View Full Version : Hibs v Rot-Weiss Essen
09-07-2025, 07:58 PM
Aye that was daft as well.
There are clear camps on both sides with this one though. Those who have been desperate to put the boot into Smith for months and those desperate for the new guy to flop so their wee favourite keeps his place.
Both seem ****ing weird to me. I just want the best Hibs team possible on the park and won't be judging either keeper on these games.
Happy we play whoever SDG thinks is best fit for the team
09-07-2025, 07:59 PM
I’ve said already that it’s hopefully first game nerves, but Smudge was excellent last year and would deservedly have the gloves when competitive games start as a result.
There are two ways Salinger gets a game - by being better than Smith or if Smith gets injured or suspended. Smith was very consistent - could be a long wait for Salinger to get another chance. Irrelevant of a friendly, any new signing needs to impress and give a suggestion than they may be a better bet than their team mate in that position.
09-07-2025, 07:59 PM
Are they not also associated with Tranent Juniors?
no idea
as long as we don't start playing in their colours next :grr:
after a quick google....yes, Mpact group
09-07-2025, 08:00 PM
Are they not also associated with Tranent Juniors?
They used to be , not sure if they still are
He was defo calling over to the bench when the triple sub was made indicating that he wanted off as well.
His walk round the pitch looked like he couldn’t be arsed though tbf.
You’d think calling over to the bench was cos he was injured. Tbf looking like he couldn’t be arsed is nothing new. Ultimately he’s been a waste of space for a good majority of his time with us.
I'm loving Manneh. Does a crap pass, calmly wanders over and wins it back.
09-07-2025, 08:01 PM
Hibernian FC United States Presidential Election Winners 2027/28
Couple of really slack passes from Manneh
Worth remembering that after that Kelty game, it took Smith several months to get a second chance, and that was largely because he literally couldn’t be any worse than Bursik.
We know that Smith won’t be that bad and that he’s one of the best shot stoppers in the league, so it could be a long, long time for him to merit losing the gloves.
09-07-2025, 08:02 PM
I dinnae love that in a midfielder to be honest
And then gave it away again 🤣
I liked it when we used to sign back up keepers like David Mitchell just so folk knew who was number one 😉
Penalty to RWE
Penalty to them
penalty essen :rolleyes:
OtleyHibs
Self inflicted, sloppy back pass
09-07-2025, 08:03 PM
Well he’s saved a penalty :greengrin
Penalty save.
Best keeper we have ever had. 100% proof right there.
Sallinger what a goalie [emoji23]
OtleyHibs
Sallinger saves it
Looking like Smith might keep the gloves.
Shut up ya dick.
Great save by Salinger though
saved :greengrin
Salinger saved a nailed on goal, sadly given as a pen.
cameronw-hfc
He's back to #1 again!
Great save by Salinger though
Boo
I take everything back 😂
OtleyHibs
Saved that too 😁
AdidasHibernian
09-07-2025, 08:04 PM
Salinger what a keeper, never in doubt!
Smith would have saved that
Hannah_hfc
Sallinger penalty saved, not bad for a suspect keeper [emoji6]
Hopefully that helps his confidence
Oddly, showed no hesitation in saving the penalty.
Funny old game, eh.....
What a keeper!
Brilliant save Salinger
The save from the shot the striker managed to get away before the pen was awarded was brilliant also
09-07-2025, 08:05 PM
Shut up ya dick.
😂👆
Paul1642
Poor pen to give away, was it Marv?
Good save and I think his one mistake of the game is being overhyped. He didn’t exactly fumble it in.
TelaStella
Good save that btw, well done big man.
Paggers 👊🏻 :greengrin
Good double save there
09-07-2025, 08:06 PM
ooooohhh a wee stramash
Poor pen to give away, was it Marv?
Good save and I think his one mistake of the game is being overhyped. He didn’t exactly fumble it in.
It was Marv but it was a last ditch attempt after a really poor back pass from Nicky Cadden
Tell you one thing, Salinger's distribution is excellent.
TelaStella
Love it Josh Campbell.
OtleyHibs
09-07-2025, 08:07 PM
FT
This friendly has been really entertaining. Something not often said. Will be of great benefit.
Ft 3-2
Jock O
09-07-2025, 08:08 PM
Ah the highs and lows and extremes of a match day report, how I have missed it.
Almost makes missing the game worthwhile....
Tell you one thing, Salinger's distribution is excellent.
Not as good as Smith’s though :duck:
Punch up in a friendly. 🤪
Good win. Goals we conceded were concerning as way too easy for RWE but we look dangerous when we go forward.
Has Barrie put the Dambusters theme on yet?
nsandy62
That was a good watch.
First win of pre season
Good to get it out the way
09-07-2025, 08:09 PM
They didn’t come for a wee kick about, did they?
09-07-2025, 08:10 PM
Got in late, went to the first page of the match thread, just finished reading it. Feels like I have just watched Split again :faf:
Germans only know one way and that's to win.
Well mostly... 😉
Classiest part of the game was Junior’s goal. Superb!!!
On to Djurgårdens it is.
09-07-2025, 08:11 PM
They were very good second half. Wouldn’t mind signing their 11 based on that 45.
1875M
09-07-2025, 08:11 PM
Need to improve defensively. Hopefully Miller is OK. Decent run out. Keeper should save 2nd goal but played well apart from that I thought.
Hibspur
09-07-2025, 08:12 PM
You’d think calling over to the bench was cos he was injured. Tbf looking like he couldn’t be arsed is nothing new. Ultimately he’s been a waste of space for a good majority of his time with us.
There are plenty of instances of players who've been out for months coming back and breaking down again. If he's looking for a move he's hardly going to chuck in the towel after just a few minutes on the pitch. I actually fear it might be something he's not going to recover from.
09-07-2025, 08:13 PM
There are plenty of instances of players who've been out for months coming back and breaking down again. If he's looking for a move he's hardly going to chuck in the towel after just a few minutes on the pitch. I actually fear it might be something he's not going to recover from.
It was his back tonight, went after he challenged for a header on the near touchline.
Thats a great support they have, hopefully we play them next year in Essen again.
seagulls here
seagulls there
seagulls every damn where
millions of the blighters
well, hundreds at least
ChuckNor
09-07-2025, 08:14 PM
Never seen the game but a few mates saying Manneh was very poor. Megwa also looked bereft of confidence.
Paul1642
09-07-2025, 08:15 PM
Thats a great support they have, hopefully we play them next year in Essen again.
Best away support we will see at ER this season. For that many to make the trip for a pre season friendly is fanatic to see.
09-07-2025, 08:15 PM
Absolutely, I said him calling to the bench suggested it was injury related, the couldn’t be arsed was in relation to his body language as he went off, at least that’s what I took hibee girl to mean.
09-07-2025, 08:16 PM
I was very impressed by Cliff Pike’s German accent.
EGL2000
Liked the look of that number 19 for them, only 21 as well.
Paul1642
Never seen the game but a few mates saying Manneh was very poor. Megwa also looked bereft of confidence.
I thought Manneh was good. Never really noticed Megwa. Was it him or Marv that gave away the daft penalty? I think Marv but not certain.
09-07-2025, 08:18 PM
And then gives it away again.
I thought Manneh was good. Never really noticed Megwa. Was it him or Marv that gave away the daft penalty? I think Marv but not certain.
It was Marv.
😄😄😄
I agree about Manneh,he looked very composed when on the ball.
09-07-2025, 08:19 PM
Manneh wasn’t poor at all.
09-07-2025, 08:19 PM
Made more sense than usual.
1875Sean
09-07-2025, 08:20 PM
Remember we paid money for Morten Hyldgaard and didn't get a look in at all. We have some history of this!
He was a free http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/3067529.stm
dmc1875
09-07-2025, 08:20 PM
It was Marv.
Dreadful Nicky Cadden pass was the reason it was a pen tho to be fair to him
dmc1875
09-07-2025, 08:21 PM
He had a poor minute when he was really slack twice with under hit passes but was fine apart from that
crash
09-07-2025, 08:21 PM
No he was very poor.
09-07-2025, 08:22 PM
Manneh looks very composed to me and willing to get stuck in. He can be a bit slack on the ball though
I really hope he comes good
But so far I’ve not seen enough from him to say he’ll be any better than Mulligan, Levitt or Newell in there. Even NMW and he was allowed to leave and then it’s a position we’re still trying to strengthen
Admittedly it’s not alot of minutes he’s played in and majority of them have been pre season so it’s hard to judge
hibee316
09-07-2025, 08:22 PM
No he was very poor.
No he wasn't poor.
(This could go on a bit...)
He's here!
09-07-2025, 08:23 PM
It was his back tonight, went after he challenged for a header on the near touchline.
Ah, OK I didn't spot that.
He's here!
09-07-2025, 08:24 PM
Manneh looked pretty good to me.
09-07-2025, 08:25 PM
No he was very poor.
He wasn't very poor or even poor.
09-07-2025, 08:26 PM
Delighted for Sallinger
He’ll be disappointed with the second goal and it would have been easy for his confidence to dip
But the save immediately before the penalty and then the penalty save itself was brilliant
Also his distribution looks excellent. He’s able to half volley it out his hand about a foot off the deck and right into the strikers feet
09-07-2025, 08:26 PM
Liked the look of that number 19 for them, only 21 as well.
He did look impressive
09-07-2025, 08:29 PM
Thought manneh looked fine but not amazing. Think he will be very useful for us over the course of a season
09-07-2025, 08:30 PM
Manneh looked pretty good to me.
I quite like Manneh. Neat and tidy, and not afraid to put himself about or put a shift in.
LewysGot2
09-07-2025, 08:30 PM
I agree about Manneh,he looked very composed when on the ball.
The two passes apart, he was more than ok :agree:
HibeeSince85
09-07-2025, 08:31 PM
Delighted for Sallinger
He’ll be disappointed with the second goal and it would have been easy for his confidence to dip
But the save immediately before the penalty and then the penalty save itself was brilliant
Also his distribution looks excellent. He’s able to half volley it out his hand about a foot off the deck and right into the strikers feet
The ball to Campbell towards the end of the game. Tremendous, sadly met with the touch of an elephant by Campbell to lose possession.
09-07-2025, 08:32 PM
Aw right, been in a conference call for the last hour. What was the score, who's fault was it and who's getting sacked in the morning?
sauzee1989
09-07-2025, 08:35 PM
No he was very poor.
Agree very poor won’t get a look in if we stay away from injuries
LewysGot2
09-07-2025, 08:37 PM
Aw right, been in a conference call for the last hour. What was the score, whose-fault was it and who's getting sacked in the morning?
3-2
Youan/Campbell/Marv/Megwa/the keeper (delete as appropriate based on the moans around us) :thumbsup:
Steven Pressley
09-07-2025, 08:38 PM
3-2
Youan/Campbell/Marv/Megwa/the keeper (delete as appropriate based on the moans around us) :thumbsup:
Steven Pressley
:faf: :top marks
Donegal Hibby
09-07-2025, 08:41 PM
Early days I know but going by that and the fee that keeps getting mentioned Sallinger doesn’t look like he’s any better than Smudge … time will tell though . Thought Manneh gave the ball away too easily a few times but overall he looked good . Miller was excellent before he went off . Good workout too .
09-07-2025, 08:41 PM
Good run out for the team against committed but limited opposition. The stars were the visiting German fans. Appreciate it’s a big fun trip for them but along with Pat Stanton they made a pedestrian training game into a real occasion.
No he was very poor.
Not for me he wasn't
Hibees1973
09-07-2025, 08:45 PM
Manneh doesn't impress me.
No physicality and will struggle in the SPFL. Kind of reminds me of Euan Henderson.
1875Sean
09-07-2025, 08:46 PM
Manneh doesn't impress me.
No physicality and will struggle in the SPFL. Kind of reminds me of Euan Henderson.
I know it’s just pre season but I think there is a reason he hasn’t started any games over the others in midfield
cameronw-hfc
09-07-2025, 08:47 PM
Early days I know but going by that and the fee that keeps getting mentioned Sallinger doesn’t look like he’s any better than Smudge … time will tell though . Thought Manneh gave the ball away too easily a few times but overall he looked good . Miller was excellent before he went off . Good workout too .
Smith didn't look better than Bursik after his first 2 games, far, far to early to judge a goalie after 2 games. More than most positions I think keepers need a bit of time
tug.lismore
09-07-2025, 08:48 PM
You would think that people would learn not to write off individual players so quickly.
Examples being Jordan Smith, Rocky Bushiri, Nectar Triantis, and Jack Iredale.
And that's just from last season.
Sent from my 2312DRA50G using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
09-07-2025, 08:49 PM
I quite like Manneh. Neat and tidy, and not afraid to put himself about or put a shift in.
Sums it up perfectly :agree:
09-07-2025, 08:51 PM
Shut up ya dick.
Here that's ma pal yer talking tae!
09-07-2025, 08:52 PM
He’s absolutely miles better than Smith at kicking the ball out. Not even close. Looked poor for their second goal but a couple of good saves into the bargain as well.
09-07-2025, 08:57 PM
He’s absolutely miles better than Smith at kicking the ball out. Not even close. Looked poor for their second goal but a couple of good saves into the bargain as well.
Aye but he doesn’t have a nice nickname though…
MikeyS
09-07-2025, 09:00 PM
And his Mum doesn't have twitter either...
09-07-2025, 09:03 PM
Take it you left 10 mins before the end.
Had a good save just before a brilliant save from a well hit penalty that was well directed too.
supermcginn
09-07-2025, 09:03 PM
You literally had about 20 posts saying after the Ajax game saying it was unfair to criticise Smith yet you've just decided the new goalie is no better after tonight? Absolutely ridiculous but not surprising.
Donegal Hibby
09-07-2025, 09:07 PM
Smith didn't look better than Bursik after his first 2 games, far, far to early to judge a goalie after 2 games. More than most positions I think keepers need a bit of time
It wasn’t a criticism of Sallinger but more just a thought that maybe the two keepers aren’t that much different ability wise. I agree it’s only pre-season and too early to judge Sallinger fully which unfortunately was done on our other keeper after the first half of the Ajax game . I do think Smith has a good chance of retaining the gloves though.
09-07-2025, 09:15 PM
If it was a 50/50 decision Smith would have got the second half. Let it go man.
09-07-2025, 09:17 PM
Smith is playing the next game. No issue with either keeper. 1st goal against was all Rocky’s fault. No matter how good he did last season that’s a basic defensive error
EGL2000
09-07-2025, 09:17 PM
Anyone else think Bowie struggled a bit. I still think he looks pretty raw. Works his arse of though and always gets stuck in. Definitely think we will bring in another striker.
09-07-2025, 09:18 PM
For an in depth report on the game by these total inbreds you have to read the absolute 💩 some of them are saying 😄 real comedy gold, the best one was we kicked them off the park 😮😂😂😂
09-07-2025, 09:21 PM
Enjoyed the game, the sun was shining and RWE were brilliant and brought the occasion to life
Anyone else think Bowie struggled a bit. I still think he looks pretty raw. Works his arse of though and always gets stuck in. Definitely think we will bring in another striker.
Thought we looked a bit toothless up front after he went off. We definitely need another Myko type in.
Donegal Hibby
You literally had about 20 posts saying after the Ajax game saying it was unfair to criticise Smith yet you've just decided the new goalie is no better after tonight? Absolutely ridiculous but not surprising.
Was it not unfair criticism he got like ? I don’t think it’s ridiculous to wonder if our two keepers are more evenly matched than we first thought … but that’s obviously something that you just don’t want to hear like which is clear by your response here :wink:
EGL2000
09-07-2025, 09:24 PM
Thought we looked a bit toothless up front after he went off. We definitely need another Myko type in.
Yeah definitely need another good quality striker to compete for the starting place then if being greedy another older experienced one or a good upcoming youngster on loan.
Donegal Hibby
09-07-2025, 09:25 PM
I don’t really know what your on about here tbh
09-07-2025, 09:26 PM
att: 12.622
Hibs3-2
09-07-2025, 09:28 PM
I like bowie. Puts himself about and has some power on him. His effort off thepost as an example
He looks so slow/leggy though and very raw as another poster said. Need another striker in
09-07-2025, 09:30 PM
Great crowd for a friendly during the Trades Fortnight with many on holiday.
09-07-2025, 09:31 PM
Or he gets all of the next game?
Stairway 2 7
09-07-2025, 09:32 PM
That's tremendous for a midweek pre season, we used to average bellow that in the league
09-07-2025, 09:32 PM
Great crowd for a friendly during the Trades Fortnight with many on holiday.
Is trades fortnight still a thing? 🤷🏻
09-07-2025, 09:44 PM
Excellent distribution from Sallinger. Great penalty save. The second goal was hit with accuracy, at the time I thought he might have done better.
Manneh disappointed, Mulligan didn't do much.
Hoilett was good, Miller did well, hope he's just taken off as a precaution
First half was pretty decent, we looked a level above, second half started badly and they were much more competitive. The left winger was very good and the centre forward was also decent.
Rot Weiss Essen fans were excellent, impressive support, well done to them.
09-07-2025, 09:55 PM
And his Mum doesn't have twitter either...
Is there any need for posts like this. :confused:
Some bizarre stuff being posted around both the goalies.
09-07-2025, 09:57 PM
I thought Bowie did well, helped out in defense a few times, held it up well more times than not and unlucky with a great effort that hit the post. Looks a good deal fitter this season. For me it was Nicky Cadden, from last year's success stories, that struggled. Looks like he still has a bit of summer rest period to come off and was easily beaten a few times. Still put in a few great crosses and passes though.
Megwa had a couple of moments and Elie looks like he has completely lost interest to me. Miller and Junior were both excellent for the minutes they played. Mulligan and McGrath both had flashes and enough to suggest they will be good signings. One of the better friendlies I can remember and I loved Boyle getting involved when the boy dived at the end.
BlackSheep
09-07-2025, 09:57 PM
Excellent distribution from Sallinger. Great penalty save. The second goal was hit with accuracy, at the time I thought he might have done better.
Manneh disappointed, Mulligan didn't do much.
Hoilett was good, Miller did well, hope he's just taken off as a precaution
First half was pretty decent, we looked a level above, second half started badly and they were much more competitive. The left winger was very good and the centre forward was also decent.
Rot Weiss Essen fans were excellent, impressive support, well done to them.
I actually thought Mulligan did very well, played the DM role really well, always got involved, strong in the middle of the pitch and also made some attacking movements.
Some bizarre stuff being posted around both the goalies.Is it about the goalies? Is it really?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
09-07-2025, 09:59 PM
Or he gets all of the next game?
I think the commentator said that Smith wasn’t the sub goalie tonight , Johnson was which was the reason I didn’t understand what the other poster was on about . Maybe I heard it wrong of course.
TrinityHFC
09-07-2025, 10:03 PM
I think the commentator said that Smith wasn’t the sub goalie tonight , Johnson was which was the reason I didn’t understand what the other poster was on about :confused . Maybe I heard it wrong of course.
The 2 keepers were on the bench.
09-07-2025, 10:07 PM
Some bizarre stuff being posted around both the goalies.
Both posters should know better.
09-07-2025, 10:08 PM
I actually thought Mulligan did very well, played the DM role really well, always got involved, strong in the middle of the pitch and also made some attacking movements.
Mulligan was our best player for me.
Donegal Hibby
09-07-2025, 10:14 PM
The 2 keepers were on the bench.
I know that T but I do think the commentator said at one point that we’d probably see Sallinger play the whole game as Smith wasn’t the sub goalie , Johnson was . Maybe he got that wrong or I misheard but I don’t think I did in tbh. Thought it was strange at the time .
Cabbage-Patch
09-07-2025, 10:16 PM
Thought we were good 1st half but too many changes early into 2nd half stopped the momentum for me. Bowie still looks a bit raw which is worrying as hes our main striker now. Another nonchalant performance from Youan shows we absolutely must get a couple of strikers in. Probably too late in the day now affect the European game but needs must.
Lot of business still to be done in terms of ins and outs
09-07-2025, 10:17 PM
For me, there were positive signs in first half that the Levitt-McGrath-Mulligan combo in midfield could be a winner. Yeah, it was against what turned out to be mostly their 2nd string. Nevertheless, I was encouraged they linked up well. Mulligan MotM (Man of the Midfield). Looked positive and some good forward runs.
EGL2000
09-07-2025, 10:23 PM
Thought we were good 1st half but too many changes at half time stopped the momentum for me. Bowie still looks a bit raw which is worrying as hes our main striker now. Another nonchalant performance from Youan shows we absolutely must get a couple of strikers in. Probably too late in the day now affect the European game but needs must.
Lot of business still to be done in terms of ins and outs
We only made 1 change at HT. The changes came after it was 2-2 and they controlled it for 10 minutes or so.
09-07-2025, 10:29 PM
Who would have guessed that the crowd was over 12500. A lot on here were certainly making out that it was going to be a poor crowd. I am delighted they were wrong… again. We have a tremendous fan base who turn out and support the club regularly
09-07-2025, 10:41 PM
Really enjoyed tonight's game. We were very good 1st half. Thought their number 24 was great, sign him up Dave!
Keepthefaith
09-07-2025, 10:43 PM
decent workout, great spectacle thanks to the Essen fans - really hope we get some big euro games with decent away support.
overall left a little disappointed that we weren't more fluid / quick going forward. thought we lacked pace on the wings and agree with the poster who said Nicky Cadden looked off it - couple of nice crosses but was a bit flat otherwise. thought we got opened up far to easily down the flanks too after Miller went off. liked what I saw from Mulligan and McGrath, but we need more pace and play more one / two touch to attack more quickly IMO.
Early days though and more signings to come. praying Triantis is one of them too!
09-07-2025, 10:57 PM
Has anything been mentioned on the reason for Obita’s absence?
Cabbage-Patch
09-07-2025, 10:59 PM
Really enjoyed tonight's game. We were very good 1st half. Thought their number 24 was great, sign him up Dave!
Thought the same. Kaito Mizuta
09-07-2025, 11:24 PM
not now Kaito!
Thoroughly enjoyed that: plenty goals, wee bit of handbags towards the end. As many have said their fans were incredible and brought so much to the occasion. Hopefully a strong bond between the clubs and we can head over there at some point for a game.
Jim Herriot
09-07-2025, 11:28 PM
Match report from https://www.rot-weiss-essen.de/2025/07/09/rwe-schrammt-bei-fussballfest-in-edinburgh-an-remis-vorbei/ - translated by Google
What a football festival! 70 years after the two clubs met in the first round of the then newly founded European Cup in 1955, Scottish Premiership side Hibernian FC and Rot-Weiss Essen faced off again at Easter Road Stadium in Edinburgh. The atmospheric anniversary match ended 3-2 (2-0) for the hosts in front of a large crowd, including more than 2,100 traveling RWE fans and Essen's mayor, Thomas Kufen. But everyone who attended this historic anniversary match was a winner.
Jamie McGrath (2') and Junior Hoilett (14') gave Hibs a 2-0 lead with two early goals. Dominik Martinovic (46'/51') was even quicker to equalize early in the second half with a brace. Substitute Martin Boyle (75') finally scored the winning goal for the Scots, but they had to thank their Austrian goalkeeper Raphael Sallinger in the closing stages, who saved a penalty from Torben Müsel (88').
Initial formation with three new players
Rot-Weiss Essen, wearing special kits to commemorate the 70th anniversary of the German championship, started with a 4-2-3-1 formation. A back four defended in front of goalkeeper Jakob Golz in the first half, consisting of – from right to left – Jannik Hofmann, José-Enrique Rios Alonso, Tobias Kraulich, and Ekin Celebi. Luca Bazzoli and Tom Moustier played in midfield. Ahmet Arslan took the central position in attack, supported by Marvin Obuz (right) and Lucas Brumme (left). Ramien Safi played up front. Hofmann, Bazzoli, and the returning Obuz made up three newcomers in the starting eleven.
Lucas Brumme left the pitch early due to a foot injury in the closing stages of the first half, and Torben Müsel came on. Uwe Koschinat made substitutions for the remaining ten positions at halftime. Felix Wienand moved between the posts, with Nils Kaiser, captain Michael Schultz, U19 talent Nico Schulte-Kellinghaus, and Freiburg loanee Franci Bouebari forming the defense. Klaus Gjasula and Gianluca Swajkowski played in the defensive midfield positions. Kelsey Owusu played on the right wing, Torben Müsel played in the number ten position, and Kaito Mizuta played on the left, while Dominik Martinovic played at center forward.
Two other new signings, striker Marek Janssen and right-back Michael Kostka, were unavailable due to injury. Midfielder Jimmy Kaparos was still on special leave, and striker Jaka Cuber Potocnik, who arrived on loan from 1. FC Köln on Wednesday, had not yet departed for Scotland.
McGrath ensures a very poor start for RWE
After kicking off about 15 minutes late due to the RWE team bus being stuck in heavy traffic, the Red-Whites got off to a terrible start. Their very first attack gave the Scottish home side the lead. Jakob Golz brilliantly parried the first shot, but Essen's number one was powerless to stop Jamie McGrath's youngsters making it 1-0 in the second minute.
The visitors subsequently attempted to establish more defensive order, but initially struggled to gain control of the game. The result was a second goal conceded after less than a quarter of an hour. Junior Hoilett was not significantly disturbed on the edge of the penalty area and used the space to curl the ball into the top right corner of the goal with his right foot to make it 2-0 (14').
As the first half progressed, the visitors came into the game much better and created several scoring opportunities. The best chances fell to Ahmet Arslan, who volleyed over the bar after a long cross, and Tom Moustier, who shot from distance. The nimble Jannik Hofmann was quite conspicuous with several successful attacking moves down the right flank. At the other end, Hibs had a good chance to make it 3-0. Ekin Celebi threw himself into the shot before Jakob Golz was able to clear.
Thanks to Martinovic: RWE returns quickly
A completely different picture emerged at the start of the second period: This time, the newly formed Essen team struck immediately and reduced the deficit after just a few seconds. Following a pass from Kaito Mizuta, Franci Bouebari cut the ball inside from the left flank, where Dominik Martinovic only had to put the ball in from close range – 1:2 (46').
But that wasn't enough: Less than five minutes later, Dominik Martinovic again launched a spectacular solo run after a pass from Kaito Mizuta, firing from around 18 meters and through his opponent's legs into the near corner to equalize at 2-2 (51'). With his brace, Martinovic, who had to wait a long time for his first personal success, boosted the mood among the traveling RWE fans, who almost made the clash at Easter Road Stadium feel like a home game.
The home side had to shake things off after that, but almost took the lead again after the hour mark. A shot from center forward Kieron Bowie hit the left inside post. An open exchange of blows developed, with chances for both sides. While Dominik Martinovic twice missed, substitute Martin Boyle, after a clever control, fired a left-footed shot into the bottom right corner from 16 meters to make it 3-2 (75').
RWE didn't give up, however, and had a great chance to equalize again shortly before the final whistle. Following a foul on Torben Müsel in the penalty area, the resulting penalty was awarded. Müsel took the shot himself, but HFC keeper Raphael Sallinger guessed the right corner and fished the ball out of the net (88'). So, in the end, the hosts narrowly won. Nevertheless, the RWE fans celebrated their team for a courageous performance for a long time.
Lineup 1st half: Golz – Hofmann, Rios Alonso, Kraulich, Celebi – Bazzoli, Moustier – Obuz, Arslan, Brumme (37. Müsel) – Safi
Lineup 2nd half: Wienand – Kaiser, Schultz, Schulte-Kellinghaus, Bouebari – Gjasula, Swajkowski – Owusu, Müsel, Mizuta – Martinovic
Goals: 1:0 McGrath (2nd), 2:0 Hoilett (14th), 2:1 Martinovic (46th), 2:2 Martinovic (51st), 3:2 Boyle (75th)
09-07-2025, 11:39 PM
not now Kaito!
09-07-2025, 11:40 PM
Clever move by Hibs to hold up the KO for 15 minutes so that the Pat Stanton stand would be full when he came out :greengrin
We were decent in the fist half, brilliant finish by Hoilett and Boyle took his goal well in the 2nd half. We were definitely flat for half an hour in the 2nd half, but I genuinely think we were so comfortable in that first half we were taken a bit by surprise when RWE upped the tempo after half time and took quite a while to get going again.
Miller was excellent before going off ( hope he is ok ) and I thought Mulligan and McGrath showed up well in flashes. From where I was I thought Bowie showed some really decent control to take the ball in when it was fired at him. If I took anything away from the game, it's that we simply must get at least one more striker in, after Bowie went off we looked absolutely toothless up front, and we have a bit to go before we get to the level we were at by the end of last season.
As for the keeper discussion, Sallinger will know himself he was too easily beaten by a shot he should have seen coming, but he made up for it with a brilliant save from a well struck penalty.
The RWE fans were excellent, and fair play to them, not as boringly choreographed as some continental fans we have seen at ER.
The pie ques in the PS stand were INSANE and surprise surprise, they ran out of practically everything by 7:05
Been to far worse friendlies :aok:
Edit: Elie Youan lasting 15 minutes before going off injured wasn't even a surprise. His fault or not, how can you construct a game plan for any fixture that includes him, when you have no idea from one game to the next whether or not he will be available?
09-07-2025, 11:45 PM
Clever move by Hibs to hold up the KO for 15 minutes so that the Pat Stanton stand would be full when he came out :greengrin
We were decent in the fist half, brilliant finish by Hoilett and Boyle took his goal well in the 2nd half. We were definitely flat for half an hour in the 2nd half, but I genuinely think we were so comfortable in that first half we were taken a bit by surprise when RWE upped the tempo after half time and took quite a while to get going again.
Miller was excellent before going off ( hope he is ok ) and I thought Mulligan and McGrath showed up well in flashes. From where I was I thought Bowie showed some really decent control to take the ball in when it was fired at him. If I took anything away from the game, it's that we simply must get at least one more striker in, after Bowie went off we looked absolutely toothless up front, and we have a bit to go before we get to the level we were at by the end of last season.
As for the keeper discussion, Sallinger will know himself he was too easily beaten by a shot he should have seen coming, but he made up for it with a brilliant save from a well struck penalty.
The RWE fans were excellent, and fair play to them, not as boringly choreographed as some continental fans we have seen at ER.
The pie ques in the PS stand were INSANE and surprise surprise, they ran out of practically everything by 7:05
Been to far worse friendlies :aok:
i did wonder about the delay - couldn’t make out a word from the tannoy in the East - just like the old days :) but see from above Essen report that their bus was held up in heavy traffic. Someone else must have put their towels down ;)
DIXIHIBS
10-07-2025, 06:37 AM
Enjoyed last night. Decent competitive friendly. Did the Essen fans, who were brilliant, actually sing 'stand up if you hate jam tarts' or did it just sound like that??
EGL2000
10-07-2025, 06:47 AM
decent workout, great spectacle thanks to the Essen fans - really hope we get some big euro games with decent away support.
overall left a little disappointed that we weren't more fluid / quick going forward. thought we lacked pace on the wings and agree with the poster who said Nicky Cadden looked off it - couple of nice crosses but was a bit flat otherwise. thought we got opened up far to easily down the flanks too after Miller went off. liked what I saw from Mulligan and McGrath, but we need more pace and play more one / two touch to attack more quickly IMO.
Early days though and more signings to come. praying Triantis is one of them too!
That's something that crossed my mind last night as well. We seriously lack players with real pace now. Boyle is probably the only one and he's lost of gear or 2. Doesn't seem like we currently have anyone who can properly open up the game when on the counter and break away.
EGL2000
10-07-2025, 06:48 AM
When was the last time we got a good European friendly that a lot of fans could actually attend? I know it's slightly different when we are in Europe but I can't even remember getting the chance to go to one recently?
10-07-2025, 06:53 AM
That's so nice that even Essen's mayor came too lol
10-07-2025, 07:07 AM
The Essen fans were a credit to their club. What a racket they made. Pleased they got a couple of goals to enjoy at their end and Hibs still won.
HIBS NUTS
10-07-2025, 07:11 AM
Enjoyed last night. Decent competitive friendly. Did the Essen fans, who were brilliant, actually sing 'stand up if you hate jam tarts' or did it just sound like that??
Stand up if you hate the hearts.
10-07-2025, 07:18 AM
Has anything been mentioned on the reason for Obita’s absence?
He was sitting next to us. Muscle issue.
LEaston87
10-07-2025, 07:25 AM
I hope we look at their number 24, he could be a good addition to the team and only has a year left on his deal
10-07-2025, 07:35 AM
Would that be the biggest non-UK based away support ever at Easter Road?
ChuckNor
10-07-2025, 07:37 AM
Highlights available anywhere?
10-07-2025, 07:44 AM
Would that be the biggest non-UK based away support ever at Easter Road?
Not sure. Celtic normally bring a big support from the RoI 😉
badabing67
10-07-2025, 08:21 AM
Highlights available anywhere?
Hibernian 3-2 Essen | Pre-season highlights | Football News | Sky Sports (https://www.skysports.com/football/video/33727/13394840/hibernian-3-2-essen-pre-season-highlights)
Trinity Hibee
10-07-2025, 08:23 AM
Hibernian 3-2 Essen | Pre-season highlights | Football News | Sky Sports (https://www.skysports.com/football/video/33727/13394840/hibernian-3-2-essen-pre-season-highlights)
👍🏼
KdyHby
10-07-2025, 08:56 AM
Loved the "we want beer" at half time 🤣
10-07-2025, 09:00 AM
There are a few German speakers on here.
My son Google-translated their banner as something like "as Grandad once did with you". That brought a wee tear to my eye.
Did Google get it right?
10-07-2025, 09:17 AM
My son Google-translated their banner as something like "as Grandad once did with you". That brought a wee tear to my eye.
Did Google get it right?
It was "Wie einst der Opa mit dir durch Europa".
My German is passable at best, but I think Google is close enough (with 'across Europe' on the end).
10-07-2025, 09:18 AM
Did Google get it right?
Pretty much. The full thing said " as Grandad/Grandpa once did with you through Europe"
10-07-2025, 09:20 AM
It was "Wie einst der Opa mit dir durch Europa".
My German is passable at best, but I think Google is close enough (with 'across Europe' on the end).
Ta.
It was my 4 year-old granddaughter's first match.
"Are you crying, Granda?"
She also pointed at the RW fans and said "is that Hearts?" :greengrin
10-07-2025, 09:32 AM
There were 2 young ladies in front of me last night on holiday from the US who decided to buy tickets for what their first football game. One was actually German but now living in the US and she translated the banner. I then had to explain the history of the fixture, Pat Stanton and what a Rocky Bushiri was.
I doubt my chat was the highlight of their holiday 😂
10-07-2025, 09:32 AM
not now Kaito!
10-07-2025, 09:33 AM
Ta.
It was my 4 year-old granddaughter's first match.
"Are you crying, Granda?"
She also pointed at the RW fans and said "is that Hearts?" :greengrin
A friend's young kid apparently pointed at the flag RW fans were waving that had a picture of a man on it and said "is that Hitler on that flag" :faf:
10-07-2025, 11:44 AM
How come Clelland or Jiminez weren’t given a run out last night given we’re down to the bones striker wise, trying to get something from Youan or Campbell as a makeshift striker?
Did Megwa, Macintyre or Gillie look like they have a chance of game time this season?
ManlyOz
10-07-2025, 11:46 AM
How Good would the famous five lower be if was like the Essen fans last night, all dressed in team colours, simple we chants, and no drum 😁. One of the loudest away fans I’ve heard at ER.
10-07-2025, 11:49 AM
How come Clelland or Jiminez weren’t given a run out last night given we’re down to the bones striker wise, trying to get something from Youan or Campbell as a makeshift striker?
Did Megwa, Macintyre or Gillie look like they have a chance of game time this season?
They both played against Penicuik the night before.
10-07-2025, 11:50 AM
I mentioned to my son that Clelland should have been given a chance in the game.
The trio you mention, none had a big impression, but they weren't on the park that long really.
EGL2000
10-07-2025, 12:04 PM
How Good would the famous five lower be if was like the Essen fans last night, all dressed in team colours, simple we chants, and no drum 😁. One of the loudest away fans I’ve heard at ER.
They had a drum and used it for the majority of their songs. In fact most German teams have 3 or 4 drums. If you want an atmosphere like that you totally need to I'm embrace the current Ultra culture. All the best atmospheres in Europe have that style.
10-07-2025, 12:06 PM
Thoroughly enjoyed my day out in Edinburgh yesterday and Nott in Leith Walk was a wee gem of a restraunt Game for a friendly was more than decent
10-07-2025, 12:06 PM
I mentioned to my son that Clelland should have been given a chance in the game.
The trio you mention, none had a big impression, but they weren't on the park that long really.
MacIntrye gave lots energy and put himself about in the midfield. I think that was plain to see
EGL2000
10-07-2025, 12:08 PM
MacIntrye gave lots energy and put himself about in the midfield. I think that was plain to see
I thought he done well, definitely didn't look out a place!
10-07-2025, 12:16 PM
They had a drum and used it for the majority of their songs. In fact most German teams have 3 or 4 drums.
They had 2 that I could see and a guy on the megaphone…
chippy
10-07-2025, 12:18 PM
I thought Jacob McIntyre got stuck in and played ok- think there is a lot more to come from him . Looks about ready for first team now
10-07-2025, 12:21 PM
I know this reference isn't one for the teenagers, but I kind of find myself looking at Megwa's prospects the same as I looked at Callum Milne & Davey Farrell's.
You really want them to succeed.
But deep down you can see that, by now, we'd be expecting to have seen a bit more confidence on the ball. Might end up having a ceiling at Championship level (which is no bad thing) but does not look ready for Hibs
A loan to a good club like Raith etc might help, but would rely on a top end Championship club expressing an interest
10-07-2025, 01:46 PM
That surprised me too and I presumed they were back with teh dev squad. McIntyre looked lively albeit not involved much. Gillie not really involved and we are well covered in his area and Megwa looks unlikely to be in our first team squad to me.
I'm desperate to see how Deano gets on in a decent sized competitive friendly game like last night. I have a feeling his game will improve quickly and he may be a useful option very quickly. To me Campbell just doesn't work as part of a two. His strength is arriving not already be there when tightly marked and it was a wasted opportunity to see what Deano could do imo
sauzee1989
10-07-2025, 01:57 PM
Megwa is a million miles away from playing for Hibs. I know Partick fans that are against him going back to them.
10-07-2025, 02:01 PM
Megwa is a million miles away from playing for Hibs. I know Partick fans that are against him going back to them.
Shame as, when he was flying at Airdrie a couple of years ago, it looked really promising for him. Maybe suffered for coming back at a time when we had Monty and a poor side. Making that step in to the first team is difficult though.
Musselbound
10-07-2025, 03:12 PM
Agree that they were loud, especially for only half the stand. Very impressive.
10-07-2025, 03:20 PM
As you would expect from any young professional desperate to make the breakthrough, I think we all know that's the minimum to expect. He didn't do much wrong, nor did he particularly impress. He wasn't alone in that.
10-07-2025, 06:17 PM
Met a few Essen fans uptown today. They loved in Edinburgh
Said it was their visit, but will not be there last
Think the sunshine helped😀
Green_one
10-07-2025, 06:49 PM
They had a drum and used it for the majority of their songs. In fact most German teams have 3 or 4 drums. If you want an atmosphere like that you totally need to I'm embrace the current Ultra culture. All the best atmospheres in Europe have that style.
Ok we would all admit they were noisy and impressive. However they were hard core fans away from home and pretty tanked up. Look at the Hibs support at Aston Villa. They were very impressive. I doubt most of us want or could produce the game long energy that they created. Many of their tunes are pretty lame and the sync clapping to the drums is just imho tedious.
I would welcome the ER crowd being noisier but I think the German formula is beyond us. We still don’t have a balance of fan participation in singing and we have created a focus in one isolated group. Perhaps we could take something from the Germans by having ‘initiators’ , either as individuals or more likely groups. Too reliant on spontaneity or being sparked by some event in the pitch. Lastly, our sunshine on Leith is magical, with few comparisons :flag::flag: