View Full Version : Scandalous refereeing
04-11-2024, 07:11 AM
Is there any real independent scrutiny of VAR decisions? Or is it just a case of the refereeing old/boy fraternity being allowed to mark their own homework? Nothing to see here, Var and referees can't possibility make a wrong decision.
Pretty much and has been for years. Greg Aitken bit like Dallas completely failed referee able to decide on decisions determining outcomes of games. Done us over in Sheep semi last year.
04-11-2024, 07:16 AM
They’ve opened up a can of worms with this decision. Up until now VAR had largely been quite quiet this season, not pulling everything up for a review and letting stuff go. Now it’s going to be relentless as they’ve set a precedent. Sounds like St Johnstone got a penalty for something similar yesterday and that may be what has kicked this off.
It opens up nothing. It wasn’t against Rangers or Celtic so it’ll barely be news after today.
Going forward it’ll be the same inconsistent pish, as we saw in our game 5 minutes later.
04-11-2024, 07:17 AM
It really is quite simple.
Would the two incidents be fouls outside the box to which the answer is yes.
At the end of the day a penalty is just a free kick in the box.
04-11-2024, 07:17 AM
We have been royally shafted here and I am not convinced they are innocent mistakes.
They aren’t innocent mistakes this nonsense has been going on for years
04-11-2024, 07:23 AM
I understand this. Working today so couldn’t make the match even if I wanted. And tbh I’m not sure I do anymore. I’ve witnessed similar stuff to this happen to Hibs today for many years and years … why some Hibs fans are still in denial about it I do not know … however … to be absolutely honest, it’s beyond a joke now.
You know … Hibs players and management are not as bad as the decisions referees and VAR officials are making them … Hibs league position is at least as much, arguably more, to do with that.
Cue the “you are paranoid” posters … well you know what, say what you like … you’re either blind ot stupid to not see it, time after time after time …
So close to done with football … I’m in my sixties if you are interested .. and neither blind nor stupid. Just sick of it. They’ll be happy they’ve driven another Hibs fan away from it no doubt. Well … I’d rather be worn down by cheats than be a cheat.
My last word on it … for those that don’t see yet … look closer and think. You shouldn’t need honest fans of other clubs to open your eyes to it, but good on them anyway.
Totally agree. Funny how we never and i mean never get any of these hugely dubious decisions you would think over a number of season incompetence may even itself out. You have to ask why it doesn’t
Just_Jimmy
04-11-2024, 07:25 AM
Marvin Bartley can **** off. Not welcome back. Arse.Behave.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Just_Jimmy
04-11-2024, 07:33 AM
Scottish football is bent. I've said that millions of times on here previously. I was actually against var because the corrupt cheats who run it before are the same ones reviewing var so why would it be different?
Hibs are pish, no doubt, but Scottish football is bent.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Shafted twice here in the last few minutes. Bad enough that they got a pen whilst we didn't for near identical shirt pulling in the box. Even worse that an identical shirt pull on one of our players was ignored in the same passage of play as their 'penalty'.
That said none were penalties. If we were to look over footage this season of all the top flight games to penalise all the shirt pulls in the box, about 200 penalties have not been given.
04-11-2024, 07:42 AM
There's probably a rule for it that I've missed, but why does Myko get booked for giving away a penalty but Souttar doesn't get booked for the two handball pens he's given away recently? Other than the obvious of course.
EGL2000
04-11-2024, 07:50 AM
There's probably a rule for it that I've missed, but why does Myko get booked for giving away a penalty but Souttar doesn't get booked for the two handball pens he's given away recently? Other than the obvious of course.
That's about the only decision he did get right tbf. A shirt pull in the box that's results in a penalty is always meant to be a yellow as there's no obvious attempt to play the ball. I don't think it's a foul, but if it's given he does need to give a yellow by the letter of the law. Not that he seems to be applying the law very fairly !
Paulie Walnuts
04-11-2024, 08:02 AM
Wasn’t at the game so I’ve not seen the foul that lead to the free kick for the penalty (it’s been alluded to that it was soft) and the highlights don’t show the incident after where we should have apparently had one.
Purely based on the penalty though, I don’t think we can have many complaints. He’s got a fist full of the boys shirt, I’d want that if it was us.
EGL2000
04-11-2024, 08:15 AM
Wasn’t at the game so I’ve not seen the foul that lead to the free kick for the penalty (it’s been alluded to that it was soft) and the highlights don’t show the incident after where we should have apparently had one.
Purely based on the penalty though, I don’t think we can have many complaints. He’s got a fist full of the boys shirt, I’d want that if it was us.
Have a look on sky sports highlights on YouTube, they show both incidents.
04-11-2024, 08:21 AM
It really is quite simple.
Would the two incidents be fouls outside the box to which the answer is yes.
At the end of the day a penalty is just a free kick in the box.That isn't true though - as we all know
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Pretty much and has been for years. Greg Aitken bit like Dallas completely failed referee able to decide on decisions determining outcomes of games. Done us over in Sheep semi last year.
If there was an independent review after the game (and I support the idea) it would have to be a non-Scottish review panel doing it.
expresso
04-11-2024, 08:21 AM
Basic cheating yesterday
VAR official was clearing looking for reason to give them that penalty and in no sensible way could an argument be made for dismissing our shout.
The numerous disgraceful VAR calls against Hibs in recent seasons beggars belief.
Question has to be asked why the concerted bias against us?
Notwithstanding if we are only good enough to fashion narrow leads we will always be susceptible to corrupt refereeing.
Every team’s supporters will agree with that..it’s incompetence, not corruption.Head in the sand.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
04-11-2024, 08:27 AM
Purely based on the penalty though, I don’t think we can have many complaints. He’s got a fist full of the boys shirt, I’d want that if it was us.Watch the next free kick or corner - lots of people will have a fist full of other shirts - infact Triantis also had his shirt pulled from the same cross and he was actually in the vicinity of ball
Honestly, this is always what happens with var is folk pour over the footage and find reasons as to why it ends up with the refs call
It's never a penalty (either is Ohoras) and the reaction of the players pretty much told you how valid the claim was
Marv made the point about he could maybe get the 2nd ball but mykos shirt pull didn't make the guy throw himself down (the same as Ohora done at the other end)
It's just a shocking intervention but it will be sweep under the carpet and we've all to move on
There's absolutely no way rangers get that decision against them late in the game like that - and that, for more is the most obvious imbalance with Var
04-11-2024, 08:29 AM
Having slept on it I'm still staggered that one penalty doesn't result in another at the other end of the pitch. Someone somewhere has to explain how and why its not given for our claim.
Gray said in the press conference they had an explanation as to what would and wouldn't be given and based on that they shouldn't have had a penalty and we should have.
04-11-2024, 08:36 AM
Because VAR, by it very nature, is remote why can’t we have a system whereby no
Home country referees are involved with VAR?
Surely other country associations receive similar criticism about bias towards this or that side. That problem is easily solved by VAR overseeing games in other countries and our VAR people doing likewise. It wouldn’t solve incompetence and god help the countries that would get our referees but at least it would remove the question of bias.
04-11-2024, 08:38 AM
Every team’s supporters will agree with that..it’s incompetence, not corruption.
Incompetence would be refereeing mistakes that impact all teams equally. When there's a consistent pattern where certain teams are impacted more often than others by those mistakes that's corruption.
04-11-2024, 08:42 AM
Am I right in thinking he actually gave Dundee Utd the foul for the one on O’Hora at the end?
04-11-2024, 09:09 AM
The whole thing about VAR was it was supposed to be “clear and obvious”
None of the players claimed
No one in the crowd claimed
The ref didn’t see anything
The assistants didn’t see anything.
VAR should not be getting involved with things as contentious as that. Same with marginal offsides where they have to draw lines to find out if the goal stands or not.
If the boys a mile off and it’s somehow missed, VAR gets involved.
A blatant foul in the box, VAR gets involved.
Off the ball incidents, VAR gets involved.
It should be that easy. No one would argue if they said that’s how it would work going forward.
04-11-2024, 09:36 AM
Am I right in thinking he actually gave Dundee Utd the foul for the one on O’Hora at the end?They got a foul but I've no idea what for
04-11-2024, 09:37 AM
Am I right in thinking he actually gave Dundee Utd the foul for the one on O’Hora at the end?
Yes. Unbelievable really. I'm sick of the bias shown against Hibs. People will ask why would refs be biased against us and I can't honestly answer that, but it looks like they are. Some of the decisions against us are ridiculous
04-11-2024, 09:38 AM
The whole thing about VAR was it was supposed to be “clear and obvious”
None of the players claimed
No one in the crowd claimed
The ref didn’t see anything
The assistants didn’t see anything.
VAR should not be getting involved with things as contentious as that. Same with marginal offsides where they have to draw lines to find out if the goal stands or not.
If the boys a mile off and it’s somehow missed, VAR gets involved.
A blatant foul in the box, VAR gets involved.
Off the ball incidents, VAR gets involved.
It should be that easy. No one would argue if they said that’s how it would work going forward.
Spot on, I now do not have a clue on what is and isn’t a penalty and neither do the VAR officials or refs it seems. They literally make it up as they go along. As someone alluded to previously, you could scrutinise every set piece in every game and find an infringement.
There are rules within the game itself and now an extra layer of rules on the use of VAR and the officials up here are clueless on how to work together for the benefit of fairness and integrity.
Who TF is actually reffing the game? I thought VAR only got involved when there was a clear and obvious error. Has that been done away with.
04-11-2024, 09:42 AM
Triantis is having his shirt pulled at the exact same time though as the incident 99 is being penalised for. Thats why we have valid complaints on the pen decision alone.
04-11-2024, 09:48 AM
Just watched the penalty incident. Did Collum not say that a penalty is given when it materially affects a player who is in area where the ball is played to. The ball is nowhere near the player who has his shirt pulled. By giving a penalty for this every shirt pull in the penalty area even when it is nowhere near to where the ball is played to is a penalty. There was one in England that ref watch gave the same explanation as to why the ref did not give a penalty.
Largshibby
04-11-2024, 09:49 AM
They got a foul but I've no idea what for
To cover up his mistake not awarding a penalty.
04-11-2024, 12:27 PM
Looked like he did obviously worried we might score
We were cheated by Greg Aitken and it’s sickening. What’s the point of investing time, money and emotion in what should be a sporting contest when some faceless nonentity with an axe to grind can just decide the result? Wish we had the cajones to call it out like this:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cy9j0jvxyddo
Speaking at length to broadcaster beIN Sports, Mourinho criticised the performance of referee Oguzhan Cakir and VAR official Atilla Karaoglan.
Mourinho added: "He [Karaoglan] was alert to give the two penalty decisions which the referee didn't give and then he was having Turkish tea when it was a clear penalty for us and he didn't give it."
"The man of the match was Atilla Karaoglan," added Mourinho.
"We didn't see him but he was the referee. The referee was just a little boy that was there on the pitch, but the referee was Atilla Karaoglan.
"He goes from the invisible man to the most important man in the match.
04-11-2024, 01:16 PM
We were cheated by Greg Aitken and it’s sickening. What’s the point of investing time, money and emotion in what should be a sporting contest when some faceless nonentity with an axe to grind can just decide the result? Wish we had the cajones to call it out like this:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cy9j0jvxyddo
Speaking at length to broadcaster beIN Sports, Mourinho criticised the performance of referee Oguzhan Cakir and VAR official Atilla Karaoglan.
Mourinho added: "He [Karaoglan] was alert to give the two penalty decisions which the referee didn't give and then he was having Turkish tea when it was a clear penalty for us and he didn't give it."
"The man of the match was Atilla Karaoglan," added Mourinho.
"We didn't see him but he was the referee. The referee was just a little boy that was there on the pitch, but the referee was Atilla Karaoglan.
"He goes from the invisible man to the most important man in the match.
Well that rules him out for our next manager.
Donegal Hibby
04-11-2024, 02:02 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/its-like-csi-ex-epl-referee-delivers-verdict-on-controversial-hibs-and-hearts-penalty-decisions-4851758
04-11-2024, 02:23 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/its-like-csi-ex-epl-referee-delivers-verdict-on-controversial-hibs-and-hearts-penalty-decisions-4851758
Criminal Shocking Intervention.
04-11-2024, 02:26 PM
Of all the nations, Scottish Football was always going to be the least likely to be able to be trusted unsupervised with VAR.
Dermot says we was robbed !!!
https://x.com/scotlandsky/status/1853454382349553788?s=61&t=EiwLNKoiC8NCGyh40IuBPA
04-11-2024, 02:47 PM
https://x.com/scotlandsky/status/1853454382349553788?s=61&t=EiwLNKoiC8NCGyh40IuBPA
Just crazy, and they didn't even comment on Triantis getting HIS shirt pulled.
Donegal Hibby
04-11-2024, 02:48 PM
They basically focused on Mykos pull on the shirt while totally ignoring Triantis is getting fouled and yet up the other end the referees main focus is on Ekpiteta which he gives a immediate freekick for while ignoring O’Hora is getting the shirt pulled off his back and the same guy on VAR that thought the first one was worth the referee looking at doesn’t think that our one’s worth looking at ….. it all stinks of something well beyond of just incompetence IMO.
04-11-2024, 02:58 PM
You watch Collum come out and justify how these were both discussed and the right decisions made.
It’s looking after the refs job when it’s as blatant as that.
As you say a ref who’s reffed right at the top basically saying both are not penalties but in no so many words the hibs one was more of a penalty says it all.
Absolute jokers running corrupt-var
malcolm
04-11-2024, 02:59 PM
They basically focused on Mykos pull on the shirt while totally ignoring Triantis is getting fouled and yet up the other end the referees main focus is on Ekpiteta which he gives a immediate freekick for while ignoring O’Hora is getting the shirt pulled off his back and the same guy on VAR that thought the first one was worth the referee looking at doesn’t think that our one’s worth looking at ….. it all stinks of something well beyond of just incompetence IMO.
Well something is meant to be clear and obvious :wink:
04-11-2024, 09:02 PM
“It’s very difficult to justify a four-minute look at the screen to find a shirt-pull.
“You’re looking.”
If this is how a top independent ref sees it, Hibs should use that as basis of public complaint about the VAR and the referee. We are far too soft, and that starts at the top. No chance Neil Lennon or any top manager would stay quiet about such blatant bias. Call it for what it is.. corruption.
This is the start of the very same VAR crap we had a while back when the SFA had to apologise time and again for corrupt refereeing,
05-11-2024, 05:54 AM
“It’s very difficult to justify a four-minute look at the screen to find a shirt-pull.
“You’re looking.”
If this is how a top independent ref sees it, Hibs should use that as basis of public complaint about the VAR and the referee. We are far too soft, and that starts at the top. No chance Neil Lennon or any top manager would stay quiet about such blatant bias. Call it for what it is.. corruption.
This is the start of the very same VAR crap we had a while back when the SFA had to apologise time and again for corrupt refereeing,
Just last season
We should call for VAR to be scrapped until competent people are found to use it properly
05-11-2024, 07:54 AM
The same guy who didn’t award us a penalty when Vente got absolutely wiped out by their keeper that night but can spot a slight jersey tug nowhere near where play is. Utter joke
HarpOnHibee
05-11-2024, 02:35 PM
We should call for VAR to be scrapped until competent people are found to use it properly
Scrapping it is likely what they want. Then they can continue on being as corrupt as they've always been. At the very least, VAR makes their corruption more obvious, which they would prefer that it wasn't.
Ron D Hibbie
05-11-2024, 09:16 PM
Scrapping it is likely what they want. Then they can continue on being as corrupt as they've always been. At the very least, VAR makes their corruption more obvious, which they would prefer that it wasn't.
Just to stick it up us even more. Ref for sat is ian sneddon hearts supporting ref. With clancy on var. 🙄🙄
percy veer
06-11-2024, 03:13 AM
Just to stick it up us even more. Ref for sat is ian sneddon hearts supporting ref. With clancy on var. 🙄🙄
clancy might give us a dodgy pen like he gave to vargas despite being told to look at it again.... i wont hold my breath
06-11-2024, 06:00 AM
Talk about conflict of interest
06-11-2024, 06:18 AM
clancy might give us a dodgy pen like he gave to vargas despite being told to look at it again.... i wont hold my breath
A few more ‘honest mistakes’ coming our way
06-11-2024, 06:26 AM
A few more ‘honest mistakes’ coming our way
Incompetently one way only
Donegal Hibby
06-11-2024, 10:52 AM
Well thought out appointments !
Donegal Hibby
08-11-2024, 03:30 PM
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/news/kmi-rules-on-controversial-hibs-vs-dundee-united-double-penalty-incident/
08-11-2024, 03:38 PM
SFA confirm that it shouldn’t have been a penalty and the VAR was wrong to even bring it up.
Nae use to us now.
https://x.com/scotlandscoeff1/status/1854925462008426647?s=46
08-11-2024, 03:39 PM
SFA confirm that it shouldn’t have been a penalty and the VAR was wrong to even bring it up.
Nae use to us now.
Aye, only just though! 3/2 where's it was all 5 agreeing ours wasn't a penalty.
08-11-2024, 03:41 PM
Not sure i believe the 3 2 bit made close to make it appear an understandable decision.
08-11-2024, 03:47 PM
Assume we get the 2 points and Myko is unbanned?
Donegal Hibby
08-11-2024, 03:48 PM
I was wondering what the differences they seen when they were split on one and yet so unanimous on the other ..:dunno:
08-11-2024, 03:49 PM
I was wondering what the differences they seen when they were split on one and yet so unanimous on the other ..:dunno:
Colour of the strip probably:greengrin
08-11-2024, 04:00 PM
Assume we get the 2 points and Myko is unbanned?
Just posted this on the PM board
Maybe we should push for a change in the rules, if the panel
decides that var affected the outcome then the decision should be reversed??
Thoughts??
Nae use to us now.
Bit pedantic but they aren't saying it wasn't a penalty, just that it should not have met the threshold for VAR to intervene.
08-11-2024, 04:18 PM
To me the result would have to stand but the booking should be rescinded as VAR should not have been involved and Myko would not have been booked otherwise. Even when they have a week to look at it they can't agree and still see the lesser foul as more of a penalty than the one on O'Hora
Donegal Hibby
08-11-2024, 04:22 PM
The VAR review with Willie Collum is going to be an interesting one ..
Wouldn’t be surprised if there’s some bull**** spin put on it that only P**** us off even further about it !.
08-11-2024, 04:25 PM
The VAR review with Willie Collum is going to be an interesting one ..
Wouldn’t be surprised if there’s some bull**** spin put on it that only P**** us off even further about it !.
Probably ignore it
08-11-2024, 04:48 PM
Bit pedantic but they aren't saying it wasn't a penalty, just that it should not have met the threshold for VAR to intervene.
Therefore not a penalty.
But I get the pedantry.
08-11-2024, 04:50 PM
The result of the match can't be changed but the ban for Myko most certainly could be rescinded. They won't though of course.
08-11-2024, 04:52 PM
I notice in the notes for our claim, they reference the Hibs number 4. Rather than number 5 being O’Hora. Usual lack of attention to detail by these clowns
Ralphy C
08-11-2024, 05:08 PM
No doubt everybody involved except Myko will be on duty tomorrow.:confused:
expresso
08-11-2024, 05:31 PM
Maybe Hibs could grow a backbone and start going tonto iver these decisions.
If not they’ll keep happening if we are seen as a soft touch
Albahibs
08-11-2024, 05:40 PM
The result of the match can't be changed but the ban for Myko most certainly could be rescinded. They won't though of course.
Pity it was changed by the officials at the match, when awarding the softest of penalties. Those who were in charge of Var at the match should be banned from it for a period of time, but we all know that they wont.
Pity it was changed by the officials at the match, when awarding the softest of penalties. Those who were in charge of Var at the match should be banned from it for a period of time, but we all know that they wont.They'll be given a Hibs game again as soon as they can.
Ron D Hibbie
08-11-2024, 06:09 PM
Pity it was changed by the officials at the match, when awarding the softest of penalties. Those who were in charge of Var at the match should be banned from it for a period of time, but we all know that they wont.
Your right. Greg Aitken who was on var has the motherwell game this weekend.
08-11-2024, 06:15 PM
Collum will spill some bile saying the fact 5 professional referees couldn’t come to a unanimous decisions says how difficult it was to judge. No way he will not defend a fellow ref.
Another awful decision goes our way.
It seems like we never get one 50/50 at all
08-11-2024, 06:17 PM
Your right. Greg Aitken who was on var has the motherwell game this weekend.
Ridiculous but not unexpected. He should be spending a few weekends tending his garden, not earning a good wedge for being an ******** referee.
Albahibs
08-11-2024, 06:31 PM
Collum will spill some bile saying the fact 5 professional referees couldn’t come to a unanimous decisions says how difficult it was to judge. No way he will not defend a fellow ref.
Another awful decision goes our way.
It seems like we never get one 50/50 at all
The absurdity of it is, is that there wasn't a decision to make at all, that is until Var (Greg Aitken) intervened, and more or less ensured a penalty was given, despite him (Greg Aitken) knowing that the ball was nowhere near the vicinity of the shirt pull therefore rendering the shirt pull irrelevant. Is Greg Aitken a cheat, biased against Hibs?
08-11-2024, 06:33 PM
Maybe this whole incident will help us develop a "siege mentality" just like Fergie had with Aberdeen
08-11-2024, 06:37 PM
Thanks guys could cost SDG his job
08-11-2024, 06:47 PM
Why are they totally ignoring the pull on Triantis shirt at the same time? They seriously are ***in useless.
08-11-2024, 06:51 PM
Gray has to speak up about this, when the time is right. Name check Greg Aitken, detail the fact he’s had several incorrect decisions against us now, highlight a trend and put the pressure on him and other refs.
We should have done this against Kevin Clancy years ago.
Take the fine if you have to, but show that we’re not just meekly gonna continually be sh@t on.
SickBoy32
08-11-2024, 06:55 PM
Gray has to speak up about this, when the time is right. Name check Greg Aitken, detail the fact he’s had several incorrect decisions against us now, highlight a trend and put the pressure on him and other refs.
Take the fine if you have to, but show that we’re not just meekly gonna continually be sh@t on.
Correct, would love SDG to take a public stand against the cheats.
On VAR. We canny find 6 competent refs to take charge of the SPL fixtures each week. We are now trying to find 12, to man the VAR too. Inherently doomed.
Sooner the VAR years are behind us the better, a disaster for the (formerly) beautiful game. It’s horrible these days. All emotion taken out of the game. Wish we’d followed the Swedish approach instead of trying to be a low budget English copy cat.
08-11-2024, 07:23 PM
Any news on who they are subjecting us with for tomorrow’s game?
08-11-2024, 07:24 PM
Exactly what should happen. Ask how he can spot a shirt pull nowhere near play but missed our striker getting poleaxed by the Aberdeen keeper in a National semi and name him as you say. Boils my piss how soft we are as a club
Albahibs
08-11-2024, 08:24 PM
Exactly what should happen. Ask how he can spot a shirt pull nowhere near play but missed our striker getting poleaxed by the Aberdeen keeper in a National semi and name him as you say. Boils my piss how soft we are as a club
For example, look at the publicity Phillipe Clement manufactured, when gaslighting regarding the stonewall penalty at Ibrox when John Souttar prevented a probable goal-bound shot with his outstretched forearm. John Souttar should also have been sent off, no doubt about it in my opinion, yet Clement managed to keep a straight face when protesting, whether or not it was even a penalty, and some in the media gave him completely unjustified credibility when reporting of his incongruous questioning of the penalty award.
We should definitely be lodging an official protest against Greg Aitken. He is clearly unfit to supervise Var at another Hibs match, or be involved in any way shape or form at another Hibs match. His searching for a reason to give a penalty award against Hibs is more than enough to accuse him (Greg Aitken) of bias against Hibs or worse potential match fixing, and should be nowhere near another Hibs match.
08-11-2024, 08:33 PM
For example, look at the publicity Phillipe Clement manufactured, when gaslighting regarding the stonewall penalty at Ibrox when John Souttar prevented a probable goal-bound shot with his outstretched forearm. John Souttar should also have been sent off, no doubt about it in my opinion, yet Clement managed to keep a straight face when protesting, whether or not it was even a penalty, and some in the media gave him completely unjustified credibility when reporting of his incongruous questioning of the penalty award.
We should definitely be lodging an official protest against Greg Aitken. He is clearly unfit to supervise Var at another Hibs match, or be involved in any way shape or form at another Hibs match. His searching for a reason to give a penalty award against Hibs is more than enough to accuse him (Greg Aitken) of bias against Hibs or worse potential match fixing, and should be nowhere near another Hibs match.
Would also check his betting records !!
NC1875
08-11-2024, 08:43 PM
The problem is, if he’s barred from Easter Road, the clown that takes his place will be just as incompetent.
Donegal Hibby
08-11-2024, 08:48 PM
In fairness he has … https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/13247964/hibs-boss-david-gray-slams-var-inconsistencies-in-draw-with-dundee-utd
I’d love to see the club make a statement as it’s happening far too often in our games …
How many decisions have cost us under previous managers too …
I wouldn’t mind if they were even boarder line decisions though some like Marshall getting bundled into the back of his goals to leading 2-1 at ibrox and the most blatantly obvious handball you’ll see getting overlooked I don’t think is just a lack of incompetence , it’s gone away above that IMO …
Tomorrow we have Clancy on VAR which is basically like putting Mr Bean in charge of it !…. I’d probably have more faith in Mr Bean to do a better job of it though.
08-11-2024, 09:18 PM
Any news on who they are subjecting us with for tomorrow’s game?
A guy called Ian Sneddon apparently by his social media partial to a yam. Clancy on var. What could go wrong?
08-11-2024, 09:27 PM
A guy called Ian Sneddon apparently by his social media partial to a yam. Clancy on var. What could go wrong?
I regret asking now..
Thanks anyway!
08-11-2024, 10:03 PM
In fairness he has … https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/13247964/hibs-boss-david-gray-slams-var-inconsistencies-in-draw-with-dundee-utd
I’d love to see the club make a statement as it’s happening far too often in our games …
How many decisions have cost us under previous managers too …
I wouldn’t mind if they were even boarder line decisions though some like Marshall getting bundled into the back of his goals to leading 2-1 at ibrox and the most blatantly obvious handball you’ll see getting overlooked I don’t think is just a lack of incompetence , it’s gone away above that IMO …
Tomorrow we have Clancy on VAR which is basically like putting Mr Bean in charge of it !…. I’d probably have more faith in Mr Bean to do a better job of it though.
Yeah that was Sundays post match interview. I think he needs to talk about it today for example and then in advance of any future game that Aiken was involved with.
Make them the story, see how they like the scrutiny
Even this week, point to Clancy, he’s shafted us multiple times but we again suffer him being VAR.
08-11-2024, 11:33 PM
VARs ruined football completely
It’s lost it’s enjoyment
There’s absolutely no surprise that our sub par referees are now getting it wrong sitting behind a screen either
09-11-2024, 12:02 AM
It’s lost it’s enjoyment
There’s absolutely no surprise that our sub par referees are now getting it wrong sitting behind a screen either
Of course. It was always going to be a second stick to beat us with. Corrupt officials have been a feature of the Scottish game (essentially in favour of the OF) for decades. HOPE is all that was left for non-OF fans but VAR has managed to suck the life out of that to the point that - whenever something remotely positive happens - VAR is sitting in the wings ready to kill it.
In the hands of incompetent / corrupt people, VAR is not the positive tool it should be. Quite the opposite.
Criswell
09-11-2024, 12:21 AM
Why does it seem every time a referee is called to look at an incident by VAR he changes his decision? They need to be much more stronger and tell the Greg Aitkins of this world to get lost!
09-11-2024, 01:55 AM
And that social media pointed to him being one of those yams that hates hibs more than he loves hearts.
Saying that, we’ve won when we’ve previously had him.
09-11-2024, 05:11 AM
Is there evidence of his social media Hertz love in?
Let’s get his affiliation out there.
Ralphy C
09-11-2024, 08:24 AM
Why does it seem every time a referee is called to look at an incident by VAR he changes his decision? They need to be much more stronger and tell the Greg Aitkins of this world to get lost!
Unless its a penalty for hearts at Tiny of course.:confused: and i think that was Clancy.
09-11-2024, 08:45 AM
Unless its a penalty for hearts at Tiny of course.:confused: and i think that was Clancy.
It was
09-11-2024, 09:02 AM
Difference of course is our press listens to the Rangers manager. We have complained in the past and let’s say it is more than likely made things worse
09-11-2024, 09:21 AM
Is there evidence of his social media Hertz love in?
Let’s get his affiliation out there.
He deleted his accounts. There were links to it on here maybe a year ago then the profile suddenly disappeared. It was under the name Iain Andrew rather than Iain Sneddon.
Bushwoof
09-11-2024, 10:17 AM
I'm not one for the tin-foil hat stuff, but I'm starting to genuinely think that there's a sectarian element to this, and we're being punished as a proxy for Celtc.
HarpOnHibee
09-11-2024, 10:31 AM
It’s lost it’s enjoyment
Yet, the fault isn't in the technology itself. It's the clowns behind it. VAR has the potential to be a highly effective system. It would be a shame to see the technology go while the same clowns remain in place.
Donegal Hibby
09-11-2024, 10:55 AM
I didn’t realise it was the same Greg Aitken that was in charge of VAR in this game too …
https://x.com/Zeshankenzo/status/1850659355114590338?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1850659355114590338%7Ctwgr% 5Ec418ee97f589f22afda0bcac70d07f48c67ae930%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fvideocelts.com%2F2024%2F10%2 Fblogs%2Flatest-news%2Funforgivable-if-we-dont-scrutinise-a-decision-thoroughly-and-clearly-greg-aitken-on-his-var-role%2F
OstKurve Hibs
09-11-2024, 10:58 AM
Refs and linesman get far to easy a ride at easter road, we should be giving them hell from start to finish.
Stonewall
09-11-2024, 12:28 PM
Snedden is a massive Yam.
09-11-2024, 11:06 PM
Not even remotely trying to bump this as an excuse by the way. But how bad was that guy today??
09-11-2024, 11:17 PM
Errr, that sounds like an excuse.
The officials were not the problem!
The officials weren't the problem.
Nah, we were absolute garbage! I left at 80 mins and I could count on one hand the amount of times I've left ER early.
Just thought that ref today was really really ****.
SNIFFER
09-11-2024, 11:17 PM
Err, the officials were not the problem!
09-11-2024, 11:19 PM
Err, the officials were not the problem!
https://media1.tenor.com/m/jwSnSBHIoi8AAAAd/alan-partridge-i-believe-weve-established-that.gif
09-11-2024, 11:19 PM
My issue with this Jambo/anti-Hibs welt today wasn’t any of the major decisions. It was his constant stopping and slowing down of the game. Every second minor tackle was “stop I need to listen to a non existent VAR in my ear”.
percy veer
10-11-2024, 04:41 AM
My issue with this Jambo/anti-Hibs welt today wasn’t any of the major decisions. It was his constant stopping and slowing down of the game. Every second minor tackle was “stop I need to listen to a non existent VAR in my ear”.
I have noticed that for a while it looks like the new refs are being talked through the game , would love to hear audio
10-11-2024, 05:09 AM
My issue with this Jambo/anti-Hibs welt today wasn’t any of the major decisions. It was his constant stopping and slowing down of the game. Every second minor tackle was “stop I need to listen to a non existent VAR in my ear”.The first 20 mins of the game were just bizarre
Every throw in he seems to stop the game, then 5 seconds later say play
10-11-2024, 10:04 AM
I'm not one for the tin-foil hat stuff, but I'm starting to genuinely think that there's a sectarian element to this, and we're being punished as a proxy for Celtc.
Personally wouldn’t altogether rule that out
10-11-2024, 10:16 AM
Think he got a new whistle for his birthday recently
10-11-2024, 10:32 AM
I have noticed that for a while it looks like the new refs are being talked through the game , would love to hear audio
Penalty Rangers
HIBS NUTS
10-11-2024, 10:33 AM
Think he got a new whistle for his birthday recently
I’ve never been at a game that stopped so much, even throw ins took forever.
The amount of utterly pathetic fouls given, when actual fouls were ignored.
He was absolutely brutal.
10-11-2024, 06:44 PM
Celtic game today…
Looked a red card all day for Hatate but only a yellow. I’m sure Hibs got a sending off for similar last season?
10-11-2024, 09:20 PM
Celtic game today…
Looked a red card all day for Hatate but only a yellow. I’m sure Hibs got a sending off for similar last season?
That from Hatate today is as clear a red card as you'll ever see but Nick Walsh gives a yellow and VAR doesnt correct it. Shocking. Clip here:
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1855653559712264564
Anyone remember how desperate Nick Walsh was to send off Ryan Porteous when he didn't even touch Aribo at Ibrox? It's comical how differently Rangers and Celtic are treated to other teams.
10-11-2024, 09:22 PM
Celtic game today…
More of a red card than Newell’s at Tannadice a few weeks ago that cost us 3 points.
Paulie Walnuts
10-11-2024, 09:30 PM
That from Hatate today is as clear a red card as you'll ever see but Nick Walsh gives a yellow and VAR doesnt correct it. Shocking. Clip here:
Anyone remember how desperate Nick Walsh was to send off Ryan Porteous when he didn't even touch Aribo at Ibrox? It's comical how differently Rangers and Celtic are treated to other teams.
The Porteous tackle was a red all day imo.
Houston7
10-11-2024, 09:50 PM
The first 20 mins of the game were just bizarre
Every throw in he seems to stop the game, then 5 seconds later say play
Perhaps because the Hibs’ players were so bad yesterday, but I’m really surprised there was no forensic examination of the ref’s performance. At every single Hibs’ throw in he pushed the Hibs player back - sometimes just by a yard & seemed to delay all our throw ins. I was at the match & had no idea who he was - so I’m not being subjective. I’d love to know what the Referee Supervisor (who I saw entering the stadium ) thought of his pathetic performance.
10-11-2024, 11:30 PM
The Porteous tackle was a red all day imo.
Should never have been a red IMO. It was red only because of Porteous reputation. Lundstram put in a far worse challenge on Doig in the game and only got yellow.
Donegal Hibby
11-11-2024, 12:26 AM
greenlad
11-11-2024, 04:25 AM
Should never have been a red IMO. It was red only because of Porteous reputation. Lundstram put in a far worse challenge on Doig in the game and only got yellow.
Lunstram on Doig not even given as a foul, never mind a yellow!
HIBS NUTS
11-11-2024, 02:34 PM
Perhaps because the Hibs’ players were so bad yesterday, but I’m really surprised there was no forensic examination of the ref’s performance. At every single Hibs’ throw in he pushed the Hibs player back - sometimes just by a yard & seemed to delay all our throw ins. I was at the match & had no idea who he was - so I’m not being subjective. I’d love to know what the Referee Supervisor (who I saw entering the stadium ) thought of his pathetic performance.
Supervisors mark the referee on big decisions only, throw ins corners and to a lesser extent fouls generally don’t affect his markings.
I thought he was horrendous, but that’s based on him constantly getting small things wrong, and stopping the play for no reason.
However he will probably get an alright mark, because all the bid decisions were correct.
Donegal Hibby
11-11-2024, 02:39 PM
Referee in England suspended while investigation ongoing ….
https://www.liverpool.com/liverpool-fc-news/features/referee-david-coote-caught-allegedly-30346209
Jock O
11-11-2024, 02:39 PM
I commented to that to my mate at game, also every time the ball went out or play stopped he seemed to be listening on the ear piece. One in particular was a quick throw in on East side, he pulled it back, held on to ear piece as if something was going on, then just waved them back. It ruined some quick thinking by Hibs player, not something we seen a lot of which made it more annoying.
I ended up watching more of him the 15 minutes before we scored than I did the game!
11-11-2024, 02:45 PM
Referee in England suspended while investigation ….
https://www.liverpool.com/liverpool-fc-news/features/referee-david-coote-caught-allegedly-30346209
Wonder why it has taken so long to be leaked. Wonder if he has had a fall out with a mate.
Coote gets suspended. Iain Andrew/Sneddon gets promoted. Quite a difference in approach between the PMGOL and SFA.
11-11-2024, 02:55 PM
Should never have been a red IMO. It was red only because of Porteous reputation. Lundstram put in a far worse challenge on Doig in the game and only got yellow.No he didn't
We didn't even get a free kick, nevermind a booking for the rangers player
Donegal Hibby
11-11-2024, 02:59 PM
Wonder why it has taken so long to be leaked. Wonder if he has had a fall out with a mate.
Coote gets suspended. Iain Andrew/Sneddon gets promoted. Quite a difference in approach between the PMGOL and SFA.
That’s entirely possible that he has fallen out with his mate to why it’s just came out now.. as much as it highlights their being a slight problem in England at least they have referees coming from different areas unlike in our league and I do think the SFA are at the root of this Corruption .
11-11-2024, 03:50 PM
Referee in England suspended while investigation ongoing ….
Could do with a few Scottish ref videos coming out :greengrin probably press in this country wouldn't publish it
11-11-2024, 03:51 PM
Maybe someone looking for money
11-11-2024, 04:09 PM
Lunstram on Doig not even given as a foul, never mind a yellow!
No he didn't
We didn't even get a free kick, nevermind a booking for the rangers player
Why doesnt that surprise me:rolleyes:
Could do with a few Scottish ref videos coming out :greengrin probably press in this country wouldn't publish itDo they allow mobiles taking video in the ludge?
Albahibs
11-11-2024, 09:40 PM
The difference being, if Porteous had made the challenge that Hatate did, the vast majority of us would have said that Porteous deserved to have been sent off for such a wild and reckless lunge in with studs up that could easily have seriously injured the Kilmarnock player.
Its the glaringly obvious parodoxical contradictary manner in which our club are treated entirely differently, when compared to other clubs. We've been saying it for years that Scottish football has to be completely reformed from the inside to out, yet still there are different rules for us when it comes to refereeing, Var was supposed to be the great leveller, but it turns out that in the wrong hands, they can manipulate Var also, and continue to turn a blind eye even with the advent of advanced technology.
I despair that it will never change, and our club will continue to be at the mercy of what some call the Lanarkshire Mafia. Maybe if Bill Foley was to become fully invested at Hibernian, the strength of his wallet and influence might just insert some control over them.
11-11-2024, 10:34 PM
The difference being, if Porteous had made the challenge that Hatate did, the vast majority of us would have said that Porteous deserved to have been sent off for such a wild and reckless lunge in with studs up that could easily have seriously injured the Kilmarnock player.
Its the glaringly obvious parodoxical contradictary manner in which our club are treated entirely differently, when compared to other clubs. We've been saying it for years that Scottish football has to be completely reformed from the inside to out, yet still there are different rules for us when it comes to refereeing, Var was supposed to be the great leveller, but it turns out that in the wrong hands, they can manipulate Var also, and continue to turn a blind eye even with the advent of advanced technology.
I despair that it will never change, and our club will continue to be at the mercy of what some call the Lanarkshire Mafia. Maybe if Bill Foley was to become fully invested at Hibernian, the strength of his wallet and influence might just insert some control over them.
Agree with all this. Listened to the Monday Sportscene podcast today which rounds up the weekend action. Both guests, Cammy Bell and Tony Watt were asked if Hatate should have neen sent off - both said no. Contrast that with the ex pro pundit clamour to vilify Porto after Ibrox.
12-11-2024, 06:22 AM
Do they allow mobiles taking video in the ludge?
No idea:greengrin
12-11-2024, 06:24 AM
Agree with all this. Listened to the Monday Sportscene podcast today which rounds up the weekend action. Both guests, Cammy Bell and Tony Watt were asked if Hatate should have neen sent off - both said no. Contrast that with the ex pro pundit clamour to vilify Porto after Ibrox.
One ex celtic one ex Rangers they won't want the hassle to go against them
07-12-2024, 06:34 PM
So on the match thread today v Celtic there wasn't much clamour for the Engels challenge on Newell being a red card - but when you see it here, I think that that we are very unlucky that wasn't given as a red card following the VAR review.:cb
https://twitter.com/GP_1872/status/1865435385595146647/video/2
Partyraiser
07-12-2024, 06:35 PM
So on the match thread today v Celtic there wasn't much clamour for the Engels challenge on Newell being a red card - but when you see it here, I think that that we are very unlucky that wasn't given as a red card following the VAR review.:cb
Said during the game I thought it looked like a red. This confirms it. If that's Newell on Engels it's a red every day of the week
1875Sean
07-12-2024, 06:38 PM
Said during the game I thought it looked like a red. This confirms it. If that's Newell on Engels it's a red every day of the week
Not for me, the rangers red was up at the knee
07-12-2024, 06:40 PM
And Engels challenge was half way up Newell's shin. Engels would have been unlucky the way the challenge panned out but I think a red card is totally justifiable there.
07-12-2024, 06:42 PM
I don’t think it warranted a red, but I’m fairly certain if it had gone the other way, the red would have come out for Newell.
Is that the rule? Has to be at the knee for a red? What about the reds we've had, all at the knee were they?
07-12-2024, 06:45 PM
And Engels challenge was half way up Newell's shin. Engels would have been unlucky the way the challenge panned out but I think a red card is totally justifiable there.
Admittedly not seen it back since the game, but it's never a red for me. There's almost no force in it at all and it's almost the trailing boot that makes contact from what I can remember. Could be wrong?
I'd be raging if that's given against us.
Edit: Just watched it back, not the trailing leg but it's never a straight red card offence. Absolutely no force or momentum in it at all.
Donegal Hibby
07-12-2024, 06:50 PM
I was angry at the time as I felt it was a red .. if it was the other way about and Newell had done it on Engels I would have fully expected him to be sent off and us to be discussing how stupid he was do make that sort of challenge …
Unfortunately as we are all to aware the rules get changed or bent a little to accommodate the uglies in certain situations.
babahibs
07-12-2024, 06:58 PM
It's never a red.
If it was a Hibs player though..............
07-12-2024, 07:08 PM
Felt it was a red.
What was the yellow for ?
1875Sean
07-12-2024, 07:13 PM
Is that the rule? Has to be at the knee for a red? What about the reds we've had, all at the knee were they?
The higher foot is the more it is endangering a player
https://twitter.com/GP_1872/status/1865435385595146647/video/2Who knows. When you look at Youan's sending off last season it looks at though they make it all up on a whim. How their whims are governed is anyone's guess. Last season a Celtic player can handle the ball in the box against us and we are gaslighted into being told its not a pen. The ball brushes the outside of Hibs players arm and its a "definite penalty".
It's all bull.
To my mind, given how we are reffed, a Hibs player gets sent off for that today. Since its a Celtc player, "nothing to see here".
07-12-2024, 07:26 PM
Admittedly not seen it back since the game, but it's never a red for me. There's almost no force in it at all and it's almost the trailing boot that makes contact from what I can remember. Could be wrong?
Edit: Just watched it back, not the trailing leg but it's never a straight red card offence. Absolutely no force or momentum in it at all.
I agree with you often but have to disagree with the "never a red" assessment here mate. For me its one that could go either way. I understand folk thinking a red would be harsh, but at the same time similar challenges have been given for reds. If the ref gives a red on the pitch for example, I don't think VAR would overturn that.
07-12-2024, 07:29 PM
The higher foot is the more it is endangering a player
That's not in the laws of the game anywhere though is it?
07-12-2024, 07:32 PM
I agree with you often but have to disagree with the "never a red" assessment here mate. For me its one that could go either way. I understand folk thinking a red would be harsh, but at the same time similar challenges have been given for reds. If the ref gives a red on the pitch for example, I don't think VAR would overturn that.
Aye, that's a fair point actually, you're probably spot on.
07-12-2024, 07:32 PM
Aye, that's a fair point actually, you're probably spot on.
1875Sean
07-12-2024, 07:45 PM
That's not in the laws of the game anywhere though is it?
The referees interpret the laws of the game so it’s not as black and white as you are making out
07-12-2024, 07:54 PM
The referees interpret the laws of the game so it’s not as black and white as you are making out
I would agree its not black and white - so the phrase you used about a foot being higher means its endangering an opponent more so should be seen as more of a red isnt strictly speaking true.
1875Sean
07-12-2024, 08:38 PM
I would agree its not black and white - so the phrase you used about a foot being higher means its endangering an opponent more so should be seen as more of a red isnt strictly speaking true.
I think if you ask any ref most would say a higher tackle is more likely to give a red
07-12-2024, 08:40 PM
Red every day of the week for me. Scandalous challenge especially compared to some of our reds
Albahibs
07-12-2024, 09:15 PM
Red every day of the week for me. Scandalous challenge especially compared to some of our reds
Totally agree. There really does seem to entirely different rules being applied to our club by referees, evidenced by comparable situations with contradictory outcomes. There is very little doubt about it unfortunately.
Scotty Leither
07-12-2024, 10:42 PM
Which is why we should be pushing for a review system where a manager is allowed one referral per half to VAR. We should have been playing against 10 men for the majority of that match, but not a whimper raised from the club.
Too much ***** is flung at Hibernian FC and it’s time to start upping the ante in how we engage with the authorities in this country.
08-12-2024, 07:38 AM
Very soft penalty given to Killie in injury time yesterday. Think the Dundee Utd player maybe caught the end of the guys big toe nail.
08-12-2024, 09:20 AM
Which is why we should be pushing for a review system where a manager is allowed one referral per half to VAR. We should have been playing against 10 men for the majority of that match, but not a whimper raised from the club.
Too much ***** is flung at Hibernian FC and it’s time to start upping the ante in how we engage with the authorities in this country.
It would be reviewed by the same VAR official that had chosen not to intervene so what difference would it make?
We saw what happened when Paul McGinn highlighted poor officiating.
08-12-2024, 09:49 AM
Never a red for me either, but it would be nice to feel like things were levelling out over the season.
The 2pts left on the table v Dundee Utd are still annoying.
Donegal Hibby
08-12-2024, 04:22 PM
I see ex refs Conroy and Roache both agreed it should have been a red card for the Engels incident but Stewart said it could have potentially been a free kick though it wasn’t even a yellow card.
08-12-2024, 06:58 PM
I see ex refs Conroy and Roache both agreed we should have had a penalty for the Engels incident but Stewart said it could have potentially been a free kick though it wasn’t a even a yellow card.
Penalty? When and why?
Donegal Hibby
08-12-2024, 10:57 PM
Penalty? When and why?
Mis print .. corrected now Flash :aok:
09-12-2024, 03:47 PM
Not so much scandalous refereeing as behaviour by the EPL referee David Coote and he's been sacked for comments about Jurgen Klopp and apparently sniffing a white powder. You have to wonder what was going through his head to allow that to be filmed. Madness.
09-12-2024, 04:19 PM
I saw a comment just post COVID on Twitter that stated the UK has a “high threshold for rioting”.
not that I’m condoning violence but I do wonder just how far things can be taken with the British public before they take to the streets.
i think during COVID these BLEEPs pushed things to the limits - despicable.
it doe beg the question tho’ are we just continually taking for mugs?
09-12-2024, 05:25 PM
I saw a comment just post COVID on Twitter that stated the UK has a “high threshold for rioting”.
not that I’m condoning violence but I do wonder just how far things can be taken with the British public before they take to the streets.
i think during COVID these BLEEPs pushed things to the limits - despicable.
it doe beg the question tho’ are we just continually taking for mugs?
So it's a red for you??
Donegal Hibby
09-12-2024, 05:40 PM
Not so much scandalous refereeing as behaviour by the EPL referee David Coote and he's been sacked for comments about Jurgen Klopp and apparently sniffing a white powder. You have to wonder what was going through his head to allow that to be filmed. Madness.
Also allegations about betting irregularities in the game between Leeds Utd v West Brom where a pal asked him to book the Leeds fullback which he did and was the only booking in the game I think , apparently it was a booking though Coote later on asked his pal did he back what was discussed 😳…
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/13253098/david-coote-referee-sacked-by-the-pgmol-with-immediate-effect#
09-12-2024, 06:39 PM
Please somebody tell me that this is a joke...
https://www.footballinsider247.com/keith-hackett-stunned-by-var-decision-as-reckless-celtic-hibs-footage-analysed/
09-12-2024, 06:45 PM
https://www.footballinsider247.com/keith-hackett-stunned-by-var-decision-as-reckless-celtic-hibs-footage-analysed/
It's certainly a joke website. Hackett must be about 100 now.
09-12-2024, 07:08 PM
It's certainly a joke website. Hackett must be about 100 now.
I honestly thought it could be real, thats the kind of world we live in sadly.
Paulie Walnuts
09-12-2024, 07:51 PM
Can’t even remember the tackle, anyone got a clip?
09-12-2024, 07:52 PM
Either the student intern writer for Football Insider who doesn't understand football has confused what Hackett meant or Hackett has completely lost his marbles:hilarious
Donegal Hibby
09-12-2024, 08:01 PM
Can’t even remember the tackle, anyone got a clip?
Neither can I unless he’s lost the plot in meaning it’s just before Engels comes down on Joes ankle .. disagree with Gallagher here too ….
https://x.com/ScotlandSky/status/1866087883821428756?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1866087883821428756%7Ctwgr% 5Eed5e83b50a0ef7294674dcfb1ea8fbb2e40c37a5%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.celticway.co.uk%2Fsport% 2F24782984.engels-gets-ref-watch-treatment-celtic-vs-hibs-stamp%2F
09-12-2024, 08:08 PM
Neither can I unless he’s lost the plot in meaning it’s just before Engels comes down on Joes ankle .. disagree with Gallagher here too ….
https://x.com/ScotlandSky/status/1866087883821428756?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1866087883821428756%7Ctwgr% 5Eed5e83b50a0ef7294674dcfb1ea8fbb2e40c37a5%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.celticway.co.uk%2Fsport% 2F24782984.engels-gets-ref-watch-treatment-celtic-vs-hibs-stamp%2F
That's exactly what it implies Hackett means!
Dermot Gallagher by the way is an absolute tube as well, routinely talks utter nonsense on that Sky Monday show.
Donegal Hibby
09-12-2024, 08:13 PM
That's exactly what it implies Hackett means!
Dermot Gallagher by the way is an absolute tube as well, routinely talks utter nonsense on that Sky Monday show.
I can’t believe anyone would think Newell should have got a red and ignore what Engels did … guaranteed if it’s the other way round our player walks for that ! . Agree about Dermot Gallagher being an absolute tube too .
09-12-2024, 08:55 PM
There is absolutely no doubt that if the roles were reversed Newell would have walked
09-12-2024, 09:06 PM
The two-tier interpretation of rules leads us down a road where nobody is 100% sure what the guidance actually is anymore.
This actually works in officials favour where they can offer justification for controversial decisions while avoiding the wrath of the two higher profile most influential clubs, and personal prejudices can be lost in amongst that.
In a sport where rules are largely matter of opinion rather than facts, VAR hasn’t really done much to change what always was. The matter of fact decisions are now the freak margins goals are being ruled out for which nobody really needed in the first place.
09-12-2024, 09:16 PM
The two-tier interpretation of rules leads us down a road where nobody is 100% sure what the guidance actually is anymore.
This actually works in officials favour where they can offer justification for controversial decisions while avoiding the wrath of the two higher profile most influential clubs, and personal prejudices can be lost in amongst that.
In a sport where rules are largely matter of opinion rather than facts, VAR hasn’t really done much to change what always was. The matter of fact decisions are now the freak margins goals are being ruled out for which nobody really needed in the first place.
it’s killing football
09-12-2024, 09:53 PM
I can’t believe anyone would think Newell should have got a red and ignore what Engels did … guaranteed if it’s the other way round our player walks for that ! . Agree about Dermot Gallagher being an absolute tube too .
Had a look earlier there were a number of Celtic fans on X claiming Newell was the one that should have been off cause his foot was off the ground, absolutely ridiculous of them.
Keepthefaith
09-12-2024, 09:56 PM
anyone see the West Ham wolves game? more examples of blatant inconsistency - West Ham player stands on wolves player foot in the box, he doesn't go down immediately but then does. decision no pen as not enough contact apparently to affect him. he actually stands on his effin foot!
can understand the ref not seeing it, but for VAR to look and go nah...it's so infuriating and I feel for Gary Oneil who might lose his job after that too
09-12-2024, 10:02 PM
anyone see the West Ham wolves game? more examples of blatant inconsistency - West Ham player stands on wolves player foot in the box, he doesn't go down immediately but then does. decision no pen as not enough contact apparently to affect him. he actually stands on his effin foot!
can understand the ref not seeing it, but for VAR to look and go nah...it's so infuriating and I feel for Gary Oneil who might lose his job after that too
It's a penalty a thousand times over
10-12-2024, 05:47 AM
Yes that was ridiculous as was the even more blatant foul earlier in the box when Emerson simply barged the striker over. Utterly bizarre. Guy Andy Madley on var who reffed the toon Liverpool game last week and was awful in that.
10-12-2024, 05:49 AM
Had a look earlier there were a number of Celtic fans on X claiming Newell was the one that should have been off cause his foot was off the ground, absolutely ridiculous of them.
Just shows you the parallel universe they live in. There was nothing dangerous about Newells challenge yet Engels deliberate stamp isn’t a red
10-12-2024, 05:55 AM
Couldn’t agree more great post sums it up perfectly
Albahibs
10-12-2024, 12:17 PM
The Kukharevych penalty award that cost us the full three points against Dundee Utd being a prime example. Greg Aitken clearly erred when using Var to deny us the win, and should have been removed from duties as a result of what could easily have been personal prejudice. It was a highly controversial decision for Var to intervene, and it influenced the result of the match.
Just shows you the parallel universe they live in. There was nothing dangerous about Newells challenge yet Engels deliberate stamp isn’t a red
Celtic and rangers fans excel in twisting facts to tell everyone how they’re hard done by
10-12-2024, 02:53 PM
Celtic and rangers fans excel in twisting facts to tell everyone how they’re hard done by
Yep they absolutely do. Whataboutery at a high level.
10-12-2024, 03:02 PM
Celtic fans are the most entitled in Scottish football. Everything is a conspiracy against them despite them getting away with almost everything.
Absolute weirdos.
10-12-2024, 06:52 PM
Celtic fans are the most entitled in Scottish football. Everything is a conspiracy against them despite them getting away with almost everything.
Absolute weirdos.
:agree::agree:
10-12-2024, 09:12 PM
Absolute weirdos.
We almost had a Celtic fan on there Podcast to discuss a paper that they'd written or received about evidence of a fairly overwhelming bias towards Rangers from referees.
It was well presented, used good data etc and showed Rangers to be the major beneficiaries of big decisions in games.
We were set to agree a date to record and I said that they should pull fouls per booking into the equation as well (thinking, indirectly as it turned out) that Rangers would also be a clear outlier in that metric.
What followed was a neat wee dance of them trying to skirt around it and me saying to just include it, and I quickly realised that the reason they didn't want to include it is Celtic were by far the biggest outlier.
At that point I canned it. Either present it all and acknowledge you benefit sometimes, or don't bother at all.
11-12-2024, 07:18 AM
We almost had a Celtic fan on there Podcast to discuss a paper that they'd written or received about evidence of a fairly overwhelming bias towards Rangers from referees.
It was well presented, used good data etc and showed Rangers to be the major beneficiaries of big decisions in games.
We were set to agree a date to record and I said that they should pull fouls per booking into the equation as well (thinking, indirectly as it turned out) that Rangers would also be a clear outlier in that metric.
What followed was a neat wee dance of them trying to skirt around it and me saying to just include it, and I quickly realised that the reason they didn't want to include it is Celtic were by far the biggest outlier.
At that point I canned it. Either present it all and acknowledge you benefit sometimes, or don't bother at all.
Since Celtic became the dominant force it certainly feels like they are the most favoured team, even above Rangers.
Graham Spiers had a Celtic fan on his podcast about a year or so ago covering something similar, along with a rangers fan who presented stats the other way.
The Celtic guy was quite smug from memory, and quite condescending in how he laid out his stats, the rangers guy was a bit more, passionate, but pulled the Celtic guys numbers apart a bit from what I can remember. This was around the time of the rangers penalty for/against debate, which the Celtic bloke was keen to push hard. Went a bit quiet when the rangers guy pointed out the selective timeframes he’d chosen to use, and produced stats about Celtic being beneficiaries of lots of decisions.
The pair of them love to tell the world how hard done by they are, when they’re probably the 2 most domestically privileged and pandered to in world football
11-12-2024, 10:31 AM
I'm much more interested in the comparison between the uglies and the rest of the league. Both of the cheeks get refereed in a completely different way. Fouls which would always be a booking in an Edinburgh or Dundee Derby ignored because it is the "Old Firm" game. VAR reviews pouring over anything that can be beneficial to them while merely a cursory glance when it could be to their detriment. The biggest issue is how the league is set up around two teams, TV deals in their favour and refereeing almost a service to them.
Paulie Walnuts
11-12-2024, 10:47 AM
I'm much more interested in the comparison between the uglies and the rest of the league. Both of the cheeks get refereed in a completely different way. Fouls which would always be a booking in an Edinburgh or Dundee Derby ignored because it is the "Old Firm" game. VAR reviews pouring over anything that can be beneficial to them while merely a cursory glance when it could be to their detriment. The biggest issue is how the league is set up around two teams, TV deals in their favour and refereeing almost a service to them.
Your point about things being refereed differently in certain types of games infuriates me.
I could accept it if what goes on in these games only had an impact on that individual game, but if players are getting away with red card tackles in derbies etc then it negatively impacts the team that is up next to play them as they should be facing a team with suspended player(s).
All games should be refereed the same.
13-12-2024, 03:54 AM
Your point about things being refereed differently in certain types of games infuriates me.
I could accept it if what goes on in these games only had an impact on that individual game, but if players are getting away with red card tackles in derbies etc then it negatively impacts the team that is up next to play them as they should be facing a team with suspended player(s).
All games should be refereed the same.
100% agree with this. I get the logic of"keep the cards in the pocket" to let the Old Firm Derby flow, no problem with referees wanting to make the game a great spectacle etc, but afford that same threshold to Hibs v Ross County or St Mirren v Dundee etc.
Why do we not want these other games to flow and be a great spectacle? A yellow card or red card in one game should be one in all games. There's no way anyone should accept that it's ok for Rangers and Celtic to get special treatment.
Add in the fact that they never get the untested referees and you have another layer of inherent bias towards the pair of them.
It does my head in as well.
13-12-2024, 07:19 AM
100% agree with this. I get the logic of"keep the cards in the pocket" to let the Old Firm Derby flow, no problem with referees wanting to make the game a great spectacle etc, but afford that same threshold to Hibs v Ross County or St Mirren v Dundee etc.
Why do we not want these other games to flow and be a great spectacle? A yellow card or red card in one game should be one in all games. There's no way anyone should accept that it's ok for Rangers and Celtic to get special treatment.
Add in the fact that they never get the untested referees and you have another layer of inherent bias towards the pair of them.
Exactly, it's cheating, and also cheating the rest of the league, and an open confession that the rest of the clubs dont really count.:rolleyes:
13-12-2024, 09:52 AM
Exactly, it's cheating, and also cheating the rest of the league, and an open confession that the rest of the clubs dont really count.:rolleyes:
Spot on :top marks
13-12-2024, 06:56 PM
We almost had a Celtic fan on there Podcast to discuss a paper that they'd written or received about evidence of a fairly overwhelming bias towards Rangers from referees. .
So very Celtic :rotflmao::rotflmao:
SickBoy32
13-12-2024, 09:18 PM
So very Celtic :rotflmao::rotflmao:
?
Odd comment if I’m reading that correctly