View Full Version : NHC Scotland v Hungary- the pre-match build-up
21-06-2024, 08:46 AM
Focus now moves to Sunday's Hungary game. A chance to make history!
:saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag
Our record against Hungary is pretty even, with 3 games won, 4 defeats and 2 draws. I must admit I cannot recall many games against the Hungarians.
For some reason, I cannot recall much about a 1-0 away win in Hungary in 2018, the last time we played them, with a goal from Matt Phillips. Nor the 3-0 Hampden defeat in 2004 under Bertie Vogts that included a David Marshall own-goal.
What are your memories of Scotland v Hungary?
21-06-2024, 11:27 AM
https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/the-hampden-roar/id1432582074?i=1000658603108
For anybody interested in Hungary, this is a decent listen. It was recorded before the euros but gives good insight into what Hungary are like. I listened to it yesterday and it gave me cause for optimism.
The biggest weak point in the Hungary team is they only have one defensive midfielder and he’s not great. The journalist also says Hungary are only good when they play on the back foot and counter attack teams, he felt if it came to the final game and Scotland had more of the ball it would suit Hungary. The fact Hungary probably need to win by 3 or 4 means they can’t really play that way and they’ll need to try and take the game to us. Those two factors combined with our midfield being the strongest part of our team makes me think on paper we have a really good chance on Sunday.
Famous last words I know but fingers crossed.
21-06-2024, 11:37 AM
Lawrie Reilly scored against them in a 4-2 defeat in 1954.If only we could produce finishers like him nowadays .
21-06-2024, 11:39 AM
I read they had been unbeaten in 14 games prior to the Euros. Won't be a push over. I hope it is not like France 98 when Morocco were meant to be a pushover.
21-06-2024, 11:40 AM
]I read they had been unbeaten in 14 games prior to the Euros. Won't be a push over. I hope it is not like France 98 when Morocco were meant to be a easy pickings.
21-06-2024, 12:20 PM
I read they had been unbeaten in 14 games prior to the Euros. Won't be a push over. I hope it is not like France 98 when Morocco were meant to be a pushover.
They lost to Ireland in the build up, think the guy on that podcast also said they had a couple of draws in games they should have won.
Mcbizz1998
21-06-2024, 12:34 PM
]I read they had been unbeaten in 14 games prior to the Euros. Won't be a push over. I hope it is not like France 98 when Morocco were meant to be a easy pickings.
Just to give some context, that run included -
Israel
Kosovo
Montenegro x2
Lithuania x2
Bulgaria
Estonia
Luxembourg
Only half decent teams they faced that made the Euros were Turkey (home win), Czech Republic (Home, draw), Serbia (Home, win)
Donegal Hibby
21-06-2024, 12:42 PM
Read that Tierney has been sent home ( hamstring injury) . Really sorry for the guy .
21-06-2024, 12:59 PM
I was at 2004 3-0 game. Apart from score all I think I remember is Barry Ferguson being really good.
Would have been one of Berti's last games. Think he was emptied after Norway loss a few weeks later.
Using .net on Firefox is like one of our Berti era display, btw!
21-06-2024, 03:17 PM
Would like to see Shankland/Conway coming on early in the 2nd half if the game is still 0-0.
21-06-2024, 06:31 PM
This will be a battle - both teams need to win and will be going for it. I was relieved to see Scotland wake up and start looking like they believed in themselves again vs the Swiss. We will need to take that belief and aggression into the game against Hungary. I think we can do it and would love to see the party on Sun night if we do!
K-Zazu
21-06-2024, 07:00 PM
We should have went for it against Switzerland, playing for a draw was a mistake IMHO
Paul1642
21-06-2024, 07:53 PM
We should have went for it against Switzerland, playing for a draw was a mistake IMHO
I have maintained since before a ball was kicked that a draw with Switzerland and a win vs Hungary was the obvious route to the last 16 for Scotland.
We now have a cup final in a very winnable game to take us through. It’s far form guaranteed but we are more than capable of winning it.
Had we gone for broke vs the Swiss and lost we were as good as out.
JammyDoidger
21-06-2024, 07:57 PM
I have maintained since before a ball was kicked that a draw with Switzerland and a win vs Hungary was the obvious route to the last 16 for Scotland.
We now have a cup final in a very winnable game to take us through. It’s far form guaranteed but we are more than capable of winning it.
Had we gone for broke vs the Swiss and lost we were as good as out.
Totally agree, Hungary was our best chance of 3 points. Cup final on Sunday, get the job done.
21-06-2024, 08:11 PM
Can't understand this viewpoint. If we had left ourselves open and conceded Sunday would now be a dead rubber.
As it was we still looked the more dangerous team most of the second half.
21-06-2024, 08:18 PM
Can't understand this viewpoint. If we had left ourselves open and conceded Sunday would now be a dead rubber.
Totally agree.
Knock out football started for Scotland on Wednesday night. A draw essentially extended our tournament until Sunday. We’ve now got a chance to extend it further on Sunday.
It also ignores the fact Switzerland are a really good side and it’s not as simple as us choosing to try and win the game or not.
21-06-2024, 08:24 PM
if we win it's a narrow one - have any geeks worked out our likely last 16 tie with four points a goal difference of minus 2 or 3?
Think it's likely to be Spain, Portugal or France, but too much to be decided where we'd sit within the third placed sides.
21-06-2024, 08:41 PM
What if we'd scored first and won?
21-06-2024, 08:49 PM
Not sure what you mean. We did score first.
21-06-2024, 08:50 PM
We’d still have a difficult game to contend with on Sunday.
We couldn’t have qualified on Wednesday night either way so it made complete sense to make sure we were still in the competition on Sunday, that had to be the priority.
21-06-2024, 09:19 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/448756608_1833331513829938_6540529606839737207_n.j pg?_nc_cat=107&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5f2048&_nc_ohc=Ibhcn8das9EQ7kNvgEgFN7I&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AYA5GbTjJcfaGkMhGbNO39mSon0cAQNufAZWfIc_zaHk PQ&oe=667BDA69
23-06-2024, 07:54 AM
Looks like a draw would be good enough for us provided:
Italy beat Croatia
Spain beat Albania
Turkey beat Czech Republic
Portugal beat Georgia
Obviously don't want to risk it, but we could qualify with a draw.
23-06-2024, 08:06 AM
Lovely day in Stuttgart. Yesterday was absolutely heaving can only imagine what it will be like today.
23-06-2024, 08:42 AM
Genuine good luck tonight fellas. Fans have lit an already great tournament up. Tough match tonight, fridge all stocked up and ready.
Auld enemy.
MartinfaePorty
23-06-2024, 08:50 AM
Another train cancelled and folk just milling around the train station in Rudesheim with no one knowing what's happening. Still, I'm still looking forward to the match, whatever time I get to Stuttgart [emoji16]
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
23-06-2024, 09:02 AM
Looks like a draw would be good enough for us provided:
Italy beat Croatia
Spain beat Albania
Turkey beat Czech Republic
Portugal beat Georgia
Obviously don't want to risk it, but we could qualify with a draw.
First two will be the favoured results, but both Croatia and Albania have played some of the best football of the tournament, albeit in patches. They are well capable of getting at least a point. Czechia will be favoured to beat Turkey, whove not been great, and Portugal will be favourites but not much to play for against a team, like Albania, who’ve looked tremendous in patches.
For thise 4 desired to all come in is highly unlikely.
23-06-2024, 09:40 AM
First two will be the favoured results, but both Croatia and Albania have played some of the best football of the tournament, albeit in patches. They are well capable of getting at least a point. Czechia will be favoured to beat Turkey, whove not been great, and Portugal will be favourites but not much to play for against a team, like Albania, who’ve looked tremendous in patches.
For thise 4 desired to all come in is highly unlikely.
A 12/1 shot according to the bookies
23-06-2024, 09:46 AM
3 fan zones set up in Stuttgart, 1 showing the German game at Schlossplatz and the other 2 showing the Scotland game (Scotland fans "Stadtgarten" Hungarian fans "Schlossgarten"). Advice is to get there early as they're expecting the fan zones to fill up fast.
23-06-2024, 10:39 AM
For anyone been to games previously do they check for ID at the gate? It says on the Uefa site ID might be needed but don't fancy carrying my passport about with me.
23-06-2024, 10:43 AM
For anyone been to games previously do they check for ID at the gate? It says on the Uefa site ID might be needed but don't fancy carrying my passport about with me.
Never had any ID checked at 4 different matches and don’t know anyone else who did.
MartinfaePorty
23-06-2024, 10:43 AM
For anyone been to games previously do they check for ID at the gate? It says on the Uefa site ID might be needed but don't fancy carrying my passport about with me.No-one was asked for ID at either of the first 2 games
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
23-06-2024, 10:56 AM
Had nothing checked at the Swiss game. Have had nothing checked on any transport in the 6 days I’ve been here either.
23-06-2024, 11:26 AM
Anyone else a little nervous. Can’t wait to be in that ground tonight to hopefully see Scotland make history.
23-06-2024, 11:28 AM
Clarke would have been tortured if we had done that and lost
23-06-2024, 11:50 AM
I think we did go for it just never got our moment. It definitely felt like an off-night/ protecting their 4 points for the Swiss though and we will look back on it if we can't get the job done tonight.
I do find it a bit strange hearing us talking of making history and proving people wrong for finishing 3rd in a group of 4.
Gordy M
23-06-2024, 11:50 AM
Clarke would have been tortured if we had done that and lost
100% would have been silly to go for it and lose.
Question will be, bearing in mind 2 points has a very decent chance of getting through, do we go for it if we are drawing with 10 to go this eve?
23-06-2024, 02:29 PM
'Rumours Adams might not be fit', says Gunn's dadpublished at 15:1615:16
Has ex-Scotland goalkeeper Bryan Gunn, father of current number one Angus, just leaked some team news for this evening?
On the latest Scotland HQ, external (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4o4YTjvcYQ&t=419s&pp=ygULc2NvdGxhbmQgaHE%3D), he says he has heard chat Che Adams could be out for tonight, with Lawrence Shankland potentially starting in his place.
"The rumours are Adams might not be fit," the former Norwich keeper says. "Shankland might start up front. We'll have to see on that one."
Given he is literally the father of the current Scotland goalkeeper, where is he hearing those "rumours" from?
Hmmm.
23-06-2024, 02:45 PM
'Rumours Adams might not be fit', says Gunn's dadpublished at 15:1615:16
Has ex-Scotland goalkeeper Bryan Gunn, father of current number one Angus, just leaked some team news for this evening?
On the latest Scotland HQ, external (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4o4YTjvcYQ&t=419s&pp=ygULc2NvdGxhbmQgaHE%3D), he says he has heard chat Che Adams could be out for tonight, with Lawrence Shankland potentially starting in his place.
"The rumours are Adams might not be fit," the former Norwich keeper says. "Shankland might start up front. We'll have to see on that one."
Given he is literally the father of the current Scotland goalkeeper, where is he hearing those "rumours" from?
Hmmm.
I’m not overly disappointed by that.
Don’t think Adams has been anything brilliant in the last couple of games and Shankland good at sniffing out goals from nowhere, even if he’s not done it for Scotland yet.
23-06-2024, 02:54 PM
Don’t think Adams has been anything brilliant in the last couple of games and Shankland good at sniffing out goals from nowhere, even if he’s not done it for Scotland yet.
tonight's the night
as Rod Stewart once sang
23-06-2024, 03:06 PM
Plan will be to be in the game with 20-30 minutes to go. If that is 1-0 up then great, if it's 0-0 then we have to gamble.
People might not like that but we don't have the quality to go all out and attack teams from the off and try to blow them away, we'd get picked off and end up losing by 2 or 3. We just have to avoid conceding early and being forced to really open up too soon.
We have given ourselves a chance and being alive going into the last game was what almost everyone wanted pre tournament. It was unrealistic to think we'd be on 4 or 6 points at this stage; it was always going to come down to the final game and here we are. Bring it on.
23-06-2024, 03:40 PM
Not sure about that. Would mean we could get a point and qualify. Not sure I’d like us to play for a draw.
23-06-2024, 03:46 PM
i was reading online that we could actually still qualify with just two points, obviously other results would have to go our way
Spain v Albania
Italy v Croatia
Portugal v Georgia
Turkey v Czech Republic
23-06-2024, 03:49 PM
i was reading online that we could actually still qualify with just two points, obviously other results would have to go our way
Spain v Albania
Italy v Croatia
Portugal v Georgia
Turkey v Czech Republic
See page 1 of this thread.
23-06-2024, 03:52 PM
Think he has been ok. Hope not true. Personally would start with Conway if Adam not fit for his mobility
23-06-2024, 03:56 PM
Think he has been ok. Hope not true. Personally would start with Conway if Adam not fit for his mobility
Think the same about Adams and Conway.
It's honestly nothing to do with Shankland being a Hearts player, he just doesn't have the pace or mobility for international football at this level. If he does start I genuinely hope he gets a few goals and we win. Prefer either Adams or Conway though.
Mcbizz1998
23-06-2024, 04:05 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson disagrees. He’s glad we have the clarity of needing the win tonight.
K-Zazu
23-06-2024, 04:07 PM
Sir Alex Ferguson disagrees. He’s glad we have the clarity of needing the win tonight.
We will see then.
23-06-2024, 04:09 PM
Plan will be to be in the game with 20-30 minutes to go. If that is 1-0 up then great, if it's 0-0 then we have to gamble.
People might not like that but we don't have the quality to go all out and attack teams from the off and try to blow them away, we'd get picked off and end up losing by 2 or 3. We just have to avoid conceding early and being forced to really open up too soon.
We have given ourselves a chance and being alive going into the last game was what almost everyone wanted pre tournament. It was unrealistic to think we'd be on 4 or 6 points at this stage; it was always going to come down to the final game and here we are. Bring it on.
Wouldn't the plan be win 3-0 and get 2nd place?
Why is everyone so conservative, aiming for 4 points and being in the game with 20 minutes to go. Go and win the match, convincingly, and build some real confidence. We beat Spain in qualifying, why are we scared of Hungary?
You don't need to go all out attack to win a game and win it well.
I may well be miles off it but I think being this conservative has disaster written all over it.
23-06-2024, 04:12 PM
Daft old bugger...
pollution
23-06-2024, 04:18 PM
Seems a bit low key so far.
Can't wait for it !
K-Zazu
23-06-2024, 04:23 PM
Why is everyone so conservative, aiming for 4 points and being in the game with 20 minutes to go. Go and win the match, convincingly, and build some real confidence. We beat Spain in qualifying, why are we scared of Hungary?
I may well be miles off it but I think being this conservative has disaster written all over it.
Good post, completely agree.
23-06-2024, 04:34 PM
People are just being realistic.
Hungary are a good side, we can say we want to win 3,4 or 5 nil but for those of us who know we are playing against a team equal or better than us, that’s not realistic.
If we go all out attack to win from the start, we need to accept we could get picked off and conceding one or two will make it very difficult for us.
HibsGW
23-06-2024, 04:39 PM
Never had any ID checked at 4 different matches and don’t know anyone else who did.
Also went to 3 games and no IDs, nobody i know did either
23-06-2024, 04:40 PM
Just in the stadium. Can’t ****ing wait. Let’s do this Scotland. 🏴
23-06-2024, 04:44 PM
Think the same about Adams and Conway.
It's honestly nothing to do with Shankland being a Hearts player, he just doesn't have the pace or mobility for international football at this level. If he does start I genuinely hope he gets a few goals and we win. Prefer either Adams or Conway though.
Agree Shankland needs to come on later.
23-06-2024, 04:49 PM
People are just being realistic.
Hungary are a good side, we can say we want to win 3,4 or 5 nil but for those of us who know we are playing against a team equal or better than us, that’s not realistic.
If we go all out attack to win from the start, we need to accept we could get picked off and conceding one or two will make it very difficult for us.
Hungary are good and equally as good as Scotland all down to the big moments in the game. More pressure on Hungary to go for it early doors which should suit us. Really need to be very aware of Szobozloi
Mcbizz1998
23-06-2024, 05:01 PM
tonight's the night
as Rod Stewart once sang
ain’t nobody gonna stop us now… 🎶
Mrimbetween
23-06-2024, 05:36 PM
I don't really think it matters if Adams or Shankland starts. His team set up doesn't cater for attacking football as he's such a negative cock. Anything we get will be from Midfield or even Defence Id like to see Clarke give Forrest ago early doors
23-06-2024, 05:43 PM
This is going to be Morocco all over again, isn't it?
23-06-2024, 05:47 PM
I have no expectations at all, hoping for the best but very aware this is Scotland, still never got past the group stage of a major tournament and not won a game at one in almost 30 years. If we do it, itll be an unexpected bonus and ill be hungover at work tomorrow…
23-06-2024, 05:56 PM
Adams starts, looks like same old same old with mckenna in for tierney.
jamie_1875
23-06-2024, 06:03 PM
I would have had 2 up front, Shankland and Adams as this is a must win game. I am hoping he is thinking it will be a tight game and that's his plan when things aren't working out.
23-06-2024, 06:11 PM
Wait a minute. What's the story with Logan and Shearer being in the studio??? Is there other coverage somewhere??
23-06-2024, 06:13 PM
Why are we having to put up with Shearer ffs. Should be Scottish coverage. Might be switching to Irish coverage. Shambles not Scottish coverage better together. Wonder which Scot will be on the English game
Peru for my generation
23-06-2024, 06:17 PM
Peru for my generation
Cubala :(
23-06-2024, 06:19 PM
Taking the pee with the hugely negative montage get tae fek
23-06-2024, 06:19 PM
What a build up, let’s look at how rubbish Scotland have been over the years 🤦🏻*♀️
23-06-2024, 06:20 PM
What a build up, let’s look at how rubbish Scotland have been over the years 🤦🏻*♀️
*****g joke to be honest. Kind of typical beeb
Paul1642
23-06-2024, 06:20 PM
I’m absolutely buzzing. When was the last proper all or nothing Scotland game? Win over Serbia 2020?
23-06-2024, 06:21 PM
Cubala :(
Teofilio Cubillas
23-06-2024, 06:23 PM
Teofilio Cubillas
that's the fella :(
23-06-2024, 06:27 PM
Oh my god didn't think the coverage could be any worse. Complete pisstake
23-06-2024, 06:28 PM
I’m absolutely buzzing. When was the last proper all or nothing Scotland game? Win over Serbia 2020?
Against Croatia in last Euros, same scenario as tonight
23-06-2024, 06:31 PM
If we win tonight, with the players we have missing, we'll have done some job.
mcohibs
23-06-2024, 06:38 PM
Why are we having to put up with Shearer ffs. Should be Scottish coverage. Might be switching to Irish coverage. Shambles not Scottish coverage better together. Wonder which Scot will be on the English game
Not everyone on the panel has to be Scottish surely? BBC have Fabregas on England games, ITV have Keane etc. Shearer is the most experienced pundit on the panel there, no issue with him on our games IMO.
Hibees1973
23-06-2024, 06:47 PM
Peru for my generation
First time I cried watching a football match.
They were South American champions at the time.
Our delusions have stabilised somewhat since then.
23-06-2024, 06:47 PM
Not everyone on the panel has to be Scottish surely? BBC have Fabregas on England games, ITV have Keane etc. Shearer is the most experienced pundit on the panel there, no issue with him on our games IMO.
When they've got Lothar Mattheus on in one of England's knock out rounds, I'll maybe have sympathy for that argument.
23-06-2024, 06:51 PM
When they've got Lothar Mattheus on in one of England's knock out rounds, I'll maybe have sympathy for that argument.
Didn't they just have the Danish manager of Brentford on for England Vs Denmark?
23-06-2024, 06:53 PM
Didn't they just have the Danish manager of Brentford on for England Vs Denmark?
You mean someone with a connection to one of the countries playing the match?
Wee Liam on commentary all we need I'd Steven Thomson and it will be like watching Sportscene :greengrin
23-06-2024, 07:05 PM
They don’t want to pass to Ralston.
23-06-2024, 07:09 PM
Hungary content on the counter so far
23-06-2024, 07:10 PM
Hungary content on the counter so far
No press at all. Theyre the anti-austria.
23-06-2024, 07:11 PM
Why are Hungary playing so defensively, they need a win too?
23-06-2024, 07:12 PM
Gilmour telling the Adams and McTominay to cross over more. It's all a wee bit static ahead of the ball albeit we have been very composed on the ball without really doing anything.
23-06-2024, 07:13 PM
No press at all. Theyre the anti-austria.
You can see then hunt in a pack when they ro decide to press. If we can break that we're laughing
23-06-2024, 07:14 PM
Not difficult really.
23-06-2024, 07:15 PM
Why are Hungary playing so defensively, they need a win too?Leicester won the premier league playing the same way
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
23-06-2024, 07:17 PM
Gilmour telling the Adams and McTominay to cross over more. It's all a wee bit static ahead of the ball albeit we have been very composed on the ball without really doing anything.
Missing the difference Tierney gives us from the back, bursting forward and breaking the lines.
23-06-2024, 07:17 PM
It's one big yawn so far.
23-06-2024, 07:18 PM
if we win it's a narrow one - have any geeks worked out our likely last 16 tie with four points a goal difference of minus 2 or 3?
Think it's likely to be Spain, Portugal or France, but too much to be decided where we'd sit within the third placed sides.
On the BBC they said if we finish as runners up it would probably be Portugal.
23-06-2024, 07:19 PM
On the BBC they said if we finish as runners up it would probably be Portugal.
Ronaldo v Hanley would keep me awake at night.
It's one big yawn so far.
Boring
23-06-2024, 07:21 PM
McGinn looking a lot brighter tonight
23-06-2024, 07:22 PM
it's rather hard trying to break down a side with every man behind the ball
K-Zazu
Sideways pass McGregor
shocking free kick
23-06-2024, 07:23 PM
Yep. Playing a bit deeper which is his best position IMHO
Hungary lucky to only have one player booked so far. They look way more dangerous on the break than we do playing the Maloney style
4 fouls on him already
pollution
23-06-2024, 07:24 PM
Lift the ball for heaven's sake!
Hibs4185
Robertson never beats the first man with a free kick. So frustrating
A cross that is the equivalent of a pro golfer duffing it along the ground.
Paul1642
23-06-2024, 07:25 PM
A dull one. Not impossible that suits us a bit as the game goes on though.
23-06-2024, 07:25 PM
McGreggor and Gilmour have both been very neat and tidy but neither look like they have the killer pass just waiting in their locker at this level.
I feel we are relying on a moment of magic, a fluke or a set piece.
Paul1642
23-06-2024, 07:26 PM
McGreggor and Gilmour have both been very neat and tidy but neither look like they have the killer pass just waiting in their locker at this level.
I feel we are relying on a moment of magic, a fluke or a set piece.
Or an own goal :)
23-06-2024, 07:26 PM
Need more movement and options up front. Gilmour is such a nice and tidy footballer though.
23-06-2024, 07:27 PM
Can someone mention to McGregor what way we are shooting.
23-06-2024, 07:27 PM
Hungary hopefully down to ten soon :)
23-06-2024, 07:29 PM
Adams looked slow there.
23-06-2024, 07:29 PM
ach get up ya big jessie yi
23-06-2024, 07:31 PM
Switzerland have scored.
23-06-2024, 07:31 PM
ffs Adams
23-06-2024, 07:32 PM
Feels like Hungary coming more in to now
23-06-2024, 07:32 PM
Switzerland have scored.
Germany vs England if it stays like that and England beat Slovenia
Looking knackered already, gonna be a long night
Mcbizz1998
23-06-2024, 07:33 PM
Robertson never beats the first man with a free kick. So frustrating
Just been ranting the same to Mrs Mcbizz. Why does he get to take them? And how can a player of his quality be so bad at them?
23-06-2024, 07:33 PM
Feels like Hungary coming more in to now
Always gonna happen as they need the win too. Just surprised it's taken so long. Thought they'd be attacking from the off.
23-06-2024, 07:34 PM
Hungary far more dangerous than us when we try to get near their penalty box, which hasn't been often
23-06-2024, 07:35 PM
This is only going one way.
NC1875
23-06-2024, 07:35 PM
Dykes is a big miss, at least he can hold the ball up. Adam’s first touch is a pass.
23-06-2024, 07:36 PM
We are needing a spark from somewhere, not sure where it's coming from though right now. We are so one paced!
Off the bar
I don’t mind Hungary coming at us a bit. I feel we’ve more chance breaking on them than passing through them. We tried that for half an hour and haven’t had a shot on target.
*I reserve the right to change this opinion if we concede
Really poor - balance of the team all wrong.
The lack of creativity is worrying and the way Adams is playing it like Scotland have 10 players.
Scotland need to switch play more and quality of cross needs to be better.
Mikey_1875
23-06-2024, 07:37 PM
Hungary have had a look under the bonnet and we haven’t mustered an effort at goal. Might suit us more that they come out a bit but I would be subbing Adams off at half time. Looks miles off it.
23-06-2024, 07:37 PM
This is only going one way.
We just don't look like scoring.
Hungary far more dangerous than us when we try to get near their penalty box, which hasn't been often
We don't have any threat up front for all the possession we run out of ideas.
Just_Jimmy
23-06-2024, 07:38 PM
This is brutal.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Paul1642
Changes needed much earlier tonight. Unfortunately the options are slim. I would normally suggest Shankland but I don’t think we would even crate a chance for him ok current showing.
Lack of inventiveness from Scotland here.
23-06-2024, 07:39 PM
We just don't look like scoring.
Every game it’s been like that!!
You would think they would have a plan to create more - but same players = same guff.
23-06-2024, 07:40 PM
Adams another freekick on edge of box - total liabilty.
23-06-2024, 07:40 PM
Adams another freekick on edge of box - total liabilty.
Didn't touch him
23-06-2024, 07:41 PM
get Adams off for the love oif god clarke
Paul1642
The biggest fear here is that if we concede we are not scoring 2.
Very lucky there. Shocking defending
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
pollution
Adams is a GOAT . Get him off
oh wow that should be in
Ooft, we got lucky there.
23-06-2024, 07:42 PM
Adams is a GOAT . Get him off
Greatest of all time?
23-06-2024, 07:42 PM
oh wow that should be in
Offsides, would have been chalked off.
Hibees1973
23-06-2024, 07:43 PM
That was an indirect free kick. Why was McGinn lying on the ground at the wall.
Szobozolai couldn't have a direct shot on goal.
Christie for McGregor and that young laddie on for Adams.
Or go to a back four and get another forward on.
Wee bit inexperienced from Scotland expecting a shot on goal when it was an indirect free kick.
As soon as it was clear no one was knocking it to him they should have been switched on knowing it was going to be a cross.
Free header in that context is criminal.
23-06-2024, 07:44 PM
Offsides, would have been chalked off.
looked like at least three of them were
That was an indirect free kick. Why was McGinn lying on the ground at the wall.
Szobozolai couldn't have a direct shot on goal.
:faf: this is brilliant. Great point.
another Hungary yellow card
23-06-2024, 07:45 PM
That challenge comes as a result of Adams hoofing a ball to nowhere, risks Hendry either fouling or getting a sore one. There was no middle ground.
He has to change it up top 2nd half.
23-06-2024, 07:45 PM
Shocker, could be red
23-06-2024, 07:46 PM
Adams been really poor whenever he’s had the ball which admittedly hasn’t been very often.
23-06-2024, 07:46 PM
Shocker, could be red
Could easily have been. Possibly the foot being near the deck was enough to save him
pollution
23-06-2024, 07:47 PM
I don't see who is going to score for us.
No threat whatsoever
Wee bit inexperienced from Scotland expecting a shot on goal when it was an indirect free kick.
As soon as it was clear no one was knocking it to him they should have been switched on knowing it was going to be a cross.
Free header in that context is criminal.
Professional footballers really should learn the rules. Very naive of the Scottish players.
least they are getting shots at goal
Dreadful stuff, get Moyes in asap
23-06-2024, 07:48 PM
Grim viewing. They have got shots in very easily and for all our possession we don't look capable of getting near their box. Far too slow passing and not enough movement.
Gash. We have absolutely no attacking threat whatsoever.
We need to get the ball forward quicker. We seem to turn back every time and pass it along the back line. The one time McGinn threw the ball in towards the end there, we had a half chance
23-06-2024, 07:49 PM
No point in having the ball if you do hee-haw with it.
Stevie needs to take a risk at some points let's hope it's before the 89th minute today.
Hibees1973
I'm quite positive about this.
Much as they are technically better than us they have missed the kind of chances we normally do.
Well in this and have every chance.
Get John Collins on.
Based on that first half I can see why Scotland has only won once in the last 11 games. As Liam said toothless.
Not trying to be negative as there are positives to take from that.
It's all so incredibly cautious, have a ****ing pop at goal ffs. Get Adams off.
23-06-2024, 07:50 PM
Anyone seen Conway play? Is he descent up front?
Scotland again playing too pragmatically, we need to win and the team is still set up the way it is and has been the last few games. There's very little creativity and the game is being played far too slow and ponderous, it's just another boring as **** game by Scotland and Clarke, he's done all he can with this team and maybe time to let someone else try to take them forward.
23-06-2024, 07:51 PM
Subs are going to make or break Steve Clarke’s Scotland future.
K-Zazu
Shankland will get 10 mins.
Stevie needs to take a risk at some points let's hope it's before the 89th minute today.
Agree but it’s not really his way. Probably bring on Kenny MacLean or Christie for Adams.
Adams been really poor whenever he’s had the ball which admittedly hasn’t been very often.
I don't see who is going to score for us.
No threat whatsoever
There’s no way we’re winning this unless we can be a bit more direct. Shearer’s right, a lot of possession but no bite whatsoever. Hungary look the more likely team. Disappointing.
Our lack of pace up top is hammering us.
23-06-2024, 07:52 PM
Least first half goals we've conceded in the entire tournament though.
NC1875
Too much sideways passing. No creativity or killer pass. Adam’s is dreadful, how he played in the premier league is beyond me.
watching that Robertson free kick again bloody dreadful
David Moyes spot on with his analysis.
23-06-2024, 07:53 PM
Much as they are technically better than us they have missed the kind of chances we normally do.
Exact same. Keeping it tight and level at HT. All to play for second half - both teams will have to open up at some point!
23-06-2024, 07:53 PM
Next manager
We need someone that can run off adams too
Much being fed into him then ending up backwards James Forrest or someone who can break beyond even Stuart Armstrong just don’t know who should come off
23-06-2024, 07:54 PM
Subs are going to make or break Steve Clarke’s Scotland future.
Unless we totally collapse he'll keep his job. Even if we go out.
Next manager
As soon as possible please.
Paul1642
23-06-2024, 07:55 PM
Anyone seen Conway play? Is he descent up front?
Can’t offer any less of a goal threat than we have in the 1st half.
Less goals than Adam’s in the same league, which watching only watching Adam’s for Scotland seems impossible.
23-06-2024, 07:56 PM
Are you being serious? I am at the game and Scotland are dreadful. There is nothing positive in our play, if Hungary score they will win. We have no attacking threat whatsoever
Paul1642
23-06-2024, 07:58 PM
Are you being serious? I am at the game and Scotland are dreadful. There is nothing positive in our play, if Hungary score they will win. We have no attacking threat whatsoever
No attacking threat and a defence that at a bit ropey at best. Despite that Hungary aren’t offering a great deal more. Turn in the second half like we did vs the Swiss and we will win.
23-06-2024, 07:58 PM
Really awful, boring game to watch so far, but I don't care as long as Scotland win over 90 minutes.
23-06-2024, 07:59 PM
Shankland will get 10 mins.
Aye when we are 2 0 down
Next manager
He talks sense but ends up saying we have a great chance of winning this. I don’t see how he arrives at this. We don’t remotely look like scoring.
Hungary are going down to ten men and we will huff and puff our way to a draw.
Greenio
23-06-2024, 08:00 PM
How's the beers?
23-06-2024, 08:01 PM
How's the beers?
Wet and amber
Have to agree. We really must score first. If they do they’ll sit in even more and we will more than likely struggle to break them down,
Mikey_1875
23-06-2024, 08:02 PM
No changes. Most likely be more of the same until 75 or we concede. Then we will run out of time.
23-06-2024, 08:03 PM
Have just poured a suitably large dram for the second half...
23-06-2024, 08:03 PM
Clearing space out the bottle for a straw?
Hibees1973
23-06-2024, 08:04 PM
No danger will it last 45 mins.
Not often I agree with what McCann has to say but his comments about James Forest are spot on.
jamie_1875
23-06-2024, 08:04 PM
No changes. Most likely be more of the same until 75 or we concede. Then we will run out of time.
A likely scenario I suspect.
23-06-2024, 08:05 PM
Clearing space out the bottle for a straw?
Straw? I have a large stick of bamboo to suck it all up, and it's reusable so ticks the environmental box 🥳
23-06-2024, 08:05 PM
No danger will it last 45 mins.
Thankfully it's a newly opened bottle, am not daft and have been here before 😁
23-06-2024, 08:07 PM
That's not a booking
23-06-2024, 08:08 PM
McTominay booked and will be out if we go through
Ludicrous - not even a free kick.
Paul1642
That's not a booking
Not been a foul. Never touched him
Just_Jimmy
This ref is absolutely brutal
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Trinity Hibee
Shankland has to be given a decent run here. Forrest would inject some directness too. Need to go for it here
pollution
23-06-2024, 08:10 PM
Shankland has to be given a decent run here. Forrest would inject some directness too. Need to go for it here
Good call
lift the dam thing
Well.....least it's a shot.
lol Adams hits Austria
Off the bar
A shot!
23-06-2024, 08:11 PM
A shot, albeit a poor one. The game is about to open right up in the next 10 minutes
jamie_1875
23-06-2024, 08:12 PM
He needs to change something, what you are suggesting would make sense.
Time for the gamble soon.
Surely subs at 60 mins ??
We are just huffing and puffing with zero quality.
Mckenna has done really well tonight imo
23-06-2024, 08:13 PM
good work adams
Trinity Hibee
Mckenna has done really well tonight imo
Ye very good
Anyone got HDR on? Scary good picture.
23-06-2024, 08:14 PM
Robertson needs to be better.
He's arguably our highest performing player at club level and he's all over the place here. He needs to be taking a game like this by the scruff of the neck and pulling people up a level.
pollution
23-06-2024, 08:15 PM
Typical s American refs whistle
Great from SJM. Need more of that
brilliant from SJM just a shame about the final pass
23-06-2024, 08:16 PM
Ref is good. Top Leagues in UK should hire foreign refs for club matches. They'd be better than the incompetents currently.
Hibees1973
23-06-2024, 08:16 PM
I think 90% of the passes made by our midfielders have been to our back to our defenders.
23-06-2024, 08:17 PM
Ref is good. Top Leagues in UK should hire foreign refs for club matches. They'd be better than the incompetents currently.
Don't think they'd take the paycut to come here.
Again I'm disappointed in Robertson, lost the ball on numerous occasions and I'm yet to see his Liverpool form in a Scotland jersey.
Got to be thinking of making a sub soon.
Yeah it’s weird how clubs / managers / fans are from all over but the refs stay from the country of the league.
Again I'm disappointed in Robertson, lost the ball on numerous occasions and I'm yet to see his Liverpool form in a Scotland jersey.
He has been poor
jamie_1875
23-06-2024, 08:18 PM
30 minutes to go, time to make changes.
Wish we had a better right back who can cross a ball!
Don't think they'd take the paycut to come here.
Scotland can’t even afford proper VAR - zero chance of getting good refs.
The EPL could though with the ££
Off the bar
He’s been so poor tonight
Hibees1973
23-06-2024, 08:19 PM
It must open out in the last 10 mins.
Bring on some legs, Christie & Forrest.
Both teams have to win.
****ing hold it in Adams. Trying a daft flick there, get your body in the way and wait for support.
Shows you possession isn't everything. They've had 7 shots to our one.
23-06-2024, 08:20 PM
61% possession
1 attempt
Monty ball 😭
jamie_1875
23-06-2024, 08:22 PM
How bad would it feel to go out with a 0-0. Make a change, time is running out.
Hungry have changed their shape and are gonna go for it.
Hibees1973
61% possession
1 attempt
Monty ball 😭
Ah Monty.
The XG, the XG.
Scotland can’t even afford proper VAR - zero chance of getting good refs.
The EPL could though with the ££
Their refs need to moonlight for City's and Newcastle's owners in the middle east so they can't be very well paid either.
23-06-2024, 08:23 PM
Got to make some subs soon. Need to change this up
Ah Monty.
The XG, the XG.
Scotland have by far the worst xG at the tournament. We're genuinely abysmal.
At what point do we go for it?
Adams is dead on his feet. Has to be Shankland for him and Christie or Forrest for one of the midfielders.
Neither side can hit a coo's erse wi' a banjo.
K-Zazu
What’s the point in Callum mcgregor still being on the pitch?
Calidad
23-06-2024, 08:24 PM
Probably the two worst sides in the tournament. Absolutely brutal.
Exactly what David Moyes said.
Checking for penalty
23-06-2024, 08:24 PM
clarke finally making a change
daft foul hanley, just daft
23-06-2024, 08:25 PM
That’s a bad one, Gunn flew in at some pace