If they run him in the Arc he might even be as good as Sea The Stars.
Printable View
If they run him in the Arc he might even be as good as Sea The Stars.
Well that's the Arc over for another year. Alpinista won by half a length. Well done to the horse and anyone that backed him, but I'm not and never have been a fan of the trainer who's an outspoken supporter of hare coursing, hunting, bullfighting and cockfighting. But the horse has done nothing wrong, and has amassed a number of wins at the highest level. I think it went off at about 7/2 unless you took an early price.
Aw naw, you hate to see it
https://youtu.be/ySxN9OABSTk
Some big announcements over the last couple of days with Davy Russell retiring with immediate effect and Frankie Dettori set to retire at the end of the 2023 flat season.
Just back from Leopardstown festival, what a great weekend.
Way cheaper than expected (€6 a pint). Weekend ticket cost €35, purchasing at early bird stage. Transport to and from city centre and airport bang on. Queues looked big on face of it, but went down rapid. 15k there the Sat, 21k the Sun. Lovely course and great racing. People couldn’t have been friendlier and do enough for you.
Comparing that to Cheltenham where prices are higher, ball ache to get to, horrendous queues and pints restricted to certain areas I can’t see me being back there in a hurry.
Luckily avoided bets on Blue Lord, Lossie and Vega. Mighty Potter, Gaelic Warrior and Fun Fun Fun left the weekend profitable, along with a silly pick on The Goffer at 25/1 on Sat morning before it won at 10/1 yesterday.
The atmosphere when Rachel rode down to the start on Honeysuckle was electric. Some comedy shortly after with Stateman getting booed🤣.
Wouldn’t write off Vega/Lossie in their next races. You’ll get good value now.
Can’t see past GDC in Cheltenham GC now.
As one of the Mullins connections said at the course yesterday, the Leopardstown festival is no longer a Cheltenham warm up. It’s a fantastic festival in it’s own right.
I thought Facile Vega's run was just odd. Set off at a lightning pace and ended up in a duel for the lead. No way he was seeing that out and Paul Townend knew it, barely asked the horse for anything down the straight.
State Man v Constitution Hill should be a good race at Cheltenham albeit I think the latter will be a good bit too strong.
Must try Leopardstown. I've been to Punchestown and Fairyhouse but it's one that's missing from my CV.
Clan Des Obeaux retired from racing. Very good horse.
Tremendous days racing ahead to kick off the grand national meeting, pity Bravemansgame is a non-runner.
Got as treble and a double today:
1.45 - Stage Star
2.55 - Ahoy Senor
3.30 - Constitution Hill
and
4.05 - Dento des Obeaux
4.40 - Douglas Talking
What a result for Martin Brassil in the Punchestown Gold Cup. He'd had 7 winners under rules all season until today then sends out Fastorslow to turn over Galopin Des Champs and Bravemansgame.
Gambling review announcement.
https://www.racingpost.com/news/gamb...-atlTq9I4o0FE/
I don't bet online at all. Largely as a control mechanism, if I bet in a shop it's real cash which can sometimes be lost online.
I'm assuming this will lead to everyone having to sign up to one of the loyalty cards so the bookies can keep track of your spend and intervene when required? Such checks seem easy enough online but in a shop or a betting ring I can't see how it's enforceable without such a system to track every bet placed by every punter.
Congrats to anybody who bet Mostadhaf (10/1) in the Prince of Wales at Royal Ascot, scooted up comfortably against a good field. But to put it into perspective, Equinox absolutely hammered him and everybody else in Dubai the race bfore that.
Whats Musselburgh races like? Im not a great race fan i must admit but probably do a meet once every 2 or 3 years. Was thinking of combining it over a long weekend with a visit to Easter Road.
Any tips for Musselburgh tomorrow?
Largely depends on the day you go.
New Year's Day and Ladies Day tend to be a non racing crowd and are pretty overcrowded and there are always a few drunken bams determined to spoil it. Same is somewhat true of the Edinburgh Cup day.
Cheltenham Trials is a good weekend. Knowledgeable racing crowds and the likes of Nicky Henderson and Paul Nicholls usually send a few horses up. On the flat the Scottish Sprint Cup is a good day as is the Queen's Cup early in the season.
On the whole the facilities are decent. Plenty bars and bookies with pop up food vans and bars supplementing the fixed facilities.
Should add that Shaquille's run yesterday in the Commonwealth Cup was incredible. Missed the break by rearing up in the stalls, pulled hard yet somehow managed to get past Little Big Bear the odds-on favourite. Will be interesting to see how the horse fares next time although it was a pretty average field.
Quite an emotional read. 😢
https://www.racingpost.com/news/feat...y-aiRw68S2OdQr
That seemed to be a thoroughly impressive performance from Jasour in The July Stakes, Crowley was happy to sit in last place, he even took a pull coming out the stalls, and then swept through the field with the minimum of effort. One to keep an eye on methinks.
Field reduced to 34 for 2024 Grand National, starting line moved, standing start and time brought forward. Seems sensible.
150/1 & 125/1 winners at Lingfield today, mental! 😳
What are people fancying for The King George next month, the weekends results have certainly muddied the waters a tad.
I don't think I could have Bravemansgame at 11/4 after his first couple of runs this season.
Money has piled on Allaho over the last couple of days.
I quite like Gerri Colombe even at the price. Elliot seems to be suggesting it's a real possibility he comes over for it.
He's really done everything asked of him so far. Only one blip on his record and that was a staying on 2nd at Cheltenham when he would have got up with another few yards. He's stayed 3+ miles at Cheltenham and won at a faster, tighter track at Aintree and over a sharp 2m4f at Sandown. Seems to go both left and right handed as well.
It's pretty wide open though and there are plenty questions about almost all the entries.
Did anyone else see Henry Brooke's interview after he won on White Rhino? It would've brought a tear to a glass eye. His horse (Gesskille) had to be put down after sustaining an injury in the previous race. It's a tough old game.
Seems that way.
Tbh I don't blame Elliot for running him in the Savill's at Leopardstown if the ground there is more suitable. He's proven on good to soft or better. No point in having him travel only to be a non runner due to the ground if there is a comparable Grade 1 race at home for him to run in. He should get his preferred ground at Cheltenham.
Will shishkin backers ever get a break? Done me for 2.5k today 😩
Il Est Francais was unbelievable.
I wonder where they go next with him. He took to 3 miles easily.
I wonder if there is a temptation to aim him at the Denman Chase at Newbury and if he does well there to have a shot at the Gold Cup? That was the route Coneygree took when he won the GC as a novice. It's easy to get carried away but that was awesome yesterday.
Very impressive from Galopin Des Champs.
I was all over him from early doors for the GC last year and got some half decent prices. Won't get anything like that again this year but I don't see many reasons why he shouldn't win again. Best priced 11/8 currently.
Has anyone else seen the altercation between Patrick and Danny Mullins at Limerick today?
Patrick won the race but immediately after the line there was a bit of finger pointing and a clear disagreement. Post race PM was asked about it and said:
"I tried to drop my lad, get him back a bit and get a breather into him. I told Danny going out that there will be a gap down my inside at the second-last, do not come for it. He hasn't listened to me. Luckily he hasn't got the two of us beat, but it didn't matter."
That seems more than a bit dodgy to me. A horse in the colours of one of your flasghip owners (Ricci) and his jockey telling another he isn't allowed to try and exploit a gap. The stewards certainly wanted an explanation and were dissatisfied with the one given so have referred it for further investigation.
Incredible ride by Joe Anderson on Transmission at Plumpton today. Almost fell off after a mistake, unbelievable recovery to stay on, made it over 3 or 4 fences without his irons and managed to win. Well done son.
https://x.com/tonymullins84/status/1744007944688042163
Aye he looked bang on yesterday.
When Fastorslow came to challenge just after 2 out you thought he was maybe in a bit trouble but when Townend closed the door on the gap it was game over. He's not a particularly flashy sort but he's the type I like because he just knows his job. An inch of rein let out and the jockey getting a wee bit lower in the saddle and he was away. Won comfortably being ridden out with hands and heels. He's undoubtedly the one to beat in March.
State Man just took good in the Irish Champion Hurdle.
Nicholls and Cobden 3 from 3 at Musselburgh today and will fancy their chances in the next as well. Having a wee dabble at 9/1.
Not even close, all but pulled up.
Getagin broke down on the line in the last race when winning ,horrible sight.
Awful news from Charing Point to point today as well. Jockey Keagan Kirkby, who rode for Paul Nicholls, was killed after his horse ran through the wing of a fence. 25 years old.
It's a really difficult sport to love sometimes.
According to The Racing Post Constitution Hill is a major doubt for the Champion Hurdle.
State Man now 2/1 on for the Champion Hurdle. Lossiemouth at 4/1 and Irish Point at 5/1.
Constitution Hill between 8/11 and 4/5 pretty much across the board. Couple of the exchanges you can get odds against at 21/10.
The market was suspended pretty quickly after news of the Kempton gallop broke whilst they sorted it out.
I was reading that Mark Bradstock has died aged only 66. For a guy who only ever had a dozen horses in training at a time he punched well above his weight.
He, along with Lord Oakesy, bred both Carruthers and Coneygree from a mare who cost just over £3000. The latter winning the Gold Cup as a novice.
Followed his stable with interest as a former work colleague had a connection and tipped me King Harald when it won the Jewson's at Cheltenham at a tasty price.
He trained more donkeys than good uns but for such a small outfit he had more than his fair share of high level wins.
To get Coneygree back after two serious injuries was a magnificent feat of nurtured caring training. I recall sitting with my stopwatch clocking the split times fence to fence in his Kauto Star win at Kempton (eased down), long before you got furlong split times on screen, and they compared more than favourably with the King George run over the exact same distance later in the day. Earmarked him then as a real GC contender and my pocket benefited as a result.
It would be a fairy tale if Mr Vango was to win the National Hunt Novices marathon at Cheltenham next Tuesday. Can't see it, although soft going might help and the racing game is rife with such fairy tales. I'll not be the only one having a few shillings on him each way in the hope of another one.
Lucky 15: State Man, Lossiemouth, Ballyburn, El Fabiolo.
Do I dare add Galopin Des Champs for the Lucky 31? Big outlay there.
There's nothing lucky about selecting such heavy odds-on favourites! But if you end up with a tidy sum riding on El Fab I hope he stands up for you. I read that Edwardstone is going to make it a fast run race. That will test El Fab's scratchy jumping especially if he is more used to the typical Irish race pattern of steadied pace then sprint from two out. I'd venture to suggest that in a fast run race at Cheltenham, he is longer odds than 1/2 to stay on his feet, never mind win. And given Jonbon's last outing, Edwardstone EW at 15/2 in an 8-runner field and places 1-2-3 is the best value bet .
Using one of the free bets on the Supreme Novices on Jeriko Du Reponet. Would be nice to see the Irish applecart being upset.
Nothing standing out apart from the obvious Lossiemouth and State Man tomorrow unless anyone has any tips :greengrin
Some good points there. Jonbon cost me a tidy sum accumulator in his last race. I will never forgive him. I think he was around 2/7 and by far the shortest price in the bet. I couldn’t believe it. I think/hope El Fabiolo’s class will tell, but you just never know in jump racing.
The Supreme Novice looks a cracking race to kick things off. EW only for me I think.
Any good tips for watching Cheltenham in City centre pubs? Prefer being able to hear commentary etc.
Nothing overly controversial from me today:
1.30 - Tullyhill
2.10 - Quilixios (looks a good price to me)
2.50 - Meetingofthewaters
Also a wee acca on the favs in the Grade 1s:
Mystical Power
Gaelic Warrior
State Man
Lossiemouth
Here's a cluedo for the Champion Hurdle.
Colonel Mustard - in the home straight - with a late run for a place.
Had 40 on state man @ev’s with 365 which went on to Lossiemouth 🤙
Good to see some bets coming up. I had Tullyhill EW in the Supreme. He just ran out of petrol in the heavy ground and was disappointing in the end. I had Trelawne EW in the Ultima, only for him to crash out at the second fence. Shame, he would have enjoyed the ground. So, I was £100 down.
My lucky 15 remains in play thanks to State Man and Lossiemouth. I’m really pleased for State Man, he’s a cracking horse; he’s just unlucky to be running at the same time as Constitution Hill. He deserves to be a champion. I also have an accumulator containing those two, so that’s still going. I will put on a few singles tomorrow.
Did anybody else think the Cheltenham atmosphere sounded flat on TV? The weather perhaps? It sounded quiet.
My boss was there in the Best Mate enclosure and after texting me 'I need help'😂 said he had a cracking day and it was 'jumping'. His first time there though so no idea if it was the usual jumping or a more subdued jumping. He's hospitality tomorrow so I think that might be a bit calmer.
I had a nightmare of a day today. Had Ndaawi each way as a bit of a saver but still down. Definitely going down next year, not been since 2020 and I'm so jealous watching on the box.
Not great yesterday only got Corbetts in the last who looked amazing. A couple today Built by Ballymore 250 and the Yellow Clay in bumper.
I'm sticking on the odds on treble:
1.30 - Ballyburn
2.10 - Fact to File
3.30 - El Fabiolo
I think there are more than a few interesting horses at prices today though.
1.30 - Jingko Blue - Stayed on well up the hill at Sandown last time and looks pretty unexposed.
2.10 - American Mike - A race often won by a tough horse rather than a flashy one. Goes well on soft/heavy and open to improvement
2.50 - Lucky Place - Ran well at Cheltenham in January and opening handicap mark seems fair
All of those 3 e/w.
I’ve taken those other three as winners betting without Ballyburn, Fact To File and Sa Majeste with Willy Hill’s free 5er bet. Not my money anyway, worth a punt. Put the odds on treble on yesterday night with my own money mind you[emoji1]
Same for me although I have my doubts if all 3 will come in. Had a good day yesterday.
Western Fold ew in the Coral Cup.
Took BetMGM's bet £10 get £60 in free bets offer. Their site was down almost all day yesterday which was a total farce but thankfully they've fixed it so money is in my bank already and no verification docs required....yet.
Wow!! What an animal that is!!
Now that is a Gold Cup horse in the making if ever I've seen one.
5/1 does look a bit silly mind you.
Well that's a blow.