View Full Version : Scandalous refereeing

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 04:19 PM
I’ve seen better refereeing in amateur games over here in Donegal … it wasn’t just bad but totally biased.. the Scottish game is so corrupt. Still can’t understand where the 8 minutes came from too .. sick of watching games where we are repeatedly shafted in by these officials.

19-10-2024, 04:20 PM
He was garbage but Hibs defending last 10 minutes was embarrassing.

Trinity Hibee
19-10-2024, 04:22 PM
Horrific refereeing from the start

19-10-2024, 04:23 PM
I’ve seen better refereeing in amateur games over here in Donegal … it wasn’t just bad but totally biased.. the Scottish game is so corrupt. Still can’t understand where the 8 minutes came from too .. sick of watching games where we are repeatedly shafted in by these officials.

Yeah, its a conspiracy against us. :rolleyes:

We are 5hite. Get over it.

19-10-2024, 04:24 PM
Not the refs fault we are 💩

19-10-2024, 04:24 PM

Guy was clearly biased against Hibs

lugz
19-10-2024, 04:25 PM
More excuses. Accept the reality

Paulie Walnuts
19-10-2024, 04:26 PM
Ah, the excuses and comfort blankets. It wasn’t us, it was someone else’s fault.

TrinityHFC
19-10-2024, 04:26 PM

I think both things were true today. We weren’t very good but the referee was also terrible.

19-10-2024, 04:27 PM
I thought the ref was poor overall but think he got Newell's yellows right on both occasions. They should've had one or two players booked. The extra time on top of an already lengthy injury time was also questionable but ultimately we lost that game because we're *****. Not because the ref ****ed us.

HarpOnHibee
19-10-2024, 04:27 PM
I think it goes without saying, but when we're utter *****, we don't exactly get a helping hand. Unlike certain other clubs.

Paulie Walnuts
19-10-2024, 04:31 PM
I thought the was poor overall but think he got Newell's yellows right on both occasions. They should've had one or two players booked. The extra time on top of an already lengthy injury time was also questionable but ultimately we lost that game because we're *****. Not because the ref ****ed us.

I’ve no issue with either booking and I don’t think it’s out of the question that Newell could have been straight red for the follow through going by modern day rules.

I’ve also no issue with the extra minute added on. Their equaliser stopped the game for over a minute during stoppage time, so there should be more time on top of what was added. I’m not quite sure where 8 minutes came from, but there’d been 6 breaks for subs, a goal and a red card, so I’m not going to complain all that much about it.

19-10-2024, 04:32 PM
I think both things were true today. We weren’t very good but the referee was also terrible.No, that can't be

No one is allowed to discuss anything else coz we are *****

[emoji106]

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 04:33 PM

Instead of rolling your eyes you should open them … he repeatedly let the Stephenson boy away with persistent fouling and booked our player for his first foul ….

he give them a free kick when Iredale clearly won’t be ball with little or no contact .. it’s probably the most biased refereeing I’ve seen since Macleans shenanigans when we played the huns at ER in the cup …

If you think that refereeing was fine today then you really are burying your head in the sand to the fact the game’s corrupt.

19-10-2024, 04:35 PM
Scandalous defending too

19-10-2024, 04:36 PM

We are utter ***** but the referee was definitely at it TBF.

19-10-2024, 04:36 PM
piss poor referee and piss poor team equals a real piss poor result.

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 04:41 PM
More excuses. Accept the reality

No excuses in it .. I expect Hibs to get treated exactly the same as the other team and today we had a player yellow carded for his first foul while one of theirs repeatedly fouled our players and yet escaped… if the referee is going to book players for their first foul then I expect him to be consistent when doing it .. is that to much to ask for ? .

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 04:47 PM
We are utter ***** but the referee was definitely at it TBF.

I’ve been saying for ages we have problems in defence and but that was brutal officiating today , so biased it was unreal .. sending off , 8 minutes added time .. someone even said their goal came over the allocated 8 minutes but I don’t know if thats true .

19-10-2024, 04:48 PM

You are right mate, but unfortunately you are right for everybody. Our refs aren't biased, they are just ***** and when you are a player you should be on the ball enough to know not to give them any more help than they need to screw up .. like Triantis and Newell have done in the last few weeks.

It can't be the ref every week mate .... we are just rubbish from top to bottom.

19-10-2024, 04:48 PM
It's never us is it?

Celtic conspiracy pish.

19-10-2024, 04:49 PM
Corrupt? 🤣 Aye ok pal there's a conspiracy against Hibs.

The refs are crap, but corrupt? Who's paying them the bungs, then?

19-10-2024, 04:49 PM
We are serial losers and, if no action is taken, we will almost certainly be relegated. Anyone who thinks otherwise is deluded.

19-10-2024, 04:51 PM
Omg lets blame the ref shall we? No its not the refs fault we are *****, blame the owners, board, manager, coaching staff and the players, wake the fk up!

19-10-2024, 04:55 PM
Instead of rolling your eyes you should open them … he repeatedly let the Stephenson boy away with persistent fouling and booked our player for his first foul ….

he give them a free kick when Iredale clearly won’t be ball with little or no contact .. it’s probably the most biased refereeing I’ve seen since Macleans shenanigans when we played the huns at ER in the cup …

If you think that refereeing was fine today then you really are burying your head in the sand to the fact the game’s corrupt.

Look, he may have been ***** today. Or biased. Or corrupt. Or just had an off day. The point is that to default to this as the take away from today's game is to ignore the gigantic ****ing pink elephant in the room which is that where we are now is not because of refereeing performances in all our games this season. It's because we are crap and we have not improved from last season. We are probably worse.

19-10-2024, 05:13 PM

No kidding - and it's been like that as long as I can remember - such that my habitual reaction on the rare occasion when Hibs get a decision in our favour is to pinch myself in case I'm dreaming. We have had some outrageous calls against us that rankle years later - such as derby goals ruled out when they were at least a couple of feet over the line - but I think it's the wee decisions that make all the difference - the niggly fouls that go unpunished against us that can tilt the balance of a close game.

Did not watch today's game but am entirely unsurprised to hear of a referee performance benefiting the opposition - it's just business as usual! - 9 minutes injury time??? 1st time I've seen that amount added this season even considering matches where VAR and injuries have played a part - were there sufficient big stoppages to justify this?

19-10-2024, 05:21 PM
I’ve been saying for ages we have problems in defence and but that was brutal officiating today , so biased it was unreal .. sending off , 8 minutes added time .. someone even said their goal came over the allocated 8 minutes but I don’t know if thats true .

You know that time added on isn’t ‘allocated’, it’s ’a minimum of…’?

Most people are saying that Newell’s bookings were both deserved, you’re clutching at straws with all that stuff.

You complaint of referee inconsistency is valid, but it’s not restricted to Hibs games

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 05:25 PM
Look, he may have been ***** today. Or biased. Or corrupt. Or just had an off day. The point is that to default to this as the take away from today's game is to ignore the gigantic ****ing pink elephant in the room which is that where we are now is not because of refereeing performances in all our games this season. It's because we are crap and we have not improved from last season. We are probably worse.

I know it hasn’t been good enough in games this season and I accept that we have been poor in some of them but there’s no maybe about him being ***** today in fact it was totally biased the way he reffed that game ….

Decisions affect games and today his refereeing did affect this one when one team was treated differently to the other … whatever you want to say it was horrendous to watch us getting shafted by someone that’s there to carry the rules of the game consistently and fairly … it didn’t happen again.

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 07:13 PM
No kidding - and it's been like that as long as I can remember - such that my habitual reaction on the rare occasion when Hibs get a decision in our favour is to pinch myself in case I'm dreaming. We have had some outrageous calls against us that rankle years later - such as derby goals ruled out when they were at least a couple of feet over the line - but I think it's the wee decisions that make all the difference - the niggly fouls that go unpunished against us that can tilt the balance of a close game.

Did not watch today's game but am entirely unsurprised to hear of a referee performance benefiting the opposition - it's just business as usual! - 9 minutes injury time??? 1st time I've seen that amount added this season even considering matches where VAR and injuries have played a part - were there sufficient big stoppages to justify this?

I didn’t think there was sufficient big stoppages to justify it no .. as they didn’t think there was on the commentary and some other fans stated on the match thread like I did too. It was actually 8 minutes that went to 9 in all …

There was a lot of strange decisions given against us like Iredale clearly winning the ball with little contact only for the ref to instantly give Utd a free kick in a dangerous position…

The Utd player Stephenson had committed 3 , 4 fouls I think and escaped a yellow card on each occasion yet Newells first one he couldn’t wait to get his card out .. at one point we had 3 players booked to them not having any despite them having there fair share of fouls too…

Personally I could understand and forgive a referee if he was consistently bad to both teams though I genuinely thought the way he refereed the game today was so one sided it was embarrassing.

19-10-2024, 08:35 PM
I know it hasn’t been good enough in games this season and I accept that we have been poor in some of them but there’s no maybe about him being ***** today in fact it was totally biased the way he reffed that game ….

Decisions affect games and today his refereeing did affect this one when one team was treated differently to the other … whatever you want to say it was horrendous to watch us getting shafted by someone that’s there to carry the rules of the game consistently and fairly … it didn’t happen again.

There are about 6 or 7 people who can share the blame for that fiasco today and the ref certainly isn't one of them.

19-10-2024, 08:39 PM
Just saw the second booking. He could have got a straight red for that.

Folk will disagree but in the modern game, which is the rules we play to, you get punished for the follow through. You just can’t go in like that.

19-10-2024, 08:40 PM

Folk will disagree but in the modern game, which is the rules we play to, you get punished for the follow through. You just can’t go in like that.

Totally agree with you

19-10-2024, 08:40 PM

Folk will disagree but in the modern game, which is the rules we play to, you get punished for the follow through. You just can’t go in like that.2nd booking wholly deserved (looked soft at the game)

1st booking is for nothing - especially as Middleton literally kicked the ball out the park

19-10-2024, 08:44 PM
2nd booking wholly deserved (looked soft at the game)

1st booking is for nothing - especially as Middleton literally kicked the ball out the park

Aye, at the game I didn’t think it was even a foul for the second one. But when you see it back it’s just stupidity when you’re already on a booking.

First one was a terrible decision. Especially when they had 3 or 4 challenges before that which went unpunished.

darwenhibby
19-10-2024, 08:54 PM
Watched on DUTV
Even their co commentator didn’t think the first one was a booking and it had a big impact on the game.
Newall should have known better
Both fouls were in the middle of the park.
No need to over commit

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 09:08 PM
You know that time added on isn’t ‘allocated’, it’s ’a minimum of…’?

Most people are saying that Newell’s bookings were both deserved, you’re clutching at straws with all that stuff.

You complaint of referee inconsistency is valid, but it’s not restricted to Hibs games

Where did they get that time from ?…..

I didn’t think Newells first one should have been a booking seeing as the referee had taken a lenient approach with some of the Dundee Utd players and in particular Stephenson … he could and should have had a word with Newell and given him a warning seeing as it was his first foul in the referees eyes…

It’s more than just inconsistency at this stage in decisions like Marshall getting taken out at Ross County , Griffith goal against hertz , stonewall penalty against sevco ignored when we are leading 2-1 at Ibrox ..the list is endless…

That today was the most biased refereeing I’ve seen since Maclean at ER against the huns in the cup … sorry don’t believe it’s just poor refereeing anymore.

19-10-2024, 09:11 PM

I didn’t think Newells first one should have been a booking seeing as the referee had taken a lenient approach with some of the Dundee Utd players and in particular Stephenson … he could and should have had a word with Newell and given him a warning seeing as it was his first foul in the referees eyes…

It’s more than just inconsistency at this stage in decisions like Marshall getting taken out at Ross County , Griffith goal against hertz , stonewall penalty against sevco ignored when we are leading 2-1 at Ibrox ..the list is endless…

That today was the most biased refereeing I’ve seen since Maclean at ER against the huns in the cup … sorry don’t believe it’s just poor refereeing anymore.

I thought 8 minutes was more than fair.

Lengthy check for the disallowed goal. Multiple subs. Our goal. The sending off. Physio was on at least one. Was clear there was going to be a big number on the board.

19-10-2024, 09:24 PM

We're sinking like a stone and your prime focus is 'they're out to get us, it's a conspiracy'. That's taking defending the indefensible to a whole new level.

19-10-2024, 09:24 PM

Aye he was pish but the worst decision and the most costly was Josh Campbell's decision not to go direct to the corner flag before their equaliser.

Even with decent refs we are never far away from a total calamity.

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 09:30 PM
I thought 8 minutes was more than fair.

Lengthy check for the disallowed goal. Multiple subs. Our goal. The sending off. Physio was on at least one. Was clear there was going to be a big number on the board.

I think they scored their winner over the 8th minute , probably the 9th , wasn’t there a couple of minutes added before halftime too ? …

8 subs in total about 30 seconds a sub is four minutes.. I didn’t think the check on the disallowed goal took that long tbh .. I was expecting about 5 , 6 maybe.. went to 9 though.

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 09:40 PM
Aye he was pish but the worst decision and the most costly was Josh Campbell's decision not to go direct to the corner flag before their equaliser.

Even with decent refs we are never far away from a total calamity.

Campbell should have taken it to the corner like he did on the right side with Boyle when he done well to hold it up no question though the worst decisions in my book all came from the referee in treating the two teams differently… 14 fouls a piece and yet we end up with more yellow cards and a man sent off .

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 09:44 PM
We're sinking like a stone and your prime focus is 'they're out to get us, it's a conspiracy'. That's taking defending the indefensible to a whole new level.

No not at all I genuinely believe we were treated differently to Dundee utd today … if we hadn’t been their player Stephenson would have seen a yellow early doors as others would have though he wasn’t as eager to book them as he did Newell who I thought was unfortunate to be booked in the first place though You’ll probably not agree with that either :rolleyes:

K-Zazu
19-10-2024, 09:47 PM
No not at all I genuinely believe we were treated differently to Dundee utd today … if we hadn’t been their player Stephenson would have seen a yellow early doors as others would have though he wasn’t as eager to book them as he did Newell who I thought was unfortunate to be booked in the first place though You’ll probably not agree with that either :rolleyes:

Your right Newell was unfortunate to be booked in the first half he never even touched the Dundee United player it was a terrible decision.

19-10-2024, 09:48 PM

Why on earth would a referee favour Dundee United over Hibs and referee us to a different standard though?

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 11:07 PM
Why on earth would a referee favour Dundee United over Hibs and referee us to a different standard though?

Maybe he just had a preference for their orange kit :dunno: … again I thought it wasn’t just his reluctance to book them for fouling and his willingness to book Newell in what was let’s be honest a really soft booking but other stuff in the game that I thought was totally baffling too and generally favoured Dundee Utd …

19-10-2024, 11:10 PM

He hates Hibs? You would need to be Mr Magoo to think we get a fair crack from refs. Number of decisions last season was ridiculous

19-10-2024, 11:12 PM
Maybe he just had a preference for their orange kit :dunno: … again I thought it wasn’t just his reluctance to book them for fouling and his willingness to book Newell in what was let’s be honest a really soft booking but other stuff in the game that I thought was totally baffling too and generally favoured Dundee Utd …

Definitely did. The number of joke fouls he gave them near the end was ridiculous. Iredale one O hora one two examples

Paulie Walnuts
19-10-2024, 11:28 PM

Completely agree with this. If he got a red for it he couldn’t have argued.

As for the time added on:

6 stoppages for subs (3 mins). A var disallowed goal. A red card. A Hibs goal. Other stoppages. 8 minutes is nowhere near as out there as some would have you believe, infact I’d fully expect if anyone could be arsed to analyse it, it probably wouldn’t even be enough.

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 11:29 PM
Definitely did. The number of joke fouls he gave them near the end was ridiculous. Iredale one O hora one two examples

When I seen the Iredale one a second time I couldn’t believe he give a foul as there was absolutely nothing in it , O’Hora another alright… would love to see the one Bursik got booked for when I think Obita punched the ground expecting a goal kick yet they got a corner too … to many one sided decisions where a lot of them didn’t make any sense .

19-10-2024, 11:30 PM
Ref didn’t cost us. Our idiot captain did. 2 clear yellows = red. Hibs blew it not the referee.

19-10-2024, 11:34 PM
Ref didn’t cost us. Our idiot captain did. 2 clear yellows = red. Hibs blew it not the referee.

Totally. Since seen the first back and I'd be wanting a yellow if that's a foul against us. Just slides in front of Middleton and doesn't get the ball. A player shouldn't have to hurdle you to avoid contact.

Paulie Walnuts
19-10-2024, 11:36 PM
Totally. Since seen the first back and I'd be wanting a yellow if that's a foul against us. Just slides in front of Middleton and doesn't get the ball. A player shouldn't have to hurdle you to avoid contact.

It’s the same pish all the time with some fans. It’s a blatant yellow card and folk are greeting about it. The second one is a blatant yellow and potentially even a straight red yet we’ve got the usual suspects telling us it’s an anti Hibs conspiracy.

19-10-2024, 11:43 PM

It’s the same pish all the time with some fans. It’s a blatant yellow card and folk are greeting about it. The second one is a blatant yellow and potentially even a straight red yet we’ve got the usual suspects telling us it’s an anti Hibs conspiracy.

Correct. Guys looking to blame refs is a joke. 2 yellows every day of the week. Two poor teams but United deserved to win as Hibs absolutely shat the bed the last 10 minutes. Pathetic.

K-Zazu
19-10-2024, 11:46 PM
The first Newell yellow card can’t be a yellow card because he makes no contact with the Dundee United player.

Donegal Hibby
19-10-2024, 11:47 PM
At Ibrox I think there was five minutes added time with ten subs used … what’s been said now about Newell deserving his bookings I don’t agree with in the first ones soft and even if it is it’s his first offence… how many did Stephenson get away with? Regularly see players booked for persistent fouling in games .

19-10-2024, 11:55 PM
Can’t believe there’s folk making excuses for Newell, 2 clear yellows - absolute idiot and cost us 3 points.

Donegal Hibby
20-10-2024, 12:05 AM
Can’t believe there’s folk making excuses for Newell, 2 clear yellows - absolute idiot and cost us 3 points.

I’m not particularly a Joe Newell fan though the first booking was soft .. as was Triantis first one when he got sent off ..

Thread wasn’t about Newell or our players , manager that are getting criticised everywhere else but more about a referee that was horrendously bad favouring one team over the other.

20-10-2024, 12:21 AM
I thought Newell was hard done by at first but I’ve seen them back and they’re both yellow cards for me. I thought the referee was poor overall and inconsistent but I’m not sure he’s done much wrong with the big decisions in the game.

20-10-2024, 03:29 AM
Hibs beat hibs today

Newell, Campbell with big assists

20-10-2024, 07:05 AM
I thought Newell was hard done by at first but I’ve seen them back and they’re both yellow cards for me. I thought the referee was poor overall and inconsistent but I’m not sure he’s done much wrong with the big decisions in the game.His first is incredibly harsh

Although sportscene ignored the actual footage and said he stopped a promising attack - he didn't, middleton blootered the ball out and fell over

His 2nd I thought at the game was well harsh but it's a clear booking, bordering red

Var deemed a booking enough though

TimeForHeroes32
20-10-2024, 07:14 AM
Hibs beat hibs today

Newell, Campbell with big assists

I’m not Campbell biggest fan by a mile but how can you actually blame him with any of the goals just the usual scapegoat in the team for fans

If you want blame anyone blame Gray’s decisions, Miller incapable of defending, Boyle diving in instead standing up, Marv sleeping in his own 6 yard box at a cross again, our captain being a sh*tebag and less said about that wee idiot in goals the better is the reason we lost

20-10-2024, 07:18 AM
I’m not Campbell biggest fan by a mile but how can you actually blame him with any of the goals just the usual scapegoat in the team for fans

If you want blame anyone blame Gray’s decisions, Miller incapable of defending, Boyle diving in instead standing up, Marv sleeping in his own 6 yard box at a cross again, our captain being a sh*tebag and less said about that wee idiot in goals the better is the reason we lostI think you need to watch the game again

Campbell was school boy giving away possession at halfway when he had a whole pitch to run into

He then didn't bother his arse to mark the guy who scored the winner and the only utd player in the vicinity

There's other mistakes to goals - there always is but Campbell had a massive part in the 2nd and 3rd

You can tell by his reaction at the 2nd when he was almost greetin that he knew he played a massive role on that

The third is probably worse too

Wtf is Campbell doing here? The 1 Dundee utd boy in the middle scores - that's Campbell standing about next to him

Honestly shocking at 2nd and 3rd. I'm more inclined to go on him at the 3rd as it's just abosolute laziness/ zero football brain

Hed been in the park about 10 mins and he couldnt be arsed getting back in touch with the 1 utd player there as the clock ticked to 99 mins and wed been under the cosh?

Gray better be absolutely slaughtering him for yesterday

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20241020/48bc1e569061a68ddec8837d5a50e7c9.jpg

SickBoy32
20-10-2024, 07:24 AM

If you want blame anyone blame Gray’s decisions, Miller incapable of defending, Boyle diving in instead standing up, Marv sleeping in his own 6 yard box at a cross again, our captain being a sh*tebag and less said about that wee idiot in goals the better is the reason we lost

Agree, the guy lost the ball about 60 yards from goal. Plenty of subsequent mistakes that led to the ball ending up in the net.

For those bemoaning Gray’s use of subs - the squad is brutal, of course those not selected to start are going to weaken the side 😂

20-10-2024, 07:35 AM
It's more the way Campbell lost the ball. Painful to watch him try to dribble with it. Junior level. Made it so easy.

20-10-2024, 07:39 AM
It's more the way Campbell lost the ball. Painful to watch him try to dribble with it. Junior level. Made it so easy.At worse they should have a throw in there own corner and we reset. Instead he stumbled over the ball, lazily(again) doesn't get his body in to win the free kick, then fouls the boy and they take a quick free kick

He's not the only one at fault for that goal ofcourse but it was ridiculous, naive, poor play

Like I said, he was worse at the third and all the same words could be used - lazy, naive, poor, zero football intelligence

20-10-2024, 07:42 AM
No complaints about the Ref

We are poor all over the park sleeping at goals sendings off stupid mistakes terrible goalkeeper all self inflicted and the table shows we are the worst team in the league

Need a win against Hearts who now look red hot favourites and have the new Manager bounce

I fear for SDG

Donegal Hibby
20-10-2024, 08:44 AM
Your right Newell was unfortunate to be booked in the first half he never even touched the Dundee United player it was a terrible decision.

I just watched it again and your right in Newell doesn’t touch Middleton …. I don’t think it’s any worse than the 3 or 4 fouls the Dundee Utds Stephenson done . Also still no explanation why they got a free kick in a dangerous position when Iredale won the ball cleanly either.. didn’t expect there to be one has it was just another terrible decision by the referee.

20-10-2024, 08:48 AM
I just watched it again and your right in Newell doesn’t touch Middleton …. I don’t think it’s any worse than the 3 or 4 fouls the Dundee Utds Stephenson done . Also still no explanation why they got a free kick in a dangerous position when Iredale won the ball cleanly either.. didn’t expect there to be one has it was just another terrible decision by the referee.

There doesn’t need to be contact for a could to be give or a player to be booked.

He was also lucky not to get a straight red for his second challenge.

Let’s not forget he’s not a young laddie but a senior pro and Captain and should know better.

20-10-2024, 08:49 AM

I’m not being funny but were you there yesterday?

I watched the highlights and they didn’t show the initial play before the second goal.

It was down to Campbell awful decision making of not running towards the flag to waste time like he had done 2 minutes earlier.

He ran inside where three defenders were covering with no support. Lost it without a whimper, it really was pathetic. Sorry but that’s just the truth.

2 weeks earlier, Campbell gave away the needless foul then didn’t match the run for Motherwell equaliser.

Grays decision to bring him on was forced from Newell getting sent off I get that. But Campbell was absolutely stinking and he knew he had ****ed up as he had his head in hands and when I left he couldn’t even turn round to take the flack from the hibs fans.

Truth hurts, but Campbell is currently a liability. Two goals arguably three in the last two league games due to poor decisions from him.

Donegal Hibby
20-10-2024, 09:07 AM
There doesn’t need to be contact for a could to be give or a player to be booked.

He was also lucky not to get a straight red for his second challenge.

Let’s not forget he’s not a young laddie but a senior pro and Captain and should know better.

I thought the 2nd one was a yellow card and again going by how the referee set his stall out in keeping his cards in his pocket when one of their players persistently fouled our players I think he could have shown the same reasoning in having a word with Newell for what there was nothing much in … we have had two bookings that have resulted in two of our players being sent off that were extremely harsh and no worse than some of the fouls in the games .

20-10-2024, 09:12 AM
I said at the end of last season that I want a team that is good enough that we dont need to cling on to "refereeing decisions" as an excuse for how awful we are.

Every support thinks its club is hard done by.

Win games and we wont be moaning about refs.

20-10-2024, 09:13 AM
I thought the 2nd one was a yellow card and again going by how the referee set his stall out in keeping his cards in his pocket when one of their players persistently fouled our players I think he could have shown the same reasoning in having a word with Newell for what there was nothing much in … we have had two bookings that have resulted in two of our players being sent off that were extremely harsh and no worse than some of the fouls in the games .

So why make the second challenge when you know you’ve been booked as you would describe harshly or a soft yellow? Just don’t do it. Don’t give the referee the ammunition or ask the question of him.

As I said Newell is a senior pro and captain and his poor decision making has cost us.

Donegal Hibby
20-10-2024, 09:26 AM
So why make the second challenge when you know you’ve been booked as you would describe harshly or a soft yellow? Just don’t do it. Don’t give the referee the ammunition or ask the question of him.

As I said Newell is a senior pro and captain and his poor decision making has cost us.

I agree with you in he shouldn’t make the second challenge , most players on a yellow card have to watch what their doing .. my gripe is why after 3 or 4 fouls did the lad Stephenson not also have to watch what he was doing too …

We had 14 fouls in the game each yet there was a reluctance to book one teams players and an eagerness for the others ..there were many decisions that also the ref give against us that was mind boggling like the Iredale free kick that could have resulted in a goal for them too.

20-10-2024, 10:04 AM
I agree with you in he shouldn’t make the second challenge , most players on a yellow card have to watch what their doing .. my gripe is why after 3 or 4 fouls did the lad Stephenson not also have to watch what he was doing too …

We had 14 fouls in the game each yet there was a reluctance to book one teams players and an eagerness for the others ..there were many decisions that also the ref give against us that was mind boggling like the Iredale free kick that could have resulted in a goal for them too.

What about the decisions that went for us and against Utd?

Ultimately poor decision making and discipline cost us.

Donegal Hibby
20-10-2024, 11:16 AM
What about the decisions that went for us and against Utd?

Ultimately poor decision making and discipline cost us.

I don’t remember to many of them tbh …

So what you’re saying is Dundee Utd were more disciplined than us yesterday? .

Paulie Walnuts
20-10-2024, 11:17 AM
Having watched the highlights I genuinely think Newells second booking should probably be a red anyway. His follow through is so high, it’s almost at the boys knee. So whether he’d already been booked or not, he should have been off regardless imo.

With regards to the 8 minutes added time as well, I wouldn’t be the slightest bit surprised if it was about right. A disallowed VAR goal, an actual goal, 6 stoppages for subs, a red card. Then the extra minute for the winner, that’s fair enough as the game had stopped during added time for a significant period for their equaliser.

We can have no complaints regarding the referee and it’s nothing but excuses and clutching at straws.

Paulie Walnuts
20-10-2024, 11:21 AM
I don’t remember to many of them tbh …

So what you’re saying is Dundee Utd were more disciplined than us yesterday? .

Are you saying they weren’t? Our captain lost his discipline and got himself sent off. We then went on to lose the game. I don’t think there can be any argument they kept their discipline better than us.

20-10-2024, 11:23 AM
Having watched the highlights I genuinely think Newells second booking should probably be a red anyway. His follow through is so high, it’s almost at the boys knee. So whether he’d already been booked or not, he should have been off regardless imo.

With regards to the 8 minutes added time as well, I wouldn’t be the slightest bit surprised if it was about right. A disallowed VAR goal, an actual goal, 6 stoppages for subs, a red card. Then the extra minute for the winner, that’s fair enough as the game had stopped during added time for a significant period for their equaliser.

We can have no complaints regarding the referee and it’s nothing but excuses and clutching at straws.

I will have to watch again as I thought his first booking was probably a bit unlucky but his second was a booking all day long.

Never entered my mind for a second that it might be a straight red though.

20-10-2024, 11:24 AM
I will have to watch again as I thought his first booking was probably a bit unlucky but his second was a booking all day long.

Never entered my mind for a second that it might be a straight red though.No need to- var checked it for a straight red and dismissed it

Paulie Walnuts
20-10-2024, 11:25 AM

Never entered my mind for a second that it might be a straight red though.

I think his first booking could go either way, I’ve little complaints over it but I wouldn’t have been surprised if he got away with it either.

The second is a really bad challenge when you slow it down/freeze it. His follow through is very, very high and nowadays I think it could definitely be deemed a red.

Over the piece though, I think the first is fair enough, although he could have got away with it and I think the second is fair enough and he arguably did get away with it by it not being a straight red. Over the two incidents though I think the punishment probably fits the crime.

Paulie Walnuts
20-10-2024, 11:26 AM
No need to- var checked it for a straight red and dismissed it

It’s safe to say we don’t all agree with VAR all the time :greengrin

NC1875
20-10-2024, 11:28 AM

The 1st one is as clear a yellow as you’ll see, Middleton is away if newell doesn’t foul him. That’s a yellow card every day of the week.

Clutching at straws after yet another crap performance from this bunch of serial losers.

20-10-2024, 11:34 AM

Not all fouls are the same though. A slightly late bump to an off balance player in the middle of the pitch, versus a studs high or late tackle at speed are both fouls, but one is more likely to draw a yellow card than the other. Foul counts aren’t a true evaluation of anything really, especially if they’re very similar.

Whatever way you look at it, the referee did not make us switch off at the first 2 goals, did not make miller let Middleton dribble past him like he wasn’t there, and didn’t make to keeper completely miss the ball and clout his own player gifting possession to the opposition and leaving the goal very unattended. If we could defend straightforward balls into the box and and judge high balls better, we don’t concede those goals yesterday.

20-10-2024, 11:36 AM
The 1st one is as clear a yellow as you’ll see, Middleton is away if newell doesn’t foul him. That’s a yellow card every day of the week.

Clutching at straws after yet another crap performance from this bunch of serial losers.

Except of course there was no contact at all. 4th official perfect view no involvement. Second yellow apparently wants to get involved. His booking of Hibs players was in contrast with lack of action on United player the boy Stephenson had about three lives. As for the ridiculous made up fouls near the end to allow them to punt the ball in.

NC1875
20-10-2024, 11:50 AM
Except of course there was no contact at all. 4th official perfect view no involvement. Second yellow apparently wants to get involved. His booking of Hibs players was in contrast with lack of action on United player the boy Stephenson had about three lives. As for the ridiculous made up fouls near the end to allow them to punt the ball in.

I’m not taking about the other stuff. Newells first is a yellow all day long.

Fantasy to say otherwise

Donegal Hibby
20-10-2024, 11:51 AM

💯% :agree:

20-10-2024, 12:35 PM
I’m not taking about the other stuff. Newells first is a yellow all day long.

Fantasy to say otherwise

Not a yellow if no contact and the runt dives

20-10-2024, 12:37 PM
Not a yellow if no contact and the runt dives

The only reason there's no contact is because he dives, you shouldn't have to hurdle over a player to avoid contact. If he keeps running then Newell wipes him out without touching the ball and risks injury.

Clear as day yellow card.

20-10-2024, 12:40 PM
The only reason there's no contact is because he dives, you shouldn't have to hurdle over a player to avoid contact. If he keeps running then Newell wipes him out without touching the ball and risks injury.

Don’t think he was wiping anyone out.

K-Zazu
20-10-2024, 12:41 PM
How can it possibly be a yellow Newells first booking? He doesn’t make contact with the Kilmarnock player? No contact no foul.

20-10-2024, 12:43 PM

Clutching at straws after yet another crap performance from this bunch of serial losers.Away where?

He kicked the ball out the park

20-10-2024, 12:45 PM
How can it possibly be a yellow Newells first booking? He doesn’t make contact with the Kilmarnock player? No contact no foul.

‘ No, not all fouls in football require contact between players:

Indirect free kick

A player can receive an indirect free kick for impeding an opponent without making contact.’

20-10-2024, 09:17 PM
I’ve just watched the highlights and was expecting to see some horror challenge from Newell for the red card but I’m not sure what I’m supposed to be seeing? All I’m seeing is a 50/50 challenge. Bit of contact but it’s a tackle.

No wonder he looked as shocked as he did at the time.

TrinityHFC
20-10-2024, 09:50 PM
I’ve just watched the highlights and was expecting to see some horror challenge from Newell for the red card but I’m not sure what I’m supposed to be seeing? All I’m seeing is a 50/50 challenge. Bit of contact but it’s a tackle.

No wonder he looked as shocked as he did at the time.

Yep. I’ve seen both multiple times and both harsh. I think you have a lot of posters on here who just don’t like Joe Newell suggesting it could have been a red. Total nonsense. Wasn’t even a foul. It is a contact game. Sometimes you will contact the player after playing the ball. There was nothing dangerous or out of control about it.

DinkyTwo
20-10-2024, 10:16 PM
Yep. I’ve seen both multiple times and both harsh. I think you have a lot of posters on here who just don’t like Joe Newell suggesting it could have been a red. Total nonsense. Wasn’t even a foul. It is a contact game. Sometimes you will contact the player after playing the ball. There was nothing dangerous or out of control about it.I agree, really don't see anything wrong with Newell's second challenge. The first I think was a yellow, but what's he supposed to do with the second? He reaches the ball first and swings THROUGH it.

The alternative is, our captain pulls out of a 50/50 and let's them counter up the right side of the pitch.

He'd (rightly) have been slaughtered for that.

20-10-2024, 10:24 PM
Yep. I’ve seen both multiple times and both harsh. I think you have a lot of posters on here who just don’t like Joe Newell suggesting it could have been a red. Total nonsense. Wasn’t even a foul. It is a contact game. Sometimes you will contact the player after playing the ball. There was nothing dangerous or out of control about it.

You’re just completely ignoring the way the rules are applied now. 20 years ago it’s not a foul. Now, you can’t do it. To do it when you’re on a booking is stupidity.

20-10-2024, 10:26 PM
I agree, really don't see anything wrong with Newell's second challenge. The first I think was a yellow, but what's he supposed to do with the second? He reaches the ball first and swings THROUGH it.

The alternative is, our captain pulls out of a 50/50 and let's them counter up the right side of the pitch.

Would have been much better if he just hadn’t put himself in that situation with a loose touch, under no pressure in the first place. In trying to correct his first mistake he’s made a second one. He’s a bit unlucky because he doesn’t mean to do it but not meaning to do it doesn’t get you away with it.

DinkyTwo
20-10-2024, 10:36 PM
I said at the end of last season that I want a team that is good enough that we dont need to cling on to "refereeing decisions" as an excuse for how awful we are.

Every support thinks its club is hard done by.

Win games and we wont be moaning about refs.It's kinda difficult to not moan about though, looking at the last few years. Yesterday was probably just ***** refereeing but...

Johnson missed out on 4th place by 1 point.

Two games out of many where I felt incredible refereeing cost us:

1) Marshall pushed into the net against Ross County

2) Obvious handball in the box against Aberdeen

Just when can we complain?

We were better than more than half the teams in the league that year. Despite feeling hard done too.

Hibs are an easy target. For opposing teams, officials, the media and our own fans.

Donegal Hibby
20-10-2024, 11:18 PM
You’re just completely ignoring the way the rules are applied now. 20 years ago it’s not a foul. Now, you can’t do it. To do it when you’re on a booking is stupidity.

Newell should never have been booked in the first place though .. 3 seasons ago lundstram done a much worse one than that and wasn’t booked .

25-10-2024, 02:14 PM
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/media/12282/kmi-outcomes-19-20-oct-2024.pdf

Latest Var review unanimously confirms that Newell should have been given a straight red card last week for his second booking. Only VAR decision of the weekend deemed to have been wrong.

25-10-2024, 02:16 PM

Latest Var review unanimously confirms that Newell should have been given a straight red card last week for his second booking. Only VAR decision of the weekend deemed to have been wrong.

Have to say I agree. Kinda got away with it with the second yellow and only missing one game.

andrew70
25-10-2024, 02:29 PM

It was a shocker

25-10-2024, 02:37 PM
Have to say I agree. Kinda got away with it with the second yellow and only missing one game.

Is there any mitigation for playing the ball then deflecting his foot onto his shin?

25-10-2024, 03:03 PM
Is there any mitigation for playing the ball then deflecting his foot onto his shin?

Would still fall foul of the 'out of control' bit i think.
I disagreed with the first one but the second one is fair cop in the current climate.

25-10-2024, 03:08 PM
You can consign the 50/50 challenge to the history books now as well.

It’s going to be getting to the stage very soon where every foul comitted is going to be a yellow or red card offence. We’re not that far away from it now.

25-10-2024, 03:10 PM

one word - Alan Freedman.

Paulie Walnuts
25-10-2024, 03:12 PM

Said it at the time. Was a straight red for me so I certainly didn’t feel hard done by.

25-10-2024, 03:12 PM

It’s going to be getting to the stage very soon where every foul comitted is going to be a yellow or red card offence. We’re not that far away from it now.

If you look at other sports where the rules have been tightened to clamp down on over physicality, its been because of an increase in serious injuries, like rugby and american football where concussions and resulting legal challenges mean the governing bodies' hands are forced.

With football there seems to be less frequent and less severe injuries than ever before, but tackling and physical contact is getting harder and harder to do fairly. It does nothing to make the sport more exciting so why do fiddle with the rules?

25-10-2024, 03:23 PM
one word - Alan Freedman.

Freeland.
I wonder if theres any footage of that game available anywhere. Falkirk kicked us off the park from the first minute and almost every challenge was ignored. When we tried the same he got the cards out immediately. The game degenerated into a farce. Was quite incredible and the only explanation is he took a backhander, or just hates us. Jack Ross destroying Zemmama in the box, no pen, and some kerfuffle with Liam Craig getting involved with our fans ring a bell.

25-10-2024, 03:24 PM

Newell was stupid. The ball was too far away from him, instead on playing it and then following through, he should have done a block tackle. No need to do what he did.

The first one was soft, granted. Not sure what he had done before the 1st booking and whether it was his first foul.

NC1875
25-10-2024, 04:01 PM

👍🏼 someone else who can see it’s as clear a yellow card as you’ll see.

And now SFA confirming the 2nd should have been a straight red.

But all the experts on here telling us he shouldn’t have been booked for either 🤔

Donegal Hibby
25-10-2024, 04:01 PM
I wonder does that mean they got the Corrie Ndaba one wrong on miller to then 🤔

25-10-2024, 04:06 PM
I disagreed with the first one but the second one is fair cop in the current climate.

Would it not fall under “excessive force”?

By all means challenge for the ball but it’s the thumping follow through that ends up with him effectively straight-legged with his foot up at knee height that makes it a dangerous challenge and worthy of a red card for me?

It’s still the touch that leads to it that grinds my gears. Deep into “don’t do anything daft” time and that’s what our captain does? Having a poor touch isn’t even a criticism that can normally be levelled at Newell either. Just incredibly daft, and the sort of thing that can lead to Gray asking what exactly he’s meant to do to catch a break.

25-10-2024, 04:09 PM
Would it not fall under “excessive force”?

By all means challenge for the ball but it’s the thumping follow through that ends up with him effectively straight-legged with his foot up at knee height that makes it a dangerous challenge and worthy or a red card for me?

It’s still the touch that leads to it that grinds my gears. Deep into “don’t do anything daft” time and that’s what our captain does? Having a poor touch isn’t even a criticism that can normally be levelled at Newell either. Just incredibly daft, and the sort of thing that can lead to Gray asking what exactly he’s meant to do?

Perhaps. I must admit im not massively knowledgeable or interested in how they justify how the rules are managed :greengrin I am confident it was a stupid tackle these days and he should have known better though.

25-10-2024, 04:34 PM

Yes certainly didn’t look great

25-10-2024, 04:35 PM
I wonder does that mean they got the Corrie Ndaba one wrong on miller to then 🤔

That was as clear a red as you can get

25-10-2024, 04:37 PM
👍🏼 someone else who can see it’s as clear a yellow card as you’ll see.

And now SFA confirming the 2nd should have been a straight red.

But all the experts on here telling us he shouldn’t have been booked for either 🤔

Shouldn't have even been a free kick, bunch of pussies involved in the game these days, there is a difference between clashes that can happen as a result of a contact sport and going out to actually harm someone

The dalmeny
25-10-2024, 05:06 PM
I agree, really don't see anything wrong with Newell's second challenge. The first I think was a yellow, but what's he supposed to do with the second? He reaches the ball first and swings THROUGH it.

Can't belive in 2024 there are still people who believe getting the ball is mitigation.......

But clearly there are.

The dalmeny
25-10-2024, 05:08 PM

Melodramatic paranoia

Donegal Hibby
25-10-2024, 05:13 PM
That was as clear a red as you can get

Yip .. didn’t hear a VAR review saying they got it wrong either .

Silky
25-10-2024, 09:02 PM
Can't belive in 2024 there are still people who believe getting the ball is mitigation.......

But clearly there are.

I can't believe in 2024 that sort of challenge is a booking. Contact is being slowly eradicated from the game. It's a contact sport. Always has been. Refs are far, far to quick to dish out cards nowadays.

25-10-2024, 09:55 PM
I’d put money on Triantis being booked for his first foul of game within 15 minutes on Sunday.

Donegal Hibby
01-11-2024, 09:36 PM

I see this one’s not deemed as dangerous :confused:

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/13792561/sfa-panel-celtic-rangers-penalty-barron-high-boot/

01-11-2024, 09:37 PM
I’d put money on Triantis being booked for his first foul of game within 15 minutes on Sunday.

How much did you win?

LewysGot2
02-11-2024, 10:54 AM

Double of Triantis and Devlin to both get carded 🫣

Paul1642
03-11-2024, 03:51 PM
Well I think we can revive this thread for sure. Disgraceful decision.

03-11-2024, 03:53 PM
I'm sort of on board with the OP for this one now.

03-11-2024, 04:06 PM
Get Lennon back in no way we’re not given a pen if he’s in the dug out :cb

Not incompetent just blatant cheating.

kentao
03-11-2024, 04:09 PM
Looks like SDG upset someone at the SFA for his goal in May. We get absolutely f all from these clowns and crucified for any 50 / 50.

03-11-2024, 04:10 PM
We need an explanation as to why one is a penalty but the other isn't. Pathetic decision but predictable. One is a penalty and a booking and the other is nothing. Make it make sense.

HibsGW
03-11-2024, 04:10 PM
I’m assuming anyone who thought it wasn’t a pen was listening to Hibs tv where they couldnt seem to notice what had happened? Myko had a proper handful of the guys shirt holding onto him as he went down, soon as the ref sees that you’ve little option but to give it.

Also think we should have had one at the end on O’Hora too though.

03-11-2024, 04:11 PM
Anyone got a running total of the following?

VAR Decisions rightly FOR
VAR Decisions rightly AGAINST
VAR Decisions FOR
VAR Decisions AGAINST
Things not looked at by VAR that should've been
50/50's FOR and AGAINST

I'd be willing to bet were getting screwed big time.

03-11-2024, 04:12 PM
Robbed , Absolutely ****ing mugged !

Was it a penalty ? Well aye but then you would have to give a hundred penalties a football match , Dunno about everyone else but i watch a lot of football games and every single time their is holding in the box and nothing gets given

Not one single dundee utd player asked for a penalty , That's VAR getting involved , Corrupt to the ****ing core

03-11-2024, 04:13 PM
The club MUST come out and question these corrupt decisions

03-11-2024, 04:14 PM
Let’s hope David Gray stands up for himself and calls this ludicrous decision out. It’s the kind of decision that can cost a manager his job.

Disgraceful.

03-11-2024, 04:22 PM
No other explanation for the decisions at the end absolutely bent as. Hibs pen was much more than theirs. Feel really sorry for SDG basically his job is on the line and he gets fed with that. Make no mistake there are a number of officials only too happy to do us over has happened for years.

Hibees1973
03-11-2024, 04:24 PM
Let’s hope David Gray stands up for himself and calls this ludicrous decision out. It’s the kind of decision that can cost a manager his job.

Disgraceful.

Even if we had have got the penalty I wouldn't have put a penny on any of our bottle merchants scoring it.

03-11-2024, 04:32 PM
Even if we had have got the penalty I wouldn't have put a penny on any of our bottle merchants scoring it.

You are a grade 1 troll. How you are still on this site spouting nonsense I will never know

03-11-2024, 04:44 PM

You are a grade 1 troll. How you are still on this site spouting nonsense I will never know

03-11-2024, 04:49 PM
Ive never been so angry in ages over a football decision

Donegal Hibby
03-11-2024, 04:50 PM
No other explanation for the decisions at the end absolutely bent as. Hibs pen was much more than theirs. Feel really sorry for SDG basically his job is on the line and he gets fed with that. Make no mistake there are a number of officials only too happy to do us over has happened for years.

Seen it over the last few years from stonewall penalties denied at Ibrox , Marshall being taken out at Ross County , Ndaba’s tackle on Miller and now this one ….

They’re not even bothered how obvious their cheating is now , really feel for Gray today and as a fan its simply soul destroying the amount of times we are getting shafted 😞

Hibiza
03-11-2024, 04:51 PM
Excuses again.

HarpOnHibee
03-11-2024, 04:51 PM
There was also pulling going on with the jersey's of Hibs defenders. Why didn't VAR look at that and conclude that we should have had a free kick? They used VAR to selectively pick out one incident in the box were lots of incidents were occurring simultaneously. It would have made more sense to me if such a minor tug was denying a clear goal scoring opportunity, but that wasn't the case here. Even Dundee Utd weren't expecting a penalty to be awarded and for good reason. It was a general tussle in the box that had no influence over anything in open play.

03-11-2024, 04:52 PM
Do we know who was on VAR today?

03-11-2024, 04:57 PM
Excuses again.

But a very valid one at that.

03-11-2024, 05:01 PM
I find it funny how VAR is great when you get the decision, but get rid of it when its not the decision you want?
Seems to me, VAR is getting more decisions wrong when anyone other than the Uglies are on the the receiving end???

ChuckNor
03-11-2024, 05:04 PM
I’m reliably told that it was because O’Hora was deemed to be also pulling the jersey therefore both at it. For me, if one was a penalty (it wasn’t) then so was the other (it wasn’t)

03-11-2024, 05:06 PM
Excuses again.
Game should have been put to bed long before var was involved.

03-11-2024, 05:07 PM
Need to see footage of this.

Silky
03-11-2024, 05:09 PM
Do we know who was on VAR today?

Greg Aitken. Same VAR who took an age to disallow Boyle's goal in the semi.

percy veer
03-11-2024, 05:13 PM

was that the same game we never got a pen on vente aswell , strange isnt it.

Fifeshirehibs
03-11-2024, 05:15 PM
Why does he let the ref make one of the penalty decisions and not them both. Fans of all clubs deserve an explanation. It's looks mighty suspicious.

HarpOnHibee
03-11-2024, 05:15 PM
Game should have been put to bed long before var was involved.

I don't think anyone disagrees with that. But it doesn't make it any less of a disgrace. We're clearly a poor side in a relegation battle and decisions like this are significant.

It's the job of VAR to look at everything going on and to take it all into account. Instead it was used today to pick out one incident in a box where a multitude of similar incidents were going on between both sets of players. How does VAR come to the conclusion that a penalty should be awarded for an inconsequential tug, but not a freekick for similar tugs on our defenders? By awarding that decision, they were selectively ignoring other incidents going on.

03-11-2024, 05:29 PM
I thought the steer was this season that if the sort of incident we were penalised for happened when neither player is getting near the ball then it wasn’t to be considered? **** knows how they’ve pulled that one up for a review. Nonsense decision.

And then to not give ours a few minutes later… referee didn’t even get sent to look at ours to decide.

It’s a very tough one to swallow, to be honest.

03-11-2024, 05:29 PM

Disgraceful.
He can call it out all he likes it changes nothing. I would rather he spent his time working how to win games

03-11-2024, 05:31 PM
I've still no idea what the pen was for so.....was it a penalty or not?

03-11-2024, 05:32 PM
He can call it out all he likes it changes nothing. I would rather he spent his time working how to win gamesDoes one influence the other?

Silky
03-11-2024, 05:46 PM
was that the same game we never got a pen on vente aswell , strange isnt it.

Aye, that's the one.

MartinfaePorty
03-11-2024, 05:51 PM
During the Euros, I was saying to my mates it looked like they weren't implementing every little tug, pull or push and we all agreed it was a good thing. Games were being spoiled by every corner and free-kick that came into the box being reviewed by VAR. Thought this had translated to the Scottish Premiership, but today's game suggests otherwise. It's the inconsistency that drives folk mad.

HarpOnHibee
03-11-2024, 05:55 PM
During the Euros, I was saying to my mates it looked like they weren't implementing every little tug, pull or push and we all agreed it was a good thing. Games were being spoiled by every corner and free-kick that came into the box being reviewed by VAR. Thought this had translated to the Scottish Premiership, but today's game suggests otherwise. It's the inconsistency that drives folk mad.

How often do inconsistencies have to go against us before they stop being merely inconsistencies? They always seem to occur during key moments when it comes to us. Dundee Utd won't get a softer penalty award this season, unless it's against us again if/when required.

JJP
03-11-2024, 05:59 PM
When did one of these VAR interventions last decide a game in our favour? Would Greg Aitken have intervened to award a penalty against Rangers in similar circumstances?

03-11-2024, 06:01 PM
When did one of these VAR interventions last decide a game in our favour? Would Greg Aitken have intervened to award a penalty against Rangers in similar circumstances?

Tbf we did get a penalty at ibrox a few weeks ago

HarpOnHibee
03-11-2024, 06:03 PM

For a deliberate hand ball preventing a shot that was goal bound. Which "somehow" wasn't deemed a red card offence.

03-11-2024, 06:04 PM
Robbed , Absolutely ****ing mugged !

Was it a penalty ? Well aye but then you would have to give a hundred penalties a football match , Dunno about everyone else but i watch a lot of football games and every single time their is holding in the box and nothing gets given

Not one single dundee utd player asked for a penalty , That's VAR getting involved , Corrupt to the ****ing core

Undoubtedly this

03-11-2024, 06:06 PM
For a deliberate hand ball preventing a shot that was goal bound. Which "somehow" wasn't deemed a red card offence.

Souttar also didn’t even get booked …

03-11-2024, 06:08 PM

Which should have seen Souttar sent off no doubt about it

03-11-2024, 06:14 PM
For a deliberate hand ball preventing a shot that was goal bound. Which "somehow" wasn't deemed a red card offence.Or even a booking [emoji1787][emoji1787]

Silky
03-11-2024, 06:16 PM
He can call it out all he likes it changes nothing. I would rather he spent his time working how to win games

Yet there are posts upon posts from various shocking decisions calling for the manager and the club to do exactly that and call it out! When he does, he's met with criticism. More inconsistent than VAR on here!🤣

HarpOnHibee
03-11-2024, 06:17 PM
Or even a booking [emoji1787][emoji1787]

It's beyond a joke mate. It's been happening for so long and in plain sight, but many have been gaslit into just accepting it as the norm.

babahibs
03-11-2024, 06:17 PM

They couldn't not have given that, as clear a penalty as you'll ever see, I bet they looked for a reason not to though.

Souttar should've also been shown a red, he inexplicably wasn't even booked.

03-11-2024, 06:23 PM
Footage here: https://x.com/craigbryandavid/status/1853118181084185035?s=46

I mean its soft as fek but a soft egg is still an egg. Myko pulls his shirt so gives them a reason to give it. Idiotic.

Want to see the O'Hora one at the other end though. And Youan def had his short pulled at a corner too - so should have been a pen based on the Utd one.

SickBoy32
03-11-2024, 06:25 PM

Shocking take that. Baffling.

Never ever a foul, never a pen.

We were comfy throughout.

Time for ***** to start backing the manager FFS

The introduction of VAR has been a disaster for football

03-11-2024, 06:39 PM

I mean its soft as fek but a soft egg is still an egg. Myko pulls his shirt so gives them a reason to give it. Idiotic.

Want to see the O'Hora one at the other end though. And Youan def had his short pulled at a corner too - so should have been a pen based on the Utd one.

Guy is nowhere near the ball, which as per rules change in summer, means it's not a penalty I don't think. Just crap, made up, ***** from ref, which not a soul on earth appealed for.

03-11-2024, 06:41 PM
Guy is nowhere near the ball, which as per rules change in summer, means it's not a penalty I don't think. Just crap, made up, ***** from ref, which not a soul on earth appealed for.

If that is the case then it is a ****in disgraceful decision.

03-11-2024, 06:44 PM

That's not a penalty, not even close to being one. Ridiculous decision.

JJP
03-11-2024, 06:44 PM

That is unreal. Even if VAR sends the ref to the screen he doesn’t need to award the penalty. No consistency what so ever. We would never be awarded a penalty for that.

03-11-2024, 06:48 PM
Just saw it again on Sportscene. How they give them a penalty but not us is genuinely baffling. Can’t wait to see how they explain this one away

03-11-2024, 06:49 PM
Ridiculous decision. That happens at every single corner.

03-11-2024, 06:50 PM
That's not a penalty, not even close to being one. Ridiculous decision.

That is unreal. Even if VAR sends the ref to the screen he doesn’t need to award the penalty. No consistency what so ever. We would never be awarded a penalty for that.

He def pulls his shirt. If the rule that MWHIbbies says has come into force is for real then it shouldn't be a pen as he's nowhere near the ball. I cant find any evidence of that rule though.

03-11-2024, 06:51 PM
Just saw it again on Sportscene. How they give them a penalty but not us is genuinely baffling. Can’t wait to see how they explain this one away

What did the pundits say? Did they show the incident at the other end?

03-11-2024, 06:52 PM

It’s stupid from us in our own box. Lazy, unnecessary or whatever you want to call it.

But how the O’Hora one isn’t then looked at is beyond me. His shirt is nearly over his head. The ref also had a perfect view on the pitch of it.

03-11-2024, 06:53 PM
What did the pundits say? Did they show the incident at the other end?

Marv seems to think ours isn’t a pen because the shirt pull doesn’t last long enough. Is that even a thing? It’s either a foul or not. You give one you have to give the other

Zondervan
03-11-2024, 06:58 PM
He def pulls his shirt. If the rule that MWHIbbies says has come into force is for real then it shouldn't be a pen as he's nowhere near the ball. I cant find any evidence of that rule though.

Why is it even a booking? He never denied a goal scoring opportunity. Shocking decision.

03-11-2024, 07:00 PM

There’s a St Mirren fan on X saying they didn’t get a penalty at Celtic Park for that reason and therefore can’t see how the Utd penalty today was given.

https://x.com/cairterssmfc/status/1853159031164035374?s=46&t=aVqa0cBg17d3EF8v8uwmNw

03-11-2024, 07:01 PM
Marv seems to think ours isn’t a pen because the shirt pull doesn’t last long enough. Is that even a thing? It’s either a foul or not. You give one you have to give the otherAnd ohora is far closer to being able to play the ball than the Dundee utd boy

Looks ,for me both aren't penalties but I can't understand how one is given and one isn't

To compound that Myko gets sent off

I mean, souttar handled the ball 3 yards from the goal line and he didn't get booked but a small shirt hold to a guy who had no chance of playing the ball is a booking

Baffling, it really is

McGruber
03-11-2024, 07:01 PM
Why is it even a booking? He never denied a goal scoring opportunity. Shocking decision.

That's a booking yet Souttar can deliberately prevent a goal on the line and that's fine

McGruber
03-11-2024, 07:02 PM
And ohora is far closer to being able to play the ball than the Dundee utd boy

Looks ,for me both aren't penalties but I can't understand how one is given and one isn't

To compound that Myko gets sent off

I mean, souttar handled the ball 3 yards from my goal and he didn't get booked but a small shirt hold to a guy who had no chance of playing the ball is a booking

Baffling, it really is

Beat me to it re Souttar. Crazy

03-11-2024, 07:04 PM
https://x.com/DMAC102/status/1853084500244226180

Officiating is at an all time low across England and Scotland. Long overdue to put biases aside and do something about it.

JJP
03-11-2024, 07:04 PM
Trying to apply the various explanations for different incidents is a waste of time. They just seem to make it up as the go.

03-11-2024, 07:09 PM
There’s a St Mirren fan on X saying they didn’t get a penalty at Celtic Park for that reason and therefore can’t see how the Utd penalty today was given.

https://x.com/cairterssmfc/status/1853159031164035374?s=46&t=aVqa0cBg17d3EF8v8uwmNw

Well there you have it, ta:aok:

Also - when Myko pulls there boys shirt today there is a seperate shirt pull in the box from a United player on Triantis at the same time:

03-11-2024, 07:10 PM

Officiating is at an all time low across England and Scotland. Long overdue to put biases aside and do something about it.

Almost matches our absurd decision today. These guys are just ****ing jokers.

03-11-2024, 07:11 PM
Well there you have it, ta:aok:

Also - when Myko pulls there boys shirt today there is a seperate shirt pull in the box from a United player on Triantis at the same time:

28235Triantis who's literally in the vicinity of the ball too

Not as important as the boy who has no chance to play the ball of course

Farcical

And here is the O'Hora one at other end. Blurry pic but shows two arms round him and shirt being hoisted up.

It has to be a pen if the other one was. Its mad how ***ed over we've been by officials in the last year or two.

Triantis who's literally in the vicinity of the ball too

Not as important as the boy who has no chance to play the ball of course

Farcical

03-11-2024, 07:17 PM
And here is the O'Hora one at other end. Blurry pic but shows two arms round him and shirt being hoisted up.

It has to be a pen if the other one was. Its mad how ***ed over we've been by officials in the last year or two.

Ridiculous.

Refs deserve all the abuse they get.

03-11-2024, 07:22 PM

It would have been irrelevant had we been 3-0 up but as usual we’re so crap we can’t put teams away,

03-11-2024, 07:24 PM
It would have been irrelevant had we been 3-0 up but as usual we’re so crap we can’t put teams away,That is true but doesn't take away how awful they decisions are

03-11-2024, 07:26 PM
It would have been irrelevant had we been 3-0 up but as usual we’re so crap we can’t put teams away,

It was relevant though.

03-11-2024, 07:27 PM
The SFA put out a list every week on the decisions so I can’t wait to see how they explain that the ref/VAR were completely spot on for both penalty calls.

ChuckNor
03-11-2024, 07:29 PM
Marvin Bartley can **** off. Not welcome back. Arse.

03-11-2024, 07:30 PM

You only need to beat a team by one goal to win a game of football. We were in a position to do just that until VAR intervened.

That is true but doesn't take away how awful they decisions are

It was relevant though.

:agree::agree:

03-11-2024, 07:31 PM

It would not be ****ing irrelevant, it would still be a dreadful wrong decision that impacted the game. Titles are won and lost in single goals.

03-11-2024, 07:34 PM
Some better pics here possibly of incidents at both ends.:

https://twitter.com/Barlosthecat/status/1853172378731504041

Donegal Hibby
03-11-2024, 07:34 PM

There’s just no way anyone can explain how one was a penalty and the others not! It’s double standards from the officials .. how they can see two incidents that are similar in such a short space of time apart differently is mind boggling.

03-11-2024, 07:36 PM

Didn’t even clock that one of their players had a handful of Triantis’ top. It’a beyond a joke

03-11-2024, 07:40 PM

We have been royally shafted here and I am not convinced they are innocent mistakes.

03-11-2024, 07:40 PM

Shocking. It’s a complete lottery what they decide to look at and what they don’t. The one on O’Hora annoys me the most. Should be a penalty.

03-11-2024, 07:42 PM
Shocking take that. Baffling.

Never ever a foul, never a pen.

We were comfy throughout.

Time for ***** to start backing the manager FFS

The introduction of VAR has been a disaster for football

obvious Officals thought different could argue that all season long and nothing will change
comfy for around 75mins but you could see them getting pushed further back.
every manager gets my support but there is a point you start to ask questions
var hasnt been good especially in scotland as its still being run by not very good officals

03-11-2024, 07:43 PM
There’s just no way anyone can explain how one was a penalty and the others not! It’s double standards from the officials .. how they can see two incidents that are similar in such a short space of time apart differently is mind boggling.

We have been royally shafted here and I am not convinced they are innocent mistakes.

Shocking. It’s a complete lottery what they decide to look at and what they don’t. The one on O’Hora annoys me the most. Should be a penalty.

Didn’t even clock that one of their players had a handful of Triantis’ top. It’a beyond a joke

It's the latest in a long line of examples of us being fully shafted by disgraceful officiating since VAR came in.

03-11-2024, 07:46 PM
Just watched it back, triantis is getting his shirt pulled by the Utd player before, and then at the same time, as Myko is pulling his shirt. How the **** is the first foul not against them🤷🏼 Then what is the difference between Myko and the Utd player on Hora😡

03-11-2024, 07:48 PM

It's the latest in a long line of examples of us being fully shafted by disgraceful officiating since VAR came in.

It results in a bloody sending off and suspension as well. Unbelievable.

I’m that pissed off with Hibs just now that I don’t (or didn’t) feel as angry as I would but this is terrible once you actually reflect on it.

One thing I would say is that Myko has been stupid, and lazy, for both the first yellow and the penalty.

03-11-2024, 07:49 PM

Was really bad last season. Have we ever benefitted?

03-11-2024, 07:50 PM
The faceless VAR official is the corrupt one here. Who was he? Sees a dubious foul for their pen and calls the ref over. He then clearly told the ref in his earpiece nothing to see, despite Ohora's shirt being pulled to his neck.

This corruption needs called out.

JJP
03-11-2024, 07:53 PM
The faceless VAR official is the corrupt one here. Who was he? Sees a dubious foul for their pen and calls the ref over. He then clearly told the ref in his earpiece nothing to see, despite Ohora's shirt being pulled to his neck.

This corruption needs called out.

Greg Aitken

03-11-2024, 07:54 PM
Greg Aitken

Is that not him that some poster had claimed was a known jambo?

03-11-2024, 07:55 PM
The “foul” that the free kick was awarded for was nonsense too.

03-11-2024, 07:58 PM
Is that not him that some poster had claimed was a known jambo?

Another Ayrshire referee with a track record of favouring his masters.

Se7enUp
03-11-2024, 07:59 PM
I’m assuming anyone who thought it wasn’t a pen was listening to Hibs tv where they couldnt seem to notice what had happened? Myko had a proper handful of the guys shirt holding onto him as he went down, soon as the ref sees that you’ve little option but to give it.

Also think we should have had one at the end on O’Hora too though.

"Soon as" ... ? Why did it take so long for a decision to be made, after the ref had missed it in the 1st place???

LewysGot2
03-11-2024, 07:59 PM
The Utd player didn't even appeal himself.

Posh Swanny
03-11-2024, 08:00 PM

The football gods aren’t smiling on me right now (even though Posh ended up winning that game). Lost to a 99th minute penalty at Bolton last week - goalie saved it, then saved the follow up, but they bundled in the follow up to the follow up. We’ve conceded 5 deflected goals so far this season, too!

Apologies to everyone but I think I may have walked under a ladder or something during the summer. Yes, Hibs have been crap but for ALL these goals to actually go in and so many contentious decisions go against them - they have also been VERY unlucky.

03-11-2024, 08:06 PM
Can you imagine VAR giving a penalty against Rangers in the last minute for something similar

Absolutely no chance

No doubt they will simply say it's correct and move on nothing to see her

Id be absolutely fuming if I was Gray

The penalty in itself is ridiculously harsh- particularly as the ref didn't call it and to be compounded by a 2nd yellow

Must be one of the softest sending offs in history

I'm actually getting sick of Scottish football and the way it's run - You watch EPL matches and it's like a different sport with the physicality that's allowed

Posh Swanny
03-11-2024, 08:09 PM

The football gods aren’t smiling on me right now (even though Posh ended up winning that game). Lost to a 99th minute penalty at Bolton last week - goalie saved it, then saved the follow up, but they bundled in the follow up to the follow up. We’ve conceded 5 deflected goals so far this season, too!

Apologies to everyone but I think I may have walked under a ladder or something during the summer. Yes, Hibs have been crap but for ALL these goals to actually go in and so many contentious decisions go against them - they have also been VERY unlucky.

HibeeMackenzie
03-11-2024, 08:16 PM
I for one can’t wait to watch Willie Collum try to justify the utter ineptitude we say today on his daft wee YouTube videos
Paul McGinn publicly called these clowns out 3 years ago and we’ve dealt with the consequences of that ever since

Criswell
03-11-2024, 08:23 PM
No doubt some ex referee clown will be rolled out to "explain" why both decisions were completely correct.

ChuckNor
03-11-2024, 08:28 PM
No doubt some ex referee clown will be rolled out to "explain" why both decisions were completely correct.

Not to worry. Marvin Bartley was on Sportscene doing just that.

03-11-2024, 08:30 PM

They absolutely will , Whilst hundreds of the same incidents will go unpunished next weekend , And i mean hundreds

HibeeMackenzie
03-11-2024, 08:34 PM
Behind the whistle (ex refs roache and conroy) on Twitter saying they can’t understand how the less obvious penalty is the one that was called for review.
It’ll all be swept under the carpet though

babahibs
03-11-2024, 08:38 PM

It's happened too often in the last few years for it to be innocent mistakes, we're getting treated differently to other teams. I wonder why?

Se7enUp
03-11-2024, 08:42 PM
It's happened too often in the last few years for it to be innocent mistakes, we're getting treated differently to other teams. I wonder why?

Because we're one of the bigger teams that the refs can comfortably show who's boss, because we never, ever kick up a fuss in the media, unlike how the old firm, hearts or aberdeen do & would.

03-11-2024, 08:46 PM

Wow.

the game that the VAR cameras had stopped working but hey disallowed anyway …

EGL2000
03-11-2024, 08:53 PM
Just watched the highlights there and a baffling decision, fair enough it probably is a foul. You then need to give the one on Ohora, who is actually near the ball! The Dundee united player wasn't anyway near it !

03-11-2024, 08:55 PM

Every team’s supporters will agree with that..it’s incompetence, not corruption.

The Hibee Harp
03-11-2024, 09:01 PM

Hugely disappointed to see Marv not back up SDG with those decisions when he has been shafted. Even Neil McCann disagreed with him.

ruthven_raiders
03-11-2024, 09:20 PM

How long you hold onto shirt, what a load of bollocks! One hard pull takes less than a second and can pull a player down....

Donegal Hibby
03-11-2024, 09:25 PM
Gray seems to be angry about the decisions and rightly so….

https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13247964/hibs-boss-david-gray-slams-var-inconsistencies-in-draw-with-dundee-utd

HibeeMackenzie
03-11-2024, 09:31 PM
Hugely disappointed to see Marv not back up SDG with those decisions when he has been shafted. Even Neil McCann disagreed with him.

Despite his allegiances I think NM is the most balanced pundit we have in the Scottish game

PHeffernan
03-11-2024, 09:43 PM
Neither incidents were penalties.

At the Dundee Utd one Kukharevych needlessly pulls the opposition players jersey but it doesn't affect play so could have been a second yellow but no penalty.

At the Hibs one it similarly doesn't affect play and O'Hora throws himself to the ground for good measure, hoping VAR and the referee want to equal things up.

Had Youan been selected instead of Boyle it is likely that it would not have mattered.

Just watched it back, triantis is getting his shirt pulled by the Utd player before, and then at the same time, as Myko is pulling his shirt. How the **** is the first foul not against them🤷🏼 Then what is the difference between Myko and the Utd player on Hora😡

It’s mental - Triantis is being pulled where the ball ends up, which is ignored in favour of the ref giving a foul against Myko for the shirt pull where the boy is nowhere near the ball.

You also have to question the time taken to assess the incidents - ages for their one, quick as you like for ours. It’s horrendous.

ChuckNor

I was only sent Bartley’s comments from a friend via text. What did McCann say exactly? (I live in a country where I can’t access Sportscene)

03-11-2024, 09:50 PM
I didn't think either were penalties.

At the Dundee Utd one Kukharevych needlessly fouls the opposition player BUT it doesn't affect the play so could have been a second yellow but no penalty.

At the Hibs one it similarly doesn't affect play and O'Hora throws himself to the ground hoping for VAR and the referee to want to equal things up.

I agree, neither should be penalties. However and going against the grain here I do think the Utd one is closer to being a penalty pretty much for the reasons Bartley gives - the shirt pull is for a long period of time. However IMO not enough in either case for a penalty so we have every right to be aggrieved.

HibeeMackenzie
03-11-2024, 09:56 PM
I was only sent Bartley’s comments from a friend via text. What did McCann say exactly? (I live in a country where I can’t access Sportscene)

McCann looked at marv with disgust when he said that the officials got both calls right, he said neither were penalties which I’m sure every Hibs fan would agree with.

If you didn’t know Scottish football and were asked to pin allegiances to an Edinburgh club on McCann and Bartley I’m fairly certain you would assume Bartley was the yam

Donegal Hibby
03-11-2024, 10:02 PM
Few things watching the Sky highlights here … Triantis is getting his shirt pulled in the incident for their penalty and why does the referee get called to the VAR monitor yet ours is dismissed so quickly , surely the referee should have been called to have a look at the O’Hora one too ….

https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13247887/hibernian-1-1-dundee-united-scottish-premiership-highlights

03-11-2024, 10:12 PM
Lots of fans of other teams commenting on the penalty and saying it’s a nonsense. Robbed.

03-11-2024, 10:17 PM
Lots of fans of other teams commenting on the penalty and saying it’s a nonsense. Robbed.

We had a tweet from a Dundee United fan who said it was ridiculous as well.

hibsboy07
03-11-2024, 10:21 PM
This is the reason I'm done with Scottish football.
The officials are so rubbish at their job it's unbelievable, var is not the problem it's the person who mainly gets it wrong is the problem.

cubehindthegoal
03-11-2024, 10:45 PM
This is the reason I'm done with Scottish football.
The officials are so rubbish at their job it's unbelievable, var is not the problem it's the person who mainly gets it wrong is the problem.

I understand this. Working today so couldn’t make the match even if I wanted. And tbh I’m not sure I do anymore. I’ve witnessed similar stuff to this happen to Hibs today for many years and years … why some Hibs fans are still in denial about it I do not know … however … to be absolutely honest, it’s beyond a joke now.

You know … Hibs players and management are not as bad as the decisions referees and VAR officials are making them … Hibs league position is at least as much, arguably more, to do with that.

Cue the “you are paranoid” posters … well you know what, say what you like … you’re either blind ot stupid to not see it, time after time after time …

So close to done with football … I’m in my sixties if you are interested .. and neither blind nor stupid. Just sick of it. They’ll be happy they’ve driven another Hibs fan away from it no doubt. Well … I’d rather be worn down by cheats than be a cheat.

My last word on it … for those that don’t see yet … look closer and think. You shouldn’t need honest fans of other clubs to open your eyes to it, but good on them anyway.

ChuckNor
03-11-2024, 10:46 PM
They’ve opened up a can of worms with this decision. Up until now VAR had largely been quite quiet this season, not pulling everything up for a review and letting stuff go. Now it’s going to be relentless as they’ve set a precedent. Sounds like St Johnstone got a penalty for something similar yesterday and that may be what has kicked this off.

03-11-2024, 10:55 PM
They’ve opened up a can of worms with this decision. Up until now VAR had largely been quite quiet this season, not pulling everything up for a review and letting stuff go. Now it’s going to be relentless as they’ve set a precedent. Sounds like St Johnstone got a penalty for something similar yesterday and that may be what has kicked this off.

The Behind the Whistles Podcast are linking it to the one they missed for Dessers a few weeks back. This was their tweet tonight about the Utd pen:

We were exchanging tweets this morning on the St Johnstone one against Hearts yesterday. We think after the VAR Panel criticised the lack of review for the pull on Dessers the other week, that the VAR’s have been instructed pay closer attention on pulls and act. That one today is very soft it’s some grappling, no drag back. We’ve all heard the same language used about “has the player who had his shirt pulled go a chance of getting to the ball” etc. that’s highly subjective based on that type of delivery in he has a chance of meeting it. But that lack of consistency in one game with the more obvious one being missed is just inexcusable.

Criswell
03-11-2024, 11:24 PM
Is there any real independent scrutiny of VAR decisions? Or is it just a case of the refereeing old/boy fraternity being allowed to mark their own homework? Nothing to see here, Var and referees can't possibility make a wrong decision.

03-11-2024, 11:42 PM
At the game I didn’t notice any of them so didn’t want to comment until I’d seen them back.

Having now seen them, I actually think that the thread title is an understatement. The decisions are worse than scandalous.

If these sorts of decisions are settling the outcomes of tight games you have to seriously question paying money to watch these contests.

Absolutely disgraceful inconsistency.