03-12-2024, 03:32 PM
Tickets purchased for Hearts and Celtic

04-12-2024, 07:41 PM
Think its 12-00 on Thursday.

Ah ,the old “they’re on sale later on trick “whereas you’ve got yours at 10am 😂

05-12-2024, 08:18 AM
Will not be at this one as seeing family that day. Enjoy yourselves!

05-12-2024, 08:21 AM
Some trumpet has invited me to a meeting which is from 11-12. 😡

05-12-2024, 08:27 AM
So is it 10 or 12?

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 08:38 AM
So is it 10 or 12?

It's usually 10 I'm sure but would like t know for defo myself lol.

05-12-2024, 08:44 AM
It's usually 10 I'm sure but would like t know for defo myself lol.

doesn't seem to be a queue yet - so I'd assume 12. But who knows.

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 08:45 AM
Just checked official site and its saying 12,

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 08:46 AM
doesn't seem to be a queue yet - so I'd assume 12. But who knows.

Bit annoying if it's 12, changed things about to be ready for 10 am sales 😡, oh well 12 It is then.

Chorley Hibee
05-12-2024, 08:48 AM
Website is currently down for me.

Anyone else having the same issue?

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 09:01 AM
Must be 12, the option has just disappeared from the ticketing site.

05-12-2024, 09:04 AM
Website is currently down for me.

Anyone else having the same issue?

I had to do a Captcha to get in, but was able to do so. Working now.

Weststandwanab
05-12-2024, 09:06 AM
Must be 12, the option has just disappeared from the ticketing site.

On site now and not on sale.

Dublin07
05-12-2024, 09:06 AM
My only meeting of the day is at 12.05. Have 5 mins of chaos to get my tickets! Site is working for me so far so fingers crossed.

Fosforo
05-12-2024, 09:18 AM
I’m not seeing the game on the ticketing website at all, anyone else?

BS44
05-12-2024, 09:25 AM

Sold out, mate 😉

Fosforo
05-12-2024, 09:40 AM
Sold out, mate 😉

Nice try gadgie!

05-12-2024, 09:53 AM

They'll have taken it off after the Hibs First sales ended. It will be added back on at 10/12/2/next Wednesday at midnight.

05-12-2024, 10:02 AM
Queue has started.

for the Hibernian FC Online Ticket Office on sale. When the timer completes, everyone in the waiting room will be allocated a random place in the queue.

05-12-2024, 10:09 AM
Queue has started.

for the Hibernian FC Online Ticket Office on sale. When the timer completes, everyone in the waiting room will be allocated a random place in the queue.

Seems a good way to do it (until I'm allocated position 4563 then it will be rubbish).

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 10:11 AM
I'm already in, will I have to refresh or does the option just appear when sales start?

Edit : just refreshed, in que now, don't know if that was a good idea or not.

05-12-2024, 10:16 AM
I'm already in, will I have to refresh or does the option just appear when sales start?

Edit : just refreshed, in que now, don't know if that was a good idea or not.

You’ll get kicked out unfortunately
Sign our and try and get in the queue in 10/15 mins or so

davhibby
05-12-2024, 10:17 AM
Seems a good way to do it (until I'm allocated position 4563 then it will be rubbish).

It’s how ticketmaster seem to be working their queues now. In theory should mean that anyone on by 5 to 12 has the same chance

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 10:17 AM
You’ll get kicked out unfortunately
Sign our and try and get in the queue in 10/15 mins or so

Cheers for that bud, I've refreshed it there and I'm in the que 🫰🏻🫰🏻🫰🏻

05-12-2024, 10:25 AM
In the interests of transparency, and for fans waiting to try their luck, the club should inform as to how many tickets are available for sale. Not the full allocation, but the nett amount of tickets left after Away ST, staff and player comps, Block 7 etc.

If we knew how many are being made available to buy then the expectation levels can be adjusted accordingly.

05-12-2024, 10:56 AM
I think everyone has the expectation that it'll be a scramble anyway!

WeAreHibs
05-12-2024, 10:58 AM
The random queue is fair.

05-12-2024, 11:00 AM
In the interests of transparency, and for fans waiting to try their luck, the club should inform as to how many tickets are available for sale. Not the full allocation, but the nett amount of tickets left after Away ST, staff and player comps, Block 7 etc.

If we knew how many are being made available to buy then the expectation levels can be adjusted accordingly.

No tickets on sale for lower section H or M which will knock a good few hundred off the actual allocation. Imagine nearly every Hibs First member takes their ticket so that’s another 500 off, plus the usual comps and sponsors tickets I reckon you’ll be lucky if there are a couple of thousand on sale today.

05-12-2024, 11:00 AM
374 ahead of me. Half a chance here.

05-12-2024, 11:01 AM
873 ahead of me - going to be a struggle.

CL0762
05-12-2024, 11:01 AM

Maybe next time 😂

CL0762
05-12-2024, 11:04 AM

Exactly. Probably around 700-800 tickets taken out of supporters hands before they even go on sale.

05-12-2024, 11:05 AM
Little to no chance for me. But only wanting one ticket so no doubt a lunchtime spent refreshing 1000000 times

Paulie Walnuts
05-12-2024, 11:06 AM

I was surprised the other day to hear just how far down the chain Hibs staff get to buy tickets ahead of the public. A guy I know who works for Hibs has got two for his pals and if we’re being honest, he’s absolutely no reason to be getting tickets for the men’s first team ahead of actual fans when he’s nothing to do with it.

madhibby
05-12-2024, 11:07 AM
all went very smoothly for me - 4 tickets purchased and all together

05-12-2024, 11:11 AM
all gone by the time I got in at 4 minutes past. Shan.

Going to have to go to the in-laws on boxing day now. Thanks a lot hibs.

madhibby
05-12-2024, 11:13 AM
all gone by the time I got in at 4 minutes past. Shan.

Going to have to go to the in-laws on boxing day now. Thanks a lot hibs.

don't give up - lots usually appear later as areas are released/fans take too many et

AJHibby
05-12-2024, 11:14 AM
The site crashed for me as it was processing my payment. It's taken my cash but can't see confirmation anywhere. Anyone else get that?

05-12-2024, 11:14 AM
Exactly. Probably around 700-800 tickets taken out of supporters hands before they even go on sale.

Hibs First and Block 7 ARE supporters who go to every away game.

j'adorehibs
05-12-2024, 11:16 AM
had my 4 via mobile , was delighted then got asked to approve in my banking app and by time i did that my allocated time was up
f sake

05-12-2024, 11:20 AM
Hearts can take days to sell out ER while we sell out Tynecastle as soon as they go on sale.

Doesn’t really stack up numbers wise.

05-12-2024, 11:21 AM
I logged in for the 10am sale and forgot to do so again at noon. I'm almost relieved I never got a ticket as I have stopped enjoying the Derby experience at Tiny. The dreadful policing and stewarding and teh behaviour of our fans means it is almost a chore rather than something to look forward to. Might apply to photograph the game as that is a completely different experience and at least you can see the goals

yerauldda
05-12-2024, 11:21 AM
Hearts can take days to sell out ER while we sell out Tynecastle as soon as they go on sale.

They do a staggered, points based ticket release.

05-12-2024, 11:23 AM

That's because they have a proper loyalty points system and stagger the sale, we have a free for all for the scraps after Hibs First and pals of Hibs employees get theirs. They also get around 700 more tickets than we do.

Tully
05-12-2024, 11:29 AM
In and out in 5 minutes all tickets secured

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 11:35 AM
That's because they have a proper loyalty points system and stagger the sale, we have a free for all for the scraps after Hibs First and pals of Hibs employees get theirs. They also get around 700 more tickets than we do.

Like we should have, hibs first members then loyalty points amd if there's any left which I doubt their will be those who only care for goin away when it's the derby can scrap it out for the rest.

Se7enUp
05-12-2024, 11:46 AM

Our expectations might be slightly better alleviated if they didn't crop a couple of hundred tickets from our allocation from the corners. It's the other way round at Easter Rd, they get a full (and larger) stand,so why not the same for us at the PBS?

JJP
05-12-2024, 11:50 AM
They sold out yet?

05-12-2024, 11:50 AM
Our expectations might be slightly better alleviated if they didn't crop a couple of hundred tickets from our allocation from the corners. It's the other way round at Easter Rd, they get a full (and larger) stand,so why not the same for us at the PBS?

Good point. Always irked me they cut a corner off the East Stand allocation. Don't know if it's the same in the West as I'm sat in it.

Chorley Hibee
05-12-2024, 11:52 AM

I've said the same for years.

Billy McKirdy
05-12-2024, 12:03 PM
Just tried to buy, not getting the option to buy, sold out??

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 12:04 PM
Just tried to buy, not getting the option to buy, sold out??

I've been refreshing for about 45 mins and gettin no where,

05-12-2024, 12:07 PM
I thought that was a lot better. I was in and out in 5 mins. No lagging with the payment or getting kicked out or whatever.

Appreciate it's easy to say that when you are one of the lucky ones.

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 12:10 PM
I just got the sold out message there, gutted . But aslong as we win that's what's important, harp and Castle it is for me n the nephew.

05-12-2024, 12:10 PM

It would make zero difference in reality. It would still sell out on the day and there'd be thousands left disappointed.

All it would do it give folk a chance to moan about how many tickets are taken out of general sale.

05-12-2024, 12:13 PM
Sold out now, usual shambles. Had 3 in basket, kicked out and even when I managed to get a couple there was a message from Ticketmaster to say the transaction cannot go ahead despite the money being taken from my bank. Only got 2 of the 3 I wanted, absolutely hopeless system.

05-12-2024, 12:23 PM
Was in queue at half 11. Got allocated number 1750 😅 Got in the system at 12:10 with no tickets available. Refreshed to infinity but didn't get a sniff.
Is what it is

Hibeewilly
05-12-2024, 12:35 PM
You're spot on. I've already had texts from people who don't go to away games normally, saying they've got tickets. They stick to Cup finals, semis and Tynecastle. Our board for some reason don't see the benefit of a loyalty points system...

05-12-2024, 12:37 PM

For regular attenders like yourself, it’s ridiculous we don’t have a loyalty scheme in place

Franck Le God
05-12-2024, 12:40 PM
Allocating a random space in the queue is a much fairer way to do things, well done Hibs/Ticketmaster.

I wasn’t successful but at least I had the same chance as everyone else, can’t complain.

05-12-2024, 12:42 PM
For regular attenders like yourself, it’s ridiculous we don’t have a loyalty scheme in place

Genuinely cannot be that difficult might also tailor some of the behaviours at Tynecastle also

TashaaLidd
05-12-2024, 12:45 PM
The site crashed for me as it was processing my payment. It's taken my cash but can't see confirmation anywhere. Anyone else get that?

This happened to me but if you go to account history on eticketing, check transactions, mine were there and in the transaction you can resend the confirmation email as I never got one originally. Hope yours went through 🙂

05-12-2024, 12:51 PM
This happened to me but if you go to account history on eticketing, check transactions, mine were there and in the transaction you can resend the confirmation email as I never got one originally. Hope yours went through 🙂

Same with me, just click on resend email as you say

05-12-2024, 12:56 PM
Allocating a random space in the queue is a much fairer way to do things, well done Hibs/Ticketmaster.

I wasn’t successful but at least I had the same chance as everyone else, can’t complain.

Same here, just one of those things.

I don’t think there’s a perfect way to distribute the tickets. When we had loyalty points before people manipulated it and harvested points without going to games so while there were plenty of folk who didn’t, the system was open to abuse.

Hibs First, while adding another tier to what we historically a two tier system (season ticket holders first in years gone by) is fair enough and is a straight forward way for those that can and will pay for the guarantee of a ticket to do so.

No real difference to getting priority boarding etc on a flight, it’s open to everyone and that seems fair enough. At least it saves the folk having to look for loopholes or get folk to use their reference number for tickets to games they were never going to just to get a derby ticket later on.

This way means folk that maybe haven’t ever been able to get a ticket get a chance to go and experience it without having to justify why they weren’t at Dundee away after Storm Bert etc.

Billy McKirdy
05-12-2024, 12:58 PM
I've been refreshing for about 45 mins and gettin no where,

the pub it is then 🍺

Dublin07
05-12-2024, 01:01 PM
First time of being one of the lucky ones for me. In and out by 12.04 with 2 tickets seated together. Only ever had single tickets after 45 mins of stress in the past or missed out completely!

Dublin07
05-12-2024, 01:11 PM
First time of being one of the lucky ones for me. In and out by 12.04 with 2 tickets seated together. Only ever had single tickets after 45 mins of stress in the past or missed out completely!

05-12-2024, 01:24 PM
It certainly was random. I had one device that I was on at 11.40. That put me at 800 in the queue.

I grabbed another device and joined the waiting room at 11.59.35 and it put me to 145th in the queue.

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 01:32 PM

I don’t think there’s a perfect way to distribute the tickets. When we had loyalty points before people manipulated it and harvested points without going to games so while there were plenty of folk who didn’t, the system was open to abuse.

Hibs First, while adding another tier to what we historically a two tier system (season ticket holders first in years gone by) is fair enough and is a straight forward way for those that can and will pay for the guarantee of a ticket to do so.

No real difference to getting priority boarding etc on a flight, it’s open to everyone and that seems fair enough. At least it saves the folk having to look for loopholes or get folk to use their reference number for tickets to games they were never going to just to get a derby ticket later on.

This way means folk that maybe haven’t ever been able to get a ticket get a chance to go and experience it without having to justify why they weren’t at Dundee away after Storm Bert etc.

Don't agree with that, hibs first members get first refusal obviously, should then be loyalty points system, its not fair at all that those who go to the most away games should miss the biggest away game(s) of the season because someone that's not been to any should 'get lucky'.

I'm not claiming that lack of a loyalty points system is how I missed out, I'd like to think I'd have been in the mix but theryll b a good few more than me that will have missed out and woulda been guaranteed one for their loyalty in goin away every week or almost every week.

It could also potentially help boost our already very good crowd numbers away from home.

05-12-2024, 01:41 PM
Don't agree with that, hibs first members get first refusal obviously, should then be loyalty points system, its not fair at all that those who go to the most away games should miss the biggest away game(s) of the season because someone that's not been to any should 'get lucky'.

I'm not claiming that lack of a loyalty points system is how I missed out, I'd like to think I'd have been in the mix but theryll b a good few more than me that will have missed out and woulda been guaranteed one for their loyalty in goin away every week or almost every week.

It could also potentially help boost our already very good crowd numbers away from home.

For me, they should do away with Hibs First and just have a straightforward loyalty scheme. And I say that as a Hibs First member.

I think our away support is significant enough to merit it now, the only issue is the number of teams selling their own tickets I suppose. It would make it more difficult to administer fairly.

With the price of away tickets now, I don’t think too many people would be buying them just to harvest points without any intention of going to games.

05-12-2024, 01:50 PM
Hibs first isn’t needed for a few away games now as the opposition sell tickets direct

speedy_gonzales
05-12-2024, 02:16 PM
I was pleasantly surprised with how well it went this time but have failed in the past.
Logged in at 11:30 with my mobile, left it to go to sleep, came back at 11:59 then I was put in to the virtual queue, position 90. 30 seconds later it was position 47 then in. Straight to the upper of section M as I guessed this might be less sought after, two tickets, assigned them, when it came to payment I had to authorise through my banking app but I had 10 minutes to do this.
2 minutes later I had my confirmation email.

The only stressy part I had was the guy thumping on the toilet cubicle door I was in 🤣 I was visiting my dad at his nursing home and I foolishly went to the toilet at the start of the process and I wasn't moving in case I lost my data signal (it's sporadic elsewhere in the building).

05-12-2024, 02:26 PM

This way means folk that maybe haven’t ever been able to get a ticket get a chance to go and experience it without having to justify why they weren’t at Dundee away after Storm Bert etc.https://images.app.goo.gl/Gbnc1FpDk3XamTa3A

Agree Matty, there will always be critics of whatever system you use.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

05-12-2024, 02:28 PM

Nah, it’s not fair if the folk who always go are the only ones that get to go. Football is a hobby, a leisure pursuit and a choice. Folk go because they enjoy it and fair play to them.
I get to as many away games as I can and I would probably have a decent shout of a ticket through loyalty points if such a scheme existed at Hibs again (I did last time) but I have no qualms at taking a turn in missing out if it means folk get a chance to go that would otherwise never meet the threshold for these games.

You’ll have folk who have had tickets for Tiny for decades, whereas some folk will never have been able to get one. I don’t think someone going to do something that they love doing another time should necessarily impact that.

I love going to the games, even when it’s **** it’s without a doubt my favourite thing to do with my time. If my circumstances were different I would be there with the guys who turn up for the pre-season friendlies against Timbuctoo Select, 100% - but I certainly wouldn’t think that entitled me to be guaranteed a ticket at someone else’s expense.

Hibs First is fair enough, I would hazard a guess that the majority of folk who go home and away every week are Hibs First members and so would be the same folk with the loyalty points to guarantee a ticket anyway.

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 02:33 PM
the pub it is then 🍺

Aye will be man, harp n Castle I think.

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 02:46 PM
Nah, it’s not fair if the folk who always go are the only ones that get to go. Football is a hobby, a leisure pursuit and a choice. Folk go because they enjoy it and fair play to them.
I get to as many away games as I can and I would probably have a decent shout of a ticket through loyalty points if such a scheme existed at Hibs again (I did last time) but I have no qualms at taking a turn in missing out if it means folk get a chance to go that would otherwise never meet the threshold for these games.

You’ll have folk who have had tickets for Tiny for decades, whereas some folk will never have been able to get one. I don’t think someone going to do something that they love doing another time should necessarily impact that.

I love going to the games, even when it’s **** it’s without a doubt my favourite thing to do with my time. If my circumstances were different I would be there with the guys who turn up for the pre-season friendlies against Timbuctoo Select, 100% - but I certainly wouldn’t think that entitled me to be guaranteed a ticket at someone else’s expense.

Hibs First is fair enough, I would hazard a guess that the majority of folk who go home and away every week are Hibs First members and so would be the same folk with the loyalty points to guarantee a ticket anyway.

That's fair enough, I agree wi a lot of what your sayin, but there will be folk who have landed lucky the day that go to zero away games, and aren't interested in going to any away games but that one. Then we have 1000/1500 harcore that go away maybe not every week but more often than not that miss the biggest one.

Maybe the club could do something where they run a ballot, for away derby's and those that get lucky sit out the next one and so on, then we'd at least all get one each evey couple of seasons or whatever. That can't be that hard to do.

On the flip side of what your sayin there's folk that go away every week or so that are never getting lucky when it comes to derby tickets which is the bigger issue with this I think.

05-12-2024, 02:49 PM
That's fair enough, I agree wi a lot of what your sayin, but there will be folk who have landed lucky the day that go to zero away games, and aren't interested in going to any away games but that one. Then we have 1000/1500 harcore that go away maybe not every week but more often than not that miss the biggest one.

Maybe the club could do something where they run a ballot, for away derby's and those that get lucky sit out the next one and so on, then we'd at least all get one each evey couple of seasons or whatever. That can't be that hard to do.

On the flip side of what your sayin there's folk that go away every week or so that are never getting lucky when it comes to derby tickets which is the bigger issue with this I think.

I think it’s basically ok where it is - the loyalty points scheme had complaints about where the bar was set, there will always be someone who misses out and has a justifiable grievance about it for whatever reason.

I missed out this time, I’ll try and find a way to go like I did last time and I dare say that the folk who really, really want to go will find a way to do it.

In my experience, it’s very rare that someone who desperately wants to go and is a regular at games, can’t get a ticket by hook or by crook come the day.

05-12-2024, 03:10 PM
Managed to get 3 , Anyone ken when they are getting sent out ? I took the option of post rather than collection

05-12-2024, 03:28 PM
Managed to get 3 , Anyone ken when they are getting sent out ? I took the option of post rather than collection

They aren’t available to pick up until Tuesday, so probably posted out around then

05-12-2024, 03:35 PM
They aren’t available to pick up until Tuesday, so probably posted out around then

Cheers Billy :aok:

05-12-2024, 04:29 PM
I've always appreciated the luck of getting a ticket or not (beyond the usual season tickets getting first dibs), and giving people a random place in the line is fairer than making people log on at stupid o'clock.

To me people shouldn't be blocked out of going to games because someone else has went to more than me in the last 5 years. There can be a million reasons why someone doesn't get to as many away games as someone else (health, finances, logistical issues) it doesn't help anyone if away games became an entirely closed shop.

I get it can be frustrating if you've went to Dingwall away on a miserable Wednesday with only a couple hundred people around you to see us get beat, but all of a sudden you can't get a ticket for Tynecastle because thousands want them, but I'm afraid that's just the way it is. You're not owed a ticket, you go to Dingwall because you want to.

05-12-2024, 04:34 PM
I've always appreciated the luck of getting a ticket or not (beyond the usual season tickets getting first dibs), and giving people a random place in the line is fairer than making people log on at stupid o'clock.

To me people shouldn't be blocked out of going to games because someone else has went to more than me in the last 5 years. There can be a million reasons why someone doesn't get to as many away games as someone else (health, finances, logistical issues) it doesn't help anyone if away games became an entirely closed shop.

I get it can be frustrating if you've went to Dingwall away on a miserable Wednesday with only a couple hundred people around you to see us get beat, but all of a sudden you can't get a ticket for Tynecastle because thousands want them, but I'm afraid that's just the way it is. You're not owed a ticket, you go to Dingwall because you want to.

Green-Hibee-7
05-12-2024, 05:13 PM
I am on the Hibs First scheme, but it needs to be dropped for loyalty points.

There are people on that scheme (admittedly probably not huge numbers) that clearly only use it to get tickets for the bigger games. For the games when you do not buy direct from the opposition, no one is monitoring to see if Hibs First members are actually buying tickets or not. For instance there is c500 on the scheme. We took less than that to Dingwall.

It is completely wrong to treat fans like concert goers. Putting thousands of people together for a free for all is not right. Attendance / purchasing of tickets for away games is a personal choice, but it is also supporting the club. People that do that more often, should be rewarded.

05-12-2024, 05:15 PM

There are people on that scheme (admittedly probably not huge numbers) that clearly only use it to get tickets for the bigger games. For the games when you do not buy direct from the opposition, no one is monitoring to see if Hibs First members are actually buying tickets or not. For instance there is c500 on the scheme. We took less than that to Dingwall.

It is completely wrong to treat fans like concert goers. Putting thousands of people together for a free for all is not right. Attendance / purchasing of tickets for away games is a personal choice, but it is also supporting the club. People that do that more often, should be rewarded.

Agreed. Should be rewarded for loyalty, most clubs do it

05-12-2024, 05:15 PM
Sold out now, usual shambles. Had 3 in basket, kicked out and even when I managed to get a couple there was a message from Ticketmaster to say the transaction cannot go ahead despite the money being taken from my bank. Only got 2 of the 3 I wanted, absolutely hopeless system.

Worked fine for the rest, user error perhaps? Easy to blame when you don’t get the outcome you want.

05-12-2024, 05:20 PM
Worked fine for the rest, user error perhaps? Easy to blame when you don’t get the outcome you want.

Well having 3 tickets in my basket then getting kicked out with no reason given and having to start again obviously isn't a "user error".

OstKurve Hibs
05-12-2024, 05:47 PM

Bang on the money there.

05-12-2024, 06:37 PM
It would be a better experience if when it gets to season ticket level Hibs were to allow season ticket holders to register an interest in a ticket and then randomly assign tickets to those that registered. Give them a window to go and pay for the ticket online. After that, or if they decline the ballot selection those tickets are either randomly selected again to those unsuccessful in the ballot or to general sale. Do away with the unnecessary time and hassle of queuing during the working day.

05-12-2024, 07:07 PM
I got lucky. Wasn’t even sure what I was doing but got 3 tickets nae bother in only a few minutes. Bring it on.:greengrin

05-12-2024, 07:47 PM
You can look at flaws/loopholes etc to try and justify reasons not to adopt a loyalty point system, but there’s a reason why bigger clubs adopt such policies, and that’s to ensure the most regular travelling supporters are given a better chance of securing tickets for the highest demand, most attractive fixtures.

It’s not really complicated.

We have a good sized regular travelling support. We can accommodate those fans in the majority of away stadiums. The number of regular away travellers is less than the capacity of Tynecastle.

Whatever the “flaws” of the previous loyalty scheme, they were certainly nowhere near as flawed as the current pot-luck system.

05-12-2024, 08:36 PM

So if you go to every game, you should be in with others who fancy a derby? Doesn't sound fair

05-12-2024, 08:37 PM
You can look at flaws/loopholes etc to try and justify reasons not to adopt a loyalty point system, but there’s a reason why bigger clubs adopt such policies, and that’s to ensure the most regular travelling supporters are given a better chance of securing tickets for the highest demand, most attractive fixtures.

We have a good sized regular travelling support. We can accommodate those fans in the majority of away stadiums. The number of regular away travellers is less than the capacity of Tynecastle.

Whatever the “flaws” of the previous loyalty scheme, they were certainly nowhere near as flawed as the current pot-luck system.

Spot on D

05-12-2024, 08:41 PM
So if you go to every game, you should be in with others who fancy a derby? Doesn't sound fair

But why not though? Those who do are choosing to go to every game. No one is forcing anyone to go to games.

I absolutely admire the loyalty of the core of about 500+ or so away fans that do that. Doesn't mean they care about the club any more than most though just means they can afford to and are free to go to games.

If someone works in retail for example it can be brutal to try and get weekends off for football. If they happen to be off for an away game at Tynie should it be harder for them to get a ticket?

Don't think folk will ever agree on this though, no easy solution.

05-12-2024, 08:48 PM

I think you’re right in that folk will find flaws in all schemes, especially at the moment they realise that particular scheme might leave them without a ticket.

Where I’ll disagree is on the idea that some supporters are less equal than others. I absolutely take my hat off to the guys that are home and away no matter where and when, given the chance that would be me as well.

They want to do it though, it’s not like someone’s got a gun to their head and told them they have to go or else. They go because they choose to, and I can see why they would choose to - good laugh on the bus or the car to the game, a chance to watch Hibs and hopefully enjoy a win. Football is a good day out but it shouldn’t be only for the few who find themselves able to go no matter what.

Fans should have a chance of a ticket for games like the Derby at Tiny without having to justify their supporter credentials first. They’re no less loyal than the folk who can go all the time, just loyal in a different way.

I know folk who live abroad, die hard Hibs fans who can’t possibly go to every game, they’re barely at Easter Rd because of the logistics of it. What we’re saying is these guys don’t deserve a shot at a Tiny derby?

I hate that. A Hibs fan is a Hibs fan and folk should have the chance of a ticket. Hibs First overcomes some of those barriers, and obviously there’s logistical issues in trying to please as many folk as possible which is why I think putting season ticket holders together is fair, and general sale if there are any left.

Like I said on another post, when we had the loyalty scheme before I was never in a position where I couldn’t get a ticket and so this isn’t about me complaining about a scheme that didn’t benefit me - it absolutely did and I’m worse off with this arrangement, but I think it’s fair.

05-12-2024, 08:50 PM
But why not though? Those who do are choosing to go to every game. No one is forcing anyone to go to games.

I absolutely admire the loyalty of the core of about 500+ or so away fans that do that. Doesn't mean they care about the club any more than most though just means they can afford to and are free to go to games.

If someone works in retail for example it can be brutal to try and get weekends off for football. If they happen to be off for an away game at Tynie should it be harder for them to get a ticket?

I don’t think there’s a perfect solution to it, someone’s going to be annoyed at some point!

05-12-2024, 08:54 PM

I can’t really understand an argument against people who go most often having priority over those who don’t.

That might be easy for me to say as someone who goes every week but I had the shoe on the other foot in the summer. I fancied going to Germany and obviously wanted to go to the games but it was absolutely right that I didn’t have the same priority as people who had been at all the games in previous qualification campaigns or whatever.

No system is perfect but plenty other teams manage to run a pretty straightforward loyalty scheme with an acceptance that those who attend most benefit from it.

05-12-2024, 09:06 PM
I can’t really understand an argument against people who go most often having priority over those who don’t.

That might be easy for me to say as someone who goes every week but I had the shoe on the other foot in the summer. I fancied going to Germany and obviously wanted to go to the games but it was absolutely right that I didn’t have the same priority as people who had been at all the games in previous qualification campaigns or whatever.

No system is perfect but plenty other teams manage to run a pretty straightforward loyalty scheme with an acceptance that those who attend most benefit from it.

Because going to games of football is a choice and that decision will be made on how possible it is for the individual at the time. Folk that go week in week out are choosing to because they're able to. They'll also love doing it and get enjoyment out of it at the time, maybe not right now mind you, but it'll still be one of their favourite things to do.

It might also be someone else's favourite thing to do, but for whatever reason they can't go every week. Work, family anything really. Should they have to miss out on away derby games through no real fault of their own?

Like I said I don't think there will ever be a solution that everyone agrees on.

05-12-2024, 09:08 PM
I think you’re right in that folk will find flaws in all schemes, especially at the moment they realise that particular scheme might leave them without a ticket.

Where I’ll disagree is on the idea that some supporters are less equal than others. I absolutely take my hat off to the guys that are home and away no matter where and when, given the chance that would be me as well.

They want to do it though, it’s not like someone’s got a gun to their head and told them they have to go or else. They go because they choose to, and I can see why they would choose to - good laugh on the bus or the car to the game, a chance to watch Hibs and hopefully enjoy a win. Football is a good day out but it shouldn’t be only for the few who find themselves able to go no matter what.

Fans should have a chance of a ticket for games like the Derby at Tiny without having to justify their supporter credentials first. They’re no less loyal than the folk who can go all the time, just loyal in a different way.

I know folk who live abroad, die hard Hibs fans who can’t possibly go to every game, they’re barely at Easter Rd because of the logistics of it. What we’re saying is these guys don’t deserve a shot at a Tiny derby?

I hate that. A Hibs fan is a Hibs fan and folk should have the chance of a ticket. Hibs First overcomes some of those barriers, and obviously there’s logistical issues in trying to please as many folk as possible which is why I think putting season ticket holders together is fair, and general sale if there are any left.

Like I said on another post, when we had the loyalty scheme before I was never in a position where I couldn’t get a ticket and so this isn’t about me complaining about a scheme that didn’t benefit me - it absolutely did and I’m worse off with this arrangement, but I think it’s fair.

Don't think you know what die hard means:greengrin

05-12-2024, 09:08 PM

One of the issues I have with it is it creates a situation where some fans get to always go to Tiny and some fans never get to. And the folk who always go get to say they should get to go to the next one because they’ve not missed one in however many years and on the face of it, folk think that’s fair because look, it’s the Derby at Tiny, they never miss it, they HAVE to go!

But it’s inherently unfair because it creates more of a two tier situation amongst fans (already exists between season ticket holders and non-season ticket holders, but I’m not sure how you get around that!).

05-12-2024, 09:09 PM
Don't think you know what die hard means:greengrin

I’ve seen the movie. :agree:

Good luck convincing some of the Aus/NZ guys that they’re not die-hards!

05-12-2024, 09:10 PM
Because going to games of football is a choice and that decision will be made on how possible it is for the individual at the time. Folk that go week in week out are choosing to because they're able to. They'll also love doing it and get enjoyment out of it at the time, maybe not right now mind you, but it'll still be one of their favourite things to do.

It might also be someone else's favourite thing to do, but for whatever reason they can't go every week. Work, family anything really. Should they have to miss out on away derby games through no real fault of their own?

Like I said I don't think there will ever be a solution that everyone agrees on.

05-12-2024, 09:13 PM
I’ve seen the movie. :agree:

Good luck convincing some of the Aus/NZ guys that they’re not die-hards!

Don't have to convince anyone, if they are over the other side of the World, and can't get to games, that is not die hard......

05-12-2024, 09:15 PM
Don't have to convince anyone, if they are over the other side of the World, and can't get to games, that is not die hard......

By your definition. Others will have a different definition. They’re up in the middle of the night to watch Hibs TV, they’re not missing games, they’re just not there in person. It’s all good. :aok:

05-12-2024, 09:18 PM

I don’t think people who don’t go every week should have the same opportunity of a ticket as those who do. As I say I’ve had the shoe on the other foot and had absolutely no issue with it. To me, it’s just common sense, but that’s just me I suppose.

05-12-2024, 09:22 PM
I don’t think people who don’t go every week should have the same opportunity of a ticket as those who do. As I say I’ve had the shoe on the other foot and had absolutely no issue with it. To me, it’s just common sense, but that’s just me I suppose.

All about opinions chief, it’s a good discussion and I don’t think there’s a right or wrong with it - I don’t begrudge anyone a ticket, especially not the guys who are always there. It would be great if everyone could go, my point isn’t about denying anyone tickets. It’s giving more people a chance to get one.

05-12-2024, 10:00 PM
I get to a decent amount of away games but don’t manage every single one. If the guys that went to every single game were ahead of me in the queue for high demand games I’d make no complaints. That is their reward for doing the hard yards. Let’s face it, with 2 away wins this calendar year, it’s been a slog.

Let’s not mess, while there’s plenty that would go every week if they could but can’t due to various circumstances, there are still plenty that decide that they only want to do tynie and simply aren’t bothered about others.

06-12-2024, 05:28 AM

To shouldn't be blocked out of going to games because someone else has went to more than me in the last 5 years. There can be a million reasons why someone doesn't get to as many away games as someone else (health, finances, logistical issues) it doesn't help anyone if away games became an entirely closed shop.

Someone who goes to every away game including Dingwall midweek should absolutely have more chance of a tynie ticket over someone who just happens to fancy it as a one-off away trip.

OstKurve Hibs
06-12-2024, 05:54 AM
This lack of loyalty points scheme suits one group and its those that only want to go away when it's a derby.
Not bothered about hearing the reasons for those that don't, its not my problem if you work in retail or whatever.
Those who go to the most games should get first refusal as a reward for their loyalty.
They're the ones pumping the most money in, not only to hibs but also helping other clubs in the league by doin so.

06-12-2024, 06:05 AM
This lack of loyalty points scheme suits one group and its those that only want to go away when it's a derby.
Not bothered about hearing the reasons for those that don't, its not my problem if you work in retail or whatever.
Those who go to the most games should get first refusal as a reward for their loyalty.
They're the ones pumping the most money in, not only to hibs but also helping other clubs in the league by doin so.

Home and away games should be included to get loyalty points.

The problem is away teams and how they distribute tickets. It’s inconsistent which means some away games would get loyalty points while others wouldn’t.

We also had previous issues if games at Hampden not getting loyalty points for Hibs fans like semi finals then come final it was still a bit of a scramble for tickets.

A simple clear system should be set up but like I said until away teams or Hibs are consistent with how they are allocated then the system isn’t completely fair.

06-12-2024, 06:10 AM
Someone who goes to every away game including Dingwall midweek should absolutely have more chance of a tynie ticket over someone who just happens to fancy it as a one-off away trip.

Absolutely makes no sense otherwise. There is clearly room for a system which supports the die hards the others that go not as regular to away games while still leaving some chance for very occasional away fans. Given some of the recent behaviours st Tynecastle it would make complete sense to squeeze the section who only want to go to Tynecastle to misbehave and discredit the club. Bizarre argument to say people living abroad should have the same opportunity as people going every week.Easier to control behaviour as well if the most regular fans get the bulk of tickets for this game. Went home and away when much younger and i would be gutted if i didn’t get a ticket to this game while completely irregular fan gets one.

06-12-2024, 06:13 AM
Home and away games should be included to get loyalty points.

The problem is away teams and how they distribute tickets. It’s inconsistent which means some away games would get loyalty points while others wouldn’t.

We also had previous issues if games at Hampden not getting loyalty points for Hibs fans like semi finals then come final it was still a bit of a scramble for tickets.

A simple clear system should be set up but like I said until away teams or Hibs are consistent with how they are allocated then the system isn’t completely fair.

Yes my son was saying yesterday difficult to manage that as he listed 6 or 7 clubs in the league where you buy direct from them. Shouldn’t be outwith the intelligence to manage that however certainly makes it more difficult.

06-12-2024, 06:15 AM

If people got points for the number of away games they went to while appreciating they couldn’t go to all because of work for example they should still have more chance than someone who only goes to derbies

06-12-2024, 06:27 AM

I honestly disagree, for the most part, as Matty said you'll never find a system that suits everyone. But if I take my wee one to every home game and only 5 away games say in a season, should I be out of the running for a ticket to Tynecastle because I only went to 5 versus someone who went to 15? Do I need to have went to enough 7:45pm games or do they count the same as 3pms?

Where is the cut off? Are me and my child just now never allowed to go see us play at Tynecastle until I can afford both financially and in time to go to 38+ games a season for two years straight to hit the magical threshold?

06-12-2024, 06:29 AM
I honestly disagree, for the most part, as Matty said you'll never find a system that suits everyone. But if I take my wee one to every home game and only 5 away games say in a season, should I be out of the running for a ticket to Tynecastle because I only went to 5 versus someone who went to 15? Do I need to have went to enough 7:45pm games or do they count the same as 3pms?

Where is the cut off? Are me and my child just now never allowed to go see us play at Tynecastle until I can afford both financially and in time to go to 38+ games a season for two years straight to hit the magical threshold?

Surely if he goes to some away games he would if a loyalty system reflected that have a chance when 3500 or so tickets are divvied out.

06-12-2024, 06:30 AM

Totally agree

06-12-2024, 06:35 AM
Surely if he goes to some away games he would if a loyalty system reflected that have a chance when 3500 or so tickets are divvied out.

Aye but how many games do I need to have gone to for me to be eligible in a loyalty points scenario? How long before someone with more points than me gets annoyed that I'm in their category?

OstKurve Hibs
06-12-2024, 06:46 AM
If people got points for the number of away games they went to while appreciating they couldn’t go to all because of work for example they should still have more chance than someone who only goes to derbies

Agree mate, the system needs changed. I don't go to every away game, I prob make it to around half the away games. Would have no complaints in being down the peckin order to those that go more than myself,but on the flip side I'm not happy being lumped in wi the same chance of a ticket as those who never leave Edinburgh for a game.
There's those that could go but would rather watch at home on the firestick. That's up to them, but they shouldn't get the same chance at landing a derby ticket as folk that make the effort amd spend their hard earned cash following the team all over Scotland.

OstKurve Hibs
06-12-2024, 07:06 AM

No ones saying you need to be an uber fan mate, if you go to 5 away games a season or so then you'd probably be sound for a derby away ticket. Your making the effort, there's those that could go away more but don't, and that's totally up to them, that's their choice, but those that dont go away (except swiney) don't deserve the same chance at the gold dust tickets as those who do go.
I'd love a ticket for every away derby, most of us would. If there's no loyalty points system there should at least be a ballot system where we all get an away derby once every 2 seasons or so like I mentioned before.
It's now two and half years since I "got lucky" and got a derby away ticket.

06-12-2024, 07:07 AM
One of those arguments where I can see both sides.

I used to go away every week, that was the case for several seasons including throughout both stints in the lower leagues, but life changed and it's just not a possibility anymore. My kids came along, my wife works one day of the weekend and if we want to spend time together then I simply can't be off grid every weekend for 10 months of the year. We agreed I would keep my ST and would pick and choose away games. I tend to do St Johnstone and Motherwell with my daughter, Dundee/Dundee Utd and Killie with mates, Aberdeen once every other season and then I try for Tynecastle tickets. As and when circumstances change then I'll be back to being an away every week guy again.

Do I think I should be totally locked out of Tynecastle tickets because I have other responsibilities? No. Do I think it's a wee bit harsh that I am going on Boxing Day and someone who goes to more away games than me might not be? Yes.

Every system is open to abuse though. I know guys who are Hibs First members who only go to Ibrox and Tynecastle. They go to less games than me but will never go without a ticket for the biggest away games because they got into what is now a closed shop and for the sake of £50 a season won't relinquish that. I know guys who harvest points in the loyalty system Scotland have in place. Buy tickets for away games with no intention of using them so they stay ahead of the game when a trip to Wembley or a major tournament comes up. Of course the majority in both schemes will be in it for the right reasons but behaviour like that is no more fair than a scramble among ST holders. With so many clubs selling away tickets direct now a loyalty scheme would be a bit of a nightmare for Hibs to administer now and it would be awful if the staff in the ticket office had to deal with some of the same ridiculous behaviour they did the last time it was in place. Hearts system is often held up as something to aspire to but a cursory glance at Kickback, if you are so inclined, sees there is plenty moaning among their support about it.

There's no perfect system. Hibs First seems a decent compromise to me. For all I said I know a few people who abuse it, I think the majority will have joined for the right reasons and it will be the most regular away travellers within that group. I'd be surprised if there are more than a handful who would be close to the top of a loyalty points tree who won't be at Tynecastle on Boxing Day unless that is through choice.

06-12-2024, 07:08 AM
Agreed. Should be rewarded for loyalty, most clubs do it

loyalty is a difficult thing to quantify. I’ve supported the club for just shy of 50 years.. I have read almost every book ever written about Hibs, bore my English friends about the club and get up to see the team when I can. But I live an 8 hour drive away and have work and family commitments which mean im rarely able to actually get to games. I’ve been to away matches at Tynie half a dozen times in my life,but they were special days which I remember vividly. Every Hibs fan should get the chance to see Hibs at Tynecastle.. not just a hard core who are lucky enough ( and committed enough) to have the time and cash to go to most away games.

06-12-2024, 07:22 AM
How come a loyalty system works perfectly well across the city but not for us? Do their fans who don't go to other away games not kick up a fuss when they can't get to ER?

06-12-2024, 07:30 AM

I used to go away every week, that was the case for several seasons including throughout both stints in the lower leagues, but life changed and it's just not a possibility anymore. My kids came along, my wife works one day of the weekend and if we want to spend time together then I simply can't be off grid every weekend for 10 months of the year. We agreed I would keep my ST and would pick and choose away games. I tend to do St Johnstone and Motherwell with my daughter, Dundee/Dundee Utd and Killie with mates, Aberdeen once every other season and then I try for Tynecastle tickets. As and when circumstances change then I'll be back to being an away every week guy again.

Do I think I should be totally locked out of Tynecastle tickets because I have other responsibilities? No. Do I think it's a wee bit harsh that I am going on Boxing Day and someone who goes to more away games than me might not be? Yes.

Every system is open to abuse though. I know guys who are Hibs First members who only go to Ibrox and Tynecastle. They go to less games than me but will never go without a ticket for the biggest away games because they got into what is now a closed shop and for the sake of £50 a season won't relinquish that. I know guys who harvest points in the loyalty system Scotland have in place. Buy tickets for away games with no intention of using them so they stay ahead of the game when a trip to Wembley or a major tournament comes up. Of course the majority in both schemes will be in it for the right reasons but behaviour like that is no more fair than a scramble among ST holders. With so many clubs selling away tickets direct now a loyalty scheme would be a bit of a nightmare for Hibs to administer now and it would be awful if the staff in the ticket office had to deal with some of the same ridiculous behaviour they did the last time it was in place. Hearts system is often held up as something to aspire to but a cursory glance at Kickback, if you are so inclined, sees there is plenty moaning among their support about it.

There's no perfect system. Hibs First seems a decent compromise to me. For all I said I know a few people who abuse it, I think the majority will have joined for the right reasons and it will be the most regular away travellers within that group. I'd be surprised if there are more than a handful who would be close to the top of a loyalty points tree who won't be at Tynecastle on Boxing Day unless that is through choice.

I think this sums it up perfectly for me :agree:

06-12-2024, 07:30 AM

It really is that straightforward.

06-12-2024, 07:40 AM
loyalty is a difficult thing to quantify. I’ve supported the club for just shy of 50 years.. I have read almost every book ever written about Hibs, bore my English friends about the club and get up to see the team when I can. But I live an 8 hour drive away and have work and family commitments which mean im rarely able to actually get to games. I’ve been to away matches at Tynie half a dozen times in my life,but they were special days which I remember vividly. Every Hibs fan should get the chance to see Hibs at Tynecastle.. not just a hard core who are lucky enough ( and committed enough) to have the time and cash to go to most away games.

So let's go over that.

You should get the same chance of a tynie ticket as someone who goes to every away game because you rarely go to games but read a lot of Hibs books?

I'm sorry but that's a load of nonsense.

06-12-2024, 07:47 AM

The folk who are home and away every game will -I reckon - all be Hibs First members and will all have tickets for Tiny as it is, which is great.

I reiterate that the point I’m making isn’t ever to deprive these folk of tickets, it’s just about giving others a chance of the biggest away day we have in the league. It shouldn’t be a closed shop.

06-12-2024, 07:49 AM
How come a loyalty system works perfectly well across the city but not for us? Do their fans who don't go to other away games not kick up a fuss when they can't get to ER?

I know plenty of them that moan about it. Guy at my work had to jump through all sorts of hoops to get tickets for their away European trip, going through folk who had enough points to get them to get tickets for folk that didn’t and so on. Made a mockery of the whole thing.

06-12-2024, 07:50 AM

Spot on. It’s not right that someone can go every time at the expense of someone that can never go.

OstKurve Hibs
06-12-2024, 08:11 AM
The systems rubbish and people using their personal circumstances to try and justify it doesn't make it any better.

06-12-2024, 08:14 AM
If you’re not able to get to many games, why does it always have to be the showpiece games that you’re suddenly able to go to?

We’re away every other week so plenty to choose from, and if you don’t get along very often and then you’d imagine you’d be delighted to be able to watch Hibs anywhere? Fir Park, Dens, Rugby Park, Perth or even Easter Road.

Could you imagine Rangers or Celtic deciding for the next Old Firm game that away tickets are just to be a free for all because big Brendan from Castlemilk or wee Billy from Shotts are big Rangers and Celtic men but don’t go very often so it’s only fair they get a chance to go to the big one?

We must be one of the biggest clubs to not operate a system to identify the most regular supporters and enable away ticketing in the fairest of manners.

OstKurve Hibs
06-12-2024, 08:15 AM
The systems rubbish and people using their personal circumstances to try and justify it doesn't make it any better.

Scrap hibs first, bring back loyalty points and set aside 250 tickets for a ballot for those that don't qualify through loyalty points.
That way the hardcore gets a ticket amd the swiney trippers still have their chance to "get lucky".

06-12-2024, 08:20 AM
If you’re not able to get to many games, why does it always have to be the showpiece games that you’re suddenly able to go to?

We’re away every other week so plenty to choose from, and if you don’t get along very often and then you’d imagine you’d be delighted to be able to watch Hibs anywhere? Fir Park, Dens, Rugby Park, Perth or even Easter Road.

Could you imagine Rangers or Celtic deciding for the next Old Firm game that away tickets are just to be a free for all because big Brendan from Castlemilk or wee Billy from Shotts are big Rangers and Celtic men but don’t go very often so it’s only fair they get a chance to go to the big one?

We must be one of the biggest clubs to not operate a system to identify the most regular supporters and enable away ticketing in the fairest of manners.

Why shouldn’t it be the showcase game folk want to go to?

You don’t turn folk away from the big blockbuster at the cinema because they’ve not been on a Tuesday night to see some art house movie that two men and a dug go to.

Folk would make an extra effort to get to the showcase games, cup semis and finals being out Hibs fans that haven’t been to games in years.

Why should someone else who is, at the end of the day, doing what they CHOOSE to do, get to pick and choose who’s worthy to go to an away game?

Fairness is subjective - what you’re describing is fair to a point but flawed - as will any system be where demand far exceeds supply.

06-12-2024, 08:30 AM

Every system will be rubbish except the one that benefits yourself.
I missed out yesterday for the first time in a while, it is what it is. I wasn’t complaining when I got lucky in the past so I won’t be now.

06-12-2024, 08:30 AM

Why do people want to go to a big game that is likely just a return bus journey away than try to get to Aberdeen or Kilmarnock?

06-12-2024, 08:34 AM
So let's go over that.

You should get the same chance of a tynie ticket as someone who goes to every away game because you rarely go to games but read a lot of Hibs books?

I'm sorry but that's a load of nonsense.

And those that watch every game on telly and watch sportscene on repeat, they should be guaranteed tickets too

06-12-2024, 08:35 AM
Spot on. It’s not right that someone can go every time at the expense of someone that can never go.

Piffle

06-12-2024, 08:42 AM
Every system will be rubbish except the one that benefits yourself.
I missed out yesterday for the first time in a while, it is what it is. I wasn’t complaining when I got lucky in the past so I won’t be now.

:agree: There simply isn’t a way to satisfy everyone and someone will always be unhappy that they missed out. I’ve benefited in the past from loyalty points and missed out this time, I’ve no problem with it and no problem with the home and away guys getting tickets through Hibs First - everyone (I think) has a crack at being amongst the 500 or so that Hibs set aside and everyone knows where they stand with it.

06-12-2024, 08:42 AM
And those that watch every game on telly and watch sportscene on repeat, they should be guaranteed tickets too

Nobody’s saying they should be guaranteed tickets.

06-12-2024, 08:43 AM
Piffle

Good contribution to what’s been a very open and constructive conversation so far. You’ve immediately changed my mind.

06-12-2024, 08:46 AM
Same arguments every time this is brought up.

For me, as a reward for the “loyalty” of going to the majority of games, those people should have the best chance of getting a ticket for the derby etc.

It’s pretty straight forward and is managed by most other clubs up and down the country but not Hibs for some reason.

“Reading Hibs books” is prob up there with the best reason that someone should be entitled to a ticket in the same way as someone who goes week in week out

06-12-2024, 08:46 AM
It really is that straightforward.

It is. I don't know if some folk are just over-thinking this but I haven't heard a single viable case against bringing back a loyalty points system. Do folk not want it just because Hearts have one?

It's just fairness pure and simple.

06-12-2024, 08:47 AM

For me, as a reward for the “loyalty” of going to the majority of games, those people should have the best chance of getting a ticket for the derby etc.

It’s pretty straight forward and is managed by most other clubs up and down the country but not Hibs for some reason.

“Reading Hibs books” is prob up there with the best reason that someone should be entitled to a ticket in the same way as someone who goes week in week out

They never said they should get tickets because they read books, to be fair. That’s misrepresenting the point they were making.

06-12-2024, 08:48 AM
Why do people want to go to a big game that is likely just a return bus journey away than try to get to Aberdeen or Kilmarnock?

In trying to justify the non use of loyalty points, I think you have actually given one of the strongest examples of why clubs do operate Loyalty Points..

06-12-2024, 08:49 AM
In trying to justify the non use of loyalty points, I think you have actually given one of the strongest examples of why clubs do operate Loyalty Points..

Exactly! They can't see it for looking at it.

06-12-2024, 08:50 AM

Are the folk who go to Killie and Aberdeen not doing what they want those days? They get a reward at the time, they get a game, a day out, and you do something they clearly love doing. They’ve already benefited from it.

andrew70
06-12-2024, 08:50 AM

What? Someone that goes week in week out should have the same chances as those who don’t?

One spends their hard earned money every week following the club whilst the other sits at home.

The fact they monetised the away core support was galling enough but the mockery you are making of said supporters is quite honestly staggering. They invest a lot more than just money.

There should be loyalty points. People who go every week should be guaranteed a ticket as best they can. The situation we have for Tynecastle every season is futile and there’s no need for it. We’ve not sold out Celtic Park and Aberdeen yet there’s guys who are going to these games who have missed out on Tynie due to day trippers.

It’s poor but as I said they’ve already monetised us as best they can and with views like yours it’s no wonder they got away with it.

The away support is, in the main, the core support they should be ‘rewarded’ not cashed in upon.

06-12-2024, 08:52 AM

I can see it, just don’t necessarily agree with it. And I say that as someone who, if we had a loyalty point scheme this week, would have a ticket for the derby in the bag no bother.

They never said they should get tickets because they read books, to be fair. That’s misrepresenting the point they were making.

Ah sorry, my mistake. The poster is intimating that loyalty is hard to quantify and claims that reading every Hibs book means they’re “loyal”.

Come on, that’s just silly

What? Someone that goes week in week out should have the same chances as those who don’t?

One spends their hard earned money every week following the club whilst the other sits at home.

The fact they monetised the away core support was galling enough but the mockery you are making of said supporters is quite honestly staggering. They invest a lot more than just money.

There should be loyalty points. People who go every week should be guaranteed a ticket as best they can. The situation we have for Tynecastle every season is futile and there’s no need for it. We’ve not sold out Celtic Park and Aberdeen yet there’s guys who are going to these games who have missed out on Tynie due to day trippers.

It’s poor but as I said they’ve already monetised us as best they can and with views like yours it’s no wonder they got away with it.

The away support is, in the main, the core support they should be ‘rewarded’ not cashed in upon.

Tell me how I’m making a mockery of anyone please?

06-12-2024, 08:53 AM
Ah sorry, my mistake. The poster is intimating that loyalty is hard to quantify and claims that reading every Hibs book means they’re “loyal”.

Come on, that’s just silly

That’s not all they said, you’re misrepresenting it.

06-12-2024, 08:53 AM
That’s not all they said, you’re misrepresenting it.

Ok. Maybe you could clear it up for me then?

06-12-2024, 08:54 AM
Ok. Maybe you could clear it up for me then?

Really?

06-12-2024, 08:57 AM
Really?

Yes please. As I seem to have misrepresented it twice now and you seem to know what was meant a lot better than me

andrew70
06-12-2024, 09:05 AM
Tell me how I’m making a mockery of anyone please?

You are suggesting the loyal away support should be in the same bracket as those who don’t go. That’s making a mockery of the most hardened supporter. Much like the club did when monetising us.

06-12-2024, 09:06 AM
Yes please. As I seem to have misrepresented it twice now and you seem to know what was meant a lot better than me

Ok then.

Loyalty : supported the club for 50 years. Have read every book going and now bores friends with talking about Hibs. It’s a big effort to get to games but goes when they can, despite an 8 hour drive and other commitments.

This is someone who is clearly a loyal supporter who the club means a great deal to. The post isn’t saying “I’m loyal because I read some books”.

I’ve got a mate in Vietnam who gets up at all sorts of times to watch Hibs, we chat about the club and concerns/positives pretty much daily. He’s 100% a loyal fan, imho.

The point the poster made wasn’t that he was loyal because he read books, but that there’s more to loyalty than going to away games.

06-12-2024, 09:06 AM

I see it. I just don't agree with it.

I get there's this notion that we should reward everyone who goes to every game so they don't miss out. But unless someone can tell me how it can be kept from being the new version of Hibs First where once people have established themselves it becomes a closed group until they drop dead and someone can slip in their place I'm not really interested in it.

As I've said before there's good reasons why loyal match attending Hibs fans can't go to Aberdeen or Dingwall or Killie on Wednesday nights or the odd game to St Johnstone and Dundee, people who spend a lot of money on their season tickets for them and their family, plus probably a handful of extortionate kits, and god knows how much on overpriced food at Easter Road two or three times a month. I don't think it's unreasonable to keep an avenue open for these people to have just a chance to get to Tynecastle to have what we all hope is a special day each time we go.

You chose to go to these games, no one put a gun to your head and said you had to. You go because you're a Hibs fan and enjoy it, not because you get a brownie badge and a wee certificate telling you how good you are. The idea you should be rewarded for it and lifted up as this perfect example of a fan because you put in some effort is frankly nauseating. Yes some will get tickets for it that probably haven't been to a game this season, that will happen anyway regardless of the system you implement.

06-12-2024, 09:07 AM

A more representative Hibbie would be my mate who lives in the middle of the Yorkshire dales. He'll be up here for Xmas but he wouldn't even think about asking me to try for a ticket for the Derby. As he says, if he was that committed to Hibs he'd live up here. Cup Finals fair enough when there's enough to go around but nabbing a Tynecastle ticket from someone who's travelled up and down the country to follow the current day Hibs side? No way.

06-12-2024, 09:09 AM
You are suggesting the loyal away support should be in the same bracket as those who don’t go. That’s making a mockery of the most hardened supporter. Much like the club did when monetising us.

These guys (as far as I know) all have Hibs First and all have tickets for Tiny already, I’ve said that’s great. I’m not putting them in the same bracket as everyone.

I’m not asking that anyone is deprived of tickets, nor mocking anyone - ridiculous that you’ve suggested that, to be honest.

I do think that the way the tickets were sold this time was fair, we all had a crack at it, you didn’t have to be at Kelty or Ross County to have a shot at a ticket.

Hardly mocking anyone.

06-12-2024, 09:09 AM
Ok then.

Loyalty : supported the club for 50 years. Have read every book going and now friends with talking about Hibs. It’s a big effort to get to games but goes when they can, despite an 8 hour drive and other commitments.

This is someone who is clearly a loyal supporter who the club means a great deal to. The post isn’t saying “I’m loyal because I read some books”.

I’ve got a mate in Vietnam who gets up at all sorts of times to watch Hibs, we chat about the club and concerns/positives pretty much daily. He’s 100% a loyal fan, imho.

The point the poster made wasn’t that he was loyal because he read books, but that there’s more to loyalty than going to away games.

I’m not sure much of that is any different to any of my points tbf.

So is the issue the use of the word “loyalty” then? Call the scheme something different but it would still need to reward the people who go the most imo.

I just don’t get the argument that folk who never go should be in the same bracket as someone who goes every week when it comes to the likes of Derby tickets

andrew70
06-12-2024, 09:12 AM
These guys (as far as I know) all have Hibs First and all have tickets for Tiny already, I’ve said that’s great. I’m not putting them in the same bracket as everyone.

I’m not asking that anyone is deprived of tickets, nor mocking anyone - ridiculous that you’ve suggested that, to be honest.

I do think that the way the tickets were sold this time was fair, we all had a crack at it, you didn’t have to be at Kelty or Ross County to have a shot at a ticket.

Hardly mocking anyone.

What you’re suggesting is the ridiculous point. Of course fans that have travelled to Ross County, Kelty etc should have had a far greater chance.

06-12-2024, 09:15 AM
I’m not sure much of that is any different to any of my points tbf.

So is the issue the use of the word “loyalty” then? Call the scheme something different but it would still need to reward the people who go the most imo.

I just don’t get the argument that folk who never go should be in the same bracket as someone who goes every week when it comes to the likes of Derby tickets
It’s not the use of the word “loyalty”, it was stripping the point down to that they should get tickets because they read books. That’s not what they said, evidently.

Broxburn Greens
06-12-2024, 09:17 AM
Just reading this thread, always a contentious subject, especially the derby away.

I haven't had a ticket for Tynie in ages, tried yesterday, failed again.

I'm a ST holder but only go to a handful of away games and generally those reasonably close with Dundee/Perth kind of being my northern limit and can't really be bothered going to Ibrox or Parkhead either.

I fully accept there's punters who go to every single game and should they have priority over me for a ticket at Tynecastle even as a season ticket holder? Of course they should, our biggest away game of the season and a great day out before and after should we win.

Do I think I should get priority over a non season ticket holder? Again, absolutely yes as every season I am committing a decent sum of money to Hibs and my time by going to every home game (in the league at least).

The Hibs First, then ST holders system is a shambles though and loyalty points would be a far better system, Hearts seem to make it work, perhaps someone form Hibs could ask them and we could copy it? It would likely encourage me to increase the number of away games I go to and even some of the early round games in the league cup (always try to make SC games).

Someone made the comment about Scotland and agree with this entirely, would've loved to go to a Scotland game in Germany but I don't go to internationals (haven't been in 20+ years) and I have zero right to a ticket over someone who spends their time and money following the national team home and abroad (all in my opinion of course).

06-12-2024, 09:18 AM

Do you never organise your diary, or the digital equivalent, so that there is time blanked out for certain events?

Every year I 'book' the weekend of the Scottish and League Cup semi finals and finals just in case, I speak to mates and we pick the away games we fancy (including some pretty non glamorous ones) and we book them in, outside of football I take the week of the Cheltenham Festival off to attend even though I didn't fancy using up my holiday entitlement to attend the jumps fixture at Sedgefield today and only attend half a dozen or so 'home' fixtures at Musselburgh across the year.

Everyone has different circumstances and different responsibilities. For years I could attend football matches at will; for a spell I went to watch a game almost every night of the week but those days are gone for now so I have to prioritise a handful or 2 of away fixtures. If Hibs brought back loyalty points I'd have no issue with it, I'd probably be close to guaranteed a ticket for all games but Ibrox anyway, but I'm not going to decry people for having to be selective about the away games they choose. I think people sometimes fail to acknowledge that being in the position of being able to attend every away game is actually quite a privileged one in terms of both finance and availability. What started as a reasonable argument around whether a better priority system could be put in place now seems to be veering towards sneering at those who aren't in such a position.

06-12-2024, 09:22 AM
Are the folk who go to Killie and Aberdeen not doing what they want those days? They get a reward at the time, they get a game, a day out, and you do something they clearly love doing. They’ve already benefited from it.

Are you being deliberately obtuse?

06-12-2024, 09:22 AM
It’s not the use of the word “loyalty”, it was stripping the point down to that they should get tickets because they read books. That’s not what they said, evidently.

You’ve misrepresented what I said.

I meant more in the general argument that you and a few others are making. If it was called an “attendance scheme” rather than a “loyalty scheme” would that make it a bit more understandable in why it would and should be in place?

06-12-2024, 09:26 AM
What you’re suggesting is the ridiculous point. Of course fans that have travelled to Ross County, Kelty etc should have had a far greater chance.

In your opinion, I disagree - I take my hat off to these guys, the issue I have with what you said about making a mockery of them is that it’s simply not true. I have nothing but respect for these guys as Hibs fans but at the same time I don’t think they’re more worthy than other fans by virtue of doing something that they choose to do with their time.

I do not want to deprive these guys of tickets in any way, I’ve made this point repeatedly and the Hibs First scheme takes care of them - none of them will miss the derby and that’s great. I get what you’re saying about Hibs monetising it and I agree to an extent, but it saves everyone the dance and stops the need for folk to manipulate the system - it is what it is.

But there’s certainly no mocking of a group of Hibs fans that go home and away, and I think you should retract that as it’s really unfair. Nothing but respect for those guys.

06-12-2024, 09:27 AM
Are you being deliberately obtuse?

Again, great contribution.

How come everyone else is managing to discuss it respectfully?

06-12-2024, 09:30 AM
You’ve misrepresented what I said.

I meant more in the general argument that you and a few others are making. If it was called an “attendance scheme” rather than a “loyalty scheme” would that make it a bit more understandable in why it would and should be in place?

I don’t think I misrepresented it. Your last paragraph strips it down to reading books entitles someone to tickets:

06-12-2024, 09:31 AM
Do you never organise your diary, or the digital equivalent, so that there is time blanked out for certain events?

Every year I 'book' the weekend of the Scottish and League Cup semi finals and finals just in case, I speak to mates and we pick the away games we fancy (including some pretty non glamorous ones) and we book them in, outside of football I take the week of the Cheltenham Festival off to attend even though I didn't fancy using up my holiday entitlement to attend the jumps fixture at Sedgefield today and only attend half a dozen or so 'home' fixtures at Musselburgh across the year.

Everyone has different circumstances and different responsibilities. For years I could attend football matches at will; for a spell I went to watch a game almost every night of the week but those days are gone for now so I have to prioritise a handful or 2 of away fixtures. If Hibs brought back loyalty points I'd have no issue with it, I'd probably be close to guaranteed a ticket for all games but Ibrox anyway, but I'm not going to decry people for having to be selective about the away games they choose. I think people sometimes fail to acknowledge that being in the position of being able to attend every away game is actually quite a privileged one in terms of both finance and availability. What started as a reasonable argument around whether a better priority system could be put in place now seems to be veering towards sneering at those who aren't in such a position.

06-12-2024, 09:31 AM
I don’t think I misrepresented it. Your last paragraph strips it down to reading books entitles someone to tickets:

You’ve gone back to previous posts. I’m talking about the one you responded to last

TheSouthMoroccan
06-12-2024, 09:38 AM
The eticketing platform used is absolutely honking.

My son and I have season tickets. He's never been before and is desperate to go to Tynie. It's his 16th birthday just before Christmas so for his birthday I promised I'd do all I could to get tickets for both of us. I waited in the queue, got into the system at 12.04. It said even at 12.04 that there was no availability of two seats next to each other. I got the option to buy one, which I bought, went back to try and buy another one (as per the instructions which I printed out and read and re read about 20 times) so that even if we couldn't sit together at least we could both go the game. No danger of getting another ticket after an hour of trying. So now for his birthday at least he gets to go to the game, but on his own, and I miss out sharing the whole first visit experience with him. I'll walk with him to the ground and then meet up with him afterwards. Absolute crap system. How can it be impossible to buy two seats next to each other only 4 minutes into the sale starting.

Ps if anyone takes pity on me and either has a spare or for whatever reason is willing to trade their two next to each other for my one (In Block M) plus cash of course for the second ticket, please feel free to pm me.

06-12-2024, 09:40 AM
Just reading this thread, always a contentious subject, especially the derby away.

I haven't had a ticket for Tynie in ages, tried yesterday, failed again.

I'm a ST holder but only go to a handful of away games and generally those reasonably close with Dundee/Perth kind of being my northern limit and can't really be bothered going to Ibrox or Parkhead either.

I fully accept there's punters who go to every single game and should they have priority over me for a ticket at Tynecastle even as a season ticket holder? Of course they should, our biggest away game of the season and a great day out before and after should we win.

Do I think I should get priority over a non season ticket holder? Again, absolutely yes as every season I am committing a decent sum of money to Hibs and my time by going to every home game (in the league at least).

The Hibs First, then ST holders system is a shambles though and loyalty points would be a far better system, Hearts seem to make it work, perhaps someone form Hibs could ask them and we could copy it? It would likely encourage me to increase the number of away games I go to and even some of the early round games in the league cup (always try to make SC games).

Someone made the comment about Scotland and agree with this entirely, would've loved to go to a Scotland game in Germany but I don't go to internationals (haven't been in 20+ years) and I have zero right to a ticket over someone who spends their time and money following the national team home and abroad (all in my opinion of course).

I think the Scotland games example is relevant to this debate. That’s a closed shop with no way to ever work your way up the ladder. Before I was married and a father I went to a lot of Scotland games abroad. Maybe 15 or so, including one campaign where I only missed a single game. I was never able to get a single loyalty point (literally) from all those games and had to sit in the home end every time. If we had qualified for a tournament in that time I’d not have had any possibility for a ticket. The same few thousand maintain a monopoly, including points harvesting, on who can ever get an official ticket.

I think some on this thread would quite like a similar monolopoly on tickets out of self interest.

06-12-2024, 09:43 AM
You’ve gone back to previous posts. I’m talking about the one you responded to last

Fair enough, sorry about that then. :aok:

06-12-2024, 09:47 AM
The current system favours those who are more tech-savvy and work a desk job/can take time off work to sit in a queue.

Are we arguing people who fit that bracket are more deserving of a ticket?

06-12-2024, 09:48 AM
They should sell more Hibs first tickets. Increase the price to £150-200. Seems the demand is there and you only have to use it for the derby - no other games required?

06-12-2024, 09:50 AM
The current system favours those who are more tech-savvy and work a desk job/can take time off work to sit in a queue.

I think it’s just you that’s arguing that, to be honest.

In the good old days it was the guys who could stay out overnight to queue at the ticket office (or in some cases get someone else to queue and then take their place in the queue in the morning).

There’s no perfect system, someone’s always going to be unhappy.

06-12-2024, 09:50 AM
I think the Scotland games example is relevant to this debate. That’s a closed shop with no way to ever work your way up the ladder. Before I was married and a father I went to a lot of Scotland games abroad. Maybe 15 or so, including one campaign where I only missed a single game. I was never able to get a single loyalty point (literally) from all those games and had to sit in the home end every time. If we had qualified for a tournament in that time I’d not have had any possibility for a ticket. The same few thousand maintain a monopoly, including points harvesting, on who can ever get an official ticket.

I think some on this thread would quite like a similar monolopoly on tickets out of self interest.

I don’t think the points harvesting would be too much of an issue here when you have away games every second week as opposed to a few times a year. It’s too expensive. £37 tomorrow, £32 for Aberdeen in a fortnight.

It was me that brought the Scotland example up and it was purely because it gave me the opportunity to see things from the other side of the argument and I had absolutely no issue with it.

06-12-2024, 09:54 AM
I don’t think the points harvesting would be too much of an issue here when you have away games every second week as opposed to a few times a year. It’s too expensive. £37 tomorrow, £32 for Aberdeen in a fortnight.

It was me that brought the Scotland example up and it was purely because it gave me the opportunity to see things from the other side of the argument and I had absolutely no issue with it.

I don’t know like - I remember when we had loyalty points and folk were obsessed - treating it like a leaderboard. Mind they went mental when they gave some points out for investing in HSL - it didn’t actually stop anyone from getting a ticket but might’ve impacted on the scoring.

06-12-2024, 09:57 AM
They should sell more Hibs first tickets. Increase the price to £150-200. Seems the demand is there and you only have to use it for the derby - no other games required?

Is the issue with that not that the amount of Hibs First spaces is the exact amount of our lowest away capacity to ensure that everyone who pays that money is guaranteed a ticket? Think it's Celtic or Rangers that give us that amount but not entirely sure.

06-12-2024, 09:59 AM
Is the issue with that not that the amount of Hibs First spaces is the exact amount of our lowest away capacity to ensure that everyone who pays that money is guaranteed a ticket? Think it's Celtic or Rangers that give us that amount but not entirely sure.

Think it’s a bit less - 500 in the scheme? Lowest is 750-900 isn’t it? Different for away cup games etc though but that’s always an unknown.

06-12-2024, 10:03 AM
Think it’s a bit less - 500 in the scheme? Lowest is 750-900 isn’t it? Different for away cup games etc though but that’s always an unknown.

They've maybe undercut it just ever so slightly to never have it that a Hibs First member misses out in that case.

06-12-2024, 10:10 AM
They've maybe undercut it just ever so slightly to never have it that a Hibs First member misses out in that case.

That would make sense - if you’re going to have scheme that guarantees an away ticket then you can’t oversubscribe it unless it’s an absolute exceptional circumstance.

06-12-2024, 10:21 AM
The eticketing platform used is absolutely honking.

My son and I have season tickets. He's never been before and is desperate to go to Tynie. It's his 16th birthday just before Christmas so for his birthday I promised I'd do all I could to get tickets for both of us. I waited in the queue, got into the system at 12.04. It said even at 12.04 that there was no availability of two seats next to each other. I got the option to buy one, which I bought, went back to try and buy another one (as per the instructions which I printed out and read and re read about 20 times) so that even if we couldn't sit together at least we could both go the game. No danger of getting another ticket after an hour of trying. So now for his birthday at least he gets to go to the game, but on his own, and I miss out sharing the whole first visit experience with him. I'll walk with him to the ground and then meet up with him afterwards. Absolute crap system. How can it be impossible to buy two seats next to each other only 4 minutes into the sale starting.

Ps if anyone takes pity on me and either has a spare or for whatever reason is willing to trade their two next to each other for my one (In Block M) plus cash of course for the second ticket, please feel free to pm me.

Yeah it's absolute garbage. I very rarely missed a derby for 25 odd years pre covid and it never used to be such an issue. You could generally get at least 2 together. The last 5 years has put me right off as time after time, I end up having to get a single ticket.

It can't be that difficult to figure out a better approach.

06-12-2024, 10:24 AM
Let's just copy & paste this thread for the next Hertz away as it's the same arguments & cross examination every time this issue arises.

06-12-2024, 10:25 AM
I have friends who are ST holders at Celtic and Rangers.

Because demand outstrips supply for all away games there is no guarantee of securing tickets and they just have to take their chances with what they can get.

The difference with Hibs is, that demand from our support to travel to away games is accommodated within most away allocations. I struggle to accept any explanations as to why those regular fans shouldn’t be accommodated when demand is highest.

If we sold out every away game and you were required to take your chances in ballots etc then you could accept missing out on certain games, but with the numbers of regular travellers being considerably less than the capacity of Roseburn Stand, you have to think that as far as Loyalty Schemess go, the Hibs one should one of the least complicated.

Broxburn Greens
06-12-2024, 10:31 AM

Yeah, this is a good point. As someone who works in construction as a manager I am able to ensure I'm back at my desk for high demand tickets should I wish to attend to try and get a ticket, at a PC with a good stable internet connection.

There will be guys out on site perhaps having to try and use mobile phones or due to what they're doing simply can't get an opportunity and that obviously applies to folk working in hospitality, retail and healthcare. A better release time to suit more people should be looked at (i.e. 10am Saturday morning), you'll never suit everyone of course.

06-12-2024, 10:34 AM
Yeah, this is a good point. As someone who works in construction as a manager I am able to ensure I'm back at my desk for high demand tickets should I wish to attend to try and get a ticket, at a PC with a good stable internet connection.

There will be guys out on site perhaps having to try and use mobile phones or due to what they're doing simply can't get an opportunity and that obviously applies to folk working in hospitality, retail and healthcare. A better release time to suit more people should be looked at (i.e. 10am Saturday morning), you'll never suit everyone of course.

Releasing mid morning on a traditional working day is a nonsense and well within Hibs’ control to improve. :agree:

OstKurve Hibs
06-12-2024, 11:31 AM
It is. I don't know if some folk are just over-thinking this but I haven't heard a single viable case against bringing back a loyalty points system. Do folk not want it just because Hearts have one?

It's just fairness pure and simple.

Folk don't want ot cos they know they'll have zero chance of a derby ticket. Some of the keech am readin here is laughable, comparing going to the derby to going to watch a blockbuster movie at the cinema, geez peace man !
A movie on at the cinema for weeks on emd f9r those that give a tam kite about that.

06-12-2024, 12:33 PM
Folk don't want ot cos they know they'll have zero chance of a derby ticket. Some of the keech am readin here is laughable, comparing going to the derby to going to watch a blockbuster movie at the cinema, geez peace man !
A movie on at the cinema for weeks on emd f9r those that give a tam kite about that.

As opposed to those greeting because they've not gotten one

06-12-2024, 12:34 PM

Yep, if someone wants some reward for buying Hibs merch online then why not ask Hibs for a 10% discount as a "loyal" online shopper. Getting an equal shout for Derby tickets with fans who have actually travelled up and down the country to most away games to try to encourage the team and create an atmosphere that would hopefully help them to win games is ludicrous.

06-12-2024, 12:57 PM

There is some laughable keech on here, thankfully most of it is grown up discussion with folk respectfully acknowledging that there’s no right or wrong and it comes down to opinions and letting folk voice those opinions without insults or mockery.

06-12-2024, 01:00 PM

Some people on here won't be happy until every away game is a free for all.

06-12-2024, 01:05 PM
Yep, if someone wants some reward for buying Hibs merch online then why not ask Hibs for a 10% discount as a "loyal" online shopper. Getting an equal shout for Derby tickets with fans who have actually travelled up and down the country to most away games to try to encourage the team and create an atmosphere that would hopefully help them to win games is ludicrous.

Who decides what counts and what doesn’t though?

The loyalty scheme last time ended in uproar because HSL members got additional points added on as an incentive to sign up. I’d argue that it’s a real show of loyalty to buy into the club as a supporter.

Some folk will say it’s the spend on the club that counts - the folk who pay £25k for hospitality are surely going to be ok for a ticket for Tiny, I mean look at their contribution!

Or what about the folk who give up their time to help with the Community Foundation, get involved with the Kiltwalks and Christmas dinners etc, that’s a huge, selfless commitment as well.

I’m not saying that’s what I think should count, I’m just making the point that people will think (general in line with their own circumstances, I guess) that things should be considered when it comes to getting an advantage for tickets.

There’s not a perfect solution, someone’s going to be upset somewhere down the line but I don’t think that the system for the tickets this time was especially unfair, and I would be astonished if on Boxing Day anyone who wants to go to Tiny that goes home and away already doesn’t have a ticket somehow.

06-12-2024, 01:06 PM
Some people on here won't be happy until every away game is a free for all.

I don’t think anyone has said that yet? Apologies if I’ve got that wrong but from memory I don’t think there’s a push to say it should be a complete free for all.

06-12-2024, 01:07 PM
Who decides what counts and what doesn’t though?

The loyalty scheme last time ended in uproar because HSL members got additional points added on as an incentive to sign up. I’d argue that it’s a real show of loyalty to buy into the club as a supporter.

Some folk will say it’s the spend on the club that counts - the folk who pay £25k for hospitality are surely going to be ok for a ticket for Tiny, I mean look at their contribution!

Or what about the folk who give up their time to help with the Community Foundation, get involved with the Kiltwalks and Christmas dinners etc, that’s a huge, selfless commitment as well.

I’m not saying that’s what I think should count, I’m just making the point that people will think (general in line with their own circumstances, I guess) that things should be considered when it comes to getting an advantage for tickets.

There’s not a perfect solution, someone’s going to be upset somewhere down the line but I don’t think that the system for the tickets this time was especially unfair, and I would be astonished if on Boxing Day anyone who wants to go to Tiny that goes home and away already doesn’t have a ticket somehow.

It should be simple. Attend more games, get priority for these types of games. It really is that simple and how it seems to work across the country without any issues like these

06-12-2024, 01:08 PM
anyone who wants to go to Tiny that goes home and away already doesn’t have a ticket somehow.

If it mattered that much to them you'd think they'd have a Hibs First membership anyway.

06-12-2024, 01:14 PM
If it mattered that much to them you'd think they'd have a Hibs First membership anyway.

I think most of them will have, which is the benefit of the scheme, I guess.

I’m not wanting those folk to miss out on tickets, they have a way to guarantee the ticket for it so will be sorted and I’m genuinely really glad about that. Zero complaints at all.

06-12-2024, 01:36 PM

You don’t need to go home and away to be in Hibs first. I think some just see it as paying £25 on top of the ticket price for each derby - saves time and hassle.

06-12-2024, 01:54 PM
You don’t need to go home and away to be in Hibs first. I think some just see it as paying £25 on top of the ticket price for each derby - saves time and hassle.

Folk have always manipulated the system for it, things like buying kids’ season tickets to get the reference number to use, harvesting points by not going to games they’ve bought tickets for, getting others to use their client reference number for games so they get points etc - there remain questions over Block Seven having priority tickets still - noticed a post from Hermit Crab on the Bounce saying he knows for sure that they’re not all Hibs First, and for a long time the club saw some supporters’ buses right with tickets under the radar for these games.
There’s always a way to beat the system but at least Hibs First, for all I sympathise with the point about monetising it, doesn’t hide what it is and it serves its purpose well to the point that I bet everyone who logged on ahead of the rest to get a hassle free, no mucking about, guaranteed ticket earlier in the week thought it was worth every penny.

06-12-2024, 02:00 PM
I’m not going this time as I decided something else was more important to do on Boxing Day. I have a ST, I miss several home games a year but a trip to Tynecastle which is actually closer to my home is something I enjoy, I don’t go to any other away games. I often get a ticket for Tynecastle when I try, I have absolutely no qualms about doing so.

06-12-2024, 02:07 PM

Bang on.

06-12-2024, 02:09 PM
I’m not going this time as I decided something else was more important to do on Boxing Day. I have a ST, I miss several home games a year but a trip to Tynecastle which is actually closer to my home is something I enjoy, I don’t go to any other away games. I often get a ticket for Tynecastle when I try, I have absolutely no qualms about doing so.

As it should be.

06-12-2024, 02:19 PM
It should be simple. Attend more games, get priority for these types of games. It really is that simple and how it seems to work across the country without any issues like these

Yep, so much overthinking on here. It's just common sense.

06-12-2024, 02:22 PM

except obviously that’s not what I said, but you crack on and present it how you like. Sigh:rolleyes:

06-12-2024, 03:00 PM

If there was a loyalty scheme I’m fairly confident that I would have got Derby tickets. ( I didn’t. First birthday in I don’t know how long that Hibs won’t be ruining. :greengrin )

However I don’t see the point in introducing one for what is usually just two games a season.I’m perfectly happy to take my chances with every other ST holder. I don’t follow Hibs out of a selfless devotion to the cause, I’m just extremely lucky to be able to go to a lot of games. I love it, no extra reward required.

06-12-2024, 03:05 PM

Yup 👍

06-12-2024, 04:43 PM
Could be the last full stand Hibs get if the nonsense from the last derby continues

06-12-2024, 05:22 PM
Let's just copy & paste this thread for the next Hertz away as it's the same arguments & cross examination every time this issue arises.

💯

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-12-2024, 05:22 PM
Could be the last full stand Hibs get if the nonsense from the last derby continues

And risk not getting a full stand at Easter Road? They’d be rioting, no chance our allocation gets cut. Don’t be silly.

06-12-2024, 05:58 PM
They can fill half the away end with own supporters we can’t

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-12-2024, 06:11 PM

Regardless, they’re not going to risk having their allocation cut for games at Easter Road. Which we’d have to do, whether we sell the tickets or not.

06-12-2024, 06:24 PM
I think it’s just you that’s arguing that, to be honest.

In the good old days it was the guys who could stay out overnight to queue at the ticket office (or in some cases get someone else to queue and then take their place in the queue in the morning).

There’s no perfect system, someone’s always going to be unhappy.

The only people who were unhappy with loyalty points were a small group of Hibs fans who beneited unfairly from the above.

PHeffernan
06-12-2024, 08:22 PM

Yeah, as copy and paste as the melt down thread after every Easter Road game with The Rangers.
Only a month until that groundhog day.

06-12-2024, 08:53 PM
The fact that this only occurs a few times a season is exactly why a priority scheme should come in. Rewards those who go to more games and gives everyone a chance to build up points at other games. And I say that as someone who will probably never get a Tynie ticket ever again even though pre-2016 I used to regularly get them on general sale.

Just a side note, my feelings on away priority are largely driven from Bolton away games where post-Covid there has been anything up to half a dozen games a season that have sold out within 5 minutes of going on sale, and a few more within the first hour or so. Things reached such an extreme that myself and my wife now have away season tickets whereby we commit to buying a ticket for every away game in all competitions (you’re allowed to cancel four matches per season) which is a godsend for guaranteeing one of the 800 tickets at Stockport (lost 5-0, typically!), 900 at Wrexham, 1200 at Blackpool etc.

06-12-2024, 09:23 PM

We could for a derby

07-12-2024, 06:36 AM
It circles back to the same old argument - everyone who believed they were a big enough follower of Hibs away games had the opportunity to get a Hibs First membership to ensure they got priority. Everyone had a chance and likewise in the future will have one as spaces become available.

07-12-2024, 07:46 AM
It circles back to the same old argument - everyone who believed they were a big enough follower of Hibs away games had the opportunity to get a Hibs First membership to ensure they got priority. Everyone had a chance and likewise in the future will have one as spaces become available.

Is that right? I thought there were limited numbers for Hibs first?

If so, and if they've sold out this season, then those who bought them would be able to renew and in.effect would be able to be members for life with no-one else ever being able to become a Hibs First member.

I could be completely wrong about this if there's no limit on numbers though!!

07-12-2024, 07:49 AM
Is that right? I thought there were limited numbers for Hibs first?

If so, and if they've sold out this season, then those who bought them would be able to renew and in.effect would be able to be members for life with no-one else ever being able to become a Hibs First member.

I could be completely wrong about this if there's no limit on numbers though!!

No you’re correct

07-12-2024, 08:27 AM
Hibs First isn’t a Loyalty Scheme.

It forces those who go every week into parting with more money to guarantee they don’t miss out on tickets. Membership doesn’t require you to go to games but still guarantees you a ticket in exchange for a cash payment for doing so.

The Away ST was aimed at those who go to every game. Tickets issued for every away match. Where some may have been put off with signing up was that if you weren’t able to make certain away games then you were gifting ticket money to opposition clubs. If you miss a home game at least Hibs have your ST money.

There seems little appetite from Hibs to return to a Loyalty Scheme, a system that worked well that was based on going to games before the HSL debacle with demanding points for membership which was the beginning of the end for it with nonsense debates about points for pies and merch.

The loyalty points were of benefit to a larger section of fanbase than the two systems that followed.

07-12-2024, 09:23 AM

It forces those who go every week into parting with more money to guarantee they don’t miss out on tickets. Membership doesn’t require you to go to games but still guarantees you a ticket in exchange for a cash payment for doing so.

The Away ST was aimed at those who go to every game. Tickets issued for every away match. Where some may have been put off with signing up was that if you weren’t able to make certain away games then you were gifting ticket money to opposition clubs. If you miss a home game at least Hibs have your ST money.

There seems little appetite from Hibs to return to a Loyalty Scheme, a system that worked well that was based on going to games before the HSL debacle with demanding points for membership which was the beginning of the end for it with nonsense debates about points for pies and merch.

The loyalty points were of benefit to a larger section of fanbase than the two systems that followed.

It also allows folk with a bit of cash to guarantee a derby ticket. As I said earlier £25 per derby is worth it for many. The AST scheme was better in the regard that you could only say no on a couple of occasions to tickets. Hibs first isn’t that.

07-12-2024, 09:26 AM
If there was a loyalty scheme I’m fairly confident that I would have got Derby tickets. ( I didn’t. First birthday in I don’t know how long that Hibs won’t be ruining. :greengrin )

However I don’t see the point in introducing one for what is usually just two games a season.I’m perfectly happy to take my chances with every other ST holder. I don’t follow Hibs out of a selfless devotion to the cause, I’m just extremely lucky to be able to go to a lot of games. I love it, no extra reward required.

Your spot on, & the occasional cup game. We've not even sold out Darkheid today.

Bridge hibs
07-12-2024, 09:31 AM
Your spot on, & the occasional cup game. We've not even sold out Darkheid today.

Not everyone enjoys being stuck up in a corner at Darkheid, I hate the place, Tinycastle is a piggery but give me the atmosphere of a derby anyday over a trip to Darkheid

07-12-2024, 09:36 AM
Would our away supports increase if Loyalty points were introduced again?

I think one of the main reasons they were scrapped was due to the hassle and administrative part sorting the queries etc.

Can anyone remember how long Hibs had them for and did they ever reset ? Feels like ages ago!

SickBoy32
07-12-2024, 09:40 AM

Your last line is the crux of the matter.

Hibs First is an awful, divisive scheme. Inherently Tory. Implemented by tory Ben. This scheme will only last as long as that clown remains at ER, so not too much longer hopefully.

I know several folk on it who purely use it to go to Tynecastle.

Likewise, guys I was in Switzerland with last year missed out on a ticket for Villa Park. The aforementioned Hibs First members, were at Villa Park though. That’s no right for me.

Loyalty scheme:
200pts with a season ticket.
10pts for any home walk up / home cup tie.
5pts for any away fixture.

Simple and more importantly, rewards those fans who support the club on match days. Paying for priority is a dreadful backwards step for our club, not at all aligned to what our club should stand for IMO.

gorgie greens
07-12-2024, 09:50 AM

Hibs First is an awful, divisive scheme. Inherently Tory. Implemented by tory Ben. This scheme will only last as long as that clown remains at ER, so not too much longer hopefully.

Likewise, guys I was in Switzerland with last year missed out on a ticket for Villa Park. The aforementioned Hibs First members, were at Villa Park though. That’s no right for me.

Loyalty scheme:

Simple and more importantly, rewards those fans who support the club on match days. Paying for priority is a dreadful backwards step for our club, not at all aligned to what our club should stand for IMO.
Can't say I am against this but people will moan irrespective of what scheme is in place, I am a Hibs first ST member so I have a ticket for boxing day but my son isn't but has a ST so I had to do what every other that wanted a ticket had to do the lottery on Thursday and was lucky enough to get one for him.
As for life membership for Hibs First is probable but I only got my membership this season so they do come up.

07-12-2024, 10:01 AM

Loyalty scheme:

Having Hibs First last year was worth it to get tickets for Luzern and Villa away .

07-12-2024, 10:09 AM

I think one of the main reasons they were scrapped was due to the hassle and administrative part sorting the queries etc.

Can anyone remember how long Hibs had them for and did they ever reset ? Feels like ages ago!

On your last point most loyalty schemes have a 2 year drop off. All points don't get wiped after that 2 years obviously but the ones that are 2 years and 1 day old do. It's to stop people compiling 5 years worth of points, stop going but remain at the top of the tree as a legacy for years afterwards.

On the note general point around administering a loyalty scheme I think Hibs will have crunched the numbers and as others have said decided it isn't worth it for the number of games it's needed. I think people probably overestimate how many actually missed out on Tynecastle tickets. It's a bit like when we got 17K tickets for the LC final v Celtic and Hibs gave ST holders 2 each and there was a furore about it being 'oversubscribed' and ST holders missing out. It went to general sale. Hibs made a decision based on data from previous buying trends whilst people getting worked up were thinking through emotion and panic.

Tynecastle will be similar. The Roseburn holds 3600ish, knock off 500 for the seats they take away at the corners leaves 3100. 500 for hospitality STs, players, sponsors etc leaves 2600 and then 500 for Hibs First leaves 2100. People talk about a 'free for all' but that suggests everyone who has ever entered the EH7 postcode was eligible which isn't the case. It was ST holders only, approx 11500 less Hibs First who already have tickets leaves 11K eligible for 2100 tickets or just worse than a 1 in 5 chance. But then every ST holder doesn't want a ticket. The highest number I heard about in the queue was 2500 and something but let's say 1000 more than that if you factor in people buying for more than one person so 3500 trying for 2100 tickets but some of them will be on multiple devices and suddenly your chance goes from 1 in 5 to just better than 1 in 2.

There is a lot of supposition above but the general point t stands that tens of thousands aren't missing out on Tynecastle, it's hundreds or low thousands max. Hibs will have more accurate data and that will form their thinking around loyalty points. Balancing off the benefits against the financial costs, the administration of collating data both of tickets sold by Hibs and tickets sold direct from away clubs and the disgraceful behaviour the ticket office staff had to deal with under previous schemes, I understand why they have decided it isn't worth it for 2 games a season.

07-12-2024, 10:21 AM

Loyalty scheme:

Inherently Tory!! What have I just read?

07-12-2024, 10:32 AM
Another simple way to distribute tickets would surely be a simple ballot.

A week to opt in or not.

You log onto Hibs account and select yes - X amount of tickets for the game. You then can select if you will accept a lower number of tickets if you don’t get say 6 tickets - you will still take 4.

Then you are charged if you are successful for tickets.

Surely more fair than who can log onto various devices the quickest and less stressful for fans during work etc.

07-12-2024, 10:32 AM

Aye, this place is mental at times. If people would just keep their political views to themselves and stick to the football.

07-12-2024, 10:38 AM
Another simple way to distribute tickets would surely be a simple ballot.

A week to opt in or not.

You log onto Hibs account and select yes - X amount of tickets for the game. You then can select if you will accept a lower number of tickets if you don’t get say 6 tickets - you will still take 4.

Then you are charged if you are successful for tickets.

Surely more fair than who can log onto various devices the quickest and less stressful for fans during work etc.

Have we ever had a ballot in recent times?

I remember one for the Stenhousemuir cup game in 94, my Grandad and I got tickets, and you had to fill out an application form for the 2001 cup final but other than that I'm struggling to recall one.

It's not a bad idea but I suppose Hibs would argue it's not really that different from allocating people a random number in an online queue and probably a whole lot more problematic in terms of failed payments or the like.

07-12-2024, 10:39 AM
Should there be a ballot for hibs first every season? Is it right that folk that entered at the start just get to keep them forever?

07-12-2024, 10:41 AM

I think the support would increase and certainly the number of tickets sold would increase. When we had loyalty points there was a sort of “race to the top” .

07-12-2024, 10:42 AM
Not everyone enjoys being stuck up in a corner at Darkheid, I hate the place, Tinycastle is a piggery but give me the atmosphere of a derby anyday over a trip to Darkheid

Even if you were offered a seat in the directors box at Darkheid it isn't going to beat the atmosphere of a derby.

07-12-2024, 10:42 AM

Loyalty scheme:

Are you accusing everyone who's on Hibs First a tory?

07-12-2024, 10:44 AM
Are you accusing everyone who's on Hibs First a tory?

I don’t think he is. I used to disagree with my father in law about buying a council house while hating Thatcher. Didn’t make him a Tory but he did take advantage of the Tory policy.

SickBoy32
07-12-2024, 10:53 AM
Having Hibs First last year was worth it to get tickets for Luzern and Villa away .

Luckily I got to both without endorsing Kensell’s money grab 👍

SickBoy32
07-12-2024, 10:54 AM

Paying for priority is a Tory mindset IMO. Not calling fellow Hibbys tories.

Priority should be for those who attend the most Hibs games, not those with the most disposable cash 👍

07-12-2024, 10:55 AM
Have we ever had a ballot in recent times?

I remember one for the Stenhousemuir cup game in 94, my Grandad and I got tickets, and you had to fill out an application form for the 2001 cup final but other than that I'm struggling to recall one.

It's not a bad idea but I suppose Hibs would argue it's not really that different from allocating people a random number in an online queue and probably a whole lot more problematic in terms of failed payments or the like.

Only ballots were when we came back from Covid and had 2 or 3 games with restricted attendance.

Bridge hibs
07-12-2024, 10:56 AM
Even if you were offered a seat in the directors box at Darkheid it isn't going to beat the atmosphere of a derby.

Totally mate

07-12-2024, 11:00 AM
Paying for priority is a Tory mindset IMO. Not calling fellow Hibbys tories.

Priority should be for those who attend the most Hibs games, not those with the most disposable cash 👍

It’s still going to the folk who spend most doing it that way, tbf.

07-12-2024, 11:00 AM
Should there be a ballot for hibs first every season? Is it right that folk that entered at the start just get to keep them forever?

Yes just dump the ones that have followed the club everywhere for many years just to help others get a ticket for tynecastle

Bridge hibs
07-12-2024, 11:05 AM
Yes just dump the ones that have followed the club everywhere for many years just to help others get a ticket for tynecastle

I followed the club for many years, season ticket n all, I struggle to attend games nowadays due mostly to work commitments so by your token I should not have gotten a ticket for Tiny ?

07-12-2024, 11:05 AM

They don’t all follow the club everywhere mate. Some do but a lot don’t - it’s just a convenient tax they pay.

For the many not the few.

07-12-2024, 11:07 AM
I followed the club for many years, season ticket n all, I struggle to attend games nowadays due mostly to work commitments so by your token I should not have gotten a ticket for Tiny ?

That's unfortunate you can't go but I'm lucky as I can always make games no matter when or location