View Full Version : Big Marv criticises Youhan

timewilltell
24-11-2024, 06:58 AM
https://x.com/PremSportsTV/status/1860416715118834110/mediaViewer?currentTweet=1860416715118834110&currentTweetUser=PremSportsTV

24-11-2024, 07:11 AM
Some of the attempts at spelling our own players' names never fail to make me smile.

24-11-2024, 07:13 AM
Some of the attempts at spelling our own players' names never fail to make me smile.

Id be rubbish at spelling hearts’ players names right as well.

Chorley Hibee
24-11-2024, 07:19 AM
Bartley is another one who has taken to his role as a TV pundit in Scotland perfectly.

Faux outrage galore at the smallest thing and bigging up Rangers and Celtic at every opportunity.

Another waste of space on screen.

24-11-2024, 07:25 AM
Bartley is another one who has taken to his role as a TV pundit in Scotland perfectly.

Faux outrage galore at the smallest thing and bigging up Rangers and Celtic at every opportunity.

Yup, he started out alright, as most do. But he's just like the rest already. Noticed that as well.

MagicSwirlingShip
24-11-2024, 07:37 AM
Think his comments are spot on and come from his experience as a player. This isn’t a kick about down the park. Get your head in the game.

PHEONIXHIBS
24-11-2024, 07:48 AM
I have to admit I see nothing wrong with what Bartley says here, Youan clowning about directly after we go down to 10 men, especially in our current form run shows to many how little he cares. Given his run in with fans before the international break you’d think he has a point to prove.

Strong dressing rooms of the past, ones that were captained by Gray would have stamped that out I think and it shows how far we have fallen in a short space of time and maybe how little influence Gray really has here.

All that being said, Michael Stewarts vendetta against him is beyond obvious. On a night of woeful across the park, and I include Youan in that. He did atleast create a few chances but Stewart is unwilling to say his name unless it’s in a critical sense

24-11-2024, 07:51 AM
He just repeated what the gimp Stewart had said in commentary and was imo completely irrelevant what possible difference would it make to our player being sent off. Seemed personal from Stewart who then bizarrely tried to blame him for the first goal.

24-11-2024, 07:52 AM
Think his comments are spot on and come from his experience as a player. This isn’t a kick about down the park. Get your head in the game.

Exactly.

People are being very dismissive of what Youann did there but as a team we should have been regrouping at that stage and that includes potential formation/system changes. He should have been alert to things going on.

24-11-2024, 07:53 AM

Just because he’s criticising Hibs doesn’t mean he’s wrong. We can see it with our own eyes.

24-11-2024, 07:55 AM
Just because he’s criticising Hibs doesn’t mean he’s wrong. We can see it with our own eyes.

Yep. I'm not a fan of Bartley but he's spot on this time.

The Tubs
24-11-2024, 07:56 AM
At the end of the day, Youan, despite having the cheek to do a few keepie uppies, was the Hibs player that kept the Dundee defence the busiest the whole night. I'd rather have that if I was his manager.

24-11-2024, 07:58 AM
I'll be in the minority but I really don't care what he was doing, from memory there was 2 other players not so far from him standing about doing nothing, what's the difference? If the captain or manager had called them all together and he ignored them then fair enough but that didn't happen

24-11-2024, 08:02 AM
It doesn't look good but I'm not sure it made any material difference.

The collective slump of the shoulders when they scored their ridiculously easy second goal and the defeated look when we walked off at HT was far more concerning than Youan doing a couple of keepie uppies.

24-11-2024, 08:03 AM
I'll be in the minority but I really don't care what he was doing, from memory there was 2 other players not so far from him standing about doing nothing, what's the difference? If the captain or manager had called them all together and he ignored them then fair enough but that didn't happen

His full back behind him had just been sent off. Should he not have been paying attention to who was replacing him or if the formation was to change? Maybe having a chat with the new full back to make a plan of sorts?

What if Dundee were making pro-active changes to attack down his flank seeing as we were vulnerable there, should he not have been watching to see if they were going to be doing something different?

Nobody was doing anything at this point so he’s not the only one to blame here but that doesn’t mean he’s exempt from criticism.

mvteng
24-11-2024, 08:04 AM

Absolutely agree. For some reason he seems to attract a lot of hate, but for me he's the only creative player we have at present. So what if he's practicing keepie ups, not a big deal

24-11-2024, 08:05 AM
It highlights the state of the club imo

We're in the top 5 clubs sitting dead last. We've had a man sent off, our captain is hiding and one of our key players (that doesn't want to be here anyway) is trying to balance the ball on his neck like he's at some freestyling competition

We've got no leadership or togetherness. A bunch of spineless losers. Every. Single. One. Of. Them

You complain at what Marv and Mikey Stewart have to say. Imagine what Roy Keane would say on Sky down south? ****ing embarrassing

24-11-2024, 08:06 AM
His full back behind him had just been sent off. Should he not have been paying attention to who was replacing him or if the formation was to change? Maybe having a chat with the new full back to make a plan of sorts?

What if Dundee were making pro-active changes to attack down his flank seeing as we were vulnerable there, should he not have been watching to see if they were going to be doing something different?

Nobody was doing anything at this point so he’s not the only one to blame here but that doesn’t mean he’s exempt from criticism.

The dundee player was still down "injured" there was no instructions being given to players at that moment in time, literally nothing was happening, evidenced by the other players doing nothing also. As I say, if he was ignoring instructions being given to mess about with the ball then fair enough but he clearly wasnt

24-11-2024, 08:06 AM

Obita was still on the pitch awaiting the result of the VAR review. No changes had been made yet.

The Tubs
24-11-2024, 08:09 AM

Your first point is fair enough but the team know the type of gadgie he is so should go up, put an arm round him and have a word. I'm sure that would work if necessary.

As for your last one, no-one says he's exempt, but I don't know why he should be a focus of criticism.

24-11-2024, 08:10 AM
The dundee player was still down "injured" there was no instructions being given to players at that moment in time, literally nothing was happening, evidenced by the other players doing nothing also. As I say, if he was ignoring instructions being given to mess about with the ball then fair enough but he clearly wasnt

A player had been sent off, that’s not literally nothing happening, it’s a hugely significant point in the match.

If he wasn’t getting instructions he should have been finding out what was happening.

24-11-2024, 08:13 AM
A player had been sent off, that’s not literally nothing happening, it’s a hugely significant point in the match.

If he wasn’t getting instructions he should have been finding out what was happening.

In the new world of VAR, the player hasn’t actually been sent off until the VAR review is complete and in this case it was still ongoing. Everything/everyone was in limbo until that was done.

24-11-2024, 08:13 AM
Obita was still on the pitch awaiting the result of the VAR review. No changes had been made yet.

He’d been red carded, we should have been getting organised, especially Youann as it was on his side that was impacted. Getting VAR to overturn it was a long shot.

24-11-2024, 08:16 AM
Absolutely agree. For some reason he seems to attract a lot of hate, but for me he's the only creative player we have at present. So what if he's practicing keepie ups, not a big deal

Absolutely looked the only player likely to do something when with ten.

24-11-2024, 08:16 AM

Obita was only standing about 5ft away, he had literally just been shown the card so no there was nothing happening. The manager wouldn't even have had time to think about a change so EY would not have thought also to go get instructions, it's nit picking of the highest order because we got beat again

24-11-2024, 08:20 AM
Obita was only standing about 5ft away, he had literally just been shown the card so no there was nothing happening. The manager wouldn't even have had time to think about a change so EY would not have thought also to go get instructions, it's nit picking of the highest order because we got beat again

It’s the exact time he should have been reacting to possible changes. You don’t wait until it’s too late.

Funny how Bartley and Stewart who have played professional football think that as well but fans who have never played professional football think it’s ok to be having a wee muck about.

24-11-2024, 08:22 AM
I’m not a fan of Youan but I must admit “keepie uppie gate” is right at the bottom for the list of things I think we have to be pissed off with him about.

24-11-2024, 08:24 AM
It’s the exact time he should have been reacting to possible changes. You don’t wait until it’s too late.

Funny how Bartley and Stewart who have played professional football think that as well but fans who have never played professional football think it’s ok to be having a wee muck about.

And not one other player on that park was away getting instruction 2 seconds after it happened, are they all wrong also? He had a mess about with the ball for about 5 seconds, not a huge deal

24-11-2024, 08:27 AM
Bartley and Stewart are spot on, pish from Youan but just another reinforcement of how rudderless we are on the park. The invisible captain should’ve nipped it in the bud soon as he stated it but I suppose that would mean making his mouth go and taking responsibility.

It’ll make an another nice highlight reel for his Instagram though. At least it wasn’t as ridiculous as his hairband on his bald heed though I suppose! Wonder what cryptic pish the big baby will post in the following few days :dummytit:

24-11-2024, 08:30 AM
And not one other player on that park was away getting instruction 2 seconds after it happened, are they all wrong also? He had a mess about with the ball for about 5 seconds, not a huge deal

Not really, it shows we are leaderless, and management and players dont have a clue and some dont really give a toss either.

It was a critical point in the match, and needed some quick instructions and players to be on it.

We looked like a rabble without a clue.

24-11-2024, 08:31 AM
Not really, it shows we are leaderless, and management and players dont have a clue and some dont really give a toss either.

It was a critical point in the match, and needed some quick instructions and players to be on it.

Rumble de Thump
24-11-2024, 08:34 AM
An absolutely nothing incident. Not even a mole hill to make a mountain out of but some people trying their best to anyway. You'd think there was nothing genuine to actually be unhappy about at the moment.

24-11-2024, 08:35 AM

I won't disagree with that, as a team they have no clue what to do, that much is clear, I still won't change my mind on messing about with the ball for a few seconds but each to their own

The Tubs
24-11-2024, 08:36 AM

Youan's detachment can be a positive when folk are going about getting sent off. It should be used to our advantage just as Nicky Cadden seems like the type of guy that loves a bit of adversity.

24-11-2024, 08:43 AM
I’m not a fan of Youan but I must admit “keepie uppie gate” is right at the bottom for the list of things I think we have to be pissed off with him about.

Let's get that trending. :greengrin

1875M
24-11-2024, 08:45 AM
First of all, Stewart’s consistent bashing of EY was ridiculous, almost personal.

However.

I see nothing wrong with what Bartley said. Were bottom of the league, man sent off. Can you imagine someone doing this under Lennon’s 16/17 team? No, because there was standards at the club. Any strong captain, even player, should have called him over and stamped it out. I see why others are saying it’s only a little thing, but it’s the perfect example of what our club is right now. Zero standards. Zero accountability.

mcohibs
24-11-2024, 08:54 AM
Will make a good video for his instagram I’m sure. Alongside the ones of him scoring goals in training 😳

Chorley Hibee
24-11-2024, 08:58 AM

Believe me, I've no problem with him criticising Hibs, I've been known do it myself occasionally 😉, but he's not as quick to call out Gray, Boyle, Newell etc, all his pals of course, so much easier to go with the lazy narrative spouted by Stewart and create a talking point from nothing.

He adds nothing to the dreadful collection of pundits we're subjected to.

Ribs1875
24-11-2024, 08:59 AM
I feel for the lad Youan. Under LJ he scored and assisted some important goals. He was the catalyst in that game against that Swiss mob. He went to that poly pocket stadium and scored two goals to level us for a draw.

The folk who are on his back deep down know he has the ability. You don't lose that ability either, the lads head has gone. He's low in confidence and is often the bee in the bonnet for most supporters. He has been below expectation, but someone name me a player in our club who has impressed this season.

24-11-2024, 09:01 AM
Absolutely baffled by the “he was our only threat” type posts. He was garbage, again.

What is it, something like 3 league games in about 18 months that he’s actually scored a goal in?

Another sign of Grays awful judgement that he took off Nicky Cadden - a guy actually scoring goals and hitting the target - and left Youan and Myko on.

24-11-2024, 09:01 AM
Feel uncomfortable, not to mention a bit puzzled, why this has become the biggest story rather than the fact we were one up and in complete control until Obita threw the manager, his teammates and the supporters under the bus with a moment of sheer stupidity.

24-11-2024, 09:02 AM
Feel uncomfortable, not to mention a bit puzzled, why this has become the biggest story rather than the fact we were one up and in complete control until Obita threw the manager, his teammates and the supporters under the bus with a moment of sheer stupidity.

Absolutely spot on, with every point.

24-11-2024, 09:04 AM
Believe me, I've no problem with him criticising Hibs, I've been known do it myself occasionally 😉, but he's not as quick to call out Gray, Boyle, Newell etc, all his pals of course, so much easier to go with the lazy narrative spouted by Stewart and create a talking point from nothing.

Absolutely. Youan wasn't great last night but he was peak Russell Latapy compared to some of the other jokers on the park.

Tend to agree that he took the easy option rather than focus on the real issues we had, regardless of who he might be friendly with.

24-11-2024, 09:06 AM
It’s funny that we all criticise the ability, attitude and mentality of the squad on a weekly basis based on what we are seeing. The TV pundits call out pre match that there are players not giving their all. Then two pundits both make similar observations about a minor incident giving insight into the much wider issues that exist. Yet there’s a desire for some to play the man than the ball and criticise Stewart & Bartley before it’s back to talking about all the many reasons we are a shambles of a club from top to bottom on other threads.

24-11-2024, 09:06 AM

Because although Obita ****ed up, he was trying to have a positive impact on the game with his tackle, it was a split second call in the heat of the moment and he just miss timed it and got it wrong, there was no malice or intent there. If anything he was potentially trying too hard.

Youann’s situation is completely different and looked like he was an amateur having a kick about in the park.

24-11-2024, 09:15 AM

:agree: My first thought was that meme of the bloke looking over his shoulder at the hot girl while ignoring the girl hes with. The red card is the main story here or weve all gone tonto surely.

Im calling it keepie up gate from now on, good work smartie

24-11-2024, 09:16 AM
Not really seeing the issue with the Keepie Uppies. Youan was fine for the most part last night. It was a typical performance from him where he was ok when we had the ball but terrible when we didn't. That is just the type of player he is. You get away with that when you are creating chances and scoring goals. At the moment he isn't though so the scales aren't balancing. Nicky Cadden is getting involved in our goals but works far harder when we don't have the ball. The commentary last night was terrible. Stewart has went way over the top on both Miller and Youan in the last few weeks. I can't imagine him doing that with players from the Uglies.

24-11-2024, 09:19 AM
Because although Obita ****ed up, he was trying to have a positive impact on the game with his tackle, it was a split second call in the heat of the moment and he just miss timed it and got it wrong, there was no malice or intent there. If anything he was potentially trying too hard.

Youann’s situation is completely different and looked like he was an amateur having a kick about in the park.

He took a really poor touch then lunged in just like Newell at Tannadice.

What exactly was Youan's "situation"? If nothing else at least it looks like he actually enjoys playing football.

Donegal Hibby
24-11-2024, 09:20 AM

It’s what changed the game unfortunately.

24-11-2024, 09:35 AM
He took a really poor touch then lunged in just like Newell at Tannadice.

What exactly was Youan's "situation"? If nothing else at least it looks like he actually enjoys playing football.

Obita’s happened in the heat of the moment, trying to win a tackle, that’ll happened hundreds of times up and down the country in most matches. Some will see a red card, some won’t. I don’t recall ever seeing a player getting a red card and one of his team mates using that as an opportunity to muck about with the ball.

Youanns situation is different as it never happened in game time so not in the heat of the moment.

If my boy had a game this weekend and someone got sent off and I looked down to see him doing keepie uppies I’d be surprised (mainly because kids don’t get sent off at 11 but thats not the point) and annoyed as he should be concentrating. From a professional players perspective, I find it staggering their first thought wasn’t what the team should do to react to the red card but to grab a ball and do keepie uppies.

I’m on a group chat with fans of other clubs who have no axe to grind with Youann, they are in agreement with the two professionals who have played the game and think Youann was in the wrong.

mcohibs
24-11-2024, 09:37 AM
Just so I’m clear, we are rock bottom of the league with one win in fourteen. We’ve got a player who has been largely disinterested at best, just about scrapping with fans a couple of weeks ago, baiting fans on social media, disrespecting the manager, doing ******g keepy uppies on the pitch and people are defending him?

We've got two pundits who've played the game (and won trophies for Hibs!) calling him out for poor attitude (which we've all said about this team for months) yet some want to jump to Youan's defence again, seriously? It's utterly baffling.

It might seem like a small issue but it’s a microcosm of where we are as a club just now. No professionalism, no leadership, no respect for the badge or the supporters, no accountability. It’s staring us in the face but folk would rather batter into ex players who respect the club and know what it takes to succeed at Hibs?

24-11-2024, 09:39 AM
Just so I’m clear, we are rock bottom of the league with one win in fourteen. We’ve got a player who has been largely disinterested at best, just about scrapping with fans a couple of weeks ago, baiting fans on social media, disrespecting the manager, doing ******g keepy uppies on the pitch and people are defending him?

We've got two pundits who've played the game (and won trophies for Hibs!) calling him out for poor attitude (which we've all said about this team for months) yet some want to jump to Youan's defence again, seriously? It's utterly baffling.

It might seem like a small issue but it’s a microcosm of where we are as a club just now. No professionalism, no leadership, no respect for the badge or the supporters, no accountability. It’s staring us in the face but folk would rather batter into ex players who respect the club and know what it takes to succeed at Hibs?

So everything that michael Stewart says about the club is correct?

The Tubs
24-11-2024, 09:40 AM
I'd prefer if pricks like Stewart had a campaign to drive Joe Newell out of Hibs.

24-11-2024, 09:41 AM
We have also maybe forget that Bartley likely still talks to people at Hibs maybe even people in the dressing room

Maybe there is more to his criticism of players downing tools and youans behaviour after the sending off. Maybe he is saying these thing because not only is he seeing it but he is being told it

24-11-2024, 09:41 AM

What's less "professional"? Playing with a ball while VAR checks a decision or lunging into a needless challenge on the halfway line when your team is a goal up and absolutely desperate for a win?

Does Michael Stewart respect our club? Can't say I have noticed.

Chorley Hibee
24-11-2024, 09:42 AM

I'm not defending him, far from it.

I'm saying that in the grand scheme of things it's miniscule compared to the plethora of things going on in the utter ****show that is Hibs right now.

I'm also asking for these pundits to highlight all or more of the issues at the club, and perhaps a few more of the players responsible for the situation we find ourselves in.

Too easy to pick on Youan in isolation though, rather than upset a few of their friends who've been as much a part of the problem as Youan has.

24-11-2024, 09:42 AM
We have also maybe forget that Bartley likely still talks to people at Hibs maybe even people in the dressing room

Maybe there is more to his criticism of players downing tools and youans behaviour after the sending off. Maybe he is saying these thing because not only is he seeing it but he is being told it

He obviously does still have mates in the dressing room which would explain why he didn't say anything remotely critical about them.

mcohibs
24-11-2024, 09:45 AM
What's less "professional"? Playing with a ball while VAR checks a decision or lunging into a needless challenge on the halfway line when your team is a goal up and absolutely desperate for a win?

Both were covered, the red card incident extensively.

Stewart has always offered a fair and balanced opinion on Hibs, much more so than the jambo love-in lot that make up the rest of Sportsound etc. Much more critical of Hearts than he is of us.

The Tubs
24-11-2024, 09:48 AM
Both were covered, the red card incident extensively.

Stewart has always offered a fair and balanced opinion on Hibs, much more so than the jambo love-in lot that make up the rest of Sportsound etc. Much more critical of Hearts than he is of us.

Dinnae get taken in by that incoherent ****. Mind the league cup team photo? The prick is a total snake.

24-11-2024, 09:49 AM
He obviously does still have mates in the dressing room which would explain why he didn't say anything remotely critical about them.

He did say there are players not trying tho… he has been told that from somewhere … given his other half id imagine he is fairly well connected and maybe what he is saying is just the truth and sad reality of us atm

24-11-2024, 09:53 AM
He did say there are players not trying tho… he has been told that from somewhere … given his other half id imagine he is fairly well connected and maybe what he is saying is just the truth and sad reality of us atm

He doesnae need to be told there’s no enough effort going in. Ray Charles can see that, and he’s blind and dead.

24-11-2024, 10:32 AM
The reaction to the keepie uppies perhaps is a bit OTT. HOWEVER, I do think Youan has completely lost interest and as others have mentioned, why are we not regrouping. Where is the leadership?! We’ve just gone a goal down and nobody looks at all interested.

24-11-2024, 11:07 AM
The reaction to the keepie uppies perhaps is a bit OTT. HOWEVER, I do think Youan has completely lost interest and as others have mentioned, why are we not regrouping. Where is the leadership?! We’ve just gone a goal down and nobody looks at all interested.

We were a goal up at that stage

24-11-2024, 11:20 AM

Youan looked a lot more interested than a number of his teammates but it’s him that gets 90% of the criticism.

Allan45
24-11-2024, 02:22 PM
It highlights the state of the club imo

We're in the top 5 clubs sitting dead last. We've had a man sent off, our captain is hiding and one of our key players (that doesn't want to be here anyway) is trying to balance the ball on his neck like he's at some freestyling competition

We've got no leadership or togetherness. A bunch of spineless losers. Every. Single. One. Of. Them

You complain at what Marv and Mikey Stewart have to say. Imagine what Roy Keane would say on Sky down south? ****ing embarrassing
I'm 100© with this! What a state, where is Gray where is Newell to stamp it out. Shambles and the worst team fielded since season 79/80 when we got relegated. The club has lost everything from owners, board, coaching staff, managers and the so called players!!!!

24-11-2024, 02:35 PM
My thoughts on Youan last night, started okay and then fell away like the rest of the team, 2nd half thought he was okay and trying to do things, did he pick up another red card, no, did he pick up his umpteenth yellow card, no, did he cost us the game, no, he was not the worst offender last night but Bartley thought to highlight the keepie uppies rather than mention how poor our captain was but still managed to pick up a yellow card or the strange sub decisions from the manager or the main thing Obita selling the jerseys, Bartley jumped on Stewart’s bandwagon and slated Ellie, that was embarrassing from Bartley.

24-11-2024, 02:36 PM
My thoughts on Youan last night, started okay and then fell away like the rest of the team, 2nd half thought he was okay and trying to do things, did he pick up another red card, no, did he pick up his umpteenth yellow card, no, did he cost us the game, no, he was not the worst offender last night but Bartley thought to highlight the keepie uppies rather than mention how poor our captain was but still managed to pick up a yellow card or the strange sub decisions from the manager or the main thing Obita selling the jerseys, Bartley jumped on Stewart’s bandwagon and slated Ellie, that was embarrassing from Bartley.

24-11-2024, 02:38 PM
Why can't folk spell players names properly before moaning about others actions?

24-11-2024, 02:44 PM
Why can't folk spell players names properly before moaning about others actions?

i'm convinced if the Bursic title is changed he will then start performing like Goram/Leighton/Rough

or maybe just stay the same as Bursik

24-11-2024, 02:47 PM

Maybe he was waiting for Gray to make a tactical decision and his thinking was it would be him going off, but Gray done nothing, other players can pass on messages, we can’t expect the whole team to go running to the manager for instructions, the captain and maybe a defender should go over get instructions and pass it on to players, this witch-hunt on our player is not good, if Bartley had the balls to slate Youan then why did he not highlight the poor performances from his mates and the manager, because he wanted to be controversial like the rest of the his media buddies. Embarrassing from Bartley.

HarpOnHibee
24-11-2024, 02:50 PM
Youan is far from being our biggest problem at the moment. It's just that his self centred attitude is indicative of a far wider problem that has plagued us more often than not in modern times. Making him an easy target for pundits and the media. Most of the other players at least know how to act like they care, even if their performances aren't backing it up. Youan is pretty open about only being here for himself.

24-11-2024, 02:50 PM

This is my favourite, among a stacked top order, of all of the nonsense takes on Youan I've ever seen on here. More annoyed at the guy staying warm and keeping a feel for the ball during a VAR check than the guy who's sold the jerseys by getting himself sent off. Amazing.

24-11-2024, 02:57 PM

Okay Bingo, funny how Bartley and Stewart spoke about no leaders in the team but never mentioned the captain being crap again and not leading as usual, plenty to say of the pitch but not doing it on the pitch, Triantis another waster not mentioned Boyle getting away with murder and Bartley will know that Boyle wants away from the club but not mentioned either, and Obita seeing red, I don’t think Bartley even mentioned the red card, but let’s blame Ellie for a poor attitude when most of them are at it but Bartley bottled it to badmouth his mates..

24-11-2024, 02:59 PM

24-11-2024, 03:02 PM

That would mean Bartley badmouthing his mates, not going to happen so let’s pick on a guy who done some keepie uppies.

24-11-2024, 03:02 PM
Okay Bingo, funny how Bartley and Stewart spoke about no leaders in the team but never mentioned the captain being crap again and not leading as usual, plenty to say of the pitch but not doing it on the pitch, Triantis another waster not mentioned Boyle getting away with murder and Bartley will know that Boyle wants away from the club but not mentioned either, and Obita seeing red, I don’t think Bartley even mentioned the red card, but let’s blame Ellie for a poor attitude when most of them are at it but Bartley bottled it to badmouth his mates..

He’s not being blamed in isolation, nobody is saying it’s all down to Youann.

Stewart spent the entire game yesterday talking about the lack of quality and leaders in the Hibs team.

Do you think they’ve got an axe to grind with Youann and if so, why?

I think they’ve just given an honest commentary on their observations and I agree with them.

24-11-2024, 03:06 PM
On the original highlight it showed Youan putting both hands to his head as the ref showed the red card. They never showed this again but did repeat the keepie up bit several times. I wonder why?

24-11-2024, 03:07 PM

He lost control of the ball and lunged in and was correctly sent off, to me that’s losing concentration and then being stupid to lunge in like that to win the ball which he never, he got the player seen a red card and I hope the manager ripped through him for that stupid mistake that cost us the game., no malice or intent, it was a nasty tackle big chap.

24-11-2024, 03:11 PM

And yet the two professional players who are pundits can’t see Boyle Newell Triantis have been worse offenders than Ellie or that the manager is clueless sadly and haven’t called them out yet.

24-11-2024, 03:14 PM

:top marks Flash, you would think a red card wasn’t shown, the anger should be towards Obita for the lunging tackle not a guy doing a wee kick about with the ball.

24-11-2024, 03:16 PM

Why did he not mention them though.

24-11-2024, 03:24 PM

Stewart spent the entire game yesterday talking about the lack of quality and leaders in the Hibs team.

I think they’ve just given an honest commentary on their observations and I agree with them.

Nope, they were being controversial, I will say it again, Bartley or Stewart could have mentioned how poorly Joe has been playing or Boyler is just not the same player anymore or how terrible the decisions David was making in the dugout, there names were never mentioned fro the two experienced ex pro pundits funny they never even mentioned it before the game, I don’t agree with them. :thumbsup:

24-11-2024, 03:26 PM
Nope, they were being controversial, I will say it again, Bartley or Stewart could have mentioned how poorly Joe has been playing or Boyler is just not the same player anymore or how terrible the decisions David was making in the dugout, there names were never mentioned fro the two experienced ex pro pundits funny they never even mentioned it before the game, I don’t agree with them. :thumbsup:

If Joe Newell had been doing keepie uppies with the ball, I like to think he’d have been called out for it too.

FWIW he should be getting called out for his performances too.

24-11-2024, 03:28 PM

Tbf I think Stewart made that very point about Boyle in commentary - that we should probably be discussing his decline and whether or not we shake hands and part at the end of the season with us grateful for his service.

Instead, that (important) point gets bumped down the priority list as we have greater problems.

He was also critical of Gray’s subs and decisions.

Which we shouldn’t, really.

No doubt he went to town - unfairly imo - on Youan.

24-11-2024, 03:33 PM

Absolutely Ellie is an easy target simple as

HarpOnHibee
24-11-2024, 03:38 PM
Absolutely Ellie is an easy target simple as

He makes himself an easy target. What do people expect?

24-11-2024, 03:38 PM

Totally agree was lazy as. He should have been backing Ellie and slagging off Yam weirdo Stewart

24-11-2024, 03:39 PM
He makes himself an easy target. What do people expect?

Don’t think he does he did absolutely nothing wrong yesterday

Just_Jimmy
24-11-2024, 03:39 PM
Marvin Bartleys contribution to Hibernian far outweighs anything these importers have done.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

AZhibee
24-11-2024, 03:41 PM

Yep

24-11-2024, 03:41 PM

Stewart absolutely seemed to have a personal problem with Youan jeezo he was trying to blame him for the first goal we lost as well as his bizarre keepie up reaction

HarpOnHibee
24-11-2024, 03:44 PM
Don’t think he does he did absolutely nothing wrong yesterday

Did he change the game in any meaningful way? Did he track back when the opposition were in possession of the ball? It's quite staggering how easily some fans are taken in by a bit of fancy footwork, while neglecting the aspects of the game that actually make a meaningful difference. Youan only plays for himself. He isn't bothered about the results, as long as he has something to feature on his Tik Tok page.

24-11-2024, 03:46 PM
If Joe Newell had been doing keepie uppies with the ball, I like to think he’d have been called out for it too.

FWIW he should be getting called out for his performances too.

But deep down you know they wouldn’t have called Joe out for it, they would have been going mad at Obita for the wreck less challenge he made, which they should have being doing in the first place.

24-11-2024, 03:47 PM
Did he change the game in any meaningful way? Did he track back when the opposition were in possession of the ball? It's quite staggering how easily some fans are taken in by a bit of fancy footwork, while neglecting the aspects of the game that actually make a meaningful difference. Youan only plays for himself. He isn't bothered about the results, as long as he has something to feature on his Tik Tok page.

Had a hand in the goal we scored. Was the only player looking like doing anything second half

The Tubs
24-11-2024, 03:52 PM

I'm not taken in at all. What I'd simply prefer to do is focus the criticism on the core reasons why we're terrible, like the keeper and Newell, and not allow a lot of noise about a player who was at least able to occupy a few defenders and take the heat off the defence for a bit.

HarpOnHibee
24-11-2024, 04:02 PM
Had a hand in the goal we scored. Was the only player looking like doing anything second half

I'm not doubting his ability when he's in possession of the ball. Like I said, the boy has some fancy footwork. But he performs in isolation. He doesn't hold the ball up and bring other players into play, he doesn't track back when the opposition are in possession, he remains in an offside position for extended periods of time without seeming to realize that he is in an offside position. He does a few neat tricks and flicks that sometimes come off, but they rarely amount to anything meaningful in the game. I'm sorry, but he doesn't strike me as a team player. He may make the odd solo effort when he has the ball, but he's nowhere near skilled enough to pull it all off on his own, even if he thinks he is.

HarpOnHibee
24-11-2024, 04:04 PM
I'm not taken in at all. What I'd simply prefer to do is focus the criticism on the core reasons why we're terrible, like the keeper and Newell, and not allow a lot of noise about a player who was at least able to occupy a few defenders and take the heat off the defence for a bit.

Our defence conceded 4 goals. Perhaps if he had bothered to track back when we weren't in possession, he actually would have taken some heat off the defence.

24-11-2024, 04:04 PM
Bartley is bang on. When we're sitting bottom of the league that kind of stuff is unacceptable. Especially when we've just had a player sent off. That kind of pish just sums us up.

24-11-2024, 04:07 PM
Bartley is bang on. When we're sitting bottom of the league that kind of stuff is unacceptable. Especially when we've just had a player sent off. That kind of pish just sums us up.

It doesn't sum anything up, there was a stop in play and some kicked a ball about for a few seconds, much more to be worried about than that

24-11-2024, 04:08 PM
Our defence conceded 4 goals. Perhaps if he had bothered to track back when we weren't in possession, he actually would have taken some heat off the defence.

Would better tracking back have stopped Triantis scoring on OG, Bursik not clearing the ball or Rocky trying to dribble the length of the pitch?

HarpOnHibee
24-11-2024, 04:11 PM
Would better tracking back have stopped Triantis scoring on OG, Bursik not clearing the ball or Rocky trying to dribble the length of the pitch?

We'll never know what difference it would have made, because he didn't. Yes, our defence is an utter mess. I'm not excusing them one bit. But when your team are struggling defensively, you have a responsibility as a player to track back and help them out anyway you can. Youan doesn't do this. He's quite happy to just loaf around until he has the ball at his feet. A team in a relegation battle needs to pull together.

The Tubs
24-11-2024, 04:13 PM

Or Chris Cadden handing the ball on a plate for the gadgie to cross for the first goal? **** me, look at the real culprits.

24-11-2024, 04:15 PM
One Hibs player was keeping warm on a bitterly cold night whilst a lengthy VAR review was taking place.

If only the rest of the team had done likewise maybe they wouldn't have been caught so cold at Dundee's first two goals.

The stupidity of Bartley and Stewart is laughable.

The Tubs
24-11-2024, 04:18 PM
Here he is at the first goal doing much better than Chris Cadden before they switch it to the right and Cadden ****s up again.

24-11-2024, 04:21 PM
Or Chris Cadden handing the ball on a plate for the gadgie to cross for the first goal? **** me, look at the real culprits.

Chris Cadden is never a defender. Hopeless.

24-11-2024, 04:22 PM
Here he is at the first goal doing much better than Chris Cadden before they switch it to the right and Cadden ****s up again.

Cadden is a truly awful footballer.

Hibiza
24-11-2024, 04:26 PM
Cadden is a truly awful footballer.

Probably not great but better than about 10 others

24-11-2024, 04:27 PM
Probably not great but better than about 10 others

He’s not

24-11-2024, 04:29 PM
One Hibs player was keeping warm on a bitterly cold night whilst a lengthy VAR review was taking place.

If only the rest of the team had done likewise maybe they wouldn't have been caught so cold at Dundee's first two goals.

The stupidity of Bartley and Stewart is laughable.

Come on. Get folk will have different views on it, but let’s no pretend he was doing it to keep warm!

24-11-2024, 04:46 PM

Nah mate you've faked that image, Youan never tracks back, Hibs.net told me.

24-11-2024, 04:48 PM
I don't see why Youan is being singled out. What were the rest of the players doing?

What about the captain, what about the manager? If there is a message to get across then why are they not doing it?

HarpOnHibee
24-11-2024, 05:11 PM
I don't see why Youan is being singled out. What were the rest of the players doing?

What about the captain, what about the manager? If there is a message to get across then why are they not doing it?

He's not being singled out. He is simply part of a wider problem. Some fans can't see the problem with Youan because he's decent with the ball at his feet. That alone is not going to win us games, it's not going to save us from the predicament we find ourselves in. One trick ponies are fine when they're surrounded by quality players, but he isn't. We need versatility right now and he doesn't offer that. I don't care if he can skip past one or two players if we're not winning any games.

24-11-2024, 07:47 PM

Totally agree

24-11-2024, 09:09 PM
He's not being singled out. He is simply part of a wider problem. Some fans can't see the problem with Youan because he's decent with the ball at his feet. That alone is not going to win us games, it's not going to save us from the predicament we find ourselves in. One trick ponies are fine when they're surrounded by quality players, but he isn't. We need versatility right now and he doesn't offer that. I don't care if he can skip past one or two players if we're not winning any games.

I was talking about the keepie uppie 'incident' specifically.

If there was an issue with getting organised post the sending off, he wasn't the only one.

24-11-2024, 09:57 PM
I was impressed at Youan’s skills 😀As for Bartley, he’s as crap at punditry as he was at football. A poor man Matty Jack. A woman threatening criminal to boot he can GTF with his pish.

24-11-2024, 10:05 PM
So everything that michael Stewart says about the club is correct?

25-11-2024, 05:26 AM

Should chris cadden be playing as he reckons so

25-11-2024, 05:31 AM

Because Michael Stewart, Premier Sports and so on like to find wee controversial things to pick on to get likes and attention on social media.

25-11-2024, 05:57 AM

Think you are kidding yourself on thinking Stewart respects our club. Piles in on Hibs and players the way he wouldn’t dare do with other teams and clubs

25-11-2024, 06:20 AM
Shocking attitude! In the situation we're in we need players who will give everything for Hibernian FC. Youan, along with many, isn't doing that.

For those that praise his attacking flair, Josh Mulligan had more attacking contributions in one half than Youan has produced in a whole season. Give me that young kid over a disinterested Youan any day of the week.

25-11-2024, 06:43 AM
He was only keeping himself going don’t see problem

25-11-2024, 06:47 AM
Think you are kidding yourself on thinking Stewart respects our club. Piles in on Hibs and players the way he wouldn’t dare do with other teams and clubs

No, but Marvin Bartley 100% certainly does.

25-11-2024, 07:21 AM
He was only keeping himself going don’t see problem

It's the perception it gives. It looks like he didn't really care about his teammate being sent off. Even pretend to look interested. We're bottom of the league and Youan has been disappointing to say the least. Stop balancing the ball on your neck and doing silly keepie ups and read the room. I'd expect one of him teammates to go through him in the dressing room.

big gogs
25-11-2024, 07:26 AM

I agree with Michael Stewart,he said last week the club was rotten from top to bottom,I for one, second that statement.has there been any reaction to the recent decline of the club(namely the last five years).the board gave the manager their backing,that in football terms is the kiss of death.let the Gordon family run the stadium,leave the football side to the black knights,but for goodness sake do something.

25-11-2024, 07:34 AM
Youan wears gloves and long johns he was only trying to keep himself warm and in the zone FFS !

25-11-2024, 07:47 AM
For those that praise his attacking flair, Josh Mulligan had more attacking contributions in one half than Youan has produced in a whole season. Give me that young kid over a disinterested Youan any day of the week.

Mulligan has 6 more appearances this season and has the same number of assists as Youan.

Last season Mulligan had 1 goal and no assist in 23 games. Youan had 10 goals and 10 assists in 43 games.

Dinnae let facts get in the way though.

25-11-2024, 07:49 AM
You have to feel for the guy, every little thing he does is criticised by fans and pundits alike.

Obsessive behaviour.

25-11-2024, 08:44 AM
I really, really struggle to see how Marvin Bartley would have some sort of anti-Hibs agenda. Even Michael Stewart has been more right than wrong about Hibs as of late.

I’m inclined to trust the people who have played the game on this one.

25-11-2024, 08:46 AM
I really, really struggle to see how Marvin Bartley would have some sort of anti-Hibs agenda. Even Michael Stewart has been more right than wrong about Hibs as of late.

You don't need to be anti-Hibs to talk pish about Elie Youan.

25-11-2024, 08:47 AM

I don't think Marv has an agenda, I just think he's wrong to pile in on this one.

I'm not sure what him having played the game has to do with it.

SickBoy32
25-11-2024, 08:49 AM
You don't need to be anti-Hibs to talk pish about Elie Youan.

Youan himself has been blatantly anti hibs since the summer, arguably before.

A deeply unpopular player for a reason.

jakedance
25-11-2024, 08:50 AM
A great example of where when a player and team are under scrutiny any perceived problem is jumped on. I’m a big fan of Marv but you can’t compare what a defensive midfielder would do in this moment to a maverick winger. There are lots of problems at Hibs, and it isn’t a good look for Youan, but I’m far more disappointed at any number of things that went wrong on Saturday over this nonsense, in particular the stupid sending off that preceded it.

25-11-2024, 08:59 AM
You have to feel for the guy, every little thing he does is criticised by fans and pundits alike.

Obsessive behaviour.

When you have an attacking player of his apparent talent, who has hardly kicked a ball for months and hasn’t scored a goal since February, that’s what happens. If he starts doing something constructive on the park again, folk would overlook all the wee silly things a bit more.

I find it difficult to feel sympathy for anyone in the Hibs team at the moment.

WestStandWillie
25-11-2024, 09:09 AM
TV cameras on him so acts like a show pony.

Sooner he's out the door the better - for all parties concerned.

oldbiker
25-11-2024, 09:13 AM
He is a footballer and had a ball at his feet I guess instinct kicking in, probably kept his concentration going and not getting distracted or caught up in the hassle, the "hate" around him is not nice and uncalled for. Always love the hibs but sometimes you dinnae like the way thing are.

25-11-2024, 10:03 AM
Youan wears gloves and long johns

Rage! Pitchforks!

TheHibernator
25-11-2024, 10:09 AM
It’s spelt Youan and pronounced yoo-ann, doubt it matters much at this rate as can’t see him being here much longer but maybe the most mispronounced and misspelt name we’ve had in a while and it’s not even difficult to get right

25-11-2024, 10:11 AM
It’s spelt Youan and pronounced yoo-ann, doubt it matters much at this rate as can’t see him being here much longer but maybe the most mispronounced and misspelt name we’ve had in a while and it’s not even difficult to get right

We'll still have Kensall pulling the shots and Newall as captain 😉

25-11-2024, 10:12 AM
Mulligan has 6 more appearances this season and has the same number of assists as Youan.

Last season Mulligan had 1 goal and no assist in 23 games. Youan had 10 goals and 10 assists in 43 games.

Dinnae let facts get in the way though.

I didn't say assists, I said attacking contributions. He was a real pain in the derrière. Loved his energy!

25-11-2024, 10:41 AM
Our captain and primary playmaker only passing the ball 9 times is a bigger issue than someone juggling the ball during a stoppage in play.

25-11-2024, 10:59 AM
I didn't say assists, I said attacking contributions. He was a real pain in the derrière. Loved his energy!

Shots
Youan - 2
Mulligan - 2

Chances created
Youan - 2
Mulligan - 2

Dribbles
Youan - 5
Mulligan - 5

Keepie uppies
Youan - 15
Mulligan - 0

25-11-2024, 11:06 AM

Completely baffles me how the majority of folk add an "h" to his name. Just don't get it!

If you are or were a pro footballer with standards you'd hate seeing the ball juggling antics. I though he had a decent game but he really needs to move on.

25-11-2024, 11:52 AM
Our captain and primary playmaker only passing the ball 9 times is a bigger issue than someone juggling the ball during a stoppage in play.

Precisely.

Horrendous stat.

There’s probably a conversation to be had re whether not Youan could or should be doing more to get into a position to receive a pass from Joe Newell.

This focus on what he did during a break in play when we were 1-0 up and playing well is utterly bonkers.

25-11-2024, 11:59 AM

Yes and i think he was wrong also. Literally a hundred other more relevant to talk about on Saturday than Elie juggling with the ball

25-11-2024, 12:03 PM

He has no respect for our club.

25-11-2024, 12:06 PM
This focus on what he did during a break in play when we were 1-0 up and playing well is utterly bonkers.

That’s not really a representation of what was happening though, was it?

There needs to be questions as to why there wasn’t more engagement in regards to a plan as to how we react, but similarly players need to be realising that it’s a crisis point in the game and proactively communicating with each other.

By acting like a TikTok star, Elie brings the criticism from fellow professionals and fans alike on this one. There are some who go OTT with criticism about him but there are also others who seem to think he can do no wrong but that’s just the other (equally incorrect) side of the coin.

25-11-2024, 12:06 PM
It's the perception it gives. It looks like he didn't really care about his teammate being sent off. Even pretend to look interested. We're bottom of the league and Youan has been disappointing to say the least. Stop balancing the ball on your neck and doing silly keepie ups and read the room. I'd expect one of him teammates to go through him in the dressing room.

I would be hoping the players were directing the angst against the idiot who got red carded once again rather than Ellie who was just keeping warm.

25-11-2024, 12:13 PM

Well here you go, I spoke with a ex Hibs player yesterday and he didn’t see a problem with it, he said you would be more raging with Obita for seeing red again, ex player said I doubt the players even gave it a 2nd thought what Ellie was doing.

The two above only played for Hibs, the person I spoke to also supports Hibs since he was a wee kid, so I’m inclined to believe him.

25-11-2024, 12:16 PM
Well here you go, I spoke with a ex Hibs player yesterday and he didn’t see a problem with it, he said you would be more raging with Obita for seeing red again, ex player said I doubt the players even gave it a 2nd thought what Ellie was doing.

The two above only played for Hibs, the person I spoke to also supports Hibs since he was a wee kid, so I’m inclined to believe him.

Marvin demanded high standards of his team mates. He was a proper leader and I’d imagine if there was still someone with his mindset in the team then we wouldn’t have players doing tricks when someone had just been sent off.

You stay warm by sticking a hat on your head, not by balancing a ball on it.

25-11-2024, 12:29 PM
Marvin demanded high standards of his team mates. He was a proper leader and I’d imagine if there was still someone with his mindset in the team then we wouldn’t have players doing tricks when someone had just been sent off.

You stay warm by sticking a hat on your head, not by balancing a ball on it.

'Bartley told the court he ducked out of Hibs' training to phone McRae, 25, about the messages, before driving from Edinburgh to Glasgow after the training session to confront her.

He turned up at her workplace in Glasgow city centre but was told she was not there.

He then told her in an "angry" and "aggressive" phone call he would try and ruin her life before adding: "Protect the people around you."

If you are so desperate to knock Youan, perhaps seek out a better example of a proper leader, just a thought.

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 01:11 PM
I was talking about the keepie uppie 'incident' specifically.

If there was an issue with getting organised post the sending off, he wasn't the only one.

Perhaps the keepie uppie thing was blown out of proportion. But the criticism of Youan comes from an accumulation of things. If he actually wanted to be here, performed on a consistent basis and did enough to influence the outcome of matches, then nobody would have batted an eyelid about him doing keepie uppies while his team were waiting to potentially be down to 10 men. The criticism fundamentally comes down to the mans ego. He thinks he is better than he is, he thinks he is too good to be here and he isn't playing for the badge. He just wants to show off his clips so he can be moved on elsewhere. I don't know why he's being defended by some of our fans, he doesn't even like us or our club.

25-11-2024, 01:14 PM
Perhaps the keepie uppie thing was blown out of proportion. But the criticism of Youan comes from an accumulation of things. If he actually wanted to be here, performed on a consistent basis and did enough to influence the outcome of matches, then nobody would have batted an eyelid about him doing keepie uppies while his team were waiting to potentially be down to 10 men. The criticism fundamentally comes down to the mans ego. He thinks he is better than he is, he thinks he is too good to be here and he isn't playing for the badge. He just wants to show off his clips so he can be moved on elsewhere. I don't know why he's being defended by some of our fans, he doesn't even like us or our club.

Agreed

He's gone from sharing clips of his skills in 0-3 derby defeats. To now sharing his best bits in training on his Instagram stories - absolutely embarrassing stuff.

Another major error from the club to fail to move him on in the summer. He clearly wanted away and that should have been factored into taking whatever we could have got for him.

GreenPJ
25-11-2024, 01:19 PM
Agreed

He's gone from sharing clips of his skills in 0-3 derby defeats. To now sharing his best bits in training on his Instagram stories - absolutely embarrassing stuff.

Another major error from the club to fail to move him on in the summer. He clearly wanted away and that should have been factored into taking whatever we could have got for him.

To be fair he picked up the injury whilst the window was open - what isn't known if there was any concrete offers before that that were commensurate with his value and we were being greedy/trying to optimise the value for the club by holding out for higher bids or other clubs to come in for him.

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 01:20 PM
Agreed

Indeed. As I've said previously, he doesn't even care about the match results. He's just here to market himself because he thinks he'll get a bigger better move elsewhere if he shows off enough meaningless clips. If the higher ups at the club had a clue, they would have bitten the hand off at the first opportunity to get him out.

25-11-2024, 01:21 PM
To be fair he picked up the injury whilst the window was open - what isn't known if there was any concrete offers before that that were commensurate with his value and we were being greedy/trying to optimise the value for the club by holding out for higher bids or other clubs to come in for him.

Yeah tbf I'm just assuming it was an error by the club but maybe there were no bids? Stories at the time indicated otherwise and I don't think the dead leg type injury that he got, would have deterred serious buyers. It was a 4 week injury max.

Assuming it was the club's fault seems very plausible though :greengrin

25-11-2024, 02:09 PM
Indeed. As I've said previously, he doesn't even care about the match results. He's just here to market himself because he thinks he'll get a bigger better move elsewhere if he shows off enough meaningless clips. If the higher ups at the club had a clue, they would have bitten the hand off at the first opportunity to get him out.

Of course he cares about the results.

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 02:12 PM
Of course he cares about the results.

Based on what? We could get absolutely slaughtered by Aberdeen tomorrow and Youan would waste no time uploading a 15 second clip to tik tok of that one moment where he got the better of Shinnie.

He isn't a footballer, he's a joke. I'm very much with Bartley and Stewart on this one. Even if they did make a big thing out of something that appears trivial at first glance. It's obvious to me why they don't like him and I'm sure they won't be the only ex-professionals that don't.

Southernhibee
25-11-2024, 02:28 PM
Just read David Gray’s response to Marc’s criticism and as usual he’s sitting on the fence. I think that sums Gray up as he doesn’t want to upset anyone inc Marv. If he is like that with the group no wonder they play the way they do, with no aggression. By that I mean fair aggression like putting the foot in without fouling. I see none of that with this team and that I believe is how they’re set up by Gray. I said at the beginning of the season that this is the direction we were heading in and I was hoping I’d be way off the mark. Absolutely wrong appointment and he needs to be removed before it becomes impossible to claw this back. I’m not confident but I’ll still support them. It’s in the blood.

25-11-2024, 02:33 PM
Based on what? We could get absolutely slaughtered by Aberdeen tomorrow and Youan would waste no time uploading a 15 second clip to tik tok of that one moment where he got the better of Shinnie.

He isn't a footballer, he's a joke. I'm very much with Bartley and Stewart on this one. Even if they did make a big thing out of something that appears trivial at first glance. It's obvious to me why they don't like him and I'm sure they won't be the only ex-professionals that don't.

He's a footballer. He plays and trains all the time. You think he doesn't care about winning or losing? Nonsense.

So dramatic all the reaction around him posting videos of a stepover or something...so ****ing what? If he thinks he's done something good, he shouldn't be allowed to post that on his own social media? Dinnae look at his social media if it'll upset you so much.

Keepie-uppie gate isn't just trivial at first glance, it's trivial full stop. TV is absolutely littered with ex-pros talking ***** when commentating, Bartley and Stewart arent the exception to the rule.

Youan has been tatties this season, absolutely crap. He's not offering anywhere near enough, but **** me the absolute pish thats being spouted about him just now is a joke.

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 02:36 PM
He's a footballer. He plays and trains all the time. You think he doesn't care about winning or losing? Nonsense.

So dramatic all the reaction around him posting videos of a stepover or something...so ****ing what? If he thinks he's done something good, he shouldn't be allowed to post that on his own social media? Dinnae look at his social media if it'll upset you so much.

Keepie-uppie gate isn't just trivial at first glance, it's trivial full stop. TV is absolutely littered with ex-pros talking ***** when commentating, Bartley and Stewart arent the exception to the rule.

Youan has been tatties this season, absolutely crap. He's not offering anywhere near enough, but **** me the absolute pish thats being spouted about him just now is a joke.

And this is why we get what we deserve as a club. Fans who still don't get it.

25-11-2024, 02:38 PM

Your relentless posting about this is a joke not the player.

25-11-2024, 02:38 PM
And this is why we get what we deserve as a club. Fans who still don't get it.

You should have said I was accepting mediocrity :aok: :top marks

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 02:44 PM

I suppose bottom of the league would be considered merely "mediocrity" for some of you at this point. Considering how far our standards and expectations have fallen over the years.

Considering David Gray wasn't prepared to come out and confidently defend one of his own "players" following Marv's comments should raise serious red flags.

25-11-2024, 02:46 PM

I wish we were mediocre

TrinityHFC
25-11-2024, 02:48 PM
I suppose bottom of the league would be considered merely "mediocrity" for some of you at this point. Considering how far our standards and expectations have fallen over the years.

Considering David Gray wasn't prepared to come out and confidently defend one of his own "players" following Marv's comments should raise serious red flags.

Seems to be confidently defending him to me.

"I think anyone who knows Élie Youan knows he loves football. That's when he's happiest; when he's on the pitch," the Easter Road head coach explained.

"I'd fully understand it if the game was about to go on, or I hadn't got the information on, or if I'd pulled all the players across and he wasn't over and was doing his own thing. Then I would understand exactly the magnitude of making the point about it.

"But I didn't see it at the time. My information went on very quickly as to what we wanted to do at the red card, especially for the next five minutes, which was to see what Dundee would do because of how well we started in the game. The plan was passed on very quickly, he knew exactly where he was, and he went into position very quickly.

"I think a lot's been made of it, but if you actually know him, I don't think there's any malice in what he was doing. I understand why the question would be asked, and why Marvin singled it out and gave his feelings on it."

25-11-2024, 02:49 PM
Your relentless posting about this is a joke not the player.

Agreed, It's pretty dire stuff.

I should relentlessly post the comment about big Marv skiving training to make abusive phone calls. It kind of undermines Bigs point about Youan and professionalism, in fact why not.

'Bartley told the court he ducked out of Hibs' training to phone McRae, 25, about the messages, before driving from Edinburgh to Glasgow."

25-11-2024, 02:51 PM

What are you on about? SDG literally defended him earlier today.

25-11-2024, 02:57 PM

"I think anyone who knows Élie Youan knows he loves football. That's when he's happiest; when he's on the pitch," the Easter Road head coach explained.

"I'd fully understand it if the game was about to go on, or I hadn't got the information on, or if I'd pulled all the players across and he wasn't over and was doing his own thing. Then I would understand exactly the magnitude of making the point about it.

"But I didn't see it at the time. My information went on very quickly as to what we wanted to do at the red card, especially for the next five minutes, which was to see what Dundee would do because of how well we started in the game. The plan was passed on very quickly, he knew exactly where he was, and he went into position very quickly.

"I think a lot's been made of it, but if you actually know him, I don't think there's any malice in what he was doing. I understand why the question would be asked, and why Marvin singled it out and gave his feelings on it."

What a plan that was by Gray!

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 02:57 PM

Sorry, but that doesn't read to me as confidently coming out to defend him. Saying "Elle loves football" and that he's "happiest when he's on the pitch" are pretty mute points. I don't dispute either of them. But there's nothing in that statement addressing Youan's commitment to our own club. Nothing about him wanting to turn things around for us or even wanting to remain here. These are not omitted by accident.

TrinityHFC
25-11-2024, 03:05 PM
Sorry, but that doesn't read to me as confidently coming out to defend him. Saying "Elle loves football" and that he's "happiest when he's on the pitch" are pretty mute points. I don't dispute either of them. But there's nothing in that statement addressing Youan's commitment to our own club. Nothing about him wanting to turn things around for us or even wanting to remain here. These are not omitted by accident.

None of those things are relevant to the incident he is being asked about.

He’s also been quite consistent that Youan works hard in training and hasn’t given him any issues.

My daughter’s boyfriend is in the first team squad so I know a bit of the dynamics and personalities and everything I’ve heard is that he’s a lovely guy, trains well, has a great attitude and relationship with the players and staff and is absolutely nothing like anyone who takes offence to his every move seems to think he is.

HarpOnHibee
25-11-2024, 03:13 PM

He’s also been quite consistent that Youan works hard in training and hasn’t given him any issues.

My daughter’s boyfriend is in the first team squad so I know a bit of the dynamics and personalities and everything I’ve heard is that he’s a lovely guy, trains well, has a great attitude and relationship with the players and staff and is absolutely nothing like anyone who takes offence to his every move seems to think he is.

Hey may well be a nice person. I don't know the guy on a personal level. What I do know is that putting a "greatest hits" complication of yourself on social media while your team is rock bottom in the league and not knowing where the next win is going to come from, doesn't send a good message. Those saying "who cares, he can do what he likes" are missing the point. What compels him to do this while his team are bottom of the league without a win in sight? If it isn't simply to promote himself in order to get away from here, then what else would he be doing it for?

25-11-2024, 03:15 PM

Thank you for posting this. Youan has suffered a lot of nonsense recently, totally unwarranted.

TrinityHFC
25-11-2024, 03:20 PM
Hey may well be a nice person. I don't know the guy on a personal level. What I do know is that putting a "greatest hits" complication of yourself on social media while your team is rock bottom in the league and not knowing where the next win is going to come from, doesn't send a good message. Those saying "who cares, he can do what he likes" are missing the point. What compels him to do this while his team are bottom of the league without a win in sight? If it isn't simply to promote himself in order to get away from here, then what else would he be doing it for?

What exactly has he posted and when? I don’t do most social media but just looked him up on instagram. Seems to have posted once this month working in the gym?

25-11-2024, 05:38 PM
SJM making some interesting comments on this (and Hibs) just now saying it’s a “bad, bad look” and mentions a lack of leadership, how back in his day that it wouldn’t likely have happened. On a live Premier Sports YouTube programme.

Also mentions his brother, Lewis, and Paul being hounded out to be replaced by worse and “projects”. Also a lack of people who know the club and what makes the place tick or what irks the support.

25-11-2024, 05:48 PM
SJM making some interesting comments on this (and Hibs) just now saying it’s a “bad, bad look” and mentions a lack of leadership, how back in his day that it wouldn’t likely have happened. On a live Premier Sports YouTube programme.

Also mentions his brother, Lewis, and Paul being hounded out to be replaced by worse and “projects”. Also a lack of people who know the club and what makes the place tick or what irks the support.

Both his brother and Lewis’s replacements won POTY and neither were “projects”. Neither of the 2 centre backs we have brought in to replace Hanlon are “projects”.

25-11-2024, 05:51 PM
Both his brother and Lewis’s replacements won POTY and neither were “projects”. Neither of the 2 centre backs we have brought in to replace Hanlon are “projects”.

He did speak about a few players leaving but other than those three no further specifics.

Paul’s replacement is arguably Lewis Miller who was always very raw.

1875Sean
25-11-2024, 06:24 PM
He did speak about a few players leaving but other than those three no further specifics.

Paul’s replacement is arguably Lewis Miller who was always very raw.

How long has Miller be called raw, would take McGinn every day of the week

25-11-2024, 06:28 PM

I'd love a bit of mediocrity at the club for a bit.:boo hoo:

25-11-2024, 07:30 PM

I think most people would consider Miller to be Paul McGinns replacement? Defo a downgrade and also a project signing IMO.

Agreed re the CBs

25-11-2024, 08:36 PM
I think most people would consider Miller to be Paul McGinns replacement? Defo a downgrade and also a project signing IMO.

Agreed re the CBs

McGinn lost his place at RB when we switched to a back 3 and Cadden played RWB winning POTY. McGinn hadn’t been playing right back for the best part of a season before he left. He was bang average when used at RCB and cost us a few goals under Maloney.

SickBoy32
26-11-2024, 04:17 AM

And he’s absolutely spot on, on all counts.

Curious if folk disagree with SJM re Youan, as well as Bartley and Stewart?

Guy needs chased out in Jan.

26-11-2024, 05:27 AM

Would be interesting to read the story, where has he said it?

26-11-2024, 06:37 AM
McGinn lost his place at RB when we switched to a back 3 and Cadden played RWB winning POTY. McGinn hadn’t been playing right back for the best part of a season before he left. He was bang average when used at RCB and cost us a few goals under Maloney.

But McGinn and Cadden played in the same team at times. Only when we signed Miller did Lee Johnson release McGinn. And Johnson was typically playing a back 4 using Cadden or Miller as RB.

It’s not really important either way but it’s pretty clear that SJM is referring to Miller, in his comments.

26-11-2024, 07:22 AM
McGinn is spot on as we know. If you think about the window when Miller and Rocky were signed. There was no head coach or manager who was eager to sign them…. They were project signings and they’ve been a disaster.

26-11-2024, 07:26 AM

But McGinn wasnt specifically talking about Youan, id you look at the actual quotes.

26-11-2024, 09:24 AM
Should chris cadden be playing as he reckons so

Didn't hear that to be honest, I'll say he's wrong on that.

26-11-2024, 10:37 AM
But McGinn wasnt specifically talking about Youan, id you look at the actual quotes.

McGinn does outright criticise Youan. He also mentions big Myk isn't much better just standing around, neither of them showing any interest in how to react.

26-11-2024, 10:56 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdWtTBgADmU&ab_channel=PremierSports

SJM here. Not sure of timestamps as just started watching.

26-11-2024, 11:32 AM
https://x.com/premsportstv/status/1861364395520970997?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

Relevant part here.

Totally agree with McGinn and Stewart, I’m surprised at the number of people who think differently but suppose it’s a game of opinions eh.

26-11-2024, 11:32 AM
McGinn does outright criticise Youan. He also mentions big Myk isn't much better just standing around, neither of them showing any interest in how to react.

He criticizes the range of things that were going on with a number of players not showing interest in whats going on around them. Which is accurate. Youan is complicit in the crap culture that has developed as all the team is, no arguing there. Mcginns point is different from the weird obsession on the keepy uppies and hounding this player in particular that Stewart seems to have. At least Youan didnt storm down the tunnel, kick the air in frustration and fall on his erchie in front of a TV audience like Micky did not that long ago. Now THATS embarrassing.

26-11-2024, 11:43 AM
He criticizes the range of things that were going on with a number of players not showing interest in whats going on around them. Which is accurate. Youan is complicit in the crap culture that has developed as all the team is, no arguing there. Mcginns point is different from the weird obsession on the keepy uppies and hounding this player in particular that Stewart seems to have. At least Youan didnt storm down the tunnel, kick the air in frustration and fall on his erchie in front of a TV audience like Micky did not that long ago. Now THATS embarrassing.

Exactly, Youan is the topic of discussion and that's what the presenter was putting to McGinn. His criticism was more measured than Stewart's, it was implicit rather than than explicit, he was referring more to a wider culture at Hibs, one which wasn't there when he played.

26-11-2024, 12:12 PM
https://x.com/premsportstv/status/1861364395520970997?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

Relevant part here.

Totally agree with McGinn and Stewart, I’m surprised at the number of people who think differently but suppose it’s a game of opinions eh.

I'm with you Bingo. All the players on the pitch should have been listening to SDG and the leaders on the pitch to understand how they were going to respond to the sending off.

Not Youan, amongst others. Embarrassing situation for the club.

26-11-2024, 12:20 PM
I'm with you Bingo. All the players on the pitch should have been listening to SDG and the leaders on the pitch to understand how they were going to respond to the sending off.

Perhaps if SDG had actually been giving any instructions to listen to. The reality is Obita was still on the pitch as everyone was awaiting confirmation from VAR on the sending off.

The Tubs
26-11-2024, 12:23 PM

Or get dropped for a 17-year-old in a cup final as the manager knew you didn't have the guts to deal with it. He's a waster.

TrinityHFC
26-11-2024, 12:32 PM
Perhaps if SDG had actually been giving any instructions to listen to. The reality is Obita was still on the pitch as everyone was awaiting confirmation from VAR on the sending off.

This is a key thing for me too. Gray has said the players were all aware of the instructions. VAR definitely introduces a period of waiting. I actually thought at the time the players were expecting it to be overturned and were acting accordingly. A bit like when one team lines up to take the offside free kick rather than preparing for a kick off.

26-11-2024, 12:34 PM
This is a key thing for me too. Gray has said the players were all aware of the instructions. VAR definitely introduces a period of waiting. I actually thought at the time the players were expecting it to be overturned and were acting accordingly. A bit like when one team lines up to take the offside free kick rather than preparing for a kick off.

I still want those players going across and asking “what’s the plan”. Being proactive rather than wandering around or doing keepie ups.

26-11-2024, 12:43 PM

Where was Gray and who are the leaders on the pitch? Not any of them.

TrinityHFC
26-11-2024, 12:50 PM
I still want those players going across and asking “what’s the plan”. Being proactive rather than wandering around or doing keepie ups.

The message got on before it restarted. The analysis of this is just getting daft now really.

26-11-2024, 01:10 PM
The message got on before it restarted. The analysis of this is just getting daft now really.

I cannae mind ever seeing a red card where all the players run in to the manager to see whats to happen next.

26-11-2024, 01:11 PM

Are there any ex or current pro’s in the media defending him and agreeing with you?

Certainly divided opinion on social media for the average fan. Professionals appear to be fairly unanimous that he was in the wrong.

Chorley Hibee
26-11-2024, 01:12 PM
Didn't Gray mention that the plan was "wait to see what Dundee do".

Sums us up right now.

26-11-2024, 01:16 PM
Are there any ex or current pro’s in the media defending him and agreeing with you?

Certainly divided opinion on social media for the average fan. Professionals appear to be fairly unanimous that he was in the wrong.

SDG defended him. Silver posted that Deek defended him. I'd hardly say that professionals appear fairly unanimous, I've only heard about a handful of folk talk about it at all.

Does being an ex-pro mean your opinion is more valid than an average fans?

Kris Boyd says loads of stuff I think is a load of baws, but is he right cos I didnae play professionally?

26-11-2024, 01:30 PM

There will be a range of views on it across the ex pro community as there is in the fan community. Some folk think its a big deal some don’t. The expros who think it isnt a big deal naturally are less likely to post about it. Some folk would barely have noticed it.

26-11-2024, 02:59 PM
Does being an ex-pro mean your opinion is more valid than an average fans?

Yes. If you have experience of that industry then that makes you more informed. Otherwise we’re heading into Michael Gove “this country has had enough of experts” territory.

26-11-2024, 05:27 PM
I hope he scores tonight and does keepie uppies for his celebration.

HarpOnHibee
26-11-2024, 05:30 PM

I'm sure it'll be a great laugh at 1-3 or 1-4. One for the tik tok collection.

26-11-2024, 05:42 PM
I'm sure it'll be a great laugh at 1-3 or 1-4. One for the tik tok collection.

You seem very worked up about a 25 year old using social media.

Mantis Toboggan
26-11-2024, 05:42 PM

Then tans the ball directly at Stewart's thick head.
A guy's got to dream.

HarpOnHibee
26-11-2024, 05:53 PM
You seem very worked up about a 25 year old using social media.

Aye, that's what it is. You got me.

26-11-2024, 09:38 PM
Wonder what Marvs take on Youan is tonight?

26-11-2024, 09:43 PM
Might download tiktok just to follow Elie.

27-11-2024, 10:47 AM
Elie Youan clapback sparks fiery exchange with Hibs hero after French star's troll backfires - Daily Record (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/elie-youan-hibs-marvin-bartley-34195248)

Trinity Hibee
27-11-2024, 10:59 AM
This side show now just leaves Gray answering more awkward questions in press conferences. Hopefully both sides just keep their mouths shut now

27-11-2024, 11:04 AM
This side show now just leaves Gray answering more awkward questions in press conferences. Hopefully both sides just keep their mouths shut now

Yep absolute nonsense. I saw Rocky’s press conference and he was very good and answered intelligently including a question on Keepie uppie. Didn’t get drawn into fat Brian’s fishing attempts. How we have to put up with him every game and press conference is laughable particularly when his favourites are only ahead of us by goal difference

27-11-2024, 11:05 AM
Elie Youan clapback sparks fiery exchange with Hibs hero after French star's troll backfires - Daily Record (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/elie-youan-hibs-marvin-bartley-34195248)

“Bartley - a Scottish Cup winner with Hibs in 2016 - described Youan's actions as 'embarrassing' and 'not unacceptable', also questioning the Frenchman's desire to dig in and fight for his team.”

Kwality journalism…

27-11-2024, 11:06 AM

Who takes this pish seriously? I wouldn't even open a link from this comic excuse for a newspaper.

27-11-2024, 11:54 AM
Ach it’s all good fun and if it motivates Ellie to make his point with performances like last night, mission accomplished.

HarpOnHibee
27-11-2024, 12:39 PM
Youan looked exceptionally good on the ball last night, as you would expect him to. The problem is the lack of effect it had on the game overall. Sure it's fun to watch him skip past 2 or 3 players. But if it's not somehow resulting in goals, then it's merely a side show. He needs to exert more of an effect on the game. Sometimes that just comes down to making better decisions. It's not all about fancy footwork, sometimes it's just making a basic pass to a player who is in a better position. He's been gloating about his performance. But the reality is, it's yet another game without a win. Do something that gets us a winning result, then you can gloat all you like.

27-11-2024, 12:56 PM
Youan looked exceptionally good on the ball last night, as you would expect him to. The problem is the lack of effect it had on the game overall. Sure it's fun to watch him skip past 2 or 3 players. But if it's not somehow resulting in goals, then it's merely a side show. He needs to exert more of an effect on the game. Sometimes that just comes down to making better decisions. It's not all about fancy footwork, sometimes it's just making a basic pass to a player who is in a better position. He's been gloating about his performance. But the reality is, it's yet another game without a win. Do something that gets us a winning result, then you can gloat all you like.

I beg to differ. he created space, ensured we put them under pressure and I would suggest that anyone who knows anything about football knows that there's a bit more to the game than scoring goals.

Making a pass to a player who's in a better position is so fundamentally obvious, a shame someone with Hoilett's talent and experience didn't see that when he had the chance last night.

At the moment I don't really expect any Hibs player to look that good on the ball, never mind one under such scrutiny and pressure. Youan won headers, he sometimes won the ball back from opponents and he constantly took pressure off the side by making telling runs.

Given the unwarranted hysterical relentless criticism, from the likes of you, Big and Stewart, why shouldn't he give you all the v's and say suck on that suckers.

I'll happily take what he offered last night every game from Elie Youan. A very good performance, matched only by Cadden.

Well done to Elie, hopefully he carries on like that before he leaves.

HarpOnHibee
27-11-2024, 01:06 PM
I beg to differ. he created space, ensured we put them under pressure and I would suggest that anyone who knows anything about football knows that there's a bit more to the game than scoring goals.

Making a pass to a player who's in a better position is so fundamentally obvious, a shame someone with Hoilett's talent and experience didn't see that when he had the chance last night.

At the moment I don't really expect any Hibs player to look that good on the ball, never mind one under such scrutiny and pressure. Youan won headers, he sometimes won the ball back from opponents and he constantly took pressure off the side by making telling runs.

Given the unwarranted hysterical relentless criticism, from the likes of you, Big and Stewart, why shouldn't he give you all the v's and say suck on that suckers.

I'll happily take what he offered last night every game from Elie Youan. A very good performance, matched only by Cadden.

Well done to Elie, hopefully he carries on like that before he leaves.

I'm not saying he played badly last night, far from it. He clearly put great effort into the game last night. I feel like the way that he's set up is a bit of a wasted opportunity though. With his skills, he's more than capable of driving straight through the heart of opposition defences and creating numerous chances within the centre of the box where he'd be far more likely to score goals from. But this isn't happening. For all of his skills on the ball, his chances are generally limited to half chances, either from distance or from less than ideal shooting angles. I believe he can be utilized far more effectively than he currently is. An individual of his skill level should be looking at 20+ goals a season at this level. But because he isn't going straight through the middle, he isn't getting the quality of opportunities required to do so.

27-11-2024, 01:30 PM
Elie was very good last night.

If he really wants to GIRUY those who doubt him then if he is consistently playing like that then it’d be beyond doubt the value what he brings to the team.

It’s a cliche, but he set a benchmark for himself last night.

27-11-2024, 02:59 PM
I'm not saying he played badly last night, far from it. He clearly put great effort into the game last night. I feel like the way that he's set up is a bit of a wasted opportunity though. With his skills, he's more than capable of driving straight through the heart of opposition defences and creating numerous chances within the centre of the box where he'd be far more likely to score goals from. But this isn't happening. For all of his skills on the ball, his chances are generally limited to half chances, either from distance or from less than ideal shooting angles. I believe he can be utilized far more effectively than he currently is. An individual of his skill level should be looking at 20+ goals a season at this level. But because he isn't going straight through the middle, he isn't getting the quality of opportunities required to do so.

Off the top of my head.

He used his skill to go for a "less than ideal shooting angle" to the edge of the D and worked the goalie in the first half.

His backheel to Hoilett should have resulted in a goal right at the start of the second half.

He followed up after Cadden hit the bar and only a very good block from a defender stopped him scoring.

He put the ball into the box that Rocky ended up scoring from.

27-11-2024, 03:50 PM
Decent game last night, overdue but the roving type role seemed to suit him and when he's at it he is some player.

No problem with his latest post and if it inspires him to prove even more points whilst he's here, great.

27-11-2024, 03:51 PM

Had you left the stadium before our equaliser?

27-11-2024, 04:23 PM
Pretty disappointed with Marv tbh one of my favourites. Has he no aspirations to be a manager again then with this sort of back and forth?

It often feels like a lack of Hibs voices everywhere you look. In the commentary. In the reporting. In the studio. Use your platform Marv FFS. It wasn't a win but I seen plenty of things that have been missing all season. Elie was outstanding. How about building the siege mentality and getting behind us and asking for more of the same.

Sick of it. We could do without having one of our own bashing the place aswell. And I thought the reception at the end spoke volumes from those inside the stadium.

27-11-2024, 04:28 PM
Marv is 100% correct in his reply

But I love Youan for posting that last night and think it’s funny.

27-11-2024, 05:07 PM
Marv is 100% correct in his reply

But I love Youan for posting that last night and think it’s funny.

Big is a hypocritical attention seeking mouthpiece

"Bartley told the court he ducked out of Hibs' training to phone McRae, 25, about the messages, before driving from Edinburgh to Glasgow."

InvertedFullBak
27-11-2024, 05:34 PM
Pretty disappointed with Marv tbh one of my favourites. Has he no aspirations to be a manager again then with this sort of back and forth?

It often feels like a lack of Hibs voices everywhere you look. In the commentary. In the reporting. In the studio. Use your platform Marv FFS. It wasn't a win but I seen plenty of things that have been missing all season. Elie was outstanding. How about building the siege mentality and getting behind us and asking for more of the same.

Sick of it. We could do without having one of our own bashing the place aswell. And I thought the reception at the end spoke volumes from those inside the stadium.

How’s about players turning up more than the odd game here and there? It’s utterly embarrassing that messers Newell and Yohan have to be hammered in the media for a certain period of time before we get a performance out of them like we did last night.

Both of them need to take a good long look at themselves in the mirror , especially Yohan who quite frankly has been honking on the park and on let’s not get started on his social media posts since the end of last season.

27-11-2024, 05:43 PM
Bit rich of Bartley to accuse someone of unacceptable behaviour at Dens Park when he was caught on camera sticking his finger up a Dundee players bum.

27-11-2024, 06:11 PM
Ach it’s all good fun and if it motivates Ellie to make his point with performances like last night, mission accomplished.

This. I’d have loved to see Youan’s keepy-uppy celebration if he’d scored last night.

Bridge hibs
27-11-2024, 07:26 PM
Bit rich of Bartley to accuse someone of unacceptable behaviour at Dens Park when he was caught on camera sticking his finger up a Dundee players bum.He was just following the managers advice to play in the hole

27-11-2024, 07:45 PM
Not been Youans biggest fan for a while (check previous posts) but I’m finding Bartley’s and other pundits and fellow professionals (SJM included) continuous witch hunting over a couple of keep ups during a break in play very weird and quite frankly, disgusting.

Particularly from Bartley who often in the past has advocated for footballers mental health. They seem to think because Hibs are playing bad that it’s open season on Youan to attack him as they see fit.

HarpOnHibee
27-11-2024, 07:55 PM
Not been Youans biggest fan for a while (check previous posts) but I’m finding Bartley’s and other pundits and fellow professionals (SJM included) continuous witch hunting over a couple of keep ups during a break in play very weird and quite frankly, disgusting.

Particularly from Bartley who often in the past has advocated for footballers mental health. They seem to think because Hibs are playing bad that it’s open season on Youan to attack him as they see fit.

Why would a group of ex-Hibs players have some unspecified vendetta against Youan? Or could it be that unlike the average fan, they understand that there's more to being a footballer than a few clever dribbles that ultimately fizzle out? They can see Youan's potential and are likely frustrated that his impact on games are not more significant. The boy should be an absolute nightmare for goalkeepers with the talent that he has, yet they rarely look like breaking a sweat with him. It's not that Bartley, Mcginn or Stewart think he's a bad player, it's that they know he has the potential to have a more direct impact on games than what he has shown this season.

27-11-2024, 08:01 PM
Why would a group of ex-Hibs players have some unspecified vendetta against Youan? Or could it be that unlike the average fan, they understand that there's more to being a footballer than a few clever dribbles that ultimately fizzle out? They can see Youan's potential and are likely frustrated that his impact on games are not more significant. The boy should be an absolute nightmare for goalkeepers with the talent that he has, yet they rarely look like breaking a sweat with him. It's not that Bartley, Mcginn or Stewart think he's a bad player, it's that they know he has the potential to have a more direct impact on games than what he has shown this season.

I’m just fed up of pundits thinking it’s open season on Hibs players just now. Particularly so called “Hibs oriented” pundits.

What about Shankland? Don’t see any pundits rounding on him for the way he’s been playing this season.

HarpOnHibee
27-11-2024, 08:08 PM
I’m just fed up of pundits thinking it’s open season on Hibs players just now. Particularly so called “Hibs oriented” pundits.

What about Shankland? Don’t see any pundits rounding on him for the way he’s been playing this season.

We're currently bottom of the table, that's always going to result in player criticism. Not just from fans but from pundits, ex-professionals and other corners of the game. Gloating on social media while your team is still sitting bottom and still searching for another win is always going to raise eyebrows. It shouldn't be any surprise to anyone that this has happened.

27-11-2024, 08:26 PM

Thats a great point :agree:

27-11-2024, 08:56 PM
We're currently bottom of the table, that's always going to result in player criticism. Not just from fans but from pundits, ex-professionals and other corners of the game. Gloating on social media while your team is still sitting bottom and still searching for another win is always going to raise eyebrows. It shouldn't be any surprise to anyone that this has happened.

He’s well within his rights to bite back imo. Criticism is what it is but it’s coming at him from all angles.

27-11-2024, 09:03 PM
Bartley is an outsider attacking one of our current players. It’s destructive. It only serves to boost his own ego. Time for him to shut it.

HarpOnHibee
27-11-2024, 09:18 PM
He’s well within his rights to bite back imo. Criticism is what it is but it’s coming at him from all angles.

He may well feel that he has the right to bite back. But to what end? Doing so is only going to pile even more criticism onto him. He seems to be under the illusion that he's a hot ticket because of his dribbling abilities. This is the same player who scored a grand total of 4 league goals for us last season from 31 league appearances and has yet to find the net for us this season. For all of his skill and talent on the ball, goalkeepers are rarely breaking a sweat from him. That's not good for one of our key forward players with the level of talent that he has. Less of the show boating and more meaningful damage to the opposition would soon get the critics off his back.

27-11-2024, 10:18 PM
I don't want to see this anymore from Marvin. You've said your bit, now move on. C'mon Hibs this weekend

28-11-2024, 06:33 AM
I bet Bartley is cringing at his response now. He would do well to remember he was an unused substitute with Chris Dagnall in the "honours" claim he made. Hardly a flex. I think Bartley sometimes thinks he was better than he was.

28-11-2024, 07:01 AM
I bet Bartley is cringing at his response now. He would do well to remember he was an unused substitute with Chris Dagnall in the "honours" claim he made. Hardly a flex. I think Bartley sometimes thinks he was better than he was.

He played in the majority of games leading up to the final. Surely that gives him the right to ‘flex’ about his achievements?

WestStandWillie
28-11-2024, 07:35 AM

Bartley played in all the ties leading up to the final so I'd say he's entitled to his opinion and he won't be cringing whatsoever.

28-11-2024, 08:24 AM
Marvin and Elie are simply young guys raised in the social media era. They both have an inflated ego caused by creaming over their selfie and highlights packages. If they were chocolate, they'd probably eat themselves.

One of my best mates is always in the gym, driving his Tesla or posting cheesy selfies with his missus in their designer gear. He's a handsome bar steward who loves himself as much as our two supposed adversaries.

Surely nobody takes young lads like these remotely seriously? 😅

28-11-2024, 08:29 AM
Marvin and Elie are simply young guys raised in the social media era. They both have an inflated ego caused by creaming over their selfie and highlights packages. If they were chocolate, they'd probably eat themselves.

One of my best mates is always in the gym, driving his Tesla or posting cheesy selfies with his missus in their designer gear. He's a handsome bar steward who loves himself as much as our two supposed adversaries.

Surely nobody takes young lads like these remotely seriously? 😅

You seem a bit jealous of your mate🤣

28-11-2024, 09:00 AM

Surely nobody takes young lads like these remotely seriously? ��

You seem a bit jealous of your mate��
Well if RIP isn't jealous of his mate i sure am by the sound of him :greengrin

28-11-2024, 09:00 AM
He may well feel that he has the right to bite back. But to what end? Doing so is only going to pile even more criticism onto him. He seems to be under the illusion that he's a hot ticket because of his dribbling abilities. This is the same player who scored a grand total of 4 league goals for us last season from 31 league appearances and has yet to find the net for us this season. For all of his skill and talent on the ball, goalkeepers are rarely breaking a sweat from him. That's not good for one of our key forward players with the level of talent that he has. Less of the show boating and more meaningful damage to the opposition would soon get the critics off his back.

He was MOTM on Tuesday, did any of these public critics mention how well he played?

Bartley only did so in response to Youans post on SM and it came across as a bit sarcastic imo.

If it made Elie feel better about himself then so what? If he’s fit a firing for the rest of the season and he wants to post about it then who cares?

Donegal Hibby
28-11-2024, 09:04 AM
Really disappointed in Bartleys comments .. to be calling out Youan juggling a ball while a VAR review is going which was probably the player trying to keep warm after what he was up to is a joke ! …

Don’t know what Bartleys goal is … probably an ego thing as a failed manager he’s just trying to draw attention to himself. His comments are unhelpful , unwarranted and embarrassing. Hopefully he shuts up now .

28-11-2024, 09:16 AM
Really disappointed in Bartleys comments .. to be calling out Youan juggling a ball while a VAR review is going which was probably the player trying to keep warm after what he was up to is a joke ! …

Don’t know what Bartleys goal is … probably an ego thing as a failed manager he’s just trying to draw attention to himself. His comments are unhelpful , unwarranted and embarrassing. Hopefully he shuts up now .

What his goal is? He was on a panel at the game and is paid for his comments and analysis. As a Hibs fan, like many of us, he felt that Youan was again being a clown and he said so. It reflects the view of many Hibs fans.

Youan thinks it's ok to post clips or brag about getting a MOTM award when you've been pumped by your rivals or sit bottom of the league. Most pros and fans think that's embarrassing patter.

28-11-2024, 09:26 AM
What his goal is? He was on a panel at the game and is paid for his comments and analysis. As a Hibs fan, like many of us, he felt that Youan was again being a clown and he said so. It reflects the view of many Hibs fans.

Youan thinks it's ok to post clips or brag about getting a MOTM award when you've been pumped by your rivals or sit bottom of the league. Most pros and fans think that's embarrassing patter.

‘Most’. I don’t see any evidence of that. It’s Bartley who’s biting like a trout in an overstocked pond here. Jumping on the weegia Hibs hating bandwagon. The continued fawning over a Hearts team equally as bad as us proves my point.