View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs vs St Johnstone.
14-09-2024, 03:12 PM
is this a block 7 song
😂👏
14-09-2024, 03:15 PM
even the st johnstone player laughed at that lineman decision to give a foul
14-09-2024, 03:17 PM
is this a block 7 song
14-09-2024, 03:19 PM
Nicky Cadden much better this half.
ElginHibbie
14-09-2024, 03:20 PM
Nicky Cadden much better so far this half
Celtc 1 up against yams
is this a block 7 song[emoji16]
Nah but you can hum it alongside the drum.
is this a block 7 song
To the tune of Seasons in the Sun
Nicky Cadden doesn’t look useless btw
14-09-2024, 03:21 PM
I like Kwon, he’s more positive than Newell from a deeper position IMO. Though he’s not driven forward as much as he did at Rugby Park.
Edit, right on cue a poor attempt from Kwon 😀
Nicky Cadden much better so far this half
Snap
Kwon hits the persevere
14-09-2024, 03:22 PM
How’s he Kwon and skied that 😭
14-09-2024, 03:22 PM
Kwon hits a ship in the docks.
14-09-2024, 03:23 PM
I like Kwon, he’s more positive than Newell from a deeper position IMO. Though he’s not driven forward as much as he did at Rugby Park.
Edit, right on cue a poor attempt from Kwon 😀
You saying Joe couldn’t have done that?:greengrin
Youan looked rusty as you'd expect from someone who's not played for a few weeks, 45 mins was correct, Hoilett's looked lively since he's came on.
14-09-2024, 03:23 PM
great save st johnstone keeper
14-09-2024, 03:24 PM
The St Johnstone player who delayed kickoff for not wearing shin guards has taken his shin guards off again.
Hibees1973
14-09-2024, 03:24 PM
That would have won it
14-09-2024, 03:25 PM
Hoilett making a huge impact
14-09-2024, 03:25 PM
Ooft. Unlucky. Hoilett with a bit of quality to hold it up and play it through.
Hibees1973
14-09-2024, 03:26 PM
2 howlers from Ekpiteta.
Talk about trying to give a goal away.
14-09-2024, 03:26 PM
Dismal. We look to be every bit as slow and unispiring as last season.
As dismal and uninspiring as 100% of your posts
14-09-2024, 03:27 PM
josh for rudi
boyle for N cadden
ChicoM1875
2 howlers from Ekpiteta.
Talk about trying to give a goal away.
Recovered both times. Well done Marv
Kwon is such a smart signing. Instantly improves our midfield.
Boyle & Campbell on Rudi & N. Cadden off.
14-09-2024, 03:28 PM
Kwon is a very decent player.
Second half so far has been much better.
Doon the slope.
Can’t help but think we need a second though.
Kwon is such a smart signing. Instantly improves our midfield.
Yup, like him.
We really need a second goal.
14-09-2024, 03:29 PM
The St Johnstone player who delayed kickoff for not wearing shin guards has taken his shin guards off again.
Sure it was white socks rather than shin guards.
Much like 2 weeks ago it's like a different game this half. Much better.
Sure it was white socks rather than shin guards.
Ah, ok.
Really impressed with Hoilett.
14-09-2024, 03:31 PM
Really impressed with Hoilett.
:agree: Gonna be a big player for us this season.
Hibees1973
14-09-2024, 03:31 PM
I've got a fear Gray will bring Rocky on.
14-09-2024, 03:32 PM
That was superb from Josh Campbell
Nectar is a baller
gordie18
Some real quality stuff from Junior [emoji4]
Been a good second half… just feel need the second goal to win
14-09-2024, 03:33 PM
Would be nice but as long as we keep it out the pokey at the other end we will win. :wink:
14-09-2024, 03:34 PM
And the other 3 :)
14-09-2024, 03:35 PM
Triantis with his second daftest free kick in a Hibs jersey there.
14-09-2024, 03:35 PM
Triantis with his second daftest free kick in a Hibs jersey there. :greengrin not a patch on the daftest one. That will never be beaten.
Triantis and Kwon should be 2 of our 3 every week with someone playing a 10. We look a lot more physical and they're good on the ball.
14-09-2024, 03:36 PM
keeper saves them again
Triantis with his second daftest free kick in a Hibs jersey there.
The Captain....
Really impressed with Hoilett.His decision making and first touch are excellent
Sent from my SM-S926B using Tapatalk
14-09-2024, 03:37 PM
2-0 :thumbsup::thumbsup: boyle
lovely dink
ElginHibbie
Ok let’s not **** up this time
That’s more like it
Great 2nd ball, but keeper was out early. Need to make this pressure count.
Hibees1973
Well done Hibs.
Good changes by Gray.
HarpOnHibee
14-09-2024, 03:38 PM
Well in Boyle :thumbsup:
Omg what a finish. Boy still has it.
Boyle 2-0
Great goal from Boyle.
Great run and turn of pace by Boyle
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
Fantastic finish. Would've been spewing if he missed as it was a tap in otherwise! :D
HendoDelivered
Unreal Boyler, unreal.
1875Sean
Good ball from cadden and class finish
The Captain....
Great pace and cool finish
Great ball, run and goal, 3pts.
Good goal.
Boyle had a man with an open goal
If he’d squared it there, not so much saying he’s lucky it went in but he’d have been slaughtered if that hadn’t gone in.
OtleyHibs
Nice to have the 2 goal cushion, wouldn't mind a 3 goal cushion either 😁
14-09-2024, 03:39 PM
An excellent ball and excellent finish
Well done Cadden and Boyle
Excellent from Boyle, not quite finished.
Nice to have the 2 goal cushion, wouldn't mind a 3 goal cushion either 😁
5 would be better still. 😁
DO NOT change this team going forward. There's definitely something to build on.
Donegal Hibby
14-09-2024, 03:40 PM
Yass .. that’s the Boyle we know and love :thumbsup:
pollution
Come on Hibs. We want three!
Good stuff , that was some finish from Boyle
Good goal.
Boyle had a man with an open goal
If he’d squared it there, not so much saying he’s lucky it went in but he’d have been slaughtered if that hadn’t gone in.
Relax, enjoy life
gordie18
14-09-2024, 03:41 PM
What a fantastic finish from Boyler
Greenio
14-09-2024, 03:41 PM
So what. We have history of conceding last minute so really need to be better 2nd half and score again.
We just did. Happy now?
14-09-2024, 03:42 PM
Yams bottom of the league as it stands😁
14-09-2024, 03:43 PM
Great ball, run and goal, 3pts.
Why would you say "3 pts" with 10 minutes left?? Whyyyyyyyyyyyy?! 😂😂
14-09-2024, 03:43 PM
this could be a two-game winning run against st johnstone
what's going on :)
Lendo
14-09-2024, 03:44 PM
I’m not going to feel comfortable until we are 4 up.
14-09-2024, 03:44 PM
He’ll probably come straight back in for the next game if fit but I don’t believe Newell has been missed whatsoever.
ElginHibbie
14-09-2024, 03:45 PM
Campbell been very good since coming on, the depth we now have in most positions hopefully start benefiting us like this
The Captain....
14-09-2024, 03:46 PM
Been a much better balance in the team second half. Actually quite enjoyed it.
Relax, enjoy life
… as Bobby McFerrin almost once said.
He’ll probably come straight back in for the next game if fit but I don’t believe Newell has been missed whatsoever.
If this happens then Gray will only have himself to blame if things go wrong and he's criticised.
HendoDelivered
Think miller and mckirdy are getting the shout to come on
14-09-2024, 03:48 PM
Campbell been very good since coming on, the depth we now have in most positions hopefully start benefiting us like this
This. Said it the other week but once all the players have more time under their belts and the newer players are a little fitter and more bedded in the competition for places will only make us better. Next to no one is safe at the minute so everyone will have to ho their game if the want to start. Been a while since we've said that. Been playing with a disjointed 11 in recent years at the best of times and our bench made next to no difference whatsoever.
14-09-2024, 03:49 PM
boyle shot scrapes the paintwork
14-09-2024, 03:49 PM
Now playing like prime Barca
14-09-2024, 03:50 PM
Would agree with this. Think Kwon & Triantis are upgrades on Newell in the deeper roles. Those two, plus a 10. Which should be Rudi’s until he needs a break.
I just don’t see where Newell fits going forward without shoehorning him in.
Donegal Hibby
14-09-2024, 03:50 PM
Unlucky from Boyle , really good play from Hibs there:greengrin
14-09-2024, 03:51 PM
Much much better this second half.
14-09-2024, 03:52 PM
Played a lot better the second half and a deserved win. However the first goal papered over a woeful 45 minutes and changed the flow of the game in our favour.
14-09-2024, 03:52 PM
Yams bottom of the league as it stands😁
#Pleasing 🤣
HarpOnHibee
14-09-2024, 03:53 PM
Played a lot better the second half and a deserved win. However the first goal papered over a woeful 45 minutes and changed the flow of the game in our favour.
True, but if we kick on from todays result, then it won't matter how it came about today.
This **** Kimpioka gonna get booked?
Hoilett looks the business. We’ve been crying out for this type of player
The first goal always changes the flow. I thought we ok 1st half, much better 2nd.
Decent win.
14-09-2024, 03:54 PM
Much much better this second half.
It has been.
And it adds a bit of perspective to the first half - whilst we were poor, there were no mistakes that led to goals and we scraped one ourselves to go in at the break in the lead.
Gave us a platform to play well 2nd half.
We had good options on the bench to turn the game in our favour and a few subs have notably played and contributed very well.
red card st johnstone player
harsh, need to see a replay
straight Red ?
That dickhead has been at it all day. That's a disgrace of a tackle, no idea why it's even being looked at
14-09-2024, 03:55 PM
He's been at it all game. Classic Levein striker.
14-09-2024, 03:56 PM
Contact or not that's reckless. Even if it's changed to a yellow the reality is it should be a 2nd yellow.
Red stands.
Huge win this. Especially with going to Ibrox next week. Well done Hibs.
ChicoM1875
Don't think it was a red at all
That dickhead has been at it all day. That's a disgrace of a tackle, no idea why it's even being looked at
Yup. He was off the ground and out of control. No contact needed. Red card.
14-09-2024, 03:57 PM
Terrible decision. Was nowhere near the man.
Very impressed with Hoilett, works very hard, 2 good feet and a really clever football brain. Hopefully with him and Gayle coming in it puts pressure on Boyle to maybe turn up a bit more, as he's looked sharp since he came on.
Big useless ***** been at it all game anyway, **** him
I can see him bringing Newell back in for the Ibrox game and playing the same shape we did at Killie
14-09-2024, 03:58 PM
Yams bottom of the league as it stands[emoji16]Cannae see it myself, not with that magnificently atmospheric stadium and huge budget advantage I keep hearing about.
Any chance the league table could just be being looked at upside down?
Donegal Hibby
Red card all day long . Dangerous play . He’s been dirty the whole game.
Doesn't matter if he's near the man. You can't jump in, off the ground, out of control and two footed and say 'well I didn't touch him'. The intent is enough.
14-09-2024, 03:59 PM
Cannae see it myself, not with that magnificently atmospheric stadium and huge budget advantage I keep hearing about.
Any chance the league table could just be being looked at upside down?
I’ve had another look and from every angle, they’re still bottom
ChicoM1875
Big useless ***** been at it all game anyway, **** him
Don't disagree. Just another in a long line of crap decisions from Walsh though.
3 points woop :)
Was it not the intent, slid in at full speed and out of control, close to Obita or not, I thought it was a bit harsh but can see why he was given a red.
Solid win.
14-09-2024, 04:00 PM
Enjoyed that 2nd half. First time in a while that I can say it was a joy to watch us play at times. Can't expect us to be on top all the time but if we can cut out those first half performances we'll definitely fair better going forward and the support will get behind the team without fearing for the worst every time we play.
GGTTH.
Very good 2nd half, more pace and intent.
14-09-2024, 04:01 PM
Well done Hibernian. Let's hope it's the start of a decent run. Fat jambo McLauchlin says Hibs just about deserved it. Prick
HendoDelivered
We’ll be fine.
Well done Hibs well done David Gray :aok:
I’ve had another look and from every angle, they’re still bottomI'll wait until I hear it from Preston on radio Heartsound if that's okay[emoji6]
14-09-2024, 04:02 PM
A superb turnaround in the second half. Shows the impact of confidence on performance levels. Well done, Hibees. 💚
pollution
14-09-2024, 04:02 PM
Well played Hibs
14-09-2024, 04:03 PM
Thought triantis and Kwon played very well, much better from Hibs attacking wise.
Yup. He was off the ground and out of control. No contact needed. Red card.
I look forward to this sanguine analysis next time it's a Hibs player getting a red in similar circumstances 😄
Doesn't matter if he's near the man. You can't jump in, off the ground, out of control and two footed and say 'well I didn't touch him'. The intent is enough.
He's at least 2/3 feet away from him
Natural order resumed, eh Harry?
14-09-2024, 04:04 PM
Job done Hibs, well done.
Ekpiteta and O'hora looked solid. Happier with that midfield and praying Hoilet stays fit, he is quality
Well done Hibernian. Let's hope it's the start of a decent run. Fat jambo McLauchlin says Hibs just about deserved it. Prick
It was grudging praise.
He's here!
14-09-2024, 04:06 PM
Enjoyed that 2nd half. First time in a while that I can say it was a joy to watch us play at times. Can't expect us to be on top all the time but if we can cut out those first half performances we'll definitely fair better going forward and the support will get behind the team without fearing for the worst every time we play.
GGTTH.
Absolutely. It's so rare you can say you actually enjoy watching Hibs play that it's something to savour, especially after that borefest of a first half. Admittedly St J are bang average but it's hopefully a sign of better things to come. Such a damn shame about Bowie as he could really have played a big role.
Thank **** for that . Thought we were good today . Impressed with Hoilett , Nicky Cadden and Kwon . Best we've played in a while
Hoilett is class
14-09-2024, 04:07 PM
Thank **** for that . Thought we were good today . Impressed with Hoilett , Nicky Cadden and Kwon . Best we've played in a while
Nicky Cadden has a good 5 minute spell in the second half, other than that I must admit I thought he was poor
Needs to get a lot sharper and fitter
ChicoM1875
14-09-2024, 04:08 PM
Mone the Hibees!
ChicoM1875
14-09-2024, 04:09 PM
Nicky Cadden has a good 5 minute spell in the second half, other than that I must admit I thought he was poor
He improved as the game went on.
andrew_dundee
14-09-2024, 04:12 PM
The first half wasn't exactly vintage but we did enough. Second half we looked genuinely good. We were much sharper. New players looked good and we were unlucky not to get more. Good 3 points.
Think it’s safe to say we can just enjoy that without picking holes at anyone’s performance
Keeper done what was needed
Obita couple decent balls in the box
Great finish Martin
Subs had an impact
Junior - the energy to defend as well as drive forward. He’ll be a fav in no time
Cheque book out for Myko
Hearts 12th
Goodnight
Greenio
14-09-2024, 04:15 PM
Delighted with that result.
Ekpiteta and O'hora both solid, Ekpiteta with an assist too.
Love seeing Boyle get the goal
Hoilett has quality all over
Kwon is calm af but with an eye for winning
Its just good to get a win, clean sheet, 3 points - does wonders for the team and keeps me from having to endure the doom and gloom merchants on here!
Sioux
14-09-2024, 04:15 PM
He was better than his brother.
Rumble de Thump
14-09-2024, 04:18 PM
Great to be able to bring quality players like Hoilett and Boyle on from the bench. Good for Hoilett and Youan to get competitive minutes. And Gayle to come into the mix. It's been a tough day for Allan Preston. Shame.
14-09-2024, 04:20 PM
Goal before half time was massive. Should have scored more second half.
Kwon my MOTM.
14-09-2024, 04:21 PM
Thought McKirdy was a wee bag of tricks when he came on.
tonyrougier123
14-09-2024, 04:29 PM
Where was super Joe the day?
14-09-2024, 04:30 PM
I look forward to this sanguine analysis next time it's a Hibs player getting a red in similar circumstances 😄
You don’t need to wait. You can look back if you can’t wait. I remember my same sanguine analysis of a Liam Miller challenge for Hibs at fir park a wee while ago. Asked the ref to make a decision in both circumstances. Both stupid needless challenges. You’re welcome. :greengrin
Cabbage-Patch
14-09-2024, 04:31 PM
Youan off injured or just ready for 45? Thought he looked like he was limping on the walk round at the end?
Cabbage-Patch
14-09-2024, 04:33 PM
Where was super Joe the day?
We are a better team without him IMO. Didn't miss him in the slightest today but suspect he will be back in the team when fit
14-09-2024, 04:40 PM
Maybe just leave it at he played fine........why bring someone else down?
14-09-2024, 04:40 PM
Youan off injured or just ready for 45? Thought he looked like he was limping on the walk round at the end?
Was just absolutely dreadful.
14-09-2024, 04:41 PM
I thought he was severely missed in the first half. No doubt. There was nobody in midfield willing to pick the ball up deep and get things going. Joe Newell will be back in for the next game. Rudi was disappointing in what a lot of folk on here reckon is his best position. In my opinion anyway.
14-09-2024, 04:42 PM
We are a better team without him IMO. Didn't miss him in the slightest today but suspect he will be back in the team when fit
You don't think we missed Newell first half?
14-09-2024, 04:42 PM
Thought the same. Not sure he kept the ball or passed it to a Hibs player once
14-09-2024, 04:43 PM
Hoilett looks the business. We’ve been crying out for this type of player
He was excellent. Going to be a very important player this season.
Cabbage-Patch
14-09-2024, 04:51 PM
Not really. Don't see how him starting improves that 1st half which admittedly was awful.
14-09-2024, 04:53 PM
I think we did miss him, the midfield was all over the place in the first half.
14-09-2024, 04:53 PM
I thought he was severely missed in the first half. No doubt. There was nobody in midfield willing to pick the ball up deep and get things going. Joe Newell will be back in for the next game. Rudi was disappointing in what a lot of folk on here reckon is his best position. In my opinion anyway.
Rudi got bullied a bit, but started to find space out wide. Noticeable how we controlled the centre of the park and Kwon got forward better before the break. I think Newell being injured made the first half a lot harder for us.
14-09-2024, 04:54 PM
Delighted with that result.
Ekpiteta and O'hora both solid, Ekpiteta with an assist too.
Love seeing Boyle get the goal
Hoilett has quality all over
Kwon is calm af but with an eye for winning
Its just good to get a win, clean sheet, 3 points - does wonders for the team and keeps me from having to endure the doom and gloom merchants on here!
Sums up the game nicely
14-09-2024, 04:56 PM
Sums up the game nicely
I’d add. Obita getting more like last Seasons form. Only one game mind but more like it.
14-09-2024, 05:00 PM
Re rudi, I think he’s much better of the left for us at his current age
I think a 10 at the development age etc is perfect for him, but he needs to grow into that level with us
Games are so congested in the middle of the park and I think being wide with a bit more space and he has the option to drift about more suits him at this level
14-09-2024, 05:01 PM
Not really. Don't see how him starting improves that 1st half which admittedly was awful.
Our weight of pass going forward was woeful. Constantly overhit. No one in the middle was taking control and we were constantly forced wide. Newell would've at least tried to fix both these problems. His weight of pass is generally very good.
Donegal Hibby
14-09-2024, 05:03 PM
He didn’t have a good game though let’s not be to hard on him seeing as he’s just back from an injury. I’m sure Youan will come good and contribute plenty.
nickwhibs
14-09-2024, 05:04 PM
Think it was probably the plan to give Hoilett and Youan a half each. Both coming back from injury
14-09-2024, 05:07 PM
He didn’t have a good game though let’s not be to hard on him seeing as he’s just back from an injury. I’m sure Youan will come good and contribute plenty.
Guy wasn't the least bit interested. Woeful passing, wandering about doing **** all.
Hoilett is just back from injury too and was excellent.
14-09-2024, 05:08 PM
Of course he will. His highlight reel doesn't fill itself :-)
Cabbage-Patch
14-09-2024, 05:10 PM
This is where I am. I think we just need to accept he's the kind of player who will often misplace a pass however has it in the locker to conjure up a moment of magic out of nothing. Not many others in the squad have that ability
14-09-2024, 05:13 PM
Our weight of pass going forward was woeful. Constantly overhit. No one in the middle was taking control and we were constantly forced wide. Newell would've at least tried to fix both these problems. His weight of pass is generally very good.
Let’s no pretend we’re not capable of that kind of 45 minutes with Newell in the team. Crap first half all round but then midfield very comfortable in the second half. Kwon my MOTM.
Hibees1973
14-09-2024, 05:13 PM
Goal before half time was massive. Should have scored more second half.
Kwon my MOTM.
There was a point in the game today when he had the ball in midfield, controlled it, had a look around but saw no one available. He then sold a wee dummy to buy himself a bit of time then picked out a man.
It was an insignificant bit of the game which was easily missed but I enjoyed it.
14-09-2024, 05:20 PM
Great to be able to bring quality players like Hoilett and Boyle on from the bench. Good for Hoilett and Youan to get competitive minutes. And Gayle to come into the mix. It's been a tough day for Allan Preston. Shame.
How Queen of the South won 😂
raeburnhibs
14-09-2024, 05:22 PM
No chance was Nicky better than Chris today. I take it you missed the beautifully weighted assist for Boyle?
14-09-2024, 05:29 PM
Let’s no pretend we’re not capable of that kind of 45 minutes with Newell in the team. Crap first half all round but then midfield very comfortable in the second half. Kwon my MOTM.
Of course we are. I never said otherwise. We still missed him first half.
Hoilett helped us keep it and move forward a lot. Excellent performance by him.
14-09-2024, 05:34 PM
First half was OK, no where near as bad as some on here on made out but we were so much better in the 2nd half, unlucky not to score another couple
14-09-2024, 05:44 PM
First half, poor from both teams and Hibs fortunate to go in 1 up. Think we lacked creativity in the final 3rd or a midfielder to stand on the ball and/or dictate play. 2nd half, much better. SDG bringing on Campbell, Hoilet and Boyle allowed us to press much higher up the pitch, gave us width and pace and we had a much better balance to whole side. Kwon was outstanding and took control of the match.
Myko, Hoilet, Kwon and O'Hora were all excellent and should be the core for the season ahead.
Overall, a decent performance and vg 3 points. Clean sheet, restricting them to 1 shot on target also good.
14-09-2024, 05:57 PM
What a difference watching a win makes. I let Hibs affect me far too much! 😄
14-09-2024, 06:00 PM
Couple of St Johnstone fans walking over Bothwell bridge not happy with Levein.
Get it up him.
14-09-2024, 06:05 PM
Correct, finds both full backs and the keeper really well.
14-09-2024, 06:08 PM
No chance was Nicky better than Chris today. I take it you missed the beautifully weighted assist for Boyle?
People don’t watch football. Only see errors
14-09-2024, 06:18 PM
First half was OK, no where near as bad as some on here on made out but we were so much better in the 2nd half, unlucky not to score another couple
First half was awful. Pressed in by StJ and an inability to play through. We need to start creating a style of play.
14-09-2024, 06:19 PM
First half was awful. Pressed in by StJ and an inability to play through. We need to start creating a style of play.
In your opinion, I didn't think it was awful
Saint Hibee
14-09-2024, 06:19 PM
Youan wasn’t great, but contributed significantly more than Nicky Cadden . But I guess that doesn’t fit your narrative about Youan “not caring “.
14-09-2024, 06:20 PM
Youan wasn’t great, but contributed significantly more than Nicky Camden. But I guess that doesn’t fit your narrative about Youan “not caring “.
youan was terrible
14-09-2024, 06:22 PM
Youan wasn’t great, but contributed significantly more than Nicky Cadden . But I guess that doesn’t fit your narrative about Youan “not caring “.
Absolutely agree with you. Was surprised to see Nicky come out for the second half, but thought he did a bit better in the second half.
Probably managing the minutes of Youan and Hoilett you'd Imagine
14-09-2024, 06:24 PM
youan was terrible
He really wasn't terrible. Just back from injury and his first competitive league game of the season.
Folk need to give players a chance. Not just going to immediately click into top gear again.
Youan was decent and was taking the right option more often than not. Also made about 27 good runs in behind the defence and we didn't try to find him once. Kyogo gets lauded for it at Celtic, difference is they actually play him in.
Paul1642
14-09-2024, 06:25 PM
youan was terrible
He wasn’t terrible. He was about on par with most of the team for the first half.
14-09-2024, 06:26 PM
He wasn’t terrible. He was about on par with most of the team for the first half.
He was rotten. Didn’t keep the ball once when he had it
14-09-2024, 06:27 PM
He really wasn't terrible. Just back from injury and his first competitive league game of the season.
Folk need to give players a chance. Not just going to immediately click into top gear again.
Youan was decent and was taking the right option more often than not. Also made about 27 good runs in behind the defence and we didn't try to find him once. Kyogo gets lauded for it at Celtic, difference is they actually play him in.
He contributed hee haw, he was easily the poorest player on the park in the 1st half and rightly subbed off
14-09-2024, 06:28 PM
He was easily worse than the rest of them, hence why he was subbed off
Saint Hibee
14-09-2024, 06:36 PM
That’s simply not true. N. Cadden was worse for starters.
14-09-2024, 06:40 PM
Not my agenda. Gray hooked him for a reason and we were miles better after it.
14-09-2024, 06:41 PM
Nice to come on here and have a read after a win.
You bunch of torn faced, miserable, argumentative,thin skinned ********s.
14-09-2024, 06:41 PM
Correct, finds both full backs and the keeper really well.
Yep. And the wingers, other midfielders and other defenders.
14-09-2024, 06:45 PM
Aye ok
Donegal Hibby
14-09-2024, 06:46 PM
I did notice he made a lot of good runs in behind the defence and we didn’t find him , that must have been very frustrating though at least he kept trying them , just back from injury so deserves to be cut some slack .
Hibs win while hertz losing again and are having a bit of a meltdown over the road.
Been a good day as far as I’m concerned :greengrin
14-09-2024, 06:47 PM
Clearly Youan isn’t fit but was given the first 45 as Saints we’re unlikely to do anything but play for time from the start.It’ll do him good. Playing both the Caddens along with Youan was a mistake I thought and in the first half there was no pace in the team at all.Still it all worked out in the end.
Hibees1973
14-09-2024, 06:49 PM
He really was terrible today. First game back though, so will cut him a wee bit slack.
However, what he contributed today was along the same lines as a lot of his performances. I find it difficult to see him fitting into a structured, well organised team which will be Gray's aim. The odd flash of brilliance which he can show at times is not enough.
14-09-2024, 06:50 PM
Couple of St Johnstone fans walking over Bothwell bridge not happy with Levein.
Get it up him. They were joining in with the Cheer up Craig Levein song in the Dunbar End
14-09-2024, 06:52 PM
He really was terrible today. First game back though, so will cut him a wee bit slack.
However, what he contributed today was along the same lines as a lot of his performances. I find it difficult to see him fitting into a structured, well organised team which will be Gray's aim. The odd flash of brilliance which he can show at times is not enough.
In what way was he terrible? I honestly just can't see how anyone would think that? He misplaced a pass or two, who didn't for us in that first half?
Was constantly looking for the ball and when he received it he was making the simple pass more often than not, something folk slaughtered him for not doing before.
Like I said above he made plenty good runs in behind their defence, we didn't even try to find him once. Actually that's a lie, we did once. Think Kwon played a ball over the top with just a bit too much on it and went through to their keeper.
14-09-2024, 06:52 PM
Clearly Youan isn’t fit but was given the first 45 as Saints we’re unlikely to do anything but play for time from the start.It’ll do him good. Playing both the Caddens along with Youan was a mistake I thought and in the first half there was no pace in the team at all.Still it all worked out in the end.
I wouldn't have started youan, he should probably have came on when hoilett came on(or a wee bit later), fingers crossed he gets going against the rangers
cubehindthegoal
14-09-2024, 07:19 PM
If you’re happy with this hibs team….your part of the problem.
First chance to see or read or do anything beyond what I had to do today due to other commitments .. catching up by reading this like a live don’t no the score thing deliberately … so far still holding back finding out the result, which was my aim once I realised wouldn’t be free til now, tho not easy lol … but i’ll persevere …
.. but quite enlightening seeing from this perspective how people can be so positive, negative, and somewhere in between … and also criticise spelling then misspelling themselves … “your” … seems very indicative of this place sometimes .. anyway … come on the Hibees !!!
And I am so tempted to go to the end of the thread … or check out elsewhere on my phone .. but I won’t .. probably … funny knowing everyone else knows … please please Hibs don’t make me feel crap at the end of this by losing 🥹
Stuarty1875
14-09-2024, 07:21 PM
Thought Kwon was excellent today. Class every time he was on the ball. My MOTM.
14-09-2024, 07:22 PM
Nicky caddens free kick led to the opening goal.
That's far more than youan contributes. He was dug meat the day.
14-09-2024, 07:23 PM
Kwon looks a cracking player it has to be said. Not even up to speed yet.
14-09-2024, 07:24 PM
Best player IMO. Will get better the more he plays as well.
14-09-2024, 07:27 PM
Nicky caddens free kick led to the opening goal.
That's far more than youan contributes. He was dug meat the day.
Cadden had a couple of efforts, put in a couple of crosses and put in a bit of effort. I don’t think he looks great but Youan did nothing today and looked disinterested.
14-09-2024, 07:32 PM
Cadden had a couple of efforts, put in a couple of crosses and put in a bit of effort. I don’t think he looks great but Youan did nothing today and looked disinterested.
He absolutely in no way looked disinterested, that's just nonsense.
DL1960
14-09-2024, 07:33 PM
Youan was poor again today, a non contributor in the first half.
Thankfully he was subbed at half time and hopefully he gets a lot less game time until his attitude / effort improves.
14-09-2024, 07:35 PM
I genuinely didn’t see the disinterested thing in Youan. He looked rusty, had a poor game, nothing came off for him and we improved when he was replaced. He just looked like a good player does when he’s having a howler.
His attitude was fine though. He has games like that. With Youan, you never really know when it’s going to be a stinker or he’s going to be on fire.
I’ve certainly got no issues with him being in the squad - and it wouldn’t surprise me in the least if, over the coming weeks, he was the player to come off the bench and make a difference for us.
14-09-2024, 07:35 PM
Youan was poor again today, a non contributor in the first half.
Thankfully he was subbed at half time and hopefully he gets a lot less game time until his attitude / effort improves.
Was really disappointed with Elie, thought he would have had a point to prove. Just seemed off
cubehindthegoal
14-09-2024, 07:37 PM
Aye strange that. We’ve always been told it’ll take at least 3/4 windows.
Nonsense
Experienced manager and a clear recruitment plan can see you 3rd in this league within a season
… like Hearts last season were third … how are they doing now ? So, was Naismith a good manager last season; and not now. It’s not so straightforward.
And now I sooo want to check scores as I guess I’ll feel daft if Hearts won .. but this is fun, tho .. and if they did I won’t feel daft, just sick … don’t think I’m gonna last much longer not checking how we did though … this isn’t easy 😂
mcohibs
14-09-2024, 07:38 PM
Absolutely should have been MOTM. He will be a pivotal player for us this season if last few games are anything to go by.
14-09-2024, 07:40 PM
Best player IMO. Will get better the more he plays as well.
Agree, had him as my MOTM today. Such a good player. Genuinely gutted we don't have an option to buy.
14-09-2024, 07:45 PM
He absolutely in no way looked disinterested, that's just nonsense.
Oh he really did. Not the slightest effort. I’d so much liked to have seen him have a good game but he just couldn’t be bothered. Our whole game changed second half when he went off. Really sad because he is a serious talent but not for us it seems.
cubehindthegoal
14-09-2024, 07:45 PM
Yesssss!!!!!! 😄😂🤣
Couldn’t do it. Well done however we won it !! And … hang on … hearts lost too! lol
Roll on our next match when I can be there when it happens … this was no easy, couldn’t do it lol ! But good in the end😁
14-09-2024, 07:49 PM
Oh he really did. Not the slightest effort. I’d so much liked to have seen him have a good game but he just couldn’t be bothered. Our whole game changed second half when he went off. Really sad because he is a serious talent but not for us it seems.
I think the whole game changed because we scored just before half time, not because Elie went off.
Second half we started playing in their half and to feet, we seemed to have some form of plan.
The first have all the play was in our half with Elie in a defensive position.
He wasn’t great no, but I honestly don’t think he was worse than anyone else
cubehindthegoal
14-09-2024, 07:51 PM
Was really disappointed with Elie, thought he would have had a point to prove. Just seemed off
Sad to hear that … but maybe a run as a bench player might help him find it … to be honest, when Bowie is also available again, and also Gayle, Elie will need to push to get near the team. Boyle will find that too. Not a bad thing for us … and not a bad start to getting going again this, I think, before next summers big clear out and more new players in. Could be much worse, I feel positive about us at the mo.
Donegal Hibby
14-09-2024, 07:52 PM
Disagree with that , he was making runs in behind their defence , backtracking etc . I said at halftime we should replace him as he looked rusty . I think we really should cut him some slack as he’s only back after his injury .
Bonus was giving him some game time which will help him get up to speed.
Short Skysports highlights here ….
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/13215008/hibernian-2-0-st-johnstone-scottish-premiership-highlights
TrinityHFC
I think the whole game changed because we scored just before half time, not because Elie went off.
Second half we started playing in their half and to feet, we seemed to have some form of plan.
Agree. Just lazy nonsense suggesting Youan doesn’t care or doesn’t try. He looked rusty but he’s had 45 mins which should help him.
He was awful. If he’d been sent off nobody would have noticed.
HIBS NUTS
14-09-2024, 07:53 PM
Your right Youan was absolutely awful, not only was he ineffectual attacking, he was leaving a massive gap behind him, for the right wing back in the first half, had 20 yards of space to run into every time.
Think he’s very talented, but he needed taken off, gray kept telling him to track back in the first half, but to no avail.
Delighted hibs won .
14-09-2024, 07:53 PM
Thought he was average at best 1st half, not the player I recalled when at Celtic. But transformed in the 2nd 45, able to spot passes, played with freedom and confidence. Class above and my MOTM.
14-09-2024, 07:54 PM
He was awful. If he’d been sent off nobody would have noticed.
Again, in the first half you could have said this about anyone.
14-09-2024, 07:55 PM
Biggest mistake with the starting lineup was playing Youan on the right and N Cadden on the left. Nicky’s best work was done on the right early in the second half.
14-09-2024, 07:55 PM
I genuinely didn’t see the disinterested thing in Youan. He looked rusty, had a poor game, nothing came off for him and we improved when he was replaced. He just looked like a good player does when he’s having a howler.
His attitude was fine though. He has games like that. With Youan, you never really know when it’s going to be a stinker or he’s going to be on fire.
I’ve certainly got no issues with him being in the squad - and it wouldn’t surprise me in the least if, over the coming weeks, he was the player to come off the bench and make a difference for us.
I thought he just wandered about and never really got above jogging pace whether running forward or back the way.
I also don’t mind Youan being in the squad, I think he’s perfectly capable of making a contribution. Thought he was a waste of a jersey today though and not just through being off the pace or whatever.
TrinityHFC
14-09-2024, 07:56 PM
Thought he was average at best 1st half, not the player I recalled when at Celtic. But transformed in the 2nd 45, able to spot passes, played with freedom and confidence. Class above and my MOTM.
Don’t think he’s ever played for Celtic.
14-09-2024, 07:59 PM
Don’t think he’s ever played for Celtic.
He hasnt
Donegal Hibby
14-09-2024, 07:59 PM
I didn’t realise a section of the saints fans were chanting “ we want you to go Craig Levein .
David Gray post match …
https://youtu.be/A97kPghFouY?si=seP1VZRSo4GDRYL8
raeburnhibs
14-09-2024, 08:00 PM
Did he even play for Celtic? Don't think so, so what you talking about. Agree he is a player though
HIBS NUTS
14-09-2024, 08:07 PM
I didn’t realise a section of the saints fans were chanting “ we want you to go Craig Levein .
David Gray post match …
https://youtu.be/A97kPghFouY?si=seP1VZRSo4GDRYL8
Absolutely no bull****, says it as it is, a big improvement from some of the previous incumbents in the job.
Yuoan has a lot more to give than we saw today.
Here's hoping we see it between now & Jan
We were 20% better with him off the field
It's a team game & he's not a team player
I thought he just wandered about and never really got above jogging pace whether running forward or back the way.
I also don’t mind Youan being in the squad, I think he’s perfectly capable of making a contribution. Thought he was a waste of a jersey today though and not just through being off the pace or whatever.
Sorry to quote you again, honestly not having a go! And I know I've said it a few times now but he honestly made so many runs today off the last defender and was through behind their defence, we just only tried to find him once.
To me, a player who isn't bothered or is disinterested doesn't bother making those runs.
LunasBoots
14-09-2024, 08:12 PM
Youan is just back from injury, he had a run out, which was probably needed to get him some needed fitness.
cubehindthegoal
14-09-2024, 08:36 PM
Yuoan has a lot more to give than we saw today.
Here's hoping we see it between now & Jan
We were 20% better with him off the field
It's a team game & he's not a team player
He’ll probably thrive when he leaves us and plays in mainland Europe again … I don’t see it happening for us with him and vice versa … contrast him with Bowie … we should be trying to get more good young Scottish players in … u21s .. and tbf it seems we have been …not just that solely, but more of it is what I mean … some overseas players don’t fit here, for us or them, and it’s the same in other clubs … but there are more young Scottish players now hitting the mark I think … and we need to get in amongst that, as a club who can help them and vice versa … they’re not hidden from us, you know … but they will be in other clubs too, not just our own youths … I’m happy we seem to have started to see that now … is that maybe because of who we have now employed in recruitment and such roles, I wonder ? Hope so, and it keeps getting better on that front.
mcohibs
14-09-2024, 08:37 PM
😂😂 Joe Newell was not missed and won’t get back in the team over Triantis and Kwon.
Good result today and some really promising performances, especially in the midfield.
14-09-2024, 08:40 PM
😂😂 Joe Newell was not missed and won’t get back in the team over Triantis and Kwon.
Good result today and some really promising performances, especially in the midfield.
It's almost a certainty that when fit newell will start
14-09-2024, 08:42 PM
Sorry to quote you again, honestly not having a go! And I know I've said it a few times now but he honestly made so many runs today off the last defender and was through behind their defence, we just only tried to find him once.
To me, a player who isn't bothered or is disinterested doesn't bother making those runs.
He wasn’t alone in the first half but I just thought there was a total lack of intensity in his play.
14-09-2024, 08:53 PM
Joe will be playing with Kwon and Triantis. He’s not competing with them for a place.
TrinityHFC
14-09-2024, 08:59 PM
Joe will be playing with Kwon and Triantis. He’s not competing with them for a place.
Agree. Did think we missed him and he will be straight back in when he’s available.
mcohibs
14-09-2024, 09:11 PM
He’s competing with the rest of the squad on places, as every player should be.
The two aforementioned have offered a lot more in the holding midfield role than Newell has shown recently. On current form, he shouldn’t be in our starting lineup IMO.
14-09-2024, 09:19 PM
He’s competing with the rest of the squad on places, as every player should be.
The two aforementioned have offered a lot more in the holding midfield role than Newell has shown recently. On current form, he shouldn’t be in our starting lineup IMO.
Joe Newell isn’t a holding midfielder. We play with a three in midfield now - in case you didn’t notice.
mcohibs
14-09-2024, 09:31 PM
Joe Newell isn’t a holding midfielder. We play with a three in midfield now - in case you didn’t notice.
4 out of our 5 league games this season we’ve played with two sitting. The same formation we played today.
14-09-2024, 09:45 PM
It takes a lot to astonish me but I'm amazed at the comments about Youan. How do people not realise that he was being given a 45 minute fitness run out today? As was proved we now have a big enough group that we can do this and still win easily against a team like St. Johnstone.
14-09-2024, 09:55 PM
It takes a lot to astonish me but I'm amazed at the comments about Youan. How do people not realise that he was being given a 45 minute fitness run out today? As was proved we now have a big enough group that we can do this and still win easily against a team like St. Johnstone.
I think the comments re Youan have some validity based on what we know he can deliver, I was glad to see he was subbed at HT, he didnt do anything really to warrant another 45 mins, although the same could be said of the Cadden brothers….
14-09-2024, 09:57 PM
I think the comments re Youan have some validity based on what we know he can deliver, I was glad to see he was subbed at HT, he didnt do anything really to warrant another 45 mins, although the same could be said of the Cadden brothers….
It was a training run out-he's nowhere near match fit.
14-09-2024, 10:02 PM
It was a training run out-he's nowhere near match fit.
Not sure you can have a “ training runout “ in this league……..
14-09-2024, 10:03 PM
4 out of our 5 league games this season we’ve played with two sitting. The same formation we played today.
Not sure what your point is and what its got to do with Joe Newell.
Donegal Hibby
14-09-2024, 10:05 PM
I don’t think Gray would have given him another 45 minutes even if he had contributed . It was all about giving him some game time without over doing it on a player returning from injury . He also done the same with Hoilett . Good management of players from Gray imo .
14-09-2024, 10:10 PM
Completely agree, we miss Newell, hopefully he is fit for our next game
14-09-2024, 10:13 PM
I don’t think Gray would have given him another 45 minutes even if he had contributed . It was all about giving him some game time without over doing it on a player returning from injury . He also done the same with Hoilett . Good management of players from Gray imo .
Can’t disagree, but the time to give players a “ training runout “ is once the game is put to bed, not when your trying to establish a commanding lead