24-07-2024, 06:38 PM
2-1 Watford
What a goal by Vatta
Slight deflection I think however
What a goal is a tad generous.
Could do with a midfield here? Watford getting all the time they need in there. [emoji35]
Started really well but totally lost our way once they joined in.
Hibees1973
Lovell doesn’t ever sound that he likes Hibs.He's fine. Saying it how it is. No sugar coating from Lovell.
Davy Mac
Again, too much time allowed to take the shot, didn't close the player down.
We aren’t signing a midfielder eh
hfcok
24-07-2024, 06:39 PM
I’m not keen on the keeper, surely he will be the no2
Played well before they equalised by our passing goes to **** when we’re slightly under pressure!
Again, too much time allowed to take the shot, didn't close the player down.
When was the last time you saw a Hibs midfielder work hard to win the ball back?[emoji849]
24-07-2024, 06:40 PM
We aren’t signing a midfielder eh
No chance. We'll go with the 6 bog standard midfielders that we've got.
24-07-2024, 06:40 PM
I’m not keen on the keeper, surely he will be the no2
Why? Done nothing wrong tonight so far
24-07-2024, 06:41 PM
No chance. We'll go with the 6 bog standard midfielders that we've got.
Yeay.
Mind you, newell was good against Elgin and Queens Park so we’ll be fine
24-07-2024, 06:41 PM
Lovell in.
Watford well on top knocking the ball around for fun.
yerauldda
24-07-2024, 06:43 PM
Been a depressing watch since the first 15 minutes.
Lovell digging himself in a hole here
Hibees1973
Is Boyle aiming to kick it out the park. That's twice now. Get Joe on the free kicks.
Yeay.
Mind you, newell was good against Elgin and Queens Park so we’ll be fine
We’ve got another three years watching teams play through us with ease.
24-07-2024, 06:44 PM
Can’t believe Lovell just described Molotnikov as “slight”
Another over hit ball by Boyle, calm doon man ffs
We still need 3-4 quality players for this 1st team, you look at the subs bench and it gives you the fear, MM was right, it'll take 2-3 windows to sort out this mess.
Lovell digging himself in a hole here
He's talking out of his.
Davy Mac
I like Boyler, but sorry, it's a dead ball cross and makes a total erse of it again. Simple stuff, c'mon.
Loopz
At least when DG sits in the dugout I don't have to watch him standing with his hands in his pockets.
Albert Kidd 86’
Where can you buy a hi tech lovell scarer?
24-07-2024, 06:45 PM
He's talking out of his.
Just let him take over at HT. Seems to know everything
We looked promising for 20 minutes but I think Watford were sitting back weighing us up. For the last 20 minutes they have taken control of the game.
K-Zazu
He's fine. Saying it how it is. No sugar coating from Lovell.
He just talks to much.
That’s enough live football for me tonight - just a friendly but episode 2 of The Jetty calling
EGL2000
24-07-2024, 06:47 PM
Number 10 ‘Louza’ that scored the goal was on loan at Lorient last season.
Wonder if he’s one we’d be interested in
No chance will be on a hefty wage. They spent 10 mil on him as well.
He just talks to much.
At least you can hear what he’s saying. Cliff Pike sounds like he’s inside a cupboard. Maybe his mike is duff.
We’re just not very good 🤷
24-07-2024, 06:48 PM
I’ve got the fear for this season
SDG hung out to dry
hfcok
24-07-2024, 06:48 PM
Why? Done nothing wrong tonight so far
Just don’t think he is commanding enough, maybe getting used to everyone, and maybe fitness. Time will tell
1875M
24-07-2024, 06:49 PM
Meh. Interesting to see what he changes cos clearly not working.
It’s stating the obvious but you watch us and we’re just crying out for more players. Very reliant on a small group and some of them aren’t even that good.
Albert Kidd 86’
It does appear that we are all good when the opposing team do not press us, as soon as they apply the pressure we seem to lose our composure or switch off. How do we sort that out is the question.
24-07-2024, 06:50 PM
Gameplan went out the window shortly after we scored and they decided to show up.
Unlucky with the deflections but it's amateur stuff at times. Midfield fell fell apart as per and Vente is a man down as per. Look amateur at times. Friendly or not you can see why many can't be arsed going along to watch it.
I wouldn't be surprised to see Lovell replace Megwa at half time.
Looks like 7 changes as 7 warming down including boyle and vente
24-07-2024, 06:51 PM
What have we got to change it?
expresso
At least it’s a nice strip and pitch is stunning
scm70nyd1973
It’s on YouTube mate.
Bit of a Keep Up Bond moment for me - cheers 👍
We’ve got another three years watching teams play through us with ease.Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYip, going to be a long season based on this first half.
EGL2000
Looks like it will pretty much be a changed 11 for the second half. Most of the ones who started warming down there at half time. Makes sense to rest them for Saturday as well.
Don’t think Hibs have been too bad against a decent side. Usual folk want to moan about midfield but O’Hora should do better at first goal and 2nd goal it’s Obita standing off the man and then a huge deflection.
Molotnikov has done pretty well against a tough opponent
yerauldda
24-07-2024, 06:52 PM
It does appear that we are all good when the opposing team do not press us, as soon as they apply the pressure we seem to lose our composure or switch off. How do we sort that out is the question.
We don’t have the players to deal with a press.
Campbell cannot handle the ball in tight situations as shown for the goal there. The rest of the midfield aren’t particularly adept at it either.
Hoe badly do we need a striker. 2 strikers in fact.
pollution
Do Hibs allow you tube to broadcast the match live ?
Yip, going to be a long season based on this first half.
It’s mad how the club persists with the same and expects different results from a different manager.
The midfield has seen the last 2/3 managers out the door
nsandy62
24-07-2024, 06:53 PM
Do Hibs allow you tube to broadcast the match live ?Yes
Someone posted this on twitter
Elie Youan sitting in front of me in a full leg brace. That’s not a good sign.
Davy Mac
24-07-2024, 06:55 PM
Desperately need another creative midfielder/ball player as Boyle can't be the only option.
Also, Vente is just not our 20 goal a season striker and sadly, it just feels more of the same, no real leader by example and nobody with that bit of magic that can make the difference.
We need a couple of marquee signings and fast.
Chorley Hibee
Hoe badly do we need a striker. 2 strikers in fact.
We need about 6 starters across defence, midfield and up front.
The current squad is utter garbage, and it's not far off getting us into serious trouble this season.
I truly fear where we're heading.
It’s mad how the club persists with the same and expects different results from a different manager.
The midfield has seen the last 2/3 managers out the door
The club probably have realistic expectations of Gray until we get some more players in. We’ve got 5/6 weeks to do that.
“The club persist with the same” is nonsense. Managers have brought in Levitt,NMW and Amos in the last 12 months for starters
TelaStella
24-07-2024, 06:56 PM
Do Hibs allow you tube to broadcast the match live ?
it’s through the club’s YouTube channel
Don’t think Hibs have been too bad against a decent side. Usual folk want to moan about midfield but O’Hora should do better at first goal and 2nd goal it’s Obita standing off the man and then a huge deflection.
Not seeing what O’Hora could’ve done for the first? Newell dropped back in and left the player for NMW to pickup but he just stood and marked nobody.
If this is going to be our starting three in midfield ill be very worried.
Criminal that it's been two months since the ****ing season ended and a week and a half til our first league game and we STILL don't have any improvements on this garbage midfield or non scoring strike force. ****ing pathetic.
Desperately need another creative midfielder/ball player as Boyle can't be the only option.Also, Vente is just not our 20 goal a season striker and sadly, it just feels more of the same, no real leader by example and nobody with that bit of magic that can make the difference.We need a couple of marquee signings and fast.We are still relying on 2 out of the 3 midfielders who were never good enough together, and it wasn’t all down to JDH.
RossScott1991
Seen the team. Seen the midfield.
Didn’t expect anything else
Long season ahead. Will bang on and on. New attackers are great but until we upgrade the midfield with proper quality we will continue to see same thing every season.
Only now we’ve made one of these midfielders club captain.
24-07-2024, 06:57 PM
That’s how I saw it.
The club probably have realistic expectations of Gray until we get some more players in. We’ve got 5/6 weeks to do that.
“The club persist with the same” is nonsense. Managers have brought in Levitt,NMW and Amos in the last 12 months for starters
But they are really just more of the same.
Midfield is *****, Vente is like a man down and Boyle is not half the player he was a few years ago.
Unless we make 3 or 4 big signings before the window closes I'd be surprised if we made too 6 nevermind challenging for 3rd.
Chorley Hibee
24-07-2024, 06:59 PM
Midfield is *****, Vente is like a man down and Boyle is not half the player he was a few years ago.
Unless we make 3 or 4 big signings before the window closes I'd be surprised if we made too 6 nevermind challenging for 3rd.
We'll be lucky to stay up with this squad.
Northfield Hibby
24-07-2024, 06:59 PM
Unless we make 3 or 4 big signings before the window closes I'd be surprised if we made too 6 nevermind challenging for 3rd.Agree 100%. We need strikers but that midfield is awful
Sent from my SM-A125F using Tapatalk
24-07-2024, 07:00 PM
I wouldn't go that far to be honest. St Johnstone and Ross county will be considerably worse than us but we're probably looking at a similar league position to last season at the moment IMO.
24-07-2024, 07:00 PM
The problem is that when they've tried to bring in players they've mostly been worse than those already here. Newell is our best midfielder and the only one who'd start for most clubs in the league. A couple of others are decent squad players and the rest are woeful. Most wouldn't even get on the bench of half the teams in the league.
Hibees1973
24-07-2024, 07:01 PM
We don’t have the players to deal with a press.Campbell cannot handle the ball in tight situations as shown for the goal there. The rest of the midfield aren’t particularly adept at it either.We can't press and cannot cope when decent sides want to press us. Not a good combination. Even at our level it's down to having 6 or 7 players in the team who are either slow, cannot cope under pressure or unable keep the ball in tight spaces. Sadly, another upcoming season of mediocrity unless Mackay comes up with significant upgrades in this window.
Yet have to persist with Campbell and newell because levitt and Amos aren’t good enough quality to replace them
That’s where the problem lies, to pish poor recruitment
MelbourneHibees
Could have been a bad one that Newell tackle. Right on the shin. The boy appeared to not be wearing any shin pads though.
24-07-2024, 07:02 PM
Out of all our midfielders the only decent one for me is Newell.
2 new ones required in beside him.
NMW and Campbell not at the level we need.
Levitt skilful but can’t run.
JDH continually injured.
Gonna be a long season if we don’t get proper reinforcements in the middle and up front
24-07-2024, 07:02 PM
Not seeing what O’Hora could’ve done for the first? Newell dropped back in and left the player for NMW to pickup but he just stood and marked nobody.
If this is going to be our starting three in midfield ill be very worried.
Block the cross. He was very slow
Started off bright and scored then Watford turned up, midfield went walkabout and forgot to close down their men, little creativity, a few players working hard but need at least 4 quality players and at least another 4 for the bench, gonna be a long season if this isn't sorted ASAP.
1875M
24-07-2024, 07:03 PM
What have we got to change it?
Nothing. We need 4/5 starters otherwise it’s bottom 6.
24-07-2024, 07:04 PM
Agree 100%. We need strikers but that midfield is awful
Sent from my SM-A125F using Tapatalk
Thanks to the recruitment team we’ve now got around 10 midfielders from which we’ll never create a balanced midfield. There’s next to no creative spark and no real physical presence. It’s utterly depressing so called qualified coaches cannot see it as it’s been the case for the last 5 years.
24-07-2024, 07:05 PM
Omg we’re going to get pumped this half
MelbourneHibees
24-07-2024, 07:05 PM
Everyone bar Megwa subbed.
Good decisive action from Gray ;)
24-07-2024, 07:06 PM
Thanks to the recruitment team we’ve now got around 10 midfielders from which we’ll never create a balanced midfield. There’s next to no creative spark and no real physical presence. It’s utterly depressing so called qualified coaches cannot see it as it’s been the case for the last 5 years.
It’s really poor, no wonder we’ve not got much room in the budget.
24-07-2024, 07:07 PM
Everyone bar Megwa subbed.
Good decisive action from Gray ;)
This should be fun.
supermcginn
24-07-2024, 07:07 PM
Totally agree, without Maolida we are in deep trouble with this lot.
24-07-2024, 07:08 PM
Some size difference between Mckirdy and there centre half [emoji23][emoji23]
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
24-07-2024, 07:09 PM
What’s Calder like? 17? Is he potentially on the cusp of breaking through or just playing as Obita is outraged only left back?
Chorley Hibee
24-07-2024, 07:09 PM
I wouldn't go that far to be honest. St Johnstone and Ross county will be considerably worse than us but we're probably looking at a similar league position to last season at the moment IMO.
Worse? possibly, considerably worse? I don't think so.
We've currently a squad that's, at best, on par with what we finished last season with. Personally, without Youan and Maolida, I think we're absolutely gash.
It's also the same squad that had form for losing to both of those teams you mention.
Even if you're right about those two, it doesn't leave a lot of breathing space.
24-07-2024, 07:10 PM
Welcome back Scottish Refs
Totally agree, without Maolida we are in deep trouble with this lot.
Just wait until injuries and suspensions hit. The second half team says it all for me.
24-07-2024, 07:13 PM
Great ball, great touch and finish.
Hibees1973
Criminal that it's been two months since the ****ing season ended and a week and a half til our first league game and we STILL don't have any improvements on this garbage midfield or non scoring strike force. ****ing pathetic.To be fair to MacKay he has had to spend a fair bit of time shipping out a whole load of players signed by a highly dubious recruitment team over the last few years. If rumours are true and we don't have much cash until we sell (Youan), MacKay's hands are tied to a certain extent. Was a bit of a blow when someone mentioned Youan has a leg brace on.
Chorley Hibee
Just wait until injuries and suspensions hit. The second half team says it all for me.
It's too horrific to even contemplate.
We’re winning the league
Well **** me McKirdy scored a really nice goal
Lovely assist from Porto.
24-07-2024, 07:14 PM
Really well worked goal
Vente must be worried about his position in the starting lineup now.
Well **** me McKirdy scored a really nice goal
Streets ahead of Vente. Should be starting against Peterhead.
nice touch Mckirdy
All the negatives Will disappear again till the inevitable goal against.
Well done wee man 👍💚
Donegal Hibby
Go on Mckirdy . Delighted for him .
What’s Calder like? 17? Is he potentially on the cusp of breaking through or just playing as Obita is outraged only left back?
First I've heard of him... and his earliest contributions here have been promising.
Quite like the look of him.
McKirdy should jump ahead of Vente now in the, slim pickings, pecking order and get a chance.
Gaun yirsel Harry.....[emoji106]
24-07-2024, 07:15 PM
All the negatives Will disappear again till the inevitable goal against.
Excited for that
Go on Mckirdy . Delighted for him .
There is a player in there
24-07-2024, 07:16 PM
Streets ahead of Vente. Should be starting against Peterhead.
Shows for the ball and moves. Doubt you'd ever question his commitment and desire either. The physical side of the game has always been his downfall when fit.
Davy Mac
A bit of creativity leads to a goal, that's what we are talking about from Levitt. Also, a willing run by McKirdy, in all truth, would Vente have done that?
Maybe we're ok?
24-07-2024, 07:17 PM
Wow
24-07-2024, 07:17 PM
A bit of creativity leads to a goal, that's what we are talking about from Levitt. Also, a willing run by McKirdy, in all truth, would Vente have done that?
Nope. We wanted Simon Murray for the effort he would put in. Mckirdy is showing just as much in this game.
24-07-2024, 07:18 PM
Delf has had a pretty good 10 minutes
Had to check who the heck that was in the centre of the park
McKirdy was involved in everything good in the first half against Kelty. Movement, runs, showing gut ball and was unlucky on a couple of occasions.
Pleased for him this evening.
Trinity Hibee
It on radio for free anywhere?
Another good start to the half. Pleased for McKirdy.
24-07-2024, 07:19 PM
It on radio for free anywhere?It's on Hibs YouTube for free
TrinityHFC
24-07-2024, 07:19 PM
It's too horrific to even contemplate.
Good job we will be signing players then.
I get the concern but this daily wrist slitting at this stage is OTT.
pollution
24-07-2024, 07:20 PM
...... Lift the ball
Who’s captain in second half ?
24-07-2024, 07:21 PM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkDon't think anyone has the armband
McKirdy looking really lively.
Only a friendly but a few bits and pieces to like during this second half.
Maybe we're ok?
Okay will have us near about where we finished last year. Will see how the rest of the half goes but players like Levitt and McKirdy whilst good there need to show far more consistency with their goal contributions if they're ever to be the answer.
hibee1875
24-07-2024, 07:22 PM
Rocky
Chorley Hibee
24-07-2024, 07:22 PM
At this stage?
It's a week and a half to the league season starts, and our cup season has already started, with the usual embarrassing result to boot.
No doubt we'll next be told that any new signings will now need a few months to get up to speed etc, all whilst another season disappears down the drain.
I'm tired of it, and just for once, I'd love to see us actually prepared for the start of a season.
Davy Mac
24-07-2024, 07:23 PM
McKirdy looking really lively.
Only a friendly but a few bits and pieces to like during this second half.
Agreed, at least he looks like he gives a ****.
Trinity Hibee
24-07-2024, 07:23 PM
It's on Hibs YouTube for free
cameronw-hfc
24-07-2024, 07:25 PM
Delighted for Harry. There IS a useful player in there, I have a feeling we will see more of it this season.
24-07-2024, 07:25 PM
Cliff Pike fading into the distance again but I suppose he's struggling to get a word in.
Northern Hibby
24-07-2024, 07:26 PM
I know it's only a friendly, but I'm not seeing all the negatives others are seeing?
24-07-2024, 07:28 PM
Terrible football at the back but think it should've been a foul.
I know it's only a friendly, but I'm not seeing all the negatives others are seeing?
There we go
Amateur hour
That is piss poor from Harbottle
Couple of the goals we’ve given away ffs.
24-07-2024, 07:29 PM
sigh
That's a very poor goal to lose.
Im not quite sure what Harbottle was doing there
EGL2000
That's comical from harbottle
1875M
Another one that needs to go. Get him off the wage bill.
supermcginn
Harbottle is absolutely murder.
Trinity Hibee
24-07-2024, 07:30 PM
Why not shell it up the park there?
I know it's only a friendly, but I'm not seeing all the negatives others are seeing?I think the fallout from last season is still high in most. I’m seeing an uptick in desire and performance in the main that along with defensive changes will see us ok. I think we are 2 or 3 players away from competing as long as they are starters. Two strikers and a quality midfielder for me. We won’t be bottom 6 due to desire and playing style alone if we keep it up every game. The additions come and we will be the right end of the table.
Sauzee67
We must be really bad at the back when Dwayne Dibbley can score against us
Northern Hibby
There we go
Ok but still doing as bad as most are saying.
I know it's only a friendly, but I'm not seeing all the negatives others are seeing?2 goals from crosses to men who have walked into the box without a man going with them, also the crosses could have been stopped by better defending.Same old problems.
24-07-2024, 07:32 PM
What on earth does Gray see in Jiar 💩
1875M
24-07-2024, 07:32 PM
Tavares…
24-07-2024, 07:33 PM
That was a terrible goal to concede but, apart from that, I actually think it's been a decent game.
hibee1875
What on earth does Gray see in Jiar 💩
The fact there’s no one else to play there?
Harbottle showing why he’s not had much game time here. As for Jair, has there been a worse contract dished out by Hibs?
GreenPJ
People see what they want to see
24-07-2024, 07:34 PM
I think if every Hibs player on the park right now with the exception of the laddies were to be sold given away or discarded no one would blink an eye.
24-07-2024, 07:34 PM
Given this is very much a second string, some of the football we've played in possession has been very good.
That 3rd goal was horrible though - Harbottle, Calder and then whichever DM who should have been tracking runners (presumably Levitt showing off that old achilles heel again) all questionable.
I'm at the match. We are playing some slick football with a second string against a good side. OK we are 3-2 down but the crowd around us in the stand are enjoying the match.
What a contrast to the thread where the same half dozen posters are constantly talking the team and the club down. Getting a bit sick of the same dirge on every thread.
It's a free hit for Gray to experiment. We might get gubbed but who cares as long as it gives players minutes.
I wish Lovell would just shut the **** up for a while, give our ears a rest FFS.
24-07-2024, 07:35 PM
We must be really bad at the back when Dwayne Dibbley can score against us
The Duke of dork
Does HibsTV not bother doing sound checks with Cliff?
hibee1875
I wish Lovell would just shut the **** up for a while, give our ears a rest FFS.
Why is his mic so much louder?
24-07-2024, 07:37 PM
“What a pass that is” goes straight out of play.
MelbourneHibees
24-07-2024, 07:41 PM
Boyles Freekick just before half time. Goes out for a goal kick over everyone's head.
"Nobody's looking at him and saying that was a bad ball"
c'mon watford this is a friendly, let us score again
Northern Hibby
You could see what he was trying though.
24-07-2024, 07:42 PM
I'm at the match. We are playing some slick football with a second string against a good side. OK we are 3-2 down but the crowd around us in the stand are enjoying the match.
What a contrast to the thread where the same half dozen posters are constantly talking the team and the club down. Getting a bit sick of the same dirge on every thread.
It's a free hit for Gray to experiment. We might get gubbed but who cares as long as it gives players minutes. :agree:
Lovell absolutely loves Levitt 😂
Donegal Hibby
Two good saves by Boruc since he's been on .
24-07-2024, 07:43 PM
You could see what he was trying though.
I reckon I could’ve volleyed the ball out of play though.
I'm at the match. We are playing some slick football with a second string against a good side. OK we are 3-2 down but the crowd around us in the stand are enjoying the match.What a contrast to the thread where the same half dozen posters are constantly talking the team and the club down. Getting a bit sick of the same dirge on every thread.It's a free hit for Gray to experiment. We might get gubbed but who cares as long as it gives players minutes.And strangely enough they never post anything remotely positive and disappear from the thread if there’s a good passage of play.
“What a pass that is” goes straight out of play.Embarrassing from Lovell. The technique was wonderful but the pass was ****.
Northern Hibby
24-07-2024, 07:44 PM
I reckon I could’ve volleyed the ball out of play though.
I'd have missed it, fresh air swipe
24-07-2024, 07:45 PM
That was close. Again we've dropped out the game a bit.
We'd be improved infinitely by having a proper support system for players. Watford can take it 60 yards up the pitch by taking it in tight spaces but they've got two or three relatively easy options to pass through us. We just don't give our receiving players that sort of help, and even a good brave pass out from the back inevitably is going to end up back where it can from.
I'd have missed it, fresh air swipe
Give yourself some credit, it’s a friendly. No pressure on you 😂
24-07-2024, 07:46 PM
Jair has one of the best stepovers Lovell’s ever seen apparently.
Donegal Hibby
24-07-2024, 07:47 PM
Jair 😡
Luke Amos is either very poor or very unfit, he's a poor mans Tom Soares at the moment.Harbottle wont make it at Hibs either, he's awful at best
Jair has one of the best stepovers Lovell’s ever seen apparently.To be fair it is impressive. There’s no excess or exaggerated foot movement It’s the ***** after it that holds him back. That and a relatively poor work ethic.
Trinity Hibee
Jair smashes the ball into crowd into frustration, best connection he’s made with the ball. Found someone in green at least
ChicoM1875
24-07-2024, 07:48 PM
I've quite enjoyed this game. Some half decent attacking play. A lot less of the sideways stuff we had last season. Team look like they are trying. And I've enjoyed Stuart Lovell's analysis.
hibee316
24-07-2024, 07:49 PM
I've quite enjoyed this game. Some half decent attacking play. A lot less of the sideways stuff we had last season. Team look like they are trying. And I've enjoyed Stuart Lovell's analysis.
This for me.
The amount of abuse though that people dish out on here though!
24-07-2024, 07:50 PM
It's a free hit for Gray to experiment. We might get gubbed but who cares as long as it gives players minutes.
Totally agree some are desperate for Hibs to fail. Quite odd
We'd be improved infinitely by having a proper support system for players. Watford can take it 60 yards up the pitch by taking it in tight spaces but they've got two or three relatively easy options to pass through us. We just don't give our receiving players that sort of help, and even a good brave pass out from the back inevitably is going to end up back where it can from.
Yep, sometimes we look so laboured trying to do what Watford do, it seems to take an age to pass to the strikers, and sometimes the movement between midfield and strikers hasn't been great. Was really glad for McKirdy though, he's worked really hard and took his goal well.
Luke Amos is either very poor or very unfit, he's a poor mans Tom Soares at the moment.Harbottle wont make it at Hibs either, he's awful at bestHe’s been a huge disappointment. Appeared to be a good signing on paper, but he’s offering heehaw. We could probably field a team of guys who offer heehaw.
Ref wanting to beat the traffic
Hibees1973
24-07-2024, 07:51 PM
What on earth does Gray see in Jiar 💩He is apparently on £4k a week (might even be more) and is on a 4 year deal. That's £832,000. Must be one of the worst pieces of business in the history of the club.
hibee316
24-07-2024, 07:51 PM
He’s been a huge disappointment. Appeared to be a good signing on paper, but he’s offering heehaw. We could probably field a team of guys who offer heehaw.
This is just pointless abuse of our team.
Northern Hibby
24-07-2024, 07:52 PM
Give yourself some credit, it’s a friendly. No pressure on you 😂
🤣
24-07-2024, 07:52 PM
Pointless trying to listen to Cliff
Northern Hibby
24-07-2024, 07:53 PM
Snap
Enjoyed that game.
Played some really good stuff at times.
The second string done well in the second half and also played some really good stuff. Some young boys performing well against difficult position
I know he made a mistake for a goal but thought Harbottle looked decent too
hibeez1875
Some positives for me, especially the desire to get forward. Not sure how many we can realistically expect in this window but if only a couple hope it’s a DCM and CF
24-07-2024, 07:54 PM
He’s been a huge disappointment. Appeared to be a good signing on paper, but he’s offering heehaw. We could probably field a team of guys who offer heehaw.
Poor so far but let’s give him 5/6 games before we write him off. He’s got the ability and the legs. Something needs to click
Wasn't a bad game, Hibs played some decent stuff and ultimately a couple of mistakes happened but due purely to a few bang average /poor players, Still need shot of 4-6 of these players and the same brought in but definitely need quality.
24-07-2024, 07:54 PM
All in all not a bad game. Good to see the players being more positive and trying to create chances. Good outing for most players with some of the youngsters doing themselves no harm and standing up well against better opposition.
The midfield balance is still off regardless of who plays and needs some movement with players both in and out. Way short up front. Vente can't be out main striker going into the season. His overall game is well off where it needs to be.
Got the most out of that friendly with regards to seeing most of the squad and getting players fitness levels up.
Donegal Hibby
24-07-2024, 07:55 PM
Good work. Positives for me were Rudi , Whittaker , Boruc and the main one Mckirdy who I thought was lively and took his goal well .
LunasBoots
24-07-2024, 07:56 PM
It's a friendly in which DG got a good look at what's at his disposal and whose part of his plans and who maybe isn't, good workout and was impressed with alot of the way David wants us to set up and play, ultimately Watford have players at a higher level and had that bit extra, thought there was points in the game we looked like we where making similar errors to last season but hopefully that can be improved on before the start of the season.
Decent run out tonight against decent opposition, couple of crap goals to give away but played well in parts. Nowhere near as bad as some make out
Jair [emoji35]
Brutal again tonight … just jogged along side their midfielder breaking forward. Was not interested in challenging
Not many pass marks all round [emoji35]
24-07-2024, 07:57 PM
Just for a bit of context: Watford's turnover last season was 86 million. In contrast, Hibs turnover was 12 million.
I realise that doesn't justify any poor parts of the match, like the third goal, but I think we competed pretty well at times against a decent side with a budget we could only dream of.
24-07-2024, 07:57 PM
Enjoyed that, quite a few positives.
Young guys were impressive.
24-07-2024, 07:58 PM
Agree with all points.
Much more positive than negative tonight imo.
hibee1875
Brutal again tonight … just jogged along side their midfielder breaking forward. Was not interested in challenging
Not many pass marks all round [emoji35]
Not many pass marks? You’re at the wind up
Hopefully some of that second half team get punted before the window closes
Its a relatively small group of “usual suspects” tbf.
1875M
24-07-2024, 07:59 PM
Agree with all points.
Agreed. A few more quality players needed though. On a side note, Harbottle poor and Amos looks unfit?
He's here!
24-07-2024, 08:00 PM
Started really well but totally lost our way once they joined in.
You talking about the players or the fake hawk and the seagulls?
24-07-2024, 08:00 PM
Just for a bit of context: Watford's turnover last season was 86 million. In contrast, Hibs turnover was 12 million.
I realise that doesn't justify any poor parts of the match, like the third goal, but I think we competed pretty well at times against a decent side with a budget we could only dream of.
If people can’t understand the gulf in finances and why we might not be able to compete with the likes of Watford then you’ve got to wonder!
24-07-2024, 08:01 PM
Agree with all points.
I genuinely don’t know how anyone can take any negatives from tonight
24-07-2024, 08:02 PM
Harbottle showing why he’s not had much game time here. As for Jair, has there been a worse contract dished out by Hibs?
That was about the first mistake Harbottle made. Shocking tracking back in the middle. Levitt is a man short defensively.
Gordy M
24-07-2024, 08:02 PM
I genuinely don’t know how anyone can take any negatives from tonightIs this your first time on a match thread??? Hahaha.
24-07-2024, 08:03 PM
Appreciate it’s early in the season but I was expecting to see a different Luke Amos after the break but very underwhelmed thus far. I really expected someone with his pedigree to stand out eventually……still waiting.
24-07-2024, 08:03 PM
Quite a decent game that. The young lads all played well. Hopefully they can push on now
Donegal Hibby
24-07-2024, 08:05 PM
Good save 👏
https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1816198278842859648?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcam p%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet
LunasBoots
24-07-2024, 08:05 PM
I didn't think Amos was that bad, it was a friendly I think people need to realise it's only pre season.
24-07-2024, 08:07 PM
Thought we were fine tonight by and large. Jair was a complete passenger though and I just cannot see him ever making it at Hibs. The younger players all did well too. Decent game for a friendly
24-07-2024, 08:09 PM
Decent game for a friendly. For a second string they did pretty well imo.
24-07-2024, 08:10 PM
I didn't think Amos was that bad, it was a friendly I think people need to realise it's only pre season.
Yep, bemused at the stick he’s getting tonight
24-07-2024, 08:14 PM
Poor so far but let’s give him 5/6 games before we write him off. He’s got the ability and the legs. Something needs to clickI seem to remember some of the posters writing off Maolida after 30 minutes so doubt they’ll give Amos 5/6 games.
LunasBoots
24-07-2024, 08:15 PM
Yep, bemused at the stick he’s getting tonight
People must be expecting him to run about like Usain Bolt or something 😉, I didn't see him do any less that anyone else on the pitch, put in a decent shift and looked alot sharper to me.
Musselbound
24-07-2024, 08:16 PM
You talking about the players or the fake hawk and the seagulls?
Fake hawk? Is that a new addition to the matchday experience?
24-07-2024, 08:24 PM
There are a number of posters on this site who will be eager to take up the challenge.
Any negatives is as much hyperbole as the no pass marks comment. Not much of a challenge to counter both points.
LewysGot2
24-07-2024, 08:24 PM
Fake hawk? Is that a new addition to the matchday experience?
Two fake birds of prey - one on East, one on West- to deter the gulls. Worked in the main.
24-07-2024, 08:30 PM
Two fake birds of prey - one on East, one on West- to deter the gulls. Worked in the main.
Can they play in midfield
24-07-2024, 08:31 PM
We all know games like tonight with multiple substitutions and against a team from a league with much more money don`t give us much idea about how we`ll do against Peterhead in LC or St M and other early league games but I still feel more positive about our season than I did before tonight . We have at least 3 goalies who may be good or better for our league ( plus Murray J on loan ) , hopefully at least 1 will prove to be really good ( I hope Boruc stays and gets his chance ) . In defence , we have hopefully improved but won`t know if that`s true for a few weeks at least . In midfield , some here keep saying we `re weak but I can`t see us signing better than Levitt , Newall , Amos etc - will be a question of getting more out of the players we have individually and as a team . In attack , we seem to be 1 or 2 players short but again I suspect we can get more from Vente and Jair than we`ve seen so far . Jair gets flak from a good few here but was played out of position tonight and was covering players in our box late on . Personally I hope he stays and we benefit from his ability to create chances for others since I don`t see much creativity elsewhere in team .
24-07-2024, 08:33 PM
For a friendly I thought that was a good watch. We did much better with the second string than I thought and a few like McKirdy and Whittaker did really well. Pity we gifted them the goal through passing about unnecessarily close to our goal but on teh whole that was pretty much exactly what we want from a friendly
24-07-2024, 08:41 PM
Three things from tonight’s game for me. Play McKirdy from the start v Peterhead. Whittaker has grown in height and bulked up a bit. Future first choice right back. Find a solution to the marauding gulls.
24-07-2024, 08:42 PM
Did you not see the gull relay race 😂
LewysGot2
24-07-2024, 08:46 PM
Did you not see the gull relay race 😂
Yes, hence "in the main". It was much better tonight compared to the Hitchcock scenes last week
24-07-2024, 08:54 PM
I thought we did all right. Didn’t really tell us anything we didn’t know tonight IMO. We’ve been decent most of pre season but it so obvious we need need to strengthen the squad sharpish.
24-07-2024, 09:03 PM
Just home and enjoyed the match more than I thought I would.
2 or 3 decent additions needed which I reckon will come soon.
24-07-2024, 09:07 PM
Would love us to sign a ball winning CDM who wins the ball from these cut backs teams often score against us.
I just don’t think Newell and co read the game well enough in these situations.
Billy McKirdy
24-07-2024, 09:22 PM
We did alright considering the opposition, we won’t compete with English second tier until we get the investment in the team.I was delighted with Harry McKirdy, he’ at least tries and his goal was down to his persistence and poachers instinct, I really hope he can now get his first competitive goal in a Hibs shirt.
Donegal Hibby
24-07-2024, 09:29 PM
David Gray...
https://www.skysports.com/football/video/11792/13184489/hibernian-david-gray-believes-club-are-in-a-good-place-ahead-of-new-season
https://www.skysports.com/football/video/11792/13184491/hibernian-david-gray-on-bill-foley-doubts-over-head-coach-appointment
24-07-2024, 09:37 PM
David Gray...
https://www.skysports.com/football/video/11792/13184489/hibernian-david-gray-believes-club-are-in-a-good-place-ahead-of-new-season
https://www.skysports.com/football/video/11792/13184491/hibernian-david-gray-on-bill-foley-doubts-over-head-coach-appointment
He talks of a couple of additions and then we’ll not be far away.
I’ll take a couple at this stage, but it really meeds to be about 4 I would say.
NC1875
24-07-2024, 10:05 PM
I’ll take a couple at this stage, but it really meeds to be about 4 I would say.
If it’s only a couple, it better be De Bruyne and Halland or we’re in for a long season.
Donegal Hibby
24-07-2024, 10:06 PM
So would I , wouldn't disagree about 4 needed either though maybe we might have to move some on before that can happen? If two coming in for now , surely a striker and left back the priority first ?
24-07-2024, 10:11 PM
Would love us to sign a ball winning CDM who wins the ball from these cut backs teams often score against us.
I just don’t think Newell and co read the game well enough in these situations.
I think that’s needed way more than a 10. Our back four need protection in front of them and we need a player who can break up other teams play.
24-07-2024, 10:12 PM
If it’s only a couple then it will be left to his successor to sort out at Xmas.
24-07-2024, 10:44 PM
And 4 starters at that
I feel sorry for him, being hung out to dry by the incompetence at board level. Although if it goes pear shaped this time, the fans will turn on the board I think.
24-07-2024, 10:52 PM
Wasn't a bad game and we did ok in patches. But we lost two really bad goals, both caused by losing possession within 25 yards of our own goal ... comes down to decisions again, sometimes it really is better just to launch it up the park than get caught in possession in a bad area. Our youngsters did well in the 2nd half. But come on, we need a striker so so badly and at least one starting midfield player.
24-07-2024, 10:55 PM
It’s amazing how the same posters spout the same pish on every thread.
24-07-2024, 10:59 PM
Have just finished watching the game, first 20 or so some good stuff, very noticeable the difference in tempo we have been getting the ball forward so far this season.
Good finish from Campbell 👍 even better one from Porteous 😁 Vente looked better for a bit then drifted out.
A couple of times Rudi lost the ball but straight away looking to get it back which he did a couple times, he will probably be disappointed with the slack pass which lead to the Joe Newell yellow card.
Disappointing goals to concede on which I thought the defence done well first half for most of the games, Watford did step it up though and the quality shown.
Second half not much to shout about, good awareness from Mckirdy for his goal and harbottle with a nightmare of a bit of play, don't think any of the fringe player will.be in for a shout for Saturday and shows we still need a couple more in.
Megwa was really good for me and deserved a mention.
24-07-2024, 11:11 PM
How many league places would a decent goalscorer make? From 8th to 4th possibly? Certainly if they can hold up play and stay fit.
Molotnikov is a brilliant bit of timing as well. He'll make mistakes, but I also think he'll materially contribute.
Donegal Hibby
24-07-2024, 11:35 PM
How many league places would a decent goalscorer make? From 8th to 4th possibly? Certainly if they can hold up play and stay fit.
Molotnikov is a brilliant bit of timing as well. He'll make mistakes, but I also think he'll materially contribute.
I didn't think scoring goals last season was our biggest problem , keeping them out was , last season we scored more than Killie, St Mirren, Dundee and only two less than hertz . Hopefully with two new CH's and a keeper we won't lose as many.
25-07-2024, 12:02 AM
Couldn’t fault the effort, and SDG has us playing a bit easier on the eye than last season.
Watford looked as though they could step up a fair bit if required.
Desperately need a starting midfielder and striker.
Universal agreement that squad was not good enough last season……hasn’t been sufficient changes to alter that opinion….once injuries and suspensions kick in we will suffer if no reinforcements incoming.
Funny reading all the hopeful comments,I absolutely promise you we’re going nowhere this season. Forget top 6.
Donegal Hibby
25-07-2024, 01:42 AM
Funny reading all the hopeful comments,I absolutely promise you we’re going nowhere this season. Forget top 6.
Where do you think we will finish then ?
It’s amazing how the same posters spout the same pish on every thread.
The lads I was chatting to in the East were discussing messageboards at half-time and how the narrative on the matchday thread was such a contrast to the general positivity and enjoyment felt in the stands during what was a friendly.
We agreed that the propaganda coming from half a dozen posters was at odds with what we we experiencing. One lad commented 'imagine if you had one of these posters sitting beside you churning out the same pish for 90 minutes. How depressing would that be?'
The response was fairly unanimous that that scenario was highly unlikely. 😅
25-07-2024, 05:34 AM
Wouldn't look too much into pre season friendlies to be honest. Queens Park put 4 past Celtic a few weeks ago and Rangers have just been beaten by League 1 Birmignham.
25-07-2024, 05:49 AM
Funny reading all the hopeful comments,I absolutely promise you we’re going nowhere this season. Forget top 6. Funny reading the negative comments, we're no as bad as you say and SDG already has us set up to play better football than last year.
25-07-2024, 06:12 AM
It’s just the complete lack of squad depth that has me worried
Our starting eleven isn’t good enough imo
That’s before we get on to people coming off the bench that already have massive question marks over them for many different reasons such as fitness, quality, etc
Jair
McKirdy
Levitt
Amos
Just for starters I’d have no where the first eleven never mind being used as ‘game changing subs’
DIXIHIBS
25-07-2024, 06:17 AM
The lads I was chatting to in the East were discussing messageboards at half-time and how the narrative on the matchday thread was such a contrast to the general positivity and enjoyment felt in the stands during what was a friendly.
We agreed that the propaganda coming from half a dozen posters was at odds with what we we experiencing. One lad commented 'imagine if you had one of these posters sitting beside you churning out the same pish for 90 minutes. How depressing would that be?'
The response was fairly unanimous that that scenario was highly unlikely. 😅
Agree with this. The general feeling at games is fairly positive and then come on here and it really doesn't reflect how the majority of the fans feel. Maybe a few specific posters skewing the narrative?