View Full Version : McInnes to Hearts

Pages : [1] 2 3

08-05-2025, 11:11 AM
Strong rumours going about that he’s got the Hearts gig.

08-05-2025, 11:21 AM
Annoyingly think he’ll be very good for them, think he suits them to a tee.

The only positive I can think is that despite doing well, they’ll get fed up of his football at the first sign of a poor run of games.

Paul1642
08-05-2025, 11:23 AM
Time will tell if I’m wrong but I’m not massively fussed by this. Nothing I’ve seen from Killie this season (despite the plastic pitch advantage) makes me think he’s a guarantee to turn them around.

Rather him for them than John McGlynn right now.

08-05-2025, 11:25 AM
Disappointed at this. Really would fancy him to turn them around and make them a competent team, if not much else.

08-05-2025, 11:26 AM
I’m a bit baffled by this as it flies in the face of the Jamestown model.

I think he’ll improve them but those who didn’t like Neilson’s style of football are gonnae love this.😂

08-05-2025, 11:28 AM
I’m a bit baffled by this as it flies in the face of the Jamestown model.

I think he’ll improve them but those who didn’t like Neilson’s style of football are gonnae love this.😂

They complained about the opposite style of football under Crotchley - I think they secretly love industrial football

08-05-2025, 11:29 AM
Irrelevant diddy team.

08-05-2025, 11:30 AM
McInnes absolutely loves signing ex players, wonder who he’ll try and recruit this time.

Danny Armstrong
David Watson
Scott Wright
Ryan Hedges
Dom Ball
One of his current centre halves/defendeda - Lewis Mayo, Robbie Deas, Joe Wright, Stuart Findlay or Corrie Ndaba

08-05-2025, 11:31 AM
Time will tell if I’m wrong but I’m not massively fussed by this. Nothing I’ve seen from Killie this season (despite the plastic pitch advantage) makes me think he’s a guarantee to turn them around.

Rather him for them than John McGlynn right now.

Couldn’t agree more.

They’ve managed to head hunt the manager of the team in 9th place.

McInnes is a competent manager, no doubt about that but imo there’s not much recent evidence to suggest he’s much more than that. Recent evidence suggests his best years are behind him and he doesn’t come across as the most modern forward thinking manager. Not sure if he’s in the dinosaur bracket but he’s heading in that direction.

I think he’s a bad fit for their current situation but then I’m a biased Hibs fan, time will tell but he’s not someone I would be excited about if I was then. The steady Eddie boring, safe appointment that’s so appealing to them just now will soon become the boring steady Eddie appointment that’s not good enough for their lofty ambitions.

FWIW I’m not convinced if they approach him he’ll take it.

08-05-2025, 11:31 AM
Armstrong is a cert. Kyle Vassel’s deal is up at Killie so wouldn’t be surprised to see him.

08-05-2025, 11:35 AM
They have recruited the manger from a team below them. That a team above them sacked.

08-05-2025, 11:35 AM
He's a perfect fit for hearts tbh.

Surprised they haven't gone down that road before now

08-05-2025, 11:37 AM
Will be a very good appointment for them unfortunately.

08-05-2025, 11:39 AM
Armstrong is a cert. Kyle Vassel’s deal is up at Killie so wouldn’t be surprised to see him.

Vassel is a very Hearts striker.

He's here!
08-05-2025, 11:46 AM

Yep he'll most likely do well there. Very good manager many of us would have been happy to see at Hibs post-Monty - or indeed post-LJ.

I'm surprised he's OK with the analytics means of choosing his signings for him tho.

08-05-2025, 11:51 AM
I think he’ll make Hearts more like what I’d expect Hearts to be like in that they’d be much harder to play against.

It’s think it’s a safe appointment, he won’t be a disaster but I’m not sure how good he makes them. It’s not one that strikes any fear in to me.

I'm surprisingly unbothered by this.

Gordy M
Yep he'll most likely do well there. Very good manager many of us would have been happy to see at Hibs post-Monty - or indeed post-LJ.

I'm surprised he's OK with the analytics means of choosing his signings for him tho.

Since he left Aberdeen, what was that...4 years ago, he has beat Hibs once, that was on that ridiculous plastic pitch. Guy cant win a game on grass with Killie. Time will tell but doesnt fill me with any fear at all.

Pete70
08-05-2025, 11:52 AM
Meh

08-05-2025, 11:56 AM
He'll be an improvement on the previous 2 incumbents which may well be damned by faint praise.

I like him as a manager but if, God forbid, I was a Hearts fans I'd be asking how he fits into their system. They have made a big song and dance about their data, analytics, wider football recruitment operation and so on and he really isn't a gaffer who wants to work in that kind of system. He wants to be a manager rather than a head coach. It screams a bit of desperation to me rather than a coherent process that end with a coach who fits their model.

08-05-2025, 11:56 AM
Have to say he's a perfect fit for the job.

Dmas
08-05-2025, 11:58 AM

I think so to I’d much prefer they went back along the unknown road, he’s had a poor season this year but newly promoted teams who stay up usually do have a harder time 2nd season

08-05-2025, 11:59 AM

How come? Because he’s a bottom 6 manager too?

I thought they’d have had loftier ambitions than that 😂

08-05-2025, 12:00 PM
I’d have taken him at us previously and I think he’ll do a good job with them. As others have posted he will make them more like a typical Hearts team.

Still prefer David Gray though.

08-05-2025, 12:01 PM
He will make them better, I dont want that. :rolleyes:

What filters did they have to put in the supercomputer to land on that appointment?

Industrial - check
Bit of a prick - check
Hun element - check

Windows 95 would’ve struggled with that one.

He's here!
Since he left Aberdeen, what was that...4 years ago, he has beat Hibs once, that was on that ridiculous plastic pitch. Guy cant win a game on grass with Killie. Time will tell but doesnt fill me with any fear at all.

Not saying he fills me with fear either but his record as a manager marks him out as the most successful Scottish boss in the top flight by a distance.

With the benefit of hindsight I'm now far happier we have SDG.

Trinity Hibee
08-05-2025, 12:03 PM
Would he work under their structure? Kept hearing how he wouldn’t come here because he doesn’t work under DoF

Donegal Hibby
08-05-2025, 12:03 PM
Hertz identity under McInnes …. Big physical side that makes cynical fouls who like to play hoofball . Perfect fit for them really until a few defeats and then the moaning will start about the style of football 🍿

Gordy M
08-05-2025, 12:04 PM
Not saying he fills me with fear either but his record as a manager marks him out as the most successful Scottish boss in the top flight by a distance.

With the benefit of hindsight I'm now far happier we have SDG.

Not in winning anything he isnt! But your are totally right, SDG for me.

He's here!
08-05-2025, 12:05 PM
He'll be an improvement on the previous 2 incumbents which may well be damned by faint praise.

I like him as a manager but if, God forbid, I was a Hearts fans I'd be asking how he fits into their system. They have made a big song and dance about their data, analytics, wider football recruitment operation and so on and he really isn't a gaffer who wants to work in that kind of system. He wants to be a manager rather than a head coach. It screams a bit of desperation to me rather than a coherent process that end with a coach who fits their model.

Agreed. There's an air of let's just stop the rot about it. I really don't think their CEO or Budge have much of a clue.

08-05-2025, 12:05 PM
Naismith must be a heavy favourite to replace him at Killie.

08-05-2025, 12:09 PM
THE most boring appointment they could make.

08-05-2025, 12:11 PM
What filters did they have to put in the supercomputer to land on that appointment?

Industrial - check
Bit of a prick - check
Hun element - check

Windows 95 would’ve struggled with that one.

Must have used an Amstaunch.

08-05-2025, 12:13 PM
I'd say his style of football is pragmatic and with good players will be a decent watch. Not overly different to what we play now imo. Get the ball wide, strength throughout the team, make a foul if it helps the team. That will suit Hearts fin and there is plenty to suggest he will do well there imo which is a real pity. Hopefully, others are right and that his style is now outdated but I suspect Hearts will be harder to beat and far more consistent if he gets the gig

supermcginn
08-05-2025, 12:14 PM
It's a good appointment for them , it'll be between us and hearts for 3rd place next year.

08-05-2025, 12:15 PM
Work mate who's a Killie ST holder says his football is brutal to watch and would be delighted if he left for them.

They want Naismith back!

08-05-2025, 12:25 PM
This is the equivalent of us when we appointed Bobby Williamson.

Needed someone to sort the mess but after that was done realised how crap the football was and how average the results were.

Will last 12-18 months.

08-05-2025, 12:27 PM
Arguably the perfect appointment [to get Scotland's Yo Yo team out of the Championship in Season 2026/27]

08-05-2025, 12:33 PM
Hertz identity under McInnes …. Big physical side that makes cynical fouls who like to play hoofball . Perfect fit for them really until a few defeats and then the moaning will start about the style of football [emoji897]Would've been cheaper to bring back Levein. Wrote the handbook on serial fouling.

Hibs4185
08-05-2025, 12:34 PM
Tony Bloom’s system showing it’s worth with this appointment!

08-05-2025, 12:35 PM
They're a perfect match tbh. Not who I would have wanted them to go for.

08-05-2025, 12:39 PM
I'm surprisingly unbothered by this.

Same.

Never wanted him at Hibs any time he's been mentioned. I actually said last summer I was coming round to the idea of him, but that was just a post Montgomery panic.

Think he will steady them, but he's not going to take them to another level or anything.

08-05-2025, 12:41 PM
The vast majority of Killie fans would drive him through to Edinburgh.

A grey man for a grey fitba club.

08-05-2025, 12:49 PM
I think he's a pretty solid appointment. He's well known for having a particular style of play and that will suit well at the wee pitch at the Gorgie Library.

Makes a bit of a mockery of the whole JTA thing though.

ThisIsTheYear
08-05-2025, 12:49 PM
Surely the fans won’t be happy with his boring football style…. But unfortunately think he will make them a hard team to beat and he knows the league well.

08-05-2025, 12:51 PM
He’s a solid appointment and will unfortunately have them in the top five easily enough every season.

08-05-2025, 12:52 PM
Surely the fans won’t be happy with his boring football style…. But unfortunately think he will make them a hard team to beat and he knows the league well.

Heart7s have never been known for being a particularly exciting or attacking club, it's just not their style.

EskbankHibby
08-05-2025, 12:55 PM
Must have used an Amstaunch.

Jamestaunch analytics

08-05-2025, 12:56 PM
This is the equivalent of us when we appointed Bobby Williamson.

Needed someone to sort the mess but after that was done realised how crap the football was and how average the results were.

Will last 12-18 months.

Maybe the Jambos should book their cinema tickets now? :greengrin

08-05-2025, 01:10 PM
A boring manager for a boring club

Both well suited. Best part is it will stop the tedious arguments on here every time a Hibs manager leaves that we should go get him.

Just seen on twitter he's won 9 away league games in 3 years at Killie.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

08-05-2025, 01:12 PM

I like him as a manager but if, God forbid, I was a Hearts fans I'd be asking how he fits into their system. They have made a big song and dance about their data, analytics, wider football recruitment operation and so on and he really isn't a gaffer who wants to work in that kind of system. He wants to be a manager rather than a head coach. It screams a bit of desperation to me rather than a coherent process that end with a coach who fits their model.They talk a whole load of crap and stand by it until another load of crap comes along then they talk that, ignoring their previous crap.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

King Cosell
08-05-2025, 01:13 PM

McInnes 2/1
McGlynn 3/1
Luka Elser 7/1
Robinson 8/1

If it was imminent, you'd expect the odds to be much shorter.

Both well suited. Best part is it will stop the tedious arguments on here every time a Hibs manager leaves that we should go get him.

Not going to pretend he’s done a bad job at Killie, he’s not. But I don’t think he’s done anything out of the ordinary over the majority of his time there. The advantage that home pitch has given them is unbelievable.

Looking at it subjectively he's likely going to have 3 or 4 times the budget at Heart7s than he did at Killie, so you'd imagine that will improve.

Money isn't always a guarantee obviously but it's normally a good indicator.

McSwanky
08-05-2025, 01:14 PM
He'll do pretty well for them I'd say. Might even threaten the top 6 next year.

08-05-2025, 01:15 PM
Looking at it subjectively he's likely going to have 3 or 4 times the budget at Heart7s than he did at Killie, so you'd imagine that will improve.

Money isn't always a guarantee obviously but it's normally a good indicator.

What’s Kilmarnock’s budget compared to Motherwell and St Mirren?

08-05-2025, 01:17 PM
It’s a weird one as he’s probably the most obvious choice as he knows the Scottish game and has experience in the league but at the same time it does feel like he’s “yesterdays news”.

Killie beaten..5-1,5-1 and 6-0 this season…surely they aren’t that bad ?!

Every Hibs v Killie game I’ve watched I haven’t exactly been blown away with the style of play and the same at Aberdeen too.

Organised and reasonably effective but if you wanted someone to push on you may as well appoint Stephen Robinson from St Mirren.

Won’t be a cheap appointment and would imagine he wants his own staff - I know that the assistant Paul Sheerin is a good guy.

McInnes going from crap 3G Rugby park to smallest pitch in the top league will suit his style though. While Critchley didn’t win big games they did look like a football side at times just one which wasn’t very good.

08-05-2025, 01:34 PM
Same.

Never wanted him at Hibs any time he's been mentioned. I actually said last summer I was coming round to the idea of him, but that was just a post Montgomery panic.

Think he will steady them, but he's not going to take them to another level or anything.

Likewise, the only time I would have wanted us to take him was post Monty.

Thank **** I'm not in charge.

He was an effective Aberdeen manager - but it's such a false sample due to the league make up at the time and they chucked it against Motherwell for second in that period too.

Thatdayinmay16
08-05-2025, 01:36 PM
I'd say his style of football is pragmatic and with good players will be a decent watch. Not overly different to what we play now imo. Get the ball wide, strength throughout the team, make a foul if it helps the team. That will suit Hearts fin and there is plenty to suggest he will do well there imo which is a real pity. Hopefully, others are right and that his style is now outdated but I suspect Hearts will be harder to beat and far more consistent if he gets the gig

You've not watched much of hibs this season if you think David Gray and Derek McInnes style of football is anywhere near comparable.

His football may win games but you'd be bored to tears watching it, Gray has hibs playing some truly magnificent stuff this year especially at home.

08-05-2025, 01:38 PM
I wonder how much compensation Killie will get, he only signed a new deal around this time last year.

08-05-2025, 01:43 PM
I would have liked to see him at Eater Road ‘to steady the ship’ just in the way Hearts are going for him. However after watching David Grays Hibs I’m happy with what we have now, even though I wasn’t at the time.

McInnes will turn them into hammer throwing bullies and that’s what they like at the tiny pitch down Gorgie. They’ll all be fawning over him on Heartsound too and they’ll be even bigger with biggest non fan owned club in Britain. Absolute delusional bunch.

08-05-2025, 01:49 PM
I'm not going to say any different now, I've always liked the idea of him as Hibs manager when looking for our last 2 or 3 appointments.

I'd expect him to do well.

08-05-2025, 01:55 PM
I would have liked to see him at Eater Road ‘to steady the ship’ just in the way Hearts are going for him. However after watching David Grays Hibs I’m happy with what we have now, even though I wasn’t at the time.

McInnes will turn them into hammer throwing bullies and that’s what they like at the tiny pitch down Gorgie. They’ll all be fawning over him on Heartsound too and they’ll be even bigger with biggest non fan owned club in Britain. Absolute delusional bunch.

Critchley steadied the ship for them already. You need someone to steady the ship when you’re in freefall or in crisis. The ship was steady, it just wasn’t going forward fast enough.

I’ve been wrong about absolutely plenty this season so I may well be again but I really don’t have any concerns about them appointing McInnes. He might do alright but I’d be surprised if he did anything brilliant.

08-05-2025, 02:01 PM
Not fact checked so could be complete bollocks (probably is) but someone online claiming he's won 9 away games in three years. That's mental if actually true!

08-05-2025, 02:13 PM
Not fact checked so could be complete bollocks (probably is) but someone online claiming he's won 9 away games in three years. That's mental if actually true!

In the league that’s correct. He has the worst away record in the league this season and in 22/23.

08-05-2025, 02:24 PM
Critchley steadied the ship for them already. You need someone to steady the ship when you’re in freefall or in crisis. The ship was steady, it just wasn’t going forward fast enough.

I’ve been wrong about absolutely plenty this season so I may well be again but I really don’t have any concerns about them appointing McInnes. He might do alright but I’d be surprised if he did anything brilliant.

I agree and that’s why I’m happy with SDG but McInnes will turn them into a strong no nonsense unit, which will be completely at odds to what the computer is trying to do. I would have no faith in anything computers tell me anyway. Put💩in and you get 💩 out. There is way more human analysis needed, plus costs, plus leagues you’re playing in. It’s a load of 💩.

We’re all still in the same boat trying to get one over each other. Nothing will change, injuries suspensions , Europe taking its toll plus referees. Nothing will change.

08-05-2025, 02:32 PM
Will hearts want to get a world first, atmosphericly famous artificial pitch installed now?

That seems to have helped Killie at home, or do the manufacturers not do one in extra small?

08-05-2025, 02:32 PM
Hibs record against McInnes:

St Johnstone: Played 9, Won 2, Drawn 3, Lost 4, Scored 11, Conceded 16
Aberdeen: Played 24, Won 4, Drawn 6, Lost 14, Scored 17, Conceded 25
Kilmarnock: Played 9, Won 4, Drawn 4, Lost 1, Scored 11, Conceded 7
All: Played 42, Won 10, Drawn 13, Lost 19, Scored 39, Conceded 48

08-05-2025, 02:35 PM

Why do folk do this. Bizarre

08-05-2025, 02:36 PM

In the league that’s correct. He has the worst away record in the league this season and in 22/23.

Thats utterly atrocious and shows how much of a leveler that artificial pitch is.

I wonder if they will struggle when they - eventually - replace it with a real pitch. I wonder if it will be mysteriously delayed?

08-05-2025, 02:39 PM
What's bizarre about it. Quite interesting.

08-05-2025, 02:41 PM
I do think Tony Bloom might be in for a surprise down in EH11

From what you gather, James Anderson (benefactor etc) is at the stage of withdrawing his financial support - he has put in approaching £30m over time, and won zip, seen Hibs win the Cup, and Hearts lose to Brora, Birkirkara and Petrocub.

Bloom is entering the fray with one third of that capital - he's plugging an existing gap not adding to a strong base.

Derek McInnes will have Hearts somewhere between 6th and 3rd next season I would imagine, but he needs a lot of signings

Murphys Touch
08-05-2025, 02:47 PM
McInnes will make them more steady but it flys in the face of this new “data driven” bollocks the all the Co-Owners are excited about

Quite frankly, I’d be more worried if Stevie Robinson got the job…he would really get Hearts into that annoying team we’d hate facing.

Not too fussed here…he’ll spend a fortune, cost a fortune and cost one when he leaves

08-05-2025, 02:48 PM

Don't read it then.

08-05-2025, 02:49 PM

Not great is it.

Still, those were different times and different teams. At least some of those defeats were in our relegation season when we could hardly buy a win against anybody.

We probably will come up against tougher hearts teams now than the ones Critchley put out. It certainly won't be pretty. But I'd tip SDG to get the better of McInnes

08-05-2025, 02:50 PM
Not great is it.

Still, those were different times and different teams. At least some of those defeats were in our relegation season when we could hardly buy a win against anybody.

We probably will come up against tougher hearts teams now than the ones Critchley put out. It certainly won't be pretty. But I'd tip SDG to get the better of McInnes

Kilmarnock obviously don't have the same financial power of Hearts but I would like to think that, compared to the record against Aberdeen and especially St Johnstone, we as a club have learned the right way to play against McInnes teams.

Gordy M
08-05-2025, 02:51 PM
Not great is it.

Overall not great, but his team has beaten us once in the last 3 years, bearing mind our form over those years, hardly a ringing endorsement for him!

Hibees1973
08-05-2025, 02:54 PM
For me McInnes was always a decent listen in the past. Calm & measured, however that may change now.

Kind of a no brainer if it's him. The Yam had to play safe this time. Experienced in the Scottish game and low risk.

Prof. Shaggy
08-05-2025, 03:03 PM

18 out of those 19 defeats happened before season 2021-22.

08-05-2025, 03:03 PM
For me McInnes was always a decent listen in the past. Calm & measured, however that may change now.

Kind of a no brainer if it's him. The Yam had to play safe this time. Experienced in the Scottish game and low risk.

I find his interviews insufferable. He gets asked a question then rambles on for 5 minutes talking to the interviewer and audience about whatever he wants to get across, often nothing to do with the original question. It's not an interview, it's free soap box rant.

Hibees1973
08-05-2025, 03:09 PM
I find his interviews insufferable. He gets asked a question then rambles on for 5 minutes talking to the interviewer and audience about whatever he wants to get across, often nothing to do with the original question. It's not an interview, it's free soap box rant.

Each to their own.

He may grate on me a bit now him being a Yam, but always found him decent.

08-05-2025, 03:24 PM
McInnes has taken Kilmarnock as far as he can. Won the Championship then got them into Europe. It's starting to stagnate a bit now but 8th is probably around where they should be.

He's a clever manager and will play to Hearts traditional strengths. It's a no brainer for both McInnes and Hearts. Always thought he'd make a good Hearts manager. Hope I'm very wrong of course.

They're making a pragmatic, safe and dare I say it sensible appointment here. As long as Hibs keep on progressing as we have been then Hearts can do whatever they like.

Gordy M
08-05-2025, 03:33 PM
McInnes has taken Kilmarnock as far as he can. Won the Championship then got them into Europe. It's starting to stagnate a bit now but 8th is probably around where they should be.

He's a clever manager and will play to Hearts traditional strengths. It's a no brainer for both McInnes and Hearts. Always thought he'd make a good Hearts manager. Hope I'm very wrong of course.

They're making a pragmatic, safe and dare I say it sensible appointment here. As long as Hibs keep on progressing as we have been then Hearts can do whatever they like.

Well according to the office hearts fan, they are interviewing other candidates tomorrow and Fox has been told he is manager until end of season. If thats true then how have they been able to interview McInnes unless Killie have kept it very quiet?

Thatdayinmay16
08-05-2025, 03:45 PM
Surely if this analytics thing that Brighton use is half as good as hearts fans make it out to be, surely it won't be Derek McInnes of all people?

Brighton's appointments from using the analytics has worked very well including player transfers, so surely the super computer hasn't pumped out old delboy's name?

Cat Stanton
08-05-2025, 03:48 PM
The vast majority of Killie fans would drive him through to Edinburgh.

Is this actually true? Got them promoted and into Europe etc. So I'd be surprised if the majority are not very much in favour of him.

I was going to look on the Killie fans' forum but you have to register an account and I'm not that sad. Yet.

TrumpIsAPeado
08-05-2025, 03:53 PM
A midtable manager for a midtable club. Hearts may not get relegated next season under his management. :yawn:

08-05-2025, 04:08 PM
Sportsound will be even more unbearable next season

Hibees1973
08-05-2025, 04:23 PM
Is this actually true? Got them promoted and into Europe etc. So I'd be surprised if the majority are not very much in favour of him.

I was going to look on the Killie fans' forum but you have to register an account and I'm not that sad. Yet.

In the end it's difficult to guage. Don't really think a fans forum is the best place to get a sensible consensus.

Know Clarke did an excellent job while there and over achieved over a couple of seasons. Even the most deluded Kilmarnock supporter would find it difficult to expect consecutive top 6 finishes. Even the likes of us, the Yam and Aberdeen have found this hard at times.

I think it's a bit short sighted to criticise McInnes, with the resources he had at Kilmarnock. There is a good argument that based on the last couple of seasons Robinson at St Mirren would be a better fit.

I would much rather the Yam go down one of their fantasy projects. For example Stendel with his gegenpress :greengrin, or even Critchley who came across as a weak character.

You know what you will get with McInnes. A stuffy, rigid and physical style. Which kind of sums up what the Yam are as a club. Outside of the time when the dodgy Lithuanian was bankrolling them corruptly.

Victor
08-05-2025, 04:36 PM
You could put Guardiola in charge of Hearts and they would still find a way to f••k it up.

08-05-2025, 04:36 PM
White smoke! White smoke!

Cat Stanton
08-05-2025, 04:37 PM
Don't really think a fans forum is the best place to get a sensible consensus.

What mad talk is this...???!!!

Donegal Hibby
08-05-2025, 04:57 PM
Killie away record…

4-0 Loss ..Celtic .
2-0 Loss .. Dons.
2-2 Draw.. St Mirren.
3-2 Win ..Dundee.
2-1 Loss .. Ross C .
2-1 Win .. hertz .
3-2 Loss.. Dundee.
1-0 Loss .. St Johnstone.
6-0 Loss .. Sevco.
1-1 Draw ..Dundee U.
1-1 Draw .. Motherwell.
1-0 Loss .. Hibs .
3-2 Loss .. hertz.
1-0 Loss .. Dons.
1-0 Loss .. Ross C.
5-1 Loss .. St Mirren.
5-1 Loss .. Celtic.
2-0 Win .. St Johnstone.

K-Zazu
08-05-2025, 05:02 PM
McInnes done well at Aberdeen but wasn’t that when us, hearts and rangers were out of the top league.. rangers were a total shambles as well I think and he had Tony Docherty helping him at Aberdeen.

08-05-2025, 05:04 PM
McInnes done well at Aberdeen but wasn’t that when us, hearts and rangers were out of the top league.. rangers were a total shambles as well I think and he had Tony Docherty helping him at Aberdeen.

The bit about Tony Docherty is an especially good shout.

08-05-2025, 05:29 PM
McInnes absolutely loves signing ex players, wonder who he’ll try and recruit this time.

Danny Armstrong
David Watson
Scott Wright
Ryan Hedges
Dom Ball
One of his current centre halves/defendeda - Lewis Mayo, Robbie Deas, Joe Wright, Stuart Findlay or Corrie Ndaba

He's probably already phoned Sam Cosgrove.

Have heard several of them say if your going down the analytics route you need to be all in. Hiring McInnes and him then bringing in his ex-players is about as far away from using analytics as you can get. Of course the narrative will be they scored highly in the data.

08-05-2025, 05:34 PM
He's probably already phoned Sam Cosgrove.

Have heard several of them say if your going down the analytics route you need to be all in. Hiring McInnes and him then bringing in his ex-players is about as far away from using analytics as you can get. Of course the narrative will be they scored highly in the data.

He’d also be trying to jump in to sign every target we have just like the twisted wee ***** done when he was at the sheep. Hopefully Follley will have the hee haws to get it right up him,

08-05-2025, 05:34 PM

Thats a shocking record. I never realised our record against his St J was so very poor. I knew he had the sign over us with his industrial Aberdeen team. Still a extremely poor record when you see it written.

He's here!
08-05-2025, 06:10 PM

This is a tired old claim which doesn't hold water.

Firstly there was only one season when all three of those clubs weren't in the top flight. Secondly the reason they weren't in the top flight was because they weren't good enough to be there. McInnes could only beat what was in front of him and for 8 consecutive seasons finished either 2nd, 3rd or 4th, a record Hibs could only dream of.

He's a good manager with a better record than any other Scottish manager working in Scotland. Why some folk find that hard to accept seems odd.

08-05-2025, 06:12 PM

Bottom six manager for the bottom six Gorgie mob, perfect match for each other

08-05-2025, 06:15 PM
[QUOTE=He's here!;7954618]This is a tired old claim which doesn't hold water.

Firstly there was only one season when all three of those clubs weren't in the top flight. Secondly the reason they weren't in the top flight was because they weren't good enough to be there. McInnes could only beat what was in front of him and for 8 consecutive seasons finished either 2nd, 3rd or 4th, a record Hibs could only dream of.

Aberdeen stick in my throat, almost every other club spent millions updating their stadiums yet almost every penny they had was spent on their team. They have the advantage of being a one club city but they still play in an absolute dump. They are just about as delusional as Hearts.

08-05-2025, 06:26 PM
Media darling

BBC heartsound will be in overdrive if this happens

08-05-2025, 06:28 PM

He's a good manager with a better record than any other Scottish manager working in Scotland. Why some folk find that hard to accept seems odd.

Without checking he has won one League Cup

Might be wrong ?

Edit :

Championship Kilmarnock

First Division/ Championship St Johnstone

As others have said had Hibs Hearts and The Rangers out of the way at Aberdeen and could not better Celtic

I remember a League Cup QF at ER total non football defended from the first kick off refereed by Shinnie we threw the kitchen sink at them but fair play it worked then of course we had the Malonga game when we were in the Championship and they were top of the SPL

Gordy M
08-05-2025, 06:28 PM

Its not really a tired old claim. Aberdeen at that point had a real chance to win something and didnt. Yes he had top 4 finishes but Motherwell beat them into 2nd one year. They missed out, he couldnt win the big games, and eventually was hunted by Aberdeen.

Let me ask you if you took Hibs this year with no Hearts Rangers and Aberdeen in the league and down the line no Rangers and Aberdeen for 3 further seasons, where would you expect us to finish? I think you would be disappointed with 4th.

Just_Jimmy
08-05-2025, 06:29 PM
Good fit i reckon, on both sides.

Hes had the aberdeen job. He's clearly not getting the Hibs job or he'd have had it by now. So makes sense to take the next biggest job.

For them, suits them. Anti fitbaw. They'll lap it up.

I reckon if it is him, he'll do well.

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
08-05-2025, 06:29 PM

I think the fact that the league was weaker and especially Sevco for a number of years after they came back up is a fair point TBH . Sevco team of … Foderingham , Tavernier , Senderos , hill , Wallace ,Holt ,Hyndman , Toral , Miller ,Garner , McKay … would hardly fill you with any great fear when playing them .

babahibs
08-05-2025, 06:36 PM
I for one am delighted he's ended up at Tiny and not Easer Road, yesterdays man. And he wasn't that good yesterday.

08-05-2025, 06:48 PM
I for one am delighted he's ended up at Tiny and not Easer Road, yesterdays man. And he wasn't that good yesterday.I for two.

08-05-2025, 07:00 PM
I hope that those who think he’s nae good are right.

It’s not what I think though, I think he’ll get them a lot more solid and organised, and improve them massively.

I really hope that I’m wrong.

08-05-2025, 07:04 PM
I hope that those who think he’s nae good are right.

It’s not what I think though, I think he’ll get them a lot more solid and organised, and improve them massively.

I really hope that I’m wrong.

He might get them 7th you mean? 😁

SickBoy32
08-05-2025, 07:08 PM
Can only hope this rumour is nonsense. High likelihood that he’d come in and improve them massively.

Fingers crossed that they go for another dafty no-mark like Critchley / Cathro / Stendel etc etc

Victor
08-05-2025, 07:17 PM
Can only hope this rumour is nonsense. High likelihood that he’d come in and improve them massively.

Fingers crossed that they go for another dafty no-mark like Critchley / Cathro / Stendel etc etc

My money is on Liam Fox. Will probably be the preferred candidate of she-who-won’t-be-budged, as she strives to create a Gorgie ‘boot-room’.

PS and he’ll be as cheap as chips.

SickBoy32
08-05-2025, 07:24 PM
My money is on Liam Fox. Will probably be the preferred candidate of she-who-won’t-be-budged, as she strives to create a Gorgie ‘boot-room’.

PS and he’ll be as cheap as chips.

Sounds good to me.

Let’s hope Budge agrees, and keeps up her stellar work 🤡

hibee bouncer
08-05-2025, 07:35 PM
I’d be surprised if anything is imminent with Tony Bloom putting his offer in. Appreciate it’s for a minority stake but he’ll still expect a substantial saying in any next appointment.

08-05-2025, 07:40 PM
Thats a shocking record. I never realised our record against his St J was so very poor. I knew he had the sign over us with his industrial Aberdeen team. Still an extremely poor record when you see it written.

Nae googling but … (feel free to verify)

Only later in his Aberdeen career did he start to win in a semi against Hibs.
worth noting historically St J have been a bogey team for the dons including 5-0 or 5-1 drubbings in the Miller era…
McInnes Aberdeen side were grindingly consistent against the mediocrity but when It came to the only real tests - Celtc - they had they completely bottled it a got their arises skelped and handed back to them a number of times 9-0 7-0 I seem to recall.

so in short depends how you want to spin it imo.

08-05-2025, 07:44 PM

none of them strike me as strong characters. So you have to ask yourself if that’s the mould they want they will have to go for someone that’s young/inexperience or malleable. Wonder what Shabba Lazslo is up to did he not still have a place in Embra or daughters at Uni a few years back? (Pre-COVID mind)

08-05-2025, 07:56 PM
He’s a solid appointment and will unfortunately have them in the top five easily enough every season.

What like Killie who are currently 2pts below Hearts in 9th.
Delighted if he goes to the PBS

Donegal Hibby
08-05-2025, 08:11 PM
They’ve got a “ Identity “ now they need a “ Personality “ 🤭…. “ Follow the hertz and you can’t go wrong”😂😂😂…

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/cvg7xevqq74o

08-05-2025, 08:18 PM
They’ve got a “ Identity “ now they need a “ Personality “ 🤭…. “ Follow the hertz and you can’t go wrong”😂😂😂…

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/cvg7xevqq74o

Goes without saying if our positions were reversed, and they were 3rd and we were 8th, McGlaughlin would be making a bit deal about how ‘our rival’s success makes it harder to bear’ or something…as it stands Hibs dont get a mention :greengrin

He's here!
08-05-2025, 08:34 PM
Without checking he has won one League Cup

Might be wrong ?

Edit :

Championship Kilmarnock

First Division/ Championship St Johnstone

As others have said had Hibs Hearts and The Rangers out of the way at Aberdeen and could not better Celtic

I remember a League Cup QF at ER total non football defended from the first kick off refereed by Shinnie we threw the kitchen sink at them but fair play it worked then of course we had the Malonga game when we were in the Championship and they were top of the SPL

If trophy wins are the only mark of a successful manager then Calum Davidson's the greatest Scottish manager outwith the Old Firm this century.

Mcbizz1998
08-05-2025, 08:55 PM
Sounds like a good fit.

A wee Hun to manage the wee Huns.

He's here!
08-05-2025, 08:57 PM
Its not really a tired old claim. Aberdeen at that point had a real chance to win something and didnt. Yes he had top 4 finishes but Motherwell beat them into 2nd one year. They missed out, he couldnt win the big games, and eventually was hunted by Aberdeen.

Let me ask you if you took Hibs this year with no Hearts Rangers and Aberdeen in the league and down the line no Rangers and Aberdeen for 3 further seasons, where would you expect us to finish? I think you would be disappointed with 4th.

McInnes had four successive second place finishes among those eight top four placings. Nice to think the current day side might do well in similar circumstances but it's hypothetical and based on our historic record of glaring underachievement it's probably unlikely.

08-05-2025, 09:01 PM
https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/sport/25146797.tony-bloom-hearts-message-celtic-rangers-warned/

Is he Yan Dhandas dad?

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

08-05-2025, 09:09 PM
Nae googling but … (feel free to verify)

Only later in his Aberdeen career did he start to win in a semi against Hibs.
worth noting historically St J have been a bogey team for the dons including 5-0 or 5-1 drubbings in the Miller era…
McInnes Aberdeen side were grindingly consistent against the mediocrity but when It came to the only real tests - Celtc - they had they completely bottled it a got their arises skelped and handed back to them a number of times 9-0 7-0 I seem to recall.

so in short depends how you want to spin it imo.

9 0 was Mark McGhee

08-05-2025, 09:10 PM
If trophy wins are the only mark of a successful manager then Calum Davidson's the greatest Scottish manager this century..
Fergie

No room to write what he has won this century as a Scottish football Manager

Strachan McLeish and Walter Smith at the Uglies this century but would say Callum Davidson did no too bad considering the resources available?

McInnes’ non football suffocating toothless style of play would drive the fans away if he ever got the Hibs job but might go down a storm at Tiny as they are well used to underachievement

Yesterday’s man

Dinosaur

Noticed his assistant Paul Sheerin was bigging McInnes and himself up for the Hearts job the last payday

Disrespectful to Killie I thought

08-05-2025, 09:15 PM
What like Killie who are currently 2pts below Hearts in 9th.
Delighted if he goes to the PBS

It’s pointless to compare how he’s doing at Killie and where they are compared to Hearts in the league. Killie are doing well, potentially better than they should be. They’re a bottom 6 club who massively overachieved last season.

08-05-2025, 09:25 PM
9 0 was Mark McGhee

Thanks happy to be subject to verification as I like to challenge my old grey matter every now and again but my Mammary isn’t what it used to be :)

08-05-2025, 09:31 PM
Thanks happy to be subject to verification as I like to challenge my old grey matter every now and again but my Mammary isn’t what it used to be :)

08-05-2025, 09:32 PM
It’s pointless to compare how he’s doing at Killie and where they are compared to Hearts in the league. Killie are doing well, potentially better than they should be. They’re a bottom 6 club who massively overachieved last season.

I’d hardly say they’re doing well. The three teams below them have less revenue and resources and don’t have the advantage that Killie enjoy at home. Then you’ve got St Mirren outperforming them with less money and Dundee Utd doing similar in their first year back up.

He’s not massively underperforming or anything like that, but neither does he have them doing particularly well. Last season he obviously overachieved.

I’d expect him to make Hearts better but I’m not sure how much better. And I think there are plenty Killie fans who wouldn’t be overly concerned about losing him.

He's here!
08-05-2025, 09:51 PM
Fergie

No room to write what he has won this century as a Scottish football Manager

Strachan McLeish and Walter Smith at the Uglies this century but would say Callum Davidson did no too bad considering the resources available?

McInnes’ non football suffocating toothless style of play would drive the fans away if he ever got the Hibs job but might go down a storm at Tiny as they are well used to underachievement

Yesterday’s man

Dinosaur

Noticed his assistant Paul Sheerin was bigging McInnes and himself up for the Hearts job the last payday

I'd just edited my post to say most successful outwith the Old Firm when I saw your reply 😀

Yes, of course Fergie's the greatest of all Scottish managers, not only this century but last. But I meant within the Scottish game this century. I should have been clearer.

08-05-2025, 09:53 PM
I'd just edited my post to say most successful outwith the Old Firm when I saw your reply 😀

Yes, of course Fergie's the greatest of all Scottish managers, not only this century but last. But I meant within the Scottish game this century. I should have been clearer.

I knew it

Modified my post as well

👍

08-05-2025, 10:07 PM
Graeme Shinnie will be the next Hearts captain....you heard it here 1st.

Ribs1875
08-05-2025, 10:07 PM
McInnes at Aberdeen would have not lasted half as long had it not been for the fact Rangers were not there to take second place. Lets not forget there was several seasons their main competition ourselves, hearts and rangers were out the league. Aberdeen were hopeless in Europe under him. They had solid teams and players under him, however papped from celtic in so many finals. Their football was negative.

If you look at the current season with Kilmarnock, they have finished bottom six for a reason. Fair enough he got them promoted back to the Premier league, however he's not took them to the same levels Steve Clarke did. He's steady'd the ship there and has been nothing special to them or will go down as a fans favourite.

Overall I think he would be a safe option for them.

08-05-2025, 10:22 PM
McInnes at Aberdeen would have not lasted half as long had it not been for the fact Rangers were not there to take second place. Lets not forget there was several seasons their main competition ourselves, hearts and rangers were out the league. Aberdeen were hopeless in Europe under him. They had solid teams and players under him, however papped from celtic in so many finals. Their football was negative.

If you look at the current season with Kilmarnock, they have finished bottom six for a reason. Fair enough he got them promoted back to the Premier league, however he's not took them to the same levels Steve Clarke did. He's steady'd the ship there and has been nothing special to them or will go down as a fans favourite.

We were relegated because we were brutal. It took us 3 attempts to get promoted from the championship.

I’m all for putting down future hearts manager, but I always find it an odd argument for what Mcinnes done at Aberdeen and that is being there would have stopped it.

Unfortunately he built a very good Aberdeen team

Ribs1875
08-05-2025, 10:35 PM
We were relegated because we were brutal. It took us 3 attempts to get promoted from the championship.

I’m all for putting down future hearts manager, but I always find it an odd argument for what Mcinnes done at Aberdeen and that is being there would have stopped it.

Unfortunately he built a very good Aberdeen team

We had an awful period between 2011-2014, we had no direction and lacked in every department. The 3 seasons we were out was some of the best times supporting hibs. Watching us rebuild ourselves, fans getting on board, we also built a strong team and winning the cup whilst being a team competing in the 2nd tier made that win all the more sweeter.

08-05-2025, 10:49 PM

Mine is. Wife says the older I get the bigger a tit I am.

He's here!
08-05-2025, 11:12 PM

Rangers, Hibs and Hearts were not their main competition at that time because they weren't good enough. That's why they were in the league below.

And getting beat by Celtic in several cup finals is hardly a badge of shame.

09-05-2025, 12:37 AM
When Monty got the sack McInnes was close to first choice by many on here.

Just because he has gone to Hearts doesn’t mean he has suddenly turned into a bad manager.

Unfortunately, I think it’s a good move by Hearts.

Donegal Hibby
09-05-2025, 12:43 AM
Rangers, Hibs and Hearts were not their main competition at that time because they weren't good enough. That's why they were in the league below.

And getting beat by Celtic in several cup finals is hardly a badge of shame.

Which is the reason why when some are highlighting his achievements at Aberdeen in the eighth years he was there it’s also worth taking into consideration that our league was probably as weak as it was in a long , long time then .

Agree about getting beat by Celtic in cup final’s isn’t a badge of shame ..

Bottom line is he splits support meanly due to the football his teams play .. Aberdeen and now the Killie fans too …

It’s forgiven when the team’s winning but once that stops it’s what fans will use to turn on him ….

If he gets the hertz job , they’ll become bigger , more physical , dirtier too and more organised and he will improve them which I don’t think will be hard to do after Jamestown Analytics came up with Paul Daniel’s as the ultimate candidate…..

Like any manager though he WILL hit a bad patch at some stage and he’ll then split the support once again . Of course that’s all after they appoint him and are talking about “ Identity “ , Winning the league and all the rest of the rubbish they spout 😉

09-05-2025, 04:00 AM
We had an awful period between 2011-2014, we had no direction and lacked in every department. The 3 seasons we were out was some of the best times supporting hibs. Watching us rebuild ourselves, fans getting on board, we also built a strong team and winning the cup whilst being a team competing in the 2nd tier made that win all the more sweeter.

You’re 100% correct, but that doesn’t mean we would have finished 2nd in the top flight, one of the seasons we finished 3rd behind Falkirk!

I think that spell in the championship really allowed us to rebuild our club and was almost exactly what the club needed. Signed good young players, played good football and ultimately won the Scottish cup and then got promoted the following season

I just don’t think had we not been relegating we would have made the slightest difference in being 2nd

09-05-2025, 05:43 AM
Mine is. Wife says the older I get the bigger a tit I am.

🤣 :top marks

EGL2000
09-05-2025, 06:53 AM

Can see him doing well there as well.

09-05-2025, 07:17 AM
We really do think we are something special, when a Hibs team that was relegated made the league weaker, and the gimps were "demoted" and they deserved it because they were the weakest team in the league?

When did it become a fact that the worst teams in the league became better than they actually were, and numerous teams who finished above them?

09-05-2025, 07:20 AM
See Gordon thinks their next manager should have a personality, bit of a break with tradition there but they better get A personality loaded into the Commodore.

Cannae see it catching on though.

Maybe a wee return for Malofeev?

09-05-2025, 07:29 AM
Expect him to make them a lot better. He plays effective football and at Hearts he will have the resources to buy better effective players. It's the kind of appointment that doesn't make waves.

He's here!
09-05-2025, 08:13 AM
We really do think we are something special, when a Hibs team that was relegated made the league weaker, and the gimps were "demoted" and they deserved it because they were the weakest team in the league?

When did it become a fact that the worst teams in the league became better than they actually were, and numerous teams who finished above them?

Well put. The claim that the league that was allegedly weaker without a crap Hearts, Hibs and Rangers side is the standard go-to for those who for some reason can't acknowledge that McInnes did a terrific job at Aberdeen.

Of course if he gets the Hearts job I wish him nothing but failure.

Jock O
09-05-2025, 08:19 AM
He is definitely going to make them stronger, in performance and personnel I suspect, and probably more consistent which in Scotland at moment is a key attribute to doing well, as has been shown this year, and he will happily reintroduce their nasty side. So he will improve them, certainly from this year.

However I think the pressure on him not to lose will be much greater, so I think he will be even more focussed on setting them up that way, it was one of the main reasons I have never wanted him here, its his biggest job since Aberdeen, arguably including Aberdeen, and failure at this probably signals his career will at best be stuck to bottom of the league teams. possibly lower. I think he will know this and therefore the pressure on him trebles for this job. I think that will show.

A big part of this will be who he has working with him, I will be interested to see what Docherty does if Dundee go down, and how he reacts to the management structure within Hearts. Are they changing this for him to accommodate his allegedly desired independence, or are they paying him enough for him to work within their current structure. Surely given their current structure it has to be the second, either way if things don't go well, it will be interesting to see how patience works on both sides of the relationship.

I also think a large chunk of fans will be looking for a bigger name, out of Blooms contact book, therefore unrest among the patrons will never be far away.

I am cautiously nervous of his appointment, but thinking of it logically I am not sure I can see it being a happy one. Fingers crossed.

09-05-2025, 08:26 AM
Expect him to make them a lot better. He plays effective football and at Hearts he will have the resources to buy better effective players. It's the kind of appointment that doesn't make waves.

My hope, if he does get the job, is that the Bloom analytics don't work for SPL and they buy overpriced players on decent wages that turn out to be diddies.

09-05-2025, 08:36 AM

He'll make them better but that isn't too big an ask. A lot better? Just what does that mean? They aren't going to be splitting the old firm...

Given that I didn't fancy him for hibs I'm not that concerned. He'll likely get them 4th... behind hibs.

Gordy M
09-05-2025, 08:37 AM
Well put. The claim that the league that was allegedly weaker without a crap Hearts, Hibs and Rangers side is the standard go-to for those who for some reason can't acknowledge that McInnes did a terrific job at Aberdeen.

Its the refusal of some posters to acknowledge there was mitigating factors to his time up there thats bizarre? No one is saying he did a bad job at Aberdeen but once the other 3 teams got their act together somewhat.....fired. Since he took over Killie, 2 seasons out of 3 in a relegation battle and 9 away wins in those seasons.

09-05-2025, 08:40 AM

My hope, if he does get the job, is that the Bloom analytics don't work for SPL and they buy overpriced players on decent wages that turn out to be diddies.

Guys who all looked good on paper - the James Town Anal Tics XI

Goalkeeper
Joel Perreira - Man U goalie (in goals the day Boyle scored 2 in the first few minutes in a derby win at Tynecastle)

Defence
Taylor, Steinwender, McCart, Milne (all signed in last 12 months) I would love to be facing this back 4 over and over again, thank you JTA

Midfield
Kartum, plus Loic Damour, Malauray Martin, the Greek Tsiolis who Grant Holt bullied in the 2017 cup ties

Forwards
Kabangu, Drammeh

I for one welcome the ZX Spectrum's introduction into Gorgie World of Hoofball

09-05-2025, 08:53 AM
Guys who all looked good on paper - the James Town Anal Tics XI

Goalkeeper
Joel Perreira - Man U goalie (in goals the day Boyle scored 2 in the first few minutes in a derby win at Tynecastle)

Defence
Taylor, Steinwender, McCart, Milne (all signed in last 12 months) I would love to be facing this back 4 over and over again, thank you JTA

Midfield
Kartum, plus Loic Damour, Malauray Martin, the Greek Tsiolis who Grant Holt bullied in the 2017 cup ties

Forwards
Kabangu, Drammeh

I for one welcome the ZX Spectrum's introduction into Gorgie World of Hoofball

Who did Drammeh look good on paper to? :greengrin

It was clear as day he was going to be diddy. The guy was playing 4th tier in Spain and averaged a goal every 5 games over the 2 seasons before Hearts signed him.

EskbankHibby
09-05-2025, 08:58 AM

FWIW i think he will be a decent appointment for them, unfortunately for them he will have a ceiling which i fervently hope is at the 'staggeringly average' level.

As you allude to above i'm not sure if the JTA has a "can he do it on a cold night in Paisley" part of the algorithm but you definitely need that it in the SPL.

09-05-2025, 08:58 AM
Can see him doing well there as well.

Absolutely. He’s a very effective manager. All a bit anti- football but effective.

Heats have had some very decent players in their squad over several seasons. The up side is they have managed to pick a procession of managers that just didn’t fit or were down right rank. I don’t think for a minute McInnes fits in to the latter category but I hope I’m right that he may just fit the former.

Mcbizz1998
09-05-2025, 09:12 AM
Where’s all this coming from? Barely anything in the press and JKB thread on their new manager doesn’t seem to think anything is imminent. He may, or may not have interviewed seems to be the consensus.

EskbankHibby
09-05-2025, 09:22 AM
Where’s all this coming from? Barely anything in the press and JKB thread on their new manager doesn’t seem to think anything is imminent. He may, or may not have interviewed seems to be the consensus.

Can’t see him jumping ship while Killie could theoretically end up in the play off spot.

Once/if they’re safe might see some movement.

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2025, 10:50 AM
Its the refusal of some posters to acknowledge there was mitigating factors to his time up there thats bizarre? No one is saying he did a bad job at Aberdeen but once the other 3 teams got their act together somewhat.....fired. Since he took over Killie, 2 seasons out of 3 in a relegation battle and 9 away wins in those seasons.

It’s not a mitigating factor. If you’re that ***** you get relegated then you’re hardly going to be challenging the team that finished 2nd. He also got ONE season where us, Hearts and Rangers were out the league. He was there for 9.

If we finish 3rd this season do we have to consider the fact that the ***** from last season isn’t in the league and consider that mitigating factor? Peoples insistence that a massive part of why he done well is because terrible Hibs, Hearts and Rangers sides weren’t in the league is laughable. We weren’t in the league for a reason.

For all there away record is terrible, Kilmarnock have a very good home record under McInnes. Teams that do well are built on good home records.

09-05-2025, 10:57 AM
It’s not a mitigating factor. If you’re that ***** you get relegated then you’re hardly going to be challenging the team that finished 2nd. He also got ONE season where us, Hearts and Rangers were out the league. He was there for 9.

If we finish 3rd this season do we have to consider the fact that the ***** from last season isn’t in the league and consider that mitigating factor? Peoples insistence that a massive part of why he done well is because terrible Hibs, Hearts and Rangers sides weren’t in the league is laughable. We weren’t in the league for a reason.

For all there away record is terrible, Kilmarnock have a very good home record under McInnes. Teams that do well are built on good home records.

I disagree that it’s laughable.

He got a team with the second biggest budget by miles to finish where they should have. It was a decent job he did but there isn’t any harm in applying some context, it was also a long time ago.

09-05-2025, 11:04 AM
https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/sport/25146797.tony-bloom-hearts-message-celtic-rangers-warned/

Is he Yan Dhandas dad?

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

Need to get a song for him similar to the Djoum, Djoum, Djoum, Djoum one.

Bloom, Bloom, Bloom, Bloom
Signs players using Zoom
Analytics and crap AI
He's another maroon balloon

09-05-2025, 11:09 AM
Can’t see him jumping ship while Killie could theoretically end up in the play off spot.

Once/if they’re safe might see some movement.

It would be interesting to see what happens if Killie end up in the play-offs, for Killie it would be a real stinker of a season if this came to pass.

If they did and Hearts still pursued DM, if I was a Hearts fan I'd have some serious questions to ask.

Paulie Walnuts
09-05-2025, 11:10 AM
I disagree that it’s laughable.

He got a team with the second biggest budget by miles to finish where they should have. It was a decent job he did but there isn’t any harm in applying some context, it was also a long time ago.

He got a team with the second highest budget to finish where they should have over and over again. On 2 occasions he got them to finish above where they should have and he won a cup. He finished behind Motherwell twice, Kilmarnock once and Hibs once. So in 9 seasons only 4 teams with smaller budgets ever finished above them and they finished above Rangers who had a bigger budget twice. Leaves them -2 on the ‘budget league table’ over 9 seasons.

To put that into perspective, last season alone we would be -3, possibly -4 depending on whether we now have a bigger budget than Aberdeen.

The fact that no other team has come close to such sustained domestic performances and so regularly bettering the teams they should be bettering tells you it’s quite clearly a more than decent job.

yerauldda
09-05-2025, 11:11 AM
Funny one, will do well at Hearts but genuinely someone I wouldn’t want to see manage Hibs.
The football is dreadful to watch.

09-05-2025, 11:25 AM
You can just hear the love in now with Sportsound and Sportscene if he’s appointed.

Caversham Green
09-05-2025, 11:37 AM

Is it not fair to say that Hibs, Hearts and Rangers are traditionally three of the five strongest clubs in the top flight?

Surely the fact that Hibs were going through a very poor run of form, while Hearts and Rangers were severely weakened by self-inflicted financial problems, all over the same period of years meant the task for the other two of that five became much easier.

MikeyS
09-05-2025, 11:52 AM
Is it not fair to say that Hibs, Hearts and Rangers are traditionally three of the five strongest clubs in the top flight? Surely the fact that Hibs were going through a very poor run of form, while Hearts and Rangers were severely weakened by self-inflicted financial problems, all over the same period of years meant the task for the other two of that five became much easier.We haven't performed consistently like one of the strongest 5 in the league for as long as I can remember! In terms of everything off the park we have a claim to be the 3rd biggest however.

Hibspur
09-05-2025, 11:58 AM

McInnes took over when Killie were in danger of not even securing a play-off place in the Championship. Think they'd lost four or five in a row and were sitting fourth. He turned it around pretty much immediately and they won the title. He re-established them in the top flight the following season and took them into Europe the next.

He's a manager who's done a very good, often excellent job at any club he's been with in Scotland, no two ways about it.

Reading through the posts on here some people just don't seem to like him. He would have been my pick for Hibs manager ahead of several of our more recent appointments pre David Gray.

Hibspur
09-05-2025, 12:04 PM
Is it not fair to say that Hibs, Hearts and Rangers are traditionally three of the five strongest clubs in the top flight?

Surely the fact that Hibs were going through a very poor run of form, while Hearts and Rangers were severely weakened by self-inflicted financial problems, all over the same period of years meant the task for the other two of that five became much easier.

We might be one of the five best-supported clubs but we're not traditionally one of the five strongest if you look at our record down the years. We finish outwith the top five the majority of the time. It's actually quite pitiful when you look through our league placings and see how rarely we have a strong season, let alone more than one in succession.

Donegal Hibby
09-05-2025, 12:13 PM

I don’t think anyone is denying McInnes done a good job at Aberdeen even though it ended quite badly when some clubs got their act together a bit and it’s a fair enough point in acknowledging that it was easier to do without three of the leagues bigger clubs. One things for sure the Killie fans won’t be crying over him if he joins hertz .

supermcginn
09-05-2025, 12:23 PM
I don’t think anyone is denying McInnes done a good job at Aberdeen even though it ended quite badly when some clubs got their act together a bit and it’s a fair enough point in acknowledging that it was easier to do without three of the leagues bigger clubs. One things for sure the Killie fans won’t be crying over him if he joins hertz .

It hardly ended badly , he left them in 4th place!

09-05-2025, 12:34 PM

I think ended badly is over-egging it a bit, he did leave them 4th but things had started to fizzle out for them and by the time he did go Aberdeen fans were happy enough because of the style of football.

09-05-2025, 12:55 PM
He'll make them better but that isn't too big an ask. A lot better? Just what does that mean? They aren't going to be splitting the old firm...

Given that I didn't fancy him for hibs I'm not that concerned. He'll likely get them 4th... behind hibs.
I would have said that's a question for them and not for us? With a few additions he will make them dull and predictable and fourth will be about right.

Donegal Hibby
09-05-2025, 01:03 PM
I think ended badly is over-egging it a bit, he did leave them 4th but things had started to fizzle out for them and by the time he did go Aberdeen fans were happy enough because of the style of football.

Maybe though …

5 goals for .
12 against.
2 wins .
5 draws .
6 defeats…

In his last nine games at Aberdeen they failed to score in eight of them . The football was honking which is why the dons fans turned against him .

I think it’s fair to say Aberdeen were very much in decline under him towards the end of his reign .

Killie appear to be going the same way as well with fans on their forum heavily criticising the style football they are watching and have repeatedly been calling for him to be sacked anyhow .

09-05-2025, 01:21 PM
McInnes took over when Killie were in danger of not even securing a play-off place in the Championship. Think they'd lost four or five in a row and were sitting fourth. He turned it around pretty much immediately and they won the title. He re-established them in the top flight the following season and took them into Europe the next.

He's a manager who's done a very good, often excellent job at any club he's been with in Scotland, no two ways about it.

Reading through the posts on here some people just don't seem to like him. He would have been my pick for Hibs manager ahead of several of our more recent appointments pre David Gray.
I'm sure this has been covered before and Killie were two points off top with a game in hand (maybe five points with a game in hand).

Hibspur
09-05-2025, 01:22 PM

The last time Hibs played a season in the top flight without Rangers there we managed to get relegated, along with Hearts. Motherwell were second, Aberdeen third.

Fair to say we weren't exactly capitalising on a supposed 'weaker' league. We finished 22 points behind Inverness in 5th FFS (and that's with them playing top-six fixtures). Looking back at the records, Aberdeen then went to to finish second for the next four seasons while we spent three of them in the Championship.

09-05-2025, 01:25 PM
Maybe though …

5 goals for .
12 against.
2 wins .
5 draws .
6 defeats…

In his last nine games at Aberdeen they failed to score in eight of them . The football was honking which is why the dons fans turned against him .

I think it’s fair to say Aberdeen were very much in decline under him towards the end of his reign .

Killie appear to be going the same way as well with fans on their forum heavily criticising the style football they are watching and have repeatedly been calling for him to be sacked anyhow .

From an outsiders perspective I don't really buy the idea that Derek McInnes' time at Kilmarnock is anything but relatively successful personally. This league is so cyclical in nature that it's nearly impossible for any manager to have two back-to-back seasons that achieve the league targets. But he's managed to get them promoted, kept them up, and then into Europe in a 2.5 year cycle. If they finish 7th or 8th this season I think you can write it off fairly easily and build again to make a run at the top 6 next season, but football is a fickle sport and one below par season is enough to get you sent packing.

For me he's arguably in the last decade the only manager outside of the OF to consistently deliver domestic league success (relative to the teams targets) in back to back seasons. He routinely would finish 2nd or 3rd with Aberdeen, with and without Rangers in the league, and then the Killie seasons as I mentioned. If you compare it to other managers who have perhaps finished third no one has been able to build on it. Neilson delivered it twice for Hearts but was sacked the next season twice, Robson was sacked midway next season, Lennon did well with us and was gone 6 months later, Jack Ross gone after 6 months. The only one I can think of that wasn't sacked was Steve Clarke as he went to Scotland on the back of his work that season.

For whatever reason, more often than not, Derek McInnes has been able to deliver results at clubs he goes to in a way that many others in this country have failed to do. For that reason alone I think it's a great appointment for Hearts if they do it sadly.

Ribs1875
09-05-2025, 01:51 PM
You’re 100% correct, but that doesn’t mean we would have finished 2nd in the top flight, one of the seasons we finished 3rd behind Falkirk!

I think that spell in the championship really allowed us to rebuild our club and was almost exactly what the club needed. Signed good young players, played good football and ultimately won the Scottish cup and then got promoted the following season

I just don’t think had we not been relegating we would have made the slightest difference in being 2nd

I suppose it's all opinions and hypothesis at the end of the day. One thing I will say, the team we stuck together in the 2nd half of the 2017-18 seasons with McGinn, McGeough and Allan in the middle. Kamberi and McLaren up top ect ect ect. That group of players if had started the season would have finished stronger than we did. That team was stronger than anything McInness ever assembled.

Donegal Hibby
09-05-2025, 01:53 PM
From an outsiders perspective I don't really buy the idea that Derek McInnes' time at Kilmarnock is anything but relatively successful personally. This league is so cyclical in nature that it's nearly impossible for any manager to have two back-to-back seasons that achieve the league targets. But he's managed to get them promoted, kept them up, and then into Europe in a 2.5 year cycle. If they finish 7th or 8th this season I think you can write it off fairly easily and build again to make a run at the top 6 next season, but football is a fickle sport and one below par season is enough to get you sent packing.

For me he's arguably in the last decade the only manager outside of the OF to consistently deliver domestic league success (relative to the teams targets) in back to back seasons. He routinely would finish 2nd or 3rd with Aberdeen, with and without Rangers in the league, and then the Killie seasons as I mentioned. If you compare it to other managers who have perhaps finished third no one has been able to build on it. Neilson delivered it twice for Hearts but was sacked the next season twice, Robson was sacked midway next season, Lennon did well with us and was gone 6 months later, Jack Ross gone after 6 months. The only one I can think of that wasn't sacked was Steve Clarke as he went to Scotland on the back of his work that season.

For whatever reason, more often than not, Derek McInnes has been able to deliver results at clubs he goes to in a way that many others in this country have failed to do. For that reason alone I think it's a great appointment for Hearts if they do it sadly.

Whoever takes over hertz should improve them , as much as it pains me to say they are top a 6 team ( or should be ) . I think if McInnes gets it he will improve them , as I said before they’ll become better organised , more physical, dirty , harder to beat etc but it won’t be all plain sailing if he does become their manager and if he hits one of the runs he’s hit at his previous clubs like 8 out of 9 games without a goal or 11 games without a win then I’d wager that the hertz fans will turn on him pretty quickly purely about the style of football he’d have them playing..

Interesting one you mention in he finished 2nd with sevco in the league . For a few seasons after they came up it was probably the poorest Sevco team in many a year with guys like Holt , Halliday etc in the team . If McInnes was at Hibs , hertz or Aberdeen in recent seasons there is no way he’d finish 2nd . What he done at Aberdeen back then was good though it should be acknowledged that it was easier to do all the same .

Nothing against the guy other than the football is teams play I don’t like and I genuinely thought the few times folk wanted him as our manager when he did hit a bad patch his football would have been used as the stick to beat him with.. think that will inevitably happen at hertz if he gets the gig there too .

K-Zazu
09-05-2025, 01:53 PM

I think Aberdeen and McIness just got bored of each other in the end, he was at Aberdeen for ages.

09-05-2025, 02:00 PM
Whoever takes over hertz should improve them , as much as it pains me to say they are top a 6 team ( or should be ) . I think if McInnes gets it he will improve them , as I said before they’ll become better organised , more physical, dirty , harder to beat etc but it won’t be all plain sailing if he does become their manager and if he hits one of the runs he’s hit at his previous clubs like 8 out of 9 games without a goal or 11 games without a win then I’d wager that the hertz fans will turn on him pretty quickly purely about the style of football he’d have them playing..

Interesting one you mention in he finished 2nd with sevco in the league . For a few seasons after they came up it was probably the poorest Sevco team in many a year with guys like Holt , Halliday etc in the team . If McInnes was at Hibs , hertz or Aberdeen in recent seasons there is no way he’d finish 2nd . What he done at Aberdeen back then was good though it should be acknowledged that it was easier to do all the same .

Nothing against the guy other than the football is teams play I don’t like and I genuinely thought the few times folk wanted him as our manager when he did hit a bad patch his football would have been used as the stick to beat him with.. think that will inevitably happen at hertz if he gets the gig there too .

I think if any manager hits a run of 8 or 9 games without a goal or 11 without a win they'll be turned on. If the same happens to Dave Gray next season the conversations will return about changing manager, it's just what happens. I honestly don't think the football is as big an issue as people make out it is, when you don't win games or score goals then of course everyone will turn around and say the football is rotten. Besides if there's a football club that is used to a more physical direct style it's that lot in Gorgie, and I'd argue some of the more successful Hearts teams of the last however long embraced that. Whenever they moved away from it with a Cathro or Critchely it just doesn't work.

The year he finished 2nd with Sevco is still an achievement, I won't pretend and say he'd finish 2nd now with any of the teams now as I think Rangers are miles ahead again even if they are rank in comparison to Celtic. But it's still impressive to do so and I think it sums up the spell he had at Aberdeen as a successful one.

09-05-2025, 02:01 PM

If he has the Jambos top 4 regularly, that won't be an issue for them.

09-05-2025, 02:55 PM
I think ended badly is over-egging it a bit, he did leave them 4th but things had started to fizzle out for them and by the time he did go Aberdeen fans were happy enough because of the style of football.My two Aberdeen supporting brothers weren't happy to see him go - they were adamant the grass wasn't likely to be greener on the other side.

09-05-2025, 03:05 PM
We might be one of the five best-supported clubs but we're not traditionally one of the five strongest if you look at our record down the years. We finish outwith the top five the majority of the time. It's actually quite pitiful when you look through our league placings and see how rarely we have a strong season, let alone more than one in succession.

We're pretty comfortably 5th in any all time table, or average points/league position table that I've seen

Hibees1973
09-05-2025, 03:07 PM
If he has the Jambos top 4 regularly, that won't be an issue for them.

Don't know about that.

Jobbie Neilson had them 3rd and they sacked him.

Although this may have something to do with the fact we punted them out of the cup, prior to us winning it. Yams I know will never forgive Jobbie for this.

The problem with them is that they have this delusion that when they get remotely close to the OF they spout they are going to split them imminently and when it's clear they won't, the manager is thrown out with all their toys.

The only time any club has done this with the OF both in the SPFL is when the Yam had the corrupt Lithuanian bankrolling then and that didn't end well.

Donegal Hibby
09-05-2025, 03:17 PM
I think if any manager hits a run of 8 or 9 games without a goal or 11 without a win they'll be turned on. If the same happens to Dave Gray next season the conversations will return about changing manager, it's just what happens. I honestly don't think the football is as big an issue as people make out it is, when you don't win games or score goals then of course everyone will turn around and say the football is rotten. Besides if there's a football club that is used to a more physical direct style it's that lot in Gorgie, and I'd argue some of the more successful Hearts teams of the last however long embraced that. Whenever they moved away from it with a Cathro or Critchely it just doesn't work.

The year he finished 2nd with Sevco is still an achievement, I won't pretend and say he'd finish 2nd now with any of the teams now as I think Rangers are miles ahead again even if they are rank in comparison to Celtic. But it's still impressive to do so and I think it sums up the spell he had at Aberdeen as a successful one.

Possibly , I do think even if a teams losing and there’s encouraging signs in the football isn’t bad , maybe a teams not getting the breaks etc , like in our case early in the season in performances like when we lost narrowly at Ibrox or when we lost at park head when their keeper was MotM fans can cut a manager a bit more slack rather than one who’s football is awful, not creating chances etc …

And that’s exactly the point in what I’m saying about McInnes time at Aberdeen in it was a successful time for them in their finishes in the league which you have to give him credit for but you also have to remember it was easier to do simple because Sevco weren’t the same beast with the extraordinary circumstances that happened in them dying and reforming as a new club .

Paul1642
09-05-2025, 03:23 PM

I think the point to be made is that there was little serious competition for 2nd / 3rd at the time McInnes achieved that run at Aberdeen when compared to many other domestic seasons. It doesn’t take away from the fact that he done the best available, but it’s not the Managerial masterclass that it would have been if he achieved it over the last few seasons as a comparison.

It’s also presumably easier to budget high in the aim of coming 2nd when the likelihood of success is much higher because the team with the 3rd highest budget in the league only has the 6th highest budget in the country.

Victor
09-05-2025, 04:58 PM
If McInnes is such a great manager, why is he at Kilmarnock?

09-05-2025, 05:07 PM

How long was McInnes out of work after his Aberdeen stint?

09-05-2025, 05:10 PM

Fourth job as well, Hearts would be his fifth so hasn't really managed to work his way up to a higher level.

I don't think he's a bad manager. He's just alright and think he'd do alright if he want to Hearts.

09-05-2025, 05:11 PM

10 months by the looks of it.

09-05-2025, 05:40 PM
I think the point to be made is that there was little serious competition for 2nd / 3rd at the time McInnes achieved that run at Aberdeen when compared to many other domestic seasons. It doesn’t take away from the fact that he done the best available, but it’s not the Managerial masterclass that it would have been if he achieved it over the last few seasons as a comparison.

It’s also presumably easier to budget high in the aim of coming 2nd when the likelihood of success is much higher because the team with the 3rd highest budget in the league only has the 6th highest budget in the country.

He normally manages a side to their expectations roughly, irrespective of who he's up against.

We watched the huns implode and the gimps do similar, we of course followed them rather than take advantage.

As i said before, the guy gets results normally, we rarely do, we punch our weight on the odd occasion, his teams do it regularly.

Why on earth would we want that? :rolleyes:

09-05-2025, 05:41 PM
Fourth job as well, Hearts would be his fifth so hasn't really managed to work his way up to a higher level.

I don't think he's a bad manager. He's just alright and think he'd do alright if he want to Hearts.
If I remember rightly he was knocking jobs back from down South at his peak with Aberdeen in fairness. Sunderland maybe?

09-05-2025, 05:45 PM
If I remember rightly he was knocking jobs back from down South at his peak with Aberdeen in fairness. Sunderland maybe?

He's knocked back some wee teams as well, Rangers being an example....

09-05-2025, 05:45 PM

Trinity Hibee
09-05-2025, 06:13 PM

10 months

09-05-2025, 06:24 PM
I would have thought he'd be the perfect fit for Hearts.

His style of football is already familiar over there, under a few different managers.

09-05-2025, 08:36 PM
Sadly I think he'll be safe pair of hands for them. That said you can only urinate with the boaby you have so I'm not at all worried that they'll be troubling us.

10-05-2025, 12:33 AM
Irrelevant diddy team.

Yep. We've got bigger fish to fry than worry about them.

Donegal Hibby
10-05-2025, 01:08 AM

The Killie pitch ? :faf:

7Hero
10-05-2025, 06:32 AM
Tony Blooms computer working wonders already ...

MikeyS
10-05-2025, 10:01 AM
Tony Blooms computer working wonders already ...

Judging by the mental asylum that is kickback, they are going to not only close the gap on the old firm but leave the rest of us in their trails. One special person is predicting player sales to increase to over 100m in the not to distant future too.

I've missed their delusions this year if I'm honest!

I know people generally talk pish on the Internet but it's almost a competition on that site to talk more nonsense than the previous poster!

10-05-2025, 06:19 PM
‘ There has been no contact from Hearts ‘

Derek McInnes

50 minutes ago

PLZ soccer

10-05-2025, 06:23 PM

Derek McInnes

50 minutes ago

PLZ soccer

He'll be desperate for the job. No chance he's getting a better gig after Killie.

LewysGot2
10-05-2025, 06:33 PM
BBC Jambosound was in full flow all the way home from the game. Jesus, they want him to get the gig.

He weasel worded "no contact between clubs" which was clearly deliberate. By the time I parked up at home Tom English says he understands the bid will come on Monday

Also in Jambosound they said Shanklandstein wants ,£15k a week wages 🤣

HendoDelivered
10-05-2025, 06:56 PM
Hearts making an official approach Monday apparently.

K-Zazu
10-05-2025, 07:07 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cp3n9x3led9o

10-05-2025, 07:17 PM

Derek McInnes

50 minutes ago

PLZ soccer

If he wanted to stay at Killie - he simply could say I’m happy here and will be here next season.

He will end up at Hearts and Hearts radio will all be delighted.

If he goes to Hearts he will cost quite a bit - said this last summer before Hibs appointed Gray especially as his contract runs till 2027.

Hibs4185
10-05-2025, 07:18 PM
Hearts making an official approach Monday apparently.

Having a board meeting after the bowls tomorrow to decide

10-05-2025, 07:22 PM
Be very disappointed to see him go there, I’d much rather they’d taken another data-backed Jamestown appointment.

He’ll be well-backed, and I’m sure he’ll do well for them.

10-05-2025, 07:28 PM
Will Radio Jambosound be covering the whole thing live from Tynie on Monday, waiting for the smoke coming from the motel chimney?

10-05-2025, 07:39 PM
Rangers apparently in the mix for him :tee hee:

He's here!
10-05-2025, 07:49 PM
Be very disappointed to see him go there, I’d much rather they’d taken another data-backed Jamestown appointment.

He’ll be well-backed, and I’m sure he’ll do well for them.

Their pitiful European exit this season coupled with failure to qualify this year will hamper the budget even if Bloom invests. They'd have been taking European qualification as a given.

10-05-2025, 07:51 PM
Having a board meeting after the bowls tomorrow to decide

https://i.postimg.cc/bwhKDPcJ/IMG-6820.png (https://postimg.cc/HV6SRfLD)

davym7062
10-05-2025, 08:03 PM
who cares who they get? its no david gray

10-05-2025, 08:09 PM
McInnes has managed just less than 780 games, and has one major trophy, League Cup with Aberdeen
Steve Clarke has a vastly better record at Killie than he has
He grossly underperformed at the Dons too. He’s got a great agent and great press friends too, Hearts are welcome to him

K-Zazu
10-05-2025, 08:16 PM
McInnes has managed just less than 780 games, and has one major trophy, League Cup with Aberdeen
He grossly underperformed at the Dons too. He’s got a great agent and great press friends too, Hearts are welcome to him

Grossly underperformed at Aberdeen? Not sure about that tbh

10-05-2025, 08:29 PM
Grossly underperformed at Aberdeen? Not sure about that tbh1 trophy? Weren't very good in the cups given the landscape.

10-05-2025, 08:31 PM
I trophy? Weren't very good in the cups given the landscape.

Good league positions without a few big clubs in the top division for quite a few years, but only one trophy in 8 years

10-05-2025, 08:33 PM

This is superb.

10-05-2025, 08:39 PM
This is superb.The smoke has nothing to do with signalling a new manager. It's always like that down there.

10-05-2025, 10:31 PM
Even if they open talks with McInnes there's no guarantee he'll take it as we saw at Aberdeen. He's an extremely cautious manager.

EskbankHibby
10-05-2025, 10:38 PM

Is that a Rover?!😂😂😂

That’s quality

10-05-2025, 10:47 PM

The most Hertz cartoon ever

10-05-2025, 10:58 PM
I really hope he gets the job. It’s a marriage made in hell. The new ‘analytics’ Hearts approach to running a club seems to be diametrically the opposite of DM’s preferred way. Something’s got to give and it could up in tears.

10-05-2025, 11:48 PM
This is superb.

The cardigan should be yellow. Just saying.

11-05-2025, 03:30 PM
Hearts to approach Killie tomorrow to ask for permission to speak to McInnes according to the Scottish Sun

11-05-2025, 03:33 PM
Hearts to approach Killie tomorrow to ask for permission to speak to McInnes according to the Scottish Sun

Have to think its already been agreed with McInnes and Hearts.

Mental how many times both us and Hearts have had the chance to employ McInnes and haven’t. Hearts are doing it now after one of his worst seasons.

11-05-2025, 03:34 PM

That's absolutely tremendous. The detail is faultless:aok:

11-05-2025, 03:38 PM

Absolutely brilliant. The blandness, the car, the slippers, the cardigan, the bowling green. 👍👍👍

11-05-2025, 03:38 PM
Absolutely brilliant. The blandness, the car, the slippers, the cardigan, the bowling green. 👍👍👍

The reek of the Distillery

11-05-2025, 03:39 PM
Even if they open talks with McInnes there's no guarantee he'll take it as we saw at Aberdeen. He's an extremely cautious manager.

From watching mcinnes in the studio today he didn’t give off that impression.

I think he’s probably thinking he’s taken killie as far as he can.

El dels brand of football will fit right in down gorgie

11-05-2025, 03:42 PM

I wouldn’t rule out him playing a game to try and get more money out of Kilmarnock.

11-05-2025, 03:51 PM
I wouldn’t rule out him playing a game to try and get more money out of Kilmarnock.

He did this at Aberdeen a few times to get an increased contract

Gloucester Hibs
11-05-2025, 03:54 PM

Still laughing at this 😂 It’s got the lot 😂

Silky
11-05-2025, 04:00 PM

There's a few folk down our way who seem to think his brand of football will fit well here too.

11-05-2025, 04:03 PM

The committee:faf: you can just tell who they support

He's here!
11-05-2025, 04:07 PM
The reek of the Distillery

Caley brewery shut down a few years ago and Fountain Park at least 25 years ago so I'm guessing the reek from that source is no longer present? Just a general sort of Gorgie stench.

11-05-2025, 04:08 PM

It does.

Have you ever seen those “facial composite” type things, where they feed hundreds of images into a computer to find out (for example) what the average 30 year old Swedish woman looks like?

The guy at the front is the quintessential Jambo. He looks like the average of every Jambo I have ever met. Absolute perfection.

As has been said, the detail here is flawless.

11-05-2025, 04:18 PM
McInnes. Bring him on. We should relish the competition.

Unless, if course, he proves to be a bad fit at Tynecastle in which case we can relish that too!

Bridge hibs
11-05-2025, 04:18 PM

11-05-2025, 04:22 PM

The Lower Middle Management slumped shoulders all round⭐️

11-05-2025, 04:29 PM

Can anyone explain the car reg to me?

11-05-2025, 04:31 PM

Pigeons ?

11-05-2025, 04:32 PM

I thought i was the only one who didn't get it.

11-05-2025, 04:34 PM
Caley brewery shut down a few years ago and Fountain Park at least 25 years ago so I'm guessing the reek from that source is no longer present? Just a general sort of Gorgie stench.

My old man worked in the North British Distillery Wheatfield Road at the back of Tiny for 40 years it used to pong and is still there but haven’t been there ( Tiny ) since 1990 thanks to Wallet Mercenary

11-05-2025, 05:43 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/2yW4k254/Photoroom-20250511-182839.jpg (https://postimg.cc/wR6tF5Lv)

Donegal Hibby
11-05-2025, 05:57 PM
Looks like he’s got the job …

https://i.postimg.cc/7YQhs4nq/be9d45f0-255c-4806-82b1-d2bbf3ca1c57.jpg

11-05-2025, 06:41 PM
McInnes is a solid SPL manager who will have Hearts pushing for top 4-5 every season. So it’s a sensible appointment on one level. On another level he’s been around for a while and a new breed of footballers might just feel he’s a yesterday man dialing it in and grown demotivated after a season and a half.

Obviously I hope it’s diminishing returns but who knows. But it seems the mark of a treading water club rather than one going forward.

11-05-2025, 06:42 PM

Just seen this. Brilliant 😂

Hibspur
11-05-2025, 06:47 PM

Aye, right.

Eight straight European qualifications, including four straight second place finishes. The club's first cup win in 20 years, three other cup finals (all of which were lost to Celtic) and five cup semi-finals on top of that.

That level of consistency in the league is what you want to see as a season ticket holder, not just an occasional cup win.

He did a great job there. Those pretending otherwise are just looking for ways to make out Hearts have picked another dud. He'll make them competitive again unfortunately.

babahibs
11-05-2025, 06:50 PM

I'm sure i used too work with the guy far left, total flump.