View Full Version : Match Updates Celtic vs Hibernian (Scottish Cup)
HarpOnHibee
09-03-2025, 02:54 PM
1-0 isn't ideal. But many a team go there and find themselves 3 or 4 down under that level of pressure. We're still very much in this. But we need to start taking a few risks to start causing some problems. We're sitting in too deep and that isn't given us much of an outlet to break. It's on the break where we can hurt Celtic, but we have to tweak our set up to allow us to do that.
Folk blaming Smith for the goal 🙈
Obita much more to blame. Our composure on the ball is so poor Triantis like last week first half everything rushed. Hopefully the same response as last week. Clearly a blow Nicky going off. Thought we were relatively comfortable before the goal
I’ll cling on to us usually being better in the 2nd half
My gut feeling was 3-0 Celtic today however and wouldn’t be surprised if it ends up that
Still in it, c'mon.
09-03-2025, 02:55 PM
Some posters will want him catching thatAnd going on a mazy run just before cracking in the equaliser from 35 yards.
They are just playing lots of through alls down the wings and catching folk out.
Referee is a joke aswell.
ChicoM1875
Folk blaming Smith for the goal 🙈
It's all a bit suspicious
09-03-2025, 02:56 PM
That’s actually outrageous given Iredales earlier.
Agree
Shooting towards our own fans 2nd half. Need to go for it. We're out as it stands. Cmon Hibs!
Triantis needs to get into this game. Same as he did last Sunday. Total no-show in the 1st half.
09-03-2025, 02:57 PM
I’ll cling on to us usually being better in the 2nd half
My gut feeling was 3-0 Celtic today however and wouldn’t be surprised if it ends up that
My gut feeling usually leads to diarrhoea
09-03-2025, 02:57 PM
Triantis needs to get into this game. Same as he did last Sunday. Total no-show in the 1st half.
Been really poor. Cost JC a yellow.
Donegal Hibby
09-03-2025, 02:59 PM
Under severe pressure in that half which was to be expected but we are still in it which I’d good . Referee has been shocking , think both bookings were soft . Smith has been outstanding so far .
badabing67
09-03-2025, 02:59 PM
Still in it, c'mon.
:agree::agree::agree::agree:
OtleyHibs
09-03-2025, 03:01 PM
Think Smith really unlucky at the goal, good first stop, defence slow to react and Maeda was never gonna be
After that he kept us in it
Need a similar HT wake up to last week, next goal is crucial
Needs to start by putting his boots on the right feet
Two needlessly over hit balls under no pressure costing us
Hibees1973
Haven't really been in it, which to be honest isn't wholly unexpected.
I did fear an injury to a Hibs player given the amount of chasing and running around needing to be done with the amount of possession they have.
Hamstrings can be 4 weeks min - 6 months max (as in Bowie's case).
Still in this, but will need a good number on breaks and a huge turnaround here to get through.
09-03-2025, 03:04 PM
I did fear an injury to a Hibs player given the amount of chasing and running around needing to be done with the amount of possession they have.
Still in this, but will need a good number on breaks and a huge turnaround here to get through.
Good that he walked off I guess
09-03-2025, 03:04 PM
He wouldn't be walking off the park if it was the 6 month mark. He'll definitely be out for a few weeks though.
09-03-2025, 03:05 PM
Cmon the Hibs , still in it gerintaethum.
Unfortunately there are a few hib s players who, so far, have just not turned up .Triantis - poor
Boyle - is he even on the pitch? to name a few.
Need ALL the players to believe & play as they can.
Come on hib s we can still do this.
Need to keep it tight again
09-03-2025, 03:07 PM
Triantis 38th yellow card of the season
will be out if we go through
VAR checking for serios foul play
stays yellow
Meh. It is what it is.
More annoyed about Caddens injury.
definitely this, big blow
ChicoM1875
Can't believe they're checking that
Hibees1973
09-03-2025, 03:08 PM
Good that he walked off I guess
Yeah.
Just felt like a big moment in our season. It's not all about today.
There is an international break for 2 weeks which is a positive.
Will find out in the next couple of days how bad it is.
4 fouls 3 cards.
Celtic 5 fouls no cards
Just incompetent though.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Man down with Triantis today anyway
09-03-2025, 03:09 PM
What was the difference between what Triantis did and Maeda did on Iredale ?
Get Triantis off,
Man down with Triantis today anywayNeeds subbed before the inevitable red happens.
4 fouls 3 cards.
Celtic 5 fouls no cards
Just incompetent though.
when are we going to stand up to this blatant cheating?
The team he plays for.
ChicoM1875
Maeda plays for Celtc
09-03-2025, 03:10 PM
Wtf a red card check
Blocks Biloxi
09-03-2025, 03:10 PM
I genuinely don't know if Triantis has completed a pass today
09-03-2025, 03:11 PM
miller fgs man stop diving, that's embarrassing man
09-03-2025, 03:11 PM
Our first touch is *****.
09-03-2025, 03:13 PM
Get Dwight on 3 up top hav a go
Up-the-slope
Was hoping Nectar would respond to another HT chat - I know its a different level than Hearts but still need to be brave
badabing67
Is Bowie limping
09-03-2025, 03:14 PM
take triantis off sdg
dmc1875
I genuinely don't know if Triantis has completed a pass today
He’s been horrid and needs hooked
Thought he was limping early in first half
skyehibee
Triantis needs subbed
So it comes off Iredales body then hits his hand,yellow card. Celtic player straight hand ball , nothing doing. Maeda catches Iredale late after balls away, nothing. Triantis catches Celtic player late 1 minute later, yellow card.
ChicoM1875
Triantis needs hooked. Bring Levitt on.
Just cannot get out our half and build anything. 2nd goal feels inevitable
sellicks 83rd corner
Up-the-slope
09-03-2025, 03:15 PM
subs are needed earlier than usual - so much running and some are on empty
badabing67
09-03-2025, 03:15 PM
Triantis needs subbed
We only got Levitt on the bench, may as well get him on
09-03-2025, 03:16 PM
great saving tackle by iredale
Chasing shadows so far this half need to have a go at some point
ChicoM1875
F'in brilliant Iredale
I’d maybe get Youan on as well
Hibs corner
Honest :greengrin
Triantis needs hooked. Bring Levitt on.
Keeping him on is pointless. Especially when on a yellow and we need a goal.
4 fouls 3 cards.
Celtic 5 fouls no cards
Just incompetent though.
Aye incompetent right enough :faf: its no enough they have 12 times our finances they also need to force the refs to get right on their side.
Scottish fitba eh.
ChicoM1875
Corner. Mone Hibs
An absolute borefest
Iredale is absolutely fantastic. What great defending
ChicoM1875
09-03-2025, 03:17 PM
I’d maybe get Youan on as well
Definitely
Can't afford to waste corners like that.
ChicoM1875
09-03-2025, 03:17 PM
Two dives from Maeda. No booking
09-03-2025, 03:18 PM
Come on SDG. Youan and Levitt please.
09-03-2025, 03:19 PM
How's he getting a free kick for that?
just heard boyles name so he is definitely still on
maeda inches away from a 2nd
09-03-2025, 03:20 PM
Walsh just making them up now.
Up-the-slope
bit better - fans giving good support, just need the reinforcements on
A mix of Celtic being professional and too many of our players being off it today
Think this pat bonner chap may be the best commentator/pundit ever, he tells us and I quote
The more Hibs are pinned in, the more opportunities that will come for Celtic.
And he gets paid for this ffs.
Is there no Celtic players allowed to be booked.Two blatant dives by maeda
09-03-2025, 03:21 PM
Hibs stepped up the park a bit now, we had to change something as there's nothing to lose, but it's leaving us open at the back.
09-03-2025, 03:21 PM
Levitt and Gayle coming on
ChicoM1875
09-03-2025, 03:22 PM
Is there no Celtic players allowed to be booked.Two blatant dives by maeda
Really frustrating
two Hibs subs coming on
hopefully keep the other two on as well :greengrin
levitt for MW
and......
Standard refereeing performance in Glasgow where the home players fall over and get all the decisions
Think this is a shape changing situation for me.
Take off Miller/Cadden and get Elie on to get two wide men and start trying to bomb it into the channels for them.
09-03-2025, 03:23 PM
Bowie off, Gayle on
NMW off, Levitt on
Bowie off, Gayle on
NMW off, Levitt on
Agree with Bowie off but would’ve went for Youan
I would’ve had triantis off for levitt
OtleyHibs
Ball was on to Obita there, Trinatis didn't see it, Iredale tried and misplaced the pass
Gayle and Levitt on for Bowie and NMW
Really riding our luck here, this could be 3-4 nil already, Triantis and Campbell have been particularly poor today, front 2 are starved and zero pressure on Celtic's midfielders.
09-03-2025, 03:24 PM
Why is Triantis staying on?
just heard boyles name so he is definitely still on
Not one of his better days, but he's not alone.
gordie18
Commentator felt it relevant to mention Gayles age! Mmm
Can’t believe of our 3 midfielders it’s NMW he takes off 🤷
cameronw-hfc
Personally wanted triantis off for Levitt and Boyle for Elie. Weird subs but Gray has a knack for subs so hopefully works out
09-03-2025, 03:25 PM
Not one of his better days, but he's not alone.
no service unfortunately
think the last time he touched it was after 30 seconds and offside :greengrin
itslegaltender
Triantis has had a stinker
MacGruber
Get Youan on and go for it. Worst case scenario is half hour in the legs
Anyone know which Barber Levitt goes to?
Can’t believe of our 3 midfielders it’s NMW he takes off [emoji1745]Did wonder about that one. NMW having a good game. Putting a right shift in.
ChicoM1875
We need to go for this Hibs
09-03-2025, 03:26 PM
Some strike schlupp. Thought that was in
penalty check for Hibs..................
nope, play on
Up-the-slope
big difference from game couple of weeks ago is Mcgregor getting room - need to get higher / tighter
hibee316
09-03-2025, 03:27 PM
Can’t believe of our 3 midfielders it’s NMW he takes off 🤷
Because he was knackered...
More chance of the pope turning up at Ibrox than Hibs getting a penalty at parkhead
Anyone know which Barber Levitt goes to?
Same one as Iredale
WHY IS WALSH NOT PLAYING ADVANTAGE THERE!!!:grr:
Get youan on for Campbell
09-03-2025, 03:28 PM
So ******* frustrating and my biggest peeve with refs
09-03-2025, 03:28 PM
We needed 10 men to all win their battles and we have not got near that level bit of luck also needed.
09-03-2025, 03:29 PM
So ******* frustrating and my biggest peeve with refs
It's like he wanted Hibs to stop breaking away, incredible.
Same one as Iredale
And Miller at a guess, maybe they cut each other's hair. :dunno:
He is just doing what he has been told to do by brenda and his crowd.
All for a quite life.
09-03-2025, 03:30 PM
Gray said about leaving it all on the pitch
Need a big effort for the last 20mins if that’s to be the case!
09-03-2025, 03:30 PM
i'm getting a vision of Gayle scoring with a diving header
yes, in this game
How come they're immune to being carded?
09-03-2025, 03:31 PM
Get Youan on and go for it.
09-03-2025, 03:32 PM
yes, in this game
Can he make it two please.
hibee316
Jeez. The folk having a go at any Hibs player today.
You are aware that we are playing Celtic yea?
People saying Triantis has been poor are giving no credit to Celtics pressing.
TrinityHFC
Ref doesn’t even consider yellows for them.
We’re gonna nick a goal.
fs obita get training with those crosses man
yes, in this game
Not from a cross by Obita on current evidence
dmc1875
He has been v poor though. It happens to all players. He should be taken off
09-03-2025, 03:33 PM
How come they're immune to being carded?
Come on you really dont need to be told do you.
He doesn’t compare at all to Cadden
******* cheating ******* feigning injury as iredale steals the ball trying to get him sent off
Can he make it two please.
Triantis back-heel for the winner
Mcbizz1998
Get Campbell off ffs
The same team that ripped Celtic apart a few weeks back. Celtic are just going through the motions here.
We need to point out how almost every tackle is a booking for us but the same rules don't seem to be given in the other end. Release a statement 😁
Put pressure on the ref.
1875M
09-03-2025, 03:34 PM
There’s been multiple times where he’s given the ball away and there’s not been Celtic player near him.
Hibees1973
Need to throw the dice soon. Doesn't matter if it's one or four today.
Myko & Youan on.
Hoilett coming on
OtleyHibs
Sloppy on the break from Campbell
Need to better with the ball, can get back in this
1875M
Get Youan on and stretch this defence.
Are we going to see Youan at all?
badabing67
09-03-2025, 03:35 PM
Hoilett coming on
Will that be our last sub
All we need is one chance. Not over until it's over.
Are we going to see Youan at all?
Coming now
Up-the-slope
09-03-2025, 03:36 PM
Hoilett & Ellie coming on should make last 15 interesting
No people are saying Triantis has been poor because he has been incredibly poor. Given the ball away countless times and a clumsy yellow card. He is great on his day but he has these type of games in his locker.
yes youan as well now, for boyle and...............
Hoilett and Youan on
Boyle and Campbell off
Jock O
09-03-2025, 03:37 PM
Thirded, these match day threads are murder. We have done enough this half to get McGregor taken off.
Its never going to be perfect in these games, just ask Bayern Munich.
I really hope Triantis scores a screamer to equalise and then then final penalty to get us through.
Come on Hibs
hibee316
There’s been multiple times where he’s given the ball away and there’s not been Celtic player near him.
And I've just seen him play some lovely passes in the last wee while.
it's not over until the fat woman/man sings
Hibees1973
Poor defensively and can't put in decent crosses consistently.
Today was a day when he needed to step up with N Cadden going off.
Lets just go for it Hibs, get them crapping there pants, nothing to lose now everything to gain, **** them and their hordes as well.
09-03-2025, 03:38 PM
Give us something hibees
Up-the-slope
not if we get ET :greengrin
Stairway 2 7
Come on Hibs still a chance here
hibee316
09-03-2025, 03:39 PM
No people are saying Triantis has been poor because he has been incredibly poor. Given the ball away countless times and a clumsy yellow card. He is great on his day but he has these type of games in his locker.
It's honestly like folk don't have an understanding that their are 2 teams playing. And the other team are actually really good.
Just one chance, Mon hibs
1875M
As have I. That doesn’t change the fact he’s given the ball away lots today, some when he had zero pressure and 5 yards of space.
Jock O
Surely the quality of the opposition has to come into this. They are up against a team that started off at their peak according to everyone else. Sometimes you just need to accept that.
Off to buy tea, can't cope with a stressful final quarter on here.
We've played well. Celtic have barely created any chances.
09-03-2025, 03:40 PM
Mon Hibs we can do this
cameronw-hfc
Cool, doesn't mean he's immune to critique during this game. He's been a joke at times this season but today he has not been at the races in the slightest
Up-the-slope
Come on Ellie.... your on the Telly lets get a show reel
09-03-2025, 03:41 PM
it's not over until the fat woman/man sings
Is Brian mcglachlan there?
Really cannae compete with this sellik team, too good.
Blocks Biloxi
It's honestly like folk don't have an understanding that their are 2 teams playing. And the other team are actually really good.
I'm a fan of Triantis, but most of his mistakes today haven't been in tight spaces and as a result of the press. When the other team is really good, you really need to make those simple 5 or 10-yard passes.
hibee316
The same team that ripped Celtic apart a few weeks back. Celtic are just going through the motions here.
It's Celtic.
At Celtic Park.
Look at their record at home against EVERY team in Scotland.
Either every player who goes their suddenly becomes poor, or celtic might actually be a really good team.
Jock O
As have I. That doesn’t change the fact he’s given the ball away lots today, some when he had zero pressure and 5 yards of space.
There is never zero pressure when playing a team as fast as Celtic, no matter how easy it looks on TV.
Cool, doesn't mean he's immune to critique during this game. He's been a joke at times this season but today he has not been at the races in the slightest
Guy deserved a bit more support he has been great for us, most of the time.
Whatever happens, we’ve faced a Champions League team with fifteen men today and given them a good game. Hopefully we can sneak one.
09-03-2025, 03:42 PM
he's at home sitting in his heartz boxers
Really cannae compete with this sellik team, too good.
We just need a wee bit of magic...🤞
Jock O
A joke?? FFS Im off.
Stuck in the turnstiles
09-03-2025, 03:43 PM
A joke?? FFS Im off.
A joke in a good way😂
1875M
A joke?? FFS Im off.
Think the poster means ‘a joke’ as in very, very good. Not a joke as in bad.
cameronw-hfc
A joke?? FFS Im off.
I meant in a good way. Ie, he's been outstanding recently but not today
he's at home sitting in his heartz boxers
At home dressed up as Mrs Dr Anne Budge more like!
Got to give it to this Hibs team, they never give up. Credit to SDG.
Stuck in the turnstilesHeid stuck in a family size pack of Walkers finest and cannae work out how to escape.
Hibees1973
We are organised and have a bit of steel to still be in this which is good.
Would prefer to have seen Myko on. We have lost any physical presence with Bowie going off.
home fans will be biting their nails a tad
09-03-2025, 03:44 PM
yellow card sellick player
no i'm not jokin
Finally a celtic booking
One. More. Chance. We'll get it. Need to take it.
09-03-2025, 03:45 PM
what a bloody waste of a free kick
seriously
dmc1875
Triantis has been great this season. Today he’s been horrid.
Up-the-slope
Hibs fans sounding great... lets score
e2los
09-03-2025, 03:46 PM
Our fans are putting in a shift.
Sound great.
Hibees1973
Bet it's 3 or 4 additional time.
Would be 9 or 10 if Celtic were behind.
Atrocious delivery
Bet it's 3 or 4 additional time.
Would be 9 or 10 if Celtic were behind.
Correct
1875M
Terrible ball. Must be that Celtic press eh
Hopefully Sunderland are making a decision on Triantis based on today.
09-03-2025, 03:47 PM
Atrocious delivery
Straight from Evri
Another Rodgers saga to follow after Celtic player booked
cadden two struggling now holding his back
09-03-2025, 03:48 PM
15 minutes Injury time at least
09-03-2025, 03:49 PM
5 mins added
rather low amount
09-03-2025, 03:49 PM
Cadden obviously in pain.
09-03-2025, 03:50 PM
Passing has been absolutely horrendous all day
What a ***** game this has been.
So far..
game over 2-0
5? Wtf
Hibees1973
Lewis Miller, dearie me.
dmc1875
Obita has had a very poor cameo today
Oh well
09-03-2025, 03:51 PM
That's all Folks
Mcbizz1998
Obita been really poor. Praying that Nicky is ok.
1875M
Cheers Obita
hfcok
Obita WTF
Obita has been atrocious since he came on.
Oh well just not enough quality on the day. Annoying.
all from a poor attempt at a clearance by obita
Cheers Obita
He’s absolutely brutal :agree:
Not been disgraced out there but don’t feel like we’ve given everything
Too many players off it today.
Hopefully N Caddens okay as Obita’s not a patch on him
badabing67
09-03-2025, 03:52 PM
Lets get third and hope they win it.
Pretty much as expected. Time to focus on the (much more important) league again. No criticism from me.
Obita. Ffs.
Obita been really poor. Praying that Nicky is ok.
Sleeping again.
Poor defending, but we don't deserve to go through, it was a stuffy performance but didn't create anything really.
Complete lack of belief today for some reason. Not helped by Cadden going off but still not great at all
cameronw-hfc
Obita gonna get slated here but worth remembering he's been out the starting team for a while now and getting chucked in at parkhead isn't an easy task at all. Should do better today but won't change my opinion that he's a good player for us though.
skyehibee
Obita woeful
Complete lack of belief today for some reason. Not helped by Cadden going off but still not great at all
Sorry that's nonsense.
Mcbizz1998
Disappointing but it was never realistically happening today.
My best wishes to Celtic for the rest of the tournament.
09-03-2025, 03:53 PM
Not really had a go today. Don't think we've forced their goalie into a save second half.
hfcok
Some may say Obita was at fault for the first goal as well
No disgrace. Back to the league.
Ah well. Celtic fans were saying 5 or 6.
At least Hearts won't win the cup.
1875M
Let’s be honest, we’ve been out since the draw was made. Regroup, and let’s focus on finishing third. Hoping that Nicky Cadden is ok as his backup is miles behind in terms of quality. This Celtic team beat anyone in Scotland at Celtic Park.
ChicoM1875
End of an amazing run. Well done Hibs for getting this far.
jamie_1875
Basic errors cost us, you don't get away with it against Celtic.
What a ***** attempt at a clearance from Obita in the lead up to that 2nd.
TrinityHFC
Nonsense. They are just miles better than us.
09-03-2025, 03:54 PM
good save smith to stop a 3rd
Superb performance from the support though.
Oh well can concentrate on the league. Fingers crossed Nicky Cadden is ok
cameronw-hfc
Smith MOTM by a country mile
09-03-2025, 03:55 PM
Superb performance from the support though.
Still out singing the celtic fans.
Sellick v Aberdeen
Heartz v st johnstone
that's my predictions
Not been disgraced out there but don’t feel like we’ve given everything
Too many players off it today.
Hopefully N Caddens okay as Obita’s not a patch on him
Not sure we can mark them down for effort, just outclassed in most departments.
Just need to brush it off as a bad day at the office and get on with the rest of the season. Unlike previous cup exits, it's still all to play for in the league.
Its how we respond to this is the real test. Especially with Caddens injury.
Today was always gonna be tough.
I’d have rather we won the game no the singing competition tbh
Hibees1973
Obita has been atrocious since he came on.
There is a guy on here would disagree with you. Reckons Obita is urguably the best left sided defender/wing back in the league.
The drop off if N Cadden is out for a while, is lamentable and worrying.
1875M
Hope they go on to win it. Beat Hearts / Sheep on their way. 2 insufferable supports.
Mcbizz1998
09-03-2025, 03:56 PM
Sellick v Aberdeen
Heartz v st johnstone
that's my predictions
None of the teams left are stopping this Celtic team. We need to get 3rd.
We need better than Obita and Levitt and a few others to compete better in this 2 horse league.
Letting a second one in looks pische in the history books keeping them to 1 would have given them squeeky bum time last few mins. Ah well.
jakedance
Over it already. Hopefully doesn’t derail us in the league and Hearts get emptied in the semi.
Were not a bad team they were just good from start to finish, completely dominated.
e2los
Smith MOTM by a country mile
Yeah, could have been a heavy defeat.
NC1875
They’re bringing 10 million pound players off the bench.
The gulf in quality is massive.
We weren’t disgraced even though we had too many poor performances on the day.
Now concentrate on the league and finish 3rd and hope they smelly twats win the cup.
Mcbizz1998
Still out singing the celtic fans.
Who cares?
09-03-2025, 03:57 PM
Clear focus now
3rd and group stages
Great revenue opportunity
09-03-2025, 03:57 PM
Just my opinion and plenty won't agree with it but for me there were some Hibs players who seemed to accept we were going to get beat today. This was a much poorer performance than a couple of weeks ago. Hope Nicky Cadden is okay. I did think the midfield was pretty well non-existent.