View Full Version : Paris 2024 Olympics

23-07-2024, 10:16 AM
I do enjoy watching some events, Athletics, basketball and wrestling to name a few.

Football starts tomorrow which I'm sure will get posted on the main board.

Good luck Andy!

23-07-2024, 01:24 PM
I do enjoy watching some events, Athletics, basketball and wrestling to name a few.

Good luck Andy!

I always end up get sucked into watching stuff I’d never normally be interested in, like diving! 😂

Still love watching the olympics though, seeing huge names and people who’ll likely never have their names up in light performing on (for them) the highest stage.

Agree about AM, would love to see him roll back the years and win it again

23-07-2024, 08:25 PM
Usually enjoy the swimming at the olympics

24-07-2024, 12:11 PM
The sooner rubbish like Dressage is dropped the better. Have always said that getting a horse to make unnatural movements to music is never a sport. It's equivalent to bear dancing or lion taming.

I reckon Laura Kenny made the complaint 😂

24-07-2024, 01:16 PM
I'm confused about the coverage this year - the Olympics are a category A event, are they not? So coverage should be on free-to-air channels (with some coverage 'shared' by subscription services). Why are the BBC/ITV not covering them?

24-07-2024, 01:29 PM
I'm confused about the coverage this year - the Olympics are a category A event, are they not? So coverage should be on free-to-air channels (with some coverage 'shared' by subscription services). Why are the BBC/ITV not covering them?

BBC are

https://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/articles/2024/olympic-games-2024-paris-how-to-watch-and-follow-across-the-bbc

24-07-2024, 02:15 PM
BBC are

https://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/articles/2024/olympic-games-2024-paris-how-to-watch-and-follow-across-the-bbc

My apologies, I thought I had read somewhere it was exclusively on TNT Sport, discovery+ and Eurosport. Clearly imagined it!

He's here!
24-07-2024, 03:48 PM
The sooner rubbish like Dressage is dropped the better. Have always said that getting a horse to make unnatural movements to music is never a sport. It's equivalent to bear dancing or lion taming.

I reckon Laura Kenny made the complaint 😂

The fact the footage is from four years ago makes you suspect there's politics at play. Why wait until the eve of the Olympics otherwise?

In saying that, if you watch the footage it's quite casual, as though it's something she's used to doing. Makes you wonder how prevalent these sort of methods are across the riding stables. Why would there even be a whip on site if not?

He's here!
24-07-2024, 03:49 PM

Good luck Andy!

London 2012 was sensational. Andy's win being a particular highlight. No chance he's winning a third gold tho.

24-07-2024, 04:35 PM
Rugby 7s on just now if anyone is interested.

24-07-2024, 04:48 PM
BBC are

Just to add, I don't think they're showing any of the football? I'm less I'm absolutely missing it: https://www.live-footballontv.com/

24-07-2024, 04:59 PM
Just to add, I don't think they're showing any of the football? I'm less I'm absolutely missing it: https://www.live-footballontv.com/

BBC haven't got full rights apparently. Not sure how it works re being a "protected" event and all that but Discovery +/Eurosport are the main broadcaster.

24-07-2024, 08:23 PM
I love the Olympics.

I follow the Diamond League Athletics and major championship year round and this is the culmination of a 4 year cycle. Particularly looking forward to Kerr and Ingebrigsten going head to head; they really do not like each other and this has the makings of something akin to Coe v Ovett with a stellar supporting cast into the bargain. GB women are well represented in the middle distance events and will likely take home a medal or 2 there. The emergence of a couple of solid British sprinters is welcome as well.

I love all the random stuff as well that I would never normally watch. Love the canoe slalom and equestrian events in particular.

24-07-2024, 08:31 PM
I love the Olympics.

I follow the Diamond League Athletics and major championship year round and this is the culmination of a 4 year cycle. Particularly looking forward to Kerr and Ingebrigsten going head to head; they really do not like each other and this has the makings of something akin to Coe v Ovett with a stellar supporting cast into the bargain. GB women are well represented in the middle distance events and will likely take home a medal or 2 there. The emergence of a couple of solid British sprinters is welcome as well.

I love all the random stuff as well that I would never normally watch. Love the canoe slalom and equestrian events in particular.

The random stuff always hooks me, especially when you think you become a wee bit of an expert after paying attention for a bit 😂

Diving - aww ffs, too much splash at the end man

Gymnastics - great routine but you’ve ruined it with a wee stutter step at the end, that’ll cost you heavy points

Weightlifting - nah you’ve got your stance all wrong mate, you’re never going to get that up with your feet like that

24-07-2024, 08:38 PM
I probably ask this every 4 years. :)

Why is it Team GB and not Team UK?

24-07-2024, 08:57 PM

I think it's something to do with athletes from the Channel Islands, Isle of Man etc being ineligible if it was Team UK. Not sure how NI feel mind you.

24-07-2024, 09:09 PM
Last olympics I'm sure it was handball I ended up getting really into, this year it will probably be the breakdancing and sport climbing that gets my interest

Peanut Shaz
24-07-2024, 09:22 PM
I’ll be following the women’s badminton as I know one of the women playing.

24-07-2024, 09:32 PM

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-37058920.amp

24-07-2024, 09:36 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-37058920.amp

Ta. :thumbsup:

I remember all that now. The branding :rolleyes:

Stairway 2 7
25-07-2024, 06:49 AM
The sooner rubbish like Dressage is dropped the better. Have always said that getting a horse to make unnatural movements to music is never a sport. It's equivalent to bear dancing or lion taming.I reckon Laura Kenny made the complaint 😂As you say an archaic sport and I'm glad she's out. Japan sent home an athlete yesterday who was caught smoking also. It's utterly bizarre that Netherlands though are still letting a volleyball player compete. He previously spent a year in prison for flying to the UK to rape a 12 year old whilst knowing her age, has been disgustingly defended by the Dutch Olympic committee https://www.independent.co.uk/voices/dutch-volleyball-rapist-olympics-steven-van-de-velde-b2584299.html

25-07-2024, 09:52 AM
Ta. :thumbsup:

I remember all that now. The branding :rolleyes:

Team BT? British Territories?

25-07-2024, 09:53 AM
I’ll be following the women’s badminton as I know one of the women playing.

I'm following the women's road cycling because a colleague's cousin is in that. Not for Team GB though.

25-07-2024, 10:03 PM
The random stuff always hooks me, especially when you think you become a wee bit of an expert after paying attention for a bit 😂

Diving - aww ffs, too much splash at the end man

Gymnastics - great routine but you’ve ruined it with a wee stutter step at the end, that’ll cost you heavy points

Weightlifting - nah you’ve got your stance all wrong mate, you’re never going to get that up with your feet like that

Gymnastics and some diving Saturday morning with Greece Vs Canada in basketball at 20:00.

He's here!
26-07-2024, 12:16 PM
What a bunch of morons vandalising the train network. I know two families who'd had their Eurostar trip booked for today since last year.

26-07-2024, 12:49 PM
What a bunch of morons vandalising the train network. I know two families who'd had their Eurostar trip booked for today since last year.It looks like a coordinated attack designed to cause as much chaos and ruin the Olympics as possible. I wouldn't rule out a number of state and non-state actors, including Russia. Russian agents were implicated in anti semitic attacks/vandalism of memorials recently. Macron is very visibly pro-Ukraine.

26-07-2024, 01:36 PM
Always enjoy the Olympics for all the little sports that never get air time otherwise. Archery is a favourite, the gymnastics is hypnotic and also bloody scary, the canoe/sailing is always interesting.

I'll be watching the Skateboarding as well because a friend of mine will be doing the UK commentary/analysis on the telebox.

Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk

26-07-2024, 01:56 PM
Always enjoy the Olympics for all the little sports that never get air time otherwise. Archery is a favourite, the gymnastics is hypnotic and also bloody scary, the canoe/sailing is always interesting.

I'll be watching the Skateboarding as well because a friend of mine will be doing the UK commentary/analysis on the telebox.

The Koreans are always good at the archery. I love it when i discover that a country just has a particular passion for a sport i had no idea about.

26-07-2024, 01:58 PM
The Koreans are always good at the archery. I love it when i discover that a country just has a particular passion for a sport i had no idea about.Yeah they do seem good at it, I wish I knew where I could take it up as a sport, would be a lot of fun.

Also just to add, Handball is fantastic to watch.

26-07-2024, 02:49 PM
Two good storylines, will the gymnastic GOAT Simone Biles continue to invent new unheard of moves on the bars and beams (or prove she can actually levitate), and will the US basketball team finally get knocked off their perch? So many powerful European teams now.

26-07-2024, 02:50 PM
BBC haven't got full rights apparently. Not sure how it works re being a "protected" event and all that but Discovery +/Eurosport are the main broadcaster.

For anyone wanting to avoid the BBC presenters bantering away the actual opening ceremony starts at 6.30pm our time.

26-07-2024, 06:02 PM
Two good storylines, will the gymnastic GOAT Simone Biles continue to invent new unheard of moves on the bars and beams (or prove she can actually levitate), and will the US basketball team finally get knocked off their perch? So many powerful European teams now.

Biles has apparently registered a new move for the bars 😄 GOAT is the right descriptions for her, she already has 6(?) mice’s named after her, I think all have the highest/hardest rating

As for basketball, you’re right about the European teams, and also Canada are particularly strong just now too, hopefully a good tournament

26-07-2024, 06:20 PM
For anyone wanting to avoid the BBC presenters bantering away the actual opening ceremony starts at 6.30pm our time.

The opening ceremony is jaw-droppingly spectacular, visually and aurally, but it’s still a load of crap and a waste of money which could be doing a lot more good than boosting the status of the hosts.

26-07-2024, 06:24 PM
Fair play to the French for doing something different with the opening ceremony. I’ve enjoyed it so far.

26-07-2024, 06:25 PM
The opening ceremony is jaw-droppingly spectacular, visually and aurally, but it’s still a load of crap and a waste of money which could be doing a lot more good than boosting the status of the hosts.

It’s a party . Ya grump. :greengrin

26-07-2024, 06:30 PM
I'm enjoying this. They're using the city as a set. Better than some heavily choreographed stadium thing. Shame about the rain.

26-07-2024, 06:33 PM
Same here, this is really good. Great way of seeing Paris as well. Great city

Sergio sledge
26-07-2024, 06:39 PM
It’s really enjoyable watching on tv, but must be a bit of a let down for the crowds, it does seem a bit flat without seeing and hearing crowd reactions in the stadium.

26-07-2024, 06:47 PM
Canada have removed the head coach of their woman's football squad after a drone was used to watch New Zealand training the other day, Canada media has said both Men and Women sides have used Drones for years, the Canadians used one in the recent Copa America where they reached the SF's, apparently Jesse Marche was only made aware of it after the event.elsewhere Iraqi judoko member is out of the games after the 28 year old tested positive for two types of banned anabolic steroids in training a few days ago and is suspended before it's even started, faces up to four year ban if repeat tests prove positive.

26-07-2024, 06:55 PM
It’s a party . Ya grump. :greengrin

Bah humbug!!!

26-07-2024, 06:57 PM
I wasn't sold on the opening ceremony not being in the stadium but this has been really quite something.

I suppose you could argue it's another part of a sporting event catering to those sat on their couches rather than those who actually attend but I'm aware I'm a grumpy git so I'm going to enjoy it for what it is.

cameronw-hfc
26-07-2024, 07:10 PM
never thought id hear gorija at the olympics lol. brilliant performance from them

26-07-2024, 07:21 PM
never thought id hear gorija at the olympics lol. brilliant performance from them

That's been my favourite part so far, the "blood" at the end was really effective.

Edit: apart from the Minions obviously

Stairway 2 7
26-07-2024, 07:32 PM
What was the plan if it was pishing down. It's more citywide than a traditional stadium opening ceremony. It's good to watch and more locals would have seen it as anyone they could stand on the seine and see it. Danny Boyle done well for London tbf and Beijing was amazing with the drummers

26-07-2024, 08:01 PM
I wonder who’s paying the electricity bill. 😀

Brummie_Hibs
26-07-2024, 08:05 PM
I wouldn't rule out a number of state and non-state actors, including Russia. Russian agents were implicated in anti semitic attacks/vandalism of memorials recently. Macron is very visibly pro-Ukraine.
Haha! They've certainly brainwashed you.

26-07-2024, 08:07 PM
Papa Smurf. - wtf

26-07-2024, 08:07 PM
The Opening Ceremony is a load of pish.

Brummie_Hibs
26-07-2024, 08:10 PM
The Opening Ceremony is a load of pish.
Agreed

26-07-2024, 08:13 PM
Great to hear Spacer by Sheila B. Devotion again, takes me back to my disco days.

Nice version of Imagine.

Shame about the rain.

26-07-2024, 08:40 PM
Charlotte Dujardin did well to get that horse to run on water for so long. Deserves a medal.

26-07-2024, 08:55 PM
Charlotte Dujardin did well to get that horse to run on water for so long. Deserves a medal.

🥱 the metal horse has been the only thing worth watching. Looking forward to the games getting underway though.

26-07-2024, 09:19 PM
They are dragging this out a bit now eh? 4 hours is stretching my attention span to breaking point.

A lot of it was pretty cool. Now it's watching some people carry a giant lighter in the rain to music.

Just_Jimmy
26-07-2024, 09:19 PM
The Opening Ceremony is a load of pish.GCSE drama. Utter dross.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Sergio sledge
26-07-2024, 09:27 PM
They are dragging this out a bit now eh? 4 hours is stretching my attention span to breaking point.

A lot of it was pretty cool. Now it's watching some people carry a giant lighter in the rain to music.

It’s been way too long but the hot air balloon Olympic flame cauldron was really cool though. Celine dion on the Eiffel Tower is excellent as well.

26-07-2024, 09:35 PM
Despite my earlier comments, which I must stand by, that opening ceremony was spectacularly impressive.

26-07-2024, 09:48 PM
It’s been way too long but the hot air balloon Olympic flame cauldron was really cool though. Celine dion on the Eiffel Tower is excellent as well.

Only if she was impaled on it.

Stairway 2 7
26-07-2024, 09:51 PM
First hour good then gave up after a few hours brutal

26-07-2024, 10:00 PM
Biles has apparently registered a new move for the bars 😄 GOAT is the right descriptions for her, she already has 6(?) mice’s named after her, I think all have the highest/hardest rating

As for basketball, you’re right about the European teams, and also Canada are particularly strong just now too, hopefully a good tournament

Yep, Canada will be strong and looking forward to the game Vs Greece tomorrow.

26-07-2024, 10:20 PM

I can see now why Tories and Reform supporters want to stop the boats!

Seriously, I quite liked it even if some of it was a bit out there.

He's here!
27-07-2024, 01:24 AM

You missed a phenomenal finale.

I thought the whole thing was a triumph. Daringly ambitious and by the end the rain almost made it more powerful.

He's here!
27-07-2024, 01:29 AM
Only if she was impaled on it.

Did you actually watch her perform? I've never paid much heed to her down the years but that performance was awesome, especially in light of her health issues.

Stairway 2 7
27-07-2024, 06:12 AM
You missed a phenomenal finale.

I thought the whole thing was a triumph. Daringly ambitious and by the end the rain almost made it more powerful.

Seen the highlights today and they clearly get better drugs than us in France. It's not for me but opening ceremonies aren't anyway. I hate musical theatre and they seem to be a four hour camp musical usually, which I understand most like so fair play. Not a fan of Gaga, Celine they should have went with Daft Punk or Jean-Michel Jarre.

Anyway thankfully it's over and the real business can start. I prefer faster, higher, stronger events, like the original games. Don't like the marks out of ten sports that were added. I appreciate the talent but it's not for me. Shhooting and cycling finals today and loads of other prelims like canoeing and football, bring it on

27-07-2024, 06:29 AM
Andrew Cotter's commentary was the highlight. The guy is brilliant.

27-07-2024, 07:47 AM
Andrew Cotter's commentary was the highlight. The guy is brilliant.

Always enjoy listening to him, always good at striking a balance between describing what’s happening and bringing other analysis and co-commentators in. Like bill McLaren and others, he also has a voice that’s enjoyable to listen to

27-07-2024, 09:29 AM
The difficulty in the synchronous diving is mind blowing. The tiniest deviation of entry is being pulled up by the commentator, i barely noticed!

27-07-2024, 09:38 AM
The difficulty in the synchronous diving is mind blowing. The tiniest deviation of entry is being pulled up by the commentator, i barely noticed!

The judges seem to be total homers for the Chinese, I know hehaw about diving but they seem to be scoring higher for the Chinese when the Americans seem tighter and more in sync

27-07-2024, 09:46 AM
I love how focussed the Chinese divers are.

I remember in Tokyo one of the Chinese men won and his teammate was 2nd. Winner won it on the last dive. Guy who was 2nd was raging. Usually you get them hugging each other and a 'if it wasn't me, I'm glad it is him' type comment. This guy would barely look at his mate, was arguing with his coach and looked like he would rather be anywhere else in the world rather than the silver spot on the podium.

27-07-2024, 09:51 AM
Have the Aussies ****ed it?

They have. Bronze for the British girls. Wow.

27-07-2024, 09:51 AM
The judges seem to be total homers for the Chinese, I know hehaw about diving but they seem to be scoring higher for the Chinese when the Americans seem tighter and more in sync

Agreed. The chinese were clearly out of sync there.

Aussies screw it up. Brit medal.

27-07-2024, 09:55 AM

Totally agree with you. Great medal for the Brits.

27-07-2024, 10:08 AM
It was the look of one of the British girls desperately trying to hide a smile when the Australians arsed it.

27-07-2024, 04:30 PM
I know it's very skilled but judo isn't really a spectator sport is it? Certainly if you don't know what is going on.

Commentator keeps calling out all these things that are happening but it just looks like 2 people rolling about on the floor to me.

27-07-2024, 04:34 PM
Love when the word "repechage" is wheeled out :greengrin:

27-07-2024, 05:45 PM
Here we go with the sevens final. I do love La Marseillais, the best anthem of all.

27-07-2024, 06:10 PM
Here we go with the sevens final. I do love La Marseillais, the best anthem of all.

France gold medal, deserved.

27-07-2024, 06:10 PM
France gold medal, deserved.

Antoine Dupont is such a star.

27-07-2024, 06:11 PM
well done France beating a side that's never lost a game at the olympics France 28 Fiji 7, Dupont with a couple of tries and an assist in another

27-07-2024, 06:15 PM
Canadian women football side deducted 6 points for the use of that Drone i mentioned earlier & fined £175k, that will be rather embarrassing for the Canadians

27-07-2024, 06:33 PM

Totally disagree about the French national anthem I wouldn't even put it in the top 5. Great rugby match though.

27-07-2024, 06:45 PM
Have been switching events on the iPlayer and Nadal and Alcaraz have played some good tennis, especially Nadal.

27-07-2024, 06:46 PM
Did you actually watch her perform? I've never paid much heed to her down the years but that performance was awesome, especially in light of her health issues.

Fair enough 👌

He's here!
27-07-2024, 07:59 PM

He's here!
27-07-2024, 08:00 PM
well done France beating a side that's never lost a game at the olympics France 28 Fiji 7, Dupont with a couple of tries and an assist in another

Sensational performance and what an atmosphere. Just what France needed to kick the Games off.

27-07-2024, 09:09 PM
Good effort from Greece and Giannis in a 86-79 win for Canada, SGA clutch in the 4th quarter.

Stairway 2 7
27-07-2024, 09:25 PM
Good effort from Greece and Giannis in a 86-79 win for Canada, SGA clutch in the 4th quarter.

Why is clutch a thing now, the same as why bairns have a prom instead of a quali?

28-07-2024, 07:28 AM
Why is clutch a thing now, the same as why bairns have a prom instead of a quali?

It’s the word Americans use to describe a player who delivers in tight moments, particularly towards the end of the game. It can extend beyond basketball too, and has extended into other basketball tournaments. It’s sometimes used outside of basketball, but it’s most closely associated with that

Stairway 2 7
28-07-2024, 07:54 AM
It’s the word Americans use to describe a player who delivers in tight moments, particularly towards the end of the game. It can extend beyond basketball too, and has extended into other basketball tournaments. It’s sometimes used outside of basketball, but it’s most closely associated with that

I'm fine with Americans using of course it's the fact I hear it slipping in to football, better for pet peaves thread ha. That and I heard my 5yo say the word sidewalk yesterday, brutal.

Back to olympics some mountain biking, rowing, shooting and gymnastics finals for us today. Although with a rare hor day this summer I'll probably watch the highlights

28-07-2024, 09:54 AM
Serbia Vs USA 16:15 should be a good watch.

28-07-2024, 10:03 AM
I don't know how the women do what they do on the beam but it is absolutely mind boggling.

Balance, strength and just downright bravery flipping this way and that on a 4" wide platform is insane.

28-07-2024, 10:53 AM
I'm fine with Americans using of course it's the fact I hear it slipping in to football, better for pet peaves thread ha. That and I heard my 5yo say the word sidewalk yesterday, brutal.

Back to olympics some mountain biking, rowing, shooting and gymnastics finals for us today. Although with a rare hor day this summer I'll probably watch the highlights

Hahaha yeah I get what you mean, my 5yo is always dropping American expressions into conversation, wanted a soda at the match yesterday 😂

28-07-2024, 11:00 AM
I don't know how the women do what they do on the beam but it is absolutely mind boggling.

Balance, strength and just downright bravery flipping this way and that on a 4" wide platform is insane.

Totally agree, would say the same about pretty much every one of the gymnastics team events, so easy to do yourself a serious injury but they do it with a smile and massive skills and bravery

On that note, Simone Biles is so good at what she does, she’s rewriting what the top end of gymnastics can look like. Her teammate Jordan Chiles puts in a vault that has the commentators gushing, scores 14.3, they’re saying what a score. Biles strolls up and drops 2 vaults scoring 14.8 and 15.8, the max you can score is 16! The best ever in her sport

28-07-2024, 11:17 AM
Thought Rosie Eccles was unlucky not to get that decision.

28-07-2024, 03:19 PM
These kids with their headphones in competing in skateboarding are annoying me

28-07-2024, 03:22 PM
Great start from Serbia in the basketball, some full court press and full of energy 10-2 time-out called for USA.

28-07-2024, 03:54 PM
Korea continue their womens team archery dominance, by a milimitre over China.

28-07-2024, 03:56 PM
Korea continue their womens team archery dominance, by a milimitre over China.Was some watch that! Really enjoyed it, watched the whole event.

28-07-2024, 04:08 PM
Serbia 49-58 USA halftime, USA killing Serbia with the 3 pointers, Kevin Durant putting on a show 8/8 with 5/5 from the 3 point line.

28-07-2024, 05:11 PM
USA 110-84 Serbia full time.

LeBron and Durant the standouts.

28-07-2024, 05:16 PM
Dan Evans and Andy Murray on just now. Getting comfortably beaten by Japan currently.

Dan Evans has been really, really poor...

28-07-2024, 05:21 PM
Wish I'd watched the diving years ago when Tonia Couch was participating.

28-07-2024, 05:41 PM
Dan Evans and Andy Murray on just now. Getting comfortably beaten by Japan currently.

Shame for Murray that he's lumbered with Evans. Hope they can claw their way back but it looks like the game's up...

28-07-2024, 05:50 PM
Evans actually playing a lot better now!

28-07-2024, 05:57 PM
Murray's serve leaving a fair bit to be desired.

28-07-2024, 06:21 PM
Murray's serve leaving a fair bit to be desired.

Yep it's been poor but Evans has dragged them into a 3rd set.

Edit. I see it's another tie break!

28-07-2024, 06:41 PM
And they've done it..somehow!

28-07-2024, 06:41 PM
Wow WHAT A TURNAROUND

Well done Murray and Evans. 6 match points in the tie break they come back from. Incredible

28-07-2024, 06:42 PM
Incredible.

Save 5 match points and go on to win it. Unbelievable man.

28-07-2024, 06:42 PM
Turned it on when 9-5 down in the tiebreak, amazing finish for team GB.

28-07-2024, 06:45 PM
WOW just wow

28-07-2024, 06:45 PM
Brilliant brilliant sport. Murray and Evans really dug deep there. Fantastic

He's here!
28-07-2024, 06:52 PM
Pure magic. Like old times with Murray.

Evans can be a terrific player on his day.

He's here!
28-07-2024, 06:54 PM

He had a pretty gruelling singles win earlier in the full heat of the day.

Dug deep when it mattered tho.

28-07-2024, 07:12 PM
Great to see Andy keeping it going for at least one more match!

French lad just obliterated the field in the 400m medley in the pool, incredible how much he won by

28-07-2024, 07:53 PM
Adam Peaty going for a third in a row OGM in the breaststroke final. They’ve made a real thing of it in the run up to the race. I hope it’s not an anti-climax.

28-07-2024, 07:57 PM
Adam Peaty going for a third in a row OGM in the breaststroke final. They’ve made a real thing of it in the run up to the race. I hope it’s not an anti-climax.

Maybe an anti climax regarding Peaty winning but the end of the race was superb.

28-07-2024, 07:59 PM
I never used to like Adam Peaty but he has grown on me. Phenomenal mental effort to get back competing and he was close there. Very humble in his interview as well.

28-07-2024, 08:03 PM
He's done so well but the endless coverage of his "journey" on the BBC has made me switch to Eurosport!

28-07-2024, 08:05 PM
I never used to like Adam Peaty but he has grown on me. Phenomenal mental effort to get back competing and he was close there. Very humble in his interview as well.

Aye a very good effort considering what he’s been through with his mental health

28-07-2024, 08:05 PM
Yep, totally agree, I never had much time before but he's grown on me too. The one thing I always did like about him was the importance of his gran in his life, she was the one that played a huge role in his life in respect of swimming.

28-07-2024, 08:08 PM
He did well and humble in defeat. Good for him.

28-07-2024, 08:47 PM
Our coverage is very Brit-centric, as is normal. But Leon Marchands achievements in the pool pretty incredible, the Frenchman’s milesahead of anyone.

https://www.lemonde.fr/en/sports/article/2024/07/28/france-s-leon-marchand-wins-men-s-olympic-400m-medley-gold_6702991_9.html

Stairway 2 7
28-07-2024, 09:42 PM
Our coverage is very Brit-centric, as is normal. But Leon Marchands achievements in the pool pretty incredible, the Frenchman’s milesahead of anyone.

https://www.lemonde.fr/en/sports/article/2024/07/28/france-s-leon-marchand-wins-men-s-olympic-400m-medley-gold_6702991_9.html

They rightly showed Andy Murrays match and exciting finish. They then went straight to show delayed video of Marchands final, they were gushing in praise of his superb race. I think BBC is great at the Olympics and really informative about a mix of sports?

28-07-2024, 10:04 PM
BBC coverage is abysmal. It's all talk and nae sport.
That Peaty weeping all over the place and Rebecca Adlington. Jeez.
Bring on the athletics.

29-07-2024, 05:16 AM
They rightly showed Andy Murrays match and exciting finish. They then went straight to show delayed video of Marchands final, they were gushing in praise of his superb race. I think BBC is great at the Olympics and really informative about a mix of sports?

I just thought some might have missed it, thats all. Im enjoying the coverage, broadly.

LewysGot2
29-07-2024, 10:00 AM
Tom Daley and Noah Williams guaranteed a slver medal. Excellent performance.

Stairway 2 7
29-07-2024, 10:17 AM
Far left members arrested over train signaling fires on day of opening ceremony, French Internet now targeted
https://news.sky.com/story/far-left-activist-arrested-over-railway-attacks-ahead-of-paris-olympics-13185452

Stairway 2 7
29-07-2024, 10:22 AM
Training for the triathletes again cancelled due to sewage in the Seine. One US triathlete says he's been practicing for the Olympics being in Paris by not washing his hands when going to the toilet

https://archive.ph/bQbnu

American triathlete Seth Rider is preparing for the heightened E. coli levels in the Seine River with some unconventional — but, apparently, science-backed — methods.
“We know that there’s going to be some E. coli exposure, so I just try to increase my E. coli threshold by exposing myself to a bit of E. coli in your day-to-day life,” he said.
“And it’s actually backed by science. Proven methods. Just little things throughout your day, like not washing your hands after you go to the bathroom.”

29-07-2024, 10:23 AM
Tom Daley and Noah Williams guaranteed a slver medal. Excellent performance.

The commentator said their silver was "nailed-on".

That's a bit extreme, no?

29-07-2024, 10:26 AM
Terrible commentary all over the medal ceremony. Let the action speak for itself FFS.

29-07-2024, 10:35 AM
I get he's had a helluva career but given its a 2 person event they've gone a bit overboard with the commentary around Daley imo. Williams had to match his performance and the pressure would have been immense

He's here!
29-07-2024, 10:51 AM
Far left members arrested over train signaling fires on day of opening ceremony, French Internet now targeted
https://news.sky.com/story/far-left-activist-arrested-over-railway-attacks-ahead-of-paris-olympics-13185452

Morons.

29-07-2024, 12:01 PM
He did well and humble in defeat. Good for him.

Thought it was really nice to see Peaty and the 2 other medal winners all congratulating each other, and clearly enjoying celebrating together. Huge rivals in their competition, but nice to see them enjoying their moment together.

LewysGot2
29-07-2024, 12:22 PM
The commentator said their silver was "nailed-on".

That's a bit extreme, no?

I'm not sure if this is rhetorical or not, so forgive me. I posted when they had completed the competition and could literally finish no lower than silver?

I'm not sure the context of any commentary? I wasn't listening.

29-07-2024, 12:23 PM
I'm not sure if this is rhetorical or not, so forgive me. I posted when they had completed the competition and could literally finish no lower than silver?

I'm not sure the context of any commentary? I wasn't listening.

Whoosh?

Other competitors get their medals hung around their necks.

29-07-2024, 02:42 PM
Incredible recovery by Tom Pidcock in the mtb x-country, who was over 30 seconds back after getting a puncture. Sportingly booed across the line by the Fench crowd. :greengrin

29-07-2024, 03:19 PM
Adam Peaty tested positive for the rona after his 2nd place finish last night

29-07-2024, 03:29 PM
Incredible recovery by Tom Pidcock in the mtb x-country, who was over 30 seconds back after getting a puncture. Sportingly booed across the line by the Fench crowd. :greengrin

Watched that was excellent. Was a bit of a coming together with the French cyclist near the end but apparently not an issue.

Stairway 2 7
29-07-2024, 03:31 PM

Brilliant some bravery from they boys

29-07-2024, 03:52 PM
Brilliant some bravery from they boys

It's unreal :agree: It looks amazing enough on the telly but I've seem them training downhill up at Nevis Range and seeing it in real life is scary!

Sloop67
29-07-2024, 09:44 PM
These surfers are absolutely mental , the injuries they pick up are horrendous

29-07-2024, 11:52 PM
Brilliant some bravery from they boysI've a friend of mine who does mountain biking, no where near Olympic level of course, he puts the videos on his Instagram and all I can think of is "NOPE!"

Utterly insane! :greengrin

29-07-2024, 11:55 PM
I'm always in awe of the Gymnastics. Men and women's, just unbelievable what they do.

I'm not sure I could have a child who does Gymnastics, I'd just be running in going "no no no, get the **** down from there!"

30-07-2024, 06:31 AM
The men's triathlon has been pushed back a day because of further concerns about the water quality. No training allowed in the river either which must be hugely frustrating for athletes trying to go about their last minute prep.

I know a fair few teams didn't select their strongest triathletes for this year and instead focused on those who are best on the road and the bike because they were convinced it was going to end up as a duathlon. It was a big topic of discussion on a couple of running podcasts I listen to in recent weeks and it looks like being a pretty smart move at this point.

30-07-2024, 09:12 AM
The men's triathlon has been pushed back a day because of further concerns about the water quality. No training allowed in the river either which must be hugely frustrating for athletes trying to go about their last minute prep.

I know a fair few teams didn't select their strongest triathletes for this year and instead focused on those who are best on the road and the bike because they were convinced it was going to end up as a duathlon. It was a big topic of discussion on a couple of running podcasts I listen to in recent weeks and it looks like being a pretty smart move at this point.

Its also a timely and highly visible reminder of what we’re doing to our planet.

30-07-2024, 03:21 PM
The BMX is absolutely insane. The kid from Gateshead must be close to the medals.

Stairway 2 7
30-07-2024, 03:50 PM
Nathan Hales gets gold and an Olympic record for Britain in the trap shooting, some concentration from him

30-07-2024, 04:17 PM
Simone Biles raising the roof in the gymnastics and she hasn't even taken her tracksuit off yet.

30-07-2024, 04:48 PM
I had no idea the beam was so narrow. Just beyond belief what these girls can do.

30-07-2024, 08:10 PM
Brilliant performance from Daniel Wiffen to claim a gold for Ireland in the pool. Leeds lad, represents Ireland at the Olympics and NI in the Commonwealth games. Great effort tonight.

30-07-2024, 08:29 PM
Andy Murray and Dan Evans! Wow! They’ve done it again!!

Trinity Hibee
30-07-2024, 08:29 PM
Andy Murray putting fans through the mill to the bitter end

30-07-2024, 08:30 PM
Unbelievable! How they got through that I have no idea.

Could be Fritz & Paul next, that would be really tough.

McSwanky
30-07-2024, 08:38 PM
Watching Murray's doubles matches has been torture. Not because he's been on the brink of losing, it's the absolute age they all take to start a point. Fist bumps, chats, further chats, more fist bumps. I've found it really difficult to stay engaged.

Sent from my Pixel 8a using Tapatalk

He's here!
30-07-2024, 08:45 PM
Andy Murray putting fans through the mill to the bitter endI'm almost in tears with him. Got to love the guy. To have his top-level career effectively ended at its peak seven years ago (pretty sure he was world No 1 at the time his hip packed in? He was certainly reigning Wimbledon champion) and to still be digging this deep is just awesome. Whatever happens now, these two Olympic nerve-shredders will epitomise what he's all about. He's bowing out with a bang.

He's here!
30-07-2024, 08:58 PM
Watching Murray's doubles matches has been torture. Not because he's been on the brink of losing, it's the absolute age they all take to start a point. Fist bumps, chats, further chats, more fist bumps. I've found it really difficult to stay engaged.Sent from my Pixel 8a using TapatalkIf you were to watch a lot of doubles (which I tend to do as I like the format) you'd see these sort of exchanges taking place all the time. The flow of a match can often change far more quickly than in singles and your tactics have to shift with it. That's why there's almost a running commentary going on. There's also the fact that the British pair's opponents tonight were a long-established doubles pairing whereas Murray and Evans have rarely (if ever?) played as a pairing and need to ensure they're on the same page.

McSwanky
30-07-2024, 09:02 PM
If you were to watch a lot of doubles (which I tend to do as I like the format) you'd see these sort of exchanges taking place all the time. The flow of a match can often change far more quickly than in singles and your tactics have to shift with it. That's why there's almost a running commentary going on. There's also the fact that the British pair's opponents tonight were a long-established doubles pairing whereas Murray and Evans have rarely (if ever?) played as a pairing and need to ensure they're on the same page.

I don't watch doubles for precisely the reasons above. I understand why they do it, I just find the pace of play unbearable as a result.

Sent from my Pixel 8a using Tapatalk

30-07-2024, 09:11 PM
Gold for Duncan Scott in the relay. Chuffed for him after he was such a cruel 4th yesterday.

Think he is now tied with Chris Hoy as Scotland's most decorated Olympian.

30-07-2024, 09:49 PM
Gold for Duncan Scott in the relay. Chuffed for him after he was such a cruel 4th yesterday.

Think he is now tied with Chris Hoy as Scotland's most decorated Olympian.

GB team were dominant, led from the 50m mark. And as you said, Duncan Scott missed out on a medal by a fingernail yesterday, really glad to see him get a gold tonight, as well as the rest of the team, really close bond between them

30-07-2024, 10:55 PM
I had no idea the beam was so narrow. Just beyond belief what these girls can do.I'm not sure I could have a daughter who is into gymnastics, I'd be storming on going "NO! NO! GET DOWN FROM THAT NOW!"

:greengrin it's amazing what they do, just amazing.

He's here!
30-07-2024, 11:45 PM
GB team were dominant, led from the 50m mark. And as you said, Duncan Scott missed out on a medal by a fingernail yesterday, really glad to see him get a gold tonight, as well as the rest of the team, really close bond between them

Remarkable to see the same four retain their gold medal.

31-07-2024, 09:20 AM
Remarkable to see the same four retain their gold medal.

They showed a list of uk men’s golds there have been incredibly few over the years

31-07-2024, 09:27 AM
Saw Coco Gauff yesterday having a tantrum with the umpire. Absolute prima Donna stuff always get cheated here and all sorts of nonsense. Bit unfair on her opponent as it got crowd in her favour for short time however Vekic bravely saw out victory.

LewysGot2
31-07-2024, 10:31 AM
Oh my days. Alex Yee. What a triathlon triumph. Brilliant 10K

31-07-2024, 10:53 AM
Oh my days. Alex Yee. What a triathlon triumph. Brilliant 10K

Followed closely by the women rowers who just nicked a Gold on the line.

LewysGot2
31-07-2024, 10:54 AM
Followed closely by the women rowers who just nicked a Gold on the line.

Two golds timed to absolute perfection.

31-07-2024, 12:32 PM
Would love to have been able to some of the tricks these BMX riders do, a bunny hop was my limit 😁

Kieran Reilly up next for the mens, moved to my town in 2020 to train at the Adrenaline Alley.

Stairway 2 7
31-07-2024, 01:10 PM
What an amazing two golds in a row this morning, pure perseverance, incredible athletes and fitness. The exhaustion shown from the triathletes after the finish line is inspiring.

Swimmers we're amazing last night, what a foursome getting two golds in a row and Duncan Scott putting himself up their with the greats

31-07-2024, 07:00 PM
USA Vs South Sudan now in the basketball.

31-07-2024, 07:05 PM
The BBC repaying Marchand's victory with the French commentary was brilliant.

31-07-2024, 07:29 PM
The BBC repaying Marchand's victory with the French commentary was brilliant.

Yep Allez 😄

31-07-2024, 08:37 PM
Unreal from Marchand.

At 150m it looked like the WR could go.

31-07-2024, 08:45 PM
World record goes in the next race, Chinese swimmer absolutely smashed it.

Swimming tonight has been incredible.

Sloop67
01-08-2024, 06:26 AM
Would love to have been able to some of the tricks these BMX riders do, a bunny hop was my limit 😁

Kieran Reilly up next for the mens, moved to my town in 2020 to train at the Adrenaline Alley.

The freestyle BMX was insane , fantastic to watch and the crowds reaction was mental . Superb entertainment

01-08-2024, 07:17 AM
I watched the diving where the UK women got a bronze. I don't know if I really understand d the rules about content/difficult ultimately etc, the Chinese pair that won the gold easily, were far from perfect in the dive I saw anyway. The commentators were going on about how good they were an aw, what would I ken lol

01-08-2024, 07:43 AM

And that’s in a slow pool!! Think the laddie is only 17 as wel!!

01-08-2024, 08:46 AM

Thought there was a little bit of subtext re the Chinese swimmers record almost implying something not quite right about the performance. Maybe just me

01-08-2024, 08:48 AM
And that’s in a slow pool!! Think the laddie is only 17 as wel!!

The commentators keep saying it's a slow pool and I have no idea why that would be. Does anyone here know?

01-08-2024, 09:04 AM
The commentators keep saying it's a slow pool and I have no idea why that would be. Does anyone here know?I think they mentioned it was shallower than most others used in competitions, means more waves or something.
Something like that anyway!

01-08-2024, 09:06 AM
The commentators keep saying it's a slow pool and I have no idea why that would be. Does anyone here know?

Every time I see a race, some of the swimmers are towing flags. That can't help.

01-08-2024, 09:27 AM

They talked about it the other night. Faster pools are deeper (3m I think), something to do with the waves reflecting off the bottom disturbing the water on top.

AugustaHibs
01-08-2024, 12:06 PM
Just seen Italian boxer Angela Carini beaten inside 45 seconds by a biological male. Heartbreaking stuff, and totally not on imo.

01-08-2024, 12:21 PM
Just seen Italian boxer Angela Carini beaten inside 45 seconds by a biological male. Heartbreaking stuff, and totally not on imo.

That was very uncomfortable viewing. A tricky situation for sure but I'm not sure a spectacle like that is the answer.

Stairway 2 7
01-08-2024, 12:38 PM
Such a tough one. It is wrongly being grouped in by people as being the same as trans women competing in sports. I'm totally against that but this is very different. The Algerian woman has Swyer syndrome, women with this have internal and external female genitalia and can be pregnant. They have xy chromosomes though but that's not what the IOC go by they go be testosterone level and her testosterone is below what is permitted. I don't know enough about it whether she would have ever had too much testosterone

01-08-2024, 01:18 PM
That Ireland hockey kit is beautiful

01-08-2024, 05:07 PM
Such a tough one. It is wrongly being grouped in by people as being the same as trans women competing in sports. I'm totally against that but this is very different. The Algerian woman has Swyer syndrome, women with this have internal and external female genitalia and can be pregnant. They have xy chromosomes though but that's not what the IOC go by they go be testosterone level and her testosterone is below what is permitted. I don't know enough about it whether she would have ever had too much testosterone
Got to feel sorry for her tbh, it’s not like she’s made a choice in this.

01-08-2024, 06:09 PM
Athletics starts tomorrow for anyone who has been waiting for that and didn't know when it starts.

01-08-2024, 06:32 PM
I think they mentioned it was shallower than most others used in competitions, means more waves or something.
Something like that anyway!

They talked about it the other night. Faster pools are deeper (3m I think), something to do with the waves reflecting off the bottom disturbing the water on top.

Cheers. :thumbsup:

01-08-2024, 06:34 PM
I won’t pretend to understand the finer points of women’s gymnastics but Simone Biles… amazing.

Sloop67
01-08-2024, 08:12 PM
The BMX racing is pretty brutal stuff

01-08-2024, 08:33 PM
The BMX racing is pretty brutal stuff

My son does that.

Yeah, he's daft. Between that, and downhilling, he has stamps from hospitals around the world.:rolleyes:

01-08-2024, 09:50 PM

Thank you for this post. It helps cut through a lot of disingenuous social media posts on the subject today.

A very difficult scenario, and one which had me largely stumped. I'm no further forward as to what I think should/shouldn't have happened though.

Dmas
02-08-2024, 10:12 AM
Some good runs in the heats so far, Daryll Neita just there looked very good 10.92, Richardson also impressive in 2nd gear which is scary, Josh Kerr looked good in the 1500 as well

LewysGot2
02-08-2024, 10:36 AM
Brilliant gold for the GB Women in the rowing this morning

Good bronze for 3m synchronised male divers too.

Dmas
02-08-2024, 10:38 AM
Some good runs in the heats so far, Daryll Neita just there looked very good 10.92, Richardson also impressive in 2nd gear which is scary, Josh Kerr looked good in the 1500 as well

02-08-2024, 11:51 AM

https://x.com/krassenstein/status/1819014279636320493?t=B3KtIetkpTshX-Xd3eR_0g&s=19

Stairway 2 7
02-08-2024, 12:26 PM
https://x.com/krassenstein/status/1819014279636320493?t=B3KtIetkpTshX-Xd3eR_0g&s=19

Yes that's quite wrong. The woman is genetically male. We all start off as female in utero and males develope into males at a certain point. People with swyers would have been male but they genetically don't start the change due to a deletion in a gene. They don't develop secondary female attributes like breasts and female hips and they don't menstruate. They develop internal and external female sexual organs but not ovaries.

It's horrifying she's going through this. The ioc has chosen their limit and that is level of testosterone and that could be correct. Other bodies go by chromosome testing and that also could be seen as fair. Some idiots are deliberately banding it in with cases where a male has went through male puberty then chooses to be female and it is not remotely comparable. If intersex people can compete with women then do be it I suppose. What we shouldn't do is vilify the women who usually don't know they are biologically male until puberty

02-08-2024, 12:31 PM
Yes that's quite wrong. The woman is genetically male. We all start off as female in utero and males develope into males at a certain point. People with swyers would have been male but they genetically don't start the change due to a deletion in a gene. They don't develop secondary female attributes like breasts and female hips and they don't menstruate. They develop internal and external female sexual organs but not ovaries.

It's horrifying she's going through this. The ioc has chosen their limit and that is level of testosterone and that could be correct. Other bodies go by chromosome testing and that also could be seen as fair. Some idiots are deliberately banding it in with cases where a male has went through male puberty then chooses to be female and it is not remotely comparable. If intersex people can compete with women then do be it I suppose. What we shouldn't do is vilify the women who usually don't know they are biologically male until puberty

…and in the least unpredictable development in this whole sorry scenario is JK Rowling weighing into it on twitter.

02-08-2024, 12:51 PM
Bryony Page takes trampolining Gold. . Yet another sport I know nothing about yet but what a joy seeing somebody achieve their dream. I don’t think many sing along to the national anthem either but she gave it a go despite not being sure of the words . :greengrin
Just wonderful to watch, moments like that are why I love the Olympics.

02-08-2024, 01:00 PM

It would be laughable that people are trying to equate this with trans people in women's sport if it wasn't for the fact it was so orchestrated and deliberately stoking up hatred. Does anyone really believe a country that imprisons homosexuals and makes it illegal to change gender identity has a trans woman in their boxing team?! Equally though I think it's disingenuous for people to suggest those wishing to have a measured discussion about it are 'transphobes' or 'terfs'. It's 2 different subjects.

Yesterday was uncomfortable to watch but Khelife is as much a victim in all this as anyone. There is a lot of politics at play between the IBA and the IOC, she is the latest pawn in a feud that has been raging for years. Like so many things it's not the black and white easy answer to difficult questions some want it to be.

He's here!
02-08-2024, 02:47 PM
…and in the least unpredictable development in this whole sorry scenario is JK Rowling weighing into it on twitter.

Bringing her high profile presence to bear when it came to shining a light on misguided and unnecessary legislation was to be applauded - and while the boxer isn't to blame here she's right to put the boot into the IOC for allowing this situation to occur.

02-08-2024, 02:52 PM
Gold for the showjumpers as well. Jolly good. :greengrin

02-08-2024, 04:05 PM
Woman's Brazilian judo fighter is a unit!

Sergio sledge
02-08-2024, 04:19 PM
What a moment that was in the Judo, Teddy Riner wins his 3rd individual gold medal winning in front of his home crowd. What an atmosphere in the arena, what an incredible experience that must have been for everyone there.

02-08-2024, 06:35 PM

Biological male? Just isnt true. Born fem fem all her life.

02-08-2024, 06:41 PM
So strange that this poor lady competed for years before any of this crap came out, without having an especially good record, and now has to deal with all these lies.
https://x.com/Babble____/status/1819400350572364126

Good read about it there. It's just vile how she's been treated.

02-08-2024, 06:53 PM
That was a great watch. Silver for Scott and gold for the man who is the undeniable superstar of the games so far.

02-08-2024, 06:58 PM
Bringing her high profile presence to bear when it came to shining a light on misguided and unnecessary legislation was to be applauded - and while the boxer isn't to blame here she's right to put the boot into the IOC for allowing this situation to occur.

She’s an idiot. An entitled troll and obsessively motivated by hate. Shes basically the embodiment of the British tabloid press.

Stairway 2 7
02-08-2024, 07:12 PM
Biological male? Just isnt true. Born fem fem all her life.

She is a biological male with xy chromosomes, she is intersex though. It's not black and white. She has done nothing wrong and the people calling a cheat or a man are pathetic. There has to be a cut off where biological males can't compete against women, especially in combat sports. Whether that is a chromosome test or testosterone is up to the medics. Higher testosterone creates larger muscles and bone density so that's why they chart that. People with swyers have male attributes like broader shoulders male height and no breasts but female attributes like a womb. It's a horrible situation but you have to trust the IOCs decision.

A sad article about the girls who find out they are genetically male at puberty after believing they are female
https://www.vice.com/en/article/4xkedq/when-teenage-girls-find-out-theyre-genetically-male

Might shine a light that everyone doesn't fit in a box.

02-08-2024, 07:12 PM
She’s an idiot. An entitled troll and obsessively motivated by hate. Shes basically the embodiment of the British tabloid press.

Correct. Utter vile, hateful, horrible woman.

02-08-2024, 07:57 PM
Beth Shreiver was so far ahead of the field in her heats of the BMX, im amazed she didn’t get a medal tonight.

02-08-2024, 08:04 PM
Beth Shreiver was so far ahead of the field in her heats of the BMX, im amazed she didn’t get a medal tonight.

She finished last.The BMX races are great to watch but basically revolves around the start, get a good start and you don't see many of them coming from behind. Shriver was saying she'd had good starts in all the races apart from the final.

02-08-2024, 08:32 PM
She finished last.The BMX races are great to watch but basically revolves around the start, get a good start and you don't see many of them coming from behind. Shriver was saying she'd had good starts in all the races apart from the final.

It wasnt just the start, she was taking the jumps faster and getting so much more air than the other riders (although that was possibly a result of the start i suppose). I assume its easy to get crowded out at the start.

02-08-2024, 08:47 PM
It wasnt just the start, she was taking the jumps faster and getting so much more air than the other riders (although that was possibly a result of the start i suppose). I assume its easy to get crowded out at the start.

Also I don't think she'd raced the girl who actually won it easily, their times were very close going into the final, the BBC only seemed to show the races the Brits were in understandably, but we didn't really get that clear an indication of the opposition. I did think Shreiver was really modest after the final, she didn't look or sound that disappointed. Still strange though, she'd been so convincing in the heats.

He's here!
02-08-2024, 09:23 PM

That's not the case at all. She's given a voice to women justifiably aghast at the direction of travel gender-related legislation was headed. Bold to do so when so few with her reach/resources would dare stick their heads above the parapet. Her establishment of Beira's Place has been a godsend in the light of the shambles surrounding ERCC. Very easy as a bloke to belittle her efforts.

02-08-2024, 10:40 PM

It was a fantastic race, I think it’s my new favourite sport. :greengrin
Shriever seemed to take it well.

03-08-2024, 11:20 AM
That's not the case at all. She's given a voice to women justifiably aghast at the direction of travel gender-related legislation was headed. Bold to do so when so few with her reach/resources would dare stick their heads above the parapet. Her establishment of Beira's Place has been a godsend in the light of the shambles surrounding ERCC. Very easy as a bloke to belittle her efforts.

Its very easy to belittle her efforts as a person with a trans best friend. Vile woman.

Was brilliant to see many Harry Potter stars speak out against her hateful comments.

He's here!
03-08-2024, 12:06 PM
Its very easy to belittle her efforts as a person with a trans best friend. Vile woman.

Was brilliant to see many Harry Potter stars speak out against her hateful comments.

What hateful comments?

Being a passionate advocate for women's rights and (more relevantly to this thread) wanting to guard against the erosion of women's sport as a meaningful discipline doesn't make someone anti-trans. Her views represent common sense and very much align with the findings of the Cass report.

03-08-2024, 12:18 PM
BBC do a choose life introduction with an English person doing an awful Scottish accent 😄

03-08-2024, 12:20 PM

Yes think she got crowded out after a poor start

03-08-2024, 03:43 PM

https://www.threads.net/@alysfromwonderland/post/C-LMCrNPJve/?xmt=AQGzHs7g_OR5F4NDITo7psxX-Sy2fVxBCZOVwnBX_cyP4A

Stairway 2 7
03-08-2024, 04:05 PM
https://www.threads.net/@alysfromwonderland/post/C-LMCrNPJve/?xmt=AQGzHs7g_OR5F4NDITo7psxX-Sy2fVxBCZOVwnBX_cyP4A

Twice you've just added a link with no comment, I know a number of people don't click links so probably though. Give replied to the same poster who is saying it's not on that a biological male is in the female category. I can understand that view although it's obviously complicated and unfair on the women involved who wouldn't know they were biological males until puberty. Males obviously have an advantage to females in most sports due to body shape, bone density, muscle mass ect. The question is do intersex people have any of these advantages.

Both sides of the argument have been toxic and lazy imo. On one side calling her a man is unkind and calling her a cheat is disgusting as she was brought up female and fighting with the rules given.

On the other side people saying Michael Phelps has a physical advantage over his competitors is stupid. That argument only works if you think there shouldn't be separate male and female categories and it should be whoever has the best physical advantage wins regardless of sex.

The ioc has made their criteria so that is that

03-08-2024, 05:53 PM
Amazes me that they still use safety pins to attach the names to athletes.

03-08-2024, 06:28 PM
No surprises as USA make it 3-0 and secure 1st seed for the basketball quarter finals, look set to play Brazil.

Woman's 100m final soon.

He's here!
03-08-2024, 06:48 PM
Twice you've just added a link with no comment, I know a number of people don't click links so probably though. Give replied to the same poster who is saying it's not on that a biological male is in the female category. I can understand that view although it's obviously complicated and unfair on the women involved who wouldn't know they were biological males until puberty. Males obviously have an advantage to females in most sports due to body shape, bone density, muscle mass ect. The question is do intersex people have any of these advantages.

Both sides of the argument have been toxic and lazy imo. On one side calling her a man is unkind and calling her a cheat is disgusting as she was brought up female and fighting with the rules given.

On the other side people saying Michael Phelps has a physical advantage over his competitors is stupid. That argument only works if you think there shouldn't be separate male and female categories and it should be whoever has the best physical advantage wins regardless of sex.

The ioc has made their criteria so that is that

The IOC need to revisit their criteria. With boxing it's a safety issue first and foremost.

03-08-2024, 07:03 PM
Bronze for GB in the mixed 4x400 relay, some last 50m or so for the Dutch girl in the last lap to take the gold.

03-08-2024, 07:21 PM
Bronze for GB in the mixed 4x400 relay, some last 50m or so for the Dutch girl in the last lap to take the gold.

Phenomenal run by her, and yet she looked like she could have went up another gear. What these athletes do (across many sports) is quite outstanding

03-08-2024, 07:25 PM
10:72 Saint Lucia Olympic gold medal woman's 100m.

03-08-2024, 07:28 PM
Phenomenal run by her, and yet she looked like she could have went up another gear. What these athletes do (across many sports) is quite outstanding

Enjoyable day of athletics from what I've seen, only able to watch via BBC, would like to see some other events, no idea how the mens shot put final is getting on.

I've just googled it, would be nice to see a couple of throws, mens 100 tomorrow evening.

03-08-2024, 07:34 PM

Yep, Femke Bol is by far the best female athlete in Europe, and the only athlete that can beat her in the world is the American, Sydney McLaughlin. They both run the 400 metres hurdles

03-08-2024, 08:19 PM
Great day for smaller Caribbean countries.

04-08-2024, 05:58 AM
What hateful comments?

Being a passionate advocate for women's rights and (more relevantly to this thread) wanting to guard against the erosion of women's sport as a meaningful discipline doesn't make someone anti-trans. Her views represent common sense and very much align with the findings of the Cass report.

Just spend 10 minutes on her twitter. Wished her followers a merry terfmas last year I believe. She is 100% anti trans. Hence why so many have distanced themselves from her.

04-08-2024, 09:47 AM
GB with a shoot-out defeat to India in the QF of the hockey, currently watching mens long jump.

04-08-2024, 10:24 AM
GB with a shoot-out defeat to India in the QF of the hockey, currently watching mens long jump.

India must be the least successful Olympic nation by population, they have a ideosyncratic take on sport, aside from cricket i cant think of a sport that they really consider definitively Indian (kabbadi i suppose,there must be some regional sports they get passionate about). Hockey they do well though.

He's here!
04-08-2024, 10:53 AM
Just spend 10 minutes on her twitter. Wished her followers a merry terfmas last year I believe. She is 100% anti trans. Hence why so many have distanced themselves from her.

You'll find any number of anti-Rowling tweets but none from her (on any platform) that are anti-trans. Think you're missing the sarcasm in the one you mention.

Womanhood is not some abstract concept that can be confirmed by documentation or simply stating you are one. It's not controversial to adhere to biological facts and it's key to the ongoing viability of women's sport. The current boxing furore is unfortunate for the boxers under the microscope, but the IBO have created this mess for themselves.

04-08-2024, 07:00 PM
How easy does Keeley Hodgkinson make 800m look? Looked like she never really got out of first gear there and won running away.

04-08-2024, 07:59 PM
a bit unfair that delay in starting the 100m

American Lyles wins it, incredible finish

04-08-2024, 08:00 PM
a bit unfair that delay in starting the 100m

American Lyles wins it

It was worth waiting for, amazing run by Lyles in an incredibly fast field.

04-08-2024, 08:07 PM
How easy does Keeley Hodgkinson make 800m look? Looked like she never really got out of first gear there and won running away.

She almost looked bored with how easily she ran that, incredible level that she and other athletes are at

04-08-2024, 08:31 PM
100m Olympic records for the position for the runners in 5, 6, 7 and 8. Won't be much of a consolation, I expect. Incredible race.

Stairway 2 7
04-08-2024, 08:54 PM
Belgium pull out the team triathlon tomorrow as a team member spends 4 days ill with ecoli from the Seine. Between this and multiple athletes being robbed it's a bit of a red face for France

LewysGot2
04-08-2024, 08:56 PM
Belgium pull out the team triathlon tomorrow as a team member spends 4 days ill with ecoli from the Seine. Between this and multiple athletes being robbed it's a bit of a red face for France

Multiple athletes robbed?

04-08-2024, 09:06 PM
first time in 11 Olympics USA men haven't won the 4x100m medley relay, they need to settle for a silver behind winners China, France 3rd

W 4x 100m Medley

Gold- USA, new WR
Silver- Australia
Bronze- China

and back to that mens 4x 100m Olympic swimming: Adam Peaty questions China's relay win amid doping allegations - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/olympics/articles/cxx226nlgrwo)

Adam Peaty questioned China's relay victory on the final night of swimming at the Paris Olympics, saying "there's no point winning if you're not winning fair".
China took gold in a thrilling men's 4x100m medley relay race, beating the United States into second and France third, with the British quartet finishing fourth.
Two of the four gold medallists, Qin Haiyang and Sun Jiajun, were among the 23 Chinese swimmers who reportedly returned positive doping tests prior to the Tokyo Olympics (https://www.bbc.com/sport/swimming/articles/c0kr1pg8g47o).

04-08-2024, 09:09 PM
It was worth waiting for, amazing run by Lyles in an incredibly fast field.

yup great race, but lyles was already pointing out to the officials before the start about the delay, maybe that helped fire him up :)

Stairway 2 7
04-08-2024, 09:23 PM
Multiple athletes robbed?

Zico
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/olympics/2024/07/26/brazil-legend-zico-thousands-stolen-in-paris-robbery/

Argentine football team
https://www.aa.com.tr/en/sports/argentine-national-football-team-robbed-before-paris-olympics-match/3285301

Australian cycling team
https://www.azernews.az/region/229098.html

Slovakia cycling team
https://dailysports.net/news/emergency-the-slovak-cycling-team-was-robbed-at-the-olympic-village-near-paris/

05-08-2024, 02:22 PM
Brazil’s Andrade pipping Biles was great, she was amazing at some of the earlier routines, faultless but without the exceptional difficulty of Biles’. Really touching guard of honour from Biles who is clearly just a classy individual.

Stairway 2 7
05-08-2024, 02:50 PM
first time in 11 Olympics USA men haven't won the 4x100m medley relay, they need to settle for a silver behind winners China, France 3rd

W 4x 100m Medley

Gold- USA, new WR
Silver- Australia
Bronze- China

and back to that mens 4x 100m Olympic swimming: Adam Peaty questions China's relay win amid doping allegations - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/olympics/articles/cxx226nlgrwo)

Adam Peaty questioned China's relay victory on the final night of swimming at the Paris Olympics, saying "there's no point winning if you're not winning fair".
China took gold in a thrilling men's 4x100m medley relay race, beating the United States into second and France third, with the British quartet finishing fourth.
Two of the four gold medallists, Qin Haiyang and Sun Jiajun, were among the 23 Chinese swimmers who reportedly returned positive doping tests prior to the Tokyo Olympics (https://www.bbc.com/sport/swimming/articles/c0kr1pg8g47o).

Didn't know anything about the Chinese cheating, just read about it shocking. The old everyone was contaminated nonsense, should be banned for life.

As an aside the 100m men's and golf was fantastic yesterday.

Controversy as Amber Rutter the uk skeet shooter was robbed in the gold medal shoot off. Cameras clearly showed she hit her clay but the judge didn't see it. In other skeet tournaments they have VAR but not at the Olympics which seems nuts, she was fuming as she protested it but took it with good grace afterwards

05-08-2024, 06:02 PM
World record for the GB women's track sprint team beating New Zealand in the final.

Looking forward to the atheltics tonight, some really tasty races in store.

05-08-2024, 07:51 PM
Gold for Hodgkinson. Looked like Moraa was going to make a real race of it but it was never in doubt from about 80m out.

05-08-2024, 07:51 PM
Gold for Hodgkinson. Looked like Moraa was going to make a real race of it but it was never in doubt from about 80m out.

She is head and shoulders above the rest of that field, what a performance.