Its a pity the 100 MPH gales did'nt venture a bit further north. That stand would look superb without its roof.
Printable View
Its a pity the 100 MPH gales did'nt venture a bit further north. That stand would look superb without its roof.
Maybe the first stand definitely not the second. Mercer was going thro his separate trades stage at that time and getting things built on the cheap. Main issue was getting an acceptable warranty to satisfy the lender as there was no single point of responsibility. I was pretty sure he did the first stand that way as well but you are as likely to be correct as it is a good few years ago.
Although that document was clearly caged to try and convince the mutants that Murrayfield could work, the paragraph on the main stand is incredible.
Structurally unsound, asbestos roof in a state of disrepair (as if netting is a suitable mitigation for asbestos risk!), non-compliant access and egress, made of wood. The stand is - without even exaggerating - a disaster waiting to happen.
I remember being in it for the semi in 2007 and being shocked at how terrible it was. I doubt much has been spent in the way of maintenance since.
The netting is to keep the pigeons IN. It's only the bird **** keeping the roof together.
In BDO's report expenditure report insurance costs for the first 6 months of administration were £ 15,439.00 .
I would guess that would only cover public liability and staff accidental injuries. Don't think they can get/considerate it worth it to insure the Wonga Dome.
The creditors list does not seem to have an insurance company named either. Paid up front or un-insured :confused:
No matter how this pans out, the next generation of yams will blame their Uncledaddies for the mess they're in.
To those that remember watching events unfold at Bradford, 29 years ago. Paper rubbish under the stand, a discarded fag....
http://bradfordcityfire.co.uk/
In The Football Grounds Of England And Wales published in 1983, in the section on Bradford City, the author Simon Inglis wrote "Underneath the seats are flaps which open to reveal piles of accumulated litter" The fire occurred about 2 years later on 11 May 85.
The problems at Valley Parade prior to the fire seem to mirror many of those now at Tynecastle. And Hearts have had a 10 year warning of impending disaster but seem to be totally unconcerned!
I don't think they are unconcerned, they just can't afford to do anything about it. I'm pretty sure their plans for a 400,000 seater multi purpose superdome was all smoke. I think it was a matter of spend £5-10m they didn't have on a new stand or draw up plans for a new stand to keep the health and safety people off their backs.
Exactly.
This has been the excuse for about the last 6 years.
" Why make us spend money bringing the old stand up to safety standard when we are going to pull it down as soon as you give us planning permission for a new stand ".
The million pound plus the imbeciles spent on design fees for a pie-in-the-sky mega stand could have given the pre-war relic another 20 years of use.
The upper part of the stand, the bit with the wooden deck should be closed when the season finishes as a minimum requirement.
These chumps have a simple choice. act like a rationale, well run club and pgrade the infrastructure to make it safe, comfortable and 21st century, or put every penny they steal into players they can't afford so they can beat the Hibs. No contest.
Tough year ahead for the Yams with no Hibs glamour game to look forward to :greengrin
I was last in main stand for a game vs them in the 90's. I was horrified at the conditions, particularly as people were smoking in the toilets. I've refused to go there ever since & also barred my family from going to that stand. It really should be shut down now.
Did they actually spend one million on design fees or did they string along the Architect with promises of the commission once the stand received planning permission?
Either way, spending a million on the old stand would do little to solve the safety issues. A ball and chain is the only way to deal with that!
STV news...
Gary Locke calls out prospective Hearts owner on her plans for the club.
Clever boy, hound your only real backer even before the 'rubber stamp' makes its appearance. And I thought it was the biggest supporter movement in history, not the Anne Budge show?
Update coming up apparently. Bet it's pish :wink:
Here's the FOH response
http://progress-sc.com/wp-content/up...ruary-2014.pdf
£6m debt after admin? Better than we hoped. :-)
It is vital that supporters understand that is likely £6m needs to be raised over a five year period ?
I'm assuming the £6m figure is the running costs plus bidcos money
"BBC Scotland can reveal"
Raising £6m while rebuilding an entire squad, at least 1 season in the championship and also needing a new main stand. Aye nae bother.