I think they call these teasers.
If it's any consolation to you, this type of editing is 10 times worse in North America.
I just switch the tv off whenever they start that crap.
Printable View
Aggressive hard men when in groups.
Sensationalist 'interest' stories in crap papers:
'Doctor laughed seconds before he dismembered my son in error'. Usually accompanied by a picture with a picture tagline of 'knife: similar to the weapon used' and a further photo of a person either staring into space or randomly pointing.
Worse still, and Channel 4 are particularly guilty of this, is when you go for a 4 min ad break and they then give you a summary of what has happened so far at the beginning of the next part after the ads.
I assume it's for a generation with the attention span of a goldfish.
News reporters who say "try and" do something instead of "try to". I would have got my knuckles rapped for that in P6 but now it seems acceptable for the BBC Breakfast news to do it.
its mostly just filler/padding. Make a show last the full hour without there being anything like that in actual content. There's a lot of American shows that run for an hour over there, but are half an hour here, with chunks of 'recapping' and 'reminders' after each point that the Americans would have an ad break.
People walking across the road whilst talking on a phone paying no attention to traffic, then getting upset as I blow my horn and they ****** themselves. :-)
The big group of tourists that congregate on Waterloo Place every ****ing morning! They stand in a group on the corner which makes it difficult to actually walk past them without bumping into one of them or their massive rucksacks.
To elaborate on this, the ones who do as you say but from the other side of the road and do the fake job over the half of the road YOUR NOT ON then proceed to walk the rest of the way when you are on that side of the road.
I also had a group of wee neds walk out infont of my car, one of them trying to stare me out thiking he was hard or somthing by continuing to walk. I dipped the clutched and the wee guy shat himself then made some gesture, didnt quite catch it as I was laughing as i drove away
Posts with thread titles that give no indication of the content.
Threads titled "deary me", "I hate to say it but..." and "just a thought" can GTF.
People suddenly being on first name terms with Andy Murray during Wimbledon, despite not watching a second of tennis/sport the rest of the year.
Barkeeps that don't let me sing 'Stokesy's on Fire' in their pubs.
Sentences that begin with "I'm not going to lie..."
Young folk with no respect for the elderly.
Old folk with no respect for others just 'cos they're old.
The Rangers fans.
The Rangers 'fans'.
Onesies.
Check what bus you're meant to get, and how much it's going to cost, before you go out in the morning. It's early morning, obviously folk are trying to get to work, I don't need to be held up by ****ing idiots. Who doesn't have a phone with Internet nowadays? Look online, you'll find all the information you need, and you won't do my head in.
Parked car ahead blocking your lane,you see it well in advance,check your mirrors and indicate to come out. The erse behind, who in seeing you indicate and knowing you have plenty of room takes this as his cue to accelerate and block you in.
Sour pussed gits that wouldn't give you the time of day if you asked them because their grumpy on their way to work in the morning.
My Mrs told me she got on a bus this morning and some jakey got on trying to board with a voucher that he had rather than the fare, held the bus up for about 10 minutes while the driver checked. My Mrs started shouting at the jakey for delaying the bus and he got all defensive saying he had places to be too and that it was people like her who kept him poor. People like that...
People who look down on other people less fortunate than themselves .
I agree, and the reason you have to make this switch of lane is also my pet peeve.
Only this morning did a taxi stop not 15 yards in front of me, in the middle of the road and put his hazards on. when i passed him he was looking at the paper. Why do taxis think they can just stop anywhere? This was the middle of northumberland street, its narrow enough as it is.
And this is particularly bad outside the roxburgh at charlotte square. Every rush hour taxis and sometimes coaches sit and wait on the double lines outside causing the traffic to bottleneck. (im sure ive ranted about this already, but its worthy of a second)
The weirdos who decide to get the person at the till in a petrol station to go and make them a coffee and heat up a sausage roll when there is a queue.
Folk that get messages in petrol stations.
Are petrol stations now used as a drop off point for messages? Can you leave a note there for someone to collect or do you just tell the person at the till your message and they pass it on when the person it is intended for comes in. :greengrin Come on SG explain how this works I'm intrigued.
Jobsworth train guards who think they can speak to you like **** cos they have a wee ticket machine and a uniform. Pricks.
TV adverts that use puppets.
I'd not cry if the "creatives" that dream these monstrosities up are first against the wall.
Robert Peston and Norman Smith.
Peston talks like his batteries are running out and Smith looks like a light bulb with ears. Worse than that, they tell us stuff we already know and they both try to make their reports all about them rather than the story they're supposed to be reporting.
That bar named "Southpour" in Newington.
"Southpour"
Nah. It doesn't work.
If you were staying in the Roxburgh and you ordered a taxi where would you expect to be picked up? The nearest point. Where there isn't double yellow lines is a long way from the hotel. Sometimes you just have to accept that we live in a city that wasn't designed for modern day circumstances. It's the same all over the city centre, the old Waverley hotel is the worst imo. I always try to think that when I see people parked outside shops during the rush hour that they're spending money and keeping the local economy going. We all get where we're going eventually.
Peace
Taxi/Private Hire drivers who you have to navigate for.
Probably mentioned already but folk who can't work roundabouts. Either the lane is wrong or they have no idea when to indicate, if they bother at all. You even have some radges that don't even look and just go straight on to the roundabout whether something's coming or not.
Driving on a motorway, with a row/convoy of vehicles all in the inside lane in the distance. You slowly catch up, and as you get there, the last vehicle decides that's the time they're going to move out and overtake - you weren't fussed for the last 10 miles, why the **** did you have to go right at the moment I get there to overtake?!
similar theme, the car in the outside lane that races up to you, then sits on your shoulder making it impossible for you to move out and overtake !
People who tell you they are massive fans of something or someone, so out of interest you ask a few questions only to find they actually know nowt about it and even less than you do.
Hot air driers in public toilets that couldn't blow over a feather standing on its end far less dry your hands.
People of unremarkable intelligence who frequently state that they don't easily suffer fools.
You always catch out folk who like 'cool' bands with this. 3 questions is usually all it takes to suss them out.
On a vaguely related note folk you see wandering about in Ramones, Rolling Stones and Led Zeppelin T shirts who you just know couldn't name 2 albums between the 3 bands.
Yip makes my blood boil. Similarly, drivers who speed up to overtake you then slow down once they have. I use cruise control which keeps a constant speed and its like wacky races with these idiots.
People who don't use lanes correctly also get on my nerves. It's unbelievable how many people think that it's perfectly OK to sit in the middle lane for their entire journey regardless of what's going on around them. I'm not sure if it's ignorance or stupidity when they don't see the problems it can cause for other drivers.
Standard definition. Nae need these days.
Worse than that though are the fudwits who, as soon as they get to the carousel, stand as close as possible to it with their shins pressing against the side of the carousel so they don't miss their bag. This is usually about 60% of people getting off the plane, just enough to block off the whole carousel.
Usually they will stand there like plums doing hee haww for 15 minutes until the bags actually appear, at which point they somehow manage to huddle even closer. This means, that for the 40% who have stood back like everyone else should have, when your bag eventually makes its way round you have to battle your way through a rigid human wall of panicky, impatient, unaware of whats happening behind them dunderheids. :grr:
So when your bag does arrive, the best antidote to this ridiculous situation is to advance from your retreated position at great pace whilst screeching “Excuse Me, Excuse Me!” in a pitch as high as your voice will allow for, before briskly ploughing through anyone in your way and in one fluid movement lifting your case and swinging it forcefully backround yourself at head height in the hope of decapitating, or at the very least knocking unconscious one of these thoughtless dimwits.
If you are good, you can make the case land on its wheels and have the handle up and out in the one movement and elegantly glide off into the distance like Will Ferrell in Blades of Glory, leaving a shocked sea of bodies behind you to have a good think about things.
Folk (mainly tourists) who walk in front of your car like its not a problem then look at you as if you're the one in the wrong :grr:
A fly buzzing around in the room.
Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Oh sweet Jesus. People that don't know how to behave in airports. Bloody hell.
At security: "oh I need to remove my belt do I?"
"Yes I have various bottles of liquids all individually scattered around my luggage difficult to find spots. Oh, I need to have them in a separate bag do I? Well why didn't you say so then"
These imbeciles that get arsey when their 3 litres of paint stripper and 2 bottles of Glens voddie from ASDA aren't allowed through security??!!?!?!
And then people who have no ability to judge physical space and hold the whole boarding procedure up trying to ram their trolley case into a space just about big enough for a thimble at most.
Lorries overtaking other lorries.
My accidentally deleted post above was...
You get stuck behind a slowcoach doing 40 mph on an open road.
You eventually get a chance to overtake and zoom past.
You drive for a bit at 60mph, look in your rearview mirror and the slowcoach is right on your tail.
Wallies R Us.
:agree: In France, I'm sure it's banned on certain roads and it makes a huge difference to the flow of traffic.
Compare with today driving to Perth, sitting at 71mph and overtaking some slower cars, a lorry pulls out in front of the car ahead of me to overtake another lorry. Our speed had to come down to 40mph while the daft ******* inched slowly ahead of the other lorry, causing a queue of traffic waiting for him to move back in
I've been in the inside lane on the M8 when that's happened. Coming to a slight incline, the muppet in the lorry in front pulls out into a gap in the faster traffic but immediately slows down to about 40mh on the slope. Meanwhile I'm in the inside lane, unavoidably forced into overtaking on the inside, while the muppet toots his horn and flashes his lights for about quarter of a mile. It amazes me how many lorry drivers, who I always think of as good drivers, can't read road conditions.
In my experience many lorry drivers are far from good drivers. I've lost count the amount of times i've been sat in the middle lane before a lorry has dangerously pulled out in front of me, forcing me to quickly move to the outside lane without fully checking it's safe to do so.
:agree: I think they do it on purpose, just to be annoying.
a particularly bad spot is just after passing under the railway bridge just after newbridge heading west, it's about a 4 mile climb up a steady gradient, but it takes 10-15 minutes at times, whilst 2 lorries look like a snail race..
We drove down to the Lake District recently and were astounded at the cretinous way people drive. Tailgating in the fast lane at 70mph is more or less the norm. Don't these guys - and it's always guys - realise how insane that is?
Lane hogging is the one behaviour I really don't understand. The Edinburgh City bypass is brutal for lane hoggers who stubbornly refuse to pull over.
The outside lane is an overtaking lane, not a lane to coast along at 68mph with a string of cars behind you and an empty inside lane. If someone wants to pass at 75mph then pull over and let them past. Whilst the speed limit is 70, guidelines mean the Police would normally allow you to go up to 79 mph before you would be stopped for speeding.
Interestingly in the UK 3 times as many people get stopped by Police for lane hogging than tailgating.
The big problem as well with lane hogging is that it fuels tailgaiting :greengrin
I posted about lane hogging earlier in the thread too, and you're right there's no need for that either. Tailgating happens everywhere though, it's not just confined to the motorway. There is absolutely no need for it when driving at 30 mph (soon to be 20mph!) along a normal road in the town and it's just one of those things I can't understand in those circumstances.
Flute bands. There's one playing in the street next to mine just now, keeping my kids awake and doing my head in. It's their annual gala day apparently. ****ers.
Road rage.
Why doesn't anyone say anything about the numpties on the road that cause road rage.
Mr Average Driver doesn't get road rage without good reason :wink:
:tin hat::tin hat::tin hat::tin hat::tin hat::tin hat:
Drunks at 4am. If yeh cannae have a drink without acting like a wee lassie, then dinnae drink.
The to$$ers working on the school behind my hoose using power tools since 0800! Its sunday ffs
Vodafone
Just had a nice workman trying out his new pneumatic drill at five to eight this morning in the role of an unrequested alarm clock.
If I was a braver man I would have got up and hit his snooze button - hard. :take that
Any packaging that says "Pull or tear here" to open and when you do the tab just rips off or the plastic does not remove. This must be really awkward for elderly people/arthritic hands etc
People eating on TV. Especially when they go "mmmmmm that's great!" while eating.
I didn't pay my licence fee to watch folk filling their faces and talking while they do it.
Umbrellas, I've just walked home through what can't even be described as rain, more like mist, but everyone these days is scared of a wee bit water, means I'm having to dodge about like a ninja to avoid getting my eyes poked out by the spokes on these ****s brollies
Electronic hotel room keys that can't go near your mobile for fear of being locked out .
H0t3L W1fI Pa55W0rD5.
Hotel wifi in general.
People in a bus stop queue who get annoyed when I drive through a muckle big puddle and drench them.
FFS, wear a diving suit if it bothers you.
:troll:
When people call Dunfermline 'dunfy'
The different pronounciations of Dalziel & Menzies
Shopping for furniture/carpets/curtains. I love my wife very much but on these I. Just. Don't. Care.
:nerd: the z represents an obsolete letter known as a yogh, from older versions of English and Scots. Which looked like this: Ȝ - it apparently had variations of a y sound. With the onset of printing, and with early printing machinery not having that letter available, printers used z or y to replace it. In most cases, pronunciation eventually followed, but a few words retained their original pronunciation, such as Menzies and Dalziel and Culzean. MacKenzie used to be pronounced Mackenyey (or something like that).