View Full Version : NHC Scotland v Hungary- the pre-match build-up

Pages : 1 [2] 3

23-06-2024, 08:26 PM
That looks a really, really nasty injury.

Hope the Hungarian boy is alright.

Hibees1973
What if we score and it goes to VAR.

Would they stop pouring drinks throughout the nation.

That looks bad

Gunn fills me with absolutely no confidence

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

23-06-2024, 08:27 PM
Possible penalty for Hungary.

23-06-2024, 08:27 PM
Only a short clip but not seeing a penalty for them there

23-06-2024, 08:28 PM
penalty check for whit

23-06-2024, 08:28 PM
Hard to see how you could give a penalty there.

A lot of bodies coming together but no obvious foul.

23-06-2024, 08:29 PM
That looks like the boys had an episode before he even hits the ground. Maybe a seizure of sorts.

I hope he’s ok.

Watched it a few times and still can’t work out where the contact was. Hopefully the player is OK.🙏

Fact we aren't seeing pictures would suggest this isn't good.

Sounds like it’s a very serious one. Hope he’s OK.

23-06-2024, 08:30 PM
That looks like the boys had an episode before he even hits the ground. Maybe a seizure of sorts.

Aye it was very odd, didn’t look like any clear contact but difficult to tell.

Gunn fills me with absolutely no confidence

He has been pretty dependable today

Ralston has blood pouring from his nose.

fans booing really helps the situation

not

Immediate fencing response from him. Bad head injury.

23-06-2024, 08:31 PM

I hope he’s ok.
That was exactly how I saw it when they showed the initial angle with the players down. They were looking to get him in to the recovery position but seemed to be shaking.

23-06-2024, 08:31 PM

I hope he’s ok.

Aye it was very weird. You could see right away it was serious, players don't react like that when it's not.

23-06-2024, 08:32 PM

not

My mate is at the game and he said the fans were going nuts around him about the slow medical response rather than the situation as such

not

Loads of guys filming on their phones in the background shots as well. Weirdos.

hows about making damn subs clarke

pollution
We need subs now

Surely some sub for us. Ryan Christie, Armstrong and Shankland could all make a difference

Time for changes. We have to go for it.

23-06-2024, 08:33 PM
Robertson fgs man wtf is wrong with him

Ridiculous subs. Taking mcginn off but leaving McGregor and Gilmour on as well as 3 centre halves. Clown

SJM off !!!

23-06-2024, 08:34 PM
Ridiculous subs. Taking mcginn off but leaving McGregor and Gilmour on as well as 3 centre halves. Clown

:agree: Unbelievable

jamie_1875
The way Scotland are playing it's like Clarke is going for extra time and penalties.

McGinn was one of our better players and one of the few that knows where the net is

That was exactly how I saw it when they showed the initial angle with the players down. They were looking to get him in to the recovery position but seemed to be shaking.

Aye it was very weird. You could see right away it was serious, players don't react like that when it's not.

It was his arms and hands going rigid too which made it look strange.

Hope he’s ok.

WTF is that corner? An absolute **** all ball.

Glad Adams is off. He's hopeless.

23-06-2024, 08:35 PM
Scotland are crap, I’m sorry to say.

absolutely bloody dreadful corner yet again, absolutely sh*te

how freakin hard is it

1st corner at 76 mins, brutal.

Pen surely....

Pen surely? !?

That has to be a penalty

Penalty?! My first reaction was aye but I'm hardly impartial.

23-06-2024, 08:36 PM
no penalty :(

Was he offside before being brought down

Looked a pen but possibly offside

23-06-2024, 08:37 PM
That’s is a penalty kick

Would have been soft but seen them given.

Basketball game from now.

That has to be a penalty.

jamie_1875
Looked like one at first view, but would have been very soft.

jamie_1875
23-06-2024, 08:38 PM
A draw is useless for them, 10 minutes to go so please let's not go out with a 0-0.

23-06-2024, 08:38 PM
Never a penalty. Crap from Armstrong.

23-06-2024, 08:39 PM
Get Forrest, Christie and the other young forward on Clark ya negative norman!

Robertson has been pish and should be subbed but that won't happen.

Good movement from Shankland. Goes a quarter of a second too early.

We judge penalty claims based on what the Old Firm get every week I guess. The regular rules are perhaps a bit different.

Rangers and Celtic get those without even a look at VAR, so it’s natural to be claiming for that one there.

Ref looks like he has decided to let everything go

ruthven_raiders
23-06-2024, 08:40 PM
A draw is useless for them, 10 minutes to go so please let's not go out with a 0-0.

Why fek is James Forrest not getting a chance, we need to go for it, this is frustrating

i'm still celebrating us getting a corner

Why is Forest not on

Robertson has been pish and should be subbed but that won't happen.

For who?

Off the bar
Can we get one good chance?

23-06-2024, 08:41 PM
McLean? Why?

23-06-2024, 08:41 PM
Can we get one good chance?

I’ll take OG

23-06-2024, 08:42 PM
Why is Robertson not going beyond Christie there? Standing 10 yards behind the ball watching.

what are yi doing christie ffs man

McLean? Why?

I don't mind that. He'll sit and McTominay, Armstrong and Christie will all push on and play off Shankland.

23-06-2024, 08:43 PM
From that angle that was a stonewaller. Knee into the back of Armstrong's knee

23-06-2024, 08:44 PM
I don't mind that. He'll sit and McTominay, Armstrong and Christie will all push on and play off Shankland.

Agree but maybe should’ve done this a bit earlier.

Hungarian CB staying up front.

ruthven_raiders
Why is Forest not on

Mind boggling isn't it! Need an attacking threat

scotland making "late" changes to try win this game

23-06-2024, 08:45 PM
If Armstrong had carried on going forward, he’d have been clipped and got the penalty. Instead of tried turning 360 degrees away from goal and pushed the defender as much as he was pushed back. Never a penalty.

23-06-2024, 08:46 PM
morgan for robertson 88 mins

get adams on for shankland

10 mins added

NC1875
Garbage

23-06-2024, 08:47 PM
How slow is Shankland? Done well to keep that in then a convoy of caravans and HGVs overtook him when he was 'running'.

If Armstrong had carried on going forward, he’d have been clipped and got the penalty. Instead of tried turning 360 degrees away from goal and pushed the defender as much as he was pushed back. Never a penalty.

Well, that's one view I suppose. I prefer to view it as a defender putting his knee into Armstrong while making no attempt at the ball

Hungary get another shot off

23-06-2024, 08:48 PM
Mind boggling isn't it! Need an attacking threat

Totally. Tbh I think Ralston okayed well this evening but why not get Forest and his direct running.

Hanley could barely move trying to get back there

Squeaky bum time.

Honestly ****ing embarrassing stuff

23-06-2024, 08:49 PM
ooft just past, offside but yet another pop at goals

That's a let off.

They won't get closer than that...

FFS. McLean goes on the wander, misplaces a pass and leaves the whole LB wide open

Dope on a rope at the moment

ooft off the post, we're all over the place

Gonna get ripped a new one here. Way to open on the left hand side.

23-06-2024, 08:50 PM
It's like a primary school game now.

Guys running about like drunks falling into each other and getting in everyone's way.

We don’t deserve to go through. Utter negative crap from Clarke

Germany have equalized.

23-06-2024, 08:51 PM
Crossing has been atrocious for this level.

Our crossing is horrific

Lost our shape and structure completely! Regardless of how this goes then Clark needs to stand down.

Shankland is not an international striker.

Still no shot on target.

NC1875
Negative Clarke doesn’t know how to set up must win games

Trinity Hibee
23-06-2024, 08:52 PM
Disappointing we’ve not even tested their keeper in a game of this magnitude

23-06-2024, 08:52 PM
Austin McPhee can go **** off as well, weirdo long haired Jambo ****ty free kick twat

23-06-2024, 08:53 PM
Zero shots on target in 95 mins, how sad.

Off the bar
Austin McPhee can go **** off as well, weirdo long haired Jambo ****ty free kick twat

Probably best analysis on this thread. I concur 100%

jamie_1875
A must win game and how many shots on target?

Zero.

We could play until the next Euros and not score. Subs have made us worse, any hint of fluency has totally gone.

K-Zazu
No shots on target is embarrassing

oh come on hungary give us a bloody kick of the ball will yi

A must win game and we don’t have a single shot on target. That’s poor.

Pains me to say it but agree 100%

23-06-2024, 08:54 PM
McTominay 25 yards offside

23-06-2024, 08:54 PM
Clarke's negativity has been a real problem.

23-06-2024, 08:55 PM
Of all the people for that to fall to

That was the chance. Fell to about the worst man possible.

awk christie why are you so p@sh lately

23-06-2024, 08:56 PM
not a bad cross from shankland

Just_Jimmy
23-06-2024, 08:56 PM
Clarke should be binned for this.

We've been utter dross, bar a wee run in those qualifiers, his whole time.

Must win and we've done nothing.

Beat. **** off man

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

23-06-2024, 08:57 PM
The most Scottish way to lose

And there's the kick in the guts

There you go, had to happen.

Hungary don't deserve that but Scotland certainly do.

Utterly ****ing pathetic. Get Clarke to ****

Amazing that we literally aimed for 4 points. Like, we aimed to lose a match, and draw a match, and still underperformed.

Aim low and still be disappointed. Pathetic showing.

Outski!!!!!!!

And that is that.

Got about what we deserved really.

I like Clarke but you do feel he has maybe taken Scotland as far as he can.

You couldn’t make it up.

FFS. As someone once said, it's kite being Scottish. No luck.

fortune favours the brave

gtf clarke

GTF Clarke

It had to happen to be honest, Scotland have been *****.

**** off Clark you negative ****

23-06-2024, 08:58 PM
Shocking defending in the end but really it was our complete lack of ambition that stopped us going through

NC1875
Clarke and his negative push can gtf.

Must win game and that’s what he comes up with

Hibees1973
Noooooooooooooooooooooo

Morgan should make the foul on the half way line and take one for the team.

Oh well, Clarke negative tactics

Absolute 💩

Clarke is a clown.

Just GTF Clarke. Woeful set up and rubbish tactics

Hendry was very poor there leaving the boy in space to cross it

23-06-2024, 08:59 PM
Bye bye Clarke. Set up not to lose rather than win. 2 losses 1 draw. Players might not be the greatest but negative football is never the answer in a tournament.

Taking McGinn off and bringing that pair of Muppets Christie and Armstrong on. Brutal.

He talks of negative Normans as well. He should have sussed Hungary were awful and got some bodies in the box in the first half.

i feel for the fans that went to watch us

K-Zazu
Gtf clarke

Trinity Hibee
Guy looked offside there but not checked. You deserve nothing if you don’t create chances.

Hibees1973
23-06-2024, 09:00 PM
Know we are all thinking it.

Are you Hibs in disguise.

boring negative clarke when it mattered, probably hoping to get through with two points

well done Hungary going for it

That was the dampest of damp squibs. A truly awful performance tonight. We got exactly what we deserved.

Davie Moyes will be making his pitch for the job in about 3 minutes time.

Time for Clarke to get so far to ****.

First watched Scotland in the 1974 WC. 50 years of failure

It actually doesn't matter in which ever sport we compete in, that is just Scotland.

bringbackbenny
1 shot on target in a game we had to win.

Negative and shocking game plan

😆👍

Mikey_1875
Not even a glorious failure this time. Pure failure. Pathetic attempt

Green-Hibee-7
23-06-2024, 09:01 PM
Sums that arrogant boring man up.

Game we had to win, cannot think of a shot we had on target. Deserve everything we got.

Clown.

When is his contract up ?

It’s certainly not a glorious failure. It’s a disgraceful performance. We can’t live at this level.

Not a chance he is getting sacked.

Wonder if I'll see us get out of the group before I die.

Much like England we are hamstrung by the dour cautiousness of our manager.

Why don’t you just do one ya clown

When is his contract up ?

He signed a new one not that ago didn’t he?

P45 for the manager.

Just like the last Euros bottled it.

So predictable and depressing.

Kaiser_Sauzee
No shots on target in a must win game. Deserved nothing.

Not good enough, nothing up front and a negative coach means we won't get anything and we don't deserve anything.

NC1875
Hungarys tactics spot on. Sat in knowing they’d get chance.

Clarke so negative as usual and we got what we deserved. Nothing.

Clarke can GTF

23-06-2024, 09:02 PM
He sets up with 1 up and little creativity behind, meaning it's all slow sideways or back, like watching Hibs recently.

HarpOnHibee
And other countries wonder why we're a nation of morbidly obese drinkers.

hfcok
He’s the biggest Negative Norman, he’s got a damn cheek to call out the negative Norman’s

Useless shower of second-raters.

pollution
Clarke booooooooooooooooo off!!

Time to fully focus now on Elgin away on July 13th.

Well that was just a bit like a typical Hibs performance.

Lots of possession with little bite then hit with a last minute goal by the opposition.

The tartan army didn't deserve that result or performance but we can only play with what players are available and just aren't good enough.

Kaiser_Sauzee

Honking patter.

Cautious, dinosuar football. Set up like Killie trying to sneak a point at ER/Tynecastle.

Dreadful. Has to go now, get someone in who can get more out of the good players.

23-06-2024, 09:03 PM

Did he ? FFS that’s depressing. We aren’t great but he’s so F’ing negative.

Christie was shocking, a man short

McGregor stays on whilst Gilmour goes off, CM was awful

Clarke as always starts too negatively and waits far too long to make changes

jamie_1875
The boy looked offside, I am assuming he wasn't as no check or anything happened.

Not a chance he is getting sacked.

Why not? He’s done nothing at the biggest stage of his career. He’s got nowhere to go, except home.

If you look past all the hype Scotland were probably the worst team in the tournament.

1 shot on target in a game we had to win.

Negative and shocking game plan

Agreed, absolutely awful.

I'd be delighted if they just dump Clarke now.

23-06-2024, 09:04 PM
I said before the game that we should keep it tight and go for it with 15 to go but I had no idea how bad Hungary would be. A couple of bodies in the box in the first half and it could have been a different story.

No lack of effort but just not good enough. Far too cautious tonight.First half was played at walking pace instead of really taking the game to them.

Well that was just a bit like a typical Hibs performance.

Lots of possession with little bite then hit with a last minute goal by the opposition.

The tartan army didn't deserve that result or performance but we can only play with what players are available and just aren't good enough.

More like shafted by var. why no check for that foul in the box.

chasitup
If you look past all the hype Scotland were probably the worst team in the tournament.

Probably?

Hibees1973
Lets face it.

We scored two goals and they were really OG's.

Kind of sums us up.

I really can't understand why wee Forrest couldn't get a game in any of the fixtures. He was the form man going into the tournament and carries a goal threat as well as the ability to run at the opponents - both qualities which were sadly lacking.

23-06-2024, 09:05 PM
Tonight reminded me of Aberdeens game versus Real At half time Fegie asked the team if they were too feart to win? Summed us up tonight. Too **** scared.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Should've been sacked for his aiming for 4 points pish. Loser patter.

Why not? He’s done nothing at the biggest stage of his career. He’s got nowhere to go, except home.

Don't get me wrong, he should walk but I'd say there's zero chance of him going anywhere. Here till his contract is up 2026.

23-06-2024, 09:06 PM

Well done Scottish FA…another great decision..

Needs fresh eyes on the national team.

No chance Clarke will go unless he resigns.

The SFA are the only thing more dull and unimaginative than Clarke.

There was a check, they said it in commentary, it was finished before play stopped

Cautious, dinosuar football. Set up like Killie trying to sneak a point at ER/Tynecastle.

Dreadful. Has to go now, get someone in who can get more out of the good players.

100%

So what. He’s a failure….. get shot immediately.

23-06-2024, 09:07 PM
The small country stuff doesn't really cut it either. Plenty countries of comparable size have performed better than we have at major tournaments over the years.

Too much of the 'just happy to get here' mentality that Roy Keane called out with Ireland years ago. That's fine for fans, it seems to be a mantra for our players and managers too often as well.

23-06-2024, 09:07 PM
Probably?

I was trying to be kind.

23-06-2024, 09:08 PM
Taking the pee with the hugely negative montage get tae fek
Well the BBC will be able to add this game to there next negative montage.

Everything is checked by var.

Watching it again that was a clear penalty.

We needed a full strength team/squad to give us a chance in games like this but a combination of too many injuries and the players that were playing not playing well enough has meant we're going home early again IMO.

Chorley Hibee
Amazing that we literally aimed for 4 points. Like, we aimed to lose a match, and draw a match, and still underperformed.

Aim low and still be disappointed. Pathetic showing.

What sort of manager actually admits to all and sundry that they've already accepted losing a game or dropping points.

Loser mentality that must feed into the players as well.

That’s a penalty all day long 😂

23-06-2024, 09:09 PM
that was a penalty btw

crash
23-06-2024, 09:10 PM
that was a penalty btw

That is never a penalty, embarrassing

Everything is checked by var.

It's a clear penalty though.

Would also suggest their goal looks offside too

The defender knee’s the attackers calf/knee and prevents his ability to run, how’s it not a penalty?

MelbourneHibees
23-06-2024, 09:11 PM
There was a check, they said it in commentary, it was finished before play stopped

There was a check in the sense that every decision gets checked. Crazy people still don't grasp this from VAR

23-06-2024, 09:12 PM
It's a clear penalty though.

Would also suggest their goal looks offside too

We didn’t see lines but it looked like the last Scotland defender has a leg outstretched keeping him just onside. Would have liked to have seen it looked at more though

His knee goes right into back of Armstrong knee causing his leg to buckle.

Pundits agree. It was a clear penalty. There’s clearly incompetence and corruption with var at this level as well as in the Scottish league.

Great being a Scottish Hibernian fan. Character building at its finest.

K-Zazu
Should've been sacked for his aiming for 4 points pish. Loser patter.

This is it in a nutshell. If we went out and tried to beat Switzerland we might have won, ok we might have lost but this is tournament football, you need to take a chance.

He should have shot as son as the ball came to him.

There was a check in the sense that every decision gets checked. Crazy people still don't grasp this from VAR

Exactly, every penalty/goal/possible red card offence is checked

I'm not Scottish, but I'm gutted by that.

Commiserations guys.

Dmas

It’s not crazy when your shown a graphic every week with either lines drawn or a check for a pen then this tournament you see nothing

HarpOnHibee
23-06-2024, 09:13 PM

What? It's not even subjective. It's as close to a penalty as a penalty can be.

Hibs4185

It’s the worst combination in world football 🤣🤣

Paul1642
Has there been a worse team at this Euros than us? Only Poland potentially if finishing with less points, potentially no one finishing with worst GD, and even the other teams on 1 points such as Georgia and Albania showed a bit of class despite their defeats.

We were terrible.

Armstrong stopped and the guy ran into him. Really don't think it was a pen. Wish it was but I think that's why it's not given.

crash
23-06-2024, 09:14 PM

That is posh, you are listening to the apologists never get a penalty for that incident

Trinity Hibee
Armstrong stopped and the guy ran into him. Really don't think it was a pen. Wish it was but I think that's why it's not given.

He didn’t stop. He got across his man. It was a pen all day long

Thank **** that's over, we can get back to real football again. Maybe as part of Brexit we shouldn't be allowed to play in the Euros 😁

Paul1642
23-06-2024, 09:15 PM

Sets you up well for life’s disappointments. The worst things is both like to give us a good chuck of hope before the failure😂

It’s not crazy when your shown a graphic every week with either lines drawn or a check for a pen then this tournament you see nothing

They’ve been showing the graphics of the automated offsides in loads of games

We didn’t see a check because the ball was still in play, the check still happens though, in this instance play carried on. Had the ball went out for a throw in then the ref would have held the restart until the check was clear/sent to monitor

What?

HarpOnHibee
Thank **** that's over, we can get back to real football again.

We haven't gotten back to real football since 2016. :greengrin

23-06-2024, 09:16 PM
Has there been a worse team at this Euros than us? Only Poland potentially if finishing with less points, potentially no one finishing with worst GD, and even the other teams on 1 points such as Georgia and Albania showed a bit of class despite their defeats.

We were terrible.

I've watched every game so far and if Scotland haven't been the worst team at the tournament we are certainly in the conversation.

It's so far away from the performance we put in against Spain not so long ago it's unreal. Aye we had a few injuries but the team that started the first game was only a player or 2 away from our strongest 11.

Numptie
Loooked like Armstrong was offside but that doesn’t look like it was checked. Maybe only if pen or goal. McGregor was so negative for the whole game, we needed to be driving forward

MelbourneHibees

No, it definitely is crazy. VAR works the same everywhere. And has been about for years. I don't need to see a replay on TV to know they are looking at it.

Gutted for the Scots.
Ps. I didn't think it was a pen.

I thought it was 50/50 but watching it again he’s through the back of his leg, blatant.

23-06-2024, 09:17 PM
Good to hear them saying Vargas seems to be doing ok, fingers crossed for a full recovery

Paul1642
23-06-2024, 09:17 PM
Thank **** that's over, we can get back to real football again. Maybe as part of Brexit we shouldn't be allowed to play in the Euros 😁

Maybe we could a have Euros B to run alongside the real event, that only pish sides like us care about. Like the conference league. We still probably wouldn’t make it through a group though.

23-06-2024, 09:18 PM
Another competition where Scotland fail to qualify for the group stage, 16 out of 24 qualify btw. ****** embarrassing. Enough of this small nation pish. We are just a really, really poor footballing nation.

23-06-2024, 09:18 PM
As much as the focus will rightly be on Clarke it shouldn't be forgotten how bad the likes of McGregor and Robertson were. 2 who have a track record of failing to turn up when needed for Scotland

23-06-2024, 09:19 PM
From that angle that was a stonewaller. Knee into the back of Armstrong's knee

Stonewall penalty and probably red card what is var looking at. Why was mcginn taken off

yerauldda
23-06-2024, 09:20 PM
As much as the focus will rightly be on Clarke it shouldn't be forgotten how badly the likes of McGregor and Robertson were. 2 who have a track record of failing to turn up when needed for Scotland

100%. McGregor in particular was utterly dreadful in all 3 games.

Correct!

As much as the focus will rightly be on Clarke it shouldn't be forgotten how badly the likes of McGregor and Robertson were. 2 who have a track record of failing to turn up when needed for Scotland

Craig’s faith in McGregor is unbelievable. He must a have some sort of hold over him.

23-06-2024, 09:21 PM
Shankland should have been on earlier big difference when he came on.

dmc1875
23-06-2024, 09:21 PM

Robertson has been embarrassing and looks like a Dundee United left back, not one of Liverpool. Pathetic tournament in many ways, out fought and tactically naive.

Clarkes tactics are a shambles - Shankland showed more in 15 mins than half the team all game. He should go, I’d imagine he will.

23-06-2024, 09:22 PM
Utter crap from Clarke for a must win game, no shots on goal for the first half ! hopefully we move on with a different manager

there can only be one outcome once dust has settled new contract or not he's had his chance and failed

Craig’s faith in McGregor is unbelievable.

3 forward passess all game. Put us on the back foot consistently. Awful.

NC1875
Gunn looks like he’s trying not to laugh 🙈

23-06-2024, 09:23 PM
Craig’s faith in McGregor is unbelievable. He must a have some sort of hold over him.

agree McGregor has been poor, offers nothing other than a sideways or backwards pass…..

23-06-2024, 09:23 PM
3 forward passess all game. Put us on the back foot consistently. Awful.

Yet Gilmour is taken off, who was trying to thread passes through. McGregor was woeful in every game

23-06-2024, 09:24 PM

Dunno. Don't think he was any worse than others. Mcginn was dreadful.