View Full Version : Martin Boyle

Pages : 1 [2]

05-01-2025, 03:17 PM
TBH, I was a bit disappointed he didn't get a hat-trick.

05-01-2025, 03:53 PM
I totally disagreed with the comments about him being finished earlier in the season. He’s not going to play like he played today every week but he’s never been finished. There is a fair bit of middle ground between that and not doing what he’s capable week in, week out.

Absolutely spot on.

:agree::agree:

05-01-2025, 03:57 PM
Thought the hat trick was on, he ran himself into the ground, end of the game looked like he was done, great performance.

HIBS NUTS
05-01-2025, 03:58 PM
He was absolutely brilliant today.

05-01-2025, 04:02 PM
Proper captains performance

05-01-2025, 04:03 PM

Agreed. I’d be tempted to leave him as captain and allow Newell to play his game

05-01-2025, 04:03 PM

Big time.

You could tell before kick-off how up for it he was. He went over to Miller and gave him a wee push and made a signal to just hit Boyle early.

****ing delighted for him, I really am. Love the wee man. Ran himself into the ground and if that wee curler went in at the end it would've been bedlam.

05-01-2025, 05:51 PM
Brilliant performance today. Run his socks off and caused them all sorts of bother. THATS the Boyle of old. When he’s on his game he’s an absolute nightmare for defenders.

05-01-2025, 05:52 PM
TBH, I was a bit disappointed he didn't get a hat-trick.

You could see how much he wanted it. That curling shot at the end was so close.

05-01-2025, 05:53 PM
Last month he’s been excellent. Has to keep it going to earn a 1 year extension.

Hillsidehibby
05-01-2025, 05:55 PM
That’s the Boyler I thought I’d seen the last of

05-01-2025, 06:54 PM
I know he’s been quiet for periods, and some of them were in the League Cup, but he’s still sitting with 8 goals and 7 assists in 25 appearances this season. He’ll be well in to double figures for each by the end of the season which will be a good return.

It’s the attacking side of the team finding form that has really been behind the improvement for me. We’re still really poor defensively but I always thought on the attacking side we were underperforming rather than just being pish.

05-01-2025, 09:19 PM
Someone hit the nail on the head on another thread about us stopping “incremental improvement” circa post Jack. We’ve regressed and the final third along with Boyle has suffered. Let’s get back on an even keel.

05-01-2025, 10:43 PM
Good to see him back on form. Likes a goal against the Huns. That's the way to stick(er) it to them.

Stokesy's on fire
06-01-2025, 08:16 AM
Perhaps time to discuss a new deal if the current deal is expiring?

06-01-2025, 08:19 AM

I thought we had an option on his current contract for one additional year ?

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 08:24 AM

Yup. I’d have absolutely no problem with Boyle getting another year.

61 games, 19 goals and 9 assists in the last season and a half whilst people have been claiming he’s finished. Until that sort of output starts reducing then we’ll be doing well to improve on him. Same goes for Youan.

He’s got double the goals of anyone else in our squad this season and a good chunk more assists than anyone else as well. Some of the chat surrounding him is mental.

Stokesy's on fire
06-01-2025, 08:25 AM

I have no idea but I hope so.

The Sundance Kid
06-01-2025, 08:26 AM

We do indeed!

For all he’s had a bit of an indifferent season by his own standards, his attacking output numbers are still pretty impressive.

He’s our top scorer with 8 goals in all competitions (next is Kukharevych, Gayle and Nicky Cadden all with 4) and has the most assists in the team this season with 7 in all comps (next are Obita and Campbell with 5).

06-01-2025, 08:29 AM
I have no idea but I hope so.

Just found the BBC Sport article when he rejoined and it definitely says there is an option of another year.

Stokesy's on fire
06-01-2025, 08:35 AM
Just found the BBC Sport article when he rejoined and it definitely says there is an option of another year.

Well that's good news. Surely we take that option

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 08:38 AM
Well that's good news. Surely we take that option

If we’re losing Youan then we simply have to.

You can’t lose two of the most effective attacking players in the league over the last couple of seasons at the same time.

06-01-2025, 09:13 AM
I thought he was outstanding yesterday and gave a captain's performance, leading by example, looked like he was enjoying himself again out there.

06-01-2025, 09:18 AM
Absolutely immense, keep him as captain, that's what you need in a captain. Pity he didn't get the hat trick, game was there for the taking. Well done to Hibs although I was keeching it when Rocky lost the ball at the end. Big well done to Rocky tae.

Logie
06-01-2025, 09:40 AM
He was brilliant yesterday and looked to be knackered just before he skinned 2 players and I thought he was going to grab the winner. Not seen it back but seemed close at the game with Kelly like a statue in goals. Feels like Boyle getting back to his best it’s great to see he is such a threat when he performs like he did yesterday especially.

06-01-2025, 10:05 AM
He was brilliant yesterday and looked to be knackered just before he skinned 2 players and I thought he was going to grab the winner. Not seen it back but seemed close at the game with Kelly like a statue in goals. Feels like Boyle getting back to his best it’s great to see he is such a threat when he performs like he did yesterday especially.

Wasn’t as close as it looked at the game. Seen what he was trying to do though and was still unlucky that he never got the hook on it.

06-01-2025, 10:38 AM
If we’re losing Youan then we simply have to.

You can’t lose two of the most effective attacking players in the league over the last couple of seasons at the same time.

I think we should see how Boyle does for the rest of the season. For as good as he was yesterday and at Pittodrie there’s also games like Killie at home and St Johnston where he’s not great. 5 goals and 3 assists after 22 games isn’t the worst but not enough either.

He’s still a good player but now an on his day player. The issue is he’s likely on a talismans wage, which he isn’t anymore. If he was willing to drop his wages I’d keep him but if it’s another year on whatever he is on now I’d probably side towards wishing him well but using his wage differently.

06-01-2025, 10:48 AM
I think we should see how Boyle does for the rest of the season. For as good as he was yesterday and at Pittodrie there’s also games like Killie at home and St Johnston where he’s not great. 5 goals and 3 assists after 22 games isn’t the worst but not enough either.

He’s still a good player but now an on his day player. The issue is he’s likely on a talismans wage, which he isn’t anymore. If he was willing to drop his wages I’d keep him but if it’s another year on whatever he is on now I’d probably side towards wishing him well but using his wage differently.

TBF though the Killie and St Johnstone games saw much of them camped in their own half defending in numbers with limited space. Games like that have never suited Boyle over the years due to the nature of his game.

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 10:53 AM

He’s not great every week, if he was though then he’d have outgrown us and should be playing at a higher level. Maeda at Celtic isn’t great every week either. Earlier in the season he was being heavily criticised for some of his performances. If people are expecting attacking players to be great every week then they’ll never be anything other than disappointed.

He’s got 5 goals and 3 assists in 20 games and overall he’s got 8 goals and 7 assists in 25. Only 1 of them has been a penalty. His output is still very, very good.

Murphys Touch
06-01-2025, 11:01 AM
He’s not great every week, if he was though then he’d have outgrown us and should be playing at a higher level. Maeda at Celtic isn’t great every week either. Earlier in the season he was being heavily criticised for some of his performances. If people are expecting attacking players to be great every week then they’ll never be anything other than disappointed.

He’s got 5 goals and 3 assists in 20 games and overall he’s got 8 goals and 7 assists in 25. Only 1 of them has been a penalty. His output is still very, very good.
It's not VERY VERY good. It's ok and looks good in a very poor team. When you are top earner, 32 this year and have had a few serious injuries then can that money be used better elsewhere. Not someone who will be on the decline during the term of that contract.

He struggled to get into the team this year at times for one reason or another

He owes us nothing and we owe him nothing. A fantastic signing and player for Hibs...both personal and team success and a job well done. Go and enjoy Australia for a few years rather than take a pay cut here

06-01-2025, 11:02 AM
Be nuts to get rid of Boyle. I don’t understand the obsession with getting rid of our best and most committed performers. I wonder who those advocating his departure would replace him with?

06-01-2025, 11:09 AM
Be nuts to get rid of Boyle. I don’t understand the obsession with getting rid of our best and most committed performers. I wonder who those advocating his departure would replace him with?

Our best and most committed performers had us 8th last season and yet to get as high as the top 6 this season. We’ve not had any players that were impossible to replace since maybe Doig. Discussing if Boyle’s wage could be put to better overall use given there’s a natural parting of the ways available in the summer isn’t an unreasonable discussion IMO.

Murphys Touch
06-01-2025, 11:16 AM
Our best and most committed performers had us 8th last season and yet to get as high as the top 6 this season. We’ve not had any players that were impossible to replace since maybe Doig. Discussing if Boyle’s wage could be put to better overall use given there’s a natural parting of the ways available in the summer isn’t an unreasonable discussion IMO.
Agree 100%

Donegal Hibby
06-01-2025, 11:25 AM

If we had to pay a transfer fee for a player anywhere near the quality of Boyle it wouldn’t be cheap either . I think folk were probably writing him off a bit early considering he had an injury.. yesterday we seen what Boyle is capable off . Definitely need to keep him at the club IMO .

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 11:35 AM
It's not VERY VERY good. It's ok and looks good in a very poor team. When you are top earner, 32 this year and have had a few serious injuries then can that money be used better elsewhere. Not someone who will be on the decline during the term of that contract.

He owes us nothing and we owe him nothing. A fantastic signing and player for Hibs...both personal and team success and a job well done. Go and enjoy Australia for a few years rather than take a pay cut here

What sort of output would you deem very, very good? He’s played 66 games in the last season and a half, scoring 19 goals and 11 assists, a goal involvement every 2.2 games. If we look at similar players in our league over that period:

Youan - a goal involvement every 2.59 games
Maeda - a goal involvement every 2 games exactly
Armstrong - a goal involvement every 2.57 games
Alan Forrest - a goal involvement every 6.28 games
Vargas - a goal involvement every 5.2 games
Duk - a goal involvement every 5.9 games

If you deem the amount of goals and assists he gives to us nothing more than ok then all I can say is you’re going to be wildly disappointed with his replacement. Over the time he’s been here since coming back from the injury that some are insistent has finished him, only Maeda if if we look at similar players matches his output and that’s despite playing for a team who score more than double our goals each season and I think it’s safe to say he’s more than ok.

06-01-2025, 11:43 AM

You should listen to David Grays post match press conf yesterday, he went on at length about Boyle - how he was playing injured, how he got it sorted, how he had to keep him out the starting 11 til he was fit, and just how well he has bounced back.

The post from Paulie Walnuts above demonstrates his value to us re goal involvements.

We simply cant afford to go out and buy another Boyle.

Will he be this good all season? No
Will he still have a huge contribution to make to this club? Yes

And if we have the opportunity to pick up that one year option, we should jump at it - removing a couple of our hopeless cases in January would pay his salary...............

06-01-2025, 11:48 AM
Another years contract on the same wage would benefit us ,hopefully wants to hang his boots up whilst here

06-01-2025, 11:59 AM
The thing with Boyle is he isn't a youngster. He'll be 32 by the time this season comes to an end so we have to face up to the reality that we will have to replace him sooner rather than later.

I suppose it really comes down to what he is looking for at this stage of his career. A year or 2 to allow us to do a bit succession planning might well make sense for Hibs, if he wants the security of 3 years does that make sense? It's not a problem exclusive to Hibs; look at Liverpool and their negotiations with Salah. The player will still want top dollar and a decent contract length because his output is still good. The club have to think beyond the next year and weigh up how long it is before a 33 year old hits the down slope and is no longer performing at that level. The suggestion seems to be they have offered him a reduced wage with increased incentives, the player wants an increase to his basic to keep him as one of the highest earners and it's a stalemate.

The reality is we are going to have to find a way to replace Boyle in the short to medium term regardless of whether he signs a new deal or otherwise. Boyle was far from the finished article when we signed him so it's not impossible to believe we could unearth another gem. It seems that whenever a player looks like leaving the default belief is it will be a catastrophe when we try to replace them despite the fact we have been pretty rubbish for years now. With so much upheaval likely in the summer it probably makes sense to take up an option on another year if such a thing does indeed exist in his contract. If he wants significantly longer than that then we have a decision to make. It's not obsessively looking to offload players to acknowledge that such decisions aren't easy for either club or player. It really isn't as simple as 'Boyle has looked good in the last few weeks so give him whatever he wants'. That would be incredibly foolish.

chippy
06-01-2025, 11:59 AM
Another years contract on the same wage would benefit us ,hopefully wants to hang his boots up whilst here

He’ll be due a testimonial soon

Murphys Touch
06-01-2025, 12:50 PM
You should listen to David Grays post match press conf yesterday, he went on at length about Boyle - how he was playing injured, how he got it sorted, how he had to keep him out the starting 11 til he was fit, and just how well he has bounced back.

The post from Paulie Walnuts above demonstrates his value to us re goal involvements.

We simply cant afford to go out and buy another Boyle.

Will he be this good all season? No
Will he still have a huge contribution to make to this club? Yes

And if we have the opportunity to pick up that one year option, we should jump at it - removing a couple of our hopeless cases in January would pay his salary...............
He will have 2/3 year options in Oz - do you think that is something we should be offering on those wages at 32 year old.

Already having to keep out to get fit...that only increases as age. As PB says above, Liverpool are doing EXACTLY the same with arguably the best player in their recent history. Yet we are mugs for suggesting it with Boyle....

i am not doubting his impact, or his stats. I am doubting if a club like Hibs should be paying the reported 7-10k a week on a 32 year old who WILL decline (as almost every player does) and will need replaced or managed.

The stats (very selective) above show Boyle to be important player in a team that has been been murder. This isn't a witch hunt, but my god do we let the the wool cover our eyes after a few better performances. Injury or not.

"Replacing Boyle will cost money!!!" No it won't, we didn't pay for Boyle in the first place. Why can't that happen again.

Murphys Touch
06-01-2025, 12:54 PM
What sort of output would you deem very, very good? He’s played 66 games in the last season and a half, scoring 19 goals and 11 assists, a goal involvement every 2.2 games. If we look at similar players in our league over that period:

Youan - a goal involvement every 2.59 games
Maeda - a goal involvement every 2 games exactly
Armstrong - a goal involvement every 2.57 games
Alan Forrest - a goal involvement every 6.28 games
Vargas - a goal involvement every 5.2 games
Duk - a goal involvement every 5.9 games

If you deem the amount of goals and assists he gives to us nothing more than ok then all I can say is you’re going to be wildly disappointed with his replacement. Over the time he’s been here since coming back from the injury that some are insistent has finished him, only Maeda if if we look at similar players matches his output and that’s despite playing for a team who score more than double our goals each season and I think it’s safe to say he’s more than ok.
Who is his replacement?

SickBoy32
06-01-2025, 12:57 PM
He will have 2/3 year options in Oz - do you think that is something we should be offering on those wages at 32 year old.

Those options in the Ozzy pub league will still be there for him in summer 26.

Don’t think it’s outrageous to think Boyle will accept reduced terms (these will still be higher than his potential earnings in Oz I’d imagine) from his current bumper paycheck, and give another years service to the club.

He has a brilliant relationship with Gray too. Definite keep for me 👍

Murphys Touch
06-01-2025, 01:01 PM
Those options in the Ozzy pub league will still be there for him in summer 26.

Don’t think it’s outrageous to think Boyle will accept reduced terms (these will still be higher than his potential earnings in Oz I’d imagine) from his current bumper paycheck, and give another years service to the club.

He has a brilliant relationship with Gray too. Definite keep for me ��
That's different though and a few If/Buts

Reduced terms for 1 year - why not, i never said get rid or he's past it.

As our oldest player (not Gayle) should he be our top earner when he will decline (unless he bucks the trend of 99.9% of footballers). The club need to balance that against what Hibs will look like in 2/3/4 years time.

It's a job for these guys and wave a 2/3 year deal in front of a 32 year old is guaranteed money - on similar or less money. We are asking hm to take a cut on 1 year. Would you?

Again...look at the Salah situation. This Boyle is irreplacable is nonsense. Reduced wages, 1 year....absolutely.

Asking Boyle to take a hit which he has absolutely no obligation to do. Regardless of relationship with Gray - which matters not a jot

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 01:10 PM
Who is his replacement?

I’ve no idea who his replacement would be. I can say with a degree of certainty they won’t offer more than Martin Boyle though, given that no club in our league, including ourselves, has managed to sign a wide man in recent years that’s offered more other than Maeda who is worth more than our whole squad put together.

Murphys Touch
06-01-2025, 01:11 PM
I’ve no idea who his replacement would be. I can say with a degree of certainty they won’t offer more than Martin Boyle though, given that no club in our league, including ourselves, has managed to sign a wide man in recent years that’s offered more.
But we signed Boyle 10 years ago? Can't we do that again? Asking for a friend. Nicky Cadden doing alright in last few months and he cost us nothing

(No one in our league is signing a 32 year old winger on £7-10k a week either. I'm not saying get rid, I am saying the club should not be grateful he is here and sign him on current terms for 2/3 years. Anything else is on Boyle to agree to and fair enough)

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 01:15 PM
But we signed Boyle 10 years ago? Can't we do that again? Asking for a friend

(No one in our league is signing a 32 year old winger on &-10k a week either. I'm not saying get rid, I am saying the club should not be grateful he is here and sign him on current terms for 2/3 years. Anything else is on Boyle to agree to and fair enough)

I think you’ve made my point for me. We signed him 10 years ago and we haven’t signed a winger that’s proven to be better since. He also took about 3 or 4 years to become the Boyle he is now, we didn’t sign him with this level of ability.

I don’t think we need to worry about Hibs offering him 2 or 3 years on circa 10k a week at 32 years old. That’s never happening. If he gets an extension it’ll almost certainly be 1 year imo and if it’s as one of our higher earners, that’ll be fair enough. He’s still contributing more than enough to warrant it.

06-01-2025, 01:16 PM
Was not fussed a month ago, but with current form we’d be silly to not keep him on for at least a further year

Playing though the middle he still has the acceleration to scare most centre half’s.

We can do so so so much worse. Boyle scoring and assisting goals, it’s a yes from me

Murphys Touch
06-01-2025, 01:21 PM
I think you’ve made my point for me. We signed him 10 years ago and we haven’t signed a winger that’s proven to be better since. He also took about 3 or 4 years to become the Boyle he is now, we didn’t sign him with this level of ability.

I don’t think we need to worry about Hibs offering him 2 or 3 years on circa 10k a week at 32 years old. That’s never happening. If he gets an extension it’ll almost certainly be 1 year imo and if it’s as one of our higher earners, that’ll be fair enough. He’s still contributing more than enough to warrant it.
So signed 10 years ago - 4 years to become Boyle, 6 months in Saudi and around 18 months injured....and there are no others out there that can come close to his impact in world football that we ​could​

I agree - 1 year contract on reduced terms. I never once said that. But asking a lot of Boyle and Hibs if we want to use that money elsewhere. Hope he stays, but as the post above stats....he was dividing opinion 4 weeks ago. For a reason

06-01-2025, 01:33 PM
I’ve no idea who his replacement would be. I can say with a degree of certainty they won’t offer more than Martin Boyle though, given that no club in our league, including ourselves, has managed to sign a wide man in recent years that’s offered more other than Maeda who is worth more than our whole squad put together.

We aren't ever going to replace him with better than he was at his peak though and that would be true whether he goes this summer, next or the one after that. If we are waiting to replace him with better than he was at his very best then we may as well just give him a 10 year deal now and be done with it.

The decision for Hibs isn't can we get better than prime Martin Boyle, the answer is no. The decision is can we get better than the player Martin Boyle will be in 6, 12 or 18 months time. Boyle now isn't what he was at 28 and he won't be what he is now in a years time. It's not some no brainer decision for Hibs. With a finite budget and a lot of areas to be addressed we have to manage things carefully and make some tough and potentially unpopular decisions.

It seems after a few wins everyone is back in vogue and we should just be handing out contracts left, right and centre. I hope to **** Gray, Mackay, Stewart et al are being far more calculated in their decision making.

Murphys Touch
06-01-2025, 01:35 PM
We aren't ever going to replace him with better than he was at his peak though and that would be true whether he goes this summer, next or the one after that. If we are waiting to replace him with better than he was at his very best then we may as well just give him a 10 year deal now and be done with it.

The decision for Hibs isn't can we get better than prime Martin Boyle, the answer is no. The decision is can we get better than the player Martin Boyle will be in 6, 12 or 18 months time. Boyle now isn't what he was at 28 and he won't be what he is now in a years time. It's not some no brainer decision for Hibs. With a finite budget and a lot of areas to be addressed we have to manage things carefully and make some tough and potentially unpopular decisions.

It seems after a few wins everyone is back in vogue and we should just be handing out contracts left, right and centre. I hope to **** Gray, Mackay, Stewart et al are being far more calculated in their decision making.
Thank you!

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 01:36 PM
So signed 10 years ago - 4 years to become Boyle, 6 months in Saudi and around 18 months injured....and there are no others out there that can come close to his impact in world football that we ​could​

I agree - 1 year contract on reduced terms. I never once said that. But asking a lot of Boyle and Hibs if we want to use that money elsewhere. Hope he stays, but as the post above stats....he was dividing opinion 4 weeks ago. For a reason

Literally no team in our league outwith the Old Firm has come close to signing or producing a winger who’s had the level of output that Boyle is still producing now, in the last decade. The last player in that sort of position to do so was probably Skacel at Hearts and signing guys like him lead them to administration.

If you want to believe we’ll buck that trend and go out and sign someone who’s going to come in and contribute as much as Boyle does then fair enough. The evidence tells us that’s almost definitely not going to happen though.

He was dividing opinion four weeks ago and the discussion we’re having just now shows he’s still dividing opinion. There’s not many players don’t though. If you look past opinion though and look at the numbers and compare them to his peers it’s absolutely unarguable that his output is still excellent. Letting him go at the same time we’re presumably letting Youan go, who also has a very good output, would be absolute madness imo.

06-01-2025, 01:56 PM

Interesting discussion and I think you hit then nail on the head. If Boyle is to stay at Hibs for another season then it would be at a reduced wage, albeit a decent one. If he wants to go to Oz then he will decline the offer and go.

I agree with you in that what he offers will be hard to replace and the stats are a good indicator of how he compares to other players across a range of clubs in our league. That is a valid indicator in my book and anyone disagreeing should perhaps show how they measure his contribution?

Either way, Martin Boyle contribution compares favourably with any winger in my 55 years of watching Hibs. He's been an excellent player for us.

Reading some of the posts much earlier in this thread, predictable and horrific contributions from some.

Murphys Touch
06-01-2025, 02:13 PM
Literally no team in our league outwith the Old Firm has come close to signing or producing a winger who’s had the level of output that Boyle is still producing now, in the last decade. The last player in that sort of position to do so was probably Skacel at Hearts and signing guys like him lead them to administration.

If you want to believe we’ll buck that trend and go out and sign someone who’s going to come in and contribute as much as Boyle does then fair enough. The evidence tells us that’s almost definitely not going to happen though.

He was dividing opinion four weeks ago and the discussion we’re having just now shows he’s still dividing opinion. There’s not many players don’t though. If you look past opinion though and look at the numbers and compare them to his peers it’s absolutely unarguable that his output is still excellent. Letting him go at the same time we’re letting Youan, who also has a very good output, would be absolute madness imo.

This is about the player Boyle is going to be in 6/12/18 months time though...not peak Boyle. And as you top earner - playing centre forward now, not as a winger as you keep suggesting. He's even been dropped for Australia as their winger!

Listen, I am saying keep him on a reduced wage for a year. I am also saying it is not mental to suggest Hibs are thinking very carefully about this (as will boyle. He has a wife, young family to think about and not getting 2/3 year contract is important)

On your other point - who can we possibly attract that can better Boyle's output. Can you honestly say we can't sign any player LIKE these non OF league goalscorers, all under 30. I'll do everyone on the list above Boyle according to Transfermarkt.co.uk

23/24 - Boyle 5 league goals in 31 league games
Shankland - 24 goals
Murray - 16 goals
Miovski - 16 goals
Bair - 15 goals
McCowan - 10 goals (not £1m McCowan, this was pre that)
Maolida - 10 goals (oh look, we can)
Spittal - 9 goals
Watkins - 9 goals
Vassell 9 goals
McGrath - 9 goals
Mandron - 8 goals
Clark - 7 goals
Anderson - 7 goals
Armstrong - 6 goals
Bakayoko - 6 goals
Biereth - 6 goals
White - 6 goals
Olusanya - 6 goals
Vargas - 6 goals
O'Hara - 6 goals
Youan - 6 goals (oh look, we can)
Boyle - 5 goals

22/23 - Boyle 5 league goals in 12 league games (fair do's but Myko got 5 in 14 too)
Van Veen - 25 goals
Shankland - 24 goals
Duk - 16 goals
Miovski - 16 goals
Ginnelly - 12 goals
Nisbet - 12 goals
White - 11 goals
O'Hara - 10 goals
Armstrong - 9 goals
May - 9 goals
Youan - 9 goals (but we can't sign players like this)
Main - 9 goals
Fletcher- 9 goals
Campbell - 8 goals
McGrath - 8 goals
Nouble - 7 goals
Wright - 7 goals
Spittal - 6 players
Anderson - 6 goals
L Clarkson - 6 goals
Kelly - 5 goals

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 02:19 PM
This is about the player Boyle is going to be in 6/12/18 months time though...not peak Boyle. And as you top earner - playing centre forward now, not as a winger as you keep suggesting. He's even been dropped for Australia as their winger!

Listen, I am saying keep him on a reduced wage for a year. I am also saying it is not mental to suggest Hibs are thinking very carefully about this (as will boyle. He has a wife, young family to think about and not getting 2/3 year contract is important)

On your other point - who can we possibly attract that can better Boyle's output. Can you honestly say we can't sign any player LIKE these non OF league goalscorers, all under 30. I'll do everyone on the list above Boyle according to Transfermarkt.co.uk

23/24 - Boyle 5 league goals in 31 league games
Shankland - 24 goals
Murray - 16 goals
Miovski - 16 goals
Bair - 15 goals
McCowan - 10 goals (not £1m McCowan, this was pre that)
Maolida - 10 goals (oh look, we can)
Spittal - 9 goals
Watkins - 9 goals
Vassell 9 goals
McGrath - 9 goals
Mandron - 8 goals
Clark - 7 goals
Anderson - 7 goals
Armstrong - 6 goals
Bakayoko - 6 goals
Biereth - 6 goals
White - 6 goals
Olusanya - 6 goals
Vargas - 6 goals
O'Hara - 6 goals
Youan - 6 goals (oh look, we can)
Boyle - 5 goals

22/23 - Boyle 5 league goals in 12 league games (fair do's but Myko got 5 in 14 too)
Van Veen - 25 goals
Shankland - 24 goals
Duk - 16 goals
Miovski - 16 goals
Ginnelly - 12 goals
Nisbet - 12 goals
White - 11 goals
O'Hara - 10 goals
Armstrong - 9 goals
May - 9 goals
Youan - 9 goals (but we can't sign players like this)
Main - 9 goals
Fletcher- 9 goals
Campbell - 8 goals
McGrath - 8 goals
Nouble - 7 goals
Wright - 7 goals
Spittal - 6 players
Anderson - 6 goals
L Clarkson - 6 goals
Kelly - 5 goals

I’m not comparing peak Boyle. I’ve used the last season and a half for this discussion because it’s regularly claimed that his injury that he came back from a year and a half ago finished him.

There’s no point in comparing guys like Van Veen, Shankland or Miovski as they don’t play the same role as Boyle. Boyle also offers assists, he’s not just a goalscorer, so if you’re looking for a Boyle replacement, you’re looking for someone who’s offering assists and goals, not a Kevin Van Veen, Shankland or Miovski.

We could absolutely go out and sign someone who may score more goals than Martin Boyle in a season. They almost certainly won’t play the same role as Boyle is playing though and they wont get nearly as many assists either.

Murphys Touch
06-01-2025, 02:26 PM
There’s no point in comparing guys like Van Veen, Shankland or Miovski as they don’t play the same role as Boyle. Boyle also offers assists, he’s not just a goalscorer, so if you’re looking for a Boyle replacement, you’re looking for someone who’s offering assists and goals, not a Kevin Van Veen or Miovski.

We could absolutely go out and sign someone who may score more goals than Martin Boyle in a season. They almost certainly won’t play the same role as Boyle is playing though and they wont get nearly as many assists either.
But you are comparing peak winger Boyle....not centre forward Boyle at 32/33/34? Which is where the turn of form has come from.....not right winger Boyle.

Like I said several times....wage cut, 1 year and a less of a role to keep him sharp...then fine. Great player for us, great servant. He aint Peter Pan and we can and will replace him

Paulie Walnuts
06-01-2025, 02:30 PM
But you are comparing peak winger Boyle....not centre forward Boyle at 32/33/34? Which is where the turn of form has come from.....not right winger Boyle.

Like I said several times....wage cut, 1 year and a less of a role to keep him sharp...then fine. Great player for us, great servant. He aint Peter Pan and we can and will replace him

Boyle has played out wide in masses more games over the last season and a half than he’s played centre forward. His form has remained relatively consistent over the last year and a half, there hasn’t really been a turn of form. The majority of his output has come earlier in the season when he was playing out wide - 10 of his 15 goals and assists so far this season had arrived by mid September.

And of course I’m not comparing 32/33/34 year old Boyle.. he doesn’t exist. I don’t think anyone doubts we can and will replace him. It almost certainly won’t be with better though, as the statistics and historical transfer activity shows.

PHeffernan
06-01-2025, 03:32 PM
Boyler

32 at the end of April

Rumoured to be on circa 7.5k a week ... which is close to 400k a year

Contract ends at the end of May

Club have a years option ... at that same wage

His success is predicated on his speed and finishing.

His speed edge has diminished but his finishing ability is intact.

His options are probably another year at Hibs or a 2 year contract in the A league

What is 32 year old Martin worth per week at Hibs next season? I think all things considered, 5k a week which will probably put him on a par with the likes of Beardy Cadden
How much is he likely to get in the A League? 3k a week

Given the club option of an extra year there is no need for Hibs to make a decision on Martin at the moment.
Believe they also have an option on Miller.

That leaves decisions to be made on C Cadden, McAllister and Bushiri all of whom are currently free to speak to other clubs about a pre contract.

06-01-2025, 03:51 PM
If Boyle and his family want a life in Australia then all the debate is pointless, he will leave at the end of the season. That's what I think will happen. As a wee aside, I'd hate to see Boyle play against us for anyone else.

Hibs and Boyle have been wonderful for each other over the years, his contribution is undeniable, we will be talking about him fondly long after he retires from football.

At this stage in his career, I'm just pleased he has overcome injury and loss of form to come back and show his value in the current formation favoured by Gray. Given Youan and MYko's injuries, it's just as well for Hibs, given our other fit striking options.

Legend.

06-01-2025, 04:07 PM
Fair play to Boyle who has played much better in recent weeks and will look to keep up his form towards the end of the season and then he can look at his options.

allmodcons
06-01-2025, 04:25 PM
Hibs should defo take up the one year extension or perhaps look to offer him a reduced salary on a two year deal when his current contract expires.

He’s been exceptional for us throughout his time at the club and currently looks incredibly fit for someone of his age.

Carries no weight and if he avoids injury and retains a hunger to compete will continue to be a very good SPL player for sometime to come.

Despite what some are saying, he will difficult to replace.

Murphys Touch
06-01-2025, 04:40 PM
Hibs should defo take up the one year extension or perhaps look to offer him a reduced salary on a two year deal when his current contract expires.

He’s been exceptional for us throughout his time at the club and currently looks incredibly fit for someone of his age.

Carries no weight and if he avoids injury and retains a hunger to compete will continue to be a very good SPL player for sometime to come.

Despite what some are saying, he will difficult to replace.

It’s not peak Boyle we need to replace…..can Hibs get better value long term by using the £5k a week (a >30% wage cut) to replace a 33-35 year old Boyle in the next 2 years.

If we take up the 1 year option, you’ve got to believe it’s an extension to the current contract. So it’s possibly £7500 a week.

Love the guy, our top man for last few years - my son’s favourite player. Tough call

06-01-2025, 04:41 PM
If Boyle and his family want a life in Australia then all the debate is pointless, he will leave at the end of the season. That's what I think will happen. As a wee aside, I'd hate to see Boyle play against us for anyone else.

Hibs and Boyle have been wonderful for each other over the years, his contribution is undeniable, we will be talking about him fondly long after he retires from football.

At this stage in his career, I'm just pleased he has overcome injury and loss of form to come back and show his value in the current formation favoured by Gray. Given Youan and MYko's injuries, it's just as well for Hibs, given our other fit striking options.

Legend.

The part about him playing against us probably deserves more discussion.

If he was looking to go to Oz but intimated he might stay if we offered him longer or a lot more money I'd probably shake his hand and say no deal. If he said he was off to Dundee or Aberdeen I'd be far more inclined to try and thrash out a deal.

06-01-2025, 08:05 PM
I'm relaxed about exercising the extension for Boyle as it's only one year.

Equally I'd be concerned about offering the same money for a two year deal.

Mcbizz1998
06-01-2025, 08:11 PM
I’d keep him if we can. He’s looked much more like his old self and has been a big part of our run over the last 6 weeks. I thought he was done but happy to be proven wrong.

ChilliEater
07-01-2025, 03:08 AM
He's still close to, if not our best, player on the park. He's our most popular player with the greatest connection with the fans. He's reported to be a great influence around a squad (remember Australia still taking him to the world cup even though he was injured?). Why would we get rid of him when he can still contribute? You don't improve by getting rid of your best players - the impact of losing Boyle from the squad is likely to be the same as losing Stanton, or Collins, or Jackson, or Sauzee, or McGinn. I'll give you a little reminder - we didn't get better. Eventually it will be inevitable, but that doesn't look like being now.

07-01-2025, 04:29 AM
In an age of stats perhaps we’ve seen recently that not all things that truly matter can be measurrr.
i trust SDG to dive right thing sith Martin. If he’s off to Oz then he’ll go with my best wishes. Hope he stays and creates more sensational memories. Including some silverware.

07-01-2025, 05:01 AM
Boyle is one of those few players you'd pay money to go and watch. He's a match-winner. Worth every penny we've paid over the years for him.

07-01-2025, 07:16 AM
He absolutely terrorised the Rangers defenders.
On that form there are few better in the league.

Murphys Touch
07-01-2025, 09:21 AM
He's still close to, if not our best, player on the park. He's our most popular player with the greatest connection with the fans. He's reported to be a great influence around a squad (remember Australia still taking him to the world cup even though he was injured?). Why would we get rid of him when he can still contribute? You don't improve by getting rid of your best players - the impact of losing Boyle from the squad is likely to be the same as losing Stanton, or Collins, or Jackson, or Sauzee, or McGinn. I'll give you a little reminder - we didn't get better. Eventually it will be inevitable, but that doesn't look like being now.

I don't think it is a matter of "getting rid"

I'm sure we all want Boyle to stay. But on £7.5k a week? He has a bit to prove that he is worth another year at that. If he does that then great

If not, then Hibs are well within their rights to say "we need you to take a pay cut as there is an increased chance of us losing value here" and Boyle is well within his right to say no.

I agree - he's the shirt seller at the the club. (I would disagree it's like losing Stanton, Collins, Jackson, Sauzee or McGinn though!)

07-01-2025, 09:49 AM
If there's an option to extend for a year and he's happy to stay I would do it. He was excellent on Sunday and while his pace isn't what it used to be you can see he still scares defenders when he's on the ball.

Give him the year, shake hands at the end of it and leave the club a modern-day hero.

Donegal Hibby
07-01-2025, 10:05 AM
I really hope he stays , one of the few players we have that gets you out of your seat and has defenders running scared , wouldn’t be at all easy to replace either…

https://youtu.be/sdoCLEZpYKs?si=Ilb2Fm_C2zNPh9uy

https://news.stv.tv/sport/martin-boyle-thrilled-for-boss-david-gray-following-hibernians-upturn-in-form

07-01-2025, 10:19 AM
He’ll be due a testimonial soon

Yeah, essentially he'll have done 10 years come August 2025, Joined on Loan Jan 2015, perm in June 2015, left for Saudi in Jan 2022 after 7 years here, rejoined in Aug 2022, if we take the years option on his contract he should get one, if we let him go he'll be a couple of months short of getting one. Personally I would love to see him stay another couple of years as long as his eye for goal continues as his speed will diminish.

07-01-2025, 10:22 AM
If there's an option to extend for a year and he's happy to stay I would do it. He was excellent on Sunday and while his pace isn't what it used to be you can see he still scares defenders when he's on the ball.

Give him the year, shake hands at the end of it and leave the club a modern-day hero.

Exactly this - loved his performance at the weekend.

He’s also a character and well liked guy in the dressing room.

We have been here before and not replaced a player and suffered.

Hopefully he stays for another season!

07-01-2025, 11:23 AM
If a waster like Ian Murray was awarded a testimomial, it should be a requirement to award a legend like Boyle one.

08-01-2025, 01:09 AM
In an age of stats perhaps we’ve seen recently that not all things that truly matter can be measurrr.
i trust SDG to dive right thing sith Martin. If he’s off to Oz then he’ll go with my best wishes. Hope he stays and creates more sensational memories. Including some silverware.

With the current financial woes engulfing most clubs now in the A League I’d be surprised if Martin ends up playing for an Australian club.

I also wouldn’t be surprised if Martin’s Soccerroo future is in doubt as they have a new coach who seems intent on replacing what he sees as ‘the old guard’ with younger players.

Guess we’ll see in March when they have a couple of WC qualifiers.

FWIW..I hope he stays at Easter Road for at least another season

Stokesy's on fire
08-01-2025, 07:36 AM
Boyle is now showing his ability to lead the team as captain and contribute on the field. He's a player who is worthy of the backing of the fans and the club. The 1 year extension option on today's terms is absolutely worth every penny. I'm pretty sure he is also worth a testimonial he's been a great player for us .

08-01-2025, 07:47 AM
Cold hard facts are its taken him a long time this season to perform anywhere close to a player on his wage is expected. Yes he is showing some good form right now but the decision to extend cannot be based on a couple of games.

08-01-2025, 07:53 AM
Cold hard facts are its taken him a long time this season to perform anywhere close to a player on his wage is expected. Yes he is showing some good form right now but the decision to extend cannot be based on a couple of games.

He had an injury that required an operation which included a skin graft.
He is feeling a lot better so he is playing a lot better.

Paulie Walnuts
08-01-2025, 07:57 AM

And on the presumption we’re using the Aberdeen game as the point where he started to perform, prior to that he had 5 goals and 5 assists in 20 games this season.

It’s not been vintage Martin Boyle, but the reaction has been completely over the top imo.

09-01-2025, 07:38 PM

And on the presumption we’re using the Aberdeen game as the point where he started to perform, prior to that he had 5 goals and 5 assists in 20 games this season.

It’s not been vintage Martin Boyle, but the reaction has been completely over the top imo.

:agree::agree:

09-01-2025, 07:38 PM
If a waster like Ian Murray was awarded a testimomial, it should be a requirement to award a legend like Boyle one.

Bobo
10-01-2025, 06:53 AM
Boyle has 87 goals from 343 appearances for Hibs so is 13 away from hitting the 100 mark.

There aren't too may players who have achieved this during the history of our club never mind recently.

I think Derek Riordan was the most recent to join the 100 club with 104 goals, scoring his last goal for Hibs back in 2011. So what Boyle has contributed, thus far, is some achievement.

If he can stay fit and we can get him to accept another year, on reduced terms, it's a no brainer for me.

Paulie Walnuts
11-01-2025, 07:47 PM
Another year is a no brainer, even on the money he’s on now.

11-01-2025, 07:48 PM
He is a Hibs legend, what a player he has been for us.

11-01-2025, 07:58 PM
To think we got him in a swap deal for Alex Harris!

What a player he’s been for us and I’m delighted to see him hitting form again. When he’s on his day he’s on of the best in the league, an absolute nightmare for left backs to deal with.

11-01-2025, 08:02 PM
As for the testimonial chat I think that’s an absolute no brainer. At the club for 10 years, part of the cup winning team (I know he never played in the final which seems mental to think now but he scored a cracker of a pen in the semi), scored some very important goals for us including a hat trick at hampden v the huns in a semi final and all round been a great guy to have at the club.

11-01-2025, 08:11 PM
Would he be worth a 2year extension? Kyle Walker is 34 and still very fast, Allan Wells was still winning sprint medals into his 30s. I would hope we could offer him enough to persuade him to stay. He is invaluable to us.

11-01-2025, 08:12 PM
As for the testimonial chat I think that’s an absolute no brainer. At the club for 10 years, part of the cup winning team (I know he never played in the final which seems mental to think now but he scored a cracker of a pen in the semi), scored some very important goals for us including a hat trick at hampden v the huns in a semi final and all round been a great guy to have at the club.

Rachel will be due a testimonial in 18 months as well - could do a joint celebration for the both of them.

11-01-2025, 08:19 PM
He is a Hibs legend, what a player he has been for us.

Agreed. Main folk who want him to move on are on BBC Sportsound. MB has been sensational for Hibs, and often against the Huns and Hearts :greengrin He's been a constant pest for the opposition, and a match-winner for Hibs too many time to mention. If he wants to stay and can show the kind of form he's on just now, Hibs need to get the deal done.

11-01-2025, 08:23 PM
6 months ago I'm not sure I would be too fussed if he signed again. I thought he had lost a wee bit pace but mostly I thought his drive and energy had gone. The last month or so has shown he still has plenty to create problems for opposition defenses and his pressing has been very good. Triantis goal today came from some very unselfish and clever pressing from Boyle initially and I can see him having two more years left at this level assuming he avoids injury. Top that with a joint testimonial for him and his wife and that seems a nice way to broker the next contract

11-01-2025, 08:33 PM
Agreed. Main folk who want him to move on are on BBC Sportsound. MB has been sensational for Hibs, and often against the Huns and Hearts :greengrin He's been a constant pest for the opposition, and a match-winner for Hibs too many time to mention. If he wants to stay and can show the kind of form he's on just now, Hibs need to get the deal done.

11-01-2025, 08:37 PM
Right back on his game again, has been for a while now. One year extension is definitely worth it. Maybe enjoying the responsibility of being Captain.

What a signing he has been for us.

11-01-2025, 08:39 PM
Boyle is playing unbelievably well just now. At his age, playing up front suits him so much better, not wasting his energy running back 70 yards every few minutes.

Still has a lot to offer.

Ribs1875
12-01-2025, 10:00 AM
Boyle is playing unbelievably well just now. At his age, playing up front suits him so much better, not wasting his energy running back 70 yards every few minutes.

Still has a lot to offer.

I agree. I'd be happy to see him extend his contract with us. Equally I feel he has another big move left in him at this stage of his career. Financially it could set him for life. Whatever happens he has my respect, because he came in and continually improved and has been a key player for many years. I am surprised we held on to someone of that calibre for as long as we have. He has shown us a lot of loyalty.

12-01-2025, 10:03 AM
I agree. I'd be happy to see him extend his contract with us. Equally I feel he has another big move left in him at this stage of his career. Financially it could set him for life. Whatever happens he has my respect, because he came in and continually improved and has been a key player for many years. I am surprised we held on to someone of that calibre for as long as we have. He has shown us a lot of loyalty.

At this stage of his career I don’t think he would get a move to a better/bigger club than he’s at just now

12-01-2025, 10:06 AM
At this stage of his career I don’t think he would get a move to a better/bigger club than he’s at just now

There’s no chance he’s getting a better deal than his current Hibs one. He’ll be 32 at the end of this season.

It’s one of the reasons I’m not 100% sure about triggering an extension. It’ll mean the wage he’s on will stay the same you’d imagine? Though, if he keeps performing like he has the past month or so, then he’s probably worth that wage. Been on fire recently.

12-01-2025, 10:07 AM
His first goal yesterday confuses me, it looked offside by a fair bit, but apparently it knicked off a Well player before it got to him?

Yet surely if you are offside when the original shot is taken, then you are offside irrespective of any deflection?

Or do i not understand the offside rule? :greengrin

12-01-2025, 10:08 AM
His pressing created the second goal. He worked so hard yesterday.

A lot of people on here were saying his legs have gone. They absolutely have not.

12-01-2025, 10:08 AM
His first goal yesterday confuses me, it looked offside by a fair bit, but apparently it knicked off a Well player before it got to him?

Yet surely if you are offside when the original shot is taken, then you are offside irrespective of any deflection?

Honestly think hardly anyone knows the rules these days, myself and the referees included.

12-01-2025, 10:09 AM

According to the drawn lines he is a baw hair onside when the cross is played. The deflection is a proverbial red herring.

Paulie Walnuts
12-01-2025, 10:09 AM

Yup, thought the same. And I’m sure there was an offside in a game recently that had a goal ruled out for offside in almost identical circumstances. Can’t for the life of me think what game it was though or even if it was one of ours.

12-01-2025, 10:11 AM
According to the drawn lines he is a baw hair onside when the cross is played. The deflection is a proverbial red herring.

Ah right, i only saw it once and from what i saw it looked well offside?:confused:

12-01-2025, 10:14 AM
His pressing created the second goal. He worked so hard yesterday.

A lot of people on here were saying his legs have gone. They absolutely have not.Not just yesterday - his work rate has been immense for sometime

Really like what I'm seeing from Boyle over the last few months, after a really poor start to the season

I'd happily keep him for another year if we can come to an agreement

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

12-01-2025, 10:15 AM

Sportscene highlights showed he was just onside when Obita crossed but it's one of the reasons why I hate VAR, you just cannot celebrate a goal like that as you have to wait for the VAR decision. Pre VAR, it was a goal unless the linesman put his flag up right away.

I think next week it's up to both teams to decide whether VAR is used, hopefully both Hibs and Clydebank decide not to have it.

Paulie Walnuts
12-01-2025, 10:15 AM
Ah right, i only saw it once and from what i saw it looked well offside?:confused:

Having just watched it again the defender has one of his feet a good bit closer to the goal than the rest of his body. Presumably that’s what keeps him onside.

12-01-2025, 10:18 AM
He is playing so much better just now, it shows how good he is when fit, still willing to burst a gut in the last few minutes to get up the park. Just read he has only scored more league goals than he has now once before so hopefully he scores a lot more and wins himself a new contract

12-01-2025, 10:20 AM
Sportscene highlights showed he was just onside when Obita crossed but it's one of the reasons why I hate VAR, you just cannot celebrate a goal like that as you have to wait for the VAR decision. Pre VAR, it was a goal unless the linesman put his flag up right away.

I think next week it's up to both teams to decide whether VAR is used, hopefully both Hibs and Clydebank decide not to have it.

If i was Hibs i would be wanting to use it

12-01-2025, 10:23 AM

He did go to Saudi

12-01-2025, 10:27 AM
If i was Hibs i would be wanting to use it

What's your reason for this Jim?. Personally I'd rather the game was just ref'd as it has been pre VAR.

The cost will come out of both club's purse, so not sure Clydebank will want it as it'll mean less money for them.

12-01-2025, 10:27 AM
[QUOTE=BoomtownHibees;7865968]At this stage of his career I don’t think he would get a move to a better/bigger club than he’s at just now[/QUOTE

Would the Huns be interested in MB ?

12-01-2025, 10:48 AM
[QUOTE=BoomtownHibees;7865968]At this stage of his career I don’t think he would get a move to a better/bigger club than he’s at just now[/QUOTE

Would the Huns be interested in MB ?

No

Ribs1875
12-01-2025, 10:53 AM

There are clubs in Australia, USA, Saudi, that would probably take him on a free and stick him on a better wage than what we offer. Just need to wait and see I suppose.

12-01-2025, 11:25 AM
Just watched sportscene, and perhaps its my eyes, but it still looks offside to me? :greengrin

12-01-2025, 11:30 AM
Just watched sportscene, and perhaps its my eyes, but it still looks offside to me? :greengrinThe camera angle is slightly deceiving and definitely makes it look clearly offside

However the defenders foot is well back from his body which makes him onside (just)

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

12-01-2025, 11:40 AM
There are clubs in Australia, USA, Saudi, that would probably take him on a free and stick him on a better wage than what we offer. Just need to wait and see I suppose.

I don’t think any Australian club can match Boyle’s wage here.

Enjoy him whilst we can. It’s amazing what full fitness can do for a player. Written off by some ( check the comments on the first few pages of the thread- one fud even calls him a wage thief, a liar phrase that should lead to an instant mutual consenting on here.

Hibs fans will wax lyrical about Martin decades from now.

12-01-2025, 11:48 AM

Don’t think Australian teams would pay him anything more than us. Can’t see him going back to Saudi. USA possibly but can’t see it myself

12-01-2025, 12:02 PM
I don’t think any Australian club can match Boyle’s wage here.

Enjoy him whilst we can. It’s amazing what full fitness can do for a player. Written off by some ( check the comments on the first few pages of the thread- one fud even calls him a wage thief, a liar phrase that should lead to an instant mutual consenting on here.

Hibs fans will wax lyrical about Martin decades from now.

:agree: People slagging his hair and his teeth as well. Poor stuff. Threads like this can give you a good insight into some posters opinions you should take seriously and some you should just ignore.

12-01-2025, 12:33 PM
:agree: People slagging his hair and his teeth as well. Poor stuff. Threads like this can give you a good insight into some posters opinions you should take seriously and some you should just ignore.

We were discussing him in the summer around bulking up a bit and learning to play more with his back to goal and mixing it up a bit with the help of coaching. Whats the more surprising about his return to form is it’s actually not really about that, he’s not changed his style at all, things just seem to be coming off for him now, and if anything he seems to have put on speed since then far less losing it! He’s like a new signing.

12-01-2025, 12:40 PM
We were discussing him in the summer around bulking up a bit and learning to play more with his back to goal and mixing it up a bit with the help of coaching. Whats the more surprising about his return to form is it’s actually not really about that, he’s not changed his style at all, things just seem to be coming off for him now, and if anything he seems to have put on speed since then far less losing it! He’s like a new signing.

Agreed. Wonder how much that stookie thing on his arm was affecting him back then as well. The other thing worth pointing out I think is that, whilst he has clearly got better recently, his form was nowhere near as bad back then as some were making out!

Ribs1875
12-01-2025, 12:42 PM
He's the type of footballer I appreciate. Started at the bottom, and each game he played in the first few years for us he continually got better.

Compare him to someone like Brandon Barker who came through the academies at man city, showed good ability with us, but has since fallen off the face of the earth. I can imagine there will be a host of reasons. Could argue it's a privilege vs non-privileges scenario.

12-01-2025, 05:56 PM
Boyle is just the 11 goals away from hitting 100 for us👏
Good chance he might hit this landmark this season.

12-01-2025, 05:57 PM
Boyle is just the 11 goals away from hitting 100 for us👏
Good chance he might hit this landmark this season.

Would be some going to get another 11 goals before the end of the season.

If he did, we’d almost certainly qualify for Europe IMO.

12-01-2025, 06:07 PM
Would be some going to get another 11 goals before the end of the season.

If he did, we’d almost certainly qualify for Europe IMO.

15 league games and a run to the Scottish cup final, if he stays fit he has a good chance

12-01-2025, 06:14 PM
Agreed. Wonder how much that stookie thing on his arm was affecting him back then as well. The other thing worth pointing out I think is that, whilst he has clearly got better recently, his form was nowhere near as bad back then as some were making out!

Clearly some of us weren’t very good at counting either :wink:

cameronw-hfc
12-01-2025, 06:21 PM
Is the aussie league no a bit skint just now? Not sure he'd get much there. On a free though imagine Saudi/US teams might come calling.

12-01-2025, 06:31 PM
Clearly some of us weren’t very good at counting either :wink:

PHeffernan
12-01-2025, 06:43 PM
Is the aussie league no a bit skint just now? Not sure he'd get much there. On a free though imagine Saudi/US teams might come calling.

Yeah, Aussie league is financially rooked.
India would be his best chance of big money.
However, I think we will see Hibs take up their one year option if his form holds up and he remains fit.
Parting a year later at 33 will probably be the sweet spot to part company.

Paul1642
12-01-2025, 08:46 PM
A few months ago I was starting to wish him out the door in January and now he’s a contender for our POTY. Funny old game.