all time major peeves: people walking while reading their phones and not looking where they are going.
Ok, wasn't sure where to post this but I think this little story qualifies as someone's pet peeve. Hope you all don't mind this slightly OT post.
Quote:
Nearly half of all aircraft noise complaints in Australia last year were filed by a single person, who complained 20,716 times
Quote:
The same is true of Heathrow. 80% of noise complaints come from just 10 people.
Spudulike was great and I regret it's demise.
My first home wasn't far from what I think was their first shop and my mum and dad used to get them all the time when I was tiny. It was a proper 70s / 80s staple.
When I was a kid and after we'd moved out of Edinburgh we used to quite often go back there, get baked potatoes and sit as a family and eat them in the car next to the Meadows.
The demise of the baked potato as a credible, healthy fast food is bad progress imo.
Taylor Swift.
No, not the actual person, but the endless articles in the Media about her, her tour, her fans, where she's staying, and on and on and on.
Do we really need to know that she's staying in a luxury hotel, that her fans are buying disposable cameras for her visit to Edinburgh... her favourite toilet paper?
OK, I made that last one up, but it's only a matter of time before the DR tells us that it's definitely not Andrex.
What is this new need for grown ups discussing politics suddenly having this need to give everyone a cringy nickname. I know it was a very American thing with the obvious example of 'Sleepy Joe' Biden.
Even started to see this coming through on some of the Holy Ground threads.
When she has a bowl of crunchy nut cornflakes she pours the milk in then purposely leaves the bowl for about 10 mins to let the cereal go mushy.
Colds that come from nowhere.
Had a busy-ish week but nothing too outrageous.
Yesterday morning felt alright when I woke up, tired but no more than usual. Then about 11am out of nowhere the snot arrived. I’ve just gotten over a bout of shivering that could have broken concrete.
'Sensationalist' style headlines in newspapers that bear no relation to what's actually in the article,
e.g. 'Doidge names what Hibs men were shocked by over David Gray's coaching'
And what was it that they were so shocked by? Uhm, apparently that he was quite good at his job.
I mean wow, whooda thunk it!
Costco!!!! Popped into Costco at 10am, to be told that ‘individual’ members could no longer gain entry till 12pm nowadays. I was generously told that I could go to the Customer Sevices counter on a one time only basis for permission to shop before 12pm. Went in to find a queue of around 25 folk waiting for ‘the white smoke’. Decided not to join the peasants in the queue but dumped the trolley to have a wee look around and take in all the ‘privileged’ corporate and small business members filling their trolleys. As far as I could see, the vast majority of shoppers were Joe Bloggs individual customers like myself. I can’t really understand why they’ve gone down this road.
Ok, fair enough, but I would have thought that, given the needs and expectation of Business members, I would have expected the place to be full of them, but I would hazard a guess that 95% of the customers at 10.15am were individual members who presumably had to stand in an enormous queue for a long time. Bottom line is that I now know that it’s afternoon shopping only from now on. I hope their policy doesn’t apply to the petrol pumps. :rolleyes:
For as long as I can remember, Trade and Executive card holders were allowed in 2hrs before "individuals" during the week.
I actually upgraded to the individual executive card a few years back, it's an extra £40ish, I didn't do it for the extra hours (would never use them) but the 2% reward/cashback actually pays for my membership.
coincidently, they had a little pop-up stall in Livingston centre two weeks back, i got in to the costco near ikea a few times with my daughter a few years back when she was dating a dude in the army and borrowed his card, i was aware it was, imo, a bit elitist the criteria for membership so i thought i would enquire if it had changed, army was the one i recognised along with a few others but i'd already thought nothing had changed so i just politely departed, i think it costs a few quid even just for the little pop-up stalls in the centre so i wonder if they got enough new members to make it worthwhile, any other time i passed they were just talking to themselves.
Six by Nico and everything related to it. Make it go away.