Boooooooo why the wait?????
just finish them now!!!!!!!!
Printable View
I think somebody has probably already asked this, (and answered - please be patient with my slow-wittedness!) but if UBIG forgive all the debt now, and off-load them to some Gorgie newsagent for a tenner, can future administrators / liquidators object to that sale?
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-0...iles-away.html
Quote:
Failed Baltic Bank Raises Risk of Broken Hearts 1,000 Miles Away
Vladimir Romanov bought Heart of Midlothian eight years ago and promised to wipe out debt, replace its aging stadium and boost dwindling crowds.
After the collapse of the Lithuanian bank at the core of his business empire, Romanov is set to leave the Edinburghsoccer club as he found it: battling for survival. Regulators last month closed Ukio Bankas AB (UKB1L), which financed Romanov’s international sport, aluminum and real-estate projects.
“He had a lot of dreams, but his dreams never came true,”former Hearts team manager Csaba Laszlo said in an interview last week. “It’s not a nice story.”
Romanov, 65, first invested in Hearts in 2004, a year after Russian billionaire Roman Abramovich took control of Chelsea inLondon and spent millions on new players. While acknowledging he had a fraction of the wealth, Romanov, also Russian-born, similarly promised a rise through the ranks of soccer. Last year, Chelsea won the Champion’s League, the top trophy in European club football, as Hearts struggled to pay a tax bill.
Rather than become a new home fit for elite European competition, Hearts’s Tynecastle stadium in the west of the Scottish capital is pledged to Ukio as security for debts, as are the shares that give him control of the club.
Romanov, who first publicly mooted the sale of Hearts in November 2011, said his downfall was engineered by rival banks in conspiracy with Lithuanian authorities.
Destruction
“The goal of those who took my bank was not just to take the bank but to destroy all my business,” Romanov, who last year founded the Lithuanian People’s Party and won 0.25 percent of votes in a parliamentary election, said by phone on March 1.
The Bank of Lithuania suspended Ukio’s activities on Feb. 12 and permanently revoked its license a week later, saying risky loans to parties related to Romanov had driven the bank to insolvency. Romanov owns 64.9 percent of Ukio, filings show. Some of the loans went to Ukio Banko Investicine Grupe, or UBIG, through which he controls 79 percent of Hearts.
“There’s no conspiracy,” Raimondas Kuodis, deputy chairman of the Lithuanian central bank, said by telephone yesterday. “Such accusations are mere defense tactics. The bank simply had big negative capital and according to the law could no longer operate.”
It will be several months before Ukio’s eventual bankruptcy administrator might come calling on Hearts to pay back borrowing or forfeit its stadium, according to the lender’s temporary administrator, Adomas Audickas.
Tax Bill
Romanov said the club’s debt is about 20 million pounds, roughly what it was when he took over. Hearts sold shares last year to supporters to raise money for a tax bill and the prospectus put the debt at 24 million pounds, including 1.75 million pounds owed to the taxman. It said the club would face liquidation should UBIG demand repayment.
Hearts fans “certainly have time” to sort out club finances and seek a new savior, assuming cash flows suffice for player salaries and other obligations, Audickas said in a March 15 phone interview from Kaunas, where Ukio is based. A supporters group is in talks to acquire the club.
“If anyone wants to try to rescue the club, they should be talking with UBIG,” he said.
Hearts was founded in 1874, a year before Edinburgh rival Hibernian, and named after a dancing club in the city during the Victorian era. The team, which plays in maroon and white, last won the Scottish championship in 1960, a league that has been dominated by Glasgow clubs Rangers and Celtic.
Cup Victories
There was some success under Romanov. After building his stake in Hearts, he assumed its debt, 19.2 million pounds at the time, and looked into expanding the stadium or replacing it.
On the field, things started looking up during the first season of Romanov’s tenure. As Hearts won games, its 18,000-seat Tynecastle stadium sold out, up from an average attendance of 12,000 the previous season. Hearts finished second in the league and qualified for the Champion’s League preliminary rounds.
Hearts went on to win the Scottish Cup in 2006 and again last year, beating Hibernian in the final. It lost to St. Mirren in the final of the second-tier League Cup last weekend.
“For all the criticism, there have been two cup wins and I grew up thinking Hearts were never going to win anything,”Graeme Downie, 32, a communications consultant and a Hearts season-ticket holder, said on March 14. “He took us over in a bad state, and if he hands us over to someone else in the same way, after two trophies, I don’t think I can complain.”
Revolving Door
In the club, Romanov appointed Lithuanians, including his son, to the board and gained a reputation for firing managers. Laszlo, 49, a Romanian-born Hungarian, is among 10 managers to have come and gone at Hearts under Romanov.
Laszlo said he was fired in early 2010 after 18 months in the job and seven straight victories. No explanation was ever given, he said by telephone on March 12. Laszlo is currently coach of the Lithuanian national team.
The problem for Romanov is that while he has “many good business ideas,” his associates don’t challenge the ones that aren’t so good, according to Laszlo. Manager John McGlynn, who started in June, left at the end of last month by mutual agreement, according to the club’s website. Gary Locke, a former Hearts player, was named to replace him on March 16.
Romanov, who served on a Soviet nuclear submarine and worked as a taxi driver and electrician, said last week he’s structured his diverse businesses to “insure” them against“thieves” and “perverts.” He intends to fight for his property in court against Lithuanian authorities.
Needing Money
FC Kaunas, a soccer club in Lithuania’s second-biggest city, closed in 2012 after Romanov withdrew the previous year. Zalgiris basketball club, also in Kaunas and 75 percent owned by UBIG, this month asked for financial help from fans to survive.
As for Hearts, Romanov said realizing the club’s potential demands more resources than he now has. He’s seeking outside investors to help rescue and revive the Edinburgh squad. “We could sell part of the club, or all of it,” he said.
Hearts Director Sergejus Fedotovas said on March 4 by e-mail that a “number of investors” expressed interest “without any detailed proposal as to acquisition or otherwise.”
Alex Mackie of Foundation of Hearts, a group that wants to buy it on behalf of fans, said it won’t be easy to save the club because it’s losing about 2 million pounds a year as well as players. Banks won’t lend, investors aren’t likely to pay Romanov what he thinks his shares are worth, and other shareholders now have empty pockets after the recent stock sale.
“He’s not lived up to what he promised,” said Downie, the season-ticket holder. “But any Hearts fan who believed everything he said at the time was very naïve.”
I reckon that that bloomberg piece is the best article on ugly bunch's situation I've seen. Most disappointing bit is the fact that the administrator is going to take a few months to chase them for the money.
Can we now add Bloomberg to the exhaustive list (SFA, PFA, UEFA, FIFA, NASA, FBI, CBI, BBC, ITV, SKY, ESPN) of organizations with an anti-hearts agenda?
Found this part interesting in particular...
This would suggest, contrary to Banderson, that Vlad is nowhere near in control of Hearts. If the shares in Hearts - I am guessing that is UBIG's c75% stake - are pledged in security to Ukio Bankas, then nothing can happen to them without Ukio Bankas say. Unless the pledge documents, assuming the situation is similar to our legal system, have a specific mechanism for release of that part of the security: e.g. repayment of a specific amount of debt. Which would of course come back to the whole point that any purchaser of the Yams would need very deep pockets.Quote:
Rather than become a new home fit for elite European competition, Hearts’s Tynecastle stadium in the west of the Scottish capital is pledged to Ukio as security for debts, as are the shares that give him control of the club.
A distinction also needs to be made between the assigned security - the specific security over the PBS and the floating charge - as the share pledge will have no relation to their debt to UBIG. It solely concerns UBIG's debt to Ukio and, if that is in default, that 75% shareholding could conceivably transfer.
But this part is also interesting...
That suggests to me that a default of UBIG's debt to Ukio Bankas has not yet been triggered. The situation would necessarily be different if the default had been triggered and the security was in the process of being called-up. However, if a default is in progress, then it contradicts the earlier statement about the share pledge.Quote:
Hearts fans “certainly have time” to sort out club finances and seek a new savior, assuming cash flows suffice for player salaries and other obligations, Audickas said in a March 15 phone interview from Kaunas, where Ukio is based. A supporters group is in talks to acquire the club.
“If anyone wants to try to rescue the club, they should be talking with UBIG,” he said.
I think that the "due diligence" might take a wee while...
loved this bit
:faf::faf::faf:Quote:
Hearts was founded in 1874, a year before Edinburgh rival Hibernian, and named after a dancing club in the city
That's like saying could you sell your mortgaged house to a bloke down the pub without the bank you're mortgaged to having any say. I very much doubt UBIG are in a position to forgive anything but they certainly can't forgive the £6.8M debt secured on Tiny unless the Lithuanian state bank says they can.
That was the analogy I had in mind, and I kind of hoped that would be the answer.:greengrin
Howevvvvvvvvver.......would it not be more like RBS, or some other mortgage or debt holder, on the brink of going bust, saying: "Aye, OK. What the ****. You can have it for free! That'll teach the regulatory *******."
Would whoever was in charge of sorting out the mortgage lender's affairs, post-bust, be able to say: "Actually.....naw. I think you'll find they had no business doing that. Settle up. Now"
Highland dancers since 1874 !!
What about this bit, seems to suggest UBIG would be able to negotiate without Administrators approval.
Think you're right the money running oot is the biggest concern for HoMFC and that is a matter of weeks.
Anybody seen the film 'The Grey' ?
SPOILER ALERT
Liam Neeson is leading a team of plane crash survivors to safety away from some nasty wolves he is actually leading them to the wolves lair. They all die in the end!
I think that is a " Cardigan wearers, please don't waste my time with your sob stories, my country has been dipped for several billion euro and your worried about a dancing club that plays football. "
The admin is right though, agreement to sell Yam F C shares first have to be agreed with UBIG then it would be up to the admin. to release the security on the football club shareholding if it was best value for the Bank's creditors.
Another thought though, should the fact that the majority share holding in HOMFC is being used as security for its holding companies debts not have been made public knowledge by way of Companies House or at the very least in the share issue prospectus.
Once again I would like to say that the plight of Dunfermline seems to be sealed and they will close in 7 days if a solution isn't found yet there is not a peep about this manky mob up the road in the press or anywhere else for that matter regarding the money they owe and all the loopholes they are using to squirm out of it, when will the Scottish media wake up and smell the freshly baked cakes?
Banderson with a sniffy tweet telling people to calm down and Yams were paid on the 16th. Less forecoming (nowt) on my 6th request asking if the share certificates have been posted out.
On the first point, no. UBIG is not a UK company, therefore there is no requirement.
That probably also holds true for the second point, technically, although from the point of view of transparency I agree with you. Their defence, and it's a reasonable one, would be "you're the buyer. You do your homework."
Them and oldco.
Hearts £1.8m owed, solution? Pay over a period of time.
Oldco, something like £45m owed, solution? Farce of administration, sell the assets for peanuts and screw the creditors.
Pars £134k owed, solution? Liquidate them immediately.
Farce.
I can't believe they were paid on a SATURDAY.
This would suggest, contrary to Banderson, that Vlad is nowhere near in control of Hearts. If the shares in Hearts - I am guessing that is UBIG's c75% stake - are pledged in security to Ukio Bankas, then nothing can happen to them without Ukio Bankas say. Unless the pledge documents, assuming the situation is similar to our legal system, have a specific mechanism for release of that part of the security: e.g. repayment of a specific amount of debt. Which would of course come back to the whole point that any purchaser of the Yams would need very deep pockets.
A distinction also needs to be made between the assigned security - the specific security over the PBS and the floating charge - as the share pledge will have no relation to their debt to UBIG. It solely concerns UBIG's debt to Ukio and, if that is in default, that 75% shareholding could conceivably transfer.
They are all different situations.
HMFC were faced with the same as DAFC a few months ago. They were late with PAYE, and had a winding-up order against them. They paid, so HMRC's tactics worked; they are trying the same with DAFC. The investigation settlement is different; HMRC know they will get nothing if they push for immediate payment, so they are hoping to get the money when HMFC are at their most cash-rich.
The RFC situation is, of course, ongoing.
Loved vlad's direct quotes there. The words Gary Locke thieves and perverts.
Sounds like a good strap line for a yamanagement book: the Romanov years | Gary Locke thieves and perverts
I was meaning the season ticket money, which will be rolling in :greengrin
The deal would have been agreed with HMRC before the Rangers money was settled early.
There is a moral right, of course, and there are probably specific legal rights as well. However, it's common sense not to buy anything without some sort of background check.
I wouldn't, of course, expect any supporter to do that sort of check.....but they bought the shares on an emotional basis, not a commercial one. A fact that VR knew only too well.
So I've just logged on (it's 7.30 am here in the Demented Dominion) and I was looking for confirmation that they have (or indeed haven't) paid over to us the Derby ticket cash. Anyone got any info on this? Isn't today the deadline?
the investigation was for 'tax avoidance' I'm sure on players that earned ridiculous money... and all are historic events that happened, which to me, means any taxes due should be immediately due. How the hell they got a 3 year installment plan, is beyond me. Well, it's obvious, political intervention.
I don't care if they would not have got the money immediately, that's when it should be due!
If they can't pay it, then they should be liquidated.
Will HMRC deal with other businsses like this, that do dodgy dealings and own the government monies?
The sooner these cheats die and get what they deserve, the better.
Sorry i can't agree.
HMRC are commercialy aware , as they should ne. Had they insisted on full payment on completion of the investigation, they would have got nothing ....including the PAYE and VAT for the currentw months. This way, they get that PLUS a stab at the big money .
That is how they.operate these days with most.businesses .
So why can't they offer Dunfermline to pay over 3 years, a measly 134K?
It is taxes due, so I don't care if they are 'different' circumstances, it's still monies due for past events.
Hearts had a big tax bill and have recieved terribly favourable treatment IMO.
Think this was a settlement as well, stopped both parties arguing their case (although the onus was on the Yams to prove otherwise). Yams got £300k off the original request for £1.8m and an instalment plan, HMRC got a pledge to pay a £1.5m bill (repayments pending) on a case they might have lost (unlikely but look at Oldco)
That's right. HMRC was by no means sure of winning the case if it went to a tribunal, and if they had lost they would have got zip (although they would have got it immediately). there was also no precedent to be set as the circumstances were very specific to HoMFC so getting £1.5m (which must be close to the net amount they would have got after costs if they actually won the case) was probably a real result for them, even if it is spread over a number of years. As CWG says HoMFC could also have taken the insolvency route if they had lost the case, and I suspect their representatives threatened to do exactly that, and again HMRC would have incurred the tribunal costs and got sod all at the end of it.
The only down side is that they missed the oppotunity to put the yams out of business.
http://mobile.bloomberg.com/news/2013-03-20/failed-baltic-bank-raises-risk-of-broken-hearts-1-000-miles-away.html
Pick the bones out this!.. ;-)
You're right, but by deferring the payment HMRC removed the threat of immediate insolvency where they were sure to get nothing and replaced it with at least some chance of getting their money in the future - if they do end up with nothing at least they haven't incurred the costs of the tribunal.
HoMFC are in negative equity so all avaiable funds from an insolvency event would go on the secured debt and the other creditors would get nothing. That's why I can't see a conventional administration working, because they wouldn't be able to CVA their way out of it.
Very interesting article indeed. Seems like some supporters still seem to think that winning two cups was worth the mess Vlad will leave behind, which increasingly looks to me like liquidation eventually. Fools.
Interestingly even FOH seem to recognise that they are deep in the cack and there is no wishful thinking moonbeams solution.
And this thing about being formed a year before us. I know the ****s claim this is true, but isn't it the fact there is no actual documentary proof of this?
Yep we really must have one of the worst press ranks in the world with a few notable exceptions. Too busy trying to keep in with their mates and ingratiate themselves to the supposed people in power. Alex Thompson summed them up well, succulent lambs or yams in this case. :greengrin
Quite pathetic really.
Don't know about that but Hearts were suspended from the Scottish Cup by the SFA for two years in the 1880's for fielding ineligible (professional) players. As this was against the rules at the time in doing so they became the first club ever to be suspended.
Same old Yams, always cheating.
Romanov has been trying to steal cars :tsk tsk::tsk tsk::tsk tsk::tsk tsk::tsk tsk:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gUmwJBiqVjU
Why is it takingthem so long to die?
https://si0.twimg.com/profile_images.../me_normal.jpgBarry Anderson @BarryAnderson_8
To all those desperate for news that #Hearts players haven't been paid this month: They were paid on time on 16th. Please calm down. #HMFC
Just checked his Mentions on Twitter and from what I can see, he was only asked this once in the last 24 hours. He has however been asked multiple times about Share certificates and hasn't answered a single one.
Strange that Hearts would pay their staff on a Saturday?
I don't see the fascination about teasing a sports reporter on a minor regional newspaper. He's low down the food chain and unlikely to get much further. Do we really expect him to know anything about business matters or to be allowed to conduct any investigative journalism, let alone be capable of it ?
Our hearts are sad after reading that.
Oh well, as the fan who was quoted said "until Romanov came along there was no expectation that anything would be won" back to the status quo then for Heart of Midlothian, only there will need to be a phoenix from the lowest tier to challenge their rivals again.
Good luck to the club that was formerly based from the dance hall Heart of Midlothian in Gorgie.
It's the fact that he pretends that he is doing these things that winds some of us up. He's not a "sports reporter" he's a mouthpiece for the Hearts board pretending to be a journalist. He's the very thing that is wrong with football journalism in this country, too afraid to say anything bad for fear of being tossed off the gravy train.
He always claims to be in the know when the outcome is favourable for Hearts (Romanov still having control, shares coming in march, wages being paid) and yet this knowledge suddenly escapes him whenever its a story with a negative connotation (Shares NOT coming in march, Romanov NOT still in control)
He's the very definition of a Succulent Yam. in the "Hearts Financial Meltdown" saga he is the canonical equivalent of Jim Traynor. A man who will happily spread disinformation to hide what's really going on.
This is covered quite extensively in one of the older Hibs books. Think the gist of it was that Hearts backdated their birth date by a year. Don't think it really matters. It also says in the book that players of both clubs previously turned out for a team called White Star. Don't know much else.
The St Mirren fans have plenty to say about some of the disgusting Yam behaviour on Sunday but this is classic :
ianw Members
242 posts
Last active: Today, 19:09
I had one of the funniest experiences I’ve ever had at the football wondering out the Ivory Hotel about 2.30 on Sunday.
I was waiting for some mates to catch up when a rather rotund Jambo – aged about 40 and wearing NHS specs wondered past. I was just thinking in my head that the guy looked a really fat version of one of the Proclaimers…. when an identical twin of the first one walked past. Well, not quite as fat, but same face, NHS specs and glaiket look.
Anyway, I mentioned to my mate I was standing with (I thought out of earshot) that the Proclaimers had let themselves go…..prompting Proclaimer Number 1 (the fattest one) to go MENTAL…calling me a “weegie ****” and offering a square go, and generally standing giving the old “come ahead” hands...
Eventually fat Proclaimer’s mates dragged him away (including the “good” Proclaimer), but I couldn’t move for laughing…
I reckon the poor ********s must get it all the time and I struck a nerve being the millionth person to point out their resemblance Hibs most ‘famous’ twin supporters.. but it was some over-reaction…hilarious…
#51 - Posted Yesterday, 17:06
He says there's news of when they are getting the certificates in the paper tomorrow. Thought it was mid march bazza?! #allisbarry #allisverycomplex
Any word on Hibs getting the Derby ticket money?
Barry Anderson is as much of an irrelevance as the miserable little dying club he writes propaganda for.
Not sure this link is working as I sent it from my mobile.........
Anyway, for those of you that have missed it I suggest that you get a family packet of digestives in, as this will rumble on by the sounds...... :wink:
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-0...iles-away.html
“He had a lot of dreams, but his dreams never came true,”
I'm predicting right now that tomorrow's story from Barry will contain very little information and will be vague at best. Have the shares even been registered with Companies House yet? (Do they need to?)
It's a feature on a lot of Twitter apps. I use Tweetbot on my iphone and there's an option when viewing someones profile to see all the tweets to them
Anyone been following this thread on keekback? It's got more twists and turns than a rollercoaster! Top notch entertainment!
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index..../page__st__400 :cb
I am as confused as the next man (or last poster) about this. I do recall though,years ago when we(a group of workmates and I) had a 2 year maintenance contract ,and had to be registered at companies house/insured for a minimum of 1 million pounds in the event of any man being injured etc,etc. the contract was with a nationalised company (NCB) for the care and maintenance of Monktonhall Colliery. we fulfilled all the needs of the company concerned, but were forever plagued by the VAT section of HMRC. they insisted that we pay our VAT on a set date. on several occasions this date was well before our payday. in other words, we were to pay VAT, sometimes 2 weeks before we had actually been paid for services provided. this VAT repayment was 3 monthly,iirc.our advisors/accountants were paronoid about the possibility of us defaulting! drove me up the wa' at times. I'm sure the VAT office was in Semple St. at the time. how can the gorgie mob keep getting away with what looks like murder? there must be something going on,that allows them such leeway.this looks like grand larceny on a huge scale, and the public at large are the losers. if it was a small business with 7/8 employees , they'd all be on the dole now as the business would have folded due to pressure from HMRC.
they danced there way into that year. had a big "do" at oddfellows that year, before it became a haricrishna temple,or changed it's name to Malonies. :greengrin
The attitude of HMRC has changed a lot in the past 10 years. It's true that, in years gone by, the Revenue and (in particular) the VAT Office would just stick to the rules and not pay attention to the implications. I had many conversations about "blood out of a stone" and "putting people on the dole." The situation you describe was common back then.
Nowadays, they see the bigger commercial picture. Your last sentence doesn't apply as much now. Sticking to the letter of the law can result in (1) no actual tax take (2) cutting off a future source of tax and (3) putting people on benefits, thus costing the State.
In Hearts' case, and I have seen this replicated in others, they ARE getting the regular PAYE and VAT payments (albeit after threatening them with winding-up). On the larger settlement, they recognise that they had little chance of getting it in January, and are more likely to get it when the ST money is coming in. That way, they get another few months' PAYE, and save the State in benefits.
I heard today that hearts will have the begging bowl out again as they need the fans to bail them out again now they cant make any coin from a cup final dvd and other merchandise. Could be balls but thought i would post it anyway.
I think its inevitable that they will be passing the begging bowl around again soon. By their own figures they needed 2m to make it to the end of the season but they raised half of that, add that to the less than expected revenue from being in the bottom 6 and them taking less money from sevco. All this and a probable drop in attendences will mean only one thing
appreciate your input on this. still makes my blood boil that these cretins seem to be getting away with it all. there fans are not to blame, although they've just taken the ride as they've got a couple of cups in the bag and thought nothing else matters. their day will surely come, when Hector eventually says enough is enough.I still feel very bitter about the way we were treated though in the nineties. small group of working men doing all the right things,paying the tax as it should be, and earning an honest living.
What does WUMMERY mean??? It's all over that thread???
Wind up merchant I thought for WUM but I'm probably way off
Some of that had me in stitches, the on the buses pics were quality, as was the comment is that him coming out the shop with his milk. :LOL:
That has to be best thread on sickback ever hilarious
Anyway...:rolleyes:
According to Peter Houston he was offered terms to be the yam boss before the cock got it and the yams have the "biggest budget outwith Celtic" for next season, oh really? what utter delusion these idiots suffer from don't they? were you paid to say that Pete?, friggin hilarious...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/21871389
I wonder how much they gave him tae say that, coc....sorry locke got the job because he was the cheapest/only option, the rest is hot air.
As for the budget bit :hilarious They havenae got a pot tae piss in, are they going tae continue spending money (other peoples money) they dinnae have and keep owing it tae themselves?