View Full Version : Match Updates Kelty Hearts v Hibs away

Pages : 1 2 [3]

20-07-2024, 03:59 PM
A total disgrace from start to finish. We are garbage. We will struggle to survive in a league with decent teams. The outlook is depressing. I’m not going to dismiss Gray so early in the season but looking at him today he seemed so passive and disinterested,

supermcginn
This thread is a shocker. I’m glad most don’t go to games.

So will they be! Disgraceful result

I’m coming round to the view that Vente is just cr@p.

Evidence certainly mounting

NC1875
It's going to be a long long long season. Again.

Yip. Just shows why they gave it to Gray

He’ll get more leeway from the support once we have yet another ***** season

Those running the club are a joke.

All this investment and getting beat from Kelty Hearts. Laughing stock again

A big mistake not playing the best players available from the start. Fringe players like McKirdy and Levitt are murder. SDG has seen enough of these imposters to know this so why play them? If we don’t get a goalscoring striker we are going down.

scm70nyd1973
Still waiting for the fruits of the cash injection and quality players then..

I think it will be used to pay off players who we want to move on judging by today’s very poor effort 😡

20-07-2024, 04:00 PM
Fuming with that.I said before the game the line up gave me the fear.Thats the first mistake SDG has made for me.We’ve not qualified yet, we’re playing Kelty HEARTS and it’s on a brutal surface.Play your best team and win the game.It’s adds to the narrative of us being unable to beat hearts etc and already we’re a laughing stock.It's laughable you believe that. Talk about an over-reaction from the fans. Players need competitive game time to determine if they're good enough to be in the plans for the season ahead, it's a bad result but we missed a host of chances and dominated the game. Our fan base truly is shocking at times and only serve to create a real toxic atmosphere for players and staff to work in.

I said it before KO, play with guys like McKirdy, Rocky and Levitt (even add Vente to that) and all you'll get is a performance akin to last season.

There you have your proof, as if anyone needed any more of it, that the majority of the players in the squad are absolutely nowhere near the standard required

Recruitment and Ian Gordon's involvement in our club is still biting us in the backside years on.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

I reckon we’ll struggling to raise funds.

We have no right to win any game just by turning up, the kelty boys will be away for their fish and chips to celebrate.They tell me it was Scotty Allan who provided the assist for the hertz goal.Gray should make them walk back behind the bus.

We don’t have any right to win, but Kelty herts, really

20-07-2024, 04:01 PM
Stupid statement

Go on social media and I bet you’ll see loads of them

Switched off for their goal, McKirdy the only player that looked dangerous today, Miller, good job he can throw quite far as he can’t cross, midfield lacking any penetration. Gray, why change the team, play your best team, qualify then mess around for the final game. Does Gray think our squad is that good? Worrying if he does.

FT Peterhead 4 Elgin City 2

Too slow with recruitment

Again

My buddy from down south just messaged me “Kelty Hearts sound like a team from Champ Man 2”

Yuuuuup…

20-07-2024, 04:02 PM
And that's exactly what happens when Newell doesn't play. He's the only midfield player who can provide even a spark of creativity.

Well that just shows how paper thin our squad is. Two players for each position? Not if we hope to replace like for like. Onwards and upwards.

Too slow with recruitment

Again

As always

It's laughable you believe that. Talk about an over-reaction from the fans. Players need competitive game time to determine if they're good enough to be in the plans for the season ahead, it's a bad result but we missed a host of chances and dominated the game. Our fan base truly is shocking at times and only serve to create a real toxic atmosphere for players and staff to work in.

We’ve just been beaten in a competitive game by a League 1 side. What do you expect?

A starting 11 that looked like ‘Odds and Sods’ United was always going to toil …but at least it highlighted how fragile our squad currently is.

The weekend feel good factor certainly went oot the windae.

That is an absolute embarrassment. Sorry but it is. Need to bounce back very quickly.

Hindsight is wonderful but way too many changes from SDG, good proof several of those players are nowhere near good enough. Malky and SDG have a lot of work to do.

We should have been able to put out second string team including the tea lady and manage a result against Kelty. It just underlines how many players we have at the club who are just not good enough.

20-07-2024, 04:03 PM
It's laughable you believe that. Talk about an over-reaction from the fans. Players need competitive game time to determine if they're good enough to be in the plans for the season ahead, it's a bad result but we missed a host of chances and dominated the game. Our fan base truly is shocking at times and only serve to create a real toxic atmosphere for players and staff to work in.Drivel.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

It's laughable you believe that. Talk about an over-reaction from the fans. Players need competitive game time to determine if they're good enough to be in the plans for the season ahead, it's a bad result but we missed a host of chances and dominated the game. Our fan base truly is shocking at times and only serve to create a real toxic atmosphere for players and staff to work in.

One of the positives about David Gray is he knows the players and what they’re capable of.

The team that started on paper should beat Kelty, but we know that’s not the case. They finished 6th in league 1 .

Re the hearts stuff I guarantee if you go on social media you’ll see plenty of it tonight

I'm not convinced of that to be honest

St mirren away and Celtic at home could quite feasibly be 2 losses

That will be 3 competitive losses in quick succession

He would be under pressure already imo

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

That is an absolute disgrace, players and management should hang their heads in shame.

20-07-2024, 04:04 PM
That will be 3 competitive losses in quick succession

How?

20-07-2024, 04:05 PM

Shut up

20-07-2024, 04:05 PM

Everybody and their dug knows that these players are not good enough but we persist on playing them. At least 5 players in that starting lineup who should be nowhere near our squad.

20-07-2024, 04:06 PM
Looking at the table there could be more embarrassment for Hibs once the games still to be played are completed.

pollution
20-07-2024, 04:06 PM
A miserable game on a miserable July day.

20-07-2024, 04:07 PM
Grays first mistake today.

That lineup was shocking on reflection.

He's been assistant manager to four different coaches now, played plenty games himself in the League Cup and knows exactly what these kind of games are like.

We’ve not qualified yet and its a **** surface. Play your strongest XI and get the job done early. Then make subs. You can make five now right? That's half a squad.

Septimus
20-07-2024, 04:08 PM
Commentary is dreadful but I think he just said that.

Hopefully I do not have to look forward to a whole season with this so called commentator

20-07-2024, 04:09 PM
How?Because it could be 3 losses?

Not sure what you mean - I said the first 2 games in the league could quite feasibly be 3 losses

Making it 3 competitive losses in quick succession

Kelty, st mirren and Celtic

Obviously hopefully not but away on the first game of the season to a decent side is a tricky start, then the Celtic game obvioisly will be very difficult

20-07-2024, 04:09 PM
A long season awaits eh folks..

20-07-2024, 04:10 PM
Grays first mistake today. That lineup was shocking on reflection. He's been assistant manager to four different coaches now, played plenty games himself in the League Cup and knows exactly what these kind of games are like. We’ve not qualified yet and its a **** surface. Play your strongest XI and get the job done early. Then make subs. You can make five now right? That's half a squad.Spot on, it's not as if we've not ****ed up before and it's a shock when we put out a weakened side and lost.

SJNB Hibby
Looking at the table there could be more embarrassment for Hibs once the games still to be played are completed.Kelty could win the group. We might be pressed to qualify as one of the best 2nd place finishers....and 9 points wont see us seeded---hello Celtic or Rangers

That is an absolute embarrassment. Sorry but it is. Need to bounce back very quickly.

Don’t apologise, it’s true

Mcbizz1998
20-07-2024, 04:11 PM
Must rank alongside some of our worst ever cup results.

20-07-2024, 04:11 PM
Kelty could win the group. We might be pressed to qualify as one of the best 2nd place finishers....and 9 points wont see us seeded---hello Celtic or Rangers

Where the f*** is the investment?

20-07-2024, 04:12 PM
Kelty could win the group. We might be pressed to qualify as one of the best 2nd place finishers....and 9 points wont see us seeded---hello Celtic or RangersDidn't realise that

Your right, they win the last 2 games and they too the group

Brilliant Hibs [emoji23]

20-07-2024, 04:13 PM
Because it could be 3 losses?

Not sure what you mean - I said the first 2 games in the league could quite feasibly be 3 losses

Making it 3 competitive losses in quick succession

Kelty, st mirren and Celtic

Obviously hopefully not but away on the first game of the season to a decent side is a tricky start, then the Celtic game obvioisly will be very difficult

We still have to play Peterhead before we play any league games

hibeez1875
20-07-2024, 04:13 PM
Could there be an onus on us to play a really strong line-up against Watford, maybe because of an agreement made? Really struggling to understand that line-up today otherwise.

20-07-2024, 04:14 PM
Drivel.Sent from my SM-A405FN using TapatalkIs that Officer Drivel by any chance.

20-07-2024, 04:14 PM
We still have to play Peterhead before we play any league gamesYeah I know (I won't say 4 losses hopefully! [emoji23])

Even so if we lose the first 2 league games I'm sure some will remember today to bundle it in

It just adds pressure to gray pretty quickly

Donegal Hibby
20-07-2024, 04:15 PM
Grays first mistake today.

That lineup was shocking on reflection.

He's been assistant manager to four different coaches now, played plenty games himself in the League Cup and knows exactly what these kind of games are like.

We’ve not qualified yet and its a **** surface. Play your strongest XI and get the job done early. Then make subs. You can make five now right? That's half a squad.

That one is on the manager no question , shocking decision to go changing the team for this game . You'd have thought he'd have learnt after LJ done more or less the same thing.

Hibees1973
20-07-2024, 04:17 PM
We still have to play Peterhead before we play any league gamesOh good, looking forward to that.

That one is on the manager no question , shocking decision to go changing the team for this game . You'd have thought he'd have learnt after LJ done more or less the same thing.

Hopefully he'll learn quickly. We start the same team (Cadden injury excepted) as against Elgin and we win today's game.

Donegal Hibby
Kelty could win the group. We might be pressed to qualify as one of the best 2nd place finishers....and 9 points wont see us seeded---hello Celtic or Rangers

More reason to take the game seriously today and start with your strongest team .

20-07-2024, 04:18 PM
Must rank alongside some of our worst ever cup results.Naw someone said it was not that bad when I mentioned it a while back. It is up the top with some of the worst.

NC1875
20-07-2024, 04:18 PM

Rookie manager making rookie mistakes.

Who’d have thought!

Also how many times do you play the dross before you realise they’re not good enough and go and sign some first team ready players.

Good old Hibs.

Hibees1973
20-07-2024, 04:19 PM
Yeah I know (I won't say 4 losses hopefully! [emoji23])Even so if we lose the first 2 league games I'm sure some will remember today to bundle it inIt just adds pressure to gray pretty quickly Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using TapatalkThink I read one poster saying we will get 10 points from the first 4 games.

20-07-2024, 04:20 PM
Hopefully he'll learn quickly. We start the same team (Cadden injury excepted) as against Elgin and we win today's game.Are you sure about that.

20-07-2024, 04:21 PM

Come on, it’s a ****ing junior team we’ve lost to in essence. We’re ***** and getting *****r and if folk think this is acceptable at any level you’ll reap what to sow. It’s not and never will be acceptable and none of it is an over reaction, get a grip.

20-07-2024, 04:22 PM
Kelty could win the group. We might be pressed to qualify as one of the best 2nd place finishers....and 9 points wont see us seeded---hello Celtic or RangersYip win on Tuesday and they go above Hibs into first place, I'll repeat that Kelty Hearts will be 1st in Hibs group.

coldingham hibs
20-07-2024, 04:23 PM
Well, the optimism I had for this season has now evaporated. As a pretty pessimistic supporter generally I actually thought Gray might have changed the mindset. Unfortunately making 6 changes, upsetting the rhythm we had built and simply deciding to play a RB at LB has now got me thinking he is going to be as bad as the previous bunch. Pretty sure that result today will be the worst for any premier league team in the whole competition. Kelty couldn’t even beat a 10 man team in their previous game. Embarrassing as xxxx.

20-07-2024, 04:24 PM
Come on, it’s a ****ing junior team we’ve lost to in essence. We’re ***** and getting *****r and if folk think this is acceptable at any level you’ll reap what to sow. It’s not and never will be acceptable and none of it is an over reaction, get a grip.
I’m with you ffs hibs….c’mon

20-07-2024, 04:25 PM
Well, the optimism I had for this season has now evaporated. As a pretty pessimistic supporter generally I actually thought Gray might have changed the mindset. Unfortunately making 6 changes, upsetting the rhythm we had built and simply deciding to play a RB at LB has now got me thinking he is going to be as bad as the previous bunch. Pretty sure that result today will be the worst for any premier league team in the whole competition. Kelty couldn’t even beat a 10 man team in their previous game. Embarrassing as xxxx.

You will get ripped a new one for this by the happy clapppers, but you are correct

Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2024, 04:25 PM
Naw someone said it was not that bad when I mentioned it a while back. It is up the top with some of the worst.

Not for me. Playing a weak team, in a group format cup game that you don’t NEED to win.

It’s a bad result, not much more than that though imo.

Mrimbetween
20-07-2024, 04:32 PM
Had about 35mins to get back in the game, that's a scunner if ever

As mentioned the lack of squad quality is pretty evident and for all to see

I dont doubt for one moment Malky and Co are working like **** to get better in, but if all you can offer is peanuts you will get monkeys. We are losing out to players by teams who shouldnt be in our way

Where's the cash for players from the investment ?? Where as these big name loanees ??? hopefully see something soon

20-07-2024, 04:32 PM
Had about 35mins to get back in the game, that's a scunner if ever

As mentioned the lack of squad quality is pretty evident and for all to see

I dont doubt for one moment Malky and Co are working like **** to get better in, but if all you can offer is peanuts you will get monkeys. We are losing out to players by teams who shouldnt be in our way

Where's the cash for players from the investment ?? Where as these big name loanees ??? hopefully see something soon

Who have we missed out on and to what teams?

20-07-2024, 04:35 PM
Not for me. Playing a weak team, in a group format cup game that you don’t NEED to win.

I thought the mentality now was we need to win every game?

Because of how we approached the game and played today, we now NEED to win against Peterhead.

20-07-2024, 04:37 PM
If SDG wants to curry favour with the fans, he needs to come out and tell it like it is…certain players proved they aren’t good enough for Hibs, we need to strengthen and he will not tolerate another performance like that again. Where was the intensity, the pressing?

coldingham hibs
20-07-2024, 04:38 PM

We NEED to win every game, that’s why we don’t with that type of attitude. 1,300 supporters spent good, hard earned money to watch that effort today. If Hibs don’t intend trying to win matches could they tell us in advance so supporters can decide if they want to waste their money.

cubehindthegoal
20-07-2024, 04:38 PM
We don’t need this squad, though

And I bet SDG knows that … but what do you expect him to do about it, he has to go with what he has, and change it as we go, it’ll no be smooth, did you think it would be ? I’m sure he’d love to switch half the squad that are in contract but have to go out, and bring in better replacements. A couple of weeks won’t crack it.

20-07-2024, 04:43 PM
Not for me. Playing a weak team, in a group format cup game that you don’t NEED to win.It’s a bad result, not much more than that though imo.Big game now and must win against Peterheid who had a good result today.We need to be looking at winning every winnable game, no excuses.

20-07-2024, 04:44 PM
Gray played a right back at left back, a very poor lightweight striker as a winger and an attacking midfielder in an unnecessary holding role - that’s bad management and poor a very poor formation. Got what he deserved after that - he didn’t learn from Johnson, and the message should have been win the game, win the group, and use the last game to experiment. Now he’s under needless pressure only 3 competitive games in when the onus should have been building momentum.

20-07-2024, 04:48 PM
If SDG wants to curry favour with the fans, he needs to come out and tell it like it is…certain players proved they aren’t good enough for Hibs, we need to strengthen and he will not tolerate another performance like that again. Where was the intensity, the pressing?

That’s the confusing thing for me though.

Everything he has said is to the point, raising standards, taking every game seriously etc etc

Then he does that today

Whatever he says after the game will leave me feeling “you said that before and you never done it”

That’s not me writing him off btw or saying I won’t trust him as I still think he’ll be good. It was just a bit of an odd one.

The only thing I can think of is a fair few of the players on the bench were due to knocks or similar

20-07-2024, 04:49 PM
Have we heard from the manager yet, did the players stay on the park to applaud the bloody good support that managed to go through.

Gray played a right back at left back, a very poor lightweight striker as a winger and an attacking midfielder in an unnecessary holding role - that’s bad management and poor a very poor formation. Got what he deserved after that - he didn’t learn from Johnson, and the message should have been win the game, win the group, and use the last game to experiment. Now he’s under needless pressure only 3 competitive games in when the onus should have been building momentum.👍

Donegal Hibby

We are now in the position were we are relying on other teams doing us a favour in order to win the group which would see us seeded , kelty win their two games and we are looking at potentially a harder game , worse the old firm possibly.

20-07-2024, 04:50 PM
Have we heard from the manager yet, did the players stay on the park to applaud the bloody good support that managed to go through.

Sounded like the players were getting a bit of abuse on Hibs TV.

20-07-2024, 04:51 PM
Sounded like they were getting a bit of abuse on Hibs TV.Don't like to hear that but understandable.

20-07-2024, 04:52 PM
Have we heard from the manager yet, did the players stay on the park to applaud the bloody good support that managed to go through.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rl7Zlmbyz6U

Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2024, 04:58 PM
I thought the mentality now was we need to win every game?

Because of how we approached the game and played today, we now NEED to win against Peterhead.

That should always be the mentality.

In the grand scheme of things though, it’s nowhere near one of our worst ever results imo. The consequences of the defeat are pretty minimal for starters and we had half a team out (which I wouldn’t have personally done).

20-07-2024, 04:58 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rl7Zlmbyz6Ucheers, nothing said that I did not expect, as he has to put on a face for the camera's but was hoping he may have said why the changes, why no play strongest team then introduce the rest.

20-07-2024, 04:59 PM
Why do we as a club not take these group stages seriously? We have had our fingers burned several times now by making wholesale changes when we do not have any strength in depth.

Where is the 'gamechanging'investement too? Rhe board have a lot to answer for here and it's no wonder Kensell hides away on linked in and is nowhere to be seen in recent times.

Exuberance1875
20-07-2024, 05:00 PM
Players took a bit of stick at the end, early early days yet, however I guess it’s slightly expected on the back of a result like this with many going through feeling confident after two pretty good performances.

One thing that irked me today, ‘fans’ waiting until it’s quiet just to shout “(players name) your s***e” gets people absolutely nowhere and kills any sort of confidence these players may have. Always the usual suspects in terms of the players taking this abuse too.

Now I moan on here about players etc but wouldn’t just plainly call someone out like that. Really irritates me and absolutely never helps anyone.

Pretty obvious statement this so I know it’s not exactly going to change much but just wanted to put it out there.

Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2024, 05:00 PM
We are now in the position were we are relying on other teams doing us a favour in order to win the group which would see us seeded , kelty win their two games and we are looking at potentially a harder game , worse the old firm possibly.

If Kelty go on and win their remaining two games then they’ll deserve to win the group. I’d suggest that’s unlikely though.

1875Sean
20-07-2024, 05:03 PM
If Kelty go on and win their remaining two games then they’ll deserve to win the group. I’d suggest that’s unlikely though.

Unlikely that will happen

20-07-2024, 05:07 PM
If Kelty go on and win their remaining two games then they’ll deserve to win the group. I’d suggest that’s unlikely though.Mystic Meg does know, and the crystals tell her every possibility, and Hibs will have to play the huns.

HFC93
20-07-2024, 05:10 PM

Only the best 3 group winners are seeded. 9 points will almost definitely not be enough for us to be seeded. So today could cost us badly even if we win the group.

20-07-2024, 05:13 PM
Are you sure about that.

I'm sure we would have won. I'm hopeful he'll learn.

20-07-2024, 05:15 PM
Only the best 3 group winners are seeded. 9 points will almost definitely not be enough for us to be seeded. So today could cost us badly even if we win the group.This should be pinned on the dressing room wall.

20-07-2024, 05:16 PM
Only the best 3 group winners are seeded. 9 points will almost definitely not be enough for us to be seeded. So today could cost us badly even if we win the group.

Yep. We’ll win next week and go through. We’ve given up the seeding in the next round though. Very poor in a group like this.

Bad day and an early set back for Gray that he/we could have done without.

20-07-2024, 05:19 PM
Only the best 3 group winners are seeded. 9 points will almost definitely not be enough for us to be seeded. So today could cost us badly even if we win the group.Really poor today and it no doubt has cost us. Just need to hope we avoid Celtic, Rangers and Hearts. Other seeded team at home and I'd fancy us. Not excusing today though, that result is nowhere near good enough

20-07-2024, 05:19 PM
The other thing from today. We pretty much had two crosses to defend all day. One ended up cleared off the line after the goalie made a mess of it and the other ended up in the net. Last season all over again.

20-07-2024, 05:30 PM
Dundee U 1 Ayr U 1oops wrong thread doh

hibeez1875
20-07-2024, 05:38 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rl7Zlmbyz6UNot taking responsibility for the weakened starting line-up then.

20-07-2024, 05:45 PM

Came over, but got pelters off some and applause of some others.

20-07-2024, 05:46 PM
The way we take group stage games seriously is by managing the club in a way that we never end up in the bottom six in the first place. Ineptitude got us here and ineptitude ruled today.

20-07-2024, 05:52 PM
Yon was pish....

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

20-07-2024, 06:03 PM
The way we take group stage games seriously is by managing the club in a way that we never end up in the bottom six in the first place. Ineptitude got us here and ineptitude ruled today.

What irks me is David clearly hasn’t read the room of the last two years - quailty first, end of ! This isn’t pre-season it’s straight into competition - that’s a huge worry. One step forward, three steps back. Too many players at this club (also) that take the easy route of having a niggle and that’s immediately seen as a precautionary drop . Not good enough and these players mentality needs to change. Or pay them off !

20-07-2024, 06:05 PM
Yon was pish....

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

He wasn’t even playing

TrinityHFC
20-07-2024, 06:07 PM

Correct. We shouldn’t be playing in this stage ideally. Successive managers make changes in these games because the reality is at this stage of getting players back in they just can’t be played every few days.

That team should still have won though…,

percy veer
20-07-2024, 06:11 PM
Sounded like the players were getting a bit of abuse on Hibs TV.

They did quite rightly, I was more surprised at Rockys reaction looks like he had wondered what was wrong.

20-07-2024, 06:14 PM
They did quite rightly, I was more surprised at Rockys reaction looks like he had wondered what was wrong.

Yes same here. He looked surprised at the team as a whole (not him personally) getting pelters. He was a liability again today, repeatedly unable to header a ball competently. In our 6 games this season so far (3 friendlies and 3 LC games) we have only conceded when he has been on the park.

20-07-2024, 06:16 PM
Gray has stupidly put himself in the possible position of back to back defeats by two (on paper) vastly inferior teams. Not the start to his managerial career he would have hoped for but it’s all on his own back and I have no sympathy for him. Four decisive wins and team selections to that end, should have been his priority. Worrying lack of judgement and decision making in my opinion.

20-07-2024, 06:50 PM
Hibs fans after todays result;https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pOUPDTqw4qI

20-07-2024, 06:54 PM

If he doesn't know what's wrong he should have a look on social media where we are being ridiculed once again. Gray has a monumental task creating a decent side from this mediocre squad.

21-07-2024, 12:09 AM
As angry as I was about today, I just watched the highlights back.

How we lost that game is absolutely mental

Rocky shot of line
Vente off post
Vente over the bar
Martins cross/shot that was cleared off line
Molotnikov chance
Mckirdy left foot effort where he dragged past post
Mckirdy volley
Levitt shot from distance
O’Hora shot from distance

Not all are “should be goals” and some were speculative, but we tested them a lot

Also some of O’Hora’s passing was incredible for a centre half

Albert Kidd 86’
21-07-2024, 05:08 AM
My take on the game was that: Miller got clattered in the first 30 seconds, a message that was not understood by Hibs.We need to grow a pair and learn that teams know we have a soft side and do not like to get pushed around. Miller is our most feisty player hence the attention early, it’s classic street fighting, which is exactly what I expected from a team in maroon.SDG is learning management and I think we should allow for that, but he surely knows about the dark arts on the pitch and has said we will be flexible, yesterday was a day for coming out strong from the get go and keeping them down and in their place.A bad day at the office, but the lesson is get your hits in early and assert control from the get go.

21-07-2024, 06:43 AM

There were a lot of shouts about it being embarrassing etc. He pointed at someone and kind of half thought about coming over I think. Changed his mind and stormed off the other way.

#2 Double Tap
21-07-2024, 07:41 AM
Shocking result.

Hopefully makes malky realise the work they have done is still way short of where we need to be.

This ain’t Ross county, we need proper signings. If we don’t get a striker and decent goalie we are gonna struggle again.

21-07-2024, 07:50 AM
Shocking result.

Hopefully makes malky realise the work they have done is still way short of where we need to be.

This ain’t Ross county, we need proper signings. If we don’t get a striker and decent goalie we are gonna struggle again.We ain't signing anymore goalies surely

This isn't John Hughes goalkeeping school

SickBoy32
21-07-2024, 08:23 AM
There were a lot of shouts about it being embarrassing etc. He pointed at someone and kind of half thought about coming over I think. Changed his mind and stormed off the other way.

Huff merchant that needs binned.

So far off the required standard and his heid is firmly in the clouds regarding his ability.

#2 Double Tap
21-07-2024, 08:57 AM
We ain't signing anymore goalies surely This isn't John Hughes goalkeeping school Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk well the standard of the one we got looks like thats what we are trying to emulate.

21-07-2024, 09:55 AM
well the standard of the one we got looks like thats what we are trying to emulate.We've signed 2 goalies

Bursik looks pretty competent to me so far

21-07-2024, 10:02 AM
well the standard of the one we got looks like thats what we are trying to emulate.

What are you basing that on?

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2024, 10:06 AM
Two outfield players Aberdeen changed from their previous game, one of them a new signing that apparently had a suspension . We made 5 ! .

21-07-2024, 10:12 AM
We should still be beating Kelty Hearts even with the changes. That's not the reason for me. We did everything but score and got punished for not doing so. Another embarrassing result to add to the list. Luckily it's early enough it the season to learn from it.

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2024, 10:24 AM
We should still be beating Kelty Hearts even with the changes. That's not the reason for me. We did everything but score and got punished for not doing so. Another embarrassing result to add to the list. Luckily it's early enough it the season to learn from it.

I don't get why he felt the need to make 5 outfield changes to the team especially with a friendly game coming up . As I said Aberdeen only made two outfield changes , one due to a suspension.

Thelin didn't feel the need to change his team and break the momentum they were on , why did Gray ? .

21-07-2024, 10:27 AM
I don't get why he felt the need to make 5 outfield changes to the team especially with a friendly game coming up . As I said Aberdeen only made two outfield changes , one due to a suspension. Thelin didn't feel the need to change his team and break the momentum they were on , why did Gray ? . Who cares about Aberdeen? Totally different club and squad to ours. Guys like McKirdy, Amos, Levitt needed competitive minutes to be ready for the start of the season. Simple as. Its not why we lost. Vente doesn't score his 2 sitters if its Newell passing to him either.

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2024, 10:43 AM
Who cares about Aberdeen? Totally different club and squad to ours. Guys like McKirdy, Amos, Levitt needed competitive minutes to be ready for the start of the season. Simple as. Its not why we lost. Vente doesn't score his 2 sitters if its Newell passing to him either.

Could they not have got minutes to be ready for the start of the season against Watford ? .

Nobody does care about Aberdeen though it does go to show one team going more or less full strength to try and win their group while the other puts out a weakened team .

Ones done things right ,while the others been complacent .

Chorley Hibee
21-07-2024, 10:47 AM
I don't get why he felt the need to make 5 outfield changes to the team especially with a friendly game coming up . As I said Aberdeen only made two outfield changes , one due to a suspension.

Thelin didn't feel the need to change his team and break the momentum they were on , why did Gray ? .

Because Gray isn't a suitable choice for manager.

I don't blame him for that, I blame the board and owners, but the simple truth of the matter is that David Gray wouldn't be chosen as the manager by any club currently in the Scottish Premiership.

A cheap and easy option for those up the stairs to hide behind, hoping that his cult status as a player will give them the breathing space to keep picking up their inflated wages.

The club is a mess, and I think it's only going to get worse before it gets better.

21-07-2024, 10:58 AM
Could they not have got minutes to be ready for the start of the season against Watford ? . Nobody does care about Aberdeen though it does go to show one team going more or less full strength to try and win their group while the other puts out a weakened team . Ones done things right ,while the others been complacent . Or our strikers missed a hatful of chances and theirs didn't. Vente isn't more or less likely to score his easy chances if its Newell passing to him. Did you give Lennon stick for giving Porteous and Fraser Murray minutes in the league cup in 2017?

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2024, 11:00 AM
Because Gray isn't a suitable choice for manager.

I don't blame him for that, I blame the board and owners, but the simple truth of the matter is that David Gray wouldn't be chosen as the manager by any club currently in the Scottish Premiership.

A cheap and easy option for those up the stairs to hide behind, hoping that his cult status as a player will give them the breathing space to keep picking up their inflated wages.

The club is a mess, and I think it's only going to get worse before it gets better.

I just don't know what Gray was thinking on with that team he picked, especially when he was part of the staff that witnessed another manager doing more or less the same thing and getting burnt by it .

It wasn't the game be making that many changes in especially with a friendly coming up in a few days too .
Really thought it was very naive management on Grays behalf not to go full strength in what was an important game to us .

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2024, 11:17 AM
Or our strikers missed a hatful of chances and theirs didn't. Vente isn't more or less likely to score his easy chances if its Newell passing to him. Did you give Lennon stick for giving Porteous and Fraser Murray minutes in the league cup in 2017?

He still put out a weakened team in a game that was important when he had a another one coming up in a few days thats of no importance whatsoever.

Had he went full strength and won yesterday the Peterhead game would have been a better opportunity to rotate the team as well , seeing as it's on our own patch rather than experimenting on a pitch like that too.

Sorry but I think Gray got it badly wrong and there might now be consequences in the draw as we will more than likely be unseeded .

I said before as others have , we should have concentrated on winning the group first and then rotate the team if we need too .

21-07-2024, 11:41 AM

Problem is, more than half of that starting line-up isn’t really any better than Kelty Hearts level so I don’t see why we “should” be winning that game.

Wouldn’t surprise me at all if it required a drop of 2 Scottish divisions for the new keeper, Rocky, Megwa playing at LB, Levitt, Amos, McKirdy and Vente to look like good, consistent players.

Chuck in one or two of them at a time into our best team and we might get away with it, throw in that many and it’s inevitable we’ll struggle.

They’re just not good enough, even if we try to see good in them and fight their corner. None of these players will be good enough to make a positive impact in a respectable Hibs team albeit we might get a relative contribution whilst we’re in our current state.

I’m pleased we’ve improved our first team, the first team needs to improve further but the squad depth is just abysmal.

21-07-2024, 11:47 AM
I just don't know what Gray was thinking on with that team he picked, especially when he was part of the staff that witnessed another manager doing more or less the same thing and getting burnt by it .

It wasn't the game be making that many changes in especially with a friendly coming up in a few days too .
Really thought it was very naive management on Grays behalf not to go full strength in what was an important game to us .

Agree totally.

He had a dug out view of LJ making similar mistakes last year and paying for it with his job.

This squad just doesn’t have what it takes to cope with that amount of rotation.

He’s brought unnecessary pressure on himself, as I find it hard to accept that with appropriate subs and game management that our first team is incapable of playing 3 games in a week in July.

NC1875
21-07-2024, 11:51 AM
Or our strikers missed a hatful of chances and theirs didn't. Vente isn't more or less likely to score his easy chances if its Newell passing to him. Did you give Lennon stick for giving Porteous and Fraser Murray minutes in the league cup in 2017?

Porteous and Murray were 2 academy graduates looking to break into the first team.

Gray played absolute donkeys who shouldn’t be anywhere near Hibs. And if it’s to get them match fit like you’ve said a million times, then we’re in for a very long season.

Hes surely seen enough of them already to realise they’re crap. Trying the same thing 100 times doesn’t give you a different outcome.

A rookie mistake by a rookie manager.

21-07-2024, 12:19 PM
Agree totally.

He had a dug out view of LJ making similar mistakes last year and paying for it with his job.

This squad just doesn’t have what it takes to cope with that amount of rotation.

He’s brought unnecessary pressure on himself, as I find it hard to accept that with appropriate subs and game management that our first team is incapable of playing 3 games in a week in July.

Yep, I thought one of the biggest selling points to Gray getting the job was that he knew the squad. What was he expecting other than a big drop off performance wise playing the likes of Levit, Rocky, McKirdy as well as stuck having to play the backup keeper, Megwa at LB and Vente up front.

I can only hope it was a team selection to make a point and hasten the recruitment. Otherwise it’s an early worry that Gray will ultimately continue where the likes of Maloney, Johnson & Montgomery left of than rather than Gray seeing what was going wrong under these managers but not having the power to fix the issues.

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2024, 12:23 PM
Agree totally.

Aberdeen went out with a full strength team and now if they beat Airdrie next they will go on to top their group and be seeded which will mean they will avoid any chance of getting the OF in the draw.

Us ? Through our own complancey , we are now in the lap of the gods on who we get even with a win against Peterhead. Drawing the OF normally means 9/10 your going out and you've lost one of only two chances of getting some silverware.

Even if you don't win it , I read the quarter finalists get 100k , semi finalists 150k and runners up 200k . So there's the financial side of it to be gained by giving the cup a real go too.

Yesterdays result as much as I love SDG i put squarely don't to poor management , worrying thing about it is he should have known after it had happened before... 😟

Mikey_1875
21-07-2024, 02:01 PM
How can some be so confident that putting better footballers on the park from the start yesterday wouldn’t have made a difference to the result?

It’s not a guarantee but for me it’s the biggest frustration from yesterday. We lost the game without throwing everything we had available at it.

21-07-2024, 02:36 PM
How can some be so confident that putting better footballers on the park from the start yesterday wouldn’t have made a difference to the result?

It’s not a guarantee but for me it’s the biggest frustration from yesterday. We lost the game without throwing everything we had available at it.

Out of curiosity other than Newall who, that was available, didn't we use?

21-07-2024, 02:46 PM

Whittaker Rueben McAllister and Eggs and Potatoes

Mikey_1875
21-07-2024, 02:52 PM

I should clarify I meant from the start as getting an early goal can be important in these types of games. To answer your question fairly though Ekpiteta over Rocky. Not bringing Newell on at all is a hard one to get my head around though.

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2024, 02:53 PM
Starting lineup for queen's park game at ER

Bursik .

Miller .
Ekpiteta.
O'Hora.
Obita.
NMW .
Newell.
Campbell.
Boyle.
Vente .
Rudi.

Yesterdays team.

Smith *.

Miller.
Rocky .
O'Hora.
Megwa.
Amos .
Levitt.
Rudi .
Mckirdy.
Vente.
Boyle .

* Smith being in for Bursik because of a hip injury is fair enough.

21-07-2024, 03:02 PM
Who cares about Aberdeen? Totally different club and squad to ours. Guys like McKirdy, Amos, Levitt needed competitive minutes to be ready for the start of the season. Simple as. Its not why we lost. Vente doesn't score his 2 sitters if its Newell passing to him either.

It’s possible to get minutes without starting

21-07-2024, 03:07 PM

McKirdy needs binned, nowhere near good enough to play for our great club. He can play games down the public park.

21-07-2024, 03:08 PM
I still don’t understand why our club captain didn’t play.

Donegal Hibby
21-07-2024, 03:14 PM

Saving him for the Watford game? 😬

cameronw-hfc
21-07-2024, 03:22 PM
McKirdy needs binned, nowhere near good enough to play for our great club. He can play games down the public park.

He was our best player vs kelty

21-07-2024, 03:25 PM
It’s possible to get minutes without startingThat really shouldnt need pointing out, but some folk still cant see it.

I thought so too

Only player that looked like scoring.

McKirdy isn't the problem.

21-07-2024, 03:28 PM

Still needs moved on if we can. He ran about a bit and was unlucky with his shot that hit the bar. He’s no helping solve our current problems though.

Chorley Hibee
21-07-2024, 03:28 PM

Looked like scoring?

He was playing against Kelty Hearts FFS and he still hasn't managed a goal!

Not a single goal or contribution to speak of since his arrival.

I've seldom seen a player so far out of his depth.

21-07-2024, 03:29 PM
Only player that looked like scoring.McKirdy isn't the problem.He looked lively yesterday, but not sure a player who's contributed zero goals and assists in almost 30 games isn't a problem. Poor players can and will have good games, Ewan Henderson had a few good games for us.

21-07-2024, 03:30 PM
Looked like scoring?

He was playing against Kelty Hearts FFS and he still hasn't managed a goal!

Not a single goal or contribution to speak of since his arrival.

I've seldom seen a player so far out of his depth.

Yesterday he was the only player that looked like scoring but Gray took him off.

21-07-2024, 03:31 PM

I think he (amongst others) are a big part of the problem. Contributed nothing in two years, albeit he’s been unfortunate for part of that. I thought he was lively yesterday but it’ll take a lot more than a lively 45 minutes against a League One side to change opinions.

21-07-2024, 03:32 PM
Yesterday he was the only player that looked like scoring but Gray took him off.

Given all the talk about how they’ve been managing him, I don’t think taking him off would have been a football decision.

LewysGot2
21-07-2024, 03:34 PM

Driving back from Fife I'm sure someone on the radio said he was being given a rest as he'd felt a minor issue with his hip after the two previous games and the pitch being rotten and potentially aggravating it was taken into account.

Sounds like medical preventative advice.

21-07-2024, 03:35 PM
Driving back from Fife I'm sure someone on the radio said he was being given a rest as he'd felt a minor issue with his hip after the two previous games and the pitch being rotten and potentially aggravating it was taken into account.

Sounds like medical preventative advice.
That was Bursik I think.

21-07-2024, 03:36 PM

And yet, nowhere near our worst yesterday and unlucky not to score. Assume he was taken off due to fitness because his performance wasn't bad.

LewysGot2
21-07-2024, 03:36 PM
That was Bursik I think.

Ah, thanks! I heard the chat but not the very beginning.

The Tubs
21-07-2024, 03:38 PM
Looked like scoring? He was playing against Kelty Hearts FFS and he still hasn't managed a goal! Not a single goal or contribution to speak of since his arrival. I've seldom seen a player so far out of his depth. While it's not much, he set up one of Youan's against Motherwell in January.

Silky
21-07-2024, 03:57 PM

David Gray was reading this site and discovered that he is actually "bang average", "slow", "lacks urgency" and not good enough so decided to leave him out. Fans opinions matter!!

Coach Jon
21-07-2024, 04:07 PM
Only player that looked like scoring. McKirdy isn't the problem. Looked like scoring? He has looked like scoring for 2 years now. Fed up hearing folk saying "unlucky Harry". Dont fault his effort, but he is just not good enough. The standards at our club need to be higher, they are in the gutter at the moment.

21-07-2024, 04:09 PM
And yet, nowhere near our worst yesterday and unlucky not to score. Assume he was taken off due to fitness because his performance wasn't bad.

My point stands though, absolutely sick of the standard of players we’ve signed. Don’t think I’ve ever been this despondent before but I’m really really sick of it. There’s other things that get my blood pressure up si maybe time to walk away.

21-07-2024, 04:20 PM

He wouldn’t get a game for Kelty, he’s pish and not the required standard for Hibs. Sick of all the blowing smoke up these players noses.

21-07-2024, 04:30 PM
McKirdy is nowhere near the standard required and if he was out best player yesterday then maybe losing to Kelty Hearts wasn't a fluke

He's here!
21-07-2024, 04:36 PM
He wouldn’t get a game for Kelty, he’s pish and not the required standard for Hibs. Sick of all the blowing smoke up these players noses.

There's no need for that. He's clearly better than Kelty standard judging by the clubs he's played for. Didn't set the heather alight when he first came to Hibs and his application may have been questionable but a vast chunk of his time with us has been spent dealing with and recovering from a serious health issue that could have ended his career.

I don't have a lot of positive things to say about the club these days but the way they've handled him strikes me as worthy of praise. Be great if he could grab a goal or two even if he's not with us long term.

21-07-2024, 04:53 PM
McKirdy is nowhere near the standard required and if he was out best player yesterday then maybe losing to Kelty Hearts wasn't a fluke

He’s a joke of a signing. Looks like he’s won a game with the team in a prize draw.

21-07-2024, 05:34 PM
There's no need for that. He's clearly better than Kelty standard judging by the clubs he's played for. Didn't set the heather alight when he first came to Hibs and his application may have been questionable but a vast chunk of his time with us has been spent dealing with and recovering from a serious health issue that could have ended his career.

I don't have a lot of positive things to say about the club these days but the way they've handled him strikes me as worthy of praise. Be great if he could grab a goal or two even if he's not with us long term.

There is need to say it though, we’ve been defending terrible players for the last 4 years. Multi billionaires and we’re still hoping McKirdy comes good. It’s an absolute shambles. When you think of some of the great players that have worn our famous shirt it beggars belief anyone can defend players like McKirdy playing in our first team. We’ve really let our minimum standard drops. I’m sorry but it’s just getting ridiculous now.