View Full Version : Hibs v Rot-Weiss Essen
09-07-2025, 05:04 PM
Strong lineup for tonight. Perfect conditions too.
Salinger
Miller
Rocky (c)
Iredale
C Cadden
Levitt
McGrath
Mulligan
N Cadden
Hoillet
Bowie
09-07-2025, 05:05 PM
Team announced
…………………Sallinger……
……..Miller…..Rocky…..Iredale….
Cadden….Mulligan…Levitt…….Cadden….
…………………….McGrath…….
…………….Bowie……….Hoilett……
Youd think that would pretty much be the team for Midtylland other than Boyle coming in
09-07-2025, 05:07 PM
No Obita in squad. Hopefully nothing serious.
supermcginn
09-07-2025, 05:11 PM
Team announced
…………………Sallinger……
……..Miller…..Rocky…..Iredale….
Cadden….Mulligan…Levitt…….Cadden….
…………………….McGrath…….
…………….Bowie……….Hoilett……
Youd think that would pretty much be the team for Midtylland other than Boyle coming in
Yip, Sallinger first choice , looking forward to seeing him play.
09-07-2025, 05:13 PM
Definitely need another midfielder in (I know it’s planned) and another striker or two
09-07-2025, 05:16 PM
Definitely need another midfielder in (I know it’s planned) and another striker or two
Striker in would be good before the first leg.
Up-the-slope
09-07-2025, 05:48 PM
I assume its more subs than normal being friendly ?
1875M
09-07-2025, 05:52 PM
We need another centre mid and at least one more striker in asap.
09-07-2025, 05:57 PM
I wonder if our Euro opponents manager is watching
09-07-2025, 05:58 PM
No Obita in squad. Hopefully nothing serious.To be replaced by an Argentinian?
Jokes - must be a knock
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
09-07-2025, 06:01 PM
Match delayed 15 minutes.
09-07-2025, 06:06 PM
Why has the KO been delayed?
1875M
09-07-2025, 06:07 PM
Why has the KO been delayed?
They were late to ER
Donegal Hibby
09-07-2025, 06:10 PM
Some good options on the bench , really do need another striker though .
09-07-2025, 06:11 PM
I'm watching in Corfu and it's in German 🇩🇪😂
09-07-2025, 06:12 PM
Germans turning up late? Driver must be a jambo who took a detour to show them their big **** off glass curtain wall thingy like all bigly clubs should have.
I'm watching in Corfu and it's in German 🇩🇪😂
Mine is also in German! Wife will be even less pleased🤣
nsandy62
Watch anywhere it is German.
Cracking pronunciation though.
Donegal Hibby
09-07-2025, 06:13 PM
Glad to see Rocky get the opportunity to be captain.
DBHibs
09-07-2025, 06:13 PM
Got German commentary here too. I’m sure their commentator was just educating the listeners as to the correct way to pronounce Edinburgh though.
nsandy62
09-07-2025, 06:14 PM
Are they trying to scare off the seagulls.
Sounds proper exciting in the Deutsch tongue 🇩🇪👌
Fair play to them for bringing that many fans over for a friendly
damn smoke
Sheffhibee
09-07-2025, 06:15 PM
Glad to see Rocky get the opportunity to be captain.
Go on Rocky 👊
09-07-2025, 06:17 PM
very decent crowd in the Eas...i mean the Pat Stanton stand
09-07-2025, 06:18 PM
Watch anywhere it is German.
Cracking pronunciation though.If you're watching on Solid Sport there's an English commentary stream, same guy as the Duisburg game
09-07-2025, 06:20 PM
get in Mcgrath :greengrin 7 seconds i think he said ?
jonny
Bet 365 has 1-0 Hibs?
Paul1642
Nice early goal :)
09-07-2025, 06:21 PM
What a goal
Great play
miller instrumental
Delighted for McGrath
09-07-2025, 06:21 PM
We always pump RWE at Easter Road. Every time.
Up-the-slope
09-07-2025, 06:22 PM
well thats some way to make sure there is no monkey on your back
09-07-2025, 06:23 PM
Mulligan and Bowie linking up well again
MagicSwirlingShip
09-07-2025, 06:24 PM
Just under 12/1 for Hibs win , over2.5 goals, & BBTS no. Hoping for more Hibees goals
09-07-2025, 06:25 PM
We always pump RWE at Easter Road. Every time.
It was 1-1 last time.
james62
09-07-2025, 06:26 PM
They were late to ER
They must have been coming with Deutsche Bahn
09-07-2025, 06:26 PM
We are winning the lot arnt we
[emoji23]
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
09-07-2025, 06:27 PM
It was 1-1 last time.
Damn it
Solid sport gave me a voucher for a free stream as compensation for the last game - didn’t even complain 😂
I’m at the game so if anyone wants the code send a DM - first come
I’ll reply to the first person only
09-07-2025, 06:32 PM
wunderbar
2-0
09-07-2025, 06:32 PM
25/26 Europa League Winners.
nsandy62
09-07-2025, 06:33 PM
Nice goal
What a finish from Hoilett 😎
2-0 Hoilett
Great finish
Donegal Hibby
That’s just a touch of class from Hoilett :greengrin
HendoDelivered
Hoilett it a joke man 😂😂😂😂
Aww Junior that was beautiful
We are levels and levels above them. It will probably slow down as we make changes but if we kept this 11 on the park we'd score 10
HendoDelivered
09-07-2025, 06:34 PM
We are levels and levels above them. It will probably slow down as we make changes but if we kept this 11 on the park we'd score
We’ve scored 2 mate :greengrin
rj1875
09-07-2025, 06:34 PM
Solid sport gave me a voucher for a free stream as compensation for the last game - didn’t even complain 😂
still available?
Gone
This is a repeat of the Ajax game, but this time we are Ajax :flag:
09-07-2025, 06:35 PM
This is a repeat of the Ajax game, but this time we are Ajax :flag:
Taking them to the cleaners.
09-07-2025, 06:36 PM
25/26 Europa League Winners.
Flight to Istanbul booked!
Hibees1973
09-07-2025, 06:36 PM
Hoilett...ooft.
This lot are probably better that Duisburg.
Not as Ajax mind :duck:
09-07-2025, 06:37 PM
Junior Hoilett and the all stars 🤭
jonny
09-07-2025, 06:38 PM
If you sign up to DFB Play you can stream for free, commentating English.
Just have to watch an advert before it plays
Hibees1973
Just waiting on this commentator saying 'ze fallen madonna with ze big boobies'
Junior only scores classy goals, he really is a superb player and so good to have him back.
09-07-2025, 06:39 PM
Just waiting on this commentator saying 'ze fallen madonna with ze big boobies'
😂😂
09-07-2025, 06:41 PM
they're a noisy bunch so they are
HendoDelivered
09-07-2025, 06:42 PM
The way Mulligan runs/moves with the ball reminds me of Scott Allan. Same kind of movement.
09-07-2025, 06:43 PM
mon Hibs put this 1st leg of the Europa League Semi-final to bed
09-07-2025, 06:44 PM
Lewis Miller has been brilliant
ChuckNor
09-07-2025, 06:46 PM
Is there any way of watching this? No hibs tv I believe.
Djurgårdens will be a tougher test in the next round
The way Mulligan runs/moves with the ball reminds me of Scott Allan. Same kind of movement.
Aaaaah 20 is Mulligan - been trying to figure that out for a minute. His movement on the ball has been great. He looks very comfortable in the middle
Trinity Hibee
09-07-2025, 06:49 PM
https://solidsport.com/hibernianfc/games/g/mwyuifns
nsandy62
Miller gone
Hibernian FC - Rot-Weiss Essen | solidsport.com (https://solidsport.com/hibernianfc/games/g/mwyuifns)
£7
o'hora coming on for Miller
09-07-2025, 06:50 PM
It's on Hibs TV.
HendoDelivered
09-07-2025, 06:51 PM
Miller gone
Hopefully nothing!
Northern Hibby
09-07-2025, 06:51 PM
Solidsport guy could do with a co commentator
Bad news Millar injured, he has looked very good
09-07-2025, 06:52 PM
Did it look serious?
09-07-2025, 06:52 PM
Miller gone
Been playing well too
nsandy62
09-07-2025, 06:53 PM
Did it look serious?
Boots and socks off, little mark but limping.
Did it look serious?
He took knock 5 mins before and was trying to run it off, but to no avail
09-07-2025, 06:55 PM
36 mins
essen sub, injury
AdidasHibernian
I was thinking more super Mcginn but I can see it also with your point.
It's a friendly. No point Miller trying to run it off. Hopefully nothing.
Sheffhibee
Did it look serious?
He took a couple of knocks and think more of a precautionary sub hopefully
Piqué
09-07-2025, 06:56 PM
It's on dfbplay.tv if you make an account you can watch for free
It’s on Hibs TV
Was racking my brains on where i've seen that strip before, Airdrie. :bitchy:
09-07-2025, 06:58 PM
Keiran Bowie attended the Raith Rovers v Bayern Munich tie at ER
this Darren Kilfara is just full of facts :)
Hibees1973
09-07-2025, 06:59 PM
Good work out this.
More physical than the Ajax game.
scm70nyd1973
09-07-2025, 07:00 PM
It’s on Hibs TV
Yup - with German commentary 😬
09-07-2025, 07:00 PM
He attended 7 years before he was born? Some boy.
scm70nyd1973
09-07-2025, 07:01 PM
Minor gripe but is the scoreline banner not a bit too far down on the screen - or is it my tv ?
09-07-2025, 07:01 PM
i'm sure that's what he said
oh well, no harm done eh
09-07-2025, 07:02 PM
Minor gripe but is the scoreline banner not a bit too far down on the screen - or is it my tv ?
yeah it is :)
09-07-2025, 07:03 PM
I thought Darren said it was his first European game he attended in Scotland?
09-07-2025, 07:03 PM
Ht 2-0
Is that ex hibs player Sean Murdoch as the ref ?
09-07-2025, 07:05 PM
I thought Darren said it was his first European game he attended in Scotland?
now that does make sense :)
09-07-2025, 07:05 PM
Actually been no bad for a friendly
09-07-2025, 07:06 PM
this is on the official site, how are some watching on HibsTV :confused:
Unfortunately, the match will not be available to watch on Hibs TV!
ah, IPTV
09-07-2025, 07:06 PM
Actually been no bad for a friendly
Was just saying this. We look in a good place all things considered with the Euro tie in mind.
09-07-2025, 07:07 PM
Looks like Essen are changing their whole 11 at HT.
One half doing a cool down, other warming up.
09-07-2025, 07:07 PM
Good half of football. Decent level of intensity and we're putting together loads of attacking moves resulting in chances
Would imagine there'll be a raft of changes from 45-60 mins that will impact the flow
Just watched replay of Juniors goal, pure class
09-07-2025, 07:08 PM
now that does make sense :)
MacGruber
09-07-2025, 07:10 PM
He's a massive player for us. Difference now with O'Hora on is stark in terms of going forward. Iredale and Rocky don't venture far and O'Hora the same. When Miller is playing in a 3 the other 2 can sit and Miller is up causing carnage. His athleticism is a massive part of his game. O'Hora is decent defender if a bit one paced. We don't lose anything from Miller defensively though, and he's quicker. Was a turning point in last Derby when Kabangu was running past O'Hora at will and that threat ended as soon as Miller came on for him. Has his faults Miller but IMO needs to start as many as possible and really hope he is fit for Euro ties.
09-07-2025, 07:11 PM
dedication - that’s whatcha need…
Up-the-slope
09-07-2025, 07:14 PM
Looks like Essen are changing their whole 11 at HT.
One half doing a cool down, other warming up.
I'm glad you said that - I was counting the players on the pitch at HT assuming they had 11 in dressing room and thought they had brought 40 + players:greengrin
09-07-2025, 07:14 PM
They’re quite systematic with their warm ups precising timing.
one boy was running like forest gump before KO and not even played.
Could swear Susan with the man bun had been sent back out athaof time to do a warmup with the other subs and his been playing.
woamr up gets a clap they’re going some way to back their team !
09-07-2025, 07:16 PM
I'm glad you said that - I was counting the players on the pitch at HT assuming they had 11 in dressing room and thought they had brought 40 + players:greengrin
yup glad I wasn’t imagining things I do try to pay attention :)
Donegal Hibby
09-07-2025, 07:18 PM
Pity Miller had to go off , he was having a very good game . Also impressed with Chris Cadden .
09-07-2025, 07:19 PM
Hoilett off, Youan on
09-07-2025, 07:20 PM
Pity Miller had to go off , he was having a very good game . Also impressed with Chris Cadden .
I think as always with Chris he’s having a good game until his final ball
His crosses aren’t terrible, but I think with better delivery he’d have a couple of assists
09-07-2025, 07:20 PM
That's RWE's 1st team on for the 2nd half.
09-07-2025, 07:21 PM
game on
2-1
09-07-2025, 07:21 PM
....and it shows
09-07-2025, 07:22 PM
Oops
nsandy62
Oooh they are a bit different now.
Crap defending.
09-07-2025, 07:23 PM
Poor defending all over the back line for that goal
09-07-2025, 07:23 PM
essen are now Barca
09-07-2025, 07:24 PM
That's pish defending Hibs
09-07-2025, 07:24 PM
Looks like RWE have brought on their real team second half
2-2
09-07-2025, 07:25 PM
Missed the restart. Just Youan on at HT for us?
2-2 keeper :rolleyes: shocker
Gray out.
09-07-2025, 07:26 PM
WTF are we doing? Rocky rolling out the red carpet and the keeper showing him about 30 yards to aim at.
HendoDelivered
😂😂
That didn’t look too clever from Salinger.
Well this should set any European expectations.
Absolute rubbish.
Rocky pish there.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
09-07-2025, 07:27 PM
Yeah can’t have your keeper being beaten that side from that distance
GK keeper should save that
That didn’t look too clever from Salinger.
Looking like Smith might keep the gloves.
That was a shocker to lose there, nice wake up call though
jamie_1875
Keeper suspect there.
Looks like RWE have brought on their real team second half
2-2
They did
Smith saves that IMO
Donegal Hibby
Keeper should be saving that IMO .
Better for mistakes to happen in pre season. 😁
Keeper down like a sack o spuds possibly view blocked by Rocky not turned up for 2nd half though
Davy Mac
09-07-2025, 07:28 PM
To be honest, I don't think there is enough urgency about the team. To casual and I think we look a bit flat.
TelaStella
No denying that’s pretty poor goalkeeping there.
hibIBZ
Rocky looked poor there, keeper was looked slower than me. Need to wake up a bit
Keeper shocking. Don’t fancy him one bit. They were playing with us in the first half. Thank god it’s a friendly.😀
O’Hora must be a dream to play against.
Turning into a proper game now
Yohan just lacks effort imo
09-07-2025, 07:29 PM
That keeper looks suspect
Salinger looks terrible. Hope it’s home debut nerves.
Smith saves that IMO
I save that... and I'm in my 70's 😂
09-07-2025, 07:30 PM
Good to see the new keeper isn’t filling us with hope
09-07-2025, 07:31 PM
O’Hora must be a dream to play against.
He just always looks a bit too passive for me.
No where near aggressive enough
He's here!
Wow, we look worryingly soft. Keeper maybe not the supposed upgrade some are keen to claim.
How does our top flight these days compare with the level RWE are at in Germany? I remember us being a definite class above them 20 years ago.
AdidasHibernian
This must be their first team second half, we look poor. Ellie looks interested.. 😂
Levitt in the 6 doesn’t work, we know Newell in the 6 doesn’t work already we really need to get the finger out on that should be getting another in as well as Triantis even if a loan player
Chorley Hibee
09-07-2025, 07:32 PM
They did
I don't know about that.
At least half of their starting 11 played most of their games last season.
Then there were a few new signings playing in that first half too.
Does show the gulf between Scottish and German football though when this lot are a mid-table third division side.
09-07-2025, 07:33 PM
Mind ten minutes ago when we were great
Bowie looks knackered already
Wow, we look worryingly soft. Keeper maybe not the supposed upgrade some are keen to claim.
How does our top flight these days compare with the level RWE are at in Germany? I remember us being a definite class above them 20 years ago.
I don’t think many have claimed to know much about his abilities. Just that, in the circumstances, they expect him to be number one.
Some vocal posters re Smith will have been waiting on something like that tonight.
JimboHibs
Yip, Sallinger first choice , looking forward to seeing him play.
Whats Smith done that Sallinger would deserve to be first choice.
Montford
09-07-2025, 07:34 PM
Bowie looks knackered already
Looks lazy like he can’t be arsed..
09-07-2025, 07:34 PM
Ah think they used their second string tae tire us oot, looks like its working.
Ellie is such a **** bag and lacks so much effort
09-07-2025, 07:35 PM
Much better there. First bit of urgency since 35 minutes.
OtleyHibs
Unlucky Bowie, off the post
bowie off the inside of the post
unlucky
09-07-2025, 07:36 PM
Boyle
Manneh
Campbell
on
Rocky
Hoilett
someone else
off
Montford
09-07-2025, 07:36 PM
Cadden powered up the wing for the overlap 3 times now.. and 3 times McGrath has gone inside and lost the ball
Not sure what the tactic is here
If he feeds it to Cadden that’s 3 balls into the penalty area
JimboHibs
09-07-2025, 07:37 PM
I don’t think many have claimed to know much about his abilities. Just that, in the circumstances, they expect him to be number one.
Some vocal posters re Smith will have been waiting on something like that tonight.
DG never gonna drop Smith as 1st choice and rightly so
Youan off
He just always looks a bit too passive for me.
No where near aggressive enough
Wouldn’t be surprised if Gray went to a back 4 because of O’Hora.
09-07-2025, 07:38 PM
Youan off 17 minutes after coming on
Trinity Hibee
Youan off
Injured?
It is a back 4 now
Dearie me.
AdidasHibernian
Youan be as well staying off constantly, doesn't look interested.
09-07-2025, 07:39 PM
Going from bad to worse eh
09-07-2025, 07:39 PM
Sore toe
09-07-2025, 07:40 PM
I’d be surprised if he makes 6 or 7 players less comfortable in order to accommodate 1.
Edit - permanently I mean. May be temporarily sensible here.
hhibs
09-07-2025, 07:40 PM
Solidsport stream 15 minutes behind ffs
09-07-2025, 07:41 PM
DG never gonna drop Smith as 1st choice and rightly so
Disagree. Done to death but I think his starting lineup had an eye on his European team and Hibs don’t spend hundreds of thousands on sub goalies.
Kind of tells it's own story.
I know it's a role he can play but it shows how short we are at striker when Campbell is coming on and playing right up top.
2 down on last year and we were arguably one short then. Definitely work to be done there.
perfect here
Newcastlehibby
09-07-2025, 07:42 PM
Game started over 15 mins late.
09-07-2025, 07:43 PM
That’ll be Smudge as our number one keeper again this season.
Davy Mac
09-07-2025, 07:44 PM
Not one for judging too quickly, but our new goalie looks half asleep.
09-07-2025, 07:45 PM
On account of that one mistake by Salinger in a friendly?
Because of 1 goal where Sallinger could have done better?
McGrath looks tired
cameronw-hfc
I know it's a role he can play but it shows how short we are at striker when Campbell is coming on and playing right up top.
2 down on last year and we were arguably one short then. Definitely work to be done there.
Agreed but don't mind Josh there. He's better getting forward anyway, can see him working up top
Defo
NC1875
09-07-2025, 07:46 PM
Sore toe
Out for another year!
Really can’t rely on him at all. Hope we’re close with a couple of attacking players.
Smith ****ed up in his first league game.
What was Youan’s reaction to going off?
Salinger looks terrible. Hope it’s home debut nerves.
Wasn't he replacing Smith based on some highlights against Ajax under 12's team?
71 minutes of a friendly and we have written a new signing off. If that's not a record, it must be close.
09-07-2025, 07:47 PM
What was Youan’s reaction to going off?
He looked like he was asking to go off
09-07-2025, 07:47 PM
What about that for a pass by Sallinger?
Sexual
09-07-2025, 07:48 PM
Disagree. Done to death but I think his starting lineup had an eye on his European team and Hibs don’t spend hundreds of thousands on sub goalies.
Exactly. Time will tell if we’ve signed a duffer but we didn’t spend that kind of money with the intention of Smith being no 1.
I remember Bogdan’s European debut for us and he didn’t look too clever either, so I’ll hold off from writing Salinger off just yet.
Bridge hibs
71 minutes of a friendly and we have written a new signing off. If that's not a record, it must be close.
Yep, ****ing chronic
What about that for a pass by Sallinger?
Sexual
Yes, impressive.......but your not allowed to say that.
On account of that one mistake by Salinger in a friendly?
He’s been so hesitant in the whole of this second half.
Looks miles behind Jordan.
But tbf - was a very good pass just there.
09-07-2025, 07:49 PM
Unbelievable eh! 🙄
NC1875
Yep, ****ing chronic
Just by the people who refuse to believe he’s here to be number 1. We don’t spend that money on a keeper to warm the bench.
Smudge was awful up at Kelty. Let's give the benefit of the doubt instead of micro analysing every detail
Yes, impressive.......but your not allowed to say that.
Who’s stopping you?
On the back of writing off our very good keeper from last season after a half against Ajax 🤣
09-07-2025, 07:50 PM
woooo 3-2
3-2 Boyle
OtleyHibs
3-2 Hibs
Boyle
26/27 Champions League Winners
Very good goal.
AdidasHibernian
Good finish Boyle
Great finish 😎
supermcginn
Exactly. Time will tell if we’ve signed a duffer but we didn’t spend that kind of money with the intention of Smith being no 1.
I remember Bogdan’s European debut for us and he didn’t look too clever either, so I’ll hold off from writing Salinger off just yet.
Exactly, he has been signed to be number one and won't lose out on that because of one shot in a friendly. We have spent serious money on him it's laughable folk think he's back up.
09-07-2025, 07:51 PM
From worse to bad eh
Brilliant from Boyle
He’s been so hesitant in the whole of this second half.
Looks miles behind Jordan.
Does he not get the benefit of the 'rusty', 'just a friendly' etc etc lines that Smith got? All of which are totally fair.
He's barely played with any of these players, just learning English and played a sum total of about 160 minutes for Hibs over 3 kickabout games. If that is what we are judging players on now then half this team would be out on it's arse with what they have produced in the friendlies thus far.
HendoDelivered
Boyler is the GOAT
Just by the people who refuse to believe he’s here to be number 1. We don’t spend that money on a keeper to warm the bench.
Remember we paid money for Morten Hyldgaard and didn't get a look in at all. We have some history of this!
Good goal boyler. Should stave off relegation now
Donegal Hibby
Yass Boyler :flag:
09-07-2025, 07:52 PM
so all our players are called M pact now
3 - 2 Boyle
German message boards going daft because the RWE keeper got done near post.
Exactly, he has been signed to be number one and won't lose out on that because of one shot in a friendly. We have spent serious money on him it's laughable folk think he's back up.
He has to prove himself to be better than Smith
one day maybe...
Is that Boyle at 100 goals or do friendlies not count
Gray in
AdidasHibernian
09-07-2025, 07:53 PM
Keeper will settle, more worried how he does in competitive games.
Youan though, I know it's pre season but you get the feeling he can't be arsed.
100% need a striker to share the workload with Boyler and Bowie.
09-07-2025, 07:53 PM
Manneh is upto speed with Scottish football now
What a tackle
TelaStella
09-07-2025, 07:54 PM
The size of their physio !
We're gonna win the ****in World Cup
Manneh looks decent , likes a tackle decent on the ball from the few recent games
What a tackle
*German football [emoji1787]
pollution
09-07-2025, 07:55 PM
Boyler !!!
What a tackle
That was an excellent tackle, never a foul.
Boyle should have made it 4-2 there
On the back of writing off our very good keeper from last season after a half against Ajax 🤣
Aye that was daft as well.
There are clear camps on both sides with this one though. Those who have been desperate to put the boot into Smith for months and those desperate for the new guy to flop so their wee favourite keeps his place.
Both seem ****ing weird to me. I just want the best Hibs team possible on the park and won't be judging either keeper on these games.
What a tackle
Straight red in the league after 40,000 VAR looks
09-07-2025, 07:56 PM
That was an excellent tackle, never a foul.
Boyle should have made it 4-2 there
The pass from Cadden was magnifico
Chris Cadden off for Gillie
Does he not get the benefit of the 'rusty', 'just a friendly' etc etc lines that Smith got? All of which are totally fair.
He's barely played with any of these players, just learning English and played a sum total of about 160 minutes for Hibs over 3 kickabout games. If that is what we are judging players on now then half this team would be out on it's arse with what they have produced in the friendlies thus far.
I’ve said already that it’s hopefully first game nerves, but Smudge was excellent last year and would deservedly have the gloves when competitive games start as a result.
There are two ways Salinger gets a game - by being better than Smith or if Smith gets injured or suspended. Smith was very consistent - could be a long wait for Salinger to get another chance. Irrelevant of a friendly, any new signing needs to impress and give a suggestion than they may be a better bet than their team mate in that position.
What a ball from Cadden but Boiler blasts over
Keeper will settle, more worried how he does in competitive games.
Youan though, I know it's pre season but you get the feeling he can't be arsed.
100% need a striker to share the workload with Boyler and Bowie.
Maybe Youan was injured. If not, not great. He won’t be any use to us and there’s unlikely to be a queue of clubs lining up to sign him..
JimboHibs
09-07-2025, 07:57 PM
I'm not writing Sallinger off but I'm certain Smith will start as No1 and rightly so he's done nothing wrong since he came in to merit him being dropped.
Lewis coming on
:)
so all our players are called M pact now
Are they not also associated with Tranent Juniors?
It not laughable at all though, its perfectly logical for people to think Smith should still be our number 1 based on his excellent performances last season. There is also plenty of logic behind peoole thinking Salinger could be no 1 based on spending a sizeable fee on him.
It's realistically a close decision that could be argued either way. Smith prob gets the nod after tonight IMO, but only Gray will really know.
Maybe Youan was injured. If not, not great. He won’t be any use to us and there’s unlikely to be a queue of clubs lining up to sign him..
He was defo calling over to the bench when the triple sub was made indicating that he wanted off as well.
His walk round the pitch looked like he couldn’t be arsed though tbf.