View Full Version : Match Updates Celtic vs Hibernian (Scottish Cup)
09-03-2025, 12:45 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GlmY9VyWsAAqBLX?format=jpg&name=large
Mcbizz1998
09-03-2025, 12:47 PM
O’Hora still carrying a niggle? I would have preferred him to Miller.
Other than that, as I expected.
09-03-2025, 12:48 PM
Is Ekpiteta injured again? Seems odd to have O'Hora on the bench if he isn't fit enough to start. And is Manneh ineligible or just not ready yet?
badabing67
09-03-2025, 12:48 PM
O'Hora on the bench for Miller that's interesting and Manneh not on the Bench wonder if he has an injury
09-03-2025, 12:51 PM
O'Hora on the bench for Miller that's interesting and Manneh not on the Bench wonder if he has an injury
I doubt that Manneh’s exclusion is due to injury, more likely that Levitt has better match fitness. We’re also restricted on the number of subs we can have in cup games.
09-03-2025, 12:51 PM
I think Miller’s better in a back 3 than as a full back and O’Hora didn’t exactly cover himself in glory before he went off last week.
This team had a great 2nd half of the derby. Need that for 90+ today.
1875Sean
09-03-2025, 12:54 PM
Newell is the only player injured so the likes of Manneh and Ekpiteta are just dropped like last week
8 on the bench?
badabing67
I doubt that Manneh’s exclusion is due to injury, more likely that Levitt has better match fitness. We’re also restricted on the number of subs we can have in cup games.
Didn't realise this... thanks for info
JGS56
09-03-2025, 12:59 PM
8 on the bench?
Only allowed on the bench in the Scottish Cup.
09-03-2025, 12:59 PM
I think Miller’s better in a back 3 than as a full back and O’Hora didn’t exactly cover himself in glory before he went off last week.
This team had a great 2nd half of the derby. Need that for 90+ today.
I thought Miller was excellent last week when he came on.
Paulie Walnuts
09-03-2025, 01:03 PM
Just saw the video of the team arriving from instagram. It’s no surprise Gayle feels he needs to retire, he looks like he’s limping just walking into the stadium.
09-03-2025, 01:07 PM
Come on Hibs let's get the win today, nervous and excited for this one.
09-03-2025, 01:07 PM
Just saw the video of the team arriving from instagram. It’s no surprise Gayle feels he needs to retire, he looks like he’s limping just walking into the stadium.
i never saw him before arriving at ER but i honestly thought that's just how he walks, wonder if he has problems with his hips
09-03-2025, 01:08 PM
7,045 away fans
09-03-2025, 01:08 PM
O’Hora still carrying a niggle? I would have preferred him to Miller.
Other than that, as I expected.
Gray indicated Warren was touch and go for today. Assuming deemed not ready to start. How many subs allowed in cup ties? 3? Just checked looks like only 3 think get extra one if goes to extra time.
09-03-2025, 01:10 PM
I thought Miller was excellent last week when he came on.
Really important he concentrates. Even last week when he was good he had a fresh air swipe at a cross.
Hibees1973
09-03-2025, 01:10 PM
Boyle to skin Carter-Vickers first 10 mins when through on goal with the Celtic guy being sent off.
That would really even it up a bit.
DIXIHIBS
09-03-2025, 01:11 PM
I saw him in Leith on Friday and he really looked like he was struggling to walk. Must just be his style of walking?
09-03-2025, 01:12 PM
Really important he concentrates. Even last week when he was good he had a fresh air swipe at a cross.
He has a funny habit of being at his best against Celtic, both home and away.
It might be that he knows he needs to concentrate more against them.
09-03-2025, 01:14 PM
Boyle to skin Carter-Vickers first 10 mins when through on goal with the Celtic guy being sent off.
That would really even it up a bit.
I'd rather he scored - 14/1 first scorer!
HarpOnHibee
09-03-2025, 01:15 PM
I saw him in Leith on Friday and he really looked like he was struggling to walk. Must just be his style of walking?
Man's struggling with on going pain issues from what I understand. It's the injections that keep him going on the pitch.
Hibees1973
09-03-2025, 01:18 PM
If we play well, but get beaten then fair enough.
Just need to look at the big picture so it's vital we don't pick up any injuries to key players for the run in.
HarpOnHibee
09-03-2025, 01:20 PM
If we play well, but get beaten then fair enough.
If we play horrendously but win, that'll do.
09-03-2025, 01:23 PM
i like the idea of miller in a back three - i've not seen him in this position, but does he bomb forward at all a la Hanlon under Lennon? Seem to remember that working really well against Celtic in 17-18 :thumbsup:
09-03-2025, 01:23 PM
Youan on the bench.. was he on the bench last week ?
1875Sean
09-03-2025, 01:24 PM
Youan on the bench.. was he on the bench last week ?
Yeah he was just didn’t get on
Always going to be hard to beat Celtic, we get the odd result buy realistically all we can hope for is we get stuck in, fight hard and push them all the way, win or lose.
09-03-2025, 01:33 PM
Miller long throw, Bowie layoff, Boyle top corner, bang! Preferably in the 7th minute 😁
HarpOnHibee
09-03-2025, 01:34 PM
Miller long throw, Bowie layoff, Boyle top corner, bang! Preferably in the 7th minute 😁
I'd personally prefer it to be in the 97th minute myself. :wink:
09-03-2025, 01:35 PM
Premier a wee bit Celtic biased imo. Both much more known for Celtic than Hibs
Sioux
09-03-2025, 01:35 PM
John Collins reckons we'll lose a few goals today.:grr:
badabing67
09-03-2025, 01:37 PM
Well as long as we can score a few we will still be in it
09-03-2025, 01:37 PM
I'd personally prefer it to be in the 97th minute myself. :wink:
Maybe in both 😁
09-03-2025, 01:45 PM
Hibs tv just showing a picture of the Scottish Cup and Hampden. Love it
badabing67
09-03-2025, 01:48 PM
Hibs tv just showing a picture of the Scottish Cup and Hampden. Love it
There was pictures appearing from Premier sports looked like Scott Brown being interviewed along side Lenny.... Then quickly disappeared
09-03-2025, 01:48 PM
With Boyle in a questionably offside position but the goal standing and Brenda throwing another post match hissy fit.
Green Reaper
09-03-2025, 01:50 PM
Premier a wee bit Celtic biased imo. Both much more known for Celtic than Hibs
To be fair, both really talking Hibs up, might change if we are winning though
badabing67
09-03-2025, 01:50 PM
10 mins to KO can't wait to see Hibs support in the stadium
09-03-2025, 01:54 PM
Packy was asked what he thought of Smith in goals and he had to admit he hadn't seen much of him.
Just against Celtic as you would imagine. Pathetic from a so called Sportsound pundit.
09-03-2025, 01:54 PM
To be fair, both really talking Hibs up, might change if we are winning though
Both of them giving it the royal”we”. 🙄
09-03-2025, 01:55 PM
10 mins to KO can't wait to see Hibs support in the stadium
You might wait a while.
09-03-2025, 01:56 PM
Both of them giving it the royal”we”. 🙄
**** em all.
09-03-2025, 01:58 PM
Packy was asked what he thought of Smith in goals and he had to admit he hadn't seen much of him.
Just against Celtic as you would imagine. Pathetic from a so called Sportsound pundit.
If you work as a pundit it's the bare minimum to at least watch the games that area available on TV and the highlight packages.
But if you're a former keeper covering a team on the TV you'd think you'd do a bit of research on AT LEAST the goalie ffs.
badabing67
09-03-2025, 01:59 PM
You might wait a while.
There you go ..... Mon the Hibs
09-03-2025, 02:01 PM
mon the cabbage :flag:
09-03-2025, 02:02 PM
Boyle's first offside 26 seconds in
Packy who?
Teams just coming out , good luck hibs, just compete & leave everything on the pitch, that's all we can ask
Donegal Hibby
Mon the Hibees :flag:
09-03-2025, 02:03 PM
Intae the lesser greens Hibs.
09-03-2025, 02:04 PM
Packy who?
Packy Lies.:greengrin
09-03-2025, 02:04 PM
great save smith
09-03-2025, 02:06 PM
What a save
great save smith
First of many I hope, we need to keep them bassa's out and hit them on the break.
badabing67
Was that ball fully over the line for the corner
First of many I hope, we need to keep them bassa's out and hit them on the break.
and another good take
under the cosh here as expected
Won't be surprised if we are on the wrong end of some big decisions today.
09-03-2025, 02:08 PM
Won't be surprised if we are on the wrong end of some big decisions today.
09-03-2025, 02:08 PM
and another sellick corner
09-03-2025, 02:09 PM
triantis off the line
Mcbizz1998
09-03-2025, 02:10 PM
All over us. Need to weather this storm.
09-03-2025, 02:11 PM
relentless
Aye just got to hang in there for now.
Hibees sounding fantastic
badabing67
Pen check..... WTF
Settle down Hibs, take the sting out of them and then their crap fans will start to turn.
Just soak it up for now.
Packy who?
Bonnar
I’d have loved to felt confident today but with the result the other week and that VAR decision they’ll absolutely be up for this.
Rodgers has never lost a Scottish cup game as long as he’s been Celtic manager either
All over us. Need to weather this storm.
Could be a long day, need to get a foot on the ball.
09-03-2025, 02:13 PM
I’d have loved to felt confident today but with the result the other week and that VAR decision they’ll absolutely be up for this.
Rodgers has never lost a Scottish cup game as long as he’s been Celtic manager either
Rogers just another whinging phanney wi a huge player budget.
Would be good if we could get the ball of them. They are rampant.
Defence holding firm though.
Matter of time if this keeps up
09-03-2025, 02:14 PM
Getting battered a bit here.
09-03-2025, 02:15 PM
possession
77%/23%
Corners
4-0
Getting battered a bit here.
Midfield being over run.
Just_Jimmy
09-03-2025, 02:17 PM
possession
77%/23%
Corners
4-0Still 0-0 as it stands though.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
possession
77%/23%
Corners
4-0
Its goals that win games we just need to keep them out, remember leeds at Easter Rd they done same to us. we can get through this with any luck.
Jota and Kuhn keeping the Caddens well pegged back
Michael Stewart totally slating Rocky, saying he's always got a mistake in him etc.
09-03-2025, 02:18 PM
Bowie brings out a great save
09-03-2025, 02:18 PM
Michael Stewart totally slating Rocky, saying he's always got a mistake in him etc.
Also said he can be a very good defender. Pretty fair I thought.
09-03-2025, 02:19 PM
Midfield being over run.
We just can't keep the ball.
Michael Stewart is a p***k on his better days and is best ignored.
ChicoM1875
He's like a broken record on Rocky
The guys a fanny. Rocky has been brilliant this season and deserves the credit for that.
Offf
possession
77%/23%
Corners
4-0
let’s put the ball in the net
with our 23%
Jota and Kuhn keeping the Caddens well pegged back
Thats their plan, we need to get the ball into midfield a wee bit more and get Boyle running in behind.
The guys a fanny. Rocky has been brilliant this season and deserves the credit for that.
ChicoM1875
Brilliant defending from Cadden and NMW
09-03-2025, 02:20 PM
They love a moan
09-03-2025, 02:21 PM
Yes Stewart was so perfect he never had a mistake in him when playing, guys a phanney best ignored.
Hibs are dangerous
ChicoM1875
Banging on about where we took the throw in from
Hibs fans in good voice.
The guys a fanny. Rocky has been brilliant this season and deserves the credit for that.Lucky for him his beloved poppy thieves did so well against Rocky in the last two derbies
09-03-2025, 02:22 PM
NMW doing really well
I must be hearing something different. Stewart been bigging Rocky up
Just_Jimmy
They love a moanAlways the victim
Your being selective, praised his athleticism and his defending.
09-03-2025, 02:23 PM
NMW doing really well
I really rate him, he’s like a little dynamo !
hibeez1875
What defender doesn’t have a mistake in them? Look at Virgil Van Dijk yesterday for example
Your being selective, praised his athleticism and his defending.
He spent a lot more time talking about past mistakes than he did praising his current form.
09-03-2025, 02:24 PM
yellow card iredale
ChicoM1875
What a dodgy Yellow. No way
Very harsh booking for Iredale there
Just_Jimmy
09-03-2025, 02:25 PM
Walsh clearly got the memo.
Hibs get **** all.
gordie18
That yellow is an absolute joke
ChicoM1875
Kuhn about three miles off
poor refereeing there
BennyB
Cheating ref … didn’t take long
ChicoM1875
09-03-2025, 02:26 PM
Walsh clearly got the memo.
Hibs get **** all.
Aye they'll be righting the wrong of us winning the last game
How the hell is that a yellow
1875Sean
Best I’ve seen NMW in a Hibs jersey, he is everywhere
09-03-2025, 02:27 PM
Disgraceful by referee. Never a booking
Disgraceful to give Iredale a yellow, free kick yes but a yellow, they just couldn't wait.
09-03-2025, 02:28 PM
Iredale on a tight rope now. Frustrating. No celtic players need to worry about that in any game. Ridiculous
Disgraceful by referee. Never a booking
Back to normal service we will get nothing from the corrupt gfa.
badabing67
There has been a few loose balls from Celtic
yellow card JC
09-03-2025, 02:29 PM
Yellow for Campbell
That one was fair though :greengrin
09-03-2025, 02:29 PM
Tremendous work rate by every one of our men today so far :not worth
09-03-2025, 02:30 PM
yellow card JC
John Collins is no playing is he
badabing67
Not another one
First time I've seen Campbell.
Triantis slack pass led to the yellow
Up-the-slope
09-03-2025, 02:31 PM
i'm loving the way they are bigging up Celtics record of 17 cut ties without losing and superiority etc etc.... will make it all the sweeter if we can mug them
richard_pitts
09-03-2025, 02:31 PM
Back to normal service we will get nothing from the corrupt gfa.
My prediction was dodgy penalty and a sending off. Celtic have spent their time since the 2-1 game basically gaslighting the officials about how unfair it all was with a view to getting exactly that.
plhibs
09-03-2025, 02:32 PM
I think we are destined for one of our player s to be sent off today.
that was a poor pass from triantis
badabing67
Poor ball from Triantis there
Triantis started off really slack.
09-03-2025, 02:33 PM
We need to be more composed on the ball, too much panic and too many passes not finding their man.
ChicoM1875
It's a stick on
i'm loving the way they are bigging up Celtics record of 17 cut ties without losing and superiority etc etc.... will make it all the sweeter if we can mug them
They are superior and should be when they are around 12 times richer than us, as you say it makes mugging them all the sweeter.
09-03-2025, 02:34 PM
Still moaning about the disallowed goal. MS is playing to the MOPES.
If Celtic can't break our 11 down the ref will see to it
Nicky Cadden down injured
The other guy brought it up to be fair
badabing67
09-03-2025, 02:35 PM
Bowie played the majority of the game with his back to the Celtic goal.... It's got to change. Hope now we can get to half time 0-0
Looks like a hamstring injury. Not great.
Obita coming on for him.
TrinityHFC
Absolutely dire. Talking as if the decisions were both wrong. They might have been against VAR protocols technically but we weren’t lucky. The on field decisions wrongly went against us in the first place.
Looks like a hamstring injury. Not great.
Obita coming on for him.
Ah hell no 😔
ChicoM1875
09-03-2025, 02:36 PM
Sakes man... that's a tough one to take
That’s a massive loss for us, not just today but going forward.
Huge loss
Cadden off, that's a blow.
**** sake
OtleyHibs
09-03-2025, 02:37 PM
That's the last player we need out injured, will be a huge loss today and beyond
Obita needs to step up for us
That's a disaster and not just for today
ChicoM1875
Need Obita to really step up now
That’s nothing like a snapped motion Stewart you ****ing moron. It’s a pulled motion. Hopefully a precaution more than anything.
depending on outcome he could be out quite a few weeks
ooft maeda over the bar
badabing67
09-03-2025, 02:38 PM
Always thought that Obita and Youan on the left has been effective for us
e2los
Nicky Cadden down injured
Looks bad...
Hope he isn't out for too long as he has been awesome for us.
Nicky Cadden going off is a real sickner and could have the rest of our season no as good as it may have been, just hope we can cover the hole he leaves in this team. Celic will be pleased.
Up-the-slope
09-03-2025, 02:39 PM
best thing is this game and last we have stopped our habit of losing really early goals against this lot which is really good
ChicoM1875
09-03-2025, 02:39 PM
That’s nothing like a snapped motion Stewart you ****ing moron. It’s a pulled motion. Hopefully a precaution more than anything.
Nearly everything he says is depressing
09-03-2025, 02:40 PM
1-0
Looks bad...
Hope he isn't out for too long as he has been awesome for us.
Hopefully back for the quarter finals.
ChicoM1875
Dammit
Awful time to lose a goal.
5mins before ht and after our key player goes off
Way the games went, we’ll struggle to keep the score down now
We really had to score first
1875Sean
09-03-2025, 02:41 PM
Keeper needs to do better again
cameronw-hfc
I thought he implied it was snapped also tbf him
Up-the-slope
please be off side
great initial save from smith but coudn't stop the rebound, not his fault maeda quicker than our defenders
badabing67
Ffs
It's been coming unfortunately.
badabing67
Is it offside
cameronw-hfc
Utter nonsense, he makes a good save, borderline excellent.
Defending before the cross is what cost it
First save was brilliant.
ChicoM1875
09-03-2025, 02:42 PM
Nah - defenders should have reacted quicker than Maeda
He made a good save … CB should follow up
Up-the-slope
Hopefully back for the quarter finals.
hes been amazing but not sure time travel is in his bag :greengrin
Been coming for the whole game, we’ve done well to hold out so long.
Just_Jimmy
Is it offsideNot even close
1875M
Obita ball watching and 2 yards off his man. Rocky not covering himself in glory either
He couldn't have done anything else, he'd just made a great save
Mountain to climb now.
That's a poor goal to concede. Phase before someone headed away when it was floating through to keeper than a ball to nobody reaches a celtic player
1875Sean
It’s not a great save when he palms it out straight to a Celtic player
09-03-2025, 02:43 PM
The keeper did well.
I thought he implied it was snapped also tbf him
Really???
TrinityHFC
Don’t be daft.
jonny
Ey? He makes a fantastic save and they scored from a rebound. If anyone is to blame for that it's the defenders for being too slow to react
Had to score first
Creating practically nothing that goal was coming and deserved to be fair
Spot on. It was a very good save, Obita then Ricky switch off.
I knew there'd be folk desperate to blame Smith there.:rolleyes:
Right Hibs it's not over yet
1875M
Please say you’re kidding? It’s fired into him from close, it’s a good save. Defence standing watching their men is the issue and not stopping the cross. Clueless.
Nah - defenders should have reacted quicker than Maeda
We dont learn but we still need to keep them bassas out and get the wagons circled.
skyehibee
Defenders all too slow and ball watching
OtleyHibs
09-03-2025, 02:44 PM
Losing Nicky and a goal makes it really difficult, but this side have shown they can create and take chances, not over yet
e2los
Can't agree with that one, did very well to stop the ball going in the first time.
cameronw-hfc
Because he's going across his line trying to get there. The fact he gets anything on it is brilliant. You're reaching here and it's pretty obvious
You need to do better with your posts.
hes been amazing but not sure time travel is in his bag :greengrin
I meant the replay :whistle:
and another great save smith, that was going in
Bridge hibs
He stopped the ball going into the net, what were his defenders doing ?
Sioux
C Cadden's a *** shambles out there.
ChicoM1875
You're at it
09-03-2025, 02:45 PM
Triantis & Campbell have poor this half.
OtleyHibs
Great save Smith
Aye....
Poor goal, Obita sleeping at the back, good save but defenders slow react to it.
Apart from a throw in we've not threatened at all, losing N Cadden is a huge blow for us.
Fantastic save from Smith.
Up-the-slope
another great save.... need to concentrate here
1875M
Some posters will want him catching that
cameronw-hfc
Smith playing like a man possessed.
Bridge hibs
Cracking save, someone will be along in a minute to say he should have caught it
09-03-2025, 02:46 PM
Great save
Another good save by Smith.
If Smith and Rocky could learn each others names that would help just great.
cameronw-hfc
Cracking save, someone will be along in a minute to say he should have caught it
MS talking about how it's one he should make. Really hates Smith
Of course Jota's handball isn't a booking.
09-03-2025, 02:47 PM
Really hates Hibs
1875M
Full house at Celtic park says the commentator, as they show 3 empty seats. Good one.
Mcbizz1998
Struggle to get too worked up tbh.
We were as good as out when the draw was made.
:agree: What a surprise.
09-03-2025, 02:48 PM
Full house at Celtic park says the commentator, as they show 3 empty seats. Good one.
Away for a pie 🥧
That’s actually outrageous given Iredales earlier.
HT
Rocky standing watching maeda for their goal
Poor goal, Obita sleeping at the back, good save but defenders slow react to it.
Apart from a throw in we've not threatened at all, losing N Cadden is a huge blow for us.
Aye, guess the difference in finances are just too great a gulf, but cmellic dont seem to think so.
1875M
09-03-2025, 02:49 PM
Still in this at 1-0, cannot lose another goal. Need to be a bit tidier in possession and look to get in behind more.
Still in the game but need to get a foot on the ball and be a bit more composed
Triantis and Campbell have to raise their game
As expected. Backs to the wall.
2 positives. We've had a chance so we can create another. And it's only 1-0
Struggle to get too worked up tbh.
We were as good as out when the draw was made.
Exactly. The gulf to Celtic financially is probably more than it is Clydebank to Hibs
09-03-2025, 02:50 PM
Smith keeping us in this. Some unreal saves.
Bowie has to make it 1-0 when he had the chance early on.
Plenty to play for, just need to be a bit braver on the ball.
Smith my MOTM first half
We have dome next to nothing going forward and been under cosh from kick off
Only a goal in it games still alive
Well something has to change because it's not working just now, and no I don't know what should be changed.
expresso
09-03-2025, 02:51 PM
Folk blaming Smith for the goal 🙈
The Hearts twat just hates Hibs,
Meh. It is what it is.
More annoyed about Caddens injury.
Disappointing to concede before halftime, thought we've defended really well and the players are working hard off the ball, just need a little more on it.
One chance from Bowie and the break away with Campbell our only really good times in the Celtic half.
Expected this kind of game with Celtic raising the levels, we need to score now and 1-0 still in it, will need the next goal, Mon the Hibs.
Will take that. 20 minutes then halftime and still in the game. If we get to 60 minutes still only one down then who knows.
09-03-2025, 02:52 PM
Hate (not a word I use lightly) Cellic, we need to get rodgers moaning again in the second half.
hibIBZ
Think we are lucky to still be in it at 1-0. Really can’t afford to concede again. They have shown their quality today and it’s been so hard to get on the ball at all. Need to keep doing what we are doing and try get some possession. We might only get 1 chance so we must take it and do everything not to go 2-0 down
MacGruber
What annoys about Celtic goal is boy looks yards offside with ball down the line - no flag. If he swings it in and scores then review and chopped off. Swings it in and Miller clears for a throw. They score from that. Think we should have had a flag in the play before it.
Also annoys, looks a clear handball by Celtic edge of the box - breaks and then Iredale booked for handball on that break.
Gutted about N Cadden. It hasn't snapped though, don't walk off like he has if it has snapped. It is a strain. Hopefully weeks and not months.
09-03-2025, 02:53 PM
Aye, guess the difference in finances are just too great a gulf, but cmellic dont seem to think so.
Course they don't, they are quite content to basically beat up on everyone in Scotland, but as soon as they get into Europe and get beat by teams with budgets far larger than theirs, such financial gulfs are unfair.
Archetypal Playground Bully
We are still in this. That was an incredible effort , we’ve done well to keep that down to 1-0, most teams would have been blown away by that first half from Celtic.
Ridiculous to blame smith for that goal.
Still in it…just…
Please say you’re kidding? It’s fired into him from close, it’s a good save. Defence standing watching their men is the issue and not stopping the cross. Clueless.Good save, defence might have dealt with the rebound better.