:agree: Tell that to the kids today and they won't believe you.
(source: The 4 Yorkshiremen)
Printable View
People making up their own 'traditions'.
Not content with destroying the face of the Greyfriars Bobby statue it now seems rubbing the toe of David Hume is also a 'tradition' and lo and behold the whole foot has become discoloured.
I've lived in Edinburgh almost my whole life and had never heard of this nonsense until the effects of what is essentially vandalism became apparent.
Probably already been touched upon in this thread, but nuisance calls seem to be as plentiful as ever, despite laws being introduced. For example, I read that companies, who cold call, now have to reveal their phone number. Some get round this by somehow transferring their number to a local number that tricks you into thinking it's an important call. Some companies appear as International on the display, but it turns out to be a wee lassie from Liverpool.
Obvious spelling mistakes in thread titles on the MB not being corrected
Social media videos proclaiming to show events that they clearly are not with the intention of causing racial tension. No different to 1930's Nazi propaganda.
Get one of these and say goodbye to nuisance calls.
http://home.bt.com/news/bt-life/putt...11363934197581
I've heard of this phone and might go for it.
While I get seriously peed off with these calls, I find some of them quite funny. On one occasion when I didn't tell the caller to f-off, I let him continue. This Asian voice told me that the warranty on my telly was about to expire. Which telly is that, I asked. Silence, then, ....... Ah, the one in your living room. What make of telly is it, I asked .... Longer silence, then, ......... Eh, Zanussi! ...... f-off ya muppet! :greengrin
The wee knobbly bit at the end of a banana.
I quite like talking to these people and winding them up.
If I have time and in the mood I do too, especially the ones who call with a distinctly sub-continent accent saying "Hello my name is Philip Smith calling from Windows". I'm either "Whit's wrang wi' ma windaes like - P+D an' that ken - all guid" or adopting a role as a southern Baptist Preacher claiming I will only deal with people who are saved and have been born again to Jee-sus. Ive had one pray with me, where we together requested of the almighty the good health of the sainted Franck and that the chirch of Hibernian thrives. He eventually left the call telling me to f*** off and, a bit oddly, that all my electricity would fail within three days.
The wee fannies who stay near me, that think it's perfectly acceptable to play football on the field outside my bedroom at half past midnight. Now can't sleep because I got so worked up banging the window in a fit of rage telling them to **** off.
Spellcheck.
I spend more time changing words that have been changed automatically by spellcheck than the time I take to correct the words I actually spell wrong.
The sicko that invented spellcheck must be the same guy that invented automatic indentation and numbering.
He's a dead man if I ever find him.
Tourists who have no perception of pavement/road/danger/traffic :grr:
fruit flies.
Groups of 3-4 people walking along side-by-side, slow as ****, forcing me to walk around them. Or people standing in groups in busy streets. Generally just people being lacking self awareness and being obstructive does my nut in.
The tit that was eating a bowl of cereal while he was walking down the road this morning.
Bellends who think it's acceptable in a public park (literally 100 yards away from a public golf course) to hammer golf balls into the area you're walking your dog in.
3 balls landed about 6ft away from me and the dug.
Fannies.
What you have to remember is that, for a Brit, it's common for us to go abroad and be aware of the change in traffic directions. It's rare for us to travel and NOT have that to deal with.
For most nationalities, though, driving on the left is a very unusual experience... and it's very easy to forget about it if it's the first time you've experienced it.
I still do it all the time when abroad, it's just a natural reaction to look a certain way when crossing the road. Thankfully most tourists resorts have zebra crossing style systems at most junctions for idiots like me.:greengrin When in a foreign city, I just make sure to cross at proper crossings.
The Olympic running track being blue. Just no need.
Folk that sit on the outside seat on the bus/train and leave the inside seat empty, weirdos!
People that can't cut a block of cheese, you know what I mean, you go to the fridge and it like it's been attacked by a hedge strummer, seriously it's in a block, cut straight down and it's job done
Folk that always leave some beer in the bottom of their pint glass and say they never drink the last bit WTF is that about?
This ever-growing obsession about selling out our end, home or away.
UK petrol pumps. Why doesn't the wee latch that keeps the pump running without you having to continuously press the trigger work?
Really tall people who stand at the front at gigs.
All of this "up top" p$$h that commentators keep using! When did it change from up front?
Defenders at the back and forwards up front, simple!
Leaves in curry.
The one remote control that always has a missing battery cover.
Every time I pick it up I have to then search for the batteries.
Edinburgh trams ringing their bell every 2 seconds for absolutely no reason, when there is no-one anywhere near it.
Adverts for Love Honey during Live at the Apollo while I'm sitting watching with the kids .
Deary me
BMW drivers. ****ers
You've not been to the right places. :greengrin Here you go :
http://www.saveur.com/article/recipe...grated-coconut
Waking up at the crack of dawn on a Saturday morning, when I feel like I could happily sleep until noon during the week when the alarm goes off for work.
When you order a round and the bar person pours the Guinness last.
Headphones that leak noise, no excuse for it in this day and age.
Guy across from me on the bus has ACDC blaring out. It must be close to deafening him because I can hear every word.
Charities to whom you already pay a monthly donation, sending letters and phoning constantly asking for you to increase your donation. Just makes me want to cancel it altogether.
People that order tea or coffee in a boozer, I wouldnae go to Starbucks if I fancied a pint!
People who pay by credit card in the taxi. Do these people realise that it takes up to a month for me to get paid for these jobs? No where in the world would a business man be made to wait that length of time.
Posts that come across way more smart arse than you meant them to.
People should take this in the sprit that's it's intended as this isn't a "serious" thread. Of course cab drivers welcome payment in any form and happily to boot...but one month is one hell of a wait. That's a huge contrast to the instant payment that you receive with cash.
One of the black cabs main competitors, Uber, tries to hammer home a laughable message that they are new technology while blacks are old school and inferior. I try to encourage credit card use as contactless payment is as easy as PayPal and every "modern" transaction helps to cut through their lies and slowly make people realise that the only "old tech" in a black cab is the compulsory capping of fares so you don't get ripped off.
:taxi
You're correct and I generally don't mind, but on Thursday I was working and it was after 21:00 before I got a cash job. I'd payed out £10.80 in airport fees and guy handed me a £50 note for a fare that was under £10. I had to go to the bank to get some money out :greengrin. City cabs have brought in a new system for their app, where you can store your card details so you don't have to have your card with you when you get a taxi. This is a good idea, but the problem is that city cabs take so long to pay the money to me. If I get one of these jobs at the start of the month, I don't get paid until the 20th of the next month. I didn't even have enough to put an accumulator on the football on Thursday, it ruined my night :greengrin.
Why are you going near the airport during the festival? :greengrin:
That's a great feature for the app and to the customer, it puts you on a technological par with the cockroaches that use PayPal. That months wait is a bugger though but it might just have to be a necessary evil that will be made up by more reliable customers that like the app and way of paying.
Cash is king but at least you're getting it mate.