View Full Version : Jordan Smith
08-02-2025, 09:42 AM
He’s doing really well. If he’d been a new signing we would be singing his praises far more.
He is very well liked by his teammates as well.
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
08-02-2025, 09:46 AM
He reminds me a bit like Marciano. Doesn't come of his line often enough for my liking. If we finish high in the league he is number one next season for me. He might even end up attracting interest from down south.
I'm glad he doesn't, he's too wee. I'm delighted for him, he's loving it and has been really solid although that flap at the end was a bit scary.
08-02-2025, 10:04 AM
He reminds me a bit like Marciano. Doesn't come of his line often enough for my liking. If we finish high in the league he is number one next season for me. He might even end up attracting interest from down south.
Staying on his line isn't an issue providing our defenders know that's what he does.
08-02-2025, 10:14 AM
I'm glad he doesn't, he's too wee. I'm delighted for him, he's loving it and has been really solid although that flap at the end was a bit scary.
Staying on his line isn't an issue providing our defenders know that's what he does.
:agree::agree: I prefer it when a keeper doesn't come off his line too often.
For me the best thing about Smith is how calm and self assured he looks which is absolutely vital for a keeper. He's at a great age where he should be coming into his prime, he has plenty of EFL Championship experience, and he clearly loves it here. Hope he's here for years.
08-02-2025, 10:41 AM
A good solid option, we’ve done worse. Thought his save at the end looked like a mistake before being able to catch the rebound. Same with a save against Killie, I think it was that wasn’t punished. Maybe the Armstrong red card challenge. He seems to be one of those keepers who when he does make a mistake, which isn’t that often, doesn’t get punished, which is no bad thing.
Think Murphy’s shot was very well hit but was also moving all over the place. Imo did well to save then react quickly to save again.
08-02-2025, 10:43 AM
A good solid option, we’ve done worse. Thought his save at the end looked like a mistake before being able to catch the rebound. Same with a save against Killie, I think it was that wasn’t punished. Maybe the Armstrong red card challenge. He seems to be one of those keepers who when he does make a mistake, which isn’t that often, doesn’t get punished, which is no bad thing.
Have another look, the ball swerves twice. It's a very good save and an excellent recovery.
kentao
08-02-2025, 10:56 AM
That save from Rus was amazing, looked goal bound as soon as it left his foot. MOTM the me. Keep it up Smudge.
Paulie Walnuts
08-02-2025, 10:59 AM
Youve managed to throw 2 negative points in there, hes played 12 games since Aberdeen and Bursik is history. Try and enjoy it.
One of them is literally praising his ability to bounce back from a bad performance and the other is saying he’s a massive upgrade on the previous goalkeeper. They’re positive. Im enjoying his performances just fine.
08-02-2025, 11:02 AM
More than comfortable with Smith in goal
08-02-2025, 11:08 AM
His kicking is better than Marciano was like a sweeper keeper last night
et_hibby
08-02-2025, 11:18 AM
Well done last night, Jordan
08-02-2025, 11:20 AM
I'm glad he doesn't, he's too wee. I'm delighted for him, he's loving it and has been really solid although that flap at the end was a bit scary.He's the same height as De Gea, Neuer & Szczęsny. I would be quite happy for any of them to be coming out for crosses for Hibs :greengrin
08-02-2025, 11:21 AM
Every goalie that’s ever existed has kicked the ball out of play at some point. They’re not robots.
Budgie might have been.
Zibi too, but for different reasons.
Hibees1973
08-02-2025, 11:24 AM
It's safe to say when Smith, Iredale, Bushiri & N Cadden came into the side as starters our fortunes have changed.
All seem great characters which has improved us immeasurably since November.
Well done to all four and long may it continue.
He's here!
08-02-2025, 11:44 AM
I feel it's time to stop talking about Smith in 'he'll do for now' terms. It's become clear he's quite simply a good keeper who deserves to be our No 1, not regarded as a stop gap. It's just nit-picking to home in on the odd imperfection. No keeper is mistake-proof. There was a pre-conceived notion that Smith was 'worse than Bursik' but he's come in and proved himself to be a safe pair of hands.
08-02-2025, 11:47 AM
It's safe to say when Smith, Iredale, Bushiri & N Cadden came into the side as starters our fortunes have changed.
I feel it's time to stop talking about Smith in 'he'll do for now' terms. It's become clear he's quite simply a good keeper who deserves to be our No 1, not regarded as a stop gap. It's just nit-picking to home in on the odd imperfection. No keeper is mistake-proof. There was a pre-conceived notion that Smith was 'worse than Bursik' but he's come in and proved himself to be a safe pair of hands.
:agree::agree:
08-02-2025, 11:56 AM
Another solid game from Hibs No 1 goalie not much else to add.
08-02-2025, 12:02 PM
:agree: id be fine with the idea of signing a recognisable backup in the summer and leaving the bulk of our spending on other areas. We have our #1.
08-02-2025, 12:09 PM
I like him a lot.
08-02-2025, 12:14 PM
Thought he got a bit lucky with the one at the end last night. Not quite sure what he was doing in the first place as the ball was basically right down the middle but he reacted well to grab it at the second attempt. I thought the boy was just going to nod it in.
Earned his luck and he’s a safe pair of hands at the moment. He looks like someone who really appreciates playing here as well, which I like.
08-02-2025, 12:16 PM
Thought he got a bit lucky with the one at the end last night. Not quite sure what he was doing in the first place as the ball was basically right down the middle but he reacted well to grab it at the second attempt. I thought the boy was just going to nod it in.
Earned his luck and he’s a safe pair of hands at the moment. He looks like someone who really appreciates playing here as well, which I like.
If you see it back, it moves from left to right. He’s moved across to one side then has to change shape. He’s actually done well.
https://x.com/bbcsportscot/status/1887980442877329482?s=46&t=QWnDWrR3S2WtDOFfqS0zFA
08-02-2025, 12:23 PM
If you see it back, it moves from left to right. He’s moved across to one side then has to change shape. He’s actually done well.
https://x.com/bbcsportscot/status/1887980442877329482?s=46&t=QWnDWrR3S2WtDOFfqS0zFA
I was right behind it when it at the game and saw the movement on the but still think you’d be disappointed if that goes in. As I say, I thought he got a wee bit luck but he earned it, especially with the save in the first half when the boy was through. If we’d went 1-0 down last night I think we’d have been in a bit of trouble.
HFC93
08-02-2025, 12:26 PM
He's a solid Scottish Prem goalkeeper and I'm content with that after Bursik.
08-02-2025, 01:13 PM
Have another look, the ball swerves twice. It's a very good save and an excellent recovery.
Yip, changes directions at high speed, excellent save in the end.
Paul1642
08-02-2025, 01:24 PM
The funny thing about that, IMO they seemed like 3 very uninspiring signings + Rocky who I could happy have seen move on pre season. Meanwhile I thought Bursik was really exciting and Myko and Kwon were going to be the signings that defined our season.
Safe to say my opinion of all has changed drastically since November.
08-02-2025, 06:58 PM
:agree: id be fine with the idea of signing a recognisable backup in the summer and leaving the bulk of our spending on other areas. We have our #1.
Given our financial situation that seems sensible.
HibeeMackenzie
08-02-2025, 09:57 PM
He's the same height as De Gea, Neuer & Szczęsny. I would be quite happy for any of them to be coming out for crosses for Hibs :greengrin
Smith is 6’1, neuer and de gea are 6’4 and szczesny is 6’5
08-02-2025, 10:55 PM
He's the same height as De Gea, Neuer & Szczęsny. I would be quite happy for any of them to be coming out for crosses for Hibs :greengrin
Naw he's no
Cooshed Kid
09-02-2025, 04:24 AM
Smith is 6’1, neuer and de gea are 6’4 and szczesny is 6’5
I understand his mistake. From my eyelevel they all seem 7’ tall.
09-02-2025, 05:42 AM
Smith is 6’1, neuer and de gea are 6’4 and szczesny is 6’5I stand corrected :greengrin but he's hardly Warwick Davies.
09-02-2025, 08:01 AM
I stand corrected :greengrin but he's hardly Warwick Davies.Agreed, there's no way he'd have been trapped in that cage on Time Bandits.
Horses for courses. Jordan should stick to being a very good goalkeeper for Hibs.
09-02-2025, 09:32 AM
Jordan’s mum (Carol) already becoming a hibs mum on Twitter.. we need to sign her as well
Best hibs mum since kiwimum
09-02-2025, 11:13 AM
If another team in the league had Jordan Smith, we’d be looking at his stats and wanting to sign him.
Victor
09-02-2025, 11:58 AM
I must admit that I was a bit concerned after his first game, particularly about his height. But I now see that he is a very competent goalkeeper. He is very technically gifted as was mentioned by the BBC co-commentator on Friday night. His positioning is excellent and he makes some good saves look easy just because of where he is standing. It is also clear that he is popular with his fellow defenders who obviously get confidence knowing he is behind him.
cubehindthegoal
09-02-2025, 12:02 PM
Yip, changes directions at high speed, excellent save in the end.
Thought the same, lots of movement on the ball, good stop.
HFC93
09-02-2025, 01:59 PM
I've noticed that when Bursik was having a nightmare that Craig Samson was getting a lot of heat. Now that Smith is playing well I've not seen one person praise Samson. Just an observation.
09-02-2025, 02:56 PM
The funny thing about that, IMO they seemed like 3 very uninspiring signings + Rocky who I could happy have seen move on pre season. Meanwhile I thought Bursik was really exciting and Myko and Kwon were going to be the signings that defined our season.
Safe to say my opinion of all has changed drastically since November.
The Myko excitement surprised me when he signed. Thought he was decent enough first time round but not a stand out.
patlowe
09-02-2025, 11:02 PM
His handling is excellent, particularly when facing awkward bouncing shots/crosses - makes me think he works very hard on the fundamentals. Clearly also a good character to have around, looks like he is loving playing. Still think we need to recruit pretty urgently for depth in the position but happy to eat humble pie on Smith.
09-02-2025, 11:03 PM
I've noticed that when Bursik was having a nightmare that Craig Samson was getting a lot of heat. Now that Smith is playing well I've not seen one person praise Samson. Just an observation.
Wasn't Smith a recommendation from Marshall?
10-02-2025, 06:43 AM
Wasn't Smith a recommendation from Marshall?
Nick Colgan was his goalkeeper coach at Stockport when we signed him, not sure if that connection was relevant?
w pilton hibby
16-02-2025, 08:41 AM
A good read from the Scotsman
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-goalie-best-moment-of-career-mum-fans-social-media-love-in-nottingham-forest-4992368
16-02-2025, 08:56 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-goalie-best-moment-of-career-mum-fans-social-media-love-in-nottingham-forest-4992368
I love this. He really seems to be enjoying himself at Hibs after a shaky start. Heartwarming stuff.
16-02-2025, 09:00 AM
I love this. He really seems to be enjoying himself at Hibs after a shaky start. Heartwarming stuff.
Won’t let me read the article so don’t actually know what he’s saying.
But it’s good when you have a player who actually seems to appreciate what he has and who wants to do well for the club as well as himself.
16-02-2025, 10:19 AM
Brilliant interview :aok:
16-02-2025, 10:24 AM
Won’t let me read the article so don’t actually know what he’s saying.
But it’s good when you have a player who actually seems to appreciate what he has and who wants to do well for the club as well as himself.
Moved his family, bought a house, really appreciative of how much support he has had from club and the Hibs community. It's a nice positive article.
Paul1642
16-02-2025, 03:10 PM
I think we can put to bed the narrative that Smith is just decent enough until we can get someone better in. He’s been absolutely fantastic recently and more than good enough to remain out #1
16-02-2025, 03:11 PM
I think we can put to bed the narrative that Smith is just decent enough until we can get someone better in. He’s been absolutely fantastic recently and more than good enough to remain out #1
:agree: Get him an improved contract.
16-02-2025, 03:14 PM
Probably his best game for Hibs today that double save was top drawer
A safe pair of hands
Well done
Ribs1875
16-02-2025, 03:19 PM
He deserves to keep the gloves next season.
16-02-2025, 03:19 PM
It was his reaction more than the actual save for me
His speed to get back up, into position etc was top drawer
Well done Jordan, another good performance
16-02-2025, 03:25 PM
It was his reaction more than the actual save for me
His speed to get back up, into position etc was top drawer
Well done Jordan, another good performance
Yup. To even get into a position to make that save, much less make it, was top class. Doesn't come off his line much which I'm absolutely fine with as long as the back 4 are on r same page, which currently they are.
16-02-2025, 03:53 PM
His double-save in the 2nd half was magnificent. Stopped the 1-on-1 and then showed a really strong glove to keep out the rebound with a diving save.
Really like him - definitely good enough for us and links in well with our defenders.
cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 03:56 PM
As said before, if he is here next season and we add one more good keeper to give competition, while developing a younger goalie separately, then that will be sorted for next season.
Generally, goalie, defence, midfield and forward line are all being reformed and developed, players leaving that need to leave, and hopefully better ones in, and on a budget we can sustain I hope!
He's here!
16-02-2025, 04:07 PM
As said before, if he is here next season and we add one more good keeper to give competition, while developing a younger goalie separately, then that will be sorted for next season.
Generally, goalie, defence, midfield and forward line are all being reformed and developed, players leaving that need to leave, and hopefully better ones in, and on a budget we can sustain I hope!
Surely no question now that he should be here next season as our No 1. Best keeper we've had in years. Not just for his excellent goalkeeping ability but for the way he simply feels 'right' as part of the team.
I think when he was first brought in it was to take the heat off bursik but absolutely no doubt he is out number 1 . Seems to not only play well but really get the club and what it means to play
allmodcons
16-02-2025, 04:51 PM
I didn’t think he looked anything like a decent goalkeeper but has been really good during our unbeaten run.
Deserves tremendous credit and merits the praise he is receiving just now.
16-02-2025, 04:54 PM
We have our number one as far as I'm concerned, pleasantly surprised and delighted for the guy, obviously has the confidence of his defenders as well.
16-02-2025, 05:06 PM
Surely no question now that he should be here next season as our No 1. Best keeper we've had in years. Not just for his excellent goalkeeping ability but for the way he simply feels 'right' as part of the team.
I suppose it really depends who we bring in in the summer.
We will sign a keeper, our squad situation means we really have to, and if they are better than Smith then they will end up as number 1, if they aren't then they won't.
Smith has the gloves for now and he well deserves them, I don't think there is any dispute he is our number 1 right now. 6 months is a long time in football though and we don't know how we will look come August.
WeAreHibs
16-02-2025, 06:29 PM
He was outstanding today and agreed that he gets better every game. Bursik must be gutted how it's panned out for him but gonna be tough taking the gloves of super Jordan Smith!
16-02-2025, 06:31 PM
I honestly can't remember a better save from a Hibs keeper in my lifetime. That was world class.
He' our number one and I mean that for net season as well. God knows where we'd be in the league if we'd started him from the off.
16-02-2025, 10:05 PM
That second one in his double save is just mind boggling, how does he save that??
The St Mirren player absolutely leathers it as well, a quite outstanding save. Earned us a point in the end, well done Jordan.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
Musselbound
16-02-2025, 10:30 PM
Keep hearing that he won't be the Hibs goalie for the next couple of seasons. Don't know about that but based on recent form why not as I've seen a lot of worse Hibs keepers.
cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 10:42 PM
Yeh sure. I actually said he should be here with one other new goalie signing to compete for first team jersey when others were still having doubts about him here. He was doing better than those before at that point, and also showing signs of improving … so I guess we kind of agree!
16-02-2025, 10:45 PM
Keep hearing that he won't be the Hibs goalie for the next couple of seasons. Don't know about that but based on recent form why not as I've seen a lot of worse Hibs keepers.
Who would do better? Not many.
cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 11:05 PM
To me it’s simple. We want to find another good goalie to compete with him, in the summer, and keep our youth goalie progressing outwith that, and lose the two we know aren’t good enough for us.
16-02-2025, 11:36 PM
Really good read that. Love it when people buy into the club and Scottish football too. It gets maligned so often, I don't think the media in Scotland do it any favours but the standard, like he says, is far better than lower English league (which I've seen a fair bit) and moving to a city with as much to offer as Edinburgh must be a real treat for those who haven't experienced it. The city and quality of life available should be a very major draw for players we can afford.
cubehindthegoal
16-02-2025, 11:41 PM
Really good read that. Love it when people buy into the club and Scottish football too. It gets maligned so often, I don't think the media in Scotland do it any favours but the standard, like he says, is far better than lower English league (which I've seen a fair bit) and moving to a city with as much to offer as Edinburgh must be a real treat for those who haven't experienced it. The city and quality of life available should be a very major draw for players we can afford.
That’s true, and it’s up to our club to find the way to show that to prospective players, and hope they do. But, other places aren’t bad either, and will sell their positives - and quite rightly so - but hopefully we use all the real stuff we have to sell Hibs to the right players.
PHeffernan
16-02-2025, 11:53 PM
His wonder save today got us a point.
His confidence has visibly grown and he now looks confy during games.
I did a bit of research on all our new players in the summer and they have all played as I expected.
Jordan is the one who has exceeded what I expected having played so little football for years.
My only reservation is his height and he can't do anything about that.
Really pleased for the guy.
Cooshed Kid
17-02-2025, 07:30 AM
His wonder save today got us a point.
My only reservation is his height and he can't do anything about that.
Really pleased for the guy.
He seems a lot taller to my eyes now than he was back in the Kelty debacle. Well done, Jordan Smith! If Franco Baresi could be an all time great centre-back at 5'9" there's no need to fret over a 6'1" keeper when he has reactions like yours.
I was watching on TV and while it was largely a snoozefest that save literally had me jump out of my seat, clap and cheer. Just wonderful.
Donegal Hibby
17-02-2025, 09:35 AM
Smith’s double saves were really good , O’hara’s shot had plenty of power in it …
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1891162108902985979?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1891162108902985979%7Ctwgr% 5E%7Ctwcon%5Es1_&ref_url=
He's won me over with that save.
19-02-2025, 04:35 PM
Do we need a Jordan Smith's mum thread.https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1B8uDSwEs3/
20-02-2025, 09:32 AM
She probably needs a song.
20-02-2025, 10:07 AM
She probably needs a song too 👌
I like the idea of the Yaya/Kolo Toure song with Carol and Jordan Smith.
20-02-2025, 10:15 AM
Good shout. Stereophonics - Mr and Mrs Smith would take a few tweaks. Or may just one for the stadium announcer to play 😎🤔
Hibiza
20-02-2025, 10:20 AM
Keep it going Jordan and Carol.
20-02-2025, 10:22 AM
Good shout. Stereophonics - Mr and Mrs Smith would take a few tweaks. Or may just one for the stadium announcer to play 😎🤔
Ha! Maybe not. Once you get by the “she’s got style she’s got grace”bit it would need a fair tweak to the lyrics. 😳
22-02-2025, 01:25 PM
Liability today
22-02-2025, 01:35 PM
Liability today
Wtf?
22-02-2025, 01:35 PM
Liability today
That's a bit unfair. Made a mistake under pressure but also made some big saves.
22-02-2025, 01:37 PM
Liability today
One mistake, hardly a liability
Liability today
His team won. Get in there.
22-02-2025, 01:39 PM
One mistake, hardly a liability
2. Fortunately the ball went out of play before celtic equalised
It's not a mistake if the ball is out of play. Cheer up.
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 01:42 PM
FFS match barely ended in a 2-1 victory over top of the league team, an amazing team performance, and some folk can’t wait to knock us … got to ask why ? And why aren’t you feeling positive and celebrating ?
Totally weird.
22-02-2025, 01:44 PM
Jordan's mum has got it going on
She loves the green and white
And thinks the Hearts are *****
Carol, can't you see?
Your son is a Hibee
I know it might be wrong but
We're in love with Jordan's mum
kentao
22-02-2025, 01:44 PM
Willing to cut him a bit of slack he's part of the team that is now unbeaten in 13 and has more than contributed in keeping that run going. Poor mistake today but if the referee done his job with the penalty decision the game may have been easier to watch towards the end. Chin up smudge but i am expecting a Conrad Logan type performance in the cup :greengrin
cameronw-hfc
22-02-2025, 01:46 PM
Some folk on here absolutely desperate to have a go at certain players btw.
Well done again Smudge. Had better games but it happens to everyone and we won so all that matters.
The Tubs
22-02-2025, 01:47 PM
With the shifty referees we have, I actually wonder if he was afraid of steaming out and giving a penalty. It could have easily been on his mind.
22-02-2025, 01:48 PM
That's a bit unfair. Made a mistake under pressure but also made some big saves.
though i won't join in with others berating him, he wasn't under pressure at that goal
22-02-2025, 01:49 PM
Bad mistake for the goal but had some good moments too. We need a keeper to challenge him, that's a given, but no cause for panic.
22-02-2025, 01:50 PM
Liability todayAye, enjoy yer day mate :hilarious
jonny
Jordan's mum has got it going on
She loves the green and white
And thinks the Hearts are *****
Carol, can't you see?
Your son is a Hibee
I know it might be wrong but
We're in love with Jordan's mum
10/10
Liability today
Away and s***e in your hat.
FFS match barely ended in a 2-1 victory over top of the league team, an amazing team performance, and some folk can’t wait to knock us … got to ask why ? And why aren’t you feeling positive and celebrating ?
Totally weird.
100%. Have just beaten the best team in the country, who we haven't beaten in a meaningful game in years, who have multiple times our budget, leaving us with our longest unbeaten run in over 45 years, and still criticism happens. P*sses me off.
ChicoM1875
22-02-2025, 01:53 PM
Liability today
Itsnoteasy to be that much of a bell end
richard_pitts
22-02-2025, 01:53 PM
liability today
ltyf
HendoDelivered
22-02-2025, 02:04 PM
Dont care about his mistake today, he’s been class and everyone makes a mistake, just so happens its scrutinised more when its a keeper.
Smudge had been top for us and i wouldn’t be in a rush to sign another no.1, he is the least of our worries.
22-02-2025, 02:08 PM
His second mistake for us in a performance where he made another great save. We won, we move on.
Cooshed Kid
22-02-2025, 02:09 PM
I said before, he has banked a huge amount of goodwill over the last dozen games. A moment's hesitation as he doubtless recalled the penalty which he conceded in Dingwall doesn't diminish it in the slightest. He played his part well and was a hero today along with the rest.
22-02-2025, 02:14 PM
Wtf?
Tell me what he was doing for Celtics first goal? He ended up of the f k n pitch. He should have went through Maeda like a dose of the 💩s
andrew_dundee
22-02-2025, 02:15 PM
I suspect the risk of a penalty will have been on his mind, especially against Celtic.
If he was a keeper who never made a mistake he would be at a better team than Hibs.
He's been a big part in our recovery and deserves lots of credit.
22-02-2025, 02:18 PM
Tell me what he was doing for Celtics first goal? He ended up of the f k n pitch. He should have went through Maeda like a dose of the 💩s
He made a mistake. It happens.
How many misplaced passes where there? How many times did people let their man run off them? How many times did the forwards mistime their run and end up offside?
Smiths mistake is highlighted because it costs us a goal. It's a bad one. I know that, he'll know that, Gray will know that but what do you want him to do? Offer himself as a sacrifice in the centre circle by way of an apology? He saved us a point last week. He made a mistake today. That's football.
22-02-2025, 02:19 PM
I suspect the risk of a penalty will have been on his mind, especially against Celtic.
If he was a keeper who never made a mistake he would be at a better team than Hibs.
He's been a big part in our recovery and deserves lots of credit.
A keeper that doesn't make mistakes doesn't exist. England's number one Pickford makes plenty of howlers to name just one.
cubehindthegoal
100%. Have just beaten the best team in the country, who we haven't beaten in a meaningful game in years, who have multiple times our budget, leaving us with our longest unbeaten run in over 45 years, and still criticism happens. P*sees me off.
It’s unbelievable … joined the match day thread today, and couldn’t believe some of the negativity WHILE “supporting” the club from a few who say nothing about the positives they see, but jump in if anything negative happens, presumably to stir negative feelings. I’ll leave the questioning why in my own thoughts. Makes me wonder though.
Totally weird.
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 02:20 PM
A keeper that doesn't make mistakes doesn't exist. England's number one Pickford makes plenty of howlers to name just one.
Very good point.
22-02-2025, 02:23 PM
He made a mistake. It happens.
How many misplaced passes where there? How many times did people let their man run off them? How many times did the forwards mistime their run and end up offside?
Smiths mistake is highlighted because it costs us a goal. It's a bad one. I know that, he'll know that, Gray will know that but what do you want him to do? Offer himself as a sacrifice in the centre circle by way of an apology? He saved us a point last week. He made a mistake today. That's football.
Yip, and that point we got last week will be massive for us in the run in, if there wasn’t any mistakes in football then it would be pretty boring.
He's done fairly well since he's came in and some games has been very good, it's obvious his form has had a positive impact on the defence in front of him, yes he made a mistake and it could've been costly but it wasn't. Do we need better possibly but we do need another strong keeper to come in during the summer to compete for that no.1 spot.
Bridge hibs
22-02-2025, 02:25 PM
Liability today
Och away and have a lie doon ffs 🤣
Bridge hibs
22-02-2025, 02:26 PM
1st goal ? They only scored 1 goal 🤣
22-02-2025, 02:28 PM
Been doing great not the tallest think that has maybe held him back when at Forest good keeper tho
Bridge hibs
22-02-2025, 02:31 PM
Been doing great not the tallest think that has maybe held him back when at Forest good keeper tho
Really ? It never held Kasper Schmeichel back and he is only 1 inch taller than Smith
Donegal Hibby
22-02-2025, 02:32 PM
I thought he was 6’1 ?
Helensburghhibs
22-02-2025, 02:32 PM
I've not seen their goal yet but he made another couple of big saves in the first half
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 02:36 PM
1st goal ? They only scored 1 goal 🤣
I wondered about that. Very telling.
He's here!
22-02-2025, 02:38 PM
Liability today
What kind of standards do you hold Hibs players to? The guy's been terrific since coming in and was key to maintaining our unbeaten run last weekend. One error since November hardly makes him a liability.
It's the sort of comment a bitter yam would make.
22-02-2025, 02:39 PM
I think he'll bounce back quickly, I don't think today will affect him. He's not really my idea of a Hibs keeper but you've got to give him credit on being a steadying influence.
22-02-2025, 02:49 PM
He's done fairly well since he's came in and some games has been very good, it's obvious his form has had a positive impact on the defence in front of him, yes he made a mistake and it could've been costly but it wasn't. Do we need better possibly but we do need another strong keeper to come in during the summer to compete for that no.1 spot.
Fairly well?! 2nd best save % in the league.
All Keepers make the occasional mistake. Hes class.
22-02-2025, 02:58 PM
Enjoy the win ffs
22-02-2025, 03:04 PM
Is that you Josef?
22-02-2025, 03:06 PM
Thought he should've taken charge at the goal and thought he was guilty of stopping for the "second".
Other than that, thought he was fine. Didn't really have too much to do.
But coming on to dig him out after this result is strange behaviour though
HibsGW
22-02-2025, 03:08 PM
Liability today
Haha great patter. What other faults were there today let’s get a list going and focus on the negatives.
22-02-2025, 03:18 PM
He maybe made a mistake, all players do . Keepers pay a higher price.
We won by the way, Celtic only scored one goal. If you are still looking for scapegoats after a really good win like todays then maybe football isn’t for you. Chill. :greengrin
22-02-2025, 03:23 PM
My concern would be that their goal wasn't a mistake from him. He literally crapped himself and pulled out of any challenge.
22-02-2025, 03:35 PM
Ronnie Simpson 5ft 10"
Andy Goram 5ft 11"
Jim Leighton 6ft 1"
3 of the greatest goalies to wear the green, not so sure it held them back.
22-02-2025, 03:36 PM
My concern would be that their goal wasn't a mistake from him. He literally crapped himself and pulled out of any challenge.Literally?
22-02-2025, 03:40 PM
Literally?
I wouldnt care if he did a full Lineker.
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 03:41 PM
Literally?
They’re washing the pitch and pants as we speak 🙄
He was trying to read the bounce and if it was going out and all, is my guess, though only he knows … he misread all of it and the situation. A mistake. Celtic players made the odd mistake today too. In fact, every player on that park did. Overall is what counts, and overall he deserves credit, as he has played a big part of the run since early December.
roo62
22-02-2025, 03:49 PM
Fairly well?! 2nd best save % in the league.
All Keepers make the occasional mistake. Hes class.
Craig Gordon one of the best keepers in the league has quietly been making mistakes the last few games spilling balls or parrying out into bad areas and seems to get away without criticism. Our keeper made a worldy double save last week to get us a point. One of the best saves of the season I have seen. Making a mistake when you win is no big deal and he has loads of credit in the bank from this brilliant run. He has been great for us and if he had started the season I feel we would be sitting in 3rd place today.
Donegal Hibby
22-02-2025, 03:55 PM
There was an earlier chance for them in the game similar to the one they scored from which Smith done the same in making himself big where he blocked the shot , it was just unfortunate it didn’t happen again on their goal ..
Still a good keeper and why anyone is looking for something to moan about is a bit mad . We don’t beat them that often so enjoy the moment :thumbsup:
22-02-2025, 03:59 PM
He was not great for their disallowed goal. Tbh he didn’t have much to do today. And when needed didn’t do ideal.
Overall tho he has done well to steady the ship after the disaster that was Burisk.
22-02-2025, 04:00 PM
Craig Gordon one of the best keepers in the league has quietly been making mistakes the last few games spilling balls or parrying out into bad areas and seems to get away without criticism. Our keeper made a worldy double save last week to get us a point. One of the best saves of the season I have seen. Making a mistake when you win is no big deal and he has loads of credit in the bank from this brilliant run. He has been great for us and if he had started the season I feel we would be sitting in 3rd place today.
Your forgetting he was part of that embarrassing defeat to Kelty.
22-02-2025, 04:02 PM
You are clearly just trolling now to get a reaction
22-02-2025, 04:03 PM
Like any goalie he makes mistakes as long as he dont make that many he does for me.
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 04:07 PM
Do you search for these gaps to bring Hibs down with ?
It’s been a good day ✅
Donegal Hibby
22-02-2025, 04:10 PM
During the war ….
22-02-2025, 04:11 PM
Have a word. He was not to blame for that game and your search for a negative on a day like is today is pitiful.
He's here!
22-02-2025, 04:14 PM
My concern would be that their goal wasn't a mistake from him. He literally crapped himself and pulled out of any challenge.
Literally?
Bridge hibs
22-02-2025, 04:24 PM
He fluffed a ****ing cross in that game, the best keepers in the world have done that, how about giving the guy some credit, the Ayr game in particular he kept us in it, St Mirren last week with a class save, why the **** are you hell bent on picking out the negatives ? We won today against a team that are miles ahead of anyone in our league and he played a big part in that today.
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 04:25 PM
Literally?
See above..
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 04:26 PM
He fluffed a ****ing cross in that game, the best keepers in the world have done that, how about giving the guy some credit, the Ayr game in particular he kept us in it, St Mirren last week with a class save, why the **** are you hell bent on picking out the negatives ? We won today against a team that are miles ahead of anyone in our league and he played a big part in that today.
The poster you refer to is looking hard to find things to pull Hibs down, imho.
22-02-2025, 04:27 PM
Jordan Smith has been excellent for us 90% of the times he's played.
He's class at the dark arts side of the game as well.
Love the guy.
kentao
22-02-2025, 04:33 PM
What I liked about him today was yes he made 2 mistakes 1 costly but after the disallowed goal Celtic had another chance to fire a cross over which he claimed with a confident catch. It would have been easy for him to punch / flap at it which showed great mental character.
22-02-2025, 04:37 PM
The undercover ones are struggling to get negative today, long may it last.
22-02-2025, 05:05 PM
Did your team not play today?
22-02-2025, 05:50 PM
Your forgetting he was part of that embarrassing defeat to Kelty.Then imagine getting beat by Brora....LTYF
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
22-02-2025, 05:56 PM
I've seen Goram and Leighton make worse mistakes than Smith did today.
Smith also made a tremendous save in the first half. Still delighted he's here.
22-02-2025, 05:57 PM
Jordan Smith has been excellent for us 90% of the times he's played.
He's class at the dark arts side of the game as well.
Love the guy.
22-02-2025, 06:00 PM
He definitely froze at the goal for some reason but thankfully for him it didn't cost us the result. Glad for him as he has been outstanding for us over the past few weeks.
22-02-2025, 06:23 PM
Rage bait doesn't bring in ad revenue on here mate.
22-02-2025, 06:26 PM
Watch Villas second goal today for a goalkeeping howler.
23-02-2025, 06:35 AM
Saw some criticism for the disallowed goal but for me that was more on Marv. He didn’t connect with the ball properly when he should’ve been belting it into the stand. Smith of course had a howler for the goal that stood but he’s got more than enough credit in the bank.
7Hero
23-02-2025, 07:13 AM
He's been brilliant for us since his first match where he looked ropey, he's had a couple stinkers yesterday though, no denying that. But more than happy to let him off with it, even if that second goal had stood..
Hes still a far better option than bursek and him and the defense have been outstanding..
Silky
23-02-2025, 07:58 AM
Yeah, I've seen countless keeper's over the years make errors, many worse than Smith's yesterday. He's been great for us during this run and, for me, that's the big thing. He's in an unfortunate position being the keeper as he's the one scrutinised, yet there were errors and mistakes made before the ball even came near him for Celtic's goal. Generally. Teams have 10 other players to get past before they get a shot away, that's probably where the critics should be looking before taking the easy option to have a go at the keeper.
23-02-2025, 08:04 AM
Do you search for these gaps to bring Hibs down with ?
It’s been a good day ✅
Good day it has been a tremendous day 😄
23-02-2025, 08:07 AM
He was due a mistake as he'd been pretty flawless so far.
Brilliant that it ended up not costing us anything and he was neat and tidy outside of their goal and disallowed goal.
Every goalkeeper makes mistakes, the best move on and go for ages without making another. That's what he now needs to do.
CJHibby
23-02-2025, 08:10 AM
Jordan had a bad game, having played well in the last few weeks. It is hopefully lucky he made mistakes in a win and not a draw or loss as goalies thrive on confidence or toil when nervous.
23-02-2025, 08:13 AM
Glad for him we still won as the first goal definitely gave them a lift and changed the game as think we were relatively comfortable at that time. He will know he made an error however has been very good for us recently.
23-02-2025, 08:14 AM
We got away with one with Smith. We are so lucky he has turned out as well as he has done , when it was way past the point of of Bursik needing dropped , in came smith who everyone had written off as rubbish. We looked like we were heading for relegation, but have ended up in a fight for 3rd. You dont see transformation like that without a decent goalie
CJHibby
23-02-2025, 08:27 AM
As I said, he has done well before but yesterday was 'a bad day at the office' for Smith but luckily during a great win for the team.
23-02-2025, 08:30 AM
As I said, he has done well before but yesterday was 'a bad day at the office' for Smith but luckily during a great win for the team.
We beat Celtic 2-1. It wasn’t a bad day at the office for anyone on the pitch.
23-02-2025, 08:33 AM
Other than the goal I'm not sure he done that much wrong for it to be considered a bad day at the office(someone will be along just now to mention celtics disallowed goal) his handling was fine, couple of decent saves also. Wouldn't have said a bad day at the office at all
23-02-2025, 08:37 AM
He made one mistake and that one could be put down to a bit of indecision.
23-02-2025, 08:41 AM
A bit of a misunderstanding where he seemed to think Rocky was dealing with the ball.
He cost us 0 points and has saved us a few, so still well in credit
I would like to see a standout number 1 brought in, but pleasantly surprised with his general level of performance.
23-02-2025, 12:43 PM
I think he is improving with each game and I think he will play his part in us grabbing 3rd place. Yes I would be critical of him at the first goal, but he helped to keep them out on a few occassions, for a rare win. I do think we need a stand out keeper, with Smith as a very good 2nd choice keeper.
23-02-2025, 12:53 PM
Smith made some good saves yesterday, the goal was a lucky break for them, he’s making a few decent saves every game and is contributing hugely to this run.
Long may he keep the gloves.
He's here!
23-02-2025, 12:56 PM
A bit of a misunderstanding where he seemed to think Rocky was dealing with the ball.
He cost us 0 points and has saved us a few, so still well in credit
I would like to see a standout number 1 brought in, but pleasantly surprised with his general level of performance.
That's exactly it. There was just a moment of breakdown in communication between keeper and defender in an otherwise superb defensive display.
23-02-2025, 12:58 PM
That's exactly it. There was just a moment of breakdown in communication between keeper and defender in an otherwise superb defensive display.
:agree: And we only get punished because Maeda is lightning. Doesn't get punished against any other team in the league.
23-02-2025, 02:11 PM
100% at fault for their goal yesterday and didn’t cover himself in glory for the disallowed one either.
Jock O
23-02-2025, 02:31 PM
:agree: And we only get punished because Maeda is lightning. Doesn't get punished against any other team in the league.
I agree with this, at the game i said Maeda was in when no one was expecting him to, Rocky stepped forward I think assuming it was going into goalies arms, and Smith definitely hesitated, he will think he could do better definitely, but it was actually a horrible ball in and landed horribly, It was a complete miskick/slice, 9 times out of 10 that was above waist height and easier for keeper to pick up. I think we all know Smith's weakness is coming out for ball, and this showed it, but it was by no means a bog standard save. He hesitated and Maeda was ridiculously quick, both in thought and execution.
Hopefully he will just think what should I do in that scenario next time and move on
23-02-2025, 05:31 PM
Liability today
This comment scores very highly on my patented fud-o-meter :cb
23-02-2025, 07:26 PM
We got away with one with Smith. We are so lucky he has turned out as well as he has done , when it was way past the point of of Bursik needing dropped , in came smith who everyone had written off as rubbish. We looked like we were heading for relegation, but have ended up in a fight for 3rd. You dont see transformation like that without a decent goalie
The scouting team said at the time of his signing he'd been one they 'd been watching for a long time and they rated him highly - was he just back from a spell injured? Looks like they did their work well in any case.
He's here!
23-02-2025, 07:43 PM
I agree with this, at the game i said Maeda was in when no one was expecting him to, Rocky stepped forward I think assuming it was going into goalies arms, and Smith definitely hesitated, he will think he could do better definitely, but it was actually a horrible ball in and landed horribly, It was a complete miskick/slice, 9 times out of 10 that was above waist height and easier for keeper to pick up. I think we all know Smith's weakness is coming out for ball, and this showed it, but it was by no means a bog standard save. He hesitated and Maeda was ridiculously quick, both in thought and execution.
Hopefully he will just think what should I do in that scenario next time and move on
Agreed. That's not really been picked up on. It's what caused the momentary hesitation between Rocky and Smith.
As you say, by no means a bog standard save.
Cost us nothing in the end anyway.
23-02-2025, 07:52 PM
23-02-2025, 07:54 PM
100% at fault for their goal yesterday and didn’t cover himself in glory for the disallowed one either.
Bit more balanced to also point out he made an excellent save though as well and his handling for the rest of the game was solid.
24-02-2025, 07:34 AM
You are clearly just trolling now to get a reaction
Hardly trolling, just stating the obvious.
24-02-2025, 07:35 AM
Watch what your saying, you'll be classed as a Jambo or a troll.
24-02-2025, 07:41 AM
:singing::singing:“Smudger Smith…Smudger Smith..he’s the famous Smudger Smith and he plays for The Hi-Bees” :singing:
:flag::flag:
24-02-2025, 07:44 AM
Made a brilliant save from Johnston in the first half.
The goal was the result of a bit of a freak miss-kick, give the guy a break.
24-02-2025, 08:12 AM
Hardly trolling, just stating the obvious.
I'll stick with my opinion thanks
TrinityHFC
24-02-2025, 08:15 AM
Watch what your saying, you'll be classed as a Jambo or a troll.
Obviously it is the way some things are said eh?
When players have been really good for extended period a little leeway should be allowed. This set of players should have earned a little respect in how they are spoken about. That doesn't mean they can't be criticised, of course not.
Bushwoof
24-02-2025, 09:22 AM
Smith is starting to look like the best keeper we've had since Leighton. Great save on Saturday 1st half. Unbelievable double save the previous week. Does these regularly. Where are we likely to find better to be our 1st choice?
24-02-2025, 09:42 AM
It was a really odd goal to concede and really poor.
But honestly, who cares?
We beat Celtic and that’s all that matters. I’m still buzzing from it
Enjoy it
itslegaltender
24-02-2025, 11:04 AM
Cant deny Smith has done well in our run, I would say he has had a good bit of luck during that time (think the last minute save against Ayr as example). Celtics goal was very poor from him, the disallowed goal again, looked poor. For some to say he is the best since Leighton....
We need better.
HIBS NUTS
24-02-2025, 11:22 AM
Cant deny Smith has done well in our run, I would say he has had a good bit of luck during that time (think the last minute save against Ayr as example). Celtics goal was very poor from him, the disallowed goal again, looked poor. For some to say he is the best since Leighton....
We need better.
The second goal, I thought the goalie and defenders thought the cross ball was out, Smith actually puts the ball on the six yard line for a bye kick during the check.
hibsforeurope
24-02-2025, 12:44 PM
Smith has been excellent during his spell in goals and pulled off some top saves. But if bursik had given away that goal on Saturday and the fumble at the 2nd goal this place would be in melt down.
I’m in no way calling for a change but there’s still room for improvement.
24-02-2025, 12:49 PM
Smith has been excellent during his spell in goals and pulled off some top saves. But if bursik had given away that goal on Saturday and the fumble at the 2nd goal this place would be in melt down.
I’m in no way calling for a change but there’s still room for improvement.
Jordan Smith has built up a fair bit of credit with a string of impressive performances in our current run. Other than a couple of decent saves at Ibrox, Bursik has zero credit. There’s a big difference.
Donegal Hibby
24-02-2025, 12:59 PM
Made a brilliant save from Johnston in the first half.
The goal was the result of a bit of a freak miss-kick, give the guy a break.
I think the ball had spin on it from the mis-kick and for a moment Smith thought about going for it only to realise it was closer to Maeda .
They got a lucky break . Save from Johnston and his handling throughout the game was good . Happy with Smudge as our No 1 .
24-02-2025, 01:31 PM
Jordan Smith has built up a fair bit of credit with a string of impressive performances in our current run. Other than a couple of decent saves at Ibrox, Bursik has zero credit. There’s a big difference.
Jordan Smith looks like a goalkeeper. Josef Bursik looks like we dragged a sales assistant out of WH Smith and threw him between the sticks.
Franck Le God
24-02-2025, 08:53 PM
Saved us more points than he’s cost us. That’ll do me.
24-02-2025, 09:54 PM
A goalie is under constant pressure playing against Celtic. Any mistake is far more likely to result in a goal compared to a mistake in any other game. He made a mistake and a goal resulted-doesn’t mean he’s not a good keeper.
24-02-2025, 10:29 PM
We need better.
I seen Leighton make worse mistakes for Hibs than Smith has.
People need to get over the idea that a keeper can't make mistakes. They all do. He's been brilliant for us.
shetlandhibee
24-02-2025, 11:20 PM
I seen Leighton make worse mistakes for Hibs than Smith has.
People need to get over the idea that a keeper can't make mistakes. They all do. He's been brilliant for us.:agree::top marks
25-02-2025, 07:16 AM
Smith is starting to look like the best keeper we've had since Leighton. Great save on Saturday 1st half. Unbelievable double save the previous week. Does these regularly. Where are we likely to find better to be our 1st choice?
Steady
25-02-2025, 07:59 AM
Steady
I don't know. It sounds like hyperbole and I wouldn't go that far but it's not exactly rich pickings so he's fairly high up the list.
Leighton - Leighton
Reid - Smith
Gottskalkson - Smith
Gunn - Smith
Colgan - Smith
Franks - Smith
Caig - Smith
Andersson - Andersson
Hyldgaard - Smith
A. Brown - Smith
S. Brown - Smith
Malkowski - Smith
McNeill - Smith
Ma- Kalambay - Smith
Grof -Smith
Szamatoulski - Smith (although had the former played more games he's have been a contender)
Stack - Smith
G. Smith - J. Smith
Divis - Smith
M. Brown - Smith
Williams - Smith (former was massively overrated imo)
Murdoch - Smith
Oxley - Smith
Pernteou - Smith
Virtanen - Smith
Logan - Smith (awaiting the outrage but it's true. Logan had a game for the ages and will also be a legend for it but beyond that he was bang average. His mistakes in the play offs v Falkirk and Raith were worse than anything Smith has done)
Marciano - Marciano
Laidlaw - Smith (but closer than a lot of the rest, Ross was a similar type of steady Eddie to Smith)
Bell - Smith
Bogdan - Bogdan (still the one that got away for me)
Maxwell - Smith
Barnes - Smith
Macey - Smith (again fairly close, another steady Eddie type)
Dabrowski - Smith
Marshall - Smith
Wollacott - Smith
Boruc - Smith (probably, I've only seen Boruc in the 1st team twice)
Bursik - Smith
That's just my opinion. Some I think are slam dunks, others there might be some debate but Smith is definitely right up there as our best since Leighton. You can argue that says plenty about some of our signings for the position over the years of course.
25-02-2025, 08:03 AM
I don't know. It sounds like hyperbole and I wouldn't go that far but it's not exactly rich pickings so he's fairly high up the list.
Leighton - Leighton
Reid - Smith
Gottskalkson - Smith
Gunn - Smith
Colgan - Smith
Franks - Smith
Caig - Smith
Andersson - Andersson
Hyldgaard - Smith
A. Brown - Smith
S. Brown - Smith
Malkowski - Smith
McNeill - Smith
Ma- Kalambay - Smith
Grof -Smith
Szamatoulski - Smith (although had the former played more games he's have been a contender)
Stack - Smith
G. Smith - J. Smith
Divis - Smith
M. Brown - Smith
Murdoch - Smith
Oxley - Smith
Pernteou - Smith
Virtanen - Smith
Logan - Smith (awaiting the outrage but it's true. Logan had a game for the ages and will also be a legend for it but beyond that he was bang average. His mistakes in the play offs v Falkirk and Raith were worse than anything Smith has done)
Marciano - Marciano
Laidlaw - Smith (but closer than a lot of the rest, Ross was a similar type of steady Eddie to Smith)
Bell - Smith
Maxwell - Smith
Barnes - Smith
Dabrowski - Smith
Marshall - Smith
Wollacott - Smith
Bursik - Smith
That's just my opinion. Some I think are slam dunks, others there might be some debate but Smith is definitely right up there as our best since Leighton. You can argue that says plenty about some of our signings for the position over the years of course.
A lot of this list gave me PTSD. Agree with pretty much all of them though.
Bob1875
25-02-2025, 08:06 AM
He’s a nice guy but still not good enough. If VAR hadn’t intervened he was weak at both Celtic goals, Ross county away aswell. As i said nice guy and steady enough but still weak in far too many big moments for us.
25-02-2025, 08:10 AM
He’s a nice guy but still not good enough. If VAR hadn’t intervened he was weak at both Celtic goals, Ross county away aswell. As i said nice guy and steady enough but still weak in far too many big moments for us.
You will struggle to find a goalie good enough to play for Hibs.
The list from Pretty Boy sums it up for me.
25-02-2025, 09:06 AM
There wasn't a "both celtic goals" the ball was out so doesn't really matter what happened after that, there is also not a keeper on the planet that doesn't make a mistake every now and again. The best keepers in the game make mistakes, it happens.
25-02-2025, 09:13 AM
There wasn't a "both celtic goals" the ball was out so doesn't really matter what happened after that, there is also not a keeper on the planet that doesn't make a mistake every now and again. The best keepers in the game make mistakes, it happens. if smith had done his job at the 2nd disallowed goal then we wouldn’t be debating if the ball was in our out. I do agree tho he is a decent keeper.
25-02-2025, 09:23 AM
Leighton - Leighton
Reid - Smith
Gottskalkson - Smith
Gunn - Smith
Colgan - Smith
Franks - Smith
Caig - Smith
Andersson - Andersson
Hyldgaard - Smith
A. Brown - Smith
S. Brown - Smith
Malkowski - Smith
McNeill - Smith
Ma- Kalambay - Smith
Grof -Smith
Stack - Smith
G. Smith - J. Smith
Divis - Smith
M. Brown - Smith
Murdoch - Smith
Oxley - Smith
Pernteou - Smith
Virtanen - Smith
Marciano - Marciano
Bell - Smith
Maxwell - Smith
Barnes - Smith
Dabrowski - Smith
Marshall - Smith
Wollacott - Smith
Bursik - Smith
Agree with all these - Williams had a streak of penalty saves that bumped his stature as a goalkeeper. Logan as well, hero for specific reasons but had some stinkers too.
25-02-2025, 09:38 AM
if smith had done his job at the 2nd disallowed goal then we wouldn’t be debating if the ball was in our out. I do agree tho he is a decent keeper.
Too much being made of Smith at the second "goal" IMO. Ekpiteta way more at fault.
25-02-2025, 10:51 AM
Leighton - Leighton
Reid - Smith
Gottskalkson - Smith
Gunn - Smith
Colgan - Smith
Franks - Smith
Caig - Smith
Andersson - Andersson
Hyldgaard - Smith
A. Brown - Smith
S. Brown - Smith
Malkowski - Smith
McNeill - Smith
Ma- Kalambay - Smith
Grof -Smith
Stack - Smith
G. Smith - J. Smith
Divis - Smith
M. Brown - Smith
Murdoch - Smith
Oxley - Smith
Pernteou - Smith
Virtanen - Smith
Marciano - Marciano
Bell - Smith
Maxwell - Smith
Barnes - Smith
Dabrowski - Smith
Marshall - Smith
Wollacott - Smith
Bursik - Smith
I agree with that, and looking at the list shows you just how much sheite we've had between the sticks, with the odd brilliant one.:boo hoo:
25-02-2025, 11:09 PM
Schmeichel getting done at this near post tonight:
https://x.com/ScotlandSky/status/1894505910120100116
Wouldn't be good enough for Hibs making an error like that.
25-02-2025, 11:16 PM
Leighton - Leighton
Reid - Smith
Gottskalkson - Smith
Gunn - Smith
Colgan - Smith
Franks - Smith
Caig - Smith
Andersson - Andersson
Hyldgaard - Smith
A. Brown - Smith
S. Brown - Smith
Malkowski - Smith
McNeill - Smith
Ma- Kalambay - Smith
Grof -Smith
Stack - Smith
G. Smith - J. Smith
Divis - Smith
M. Brown - Smith
Murdoch - Smith
Oxley - Smith
Pernteou - Smith
Virtanen - Smith
Marciano - Marciano
Bell - Smith
Maxwell - Smith
Barnes - Smith
Dabrowski - Smith
Marshall - Smith
Wollacott - Smith
Bursik - Smith
I rated Bryan Gunn and he didn't play many more games for us than Szamutolski did. The latter was a very good keeper. You are correct though. Smith is right up there on that list!
spudhib
26-02-2025, 11:19 PM
Probably his shakiest game tonight since the 3-3 with the sheep hopefully out his system for Sunday.
26-02-2025, 11:24 PM
Leighton - Leighton
Reid - Smith
Gottskalkson - Smith
Gunn - Smith
Colgan - Smith
Franks - Smith
Caig - Smith
Andersson - Andersson
Hyldgaard - Smith
A. Brown - Smith
S. Brown - Smith
Malkowski - Smith
McNeill - Smith
Ma- Kalambay - Smith
Grof -Smith
Stack - Smith
G. Smith - J. Smith
Divis - Smith
M. Brown - Smith
Murdoch - Smith
Oxley - Smith
Pernteou - Smith
Virtanen - Smith
Marciano - Marciano
Bell - Smith
Maxwell - Smith
Barnes - Smith
Dabrowski - Smith
Marshall - Smith
Wollacott - Smith
Bursik - Smith
Tbh, saying he's better than most of the keepers we've had in recent years is the definition of damning with faint praise 😂.
27-02-2025, 12:50 AM
Got his positioning wrong for their disallowed goal and spilled it a bit after Sibbald's (offside) shot.
I like him, just makes wee errors he doesn't need to.
CallumHibs07
27-02-2025, 01:08 AM
Better GK essential for the summer.
West lower
27-02-2025, 01:28 AM
He’s ours now so gets my support, but sadly he is a bombscare waiting to happen when it matters. Been there before. Hope he makes me eat my words.
Earlydelivery
27-02-2025, 03:35 AM
Not convinced .. think we need better .
Silky
27-02-2025, 05:40 AM
if smith had done his job at the 2nd disallowed goal then we wouldn’t be debating if the ball was in our out. I do agree tho he is a decent keeper.
I think that argument t applies more to his 10 team mates than be honest. Ball should never have got to Smith in the first place.
27-02-2025, 05:59 AM
Show me a keeper that doesn’t make a mistake from time to time and I’ll show you the greatest goalie of all time.
He’s been very good for us and a couple of errors doesn’t change my view of him.
27-02-2025, 06:00 AM
Only real option we have at the moment so needs the crowd’s backing in every game.
27-02-2025, 06:03 AM
He made a mistake, so what, we still won.
What about the guy that made a mistake for the foul from where the cross came in from?
What about the mistake from super dooper plukey Gordon v St Mirren in the cup? It’s forgotten about as they won.
Jordan Smith is one of the reasons this team have turned things around. We’re 14 unbeaten and 1 defeat in 16 or so. I think he has it in the bank to make a mistake or so.
27-02-2025, 06:14 AM
Leighton - Leighton
Reid - Smith
Gottskalkson - Smith
Gunn - Smith
Colgan - Smith
Franks - Smith
Caig - Smith
Andersson - Andersson
Hyldgaard - Smith
A. Brown - Smith
S. Brown - Smith
Malkowski - Smith
McNeill - Smith
Ma- Kalambay - Smith
Grof -Smith
Stack - Smith
G. Smith - J. Smith
Divis - Smith
M. Brown - Smith
Murdoch - Smith
Oxley - Smith
Pernteou - Smith
Virtanen - Smith
Marciano - Marciano
Bell - Smith
Maxwell - Smith
Barnes - Smith
Dabrowski - Smith
Marshall - Smith
Wollacott - Smith
Bursik - Smith
You're being harsh on Williams and Marshall there IMO, but not by much. Also, so many of the keepers on that list give me the absolute fear.
27-02-2025, 06:14 AM
We need better. Hope he can get through Sunday with no errors.
supermcginn
27-02-2025, 06:43 AM
He is a good shot stopper but at crosses he is a liability, either misses the ball completely or produces a weak punch. He won't be first choice next season but he'll do as back up.
27-02-2025, 07:26 AM
Show me a keeper that doesn’t make a mistake from time to time and I’ll show you the greatest goalie of all time.
He’s been very good for us and a couple of errors doesn’t change my view of him.
Dight
27-02-2025, 07:38 AM
The second goal, I thought the goalie and defenders thought the cross ball was out, Smith actually puts the ball on the six yard line for a bye kick during the check.
Almost as if he had been in a good position to see whether the ball had gone out of play.
27-02-2025, 07:48 AM
I think it was all a bit OTT how good he was and worry it will all go a bit OTT as to how bad he is if he makes another couple of mistakes.
He's a decent enough keeper. He'll be a steady pair of hands for the most part until the end of the season and is certainly better than the alternative.
I never bought into the 'we'll never find better, he's our number 1 indefinitely' narrative though. We should always be striving for better in every position. We need a keeper in the summer anyway and it should absolutely be someone who is coming in with ambitions to compete for the gloves.
27-02-2025, 07:51 AM
Thought he was poor at the disallowed goal and poor at the free kick at the end last night. Got away with it thankfully.
He’s been a huge improvement on Bursik but I still think we’ll be looking for a number one in the summer.
27-02-2025, 07:56 AM
He is a good shot stopper but at crosses he is a liability, either misses the ball completely or produces a weak punch. He won't be first choice next season but he'll do as back up.
I actually though last night was an improvement on coming for crosses(apart from the missed one) but it's definitely an area for improvement which I'm sure the coaching team will be looking at
27-02-2025, 08:05 AM
I think it was all a bit OTT how good he was and worry it will all go a bit OTT as to how bad he is if he makes another couple of mistakes.
He's a decent enough keeper. He'll be a steady pair of hands for the most part until the end of the season and is certainly better than the alternative.
I never bought into the 'we'll never find better, he's our number 1 indefinitely' narrative though. We should always be striving for better in every position. We need a keeper in the summer anyway and it should absolutely be someone who is coming in with ambitions to compete for the gloves.
Seeing it already, the polarising opinions on him.
I posted on the PM board (how fancy) that I believe he's played a key role in this run we've been on. A couple of errors, things that could have been done better, of course, but the team has had a clear and obvious upturn since several changes - including him being brought in.
And lets not forget that he's also made some good saves and IMO has been more confident coming for crosses. His distribution is great too, it's not at all often he plays the ball out of play.
Cat Stanton
27-02-2025, 08:16 AM
Hope this isn't true: https://www.footballinsider247.com/exclusive-hibernian-open-jordan-smith-talks/
27-02-2025, 08:20 AM
Hope this isn't true: https://www.footballinsider247.com/exclusive-hibernian-open-jordan-smith-talks/
Why? Even if we look for better in the summer he’d be a great backup to have.
27-02-2025, 08:24 AM
Seeing it already, the polarising opinions on him.
I posted on the PM board (how fancy) that I believe he's played a key role in this run we've been on. A couple of errors, things that could have been done better, of course, but the team has had a clear and obvious upturn since several changes - including him being brought in.
And lets not forget that he's also made some good saves and IMO has been more confident coming for crosses. His distribution is great too, it's not at all often he plays the ball out of play.
It would be totally unreasonable not to acknowledge he’s done well for as and has been a big improvement on Bursik (hardly a high bar admittedly.) While I agree that every keeper makes mistakes it’s how bad those mistakes are that matters imo and the frequency. That’s two games now where he’s been culpable for one goal and had it not been for VAR would have cost another two.
Hopefully he gets back to more like the levels we’ve seen from him in the majority of his time with us. I’d still be looking to bring in someone better in the summer though.
27-02-2025, 08:30 AM
I like him, he's clearly better than anyone else at the club, he does make a few mistakes and could command his box better. I think the question is whether he's good enough to be our keeper longer term? I think he has proved he has but there is room for improvement.
Just_Jimmy
27-02-2025, 08:39 AM
He's done fine to well since he took over but I'd be looking at a significant upgrade in summer.
A really good keeper will win points himself.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
27-02-2025, 08:44 AM
He's bang average, about the same level as Chris Reid and Andy McNeil. How folks are rating him better than the likes of Nick Colgan, wow.
The fact we have had a lot of dross keepers over the years and the amazing run are only covering the cracks. He craps it half the time and hasn't got what it is to be a top keeper.
All in my opinion of course.
He's had some good games and helped steady the ship so to speak but I still think we need better in the summer and would have no problems having Smith as a good solid reliable back up to a better keeper, nothing wrong with having average every week, what we don't need is unreliable every week like Bursic.
27-02-2025, 08:50 AM
He's bang average, about the same level as Chris Reid and Andy McNeil. How folks are rating him better than the likes of Nick Colgan, wow.
The fact we have had a lot of dross keepers over the years and the amazing run are only covering the cracks. He craps it half the time and hasn't got what it is to be a top keeper.
All in my opinion of course.
Prettyboys post on the comparisons was really insightful IMO, and he is/was a goalkeeper.
Top goalkeepers aren't something there's been an abundance of at Hibs, Marciano is the only genuinely top goalkeeper we've had in 20 odd years.
Smith is better than the vast majority of goalkeepers we've had in that timeframe.
27-02-2025, 08:54 AM
Prettyboys post on the comparisons was really insightful IMO, and he is/was a goalkeeper.
Top goalkeepers aren't something there's been an abundance of at Hibs, Marciano is the only genuinely top goalkeeper we've had in 20 odd years.
Smith is better than the vast majority of goalkeepers we've had in that timeframe.
You don't necessarily need a "top" goalkeeper, the vast majority of teams have steady goalie who aren't liable to chuck a goal every few games, one of them would be a step up
I like Smith as a person, he's come in and has steadied the ship a bit but other than his wonder save against St Mirren he hasn't done anything that any other half decent competent goalie should be doing and on top of that he's cost us at least 4 goals in 15 games, we can and should get better
27-02-2025, 09:00 AM
He made a mistake, so what, we still won.
What about the guy that made a mistake for the foul from where the cross came in from?
What about the mistake from super dooper plukey Gordon v St Mirren in the cup? It’s forgotten about as they won.
Jordan Smith is one of the reasons this team have turned things around. We’re 14 unbeaten and 1 defeat in 16 or so. I think he has it in the bank to make a mistake or so.
Big game on Sunday for him, could define a lot of people's perception of him.
I’ll disagree with your middle paragraph and say that Adam Bogdan was better.
As for Smith. He’s made a couple of mistakes of late but as long as he doesn’t make them all the time then I’m happy with that.
A keeper should be able to do the basics well and when called upon step up. Smith has done that for me so far and deserves credit (criticism too).
Anyway hopefully he’s back to his very best form this weekend.
27-02-2025, 09:22 AM
I actually though last night was an improvement on coming for crosses(apart from the missed one) but it's definitely an area for improvement which I'm sure the coaching team will be looking at
Unless they can add about 8 inches to him it's always going to be an issue for him.
Donegal Hibby
27-02-2025, 09:30 AM
I like Smith , think he’s a good keeper and certainly an upgrade on anything we have had in recent times . All keepers make mistakes even the best ones in our league like Butland and Schmeichel , keeper mistakes are just highlighted more than outfield players. I’d imagine Smith is still one of the top in our league for saves too.
kentao
27-02-2025, 09:49 AM
https://fbref.com/en/comps/40/keepers/Scottish-Premiership-Stats
Only 1 keeper better than him in the league at the moment
27-02-2025, 09:49 AM
I like Smith , think he’s a good keeper and certainly an upgrade on anything we have had in recent times . All keepers make mistakes even the best ones in our league like Butland and Schmeichel , keeper mistakes are just highlighted more than outfield players. I’d imagine Smith is still one of the top in our league for saves too.
Still 2nd best save % in the league after yesterday. In the absence of stats, My eyes tell me his distribution is very good as well. We know another keeper will come in next season to provide proper competition, thats great, but this talk that Smith issomehow not good enough makes no sense and is massively disrespectful to him as well.
Thatdayinmay16
27-02-2025, 09:50 AM
I could be wrong, however I'm sure Smith has the 2nd or 3rd best save percentage and something like the 2nd or 3rd least amount of goals conceded in the league since he's came into the team.
I'm not sure there are many keepers out there capable of providing better numbers or output in the Scottish League's currently.
Clearly his back 3/5 trust him which also plays a huge part.
27-02-2025, 10:08 AM
Still 2nd best save % in the league after yesterday. In the absence of stats, My eyes tell me his distribution is very good as well. We know another keeper will come in next season to provide proper competition, thats great, but this talk that Smith issomehow not good enough makes no sense and is massively disrespectful to him as well.
I could be wrong, however I'm sure Smith has the 2nd or 3rd best save percentage and something like the 2nd or 3rd least amount of goals conceded in the league since he's came into the team.
I'm not sure there are many keepers out there capable of providing better numbers or output in the Scottish League's currently.
Clearly his back 3/5 trust him which also plays a huge part.
Goalkeepers are treated so unfairly compared to outfield players due to the cost of a mistake from them. People find it so hard to overlook a missed cross or a fumble, whilst outfield players can get away with a series of misplaced passes.
Triantis has had some ropey games/moments over the last month or so, giving ball away at Ross County leading to their equaliser, poor game at Love St. Add in his daft sending off early in the season. But rightly they have been overlooked by us because of all the very good things he is doing. Keepers dont always get that leeway.
He's here!
27-02-2025, 10:12 AM
I think he's done a terrific job since he came in, especially when you consider most seemed to have written him off without seeing him play. Bit of character about him and his team-mates look happy to have him behind them. As someone else has said you don't have to have a world class keeper to be a good team, just a relatively solid one. Smith fits the bill.
27-02-2025, 10:14 AM
He's had a couple of poor games there after having a string of very good ones. We also won both the games in which he's been poor.
It'll be interesting to see how he bounces back. He maybe felt obliged to come for crosses more against United having dithered for the Celtic goal, leading to the flappiness at the disallowed goal last night.
I still like him, we can appraise him as we go but it'll probably only be fair to do so at the end of the season when you can take the total rough and smooth into consideration.
There is no goalkeeper who is going to come and not put in a few dodgy performances and make the odd save so there's no point in getting all polarised about it.
Although we're probably in the position where an injury to Smith is the thing most likely to scupper our season, which speaks volumes.
27-02-2025, 10:16 AM
You don't necessarily need a "top" goalkeeper, the vast majority of teams have steady goalie who aren't liable to chuck a goal every few games, one of them would be a step up
I like Smith as a person, he's come in and has steadied the ship a bit but other than his wonder save against St Mirren he hasn't done anything that any other half decent competent goalie should be doing and on top of that he's cost us at least 4 goals in 15 games, we can and should get better
Your describing Smith in your first sentence.
Celtic goal, I don't see much of a mistake there for me, likewise last night for Dalby's goal (which was disallowed anyway), he has to go for that ball as the cross was so good. He's never saving it anyway, so has to try and punch.
The Aberdeen goal for their second in the 3-3 game was the only genuine mistake I think he's made, unless I'm missing one? The 2nd RC penalty maybe?
27-02-2025, 10:19 AM
Your describing Smith in your first sentence.
Celtic goal, I don't see much of a mistake there for me, likewise last night for Dalby's goal (which was disallowed anyway), he has to go for that ball as the cross was so good. He's never saving it anyway, so has to try and punch.
The Aberdeen goal for their second in the 3-3 game was the only genuine mistake I think he's made, unless I'm missing one? The 2nd RC penalty maybe?
I think your point re Dalby's goal is a good one.
Obviously what Smith does is wrong.
But what should he be doing?
I think that's still a goal if he stays on his line and he gets slaughtered for dithering again.
It was an absolutely phenomenal delivery.
Donegal Hibby
27-02-2025, 10:20 AM
It doesn’t make sense and he should be getting more respect than he is as he’s played his part in our unbeaten run just as much as anyone else. I thought his double save especially the second one from the O’Hara shot was excellent , really like the guys attitude and character in all .
Thatdayinmay16
27-02-2025, 10:30 AM
Goalkeepers are treated so unfairly compared to outfield players due to the cost of a mistake from them. People find it so hard to overlook a missed cross or a fumble, whilst outfield players can get away with a series of misplaced passes.
Triantis has had some ropey games/moments over the last month or so, giving ball away at Ross County leading to their equaliser, poor game at Love St. Add in his daft sending off early in the season. But rightly they have been overlooked by us because of all the very good things he is doing. Keepers dont always get that leeway.
We'd be looking for 11 new players if we didn't allow for folk to make mistakes or improve.
Quite a lot of that squad have had ropey moments, Rocky being an example, currently playing out of his skin and on track to be a potential candidate for POTY
Big Myk hasn't been the greatest, but last night he made up for it.
Moriah Welsh Hibs career looked over at one point, based on the last 2-3 games you can't take him out of the side now.
Even Josh Campbell, Gray took him out of the side at the beginning of the season and look at him now, flying.
27-02-2025, 10:33 AM
We'd be looking for 11 new players if we didn't allow for folk to make mistakes or improve.
Quite a lot of that squad have had ropey moments, Rocky being an example, currently playing out of his skin and on track to be a potential candidate for POTY
Big Myk hasn't been the greatest, but last night he made up for it.
Moriah Welsh Hibs career looked over at one point, based on the last 2-3 games you can't take him out of the side now.
Even Josh Campbell, Gray took him out of the side at the beginning of the season and look at him now, flying.
Agree with every word :agree:
27-02-2025, 11:40 AM
Players in every position in the park make mistakes. They also have good games and bad games.
What's important is surely to look at the bigger picture and how that player has performed over a number of games.
He's had a few slips here and there where he could have done better, as could have the defense in fairness; but he's also had some fantastic performances, like the double-save at St Mirren that probably saved us a point.