View Full Version : Best Coffee in Edinburgh
25-06-2024, 08:29 AM
I started a job 4 months ago that means I have customers out for morning coffee a lot. As I love coffee it’s not exactly a chore. I usually have an Americano with cold milk. Best so far are Drum Brae Leisure Centre which is cheap and the coffee is excellent and Soderberg at The Meadows although when I had the cappuccino I wasn’t asked if I wanted chocolate and it was more like a latte.
Suggestions welcome.
babahibs
25-06-2024, 09:05 AM
Artisan Roast, Broughton Street and Bruntsfield Place.
25-06-2024, 09:06 AM
There are so many in the Meadows/Southside servicing the student community it’s becoming absolutely ridiculous. The best coffee is at Format on Buccleuch Street, there are about six or seven coffee shops on that one stretch between George Square and Causewayside. Its take away only or sit at the barstools italianate style at Format. Definitely better than the many places nearby. Soderberg fine as well, i think the swedes like a stronger coffee and that seems to be the case here.
25-06-2024, 09:37 AM
Artisan Roast in Broughton Street is very good, not ashamed to say that a Medium Latte sitting in at Costa Corstorphine is my daily morning routine.In fact typing this as I drink my coffee there just now 😀
25-06-2024, 10:07 AM
Little Fitzroy on Easter Road is excellent.
Of the many in the Tollcross and Meadows area I like Beatnik on Brougham Place the best. There is a wealth of option in that square couple of miles though and very few are poor.
26-06-2024, 06:41 AM
There are so many in the Meadows/Southside servicing the student community it’s becoming absolutely ridiculous. The best coffee is at Format on Buccleuch Street, there are about six or seven coffee shops on that one stretch between George Square and Causewayside. Its take away only or sit at the barstools italianate style at Format. Definitely better than the many places nearby. Soderberg fine as well, i think the swedes like a stronger coffee and that seems to be the case here.
I work up in George Square and I’ve never actually been into Format. I’m going to go try that today.
Paulie Walnuts
26-06-2024, 04:20 PM
Artisan Roast. I go to the one in Stockbridge but they’re all excellent and I use their beans for my coffee machine at home as well.
Fortitude is also excellent imo.
27-06-2024, 05:12 AM
Fauna on Queensferry street or La Viola at the Tollcross junction are two good little ones I've found.
My office does a pretty good, free, coffee though so I rarely venture out now.
Alfiembra
27-06-2024, 03:41 PM
Artisan Roast in Bruntsfield, only because my son works there. I know nothing about coffee :greengrin
Edina Street
27-06-2024, 08:24 PM
I started a job 4 months ago that means I have customers out for morning coffee a lot. As I love coffee it’s not exactly a chore. I usually have an Americano with cold milk. Best so far are Drum Brae Leisure Centre which is cheap and the coffee is excellent and Soderberg at The Meadows although when I had the cappuccino I wasn’t asked if I wanted chocolate and it was more like a latte.
Suggestions welcome.
The Caledonian Hotel probably makes the best coffee.
The Sheraton's restaurant is probably quite class to.
Given how much it is to board the Royal Yacht Britannia I would also hope that they make a decent coffee.
But if it cost effectiveness you are looking for, I reckon Costa Coffee must be pretty good, considering that they are a global corporation that specialize in all types of coffee, and are used by millions every day. Along with Mc Drive thrus, Costa Coffee drive thrus also serve as beacons for long distance couriers like me.
"Cannae beat it".
28-06-2024, 07:13 AM
The Caledonian Hotel probably makes the best coffee.
The Sheraton's restaurant is probably quite class to.
Given how much it is to board the Royal Yacht Britannia I would also hope that they make a decent coffee.
But if it cost effectiveness you are looking for, I reckon Costa Coffee must be pretty good, considering that they are a global corporation that specialize in all types of coffee, and are used by millions every day. Along with Mc Drive thrus, Costa Coffee drive thrus also serve as beacons for long distance couriers like me.
"Cannae beat it".
I don’t mind the McDonalds coffee. It’s decent, and really good value for money.
I’m not keen on the taste of Costa.
28-06-2024, 07:34 AM
I don’t mind the McDonalds coffee. It’s decent, and really good value for money.
I’m not keen on the taste of Costa.
It's always one to get the coffee snobs spluttering and raging but McDonald's coffee is decent. If I just wanted something quick to take away I'd probably choose it over Costa and Starbucks.
28-06-2024, 07:59 AM
It's always one to get the coffee snobs spluttering and raging but McDonald's coffee is decent. If I just wanted something quick to take away I'd probably choose it over Costa and Starbucks.
I’ve been saying that to anyone they will listen ( limited audience:greengrin ) for years. McDonald’s makes the best high street chain coffee.
Stairway 2 7
28-06-2024, 08:24 AM
Most places do a decent enough coffee due to the invention of cheap bean to cup machines,
even wee cafes and shops . Only a decade or so ago if you wanted a coffee in such wee places there's a good chance you'd get nescafe.
As for the subject I like the milkman on Cockburn Street
28-06-2024, 08:40 AM
I quite like the coffee at MILK - just off the old railway path at Hawthornvale next to the sculpture workshop. They've also got a wee hut in Inverleith Park and I think a place on Morrison Street too. I've never been to the latter one, but the coffee at Hawthornvale and Inverleith Park has always been good.
Green Man
28-06-2024, 09:49 AM
Another in favour of McDonald’s coffee here - I like it better than Costa and equally to Starbucks.
patch1875
28-06-2024, 12:24 PM
Most of the small indies do a great coffee. bearded baker is one I enjoy as there’s an excellent cake to go with it.
Costa is probably my favourite of the chains although there flat white is a weird size. Greggs is surprisingly good Mcds is trash I think.
28-06-2024, 02:36 PM
For a chain, I quite like Black Sheep's coffee. I'd tried them in Manchester before they opened up en-masse in Edinburgh, and they're the best of a bad bunch - I find Greggs/Costa/Starbucks to all be quite poor - Cafe Nero are decent, but I find them hypercaffeinated. Tim Horton's do a decent dark roast (nice with a splash of cream - proper North American style) but they've not quite made it to Edinburgh yet!
In terms of smaller indies, I really like Room and Rumours just across from the Council building on East Market St. Their coffee is really pleasant (and before being diagnosed as diabetic, their vegan raspberry doughnuts were sublime!). Milkman's coffee is nice but I can never be arsed competing with the tourists/Instagrammers that it attracts. Machina up in Marchmont is good, and I also really like Lowdown on George Street.
Edina Street
28-06-2024, 05:41 PM
Just returned from Newcastle right now.
Stopped off at Berwick intending to buy a coffee from McDonalds, then I saw a Costa Coffee right up the road. Don't know why but I rerouted to Costa Coffee. But you are probably correct, McDonalds coffee is probably just as good, and maybe even a little cheaper?
Edina Street
28-06-2024, 06:21 PM
It is hard to say who makes the best coffee nowadays.
Someone that makes the best Cappuccino does not necessarily make the best Latte.
Also there is no such thing as coffee anymore. If you ask for a coffee with milk and two sugars you get looked at by everyone like you're an unsophisticated and uneducated fool. You are supposed to know all the different types of coffee, flavours and combinations already. There is no such thing as a Coffee with milk and two sugars nowadays!
In some of those Bistros they should actually give you a form to fill out. Because establishing what type of coffee you want, and what method and process you want to use, and what flavours and combinations you want, and what type of milk you want, can be quite a lengthy process. Then it is on to how long it takes them to actually make all that. The queues can get quite long.
28-06-2024, 06:25 PM
Someone that makes the best Cappuccino does not necessarily make the best Latte.
Also there is no such thing as coffee anymore. If you ask for a coffee with milk and two sugars you get looked at by everyone like you're an unsophisticated and uneducated fool. You are supposed to know all the different types of coffee, flavours and combinations already. There is no such thing as a Coffee with milk and two sugars nowadays!
In some of those Bistros they should actually give you a form to fill out. Because establishing what type of coffee you want, and what method and process you want to use, and what flavours and combinations you want, and what type of milk you want, can be quite a lengthy process. Then it is on to how long it takes them to actually make all that. The queues can get quite long.You've sort of described trying to order a roll from a subway! :rofl:
Bridge hibs
28-06-2024, 07:05 PM
In some of those Bistros they should actually give you a form to fill out. Because establishing what type of coffee you want, and what method and process you want to use, and what flavours and combinations you want, and what type of milk you want, can be quite a lengthy process. Then it is on to how long it takes them to actually make all that. The queues can get quite long.
In my opinion the best coffee is a black coffee, no milk and no sugar/sweeteners, adding those just kills it and you are diluting the taste, adding milk and sugar etc is like adding lemonade to a malt whisky
Im not a coffee snob but dont ****ing kill it 😁
Edina Street
28-06-2024, 07:32 PM
In my opinion the best coffee is a black coffee, no milk and no sugar/sweeteners, adding those just kills it and you are diluting the taste, adding milk and sugar etc is like adding lemonade to a malt whisky
Im not a coffee snob but dont ****ing kill it 😁
I can definitely drink a black coffee, and have done.
But I have always said that a good coffee depends upon how much milk we put in.
I think the reason we only put in a little milk and dilute the rest with water is because Milk is an expensive commodity. All my ex girlfriends used to love my coffee, though I never told them my secret. all milk no water.
Oh wait....my exes?
Paulie Walnuts
29-06-2024, 01:11 PM
McDonald’s and Greggs are absolutely decent for the price imo.
Costa and Starbucks are rotten though imo. Last time I had a Starbucks I couldn’t even drink it. Pret-A-Manger is the best of the chain coffee shops imo although still not great.
He's here!
29-06-2024, 02:47 PM
The individual server can make a difference. A few years ago I wnt to a movie at the Dominion Cinema and was served the best cappuccino I've ever had anywhere. After the film I actually went to congratulate the young guy who made it. I've been back to a couple of films there since and while still decent the coffees have never matched that one.
29-06-2024, 05:38 PM
These coffees are just cocktails for teetotalers. 😊
Edina Street
29-06-2024, 06:02 PM
The individual server can make a difference. A few years ago I wnt to a movie at the Dominion Cinema and was served the best cappuccino I've ever had anywhere. After the film I actually went to congratulate the young guy who made it. I've been back to a couple of films there since and while still decent the coffees have never matched that one.
You are correct. Some people make better coffees than others.
Many of my customers are so kind they often offer to fill up my flask along with payment, and I never refuse. Some of the coffees I have tasted have been a dream to drive down the motorway drinking. But then I had a man the other night that filled up my flask. Absolutely boaking. Don't get me wrong, I would not tell him that to his face, and I am still eternally grateful and appreciate his very kind gesture. But what is it that makes some peoples coffees better than others? I doubt even the people themselves know their own secrets. Perhaps it is the type of coffee they use?
I remember the best coffee one of my customers ever made me, it was so good that I had to pull over and have a sleep and a dream, because I could have swore that the heads of the people in other cars were changing in size and their noses growing larger then smaller. According to a spirit guide the lay-by was named ethereal.
He's here!
29-06-2024, 06:24 PM
You are correct. Some people make better coffees than others.
Many of my customers are so kind they often offer to fill up my flask along with payment, and I never refuse. Some of the coffees I have tasted have been a dream to drive down the motorway drinking. But then I had a man the other night that filled up my flask. Absolutely boaking. Don't get me wrong, I would not tell him that to his face, and I am still eternally grateful and appreciate his very kind gesture. But what is it that makes some peoples coffees better than others? I doubt even the people themselves know their own secrets. Perhaps it is the type of coffee they use?
I remember the best coffee one of my customers ever made me, it was so good that I had to pull over and have a sleep and a dream, because I could have swore that the heads of the people in other cars were changing in size and their noses growing larger then smaller. According to a spirit guide the lay-by was named ethereal.
I think, like with cooking, it comes down to intuition. You develop a sense of how to balance things just right and not everybody has that level of finesse.
08-07-2024, 04:30 PM
Very true. I worked as a barista for a bit. The quality of bean is vital but who makes your coffee is important too. The deli I worked in used Union beans then the owner switched to Dear Green, a Glasgow based firm. A few loyal customers didn’t return although I thought both were excellent.
The most important thing of course is personal taste. You shouldn’t overheat the milk for a great latte but on a few occasions the customer insisted the milk was superheated. I wouldn’t recommend it but each to their own.
08-07-2024, 04:46 PM
Very true. I worked as a barista for a bit. The quality of bean is vital but who makes your coffee is important too. The deli I worked in used Union beans then the owner switched to Dear Green, a Glasgow based firm. A few loyal customers didn’t return although I thought both were excellent.
The most important thing of course is personal taste. You shouldn’t overheat the milk for a great latte but on a few occasions the customer insisted the milk was superheated. I wouldn’t recommend it but each to their own.
Nothing worse than a lukewarm cup of coffee.
Well a few things. Nucular war and that. But coffee that goes cold unless you gulp it down is a pain, wherever the beans have come from!
08-07-2024, 07:36 PM
Nothing worse than a lukewarm cup of coffee.
Well a few things. Nucular war and that. But coffee that goes cold unless you gulp it down is a pain, wherever the beans have come from!
You’re meant to be able to take a gulp of a latte without burning your throat. 70C tops for the milk. Hot as possible for an Americano.
08-07-2024, 08:25 PM
You’re meant to be able to take a gulp of a latte without burning your throat. 70C tops for the milk. Hot as possible for an Americano.
If it comes too hot for your taste you can wait for it to cool down a bit. If it comes not hot enough for your taste there's nothing you can do but gulp it down before it freezes over, and never return!
Edina Street
08-07-2024, 10:01 PM
Worse things to be than a coffee enthusiast.
Finding the best Ceramic Cup to drink out of could take us to many different cultured locations.
I currently go for a Continental sized Swedish Gothic Ceramic Sacramental Coffee Cup.
I am open to a part exchange for something better. But Black Coffee tastes lovely in this.
It's very small though. You knock back the coffees in one gulp.
I recommend adding a hint of something vintage to it.
And then there is the search for the best coffee mixture to put in it. This can be quite an adventure, and see us in some remote locations, from the Poppy fields of Afghanistan to deep in to the Amazon. And of course, Columbia.
But it is all worth it. It is amazing what a marvelous little cocktail such a tiny little cup can bring.
Tea
When it comes to my Botanical selection, I have opted for the English Rose Fine China Bone Dunoon Cup and Saucer.
It really brings out the flavours, and perfect for a Toddy!
Ginja
After knocking back to much vintage and to many toddies, I recommend just chucking the tea and coffee cups and bringing out the edible cocoa cups and bottles of Ginja.
I have found that the Heinrich Limited Edition 1986 Morozko Plate is perfect for this purpose.
You can get about 20 little Charlie Rocket cocoa cups on this and you don't have to worry about spillage. Once you have knocked back the Ginja and ate the cups you can just pick up the 1986 Limited Edition Heinrich Morozko Plate, put it to your mouth, tip it back, and down the lot.
Iced Coffee
Now it is time for the Whisky Bullets. You can either put them in your King Arthur Chalice with your favourite Whisky (I also recommend Honey Mead. Or both), or in your coffee cup, but absolutely perfect for keeping your drink Ice Cold. Quite simply, the ice doesn't melt. Exactly what you need for sobering up.
You can't be a coffee fan and not have Whisky Bullets.
So Here's tae coffee. Cheers!
Time for bed now!
11-07-2024, 08:48 AM
There are so many in the Meadows/Southside servicing the student community it’s becoming absolutely ridiculous. The best coffee is at Format on Buccleuch Street, there are about six or seven coffee shops on that one stretch between George Square and Causewayside. Its take away only or sit at the barstools italianate style at Format. Definitely better than the many places nearby. .
Tried to go here this morning. Closed for refurbishment.
11-07-2024, 01:11 PM
Tried to go here this morning. Closed for refurbishment.
Sorry to hear that. I went to Wallis on forrest rd yesterday, the old opticians with the wooden cladding. They serve a very strong and bitter americano. If you like strong coffee another good option in the southside.
12-07-2024, 07:01 AM
Coming up to Festival time normally enjoy a coffee at Edinburgh University library open to walk ins and Millers Sandwich Bar just off Clerk Street both at reasonable prices