Halloween.
The waste, the costumes, the tackiness, the “trick or treat” nonsense.
We used to do songs/shows/performances for our bounty when I was wee, now the kids just appear and expect.
Printable View
Halloween.
The waste, the costumes, the tackiness, the “trick or treat” nonsense.
We used to do songs/shows/performances for our bounty when I was wee, now the kids just appear and expect.
Same at mine.
My daughter was out with her pals and they all had a knock knock joke or similar. Door went a few times and I quite enjoyed seeing all the bairns in their costumes and dishing out the sweets.
Was glad to get out at 7 to go to the football right enough.
This "baller" nonsense that is beginning to rear it's ugly head on The Main Forum, really gets on my bosoms.
People who tell you that they don’t like a particular food, when you ask if they have actually ever tried it, they answer no!
Folk posting screenshots from phones without cropping the massive black bars.
The terrible jokes and forced laughing on STV News at Six between I'm John MacKay in Glasgow and I'm Kelly Anne Woodland in Edinburgh.
Online shopping when you click on something and a wee box pops in front of the picture saying 48 people are currently looking at this item then another below saying 23 people currently have this item in their basket. We'll done them! I don't care! I'd like to see the picture without having to click wee crosses thanks. Then one pops up asking you to sign up to the newsletter for a discount.
People who start a sentence, get half way through, then start talking about something else.
Just finish your bl**dy sentence!
Try working in fraud and trying to to tell these imbeciles that they have clicked on a link that offers them a free trial for a voucher website ( I think it’s vouchers but as I’ve never signed up for it I don’t know) It gives them a free trial of 3 days then starts to charge them £15 a month. I get people reporting this as fraud when it’s been coming out of their account for years
Do you now need to have a twitter account to view tweets? I’ve never been on twitter but could see posts when they are put up on here. Not recently though, now tweets don’t show 🤷*♂️
The cyclist in atholl road, Pitlochry yesterday who thought he didn't have to stop at a red light on a pedestrian crossing. Kept on coming as I was half way across. He's the one who took exception to me holding my arm out and cycling straight into the bag I was carrying full of empty egg cartons. Jumped off and came after me, threatening to call the police. Told him to go ahead as there were dozens of witnesses. What a prick!
Not really a peeve as such as I'm sure there is a reason for it but the price of fish and chips in Scotland compared to England.
I was down south a couple of weeks ago. Had fish and chips with bread and butter and a cup of tea for £8.20. There was a sign on the wall stating the variety of potatoes and where they had been grown and also what fish was available and when and where it had been caught. If they were telling the truth then it was very fresh. Portion was huge and it was more than decent.
Last night I stopped for a fish supper on the way home at my local chippy. £11.50 for a pretty measly bit of fish and a portion of chips that were well past their best. No bread and butter or tea obviously.
I know times are tough for restaurants and take aways but there's a tipping point and I'm close to it now.
Oh and wee fuds in balaclavas firing rockets all over the shop and basically turning the area into a no go zone for a decent chunk of the local populace who will be scared of them.
Totally agree - took the bairn out to see some fireworks as she was desperate to see some, watched a bunch of adolescent idiots firing rockets tv straight out of their hands (couldn’t tell if they had something to protect their hands as it was pitch black and about 70-80 yards away). Some of them were flying all over the place, and could easily have maimed them or someone else
I feel bad for takeaway owners just now, the cost of everything is much higher, and equally that’s the same for the customers, who have seen such a large increase for the cost of a meal, plus their own cost of living challenges, will see a fair amount of these businesses closing for good sadly. We’ve certainly noticed the costs of these going up, a Chinese that not long ago would have cost around £8-9, is now costing £14.50+.
Fireworks are dangerous items. They should not be on sale to the public. They create fear among the elderly, the isolated and their pets.
That's not good, is it?
I don't think this is really a Scotland vs England thing, I think there's just a lot of regional variation. Where I live (south-east England, miles from the sea) the basic choice for a fish supper is moderately priced and crap or expensive and mediocre. Other places I've been in England (e.g. Hull, where tbf you'd expect them to be better at fish) are more like you describe, not too expensive and brilliant. There must still be places in Scotland where you can get good fish and chips for a reasonable price.
Why throw bricks at firemen? It's like attacking the bloke who comes to service your gas boiler.
'It's cause they are just working class lads from a scheme' seems to be the excuse of choice on social media today. Piss poor attitude imo, painting people from schemes as numbskulls who don't know any better.
I was brought up in a scheme, I bring my own bairns up about 5 minutes walk from where all that pish was going on last night and I know better than to fire fireworks at cars or peoples houses or to throw bricks at fire engines and I'll make ****ing sure my bairns do as well.
I see how crap things are in Niddrie, I see how much strain council cuts have put on people in the area and I see real poverty as well. I also see the low level intimidation some residents suffer at the hands of the police. It's an area that has suffered more than most from successive policy failures but you can't just say that excuses nonsense like last night. It was organised by adults and the vast majority of residents are better and smarter than that and shouldn't be tarred with the same brush.
The talk on the radio was that the youtz were encouraged by adults. Which kin dog makes you think it's a bit of "keep the polis busy over there while we do some stuff over here"
This phenomenon (attacking the emergency services) is quite easily the most idiotic thing in present day UK.
My first job after Uni was in Kirkcaldy, about 20 odd years ago. I remember being told that at that time there were 3 streets in Kirkcaldy where the emergency services weren’t able to attend without a police escort.
So not exactly a modern phenomenon but an absolutely idiotic one nonetheless.
Farm Foods mate, where former Marshall Arms was
https://news.stv.tv/east-central/twelve-arrested-as-emergency-services-attacked-with-fireworks-petrol-bombs-and-bricks-on-bonfire-night
In the Niddrie area of the city, an officer sustained a minor cut to their lip after bricks were thrown at a police vehicle which resulted in a smashed window.
A Farmfoods store in the area was also targeted, with windows smashed and items strewn across the shop floor.
Here's the front page of today's Evening News. Looks awful doesn't it? It is awful, but it's not Edinburgh. This photo is from riots in Kyiv in 2014. The Evening News should be fined for this front page.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F-ZtNyKW...jpg&name=large
https://x.com/edinburghpaper/status/...188730951?s=20
Apology posted at 1:48pm. How long has the paper been on sale for and how long has there been discussion online about the picture?Quote:
The image used on the front page of today's Edinburgh Evening News to illustrate disturbances in Niddrie was not taken locally. A picture from our files was mistakenly used. We apologise for our error.
I give them no credit for that at all. This was a huge photo splash on the front page. There's no way that went out without someone saying,"hey are we sure that photo is from Niddrie, it doesn't look like it?". They all knew what they were doing. The apology cuts no ice whatsoever. The editor should resign or be sacked. Anyone else with oversight should resign.
People who stand waiting at a pedestrian crossing without pressing the button 😡. You turn up see everyone waiting, press the button yourself and the lights then change to red allowing you and the other clueless ******* to cross the road!
After the carry on with fireworks and petrol bombs in Niddrie on bonfire night more aggro from the little ****ing tramps tonight with bus windows getting smashed on Niddrie Mains Road and buses once again having to be diverted 🤬
I agree with you entirely, but I wonder why someone allowed this to be printed. The cynical side of me says that it was a deliberate act by a disgruntled employee.
The fact it took so long to correct it makes me think it needed a head office decision, rather than local.
The News has had so many editorial changes in recent years that I am not really surprised anymore.
There's too many stages of producing a front page for it be anything other than an attempt at producing "shock" from their readership.
How could it be an "error" or an individuals mistake when it goes through sub-editors, editors and the main editor of the newspaper?
A ten year old stock photo which has to be paid for suddenly ends up there by mistake? No chance.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Those new illuminated displays at Edinburgh bus stops showing arrival times, supposedly. Unreliable.
You're better sticking to the My Bus Edinburgh app.
I got on a 31 today and told the driver "According to the arrivals board you don't exist". He'd heard that one before.
On the theme of buses who thought it was a good idea to have the open end of the bus shelters on Princes Street facing away from the road?
No idea how long they have been like that as this weekend is the first time I have been there since pre COVID but it doesn't make sense. With the big advertising displays on the side and the open end facing inwards you can't see approaching traffic, including buses.
Gives me the fear - i once approached a crossing on the Slateford Road, pressed the button, and the woman already waiting had a full-on, screaming meltdown. She suggested, amongst other thigs, that i was accusing her of having a learning disability and that i thought she was incompetent ... and why was i looking at her anyway. :paranoid:
The second I saw that this morning I had a feeling it wasn’t Niddrie in the picture. Look at how the guy is dressed, look at the road markings, look at how light it is in the background ffs! How did they think they’d get away with this? Unbelievable.
Edit: was yesterday morning, I haven’t slept
The Evening News had already thrown in the towel as a proper newspaper. When they announced their revamp a few months ago the editor wrote that they could no longer keep up with online media and 24 news and that The Edinburgh Evening News would henceforth publish mainly reaction and background to local and national events. Since then the paper has become like a magazine with dozens more pictures, particularly library pix of days gone by. This latest front page farrago is a disgrace.
It's outrageous that a city with the prestige, culture and history of Edinburgh has no proper local paper.
Perthshire Advertiser owned by Reach plc who announced a further round of mass redundancies only yesterday, with 450 more jobs to go, "significant change" and the closure of some news websites.
Dundee Courier owned by DC Thomson who reduced their workforce by a fifth (300 jobs gone) earlier this year.
The weather map on reporting Scotland!
How many times do they have Dunkeld east of Blair atholl in the glen tilt area 🙄
The Council have apologised for the arrivals boards at Edinburgh bus stops which forms my current pet peeve.
The old boards were OK most of the time so they had to spend £2.9m replacing them.
Another peeve.
I play a few simple games on my iPad, solitaire, sudoku etc. These are always being interrupted by adverts popping up while you are playing, don’t mind too much when they are short but there are some that no matter how many times you hit the X to skip or close the ad it continues to play. Usually accompanied by annoying jingles.
The app wasn't great on Saturday. I was late to the match as the trams were cancelled due to the Palestine protest. The app was still showing trams running. When trying to get the bus, the app was generally reflecting what the trackers at the stops were saying - both of which were a load of nonsense. It would say a bus was due, would count down to 2 mins, then suddenly disappear... no sign of a bus. Eventually a bus came despite the app showing it wasn't due for another 10 mins!
The LED street lights may be more efficient but I think everything looks dull and dingy. I don’t feel safe out walking at night with them.
Yeah they're not my favourite either, you used to get a wee clue when arriving at a junction that a car was approaching from the side as you could see the glow of the lights, now the street lights are the same colour so you don't get that early heads up... really minor issue but every edge you get to be safe is always a help :-)
International weekends :yawn:
Dab radio stations switching to dab+ a few stations I listen to have gone and my radios aren't that old.
Kids tv shows. My daughter is about to turn 5 and watches a fair amount of garbage. That’s fine, but there’s a whole lot of shows that teach the worst kind of behaviour. The likes of Barbie is guff but fine, then there’s loads out there like LOL dolls where it’s a kids show but they are horrible and b****y to each other. My daughters attitude and behaviour visibly deteriorates after watching those kind of shows.
It’s difficult to always police as they are deemed appropriate on a kids profile. Why are shows that teach bad lessons and affect behaviours allowed? Or am I just old and grumpy now?
On the plus side, been enjoying watching some retro cartoons with her from my childhood. Danger Mouse, He-Man, Ghostbusters etc.
The amount of screen time that parents allow their kids to have. I know times have changed but letting your child spend every single free minute they have, in front of a screen is ridiculous in my opinion. Not aimed at the above post by the way, just something I have noticed and been told by friends and colleagues with young children.
Christmas adverts on tv, so nippy
Bah ****ing humbug 🤬
Probably going to upset the cyclists, but the use of the word set with everything connected to bicycles, chainset, wheelset, crankset, gearset. It seems that every component on a bicycle is now a set, load of old tosh.
YODEL! Ordered a Christmas present for a grandson from VERY, good price and no complaints about them.
Message from YODEL on Monday at 1am saying they have it. Checked the link yesterday and showing not yet out for delivery.
Found it at the front door at 8am this morning, message sent to me at 6:30am saying it had been delivered. They did not follow my instructions on where to leave it, so in full view of the street.
I accepted their offer to do the survey on the delivery, including agreement to publish my reply. I'm sure they will.
Dreams.
I had a dream about some neighbours last night... no, not like that. They were being absolute a-holes in it. Now that I've woken up, I dislike these neighbours even though I have absolutely no reason to. They weren't even the neighbours who are actually a-holes who walk through our garden as a shortcut and let their kids play football in our garden / against our car or the woman behind us who has a really annoying voice. So now I dislike or am annoyed by most of the neighbours, most of which I have no real reason to as it was a dream!
People who dont bury the hatchet and move on, erseholes
I let on to my neighbours new partner one morning whilst I was the back garden (he is early 60s) he totally blanked me, same again following morning, ****ing ignorant fat *******, I told him to go **** himself 🤬
Yodel are particularly guilty of leaving parcels at the front door even after acknowledging your request for a safe place. A lot of their drivers are lazy barstewards. I once had a case of wine delivered on a Friday, while I was away for the weekend. It was on the doorstep when I got back at Monday lunchtime. The box was soggy with rain but fortunately the wine was unscathed.
I don't think it's the individual drivers.
Every delivery company, with the possible exception of royal mail, is the same. They clearly overload the drivers with work and make it impossible for them to competently deliver the items due to the huge number of drops they expect them to do.
I wouldn't be too harsh on the individual drivers just trying to make a living but more so the penny penching and greedy businesses behind them.
I really can't be bothered with stuff like that. If there is an issue then I'd rather just thrash it out and move on as opposed to these people who go in a huff, make snide remarks or talk behind peoples backs. I've always tried to be big enough to both apologise and to accept an apology.
I had a run in with a guy at work a couple of years ago. It was at the tail end of covid lockdowns when tensions were running high in our industry with redundancies all over the place and a near collapse of the supply chain. There was fault on both sides and it was festering so I asked him for a word, apologised for what happened and the fault on my part in it. He was pretty ungracious about it. I got married a few months later and invited everyone in work along to the evening reception as we are a small workplace, he was invited. Of all the people in the building he was the only one not to come and he didn't even acknowledge the invite or send a rejection. 2 and a half years later and he still won't say a word to me and skulks about avoiding me. I can barely even remember the details of what the argument was about.
I just don't get how people have the energy to hold these types of grudges or to get so worked up by another person. I just can't be bothered with it. I say morning when I see him, if I have to go to his department and he's the only one there I relay information to him and so on. I actually think that is what annoys him now, he wants another bust up and if I keep being nice to him then he won't get it but he's too proud to back down and lose face (lose face in his own head that is, I don't give a ****).